Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2011-05-08

Steamdiva
FL, United States
2011-05-07
The blouse was great, good quality cotton and my husband especially likes the lace features on the bodice and cuffs of the sleeves.
Steamdiva
FL, United States
2011-05-07
The blouse was well made, nice fabric and size was on target. Easy to care for with some ironing.I use it for my "school marm" look.
Steamdiva
FL, United States
2011-05-07
The hooped underskirt was well made and I didn't even realize until I received it that it could be 2 slips in one. A hoop skirt, or remove the hoop & you have a "poofy" slip. Perfect for my long velvet skirt.
Sue
United States
2011-05-05
Perfect fit! Excellent material.
tootsarina
United States
2011-05-05
lilsquirrel2
United States
2011-05-05
so far both purchase of skirts were very good buys-I still think you can bring the prices down a bit but I still like!
lilsquirrel2
United States
2011-05-05
Buffalo
NE, United States
2011-05-04
I really wanted the cutaway coat, but my size was back ordered. I am going to a Royal event in England and needed something in time. This looked good in the picture and was available. I am so glad I chose this. What a beautiful coat in a wonderful fabric. I like the cutaway and will get one, but it doesn't hold a candle to this coat in quality. I would recommend this to anyone. It is a wool blend, so is not for hot weather, but I will wear this every chance I get.
RICKSTER
IL, United States
2011-05-04
ON THIS ITEM, I JUST WANT TO SAY THAT I WAS ALSO VERY HAPPY AND SATISFIED WITH THIS PRODUCT. YOU JUST DON'T FIND THESE IN ANY DEPARTMENT STORE. VERY STYLISH, AND ELEGENT TIE. IN GENERAL--- I LIKE ALL OF HISTORICAL EMPORIUM'S GARMENTS. THEY HAVE GREAT TASTE.
RICKSTER
IL, United States
2011-05-04
WHEN I RECEIVED THE coat, I WAS IMPRESSED BY IT JUST TAKING IT OUT OF THE BOX. A VERY ELEGENT. LIGHT WEIGHT GARMENT. IN MY CASE, A LITTLE TOO MUCH PASTA IN THE BELLY, THE coat DID NOT FIT IN THE WAIST.I WEAR A SIZE 46L OR 48R, DEPENDING ON MANUFACTURE, AND THE NEXT SIZE UP WAS OUT OF STOCK. I STILL WOULD RECOMEND THIS coat TO ANYBODY, BUT YOU MAY HAVE TO ORDER A SIZE UP.
RICKSTER
IL, United States
2011-05-03
I LOVE IT. THE vest IS VERY STYLISH, AND ELEGENT LOOKING, JUST AS A PAIR OF TROUSERS THAT I ORDERED AND REVIEWED.
RICKSTER
IL, United States
2011-05-03
I LIKE THE PANTS VERY MUCH. I DIDN'T KNOW WHAT TO EXPECT, WHEN I ORDERED THEM. I THOUGHT THAT MAYBE THEY WERE LIKE A costume,OR SOMETHING. BUT NO, THEY ARE MADE TO HIGH STANDARDS, AND FIT, AND LOOK PERFECT. I LIKE THE HIGH RISE WAIST.
Susie
United States
2011-05-03
I wore these beautiful boots to a Civil War ball and yes, I wore them with my ball gown. I especially loved the color of the boots and they were very comfortable to dance in. It was suggested when I originally ordered them that going a half size larger would be advisable, that turned out to be true.
BOB
United States
2011-05-03
A LOOSE NO BINDING FIT.LOOKS GREAT WITH ASCOT;WILD RAG; OR ALL BY ITS SELF.I'LL BE THE MAN IN BLACK WITH THIS GREAT shirt.
BOB
United States
2011-05-03
WOULD NOT BE CAUGHT IN TOMBSTONE OR ON A CRUISE WITHOUT THIS shirt.THANKS FOR ANOTHER GREAT PRODUCT.
Dee
CT, United States
2011-05-03
No exactly as pictured but cute. It sits a little higher on the head than shown but is cute with western attire.
Dee
CT, United States
2011-05-03
Excellent for winter wear and as a skirt alone in the summer. It is heavy and of really good quality. Looks wonderful on and is size accurate!
Bill the Butcher
OH, United States
2011-05-03
This hat is of the utmost quality. I love victorian felt hats, and this is one of the best I've ever encountered, better even than my Derby made by The Blonde Swan. It's not too tall so it doesn't come off as silly, and sits comfortably on the head. The material is very thick and stiff, and it's fully lined with satin and a leather sweatband. This is the hat you're looking for.
Bill the Butcher
OH, United States
2011-05-03
I'm six feet and three inches tall, and rather thin. That being said, I think this top hat is of excellent quality, but possibly a bit large- even on someone as tall as myself, it comes off a bit too Mad Hatter-ish with the flare. Otherwise, it's a great hat, great material.
Flaubert
MA, United States
2011-05-03
Other reviewers are not joking when they say buy a size up! I have a 37" waist and bought a 38. It was too small. These pants are designed to hit very high, over the navel. Buy the next bigger size than you think.
Flaubert
MA, United States
2011-05-03
SuefromSydney
Australia
2011-05-04
This jacket is so flattering and a delight to wear I now have it in 3 colours - the Grape was hard to track down, so thank you Historical Emporium! The details and workmanship are amazing for the price. Ladies if you are a petite frame with 32-34
SuefromSydney
United States
2011-05-04
Most other sites don't stock this colour which I love. As advised go half a size larger. (At the time of ordering I was still trying to understand Australian to US size conversion and ordered size 8 but only needed 7 (half a size up from my normal 6.5 as advised) but no problem, have added inner soles and they're fine. These boots are really comfortable and have good sole padding. Only minus is very slippery sole - I will have to have non-slip soles put on. Thank you Historical Emporium for good service and a good range of products. I am building a victorian wardrobe for re-enacting.
Skip
CO, United States
2011-05-03
Great product. Fits well, make sure you add about 6 inches to your waist size. It does stretch a bit over time. Very nice leather.
Lp W
CA, United States
2011-05-03
The products I've purchased from you are of good quality and your shipping service is excellent, but some of the items I'm interested in have been out of stock for a long time. If you're not going to restock, you ought to remove them from the catalogue.
Stephen A
AK, United States
2011-05-03
Excellent quality, coutious and prompt service. I would buy again and recommend.
Sara C
OH, United States
2011-05-03
The variety of goods surpasses many other such places/.
Mark S
FL, United States
2011-05-03
My order arrived quickly and was exactly what I expected.
James H
CA, United States
2011-05-03
Michael M
MA, United States
2011-05-03
Very well organized and easy to use. I really liked that I was able to see examples of the outfits and was able to pick parts based on the pre-made collections.
Sarah C
TX, United States
2011-05-03
Benjamin E
MA, United States
2011-05-03
I have already recommended the Emporium to friends, and they have to others as well. I find that the Emporium has a good, wide selection, and good prices compared to other sites. However I wish that more details would be included in descriptions of items,
Jennie R
CT, United States
2011-05-03
I was impressed with the quality and speed of which my order arrived. No alternations were necessary ... perfect fit!
Joe A
SC, United States
2011-05-03
Joseph S
ID, United States
2011-05-03
Lucienne L
MI, United States
2011-05-03
Now enough 1812 clothing or accessories.
Eric D
CA, United States
2011-05-03
Justin K
IN, United States
2011-05-03
Cynthia W
CA, United States
2011-05-08
Good job. Hope business is prosperous. /Cindy
Melanie R
MI, United States
2011-05-07
Robin C
NT, Canada
2011-05-07
Booster T
TX, United States
2011-05-06
Buying online is a scary thing, and I am not happy with the fabriucs of some of the purchases I made. Also the sizing seems different depending on the style of the jacket. I got two jackets the same size, but was sent radically different actual sizes.
Neil B
FL, United States
2011-05-06
everything arrived on time and was correct.
Donald E
PA, United States
2011-05-06
David B
MI, United States
2011-05-05
I love your store!
Cynthia S
ID, United States
2011-05-05
Gary T
OR, United States
2011-05-05
James C
OR, United States
2011-05-05
The product was exactly what we were looking for to wear in our wedding. A better slection of kids clothes would have made it even more awesome but we were happy all the same. Thank you.
Tristan G
-, United States
2011-05-05
Really good service, prompt, could definitely recommend. However, when UPS delivered it to me they wanted ?80 ($140) import duty. Waaaaay expensive!!!!! I want to order more clothes next week but not sure about the import tax. Way not mark it as a gif
John O
GA, United States
2011-05-05
David R
NY, United States
2011-05-05
John K
CA, United States
2011-05-05
I thought I'd start out small and see how it went.They arrive qickly and the quality was fantastic. You will definitely hear from me again, soon.
Rex T
TA, Australia
2011-05-05
It was not really what I wanted, but I can make it work. R,
Robert F
NY, United States
2011-05-05
Jennifer H
WA, United States
2011-05-05
Your products are unique and very accurate for period pieces.
Brett F
AB, Canada
2011-05-04
The best place for the style of items they carry.
Liz G
VI, Australia
2011-05-04
only thing is on this page maybe make the glasses not included part larger (http://www.gentlemansemporium.com/store/002623.php?__utma=1.925807893.1301818957.1301915395.1304550329.3&__utmb=1.1.10.1304550329&__utmc=1&__utmx=-&__utmz=1.1304550329.3.2.utmcs
Mathew T
TX, United States
2011-05-04
Very nice work! When I had questions about my order, I was supprised to talk to a helpful, knowledgable young woman who helped me right away. Order got here Lickety-splitt too. Great job!
Joan F
VT, United States
2011-05-04
great product - great service.
Troy K
MN, United States
2011-05-04
i was truly happy with both my purchases from your fine website.
Ritva O
LA, Finland
2011-05-04
Janet F
IL, United States
2011-05-04
Needed to exchange. It was a smooth transaction. Thank you.
Christine S
AR, United States
2011-05-04
Nancy A
NE, United States
2011-05-04
The quality of items I ordered are excellent. Really fast delivery time. I had to return a couple of items and there was absolutely no hassle.
William M
MD, United States
2011-05-04
I need to return this. The color is not SAND - at least not any sand color I am familiar with. What is your mechanism for this?
Philip L
-, United States
2011-05-04
purchase was fine but wont use again due heavy inport &custom charges
Richard B
IL, United States
2011-05-04
I LIKE THE STYLISH, ELEGENT, QUALITY, AND CUSTOMER SERVICE OF THE EMPORIUM.
Jeffrey-stuart G
FL, United States
2011-05-04
Clothes are wonderful - service is fast with no mistakes, especially if you keep your order to one category, i.e. Only ties, only vests, only shirts
Susan C
-, Australia
2011-05-04
Great products, easy to use website
Aaron M
VI, Australia
2011-05-04
Very good Service and a speedy transaction. Thank you.
Loke B
-, Sweden
2011-05-04
Very nice products and excellent service. Unfortunately the products I wanted were not available in my size. They gave me a refund without problem.
Larry B
AK, United States
2011-05-04
yes very pleased with service and quality
Kristine B
NY, United States
2011-05-04
Very nice quality. Good pricing and prompt delivery.
Delanoe M
-, France
2011-05-04
very satisfied with my order. correct delivery
Jim C
-, Australia
2011-05-04
Great products and service, with timely delivery. Very happy thanks.
Jeff A
ID, United States
2011-05-04
Rhosmhary M
NY, United States
2011-05-04
thank you and thank you for your very prompt attention

KS, United States
2011-05-04
Very Good Service. Very good products.
Stefano B
NY, United States
2011-05-04
Gregg L
MD, United States
2011-05-04
1) The clothing is well made. It's clothing that can be worn every day for years, not just a costume. 2) There is a good selection of apparel to choose from. 3) The prices are comparable to good quality everyday clothing.
Lila R
VA, United States
2011-05-04
Alan S
MT, United States
2011-05-04
Cool products. Found exactly what I had been searching other places for without success.
Ernest H
VA, United States
2011-05-04
Deborah B
CA, United States
2011-05-04
Every time I order something from the Ladies Emporium it is delivered practically before I can turn around! (VERY speedy service!) Perhaps more importantly, the goods have consistently been of a very high quality... I am very pleased. Thank you!
Alan G
WA, Australia
2011-05-04
Great Product , The holster fits my 45 perfectly ile be shopping with u again .
Brace P
CT, United States
2011-05-04
Beautiful pants (x2) and vest. The shirt was nice but a little thin. Excellent product representation and support.
Ann H
TN, United States
2011-05-04
good pricing, good product, but the paint on the stick has already had a minor chipping problem.
Linda B
AZ, United States
2011-05-04
Daughter in Kan. involved with old west re-enactments. Making her own dresses. Didn't have a summer parasol so your company took care of that and she is very happy with it.
John M
ON, Canada
2011-05-04
Service was fast. The items purchased were as described and of good quality.
Donnie H
NC, United States
2011-05-03
Neal W
CA, United States
2011-05-03
Maurice K
NH, United States
2011-05-03
The holster is beautiful I have had a lot of positive comments on it and where I bought it. It fits my Ruger Bisley vaquero perfectly and the revolver slides out real smooth. I am totally satisfied with it. Thank you. Maurice Kennett
Nicole W
MN, United States
2011-05-03
I know that I would refer the Emporium, because I have already done so.
Carter H
NC, United States
2011-05-03
The products and service I received was very good. Quite happy!
Kells J
CA, United States
2011-05-03
Christine S
OR, United States
2011-05-03
Mark M
VA, United States
2011-05-03
If I knew many people who would be interested in your product, I would readily recommend your services. Unfortunately, not many of my friends or colleagues shop for historic clothing.
Margaret E
NJ, United States
2011-05-03
Rudy S
CA, United States
2011-05-03
I can't afford all that I'd like, but I'm very happy with my purchase!
Phil M
ID, United States
2011-05-03
I was disappointed that you did not carry any childrens sizes.
Juan S
CT, United States
2011-05-03
The service was excellent. I was going to exchange one item and ordered a replacement but we (wife and I) decided that we liked both.
George W
CO, United States
2011-05-03
Very beautiful leather. Would have preferred 357 ammo loops, but did not want to wait for special order.
Steve B
CA, United States
2011-05-03
I was somewhat surprised to discover the garment fit perfectly. I had been sure it would need alteration. It is also made of high quality material and well constructed.
Travis S
VA, United States
2011-05-03
Quality and selection, both based on recommendation by multiple people.
Patrick L
FL, United States
2011-05-03
Murray B
NJ, United States
2011-05-03
Ricardo F
QL, Australia
2011-05-03
Matthew W
MI, United States
2011-05-03
the products you have are top quality and unique. Something that I have been looking for.
Cameron S
ON, Canada
2011-05-03
Transaction went smoothly and communication was very good. I always received updates regarding the processing of my order and I could track my order during shipping.
Elizabeth V
CO, United States
2011-05-03
Aaron W
IN, United States
2011-05-03
Joseph B
TX, United States
2011-05-03
Already have.
Robert A
HI, United States
2011-05-03
Harold B
CA, United States
2011-05-03
excellent ,a real class act!!!! FIVE STAR
Denise K
CT, United States
2011-05-03
Andrew P
-, United States
2011-05-03
very satisfied with all my goods! However the very high import duty we have to pay will stop us ordering your products as regularly as we would like. many thanks.
Lydia S
WA, United States
2011-05-03
James H
CO, United States
2011-05-03
Larry C
SD, United States
2011-05-03
Misi B
PA, United States
2011-05-03
I recommend your store ALL THE TIME!!!! Ever since I started working for Shrine in Hollywood back in 2007, I would refer customers to your website.
William O
RI, United States
2011-05-03
I've given Gentleman's Emporium name to several people.
William H
OR, United States
2011-05-03
James K
MA, United States
2011-05-03
Loved the merchandise and the quick service. I will definitely purchase more from Historical Emporium.
Michele M
WA, United States
2011-05-03
I love my hoop skirt. The quality is fantastic, it will last me a long time. It completed some of my outfits and I love dressing up with it on!
Ilona K
OR, United States
2011-05-03
Excellent follow through on exchanges; excellent communication by phone and email. I would highly recommend the Historical Emporium
Kurtis H
MO, United States
2011-05-03
Glenn H
BC, Canada
2011-05-03
Pants received did not match piture online. Pinstripe width too wide on pant received, so does not have the look I wanted and does not match vest as well
John K
CA, United States
2011-05-03
Malinda P
GA, United States
2011-05-03
Eric H
MD, United States
2011-05-03
Brilliant! I had stupidly waited until the last minute to tend to my costume, and the Thursday prior to a Saturday event, I called. The lady on the phone was very nice and helped me set up Express Mail shipping r two 3X shirt collars, and we prayed they w
Bryan N
KS, United States
2011-05-03
Janet W
CA, United States
2011-05-03
Liked your website and you had what we were looking for
Pat A
OH, United States
2011-05-03
my recent experience was very satisfactory, from the shopping phase to the wearing phase. I was pleased to find a lot to choose from and the quality of the clothes...not costume quality was excellent. I had to return one of the items and that process wa
Debra A
OR, United States
2011-05-03
Amorette A
MT, United States
2011-05-03
Product was inexpensive and just what I wanted, plus the service was very fast.
Berthaut T
-, France
2011-05-03
Teresa H
PA, United States
2011-05-03
The order arrived quickly and everything was beautiful and of high quality. My son plans to wear the outfit to his senior prom. It looks great. 100% satisfied.
Aaron W
MI, United States
2011-05-03
I have had no complaints with the services offered by the Historical Emporium.
Charles V
LA, United States
2011-05-03
Excellent service, very helpful staff.
Marie P
-, France
2011-05-03
James D
VA, United States
2011-05-03
The products arrived in pristine condition, and in a timely manner. Though the package itself showed some wear and tear, I don't think that's the fault of Gentleman's Emporium.
Stephen D
NY, United States
2011-05-03
GREAT STUFF - FAST SERVICE
Sarah S
IN, United States
2011-05-03
We loved the service and the product!
Gary C
MI, United States
2011-05-03
Great stuff, great service. G.
Matt L
VA, United States
2011-05-03
I ordered on line and had no interaction with any humans at The Emporium. Prices were reseaonable and shipping was fast.
John K
TX, United States
2011-05-03
It's the only source I know of for some cool stuff.
Elizabeth N
OK, United States
2011-05-03
A pocket watch and the mini telescope. Both were gifts to my boyfriend for his birthday, and he loves them :)
Tracy G
MN, United States
2011-05-03
Jack K
NE, United States
2011-05-03
excellent item and great, prompt service!!!!!
Glen S
ME, United States
2011-05-03
Stephen L
NY, United States
2011-05-03
gentlemens and western emporium are the two best clothing and apparel websites I've ever been on. I tell all my friends about it
Christine F
MI, United States
2011-05-03
Robert C
MA, United States
2011-05-03
I'm a Minister and I often need vests to wear with my clerical collar. The choice of vests at The Emporium allows me to add some distinguished color to my otherwise either gray or black wardrobe.
Michelle C
MI, United States
2011-05-03
Barney D
NC, United States
2011-05-03
Angela H
BC, Canada
2011-05-03
Tracy C
WY, United States
2011-05-03

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service