Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2010-08-08

Eagan
CT, United States
2010-08-05
These trousers are really comfortable. They are denim like material, but still appear dressy. I had a problem with the sizing however. I ordered these pants as a size 30, which is the same size I use for all my trousers. The waist was fine. However, they are extremely long, even when wearing them with braces up to the top of my chest. I had to get about a quarter of the pants cut off by a tailor. It was cheap to alter them, but I would say that you should prepare for this if you order these pants.
Eagan
CT, United States
2010-08-05
This coat is exactly what I expected. Fine wool, great antiquey buttons, and the perfect length. It is a bit darker colored than pictured, though. It is great nonetheless!
Eagan
CT, United States
2010-08-05
Good quality braces. It is hard to find good, canvas braces these days. These fit the bill.
Scooter
KY, United States
2010-08-04
Stylish spectacles without paying big bucks! Very good quality with UAV protection.
Scooter
KY, United States
2010-08-04
Very satisfied with the Derby hat. The quality and the value of the hat is well worth your money. On lookers ask me where did you buy such a stylish hat at.
Oaky
AU, United States
2010-08-03
Great vest. Would like to see a greater range of tweed styles.
SithLibrarian
CA, United States
2010-08-03
I bought this shirt because I was interested in getting some new clothes for work. Very comfortable to wear and I thought I looked quite good in it. Can't wait to order more.
joe
United States
2010-08-03
it's a great coat, but one of the sleeves is screwed up so it's unwearable.
John O.
MT, United States
2010-08-03
This is a good boot for reenactors and actors.I would'nt want to walk 10 miles in them but they are comfortable and portray the early 1800 outfit I wear for first person historical talks.
Quint
CA, United States
2010-08-03
I like this vest and it looks great with my outfit. However, I was very disappointed to find that the watch I bought with the outfit would not go into the vest pocket because the pockets are dummies. I would think for the money there should be a real pocket on this vest.
Spadoinkle
CA, United States
2010-08-03
This hat was purchased for a film project I'm working on and it lends itself perfectly to one of the working stiffs. Looks great, and really good quality!
Spadoinkle
CA, United States
2010-08-03
This is an awesome chapeau. I bought three of them in different sizes for a film project I'm working on and the quality is excellent and its appearance is classic.
Spadoinkle
CA, United States
2010-08-03
This is actually a really nice hat. I'd been looking around for one for a while for a movie I'm putting together and when I got it, it was better than I expected. It looks great with a leather hat band and brass goggles!
Pole Cat
United States
2010-08-03
Great fit, good quality. Looked great under my skirt. I would recommend this. Size is true.
Eestlanna
CA, United States
2010-08-03
I was surprised by the "country and western" appearance of the white 'Victorian' boots when I took them out of the box. I was hoping for something that would complement an English victorian summer picnic dress, and was disappointed by the "cowgirl" styling of the black heel. Also, the fit is a bit too tight and narrow for comfort, and the toe too pointed. But, having said that, these boots are the closest thing to meet my needs on line anywhere ... and the price is really good. I had to have anti-skid soles added to these boots for safety in parades and on slippery floors at public appearances. It's good value for the money, though, just not quite what I expected, especially from the side and back views. Ordering from a catalog photo does have its disadvantages that way.
schoolmarm
United States
2010-08-03
I was afraid these riding pants would be too clumsy looking, but they are streamlined and gorgeous! The material is beautiful to the eye and to the fingers - well worth the money. However, be careful of the sizing chart - the chart clearly says waist sizes 36 - 38 = XXL. Since my waist is a generous 37 inches, I thought I was secure in ordering this size. Sadly, the waistband on the pants was three inches too large! I had to order an XL and they were out of the tan in that size! I was really bummed about that, but eventually got it in the hunter green. The quality of the garment is superior and the fit is graceful and forgiving. The buttons are unmercifully tight at first (I lost three fingernails), but I suspect the buttonholes will loosen with time.
schoolmarm
United States
2010-08-03
This skirt is a beautiful skirt, though its color is darker and richer than pictured. The sizing was accurate and the fabric lovely, but the inverted button plaquet in the back was difficult to manage and stuck out oddly instead of lying flat. In the end, that feature caused me to return the skirt.
schoolmarm
United States
2010-08-03
The fabric is lovely and the form is graceful. I will have to lose some weight before it will look good on me, as I don't go in enough at the waist right now. Still, dreaming of wearing this belt is a motivation to lose the weight! :)
Sammy Jo
FL, United States
2010-08-03
Exceptional hat!!! Style is classic, quality superb and looks good on just about everyone! I LOVE MY hat!!!
Boumois
United States
2010-08-03
This is the second purchase of a vest and each one has outdone the other in quality of fabric and craftmanship.
Shii
United States
2010-08-02
Bought for a wedding as something for the bridesmaids to carry. Beautiful, well made, no problems whatsoever. Quite a hit. Very satisfied with my purchase.
Shii
United States
2010-08-02
Bought as a photo accessory for my wedding day. Looked absolutely amazing. High quality, satin feel, beautiful pattern. No snagging or running. Looking forward to getting much use out of the product. High marks!
Shii
United States
2010-08-02
Bought to be used in a wedding as a bridesmaid accessory. Looked excellent, matched the parasol exactly. Very good quality, worked perfectly, expect to get quite a lot of use out of it. Very satisfied with the purchase.
Shii
United States
2010-08-02
Excellent quality. Purchased to be used in a wedding for the bridesmaids; was a hit. Matched the ivory parasol beautifully. Aesthetically pleasing and well made. Would purchase again.
Shii
United States
2010-08-02
Excellent quality, excellent looking. Purchased as the item to be carried by bridesmaids in a wedding, it went off like a dream - quite a hit! Did double duty in protecting the holder's eyes from the sunlight. Very satisfied with the purchase.
Shii
United States
2010-08-02
These delightful gloves are indeed absolutely fantastic. Easy to wear, not too warm, satin and excellent to the touch, very elegant and classy. Can be worn for steampunk, (more-or-less) authentic period clothing, or with anything else you want. People kept asking me where I purchased them. Excellent product!
Shii
United States
2010-08-02
Purchased this shawl as an accessory for wedding day photos. Very well made and comfortable, one side is plush (almost velour like) and the other flat. Just as pictured on the website, the color is true and the design is beautiful. No snags, no runs, no problems. Beautiful! Will be using this in the future, both with period costuming and for evening-wear!
Shii
United States
2010-08-02
The parasol was purchased as an accessory for my wedding; the bridesmaids were to carry them. I loved the parasol so much that I ended up purchasing one for myself (the bride) to carry for pictures as well. Sturdily constructed, color is excellent, and very easy to open and close. Works well and aesthetically pleasing. I would most definitely purchase this again!
Pole Cat
United States
2010-08-03
Sleeves are way way too short. Why cannot manufactures realize that some women have longer arms and would like sleeves that actually come to our wrists? Other than that, quality was good.
AzGunfighter
AZ, United States
2010-08-03
Was skeptical at first about the quality after reading negative reviews about the previous suit. Bought it, and while it does appear to be a lighter wool fabric, the look was perfect, and I won first prize in a rendezvous costume contest. Only bad thing I can say is that the lapels don't stay down as the should, even when pressed or steamed. Cheap fabric. Overall I am satisfied, but wish it was a little better made for the money.
Paul B
SU, United States
2010-08-05
I was impressed with how fast the order was expedited once placed . . . and it got here fast . . .
Corey T
NS, Australia
2010-08-05
very happy with my hat fast overseas delivery
Ronald B
MD, United States
2010-08-05
Shelley M
WA, United States
2010-08-05
Leslie W
KY, United States
2010-08-05
Very satified with the customer service and quick delivery with the product I ordered!
Randall R
WI, United States
2010-08-05
Joseph M
NC, United States
2010-08-05
Dianna G
OH, United States
2010-08-04
The stockings you sent are to small for me & I wear a size 6 1/2 shoe. My husband wears an 11. The top is to tight. I don't like the fact that it can not be returned if you open the bag. How do you know if it fits if you don't open the bag. We measured his chest and ordered the proper size. I am not happy with my experience.
Patrick D
IL, United States
2010-08-04
Kate B
CA, United States
2010-08-04
Lana B
OR, United States
2010-08-04
Anthony S
CA, United States
2010-08-04
Michael M
IA, United States
2010-08-04
I love the hat, it works great for the costume and general wear.
James H
ME, United States
2010-08-04
the service was great! by looking at several different retailers and contacting them all about comparable items, only G.E. treated me like an actual human being. I have more to buy for an outfit I am putting together, and whenever possible, I will buy them here, even if I have to spend a little bit extra, just because of the quality of service.
T S
MN, United States
2010-08-04
I found exactly what I wanted and the service was very quick.
Joel S
MN, United States
2010-08-04
James R
GA, United States
2010-08-04
Shawn T
AB, Canada
2010-08-04
excellent quality. great value
Rebecca F
CA, United States
2010-08-04
Product exactly as advertised -- incredibly fast order processing/shipping.
Donnie M
TX, United States
2010-08-04
Very quick delivery. Product was as represented in add.
Sheree C
VI, Australia
2010-08-04
Very pleased with the speed of service and delivery. Quality of garments also excellent.
Deborah I
MI, United States
2010-08-04
it took 3-4 months to get our product
Colin M
OH, United States
2010-08-03
Expedient shipping, fair pricing and an excellent product. Thank you.
Donna F
CA, United States
2010-08-03
your quality is excellent. And your service is top notch.
Michael S
CA, United States
2010-08-03
Excellent, helpful service. The outfit garners compliments.
Chuck D
CA, United States
2010-08-03
Christopher N
PA, United States
2010-08-03
Great quality, delivered in half the expected time
Allen K
CA, United States
2010-08-03
Great service. My shirt arrived much, much sooner than I expected.
Marcianne W
KS, United States
2010-08-08
Great products and service!
Cameron L
UT, United States
2010-08-08
Hands down excellent quality merchandise, fast and friendly service.
Nickolas S
NJ, United States
2010-08-08
Great products and service. Very fast shipping. Great quality.
Jared D
MO, United States
2010-08-08
already did.
Carrie R
KY, United States
2010-08-08
A superb site with great, hard to find, items. Shipping is very reasonable & the items arrived quickly & in excellent condition.
James W
NC, United States
2010-08-07
Clear pictures and descriptions, plus the outfits gave me ideas.
H?l?ne G
-, France
2010-08-07
Laura R
MA, United States
2010-08-06
Ordering was easy and my order arrived before expected!
James N
CA, United States
2010-08-05
it was an item I couldn't find anywhere else
Mike M
NH, United States
2010-08-03
Product was as advertised, shipping was quick!
Willis H
FL, United States
2010-08-03
James B
MD, United States
2010-08-03
The service was excellent. Shipping was quick and everything arrived in perfect condition. Emails were clear and kept me up to date on my order status.
Laura F
CA, United States
2010-08-03
The Emporium never resolved the issue of the excessive shrinkage upon laundering of the striped walking skirt. The Emporium emailed me to call them by phone to discuss. I wrote back that I simply wish to either send back the skirt for a refund, or exchange it for a new one, one I shall henceforth iron while still wet to avoid shrinkage. I have had no response to my request. Laura Freas
Jon S
CA, United States
2010-08-03
Mark D
CA, United States
2010-08-03
the bathing suit bought was not cut correct tofit on the body and the socks that came with it didn't fit on my legs. I would be lucky to get them on my arms!
Jim T
ON, Canada
2010-08-03
Very pleased with quality, selection and price.
Hilda S
AB, Canada
2010-08-03
quality merchandise fast delivery
Charles F
IN, United States
2010-08-03
Pamela B
KY, United States
2010-08-03
Very quick service with no problems.
Gwendolyn N
FL, United States
2010-08-03
It looked like a quality product at a reasonable price. I'm glad I was not disappointed.
Bryan T
AZ, United States
2010-08-03
Cameron I
CA, United States
2010-08-03
I was extremely pleased with the price, service, and speedy delivery. As far as online go shopping experiences this is by far the best I've encountered.
John H
GE, Switzerland
2010-08-03
Melody D
IA, United States
2010-08-03
William G
VA, United States
2010-08-03
Fast Shipping and Good quality of merchandise.
Drew L
MA, United States
2010-08-03
My wonderful corset arrived very timely! It's well-made, comfortable, and affordable! yay!
Harold G
OH, United States
2010-08-03
I located your store by researching the Internet. Boy, am I glad I did! Your customer service/ordering representative did a superb job. He helped me with my decisions, through a number of seperate orders. I ordered a pistol belt, trousers, western shirt, neckerchief and scarf slide, which were placed over a relatively short period of time. When it was discovered that a few items were out of stock, you were quick to notify me so I could modify the order. That was most appreciated. When the items were shipped, it was great when you provided me the tracking system data, so I could follow their locations throughout the shipment. When I received the individual orders, I was very excited to discover that the product was top notch ....... a true quality product. Sometimes when you order sight unseen through the Internet, disappointment can be the order of the day. Not in this case. The products received were outstanding! I needed the items for a series of talks I'll be performing over the next year regarding the Battle of the Little Bighorn (aka, Custer's Last Stand). I will wear the clothing to portray myself as a civilian scout serving with the 7th U.S. Cavalry. The clothing will add realism to the program. I will not hesitate to use your services in the future. I will make it a point to recommend your items to my friends and associates. THANK YOU!
John M
CA, United States
2010-08-03
Excellent customer service. Purchased the wrong size. Needed to return and purchase the correct size. Very helpful. Shipping the correct size was quicker than the first. Great job.
Anthony C
IL, United States
2010-08-03
simple products, and a beautiful pocket watch
Luke B
TX, United States
2010-08-03
Carlton F
TX, United States
2010-08-03
Grant E
UT, United States
2010-08-03
I love the Emporium! I am going to assist in a style sweep of the nation.
Luis R
AE, United States
2010-08-03
Larry M
FL, United States
2010-08-03
good customer service
Lorraine O
RI, United States
2010-08-03
I am very impressed with the speed and consideration of the people who complete the orders.
Avery A
NY, United States
2010-08-03
I bought some goggles, and they were very nice. They are high quality, durable, and comfortable. They had great value.
Larry J
AZ, United States
2010-08-03
Placed my order on Friday, and had the suit by Tuesday. Other than some basic quality issues, which is a WahMaker problem, the experience was fantastic. Have already bookmarked the site for future clothing purchases.
Terry Q
TX, United States
2010-08-03
The online shopping experience was seamless.
Michael L
NY, United States
2010-08-03
Very prompt service & e-mail inquiry regarding a return was answered quickly.
Barbara C
PA, United States
2010-08-03
I would let people know i was very happy
Matt S
OH, United States
2010-08-03
I love that there is a company that is doing this. I hope to purchase more in the future for everyday use.
Rachael G
MN, United States
2010-08-03
I ordered the Swiss Motoring Goggles for a steampunk costume and they are everything I hoped for. All of the other products I've ordered in the past have been high quality and at a great price.
Bryce G
KY, United States
2010-08-03
Great clothes!
Sandra P
FL, United States
2010-08-03
Sales staff was very helpful in expiditing my order. Products met expectations and quality.
Michele Y
NM, United States
2010-08-03
The products are unique and are well made and appear as advertised. The website is easy to navigate. My only problems were an item listed as out of stock when it wasn't, and an erroneous sizing chart which made me have to reorder and to do returns - both annoying and time consuming.
Christiaan M
CA, United States
2010-08-03
Elizabeth B
MD, United States
2010-08-03
I work for a National Park and we have a living history program. We often look for places to purchase clothes. Plus the steampunk section is nice.
Lynne A
TX, United States
2010-08-03
Kenneth R
CO, United States
2010-08-03
Fast service
Davin W
KS, United States
2010-08-03
Great product. Great selection. I was very impressed across the board. I will shop with you again and I have already begun to suggest you to my friends and family.
Kristi L
CO, United States
2010-08-03
Tania Z
PA, United States
2010-08-03
the only problem was the monocle which broke upon taking it out- the glass part separated from the chain. Everything else arrived in beautiful shape and I'm very happy with your store and would use it again.
Christopher D
FL, United States
2010-08-03
Great Product, shipped fast. I love the emporium sites! Jolly good show, chaps!
Philippe J
QC, Canada
2010-08-03
Excellent service, decent price, fast shipping and a wide variety of quality products make your webshop an example to follow for many others in my opinion! I will recommend you each time I can!!!
Ryan M
MN, United States
2010-08-03
There is a very large selection of items allowing me to order a full outfit from a single site.
Lucas G
MD, United States
2010-08-03
Cameron K
OH, United States
2010-08-03
H.E. had the best looking victorian style Morning Jacket. Keep up the good work.
Eric G
IA, United States
2010-08-03
Nakita B
IA, United States
2010-08-03
Chris G
FL, United States
2010-08-03
Fantastic service and outstanding quality merchandise! I definitely will be doing more business with you.
Errol A
LA, United States
2010-08-03
Colin L
-, United States
2010-08-03
Great international service, helpfull on the telephone and informitive on delivery times
Curt C
GA, United States
2010-08-03
I have ordered multiple items from Historical Emporium, all of which have arrived in a timely manner. The quality of your merchandise is TOP NOTCH!
Thomas L
VT, United States
2010-08-03
Cheryl M
IL, United States
2010-08-03
Lynette P
VI, Australia
2010-08-03
We love them !!!
Jason N
MD, United States
2010-08-03
It took me a long time to find the item you guys had and then everything else you had was cool too.
Theresa T
PA, United States
2010-08-03
I loved the quality of my item and the speed at which it arrived.
R A
CO, United States
2010-08-03
you are doing an outstanding job
Robert K
Ireland
2010-08-03
100% satisfied. Very happy. I'll be back.
Michael M
OR, United States
2010-08-03
It was the only readily available store that had a product similar to what I was looking for. Your selection is wonderful.
Antoon L
-, Belgium
2010-08-03
I was very pleased with both price and quality of the acquired products. Shipping speed was very good and I really appreciated the tracking possibillity.
Paul R
New Zealand
2010-08-03
Cyrus S
BC, Canada
2010-08-03
Joseph N
PA, United States
2010-08-02
The shipment was very satisfactory and I love my vest and pocket watch so much. Thank you.

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service