Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2010-12-19

Kat
CO, United States
2010-12-18
This is the best shirt of the one's I've purchased so far. It's a little full for 'smaller' folk, the look and quality of this one makes it a keeper - we'll just have it taken in a little.
Kat
CO, United States
2010-12-18
This vest is beautiful and as everything I've purchased from the Emporium very well constructed. The picture on the site doesn't do it justice - you need to have it in your hands and look at it to appreciate the detail and excellent styling. Perfect for our re-enactment work AND I can wear it as well as my husband - 'doubling' our outfits.
Kat
CO, United States
2010-12-18
The quality, fabric and detail of these pants are fantastic. The fit is perfect is a welcome addition to the closet!
Preacherrman
ME, United States
2010-12-18
I had in mind what I wanted and searched over the internet and found this product which fitted my vision exactly! This waistcoat was purchased for my upcoming wedding and I didn't just want a run of the mill item that you find in countless shops and Wedding photographs. I wanted something unique and this waistcoat is it!The service from the Emporium was excellent and the item (once in stock) was quickly delivered overseas.I was kept informed of the progress of my order by pleasant staff and I have no bad experiences throughout my order to delivery. Not disappointed at all with my item, or from purchasing from the Emporium. I wouldn't hesitate to do so again if the occasion arises.
jrod
United States
2010-12-17
I had been looking for a vest for a steampunk event. I showed my wife this one and she liked it very much. I got a lot of attention from people who really liked the look of this vest. Would recommend this to anyone looking for a durable, four pocket, double breasted vest, very nice.
jrod
United States
2010-12-17
Bought these for a steampunk event. They got to me early which gave me time to work on them. I used a dremel tool with an abrasive buffing wheel to remove the black paint.I also replaced the cloth edging with leather (my choice). They looked awesome! Need to get some extra pairs for my wife and others.
Sir Reginald Blethley-Smythe
United States
2010-12-17
These are good solid material with fine white buttons.However you should note the strap under the arch is elastic, as are the straps securing the buttons. I hope they last. I did receive a compliment on them from the attendant who took my coat at the affair.
Sir Reginald Blethley-Smythe
United States
2010-12-17
I concur with the other reviews that the collar wings are needlessly sewn to the body of the collar. I cut the binding threads with a thin blade and after a good ironing with sufficient starch the stiching holes disappeared. This collar is as good quality as any of the others sold here.
Sir Reginald Blethley-Smythe
United States
2010-12-17
I am most pleased with this item. Solid workmanship with a fine striped lining, and four pockets makes this a most useful article of apparel. It is thick enough to provide additional warmth during the winter months.
Brent
United States
2010-12-17
This is the real deal. Uber coolness in a tin and easy to tote in your kit. No elastic here! Can't wait to dig out my Dremel tool to expose the brass.
Brent
United States
2010-12-17
The monocle itself has a light feel but it is the right size and has the galley frames to hold in the eye. I didn't think much of the attached cord and replaced it. Don't try to use it for the first time on a night out. It takes a little practice and you don't want to drop your monocle into your soup. I woulnd't even know which spoon one uses to retrieve a monocle from a bowl of soup.
Vokhev
United States
2010-12-17
This cane looks and feels really good. It is very robust. The screwed-on head is very stable. It is designed so it can be cut if it is too long for you. There's even instructions on how to determine the right length for you. I like it so much, I'm gonna be looking for excuses to carry it around.
Brent
United States
2010-12-17
The stamps are printed, not actual stamps. I was surprised to discover they had bar codes in 1864 but it's discretly printed on the bottom of the box. The cards themselves are quite nice.
Vokhev
United States
2010-12-17
These are made of a much higher quality material than I expected. They are also surprisingly warm which is neither a good or bad thing in itself but is good to know. The snaps are fixed to elastic straps so it kinda adjusts automatically.
Vokhev
United States
2010-12-17
100 times better than what I found in stores for about the same price. The center of the parasol is more opaque than the border which makes it actually useful to create shade while the lace remains clearly visible. It also clips into closed position which is nice.
Brent
United States
2010-12-17
These have a satisfying heft and a ring sound when tossed on a counter. NOTE: these are sold individually so if you want a sackfull order a dozen.
Vokhev
United States
2010-12-17
I was surprised by the quality of the gloves. I have long thin hands. So gloves tend to be too short and/or too wide for me but these are a bit stretchy so they fit perfectly. Much better than what I tried in stores for about the same price.
Vokhev
United States
2010-12-17
I was surprised by the quality of the gloves. I have long thin hands. So gloves tend to be too short and/or too wide for me but these are a bit stretchy so they fit perfectly. Much better than what I tried in stores for about the same price.
Vokhev
United States
2010-12-17
Very good look and very powerful magnification. If you intend to actually use the lenses to magnify things, expect to read small prints from very close. The clip is kind of simple though and you might need to modify or adjust it to fit it to your glasses.
Brent
United States
2010-12-17
My weight fluctuates with the season and I'm stuck between 46 and 50 inches so it was a great moment to find the 48s fit perfectly. Finally something to go with my Highland frock coat.Something not mentioned before, these DO have a watch pocket.
Bill
United States
2010-12-17
The derby was of exceptional quality and construction. I did not expect the lining to be of such nice material. Irecieved several compliments on it over the course of the weekend.
Mel1721L
IN, United States
2010-12-17
The quality of these trousers was far better than I expected, the material seems thick and hard wearing, I expect that they'll last a long time. The fit even with my paunch was very good and are the most comfortable trousers I own. They are reason enough to come back and shop here again.
Mel1721L
IN, United States
2010-12-17
The boots are a very narrow fit and although the right size, were too narrow for comfort. When I laced them, one of the eyelets came out and the thin leather tore a little. I got a good refund to make a repair but I wouldn't recommend them if you have a wide foot. They are by no means sturdy either, it is a thin leather dress shoe. They do however look very nice.
Mel1721L
IN, United States
2010-12-17
Very nice quality, extremely comfortable and a nice fit. I recommend it and am now waiting for two different collars, for two different looks with one shirt. In fact there are three collars for three different looks.
Mel1721L
IN, United States
2010-12-17
I love this hat. It cost a lot to get it to Spain but it was well worth it, even my Russian wife likes it, I think she expected something strange but was pleased at how "normal" it looked. I'm very pleased with it, the quality was much better than I expected, very dapper.
Mel1721L
IN, United States
2010-12-17
There isn't much to say about a pair of braces. They are functional and do their job, though I thought the leather part that has the button holes in it seemed a bit thin.
mac46
TN, United States
2010-12-17
I LIKE THESE boots WOULD BE BETER IF HAD SIZE 7One of the best products I have purchased
JoEllen
United States
2010-12-17
When I opened the package, I could not believe how great this shirt looked. The picture does NOT do it justice at all. It is just gorgeous. It can be dressed up with his brown cords and vest (also bought here) or just looks great as casual with the canvas. Very good quality, perfect fit. My husband has to have 35/36 inch sleeves and we have never bought a shirt that did not fit great in the sleeve length! Love love love my Western Emporium!
JoEllen
United States
2010-12-17
As usual, we are completely satisfied with the shirt that we ordered. It does look great with the brown canvas as shown in the photo and looks knock-out gorgeous dressed up with the black pants and his black wyatt earp style coat. All of the pants, shirts, vests, ties we have ordered have just been perfect!
JoEllen
United States
2010-12-17
This vest is just gorgeous and fits perfect. My husband has searched for years for this type clothing in REAL clothes...not costumes. We have found our store and have never purchased anything that we are not totally satisfied with. The only difference I have ever found in the clothing and the photo is the real thing looks even better. Thank you Western Emporium!
JoEllen
United States
2010-12-17
Beautiful vest; quality garment; perfect fit. I buy all of my husband's clothes here and have yet to purchase a single item we have not been completely satisfied with. LOVE IT! I love talking with the sales staff. They are just so nice and helpful and always remember you.
Ric
United States
2010-12-15
As with everything I have purchased in this store, this coat is of excellent quality. It is warm, stylish and very comfortable
US Deputy Marshal Tilghman
QL, United States
2010-12-17
Wear it each time I go to Town. Of course in these last days I must leave my guns t'home.
satisfied
United States
2010-12-17
higher quality than i expected. very satisfied
Richard T
-, Australia
2010-12-16
This online store is fantastic. The items are great quality, reasonably priced and the shipping is FAST. I love this place
Kevin S
WA, United States
2010-12-15
The quality of the workmanship is excellent, better than expected. I was also very pleased with the speed of delivery. One item arrived within two days, allowing me to take it with me on my trip the following day.
Larisa N
CO, United States
2010-12-14
Your staff was very knowledgeable about your product and super helpful. I had a great experience and will likely buy from you again. Thank you so much.
Les O
NS, Australia
2010-12-19
Service was fast friendly and helpful and the products of high quality.

United States
2010-12-19
Peter F
TX, United States
2010-12-19
I received the wrong size in frock coat - should be a 46 and the wrong size in the top hat, should be a large. Rest of the order was perfect.
Julie W
CA, United States
2010-12-19
Mark S
FL, United States
2010-12-19
I would recommend The Emporium to anyone interested in clothing from this era.
Elizabeth R
NY, United States
2010-12-19
Greg S
IL, United States
2010-12-19
Gino C
AC, Australia
2010-12-19
Victoria S
WA, United States
2010-12-19
Kathy D
OH, United States
2010-12-18
Excellent service and product.
Chuck H
WA, United States
2010-12-18
When we opened the shirt package we found what appeared to be a blood stain. Some came out and we're hoping the rest will when we wash it.
Cameron M
NC, United States
2010-12-18
Very good product and very fast shipping.
Kim B
MO, United States
2010-12-18
Donald R
FL, United States
2010-12-18
GOOD MERCHANDISE. GOOD SHIPPING.
Shane M
MI, United States
2010-12-18
We are now engaged in something called Gentleman's Fridays, where my companions and I stroll about town dressed in only the most stunning attire, and loiter around various well-to-do establishments seeking to sate our appetites presently and for a time forthcoming.
Brendan C
WA, Australia
2010-12-18
Truly great value for money plus speedy delivery to the other side of the world. Quality of the items I ordered is excellent.
Joe M
ON, Canada
2010-12-18
I like the cross over holster
Dorothy G
NJ, United States
2010-12-18
It was very easy to order online and the watch was received in a timely manner. I thought the pricing was excellent as well.
Margaret A
CO, United States
2010-12-18
The hats arrived quickly and were exactly as presented on the site. I was very pleased.
Melinda D
NL, Canada
2010-12-18
Sarah M
WA, United States
2010-12-18
Fast, very helpful (we called customer service) and we will definitely shop with them again
Adam J
VA, United States
2010-12-18
Yes, I've actually told alot of my friends about this website. They're very much into steampunk, so I thought they would be interested.
William S
MN, United States
2010-12-18
excellent product, price, communication and customer service. highly valued and recommended business
Linda H
NJ, United States
2010-12-18
had my order at my door steps within days
Aislynn S
PA, United States
2010-12-18
The package arrived exactly as predicted, and thanks to the helpful guides for fitting(especially for the pants) everything fit my husband perfectly. Very, very happy with his Christmas present, and if he thinks of a new outfit, I know we'll buy it from this site ^_^
Andre J
TX, United States
2010-12-18
Excellent help from the customer service rep that helped me.
Andrew B
IL, United States
2010-12-18
Extremely attractive costumes, with great variety. Very quick delivery.
Neil M
-, United States
2010-12-18
Unique clothing & accessories, a pleasant buying experience.
Scott G
-, United States
2010-12-18
excellent product and service thankyou
Michael L
AP, United States
2010-12-18
Fast shipment and excellent products.
William A
AC, Australia
2010-12-18
A good product as described, well made, obviously by people with pride in their work and fast, efficient delivery. Many thanks.
Brian L
WA, Australia
2010-12-18
I have just today picked it up from the postoffice and am very happy with my purchase. After our Christmas brake I will be ordering some other murchendice from you. Thank you.
Christa M
TN, United States
2010-12-18
Rebecca L
KY, United States
2010-12-18
You had what I've been looking for at a lower price and higher quality.
Jose R
CA, United States
2010-12-18
Great products, good price, very quick delivery.
Connor B
CO, United States
2010-12-18
Ben B
LA, United States
2010-12-18
The vest I ordered arrived sooner than I expected. I've received many compliments on it.
Todd M
WI, United States
2010-12-18
Great stuff and my questions were answered fast!!
Dan M
AR, United States
2010-12-18
good quality
Shannon W
GA, United States
2010-12-18
It had the most economical prices on the items my son was looking for.
Aileen H
NS, Australia
2010-12-18
the service you provided was prompt and the goods arrived in perfect order.
Craig W
TX, United States
2010-12-18
I was very pleased with the fast response and shipping on my order.
Kevin R
MI, United States
2010-12-18
Shipments have always been quite quick.
Patricia O
MS, United States
2010-12-18
I was very satisfied with my purchase. The person I gave my phone prder to was very helpful. The vest is just as we expected and my husband loves it. He gets compliments every time he wears it.
Lawrence G
OK, United States
2010-12-18
liked the item and felt the price was fair/ it was shipped timely.
Eric P
NJ, United States
2010-12-18
great service and prompt delivery
Charles Z
NY, United States
2010-12-18
I love your site! I want to order more, and will in the future.
Scott H
UT, United States
2010-12-18
Absolutely! Though the hat was originally sent in an incorrect size, it was resolved so quickly once I brought it to your attention that I almost didn't have to think about it.
Danny K
AL, United States
2010-12-18
I loved the vest!
Anne M
TX, United States
2010-12-18
Lauren H
OH, United States
2010-12-18
Daniel K
TX, United States
2010-12-18
Excellent product, excellent service.
Russell O
CA, United States
2010-12-18
Every thing went smoothly. Returns went back and replacements arrived.
Glen A
WA, United States
2010-12-18
The item I ordered came quicker than I thought it would and was exactly what was described on the web site. Thanks.
Marvin J
IL, United States
2010-12-18
Diana B
ID, United States
2010-12-17
I was very happy not only wath the sarvice but the people that I delt with.
Andrew D
TX, United States
2010-12-17
I have been looking for vintage clothing and coming across your site is a blessing and I see myslef making many more purchases from your company.
Teresa B
NY, United States
2010-12-17
Brad H
CA, United States
2010-12-17
I have already recommended Gentlemen's Emporium to svereal members of my dance troupe. While I was very please with the service of GE--both is helping me select items at the San Jose facility and the quick turn-around in sending me the purchased items, I was a little dissapppointed in the actual construction of the puff tie and how it looks with a high stand collar. It would look fine with a contempory styled collar which would hide the disproportionally small neck band and fastening hardware. Nonetheless, I am pleased with Gentlemen's Emporium and will patronize them again should the need for additional victorian costuming arise.
Samuel O
VT, United States
2010-12-17
Regen R
TX, United States
2010-12-17
Mark S
PA, United States
2010-12-17
Melody B
TX, United States
2010-12-17
I like the product and the website, but the extra security measures that were requested for shipping an item to an atl address were quite honestly RIDICULOUS.
Kris D
CA, United States
2010-12-17
Amazing that we were able to find already constructed period clothes for our tv show on such short notice. Thank you.
Evelyn M
NJ, United States
2010-12-17
I was very pleased with the costume I purchased.
Michelle H
PA, United States
2010-12-17
I was both pleased and amused by my Historical Emporium purchase. It was everything I expected it to be. Thank you.
Richard R
QL, Australia
2010-12-17
it's great to be able to have such a wide choice in western clothing. Australia has very little to offer, understandable... With parity USD/AUD - its like all my Christma's have come at once!
Dianne S
NY, United States
2010-12-17
Very fast delivery, good price, nice quality.
Neil P
ON, Canada
2010-12-17
I was very impressed. This time of year is a minefield for delivery times and I was not expecting to have our order prior to Christmas. I'll certainly use the Emporium again.
Thomas B
NV, United States
2010-12-17
Appeared to have the most understandable selection and descriptions of items. Customer comments appeared to be honest. And the website worked. Also I discovered that the items would ship from nearby and I would likely have them in time for a few events this year. As it turned out I received the items much much sooner than I anticipated, much to my delight. Thank you!
Lynn B
TN, United States
2010-12-17
High quality clothing. Seems to be authentic reproductions. Good communcation.
Christina L
CO, United States
2010-12-17
Lesley M
PA, United States
2010-12-17
Prices, quality and speed of delivery were great
Emily P
TX, United States
2010-12-17
Love my dress!! I recommended it to all my coworkers at our living history museum.
Keith R
WA, United States
2010-12-17
quick and easy. Great internet shopping experience.
Alexandre A
QC, Canada
2010-12-17
Philip A
CT, United States
2010-12-17
Very satisfied with the product.
Duncan C
-, Australia
2010-12-17
Excellent service, especially exchange system
John F
AZ, United States
2010-12-17
Items are very well made and historically accurate!
Jesse S
MD, United States
2010-12-17
It cost me $40 in taxi fare because i had to go pick up the item myself from the UPS center. They would not leave it at the door even if i took responsibility for doing so. Then the item was not even close to fitting. Now i have to find some way of returning it and i don't have time to take off from work again.
Michael B
CA, United States
2010-12-17
The products are great and the shipping was incredibly fast; of course they are located about 30 miles away and that helps! I recently wanted to get a pair of suspenders to go with the pants that I purchased. The suspenders were a reasonable price, $20, but the shipping was going to be another $7 so I went somewhere else. Sorry, but $7 to ship a pair of suspenders is WAY too much. But I do love the clothing items and they are very well made.
Doyle H
TX, United States
2010-12-17
Andrea L
NM, United States
2010-12-17
Laura R
OR, United States
2010-12-17
I emailed customer service about the details of a product, and I received a timely and helpful response.
Nicole D
ON, Canada
2010-12-17
Barbara C
-, United States
2010-12-17
Miguel H
NY, United States
2010-12-17
Ben S
CA, United States
2010-12-17
Quick service, fine product.
Jennifer W
WA, United States
2010-12-17
Great item, fast shipping, excellent shop.
John M
CA, United States
2010-12-17
Excellent Service. Product shipped the same day ordered. Products received were exactly what was ordered.
John R
CA, United States
2010-12-17
Delivery was very fast, item received was exactly as advertised.
Carolyn H
ME, United States
2010-12-17
I purchased these items for my son as they were listed on his Christmas list.They are of very good quality and came with there own hanger!
Linda L
FL, United States
2010-12-17
Very easy to use website! My order was promptly shipped and received within four days of ordering. Great job!
Tim W
AC, Australia
2010-12-17
you have quality items and a fast service and make it easy for customers overseas to shop with you. your size guides that instruct how to measure in real inches are also both easy and accurate
Teri L
CA, United States
2010-12-17
The split riding skirt that I ordered fit well, except for one thing: It's about 4 inches too short. I can deal with it, but the ability to add length would be really nice (a 1-inch hem just doesn't make it). A friend ordered me a blouse-which is where I learned of your site-and the blouse has the same problem in that it just barely reaches below my waist and the sleeves lack 6 inches of my wrists. And the blouse was XXL. Tall sizes would be nice.
Dina D
IL, United States
2010-12-17
Bill P
TX, United States
2010-12-17
Marilyn C
IL, United States
2010-12-17
Your service was great. The product was even better in person than in the picture and your delivered it in the timeframe you quoted.
Francesco A
-, Italy
2010-12-17
Total my stisfaction!
Sean B
ON, Canada
2010-12-17
When I received my order, I noticed that the lenses on my goggles were slightly damaged. Historical Emporium quickly sent out a new pair. They arrived very quickly and were perfect. Their dedication to customer service is fantastic and I have already recommended them to many of my friends.
Joy M
CA, United States
2010-12-17
Fred F
NC, United States
2010-12-17
Quick service fast shipment and awesome cloths
Richard M
TN, United States
2010-12-17
VERY GOOD PAIR OF boots
Milo P
NC, United States
2010-12-17
Zachary A
NC, United States
2010-12-17
Nichole R
SC, United States
2010-12-17
Emporium offered an excellent selection of quality period pieces at reasonable prices. Also, as the pieces were needed for a University level production it was essential that the turn around time was speedy.
Susan D
NJ, United States
2010-12-17
Cynthia J
NC, United States
2010-12-17
Stan S
CA, United States
2010-12-17
Wonderful service, thanks!
Nigel T
-, New Zealand
2010-12-17
Sally I
-, United States
2010-12-17
GREAT SERVICE WELL PACKED WILL USE COMPANY AGAIN
Victor D
TX, United States
2010-12-17
Scheryl B
TX, United States
2010-12-17
very easy to shop, had what i have been looking for..
Mark N
NC, United States
2010-12-17
You offer unique high quality products and you ship them out fast. I recently purchased the Henderson trousers and I love the quality and drape of these pants.
Michael U
NY, United States
2010-12-17
Great item, delivery was fast, Questions were answered quickly. A great experience!
Mel B
MU, United States
2010-12-17
I have added your link to my Facebook and share your posts on the same.
William R
CA, United States
2010-12-17
Most products were of impressive quality, and the cost/quality value was reasonable. Within one week, with the help of Gentlemen's Emporium, I was able to put together two of the most admired costumes at Dicken's on the Strand this year!
Justin H
MI, United States
2010-12-17
Alison R
PA, United States
2010-12-17
Kate G
CA, United States
2010-12-17
My order arrived very quickly and the item was well-made.
Silas A
CA, United States
2010-12-17
I was pleased with the vest, by and large. I found the chest size was smaller than I had expected from your size chart, and the pockets were too shallow for any actual use (yes, all 4 were not stitched closed; just not deep enough for anything but a lighter or watch--not what I needed from breast pockets in a vest). I gave it to a VERY happy recipient as I could not wear it myself.
Fred P
NM, United States
2010-12-17
Shannon L
CO, United States
2010-12-17
Howard M
WA, United States
2010-12-17
I had actually been looking for an English style brocade double-breasted vest (I saw one I coveted on a Doctor Who movie)
Candace S
RI, United States
2010-12-17
So far, the purchasing experience has been superlative. Easy to order, shipment on time. Product quality is exceptional. This is a Christmas gift. If the vest doesn't fit, then I'll have an opportunity to evaluate the ease of return. So far, so good.
Jeffrey W
CA, United States
2010-12-17

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service