Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2011-02-20

O Matic
United States
2011-02-19
BonSue
United States
2011-02-19
This skirt is very well-made. It's simple front and bustle back are figure-flattering and easy to move in, and it's also comfortable when you sit down. I received several compliments on my outfit when I wore it to an old-west theme wedding.
BonSue
United States
2011-02-19
I usually have issues with blouse hems & sleeves being too short. This delicate victorian blouse is well-made & fits perfectly. It also has a tie in back to make it as form-fitting as you desire.
jan
United States
2011-02-19
I received my boots and was anxious to try them on and they fit great. Some had complained about them being slippery so I decided I would take them to a shoe repair to have a non-skid pad put on the soles. I noticed the boots were missing the bottom heel pad, so I felt a better quality inspection could have been done. I decided I would have my shoe repairman just add the heel pad while he was at it. I am still VERY thankful to this company for allowing me to experience having a victorian era boot. I will probably also order the boot in black. Thanks so much!!
muffy
United States
2011-02-18
This monocle looks great but does not fit any human eye socket we have tried it on. It is far too large!!!! Must be hand held . It was disappointing in this respect
Albert
United States
2011-02-18
Good quality, although it was made in China. Not particularily fond of China made products, tend to be poor construction and quality. This hat turned out OK. I like it and I feel like I stepped back into the old west. A fun hat for me. Caution: The inside brim is totally round so you will have to conform it.
Albert
United States
2011-02-18
Quality is wonderful as I expected for a USA made product. Fit was great and the color just perfect. No complaints.
DandyHank
WI, United States
2011-02-17
It's not quite as bright as in the picture, but it is still a very excellent vest! I am very happy with it!
slp
United States
2011-02-17
The fan is eloquent, beautifully designed, and really adds a victorian look to my walls. I am very pleased with this purchase and would recommend the fan to others.
Joey Jingles
OK, United States
2011-02-17
I own several Wahmaker products and they are the Cadillac of quality in cowboy clothing. I also like to put my money into American made products ! I bought the "Tall" XL black vest which stated it was roughly 24 inches in back but it came 25 5/8 inch in back which was too long to wear with my gunbelt. After a half dozen hot wash and dry cycles in has shrunk up to 24 1/2 inch in back. The vest has a good cut for bodybuilder shoulders without binding in the armpits and the girth fits around a "blessed" man. I am very pleased to own this quality vest...ablidged, pards.
Brian D.
TX, United States
2011-02-17
Wahmaker produces an excellent product. The buttons are top quality, and the fabric is also top notch. The fit is as advertised, and my wife contends I look quite handsome in the vest.Only one drawback- the stitching/seams are not perfect, but still an excellent garment for the price.
sandi
OR, United States
2011-02-17
I love these shoes, both for everyday and for costuming. They are very comfortable and fashionable. Great with skirts and pants. The heel is just the right height, even for someone like me with bad knees. Love them. The delivery was so quick too. I was amazed to see the package arrive in 2 days.
nitgub
CA, United States
2011-02-17
As usual, Historical Emporium outdoes its competition in a huge way. I have continuously purchased products from them over the past two years and have never, ever been disappointed in anything I have bought or browsed.
Paula Ellen
WI, United States
2011-02-17
Wonderful product! The goggles were adjustable in two places, the headband and the nosepiece, plus they had interchangeable lenses to make them clear or dark. This gives them great versatility for us to use them in many situations. We used them in 'Red Herring.' The director and actors were very excited when they saw the goggles. They were just what the show called for, and made the show look that much more authentic. This will definitely be the first place I check for props and costume items next time around. Your company is a joy to do business with. Thanks!
kiwi7
United States
2011-02-14
For the price (which on Historical Emporium is about 10% less than the price I found on other online retailers) it is a good boot. I usually wear a 9, but based on the item description and other reviews, I ordered a 9.5. 9.5 was too big. I exchanged for a 9, and there's still plenty of room. I hope the leather doesn't stretch too much.The leather is nice and although I haven't worn them all day yet, they have been comfortable so far.
lucy
United States
2011-02-18
absolutley delighted with this dress, its well made and fits well, I wore it for a western festival and was asked many times where I had purchased it, I also purchased the planters hat and bloomers to complete the outfit really pleased and will certainly buy more outfits in the future.
John K
QL, Australia
2011-02-17
Items arrived in excellent condition and surprisingly quickly.
Edgar S
CA, United States
2011-02-15
Depends on what he's looking for. But yes, I was very pleased with the speedy delivery.
Karen O
NH, United States
2011-02-14
I was happy with the website and the fast shipping, but not entirely happy with the item. I chose Historical Emporium because their price was about 10% less than other online retailers for the same item. However, based on the recommendation on their website (item description and customer reviews) I ordered a half size larger than I normally wear in the boots. However, they were too big and I had to exchange them. Any savings I would have gotten from ordering through Historical Emporium was lost by having to pay shipping again to exchange the boots.
Elizabeth M
MI, United States
2011-02-14
Bruce C
GA, United States
2011-02-14
Susan F
FL, United States
2011-02-20
Prompt service, very reasonable prices, adequate inventoroy
Thomas T
LA, United States
2011-02-20
Robert J
AZ, United States
2011-02-20
Your sizes run a little small.
Hanna L
VA, United States
2011-02-20
Alan W
FL, United States
2011-02-20
good product , great service
Katherine L
ND, United States
2011-02-20
Loved the items!
James B
PA, United States
2011-02-19
QUALITY PRODUCTS, GOOD DELIVERY TIME
Garth C
ON, Canada
2011-02-19
Troy P
AL, United States
2011-02-19
David T
LA, United States
2011-02-19
very pleased. Liked it that I got a personal call to clarify my order. The materials got here very quickly. They were well packaged and of excellent quality,.
Bonnie-sue B
FL, United States
2011-02-19
Service was excellent, shipping was speedy and products were high quality. Great experience.
Janet K
FL, United States
2011-02-19
I think this Company serves a special need to the person who desires early American and victorian period clothing. I am very thankful such a Company exists!
Mike C
WA, United States
2011-02-19
Scott G
SD, United States
2011-02-19
very good and prompt service thank you
Francesco A
-, Italy
2011-02-18
very satisfied!
Diana T
CA, United States
2011-02-18
good communication about when product was shipped; fast shipping, excellent condition. Was very pleased overall with the experience.
Susan H
FL, United States
2011-02-18
Anne B
MN, United States
2011-02-18
Ryan J
CA, United States
2011-02-18
Very helpful and great quality!
Carolyn F
CA, United States
2011-02-18
Items tend to run small
Derral C
TX, United States
2011-02-18
Excellent service, good variety, got just what I ordered and got it fast.
Sydnie P
MT, United States
2011-02-18
I was very happy to receive my order quicker than I expected to. It was also a great cut and fit me well.
Andrew R
CA, United States
2011-02-18
Jeffrey G
CA, United States
2011-02-18
Best selection and prices
Steven J
CA, United States
2011-02-18
Just what I need for the role I am playing. High quality goods at a great value
Anita S
ME, United States
2011-02-18
Everything arrived in a timely fashion and looked great.
Billie Y
NM, United States
2011-02-18
We were in need for a cross draw gun holster to fit a long barrel 45. We ordered a holster and belt from Heritage. The leather used is poor quality and the belt is not what they advertised. We were weary to order anything else from anyone. I'm VERY pleased with the holster we ordered from you and the craftsmanship of this holster is BEAUTIFUL!!! Our customer will be pleased also, I think. Thank You! Billie Jo Young
Troy V
CA, United States
2011-02-18
Customer service was excellent and I enjoy the selection of products available.
Robert B
IN, United States
2011-02-18
Brenda B
TN, United States
2011-02-18
I made two purchases and received the items in a timely manner. I have made three phone calls. When I have spoken to the gentlemen answering the phone, they were helpful and courteous. When I spoke to a young lady who took my order, she was rude when I asked questions and clarified items I had ordered.
Nancy N
IL, United States
2011-02-18
Robert D
WA, United States
2011-02-18
April B
KS, United States
2011-02-18
You were kind enough to allow me to come to your wearhouse while I was in San Jose. The organization and cleanliness of your wearhouse was a pleasant surprise. The quality of your garments is first rate. I will be ordering in the future. I run an historic site and I will and already have suggested Historical Emporium to friends and colleagues.
Wayne S
OK, United States
2011-02-18
Bryan H
PA, United States
2011-02-18
Service and shipping was good- however, the vest I ordered was not as pictured. Pictured was a 5 button, and I received a 4 button. Also, the pockets are not functional. Was a little disappointed with these two concerns.
Melissa G
OH, United States
2011-02-18
I love the skirt! I'm thinkng about ordering a second one!
Terry D
TN, United States
2011-02-18
Only thing I would change would be for you all to move your store closer to Tenn. so I could visit in person. Good Job and thanks to Jean for all her help
Laura B
OH, United States
2011-02-18
You were great - I didn't realize that I ordered from the same site twice in one morning and you caught this and credited money back to my credit card. Thank you - it was so nice that this was done because I certainly didn't catch it and would never have
Jamie M
MO, United States
2011-02-18
The prices are a little higher than I'd have hoped, but the designs are a little more complicated than I could make at home... good quality, too.
Chris O
IL, United States
2011-02-18
Fantastic service and communication. Good quality, too. Would rate a 10, but on scales this large I reserve that for things like 'they helped my wife deliver a baby' 5 out of 5 stars.
James R
TX, United States
2011-02-18
Customer service was spot on, and all the clothes and accessories that we ordered were of high quality and look amazing.
David F
TX, United States
2011-02-18
The hat I purchased was shipped in a box that was too small and the brim now has a crease in it that I can not get out
Cynthia W
VA, United States
2011-02-18
Thomas A
TN, United States
2011-02-18
So appreciative of the John Bull hats that I purchased...quality and stylish for a reasonable price...Thanks..and we posted pics on your FB page...
Albert B
TX, United States
2011-02-18
Service was excellent and my shipment came in a good sturdy box undamaged. Good company
Timothy C
VA, United States
2011-02-18
Great service ! Fast delivery ! Good quality products !
Stephen C
-, United States
2011-02-18
very fast service, was able to make changes to my order when I had forgotten to add an item I wanted.
Bonnie J
VA, United States
2011-02-18
Very happy with the service, very timely and proffessional
Filip H
-, Belgium
2011-02-18
Rober G
GA, United States
2011-02-18
Ryan A
HI, United States
2011-02-18
The Historical Emporium is a great place to find unique and otherwise hard to find items for the victorian enthusiast at a fairly reasonable price
Lauren R
LA, United States
2011-02-18
I've spent about $800 with y'all, Maybe it's time to throw me a 10% discount on a tie or something just to be neighborly-like.
Bryan B
KY, United States
2011-02-18
the clothes were in great shape. items came in quickly. I will defintely order again in the future
James M
LA, United States
2011-02-17
already have
Vikki F
BC, Canada
2011-02-17
Terry K
CO, United States
2011-02-17
Andrew B
WI, United States
2011-02-17
Kristin D
TX, United States
2011-02-17
I hope to buy from you in the future!
Andrew C
NC, United States
2011-02-17
Everything was as it should have been. I ordered my product, it arrived in an appropriate amount of time and the product was good quality.
Eugene G
TX, United States
2011-02-17
William P
MS, United States
2011-02-17
Sunnie G
NV, United States
2011-02-17
Lorine H
ND, United States
2011-02-17
Service was swift and prompt and I am pleased with the quality of my purchase.
Andrew F
PA, United States
2011-02-17
I called to see if a product size not listed might be able to be ordered and the person I spoke was able to hunt down the product at the warehouse. They were than helpful in helping me find the product I wanted and were very quick in staying in touch with me as they attempted to track it down. I have purchased products from Gentlemans Emporium and will continue to in the future.
Paula O
WI, United States
2011-02-17
We were very happy with the products! In fact, our costume designer was extremely excited to know of your website. She has had a lot of trouble finding the items that you are selling. So I'm sure she will be purchasing from you in the future. We are part of a local Community Theatre, with limited funds. So finding your website was a Godsend. The order was processed very quickly and we received the product very quickly. The actors and director were absolutely thrilled with the goggles! Thanks so much.
David S
NM, United States
2011-02-17
Very good products and prompt service. If prices were a touch lower this might move from a 9 to a 10.
Mahlon A
TX, United States
2011-02-17
I telephoned to ask a couple of questions. The woman I spoke with was very pleasant and helpful. This was my first time purchasing from your business and I wasn't totally sure of the quality. It was every bit what I hoped it would be and brought a lot of positive comments. I will be back for more.
Matt T
AB, Canada
2011-02-17
I was very happy wit the service I recieved. As well as how quick the order came to me!
Nikki D
GA, United States
2011-02-17
Scott A
CA, United States
2011-02-18
Timely service, straightforward processing, quality product.
Tim B
QL, Australia
2011-02-18
Cheryl B
AZ, United States
2011-02-18
Dennis S
NV, United States
2011-02-18
The clothing was as exactly as described and arrived very quickly. I will definitely check with this company again when period clothing is needed.
Zack L
WA, United States
2011-02-18
This was exactly what I was looking for and the items arrived with haste!
Leslie H
GA, United States
2011-02-18
Jerome S
IN, United States
2011-02-18
Quincy L
NY, United States
2011-02-18
Sean L
CT, United States
2011-02-18
Anna S
NY, United States
2011-02-18
We are happy with the product however, when I tried to order on line it said it was unavailable and I called anyway ... I'm glad I did but it turned me away electronically. The order came quickly.
Kathleen J
NY, United States
2011-02-17
David F
WA, Australia
2011-02-17
VERY HAPPY WITH THE SPEED OF THE DELIVERY AND THE PRODUCT
Karen F
OK, United States
2011-02-18
The item that I purchased was of very fine quality. We are very satisfied with this vest.
Andrew S
FL, United States
2011-02-17
Andreas S
-, Denmark
2011-02-17
Kenneth H
TN, United States
2011-02-17
Very authentic looking. I wore a push tie and pin to a formal event and received numerous compliments. I will certainly be a repeat customer. I especially appreciated the photos of how to wear the ties. I own a matching lapeled vest and never realized how much the TV series Maverick influenced my life. Thank you
Christina L
CO, United States
2011-02-17
Silvia V
-, Italy
2011-02-17
Ed C
MN, United States
2011-02-17
You guys did a great job.
Richard F
NE, United States
2011-02-17
It was just what I ordered, and I received it in good time.
Adam H
MA, United States
2011-02-17
Other than rather expensive the quality is excellent, and the shipping time good.
Mitzi I
CA, United States
2011-02-17
I was happy to find your site. It's hard to find period clothing. However, I thought the price was a little steep. I am very happy with the outfit, the color in particular was was perfect for several events I have in mind so I plan to get my money's worth from it.
Manfred-gabriel B
-, Germany
2011-02-17
All perfect.
Asher M
MA, United States
2011-02-17
...I already have.
Mario H
TX, United States
2011-02-17
I have the order & so far so good.
Louis G
CA, United States
2011-02-17
Thanks so much for making Historical Emporium a one-stop-shop for vintage wear! Every item I received was of great quality and looked great. Thanks again and I look forward to more shopping with you. Louis :)
William H
GA, United States
2011-02-17
Excellent selection of merchandise, described well on the website, shipped quickly. This was my first experience and I'm extremely well pleased with service and the merchandise. Quality of materials was excellent, well crafted, with a good fit as described on the website. I forgot to include one item on my internet order, so called the store and they added the item to the order quickly and it was shipped along with order. Specialty items are often cheaply made and expensive. Gentlemen's Emporium merchandise is reasonably priced and good quality... that equates to GOOD VALUE! I give Gentlemen's Emporium 5 stars.
Glen C
CO, United States
2011-02-17
I love this place and look forward to purchasing more items!!
Kirk P
CA, United States
2011-02-17
Beautiful fans!!!
Anita O
-, United States
2011-02-17
We were very happy with the items we ordered. (granny veil boots, victorian top hat, cravat tie and highlander frock coat) They were delivered in good condition and fit very well. When we had questions we recieved swift and helpful answers.
Thomas H
TN, United States
2011-02-17
Totally satisfied with the order. Great product, great price, great service. Thanks.
Jane L
TX, United States
2011-02-17
Elizabeth C
PA, United States
2011-02-17
I originally purchased a deluxe felt derby for my boyfriend for Christmas, but it turned out he needed the next size up. I had been planning to purchase more clothing from your site for his birthday in January, and I wanted to have the new derby in time for his birthday as well. Your customer service staff was incredibly helpful and we were able to arrange an exchange with no problem and I had the entire outfit in time for his birthday.
Jamie R
CO, United States
2011-02-17
most authentic gear
Grant M
OH, United States
2011-02-17
Alan B
ON, Canada
2011-02-17
Everyone was courteous. The products were of acceptable quality for my needs and at competetive price. I had a problem with one item and it was handled very effectively.
Joseph W
AR, United States
2011-02-17
Tall Wahmaker vest was longer than shown on display but shrunk to perfection after hot wash and dry. Back was 25 5/8 inch as recieved.
Larry M
FL, United States
2011-02-17
nice, quality product. arrived quickly.
Vijay W
OH, United States
2011-02-17
Very good product selection, quick shipping, and great customer service.
Brian C
AL, United States
2011-02-17
Ryan K
PA, United States
2011-02-17
Geoffrey S
PA, United States
2011-02-17
I was very very impressed with the website, the products and the fast service!!
John M
BC, Canada
2011-02-17
Thanks for the quick service. John Mitchell British Columbia Gold Rush Historian BcGhostTowns.com
Michael J
TN, United States
2011-02-17
Janet D
-, United States
2011-02-17
Don H
WI, United States
2011-02-17
Lawrence R
OH, United States
2011-02-17
Cathy F
OH, United States
2011-02-17
Very pleased with items and service. Items received when promised!
Keith F
IL, United States
2011-02-17
Thomas O
-, New Zealand
2011-02-17
There's no other store with anywhere near the range, quality and value that I've found online or in the shops
Matthew H
FL, United States
2011-02-17
Michael W
CO, United States
2011-02-17
The look of old with the comfort feel of today - can't beat that kind of combination! Prompt service was also a plus. High cost is an issue, but such a specialized product probably could not be created for much less. Thanks!
Dean D
GA, United States
2011-02-17
Rebecca G
GA, United States
2011-02-17
Daniel H
CA, United States
2011-02-17
Anthony G
VA, United States
2011-02-17
Robert N
MA, United States
2011-02-17
Alan R
CA, United States
2011-02-17
Though the purchase was not for myself, the person who did recieve it as a gift was very happy with it.
Aaron S
MD, United States
2011-02-17
All the other bowler hats I saw were listed as costume accessories - HE's hats are fit for daily use.
Albert S
AL, United States
2011-02-17
Quick service. Good return policy.
Ruth R
-, United States
2011-02-17
Clear website. Good chioce of designs. Well explained.
Barry D
NL, Canada
2011-02-17
Carole M
NY, United States
2011-02-17
Daniel C
-, United States
2011-02-17
Because they reproduce items of clothing in a style and cut I like, and I know from prior experience that their productions will stand up to day to day wear unlike the more stage clothish end of the market.
Academy T
PA, United States
2011-02-17
Speedy shipping; quality product.
Carlotta M
CA, United States
2011-02-17
Donald M
OH, United States
2011-02-17
great service. stuff got here on time couldn't ask for more

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service