Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2009-08-09

Rosemary L
MD, United States
2009-08-06
Andrew D
-, United States
2009-08-05
After packaging, postage, tax and handling costs Emporium goods are quite expensive in this country.
Ian S
VI, Australia
2009-08-07
Kevin C
NY, United States
2009-08-09
Your company carries articles that are difficult to find anywhere else.
Darin F
ID, United States
2009-08-03
Angela D
NY, United States
2009-08-03
We purchased one as sample and then asked questions as to if we could order in bulk and received info right away. Loved the product and it was a very good experience buying and corresponding with your store. We went ahead and had our designer for the wedding order 60 of the same product.
Richard M
CA, United States
2009-08-03
Gina D
NY, United States
2009-08-03
Excellent customer service, and excellent products for use on stage.
Diana V
WA, United States
2009-08-03
Alexander M
-, Germany
2009-08-03
Ronald H
NM, United States
2009-08-03
Excellent service!
Kenneth S
Norway
2009-08-03
Campbell H
CT, United States
2009-08-03
I'm happy with the shirt I ordered. The prices are a bit high for some consumers, but the quality is top notch. I'm impressed with the site and your products. I'm very happy to do work with you. I've shared your site with friends who need costumes.
Stefan K
CT, United States
2009-08-03
Duncan L
AE, United States
2009-08-03
good products, delivered quickly
Mary S
CA, United States
2009-08-03
Marcia L
WV, United States
2009-08-03
This is a good place to start when you need a period costume. Good materials. Well made. Would like to see more period buttons used.
Lori L
SC, United States
2009-08-03
There was a problem with running my credit card via the website. So, I called in and actually talked to a human being! He was SO nice and helpful. Just a joy. I love your business and the quality of your goods. I'm sure I will be using you in the future, for future dramatic productions I am involved with!
Heidi J
NB, Canada
2009-08-03
I was pleased with the quality of the merchandise , and when I called about the order , the sales people were curtious and friendly.
Carol R
FL, United States
2009-08-03
Anthony B
-, New Zealand
2009-08-03
Excellent website; very prompt despatch.
Michael Z
FL, United States
2009-08-03
Excellent service, prices could be a tiny bit better !
Raymond R
SD, United States
2009-08-03
David H
WI, United States
2009-08-03
When I call the phone number from the website, a human answers. Priceless.
James A
MN, United States
2009-08-03
AM VERY PLEASED WITH THE PRODUCTS PLUS THE SERVICE WAS VERY EFFICIENT AND PERSONAL. I WOULD BOTH USE THE SERVICES OF THE EMPORIUM AGAIN AND WOULD RECOMMEND THEM TO OTHERS, WHICH I HAVE DONE. JAMES A.
Joseph L
MT, United States
2009-08-03
Excellent Customer Service, Package Arrived Early.
Vernon P
MS, United States
2009-08-03
I THINK YOUR RETURN FOLLOW UP CALLS IS WHAT ENCOURAGED ME TO BUY. YOUR WERE VERY PROFESSIONAL. AND YET NOT PUSHING. I HAVE BEEN IN BUSINESS 40 YEARS I LIKE YOUR WAY OF DOING BUSINESS. IF I EVER HAVE A FRIEND OR A NEED MY SELF . YOU WILL BE AT THE TOP OF THE LIST. OH! YES YOU WERE NOT THE FIRST ONE I CONTACTED . BUT YOU WIN VERNON YOU HAVE A NEW SATISIFIED CUSTOMER. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK..
Don M
WY, United States
2009-08-03
Christine B
BC, Canada
2009-08-03
The service was top notch, the items were shipped by the most cost effective method but we had the option of payng more if we needed the items in a more expediant time frame all items were recieved in a reasonable time frame
D'angelo D
OH, United States
2009-08-03
Robert M
CA, United States
2009-08-03
My oder arrived quickly and I am pleased with the things I ordered. Thank you
Agatha S
NY, United States
2009-08-03
Hilary L
AZ, United States
2009-08-03
Very fast and efficient service.
Robert J
CA, United States
2009-08-03
Ida B
FL, United States
2009-08-03
I had many, many comments on the Lucille Walking suit that I wore as my wedding dress. (blue calico). Many people got great ideas about wearing something along those lines as a wedding dress or occassion. We also have many reenactors in this area. I plan on wearing it at our Pioneer days functions. I will be making future purchases from you. The shipping was incredibly fast!
Dustin L
CA, United States
2009-08-03
The products were overall well made and the authentic look is fantastic. My one gripe was the lax quality of certain seams and stitches on one of the pricier items. When the Whitman vest I ordered arrived, there were many loose threads in the button holes, which constantly caught the buttons, which already seemed loose. The second time I wore the vest A button tore loose and I had to sew it back on (It actually seemed more stable when I did it, and I have no experience with sewing) Bear in mind the vest was not noticeably tight at all, and I was most certainly being as gentle as possible. Otherwise I am very satisfied with the products for their sturdy materials, overall comfort, and wonderful authentic look.
Blake M
HI, United States
2009-08-03
Otis G
NY, United States
2009-08-03
I'm pleased with my purchase, it was as described in your literature. Thanks
Judy B
OR, United States
2009-08-03
Arnold A
OR, United States
2009-08-03
We really like the hats. They will make perfect additions to our attire. We appreciate the great service from your company. Thank you, Linda & Arnie Anderson
Sjoerd R
-, Netherlands
2009-08-03
Ordered sunglasses, they cam in all crooked
W. H
CO, United States
2009-08-03
I'm in a wedding this month and I got exactly what I wanted. I told others in the wedding party of your resources in hopes they would also purchase clothes.
Jim S
NS, Canada
2009-08-03
a classy looking item
Marge J
MI, United States
2009-08-03
I needed to change the mailing address of my package to another state at the last minute, and it happened without a hitch. Not only that, but I got an e-mail reassuring me that the package would arrive in time. Great job!
Kathryn P
CA, United States
2009-08-03
Elmer T
TN, United States
2009-08-03
I like and appreciate your products... Elmer
Vince H
AB, Canada
2009-08-03
the site is very user frindly, the service is very prompt, the prices are very reasonable
David H
NS, Australia
2009-08-03
An excellent product at a reasonable price, well packed and shipped quickly. Will definitely be purchasing from you again
David C
OK, United States
2009-08-03
Steven C
CA, United States
2009-08-03
Krista C
GA, United States
2009-08-03
Exceedingly great communication! You folks are the bomb and a perfect example of how to run a businesses. Well done! Pat yourselves on the back and drink a beer!
Barbara B
AB, Canada
2009-08-03
I was pleased with the prompt action regarding my order and am delighted with it.
David S
MA, United States
2009-08-03
Tobey A
IN, United States
2009-08-04
american made meant a great deal to me. fine clothing, very happy with order.
Kelly P
MD, United States
2009-08-04
Mieke B
NJ, United States
2009-08-04
This is a fantastic site, thank you so much! I've gotten lots of great ideas.
Raymond P
MD, United States
2009-08-03
Bill P
ON, Canada
2009-08-03
I would highly recommend your company.
Kesha B
MD, United States
2009-08-04
Excellent, helpful, speedy service and high quality products. Thank you!!
Adam P
CA, United States
2009-08-04
Damon W
MI, United States
2009-08-04
I enjoy my purchase very much. Service was prompt, the price was great, and the quality is top notch. I will definitely be buying again soon.
Richard H
CA, United States
2009-08-04
Your company had a leather blazer by Scully I really wanted. There were some die-lot issues along with the blazers not looking like the photographs shown on your web site. I would think Scully provided you with camera-ready art to use, you might want to speak with them on this subject. All of the people that I delt with at the western Emporium were wonderful and extreamly helpful.
Charles H
IL, United States
2009-08-04
Daniel B
MD, United States
2009-08-04
I have already touted Historical Emporium to friends of mine. Excellent website. There is no other that I have found that could be considered competition. I hope to purchase more from the Historical Emporium in the future.
Lani A
WA, United States
2009-08-04
Pat C
IL, United States
2009-08-04
I got what I wanted and my return was handled well....
Matt Q
WA, United States
2009-08-04
The item arrived very quickly, in good condition, and the shopping experience was very straightforward.
Patricia P
RI, United States
2009-08-04
The outfit was wonderful. The elastic in the wasteband is not historically accurate but is not detracting. If it had not been for the elastic, I would have given this question a 10.
Jeffrey R
BC, Canada
2009-08-04
Prompt and courteous service. They only slightly negative thing is the sizing of the vests I ordered varied considerably. They were all Mediums, but one was just right, one was tight and almost too small, and one was on the largish side (still wearable though). Different manufacturers and different cuts probably explains it. But I just thought I'd mention it.
Nancy R
NY, United States
2009-08-04
Especially helpful in getting my order out . Very efficient and pleasant to work with.
Roberta Z
CO, United States
2009-08-04
I had first been told that the skirt was out of stock, but then I got it! I was very happy!
Michael R
OR, United States
2009-08-04
Love the service and the promptness at which our order was filled. Great to work with. The clothes are wonderful - we love them. Thanks! mike ruptak
Amber P
NV, United States
2009-08-04
I was really happy with my order until we noticed that there was a manufacturer's defect and instead of making it right, I was told that you couldn't replace the jacket until September. I looked up manufacturer and it is located in Hollywood. It would not have been difficult to make it right considering how close your store and Shrine's is but you didn't. Instead, I contacted Shrine directly and they are replacing the jacket. I'm forced to pay double the shipping which you should be covering.
Chloe C
NS, Australia
2009-08-04
Patrick J
MS, United States
2009-08-04
I actually have recommended it!
Matt S
CA, United States
2009-08-04
Barry B
GA, United States
2009-08-04
The order was exactly what I ordered and arrived in good condition in spite of the box apparently having been run over in transit. Great work and I look forward to wearing it.
Sharron J
KS, United States
2009-08-04
I was very pleased with my dress. I got a lot of nice compliments on it. You also got it shipped to me in a very timely manner which I appreciated.
Jay S
CA, United States
2009-08-04
service and quality of product was just what I wanted Thanks
M
MN, United States
2009-08-04
Doyleen K
TX, United States
2009-08-04
Very pleased with clothing, nice quality and received in a timely manner. The ease to order and swift shipment made this a very special site. I am in theatre and it's nice to do business with Historical Emporium. Yes I will send other actors!!
Gheorghiu B
-, France
2009-08-04
The risk at online shopping is that you might make a mistake on choosing sizes...
Keith R
ON, Canada
2009-08-04
very happy with the products and service. well done
Robert A
CA, United States
2009-08-04
I want to thank you guys for great service in all my wedding needs...thank you
Fredrik L
-, Sweden
2009-08-04
My clothes were not tailored correctly (left sleeve inner fabric twisted 180 degrees) and I have got no response from the customer service I e-mailed.
Saso T
-, Australia
2009-08-04
i got an awsum dragon vest. BUT the wholes for the buttons were stringy, the red strings were really getting in the way of unbuttoning and buttoning up and i was scared to use them, so im saving this vest for a special occasion
Laura G
PA, United States
2009-08-04
we had a return and re-order of a different size, person on phone was great to deal with and very helpful
Ann W
NC, United States
2009-08-04
Jason L
WI, United States
2009-08-04
James H
MD, United States
2009-08-04
The quality of your shirts turned out to be better than I ever expected. I will recommend your line of clothing to all of my friends.
Robert H
TN, United States
2009-08-04
Stewart M
MI, United States
2009-08-04
Vincent F
PA, United States
2009-08-04
The order was shipped promtly and was exactly what I ordered.
Betty K
AR, United States
2009-08-04
liked my total experience - totally satisfied!
Lisa T
CA, United States
2009-08-04
Michael C
NV, United States
2009-08-04
your very high price and you web siite doesnt work right all the time you never tell people went your out of product i hope you have what i order this time your shipping is good very easy to use the site
Sharla C
MT, United States
2009-08-04
unique items, but was not pleased with the shipping. Item was damaged and took weeks to replace.
Charles S
CA, United States
2009-08-04
Bobby S
TX, United States
2009-08-04
I was very pleased with the service I received.
Jesse L
CA, United States
2009-08-04
Brian H
IN, United States
2009-08-05
couldn't be more pleased with service and merchandise
Kael L
CA, United States
2009-08-05
You guys are unique, yet you treat your customers well and are responsive. I always appreciate good customer service. Bravo!
Steve H
CA, United States
2009-08-05
Excellent web page and I was very pleased with product and timely delivery.
Tobias D
MA, United States
2009-08-05
Great stuff and great value, very posh.
Susan D
KY, United States
2009-08-05
I look forward to working together again!
Jacques T
AE, France
2009-08-05
Fast , efficient, no mistake service.
Wendy E
OK, United States
2009-08-05
I was very pleased with the selection of goods on your site, and the ease of ordering. When I received my items, which were shipped and delivered in very good time and in perfect condition, they were exactly as described. I am quite happy with the service I received, and plan to order both the same items for friends, and other items for myself. If I have any suggestion, it would be to incorporate a few more unique and unusual items into your list of goods available.
David A
CA, United States
2009-08-05
Easy, I liked it.
Stephen W
PA, United States
2009-08-05
Fred R
NM, United States
2009-08-05
price is right as compared to other companies that sell same type of clothing on line
Leszek S
ON, Canada
2009-08-05
Mike B
KY, United States
2009-08-05
Daniel K
TN, United States
2009-08-05
Gordon L
AB, Canada
2009-08-05
I intend/hope to continue to order products from your store because the quality and service is excellent. However, the shipping costs to Canada are truly painful.
Dr J.h. A
VA, United States
2009-08-05
The service is fast, the quality is good and the items seem historically accurate!
Judy R
AR, United States
2009-08-05
I am very pleased with the quality of the snoods that I ordered. They are exactly what I wanted. They arrived in a very timely manner. Thank you so much.
Gilbert T
ON, Canada
2009-08-06
Liked the product I received. Getting order filled toke some time?
Virginia D
OR, United States
2009-08-06
Inari P
-, United States
2009-08-06
Peter C
United States
2009-08-06
Stephen H
CO, United States
2009-08-06
Darla H
MT, United States
2009-08-06
Good quality clothes. I love them and will order more.
Susan H
WI, United States
2009-08-06
I was pleasantly surprised at the promptness of my order to full delivery time.
Lacey R
CO, United States
2009-08-06
I have already recommended The Emporium to many friends and will continue to do so. The items that you sell are the best quality and best prices I have ever been able to find.
David A
MA, United States
2009-08-07
Linda L
TX, United States
2009-08-07
The parasols that I ordered have what I consider a defect. On the first parasol I used, 3 of the wooden things that hold the parasol lace material to the wires that stretch it open, have fallen off. I used the parasol maybe three times when the first one fell off. The other two fell off later, and I didn't notice it right away.
Jeanne O
FL, United States
2009-08-08
Fast shipping and accurate item description
Elizabeth B
NV, United States
2009-08-07
was very pleased with the whole experience will definitely recommend to others.
Sherri M
AL, United States
2009-08-08
Everything was what we expected and more. You were right on time with the order like you said it would be. I would definately order from you again and would reccomend you to all my friends!
Garth M
NJ, United States
2009-08-08
William E
OR, United States
2009-08-08
Quality product and reasonable prices.
Helma B
-, Netherlands
2009-08-08
Very fast delivery, perfect communication if you have any questions about a product.
Frank W
YT, Canada
2009-08-09
The costume that I received from the Emporium is fantastic. it looks great. It would be much better if in the sizes, there were the actual measurements (ie, arm lenght, bust size.....)
Andrew S
VA, United States
2009-08-04
Sanford S
NC, United States
2009-08-04
Adrian W
TX, United States
2009-08-04
Polly L
NC, United States
2009-08-04
Thank you for your clear communication and quality products!
Jamie S
VA, United States
2009-08-04
Mike D
FL, United States
2009-08-04
Shane F
NY, United States
2009-08-04
Great Service and Product!

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service