Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2010-07-25

Kat
CO, United States
2010-07-24
This is a great piece. Just what I needed for my costume.
Kat
CO, United States
2010-07-24
This is one of the nicest pieces I have ever ordered. Love your products and site.
Kat
CO, United States
2010-07-24
I am pleased with everything that I order from your company. Your sales staff is very helpful with sizing information and my one return, which was years ago, was handled efficiently and promptly. I recommend your website all the time.
dennper
United States
2010-07-24
Received this vest within two days of ordering and I must say that it is a beautiful piece. The quality is much higher than I expected for the price. I would recommend this vest. The color/pattern goes as well over just a shirt as it does under a nice suit.
Eagan
CT, United States
2010-07-23
This wing tip collar is definitely very good quality. The wings, however...are sewn on. I've never seen a proper wing tip collar that had sewn-on wings. This was all remedied by me using a stitch ripper to take out the sewing and then ironing and starching the collar. It now looks just as I had imagined. Just be prepared to do a little bit of work if you want the collar to look genuine.
Eagan
CT, United States
2010-07-23
The shirt was exactly what I expected. It is a pull-over, which is nice. It all fits in nicely. And the collar isn't too hard to attach, either. I am quite happy with the quality of this shirt.
JD
NY, United States
2010-07-22
Excellent quality, perfect for cosplay or everyday use. People are surprised to see suspenders but everyone who has noticed them has commented on the quality of this pair.
Raxton
United States
2010-07-21
Just a thank you to Historical Emporium. I purchased several items from them including this shirt and it came very quickly and met every standard they said it would. It looked great on me and I will definitely shop here again!
mike
United States
2010-07-20
mike
United States
2010-07-20
mike
United States
2010-07-20
tregea
United States
2010-07-20
this product i am very satisfied with i never had a holster before have hard time not wearing it should have gotten a double holster (both left and right )if you had this i would have very happy great quality thank you
Timber68
United States
2010-07-20
This is a perfect example of what Gentlemans Emporium hs to offer. This is a great shirt for both work and leisure.
homeslice
United States
2010-07-20
Buffalo
NE, United States
2010-07-20
I wear a lot of bowties, almost all of them to tie oneself. This is a nice bowtie and one can never have enough black bowties. It is not necessarily historically acurate for the victorian Era. Bow ties then were primarily thin, straight and with pointed ends. It is stil a nice tie and a good price.
Buffalo
NE, United States
2010-07-20
I wear a lot of bow ties, almost all to tie oneself. This a nice and attractive tie. It is not necessarily historically accurate for the victorian Era. Bow ties then were thin, straight with pointed ends. The "butterfly" design was not particularly popular then. It is still a nice tie for a good price.
Buffalo
NE, United States
2010-07-20
I purchased this shirt at the same time as the gambler shirt. They are essentially the same shirt. One has the pleats sewn down, the other does not. One has a loop at the back neck to hold a tie, the other does not. They are both bibfront designs. Only the wearer would know the difference. I sewed buttons onto the back of the necks to use detachable collars. Since the fronts close with a stud, this works quite well. The style and cut are quite proper and ample.
Buffalo
NE, United States
2010-07-20
I purchased this and the pleated shirt at the same time. They are essentially the same shirt, which I couldn't tell from the photographs. One has the pleats sewn down, one does not. One has a loop at the back neck to hold a tie in place, one does not. They are both bibfront styles and would be indistiguishable to anyone but the wearer. They are both very nice shirts. I have sewn buttons onto the back neck band for detachable collars. Since they close with a stud on the front, they work quite well. The cut is accurate and ample.
Buffalo
NE, United States
2010-07-20
I am very pleased with this purchase. It goes well with my tails, though that isn't why I purchased it. The butons are fabric covered as were originals from this period. It looks great and fits well.
Buffalo
NE, United States
2010-07-20
When I recieved this, I wasn't sure how much I liked it. It doesen't show well in the photograph. As it is summer, I have worn it with white duck trousers and it really looks quite nice. One of the things I like is that on some of the vests, the backs are made out of the same material as the vest. This is the way they were made at the time. They are also much more presentable when worn without a jacket.
Buffalo
NE, United States
2010-07-20
I purchased these with the matching vest. The first time I wore the vest, I wore white ducks as these were being hemmed. When I did wear them together, I received numerous compliments, such as, "Smashing!" They are very comfortable and easy to care for. I ordered one size larger, as suggested, and they fit perfectly. A terrific set.
Buffalo
NE, United States
2010-07-20
I purchased this with the matching vest. However, the first time I wore it was with white duck trousers. I went out to dinner with a friend. I got several compliments at the restaurant. Later, two younger women on their way out came over to me to tell me how much they liked my outfit and how handsome I was! This, despite the fact that I was sitting with another lady. The vest fits quite well and is very comforable.
gus
TE, United States
2010-07-20
loved everything about it! never had a double breasted vest before...the fit was perfect! very authentic to the period. recieved many compliments.
rick rivet head
S, United States
2010-07-20
WOW!, this is really an excellent purchase and relatively inexpensive for the quality of the material and the length of the garment, a brilliant buy!
Jax
MA, United States
2010-07-20
Thanks! It was great and fit the style perfectly. He wore it with a cream paisley ascot also purchased from HE.
Lewis
United States
2010-07-20
I was amazed by how well this fit me, I love this coat.
Lewis
United States
2010-07-20
a very nice and sturdy vest, it does come larger than usual though.
Lewis
United States
2010-07-20
I love this jacket, although the buttons came off the first time I wore it, they just need to be sewn back on.
variable
CA, United States
2010-07-20
Nice and soft, yet presses well and takes starch if it's what you like. Fits very well matching medium collars to medium shirts (not so well for the large collar I tried).
variable
CA, United States
2010-07-20
They look great, they don't shrink much in the wash, and they wear remarkably like jeans. The only drawback is that they attract lint and cat hair like you wouldn't believe. Combed cotton gets an inky black look and a soft velvet like texture on a pair of very hard wearing pants, but it picks up every little hair in the room. Don't leave home without a roll of masking tape :)
historyman
United States
2010-07-20
I am very pleased with this product. I have received many compliments on it. It is very comfortable and appropriate for the time period in which I am using it.
dylantory
MA, United States
2010-07-20
The bathing costume is made of polyester, lending it a distinctly drab modernity. It's impractical, hot, icky-feeling on the skin.
Maulflower
ND, United States
2010-07-20
The site warning on sizing is correct, but it doesn't go far enough - these suits are impossible for larger ladies to wear, even at the largest sizes! I am a size 16 so I thought I would be safe ordering a 2XL. However, I could not fit the dress over my shoulders; also, the sleeve cuffs were so tight they were cutting off circulation, and there was no visible way to adjust them. The service was great about processing the order and then issuing a refund later, but it was still a disappointing experience overall.
Mare
United States
2010-07-20
Smart looking fit, with convenient pockets and a tailored look. Light-weight alternative to heavy, hot suede. Sizing more accurate by S,M,L than by waist size for me
Bogong Jack
VI, United States
2010-07-20
Good fit, with adequate button and back support as well as freedom of movement.
don
I, United States
2010-07-20
AT FIRST I GOT THE WRONG SIZE AND THOUGH THE WHOLE THING HAS GOING TO BE A HEAD ACH TO CORRECT,they said it would be 4 to 5 weeks to exchange the holster and belt,and might be better to just re-order , But supprise in about 6 or 7 work days i got the right one.Very nice not some cheep thing,but some real craftmanship.
tregea
United States
2010-07-20
very very good replica,actualy looks real.and feels realvery satisfied with this product
tregea
United States
2010-07-20
your products are exelent along with the service

United States
2010-07-20
My biggest disappointment with the coat was that the color was much darker than what appeared online. The lighting in the photos over exposes the photos and makes the coat appear a light driftwood tan. The true color is much closer to a mocha. The coat is very lightly tailored. It has a quilted
CDirector
TX, United States
2010-07-20
The duster is a very soft, loosely woven linen. The overall appearnace is good. The duster doesn't have a lot of structure. The sizing is on the large side.
Diana D
AZ, United States
2010-07-25
loved my bloomers, fast service but my trinkets broke almost immediately
Julie O
ON, Canada
2010-07-25
I found the customer service on the phone to be friendly and very efficient- my parcel came quickly and everything was correct- thank you!
Nicholas A
AC, Australia
2010-07-25
Fantastic products and delivery time, however shirt arrived dirty and (no doubt owing to popularity) many items are out of stock.
Dennis P
CO, United States
2010-07-24
Very pleased with the quality of the product for the price.
Lorri W
CA, United States
2010-07-24
fast shipping, wonderful communication and great customer service. Fabulous item received!
Elaine M
NY, United States
2010-07-23
I was very pleased with the clothes I purchased but even more pleased with the communication from western Emporium. They let me know the status of my order and shipment on a regular basis. Thanks for everything!
Adam B
OR, United States
2010-07-23
Lauren Z
CA, United States
2010-07-22
Great quality and service!
Walter N
MN, United States
2010-07-22
Moulay M
TX, United States
2010-07-22
Richard E
VI, Australia
2010-07-22
Chris V
WA, United States
2010-07-22
Everything arrived quickly and in great condition.
John M
WI, United States
2010-07-22
my only complaint is that i had called after hours and left contact info. never got a return call. needed info on possibly returning one for a smaller size. they are a bit larger that i had planned. washed and dried one to shrink, and i worked, somewhat.
Carol M
GA, United States
2010-07-21
Lisa C
NV, United States
2010-07-21
Jeremy K
MT, United States
2010-07-21
when I had to reorder a different size I got the second order quickly and the credit to my account was done quickly after you recieved the item I was returning. thanks
Keith M
NJ, United States
2010-07-21
Julie W
NC, United States
2010-07-21
Items I ordered went out of stock two days after I ordered them. Items I wanted went out of stock a week after I saw them on the website. Not the greatest.
Mark M
QL, Australia
2010-07-21
I was very happy with the service and extremely happy with the postage times.
Gloria S
MA, United States
2010-07-21
Fair prices, very fast shipping, good products.
Pamela H
TN, United States
2010-07-21
I have already told people about your store. I was pleasently surprised by the quality of your products and the speedy responce to my order.
Eric R
NY, United States
2010-07-21
Jesse B
VI, Australia
2010-07-21
A great range of historical clothing and accessories, although the materials aren't always authentic. When I needed to change my order, this was done easily, and the order came quickly. Postage costs are an unfortunate part of ordering overseas, but nothing can be done about that.
Nathan W
NC, United States
2010-07-21
Very Helpful. Quick to respond to questions and very polite.
Meghan B
IL, United States
2010-07-21
Mel J
CO, United States
2010-07-21
fast delivery and very satisfied with product!
Marilyn W
CA, United States
2010-07-21
Very prompt and exactly as advertised
John D
FL, United States
2010-07-21
Love what you do, please dont stop!!
Ricky M
CO, United States
2010-07-20
great authentic looking stuff, and good quality.
Michael L
CA, United States
2010-07-20
I was looking for a vest, and found The Emporium to have the best selection.
James M
TX, United States
2010-07-20
Dana S
PA, United States
2010-07-20
very prompt service and a nice collection of items from which to choose
Annie-laurie M
MD, United States
2010-07-20
And I did recommend you, too! Fast shipping, decent price, and my purchase arrived looking exactly as promised, sized exactly as promised, and in good condition! You guys are a great steampunk resource, and I've converted several friends.
Jim C
NM, United States
2010-07-20
your stuff is great, that said, i only bought cotton products, you sell most vests w/ 'acetate' linings that can't be machine washed,- i don't like that mentality and won't buy those products. Shipping fast & complete.
Wanda E
ND, United States
2010-07-20
Extremely helpful customer service department
Saundra B
CA, United States
2010-07-20
My son-in-law, a professional theatrical costume designer, recommended your company to me. I went online and saw that you carried the exact items I wanted to wear for the play I am in. Your telephone agent was very courteous and helpful, and the ordered product was good quality
Carolyn P
RI, United States
2010-07-20
quite satisfied with the product.
Richard B
FL, United States
2010-07-20
Christopher H
OR, United States
2010-07-20
Great prices, quick service, fast shipping!
Benjamin H
-, New Zealand
2010-07-20
Fast service and quality products.
Gr?gory G
-, France
2010-07-20
The package arrived quickly and in very good condition, customer service is helpful and the items I ordered are exactly what I expected, I am very satisfied
Chuck D
CA, United States
2010-07-20
Joe M
VA, United States
2010-07-20
Lucas R
GA, United States
2010-07-20
The items I recieved were as depicted, good quality, and shipped fast!
Tara S
MB, Canada
2010-07-20
the quality of clothing was absolutely amazing - we tell everyone about you guys now!
Elizabeth K
WA, United States
2010-07-20
Very quick shipping and reasonable prices. Also, a lot of nifty products all in one place!
Catherine C
CA, United States
2010-07-20
Item I ordered was listed as a small to medium but should have been listed as petite (next size up was L-XL). Either correct the designation or give some measurements that would enable customer to accurately assess.
P B
MO, United States
2010-07-20
Russell N
WA, United States
2010-07-20
Everything went perfectly. I will order items again.
Linda B
MI, United States
2010-07-20
Beautiful product. Just what I wanted. Quick delivery, and packaged very nicely to keep my order safe, and clean. I would definately order from your company again.
Stephen D
-, United States
2010-07-20
Daniel C
VT, United States
2010-07-20
Wonderful Quality and craftmanship
Misty W
VA, United States
2010-07-20
Loved the pants/skirt I purchased. It is very eclectic and couldn't find anything like it anywhere else. The quality is great, and it fit perfectly based off their sizing charts.
Michael R
CA, United States
2010-07-20
I had to do an exchange at your warehouse and it was easy as pie.
Stuart W
-, United States
2010-07-20
Braxton B
SC, United States
2010-07-20
Beverly D
CA, United States
2010-07-20
Jess C
NY, United States
2010-07-20
The package arrived very quickly and was much liked by the recipient. The quality of the item is awesome, and the prices very reasonable.
Christopher P
MN, United States
2010-07-20
exchanges and refunds was very easy, and staff was very friendly on the phone.
David G
MN, United States
2010-07-20
I have several friends who are into steampunk and one who likes Single Action Shooting. My order arrived promptly and in excellent condition. I recived numerous complements on the vests each time I have worn them.
Paul M
RI, United States
2010-07-20
variety is very good, website is easily navigated, multiple depictions and zoom features help tremendously
Alan O
MN, United States
2010-07-20
There wasn't much stock to choose from, and I still haven't received all of my order.
Jonathan K
MA, United States
2010-07-20
The website is very easy to navigate and order. The shipment was fast and precise. I love the clothes and would not recommend any site but yours to any one that's interested in period clothing.
Reed W
CA, United States
2010-07-20
Heidi G
NY, United States
2010-07-20
Product arrived quickly and in fantastic condition. It was a walking skirt . . . exactly what I hoped for. Quality of work was great. Price was reasonable as well.
Christina F
CO, United States
2010-07-20
I ordered the spat-like knee high tights. They arrived faster than I expected and they look great!
Stefan I
PA, United States
2010-07-20
Very good
David R
OH, United States
2010-07-20
I have already told about ten people!
Whitney S
MD, United States
2010-07-20
Historical Emporium always has the greatest products, but beyond that, I experienced great customer service after my order was mixed up. Thank you!
Patrick M
Austria
2010-07-20
Good prices and qick shipping... and as far as I can say, good quality
Joanna T
FL, United States
2010-07-20
Michael P
IL, United States
2010-07-20
I received the products very quickly and packed safely for shipping. The clothes were very well made.
Angelique H
NS, Australia
2010-07-20
Sean C
AE, United States
2010-07-20
Gentlemen's Emporium customer service staff have been outstanding. Many thanks to Jean for helping me with my orders/issues!
Fred W
IN, United States
2010-07-20
The quality of the product is more then expected, the speed of delivery was outstanding, What else can I say?
Jon P
MN, United States
2010-07-20
a quality item (pocket watch) at a great price, shipped quickly. What more could one want?
Andrea C
IL, United States
2010-07-20
Richard A
NH, United States
2010-07-20
I have recommended. It's great !!!
Gray D
MD, United States
2010-07-20
The service was pretty fast. The only complaint I would have is that my package was open when it got to me (luckily, nothing fell out).
Nicholas N
VI, Australia
2010-07-20
Living in a country town in Australia, some 4 hours from a city centre ('downtown') the convenience of shopping securely by email, even from across the Pacific Ocean, was great!
Darren J
-, United States
2010-07-20
One of the few places left on Earth to get proper old fashioned gentleman's accessories. Thank you for your prompt dispatch of my order too.
Craig A
WA, United States
2010-07-20
I enjoyed the selection and quality of clothing offered on your web-site. I plan to purchase more in the future.
Finn G
Denmark
2010-07-20
Lawrence H
FL, United States
2010-07-20
Customer service answered my questions well.
Sheldon H
GA, United States
2010-07-20
Roger C
MA, United States
2010-07-20
Quality material, historical accuracy and speedy delivery all add up to good experience. It took me longer to decide what I wanted than it took to order and receive my outfit. Only wish hemming service had been available.
Tom F
TN, United States
2010-07-20
It's the best value for the price I've seen for Victroian clothing.
James R
NH, United States
2010-07-20
Channing K
HI, United States
2010-07-20
Easy to navigate site. Good looking wears.
Milo S
CA, United States
2010-07-20
the items I got weren't quite what I expected in size and one of the lenses on the sunglasses cracked very early on in use.
Bobby R
NO, Netherlands
2010-07-20
The shipping went quickly. The items fit well. I am very satisfied. Thanks.

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service