Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2011-01-23

Jolly Swagman
B., United States
2011-01-20
This double holster I got was just right.It was just the right size that I order.I like this holster I had only one problem with it , and it was trying to keep it away from my Dad, so I order one for him, so I can keep mind.Thank you, Art aka Jolly Swagman
Rancher
TE, United States
2011-01-20
This vest along with all the others I have received is a great product. Well pleased with both product quality and customer service.
Jeff12
NO, United States
2011-01-19
I bought this for my grandfather because he has been looking for this type of vest for awhile and couldn't find one in our local stores. I found your website and ordered it for him for Christmas and he was speechless. Unfortunantly, it didn't fit him, but I am in the process of returning for a larger size. I hope you'll kick in production soon because he is wanting the Navy one now.
jilly
United States
2011-01-19
The material does feel really cheap, but the case is handsome, the face superbly easy to read, the magnifying cover is handy, and the "copper" finish is refreshingly different.
jilly
United States
2011-01-19
This was substancial & handsome and remarkably useful considering it's small, unobtrusive size.
jilly
United States
2011-01-19
I was hoping for something more like what Isabella Bird describes in her Persian trip, & ("blue glasses") but these are comfortable
jilly
United States
2011-01-19
The info is right about 2X magnification. I used this as a costume piece and it worked great. It is a handsome bit of brass, and does the job on what it can reach.
jilly
United States
2011-01-19
large enough to read, small enough to be convient! And cute!
PlasmafireGraphics
TE, United States
2011-01-19
Excellent quality helmet. Perfect for my needs. Was creating an accurate Allan Quatermain character for a book cover photo shoot and this helmet - pun intended - topped it off perfectly. Will definitely purchase from the Emporium again if all their gear is a perfect as this helmet. The shipping was also lightning fast and was pleased to see the box only 3 days after I ordered it.
Mike T.
NE, United States
2011-01-18
This was a wonderful purchase. I enjoy the loupes very much and they are great, easy to set to your specifications. Just make sure you have glasses that it can fit on properly. lol.
DB15
United States
2011-01-18
These boots compare VERY favorably to an authentic similar pair I own. The leather is somewhat thicker, and therefore somewhat stiffer, but that is not necessarily a bad thing. I am considering getting the same in black so I can save the originals.
Gnooroop
United States
2011-01-18
This coat is exactly what I was hoping for. It is well made, fits well, and really ties together any victorian-style outfit I can put together.
beautifulpast
KY, United States
2011-01-18
Excellent quality. The fit and construction of these pants was far better than I expected. I felt ready for time travel once I had them hemmed. I ordered one waist size higher than normal as per recommendations.Also grateful for being able to wash these in cold water as opposed to the pain of having them dry cleaned. For some years I had been wearing a frock coat, with waistcoat, high collar shirt paired off with black jeans. The Ludlow trousers blew away the jeans. They completed the look in a way that no pair of black jeans could have. I started getting time traveller remarks from friends after that. I intend to buy additional pairs of trousers in the near future.
steamturk
United States
2011-01-18
I felt transported right to the year 1900,after putting your derby on my head!
StitchlingBelle
United States
2011-01-18
I've loved this website for a while for it's prices, but this is the first hat I've bought. I love it! The color is lovely, it looks great on, and it works for both the 1830's and 1860's, which is important to me as I'm trying to assemble outfits for each of the eras I'm interested in. I can't speak for the construction, since I don't know anything about it, but it will definitely hold up to the moderate use I plan on.
Not_an_Expert
CA, United States
2011-01-18
Excellent quality for the price. Well worth the cost in shipping if you need an accurate Civil War period card deck.Great for history buffs and if you want to hold a Civil War poker party.NOTE: The cards themselves are accurate reproductions of a civil war deck, However the packaging is not. Not a complaint really, just keep in mind the out side packaging is modern.
Lucky Bill
NE, United States
2011-01-18
Again, High Quality, and great material. I only wonder why an outside left breast (handkerchief) pocket was not included. But I did notice when I purchased.
Lucky Bill
NE, United States
2011-01-18
Same quality and fit as the pants. Highly recommend. (I am hesitant to recommend however, because, I don't want everyone to show up in one just like it...;-)
Lucky Bill
NE, United States
2011-01-18
Excellent quality. Great material. Just the right fit for a victorian Suit
snej
United States
2011-01-18
Excellent quality hat. Fits very well.Great service.
silver
United States
2011-01-19
the picture does not do justice. very well made. color blend is great. love it!!
J D
SC, United States
2011-01-18
Philip H
ON, Canada
2011-01-18
great stuff great service returns no problem
Martin P
ON, Canada
2011-01-17
I was very pleased with the ease of ordering the clothing, and the promptness of the service. The suit was a bit darker than it appeared online, but I was nonetheless pleased with the outfit. I definitely will be ordering more items.
Carrie J
FL, United States
2011-01-17
Pamela M
OH, United States
2011-01-23
Product quality is great. Selection is good. Time from order to receipt was ridiculously long compared to other purchases made at similar companies at the same time.
Thelma S
TX, United States
2011-01-23
I ordered two leather vests for my brother, brown and black; he loved them. He had shopped for his size locally for years. I'm now his personal shopper.
Andrea H
OH, United States
2011-01-23
Loved it, very nice, just what we wanted.
Kevin H
MD, United States
2011-01-22
I ordered the Snap Front vest-Soft Touch Lamb Leather-#144 Black from the Wetern Emporium as an addition to my business casual wardrobe. The vest was delivered in a timely fashion. The vest itself is made from high quality material and is well made. I ordered size XL, same as my shirt size, and the fit was just fine. Overall I am quite pleased with this purchase and would recommend this item for anyone interested in making this vest a part of their wardrobe. Live happy my friends, and remember, I don't always wear a vest,...but when I do, it will be this one!
Steven L
CA, United States
2011-01-22
Shopping and ease of use was very easy. I was surprised that a 'limited' item that I ordered was in stock. Made me VERY happy...
Ting L
CA, United States
2011-01-21
Dante C
CA, United States
2011-01-21
I received a call after placing order that Items I ordered were no longer available and that My Amx card would be credited. So I ordered somewhere else. Then I receive a package with all items shipped to me. Now I have duplicates of my order.
Gregory Z
-, France
2011-01-21
Robert H
VI, Australia
2011-01-21
this is third shirt i have purchased in as many mounths, an extra stud per shirt,would not have gone astray, as same would be hard to replace,in australia.
Linda D
CA, United States
2011-01-21
great products and reasonable prices!
Jen N
NM, United States
2011-01-21
Julie C
CA, United States
2011-01-20
Thanks for your quick mailing and the high quality!
Jared S
KY, United States
2011-01-20
Melissa S
WI, United States
2011-01-20
Very nice, high quality products!
Benjamin P
TX, United States
2011-01-20
product as advertised and it came very fast
Dan A
NV, United States
2011-01-20
Everything went fine. Ordering online is alway a little uncertain because you can't hold the items in your hand, nor try them on, but given that limitation, I have no complaints.
Mark G
CO, United States
2011-01-20
James H
ME, United States
2011-01-20
The vest was perfect. Though I do have a small comment. The reason I chose that SPECIFIC vest compared to a few others I have been eying was that the comments suggested that the vest was Machine Washable. As it turns out, that was exactly the case. It might be nice to note on the page whether or not the specific clothing item is Dry Clean Only or Machine Washable. Might make some purchases easier.
Edward S
NV, United States
2011-01-20
Aaron K
WI, United States
2011-01-20
Skyler J
MN, United States
2011-01-20
Paul M
AL, United States
2011-01-20
Hannah R
MI, United States
2011-01-19
Chuck R
WV, United States
2011-01-19
Kathy D
UT, United States
2011-01-19
My husband loves the monocle. He uses it in restaurants.
Kevin U
NC, United States
2011-01-19
product surpassed expectations
James K
AK, United States
2011-01-19
If they happen to desire a monocle, I'll point them here
Russell K
CA, United States
2011-01-19
Jerry W
IL, United States
2011-01-19
Josh M
IN, United States
2011-01-19
Product and selection is very good, I will definitely order again! If I were to nitpick, the communication could be a little better. Specifically, I received an email stating that my order had shipped, but when the order arrived it was incomplete. There was no indication that this was a partial shipment and the rest of the order would follow. Because it was my first time doing business with your company, I was not sure if my order was taken incorrectly, or if it was picked incorrectly, or if perhaps it would be shipping from separate warehouses. I considered contacting you to inquire, but didn't want to feel pushy. After all, your website did explain that it might take 8 business days to receive my product. A few days later, I got another email stating that my order was shipping, and then I received the rest of the order.
Sieglinde L
FL, United States
2011-01-19
Duane E
QL, Australia
2011-01-19
Your products are superb and every time i order from your site the shipping is fast, and the products are of the highest quality, i reccomend it to everyone i know all the time.
Clinton J
MN, United States
2011-01-19
Alexander H
-, Germany
2011-01-19
Brad B
CA, United States
2011-01-19
Outstanding clothing. Undoubtedly much superior than the original...
Bradford R
CA, United States
2011-01-19
Tapio W
-, Finland
2011-01-19
Teresa C
CA, United States
2011-01-19
Ordering was easy, delivery prompt. If future transactions follow the same pattern, you'll soon get a 10.
Kathleen L
CA, United States
2011-01-19
Jeff H
TX, United States
2011-01-19
Jeremy G
AL, United States
2011-01-19
Your product was great! I know this will not be the last Item that I will buy from you guys! You rock Historical emporium!
Patrick R
UT, United States
2011-01-19
I've reccomended you to a few people, the only lame thing is, is how you charge for shipping. Not only because you charge, but how you charge.
William C
CT, United States
2011-01-19
Prompt e-mail for order, then shipping. Got here fine, liked the shirts alot! thanks, I'll get more soon!
John M
OH, United States
2011-01-19
Craig W
CO, United States
2011-01-19
The order when as I expected. Quick and orderly.
George G
IL, United States
2011-01-19
merchandise as presented. quick ship. very happy.
Aaron B
NC, United States
2011-01-19
Sara P
OR, United States
2011-01-19
I was unimpressed with the quality of the first shirt I ordered, and while the replacement is better, it still has nylon lace on it. This isn't really suitable for historical costuming. I am happy to pay full freight for clothing that is reasonably accurate and fits well. One of the shirts I bought is great, but like I say, the other is going to require some alteration before I can wear it. That's problematic given that I bought rather than sewed shirts to save time.
Daniel L
OR, United States
2011-01-19
I placed my order on a very easy to navigate website. It seemed like it arrived the next day. The product was exactly what expected.
William B
QL, Australia
2011-01-19
Excellent service and products as always, I would highly recommend you.
Nancy W
CA, United States
2011-01-19
I love the web site. I will probably visit it again and buy more. I know I will need something for spring, especially a hat.
Parker A
CT, United States
2011-01-19
I would also like to see reproductions covering up to about 1930.
Roderick T
CA, United States
2011-01-19
The theatrical monocle that I ordered arrived very promptly and was exactly as advertised and as I needed. (The string needed to be replaced, in my opinion, with more traditional tape for period effect, which is why my rating is 9 and not 10, but that really is just a matter of opinion. The service from The Emporium itself was excellent.)
Aldo D
CA, United States
2011-01-18
i love the website. i love the clothes. i wear them daily. i think theyre comfortable and stylish and i get alot of compliments on them. i cant wait to fill my wardrobe with clothes from gentlemans emporium.
Lee C
TX, United States
2011-01-18
Greetings... Being a first time customer I was cautiously optimistic. The merchandise I received was of excellent quality. Everything fit, is of robust construction, and perfect for my needs. Actually, the quality exceeded the descriptions given on your website. I am to wear the complete outfit this weekend at a gathering of like minded folks...your Company's name shall be shared without reservation. Sincerely, Lee Cockerham
Robert C
IL, United States
2011-01-18
I have nothing more to say besides keep up the good work.
Randel M
CA, United States
2011-01-18
The ordering process was easy and the items arrived ahead of what was suggested.
Trevor S
CA, United States
2011-01-18
Every thing arrived quickly, looked great and fit wonderfully.
Ludger K
-, Germany
2011-01-18
The pants have high quality and they look great.
Cori C
MA, United States
2011-01-18
The product I ordered was perfect, and order processing was smooth and timely. However, the prices on this site are quite high. I was able to find many identical products sold through the Historical Emporium on other websites at lower prices.
Eueldean B
PA, United States
2011-01-18
George C
IL, United States
2011-01-18
A very nice, well made, well packed for shipment product. Thank you..!
Geo O
NJ, United States
2011-01-18
This was a gift, and the feedback I got was of extreme satisfaction with the items.
Kimberly S
PA, United States
2011-01-18
Most aesthetically pleasing, historically accurate yet cost efficient source for what I needed.
Dean D
GA, United States
2011-01-18
Samuel B
CA, United States
2011-01-18
The estimated delivery was accurate, the product arrived as described and without blemish. Will be ordering from the Historical Emporium again for all my Historical and steampunk attire needs.
Darlene I
VA, United States
2011-01-18
The website is very nice and easy to navigate. The items are made for quality not quantity.
James A
UT, United States
2011-01-18
Item exactly as described, of good quality, and reasonably priced.
Jesse R
IN, United States
2011-01-18
I've already recommended you.
Mike T
NY, United States
2011-01-18
Super fast shipping and great packing. Highly recommened. Have a nice day!
Lisa D
CO, United States
2011-01-18
James C
ON, Canada
2011-01-18
The price for the vests I ordered was far less expensive than any ones I could find in stores near my home. As well, I love the style of clothing offered as I'm a history buff.
Nichole D
TX, United States
2011-01-18
J S
NJ, United States
2011-01-18
Easy navigation, quick delivery. Hope to expand our polar bear swim next year.
M P
TX, United States
2011-01-18
what can I say? fast service, lovely item. I'm happy!
Amelia L
OR, United States
2011-01-18
The shirts I ordered arrived in good time, and look smashing on my husband. He received a lot of compliments. I'll definitely be visiting again!
Walter M
CA, United States
2011-01-18
Excellent product and swift delivery.
Barry W
MS, United States
2011-01-18
Robert L
MT, United States
2011-01-18
I have already told my friends of the excellent product(s) and customer service you provide. I gave them your website address.

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service