Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2011-05-22

SoFloBargainHunter
NY, United States
2011-05-20
This product/skirt is very well made; very feminine and flattering; good price. The skirt, however, is not lined. Loved it so much I bought the Black first then ordered the Brown; and hope to have/wear it for a long time.
Steve
AB, United States
2011-05-19
This is easily the best waistcoat I own. Feels very comfortable, looks sharp, and fits nicely. Its very multi-purpose. looks just as nice worn with a top hat and tailcoat for a regal look, then with rolled up sleeves and goggles for a down n dirty industrial steampunk vibe.
sir wayne
United States
2011-05-19
Steampunk Joe
NC, United States
2011-05-19
Fits nicely. Pleats look like a nice touch.
Steampunk Joe
NC, United States
2011-05-19
This is a basic linen cap. Don't think it will work too well for keeping you dry, but that also means it breathes pretty good.It does not really hold its shape like in picture, but then again, I have some goggles sitting on it.
Steampunk Joe
NC, United States
2011-05-19
Ok, I admit it! I did a search on "Steampunk Costume" and found one of the many Emporiums here: steampunk Emporium.I found "Barnaby Clifton, Intrepid Motorist" and basically bought most all the items listed - except the vest, since they said it was sold out. (Now they don't even list the vest.)I looked around for another vest and spotted this Emerald Isle Vest. Hey, it added some color to previous greys and tans. And was green, so could use for Irish events. I have used this vest at a number of events, from steampunk to Irish events. It gets lots of compliments!However, I have worn it enough that I have been told by one lady that I need to get a different vest!Some details: Buttons are a grey metal.I got a 2 XL to ensure it would be big enough. I have a 40", sometimes 42" waist. The vest is big enough and I have to use the band on the back to tighten it. It is long enough that your shirt does not peep out.The collar comes up pretty high, so even though I had bought the "Sinclair Edwardian Club Collar Shirt" to go with it, you mostly can't see the pleats if you have some sort of tie.In case you have not figured it out yet, I am really happy with this purchase!
Steampunk Joe
NC, United States
2011-05-19
Nice duster. As someone said, the duster is oversized. I saw that comment, but was short on time, so ordered it anyway to be assured to have SOMETHING. I should mention the expedited shipping worked great, but was expensive. I ordered an XL. I am 5' 10", 222 lbs. Sleeves were a little long too, but you fold cuffs under.Have not washed yet, so don't know yet how it will hold up.
Ayprille
US, United States
2011-05-19
This skirt is great. Looks fabulous in either "skirt" or "Pants" mode. It buttons and converts easily, and the fabric is really nice, heavy quality fabric. I think the sizing runs a bit big because I ordered the size I usually wear and the waist is almost 2" too big, but it will be easy enough to take in. Just one word of warning... you can't cross your legs while seated with this item in "skirt" mode...
traveler
United States
2011-05-18
carnut46
VA, United States
2011-05-18
I also bought a Derby hat from you. Both hats are better than i expected.!!!!
Eve
United States
2011-05-18
Excellent quality, and absolutely darling in person! Size chart is very accurate, I couldn't be happier with this outfit.
Lucky Bill
NE, United States
2011-05-17
Great tough product. Highly recommend. Quality is high and workmanship is top notch.
Taylar
United States
2011-05-17
mixie
United States
2011-05-17
I wear skirts all day every day and am always on the lookout for something decent. This definitely fit the bill! I would have paid this much to buy material of this quality and have someone make the skirt. The skirt arrived in a very timely manner, is made of good quality material and weight, drapes well and has a simple but elegant silhouette. I thought the button closure ingenious. The size was a bit larger than expected - at first I thought to exchange for a smaller size, then decided to keep this one and order smaller in future. The customer service was also excellent. I have already recommended this website to several of my friends.
G
United States
2011-05-17
Satisfied again.
Doug
United States
2011-05-17
The coat has a comfortable feel, light weight which should help this summer in my presentation as an 19th century Print Shop owner
tami
United States
2011-05-17
I'm quite impressed with this blouse. The fit is lovely, the quality good, and they got it to me quickly. I only wish it came in more colours than black/white, but I dyed mine and it came out just fine
Steve
AB, United States
2011-05-19
I really like this vest. Nice fit, good material, and is built to last. Looks great with almost everything I wear. Fancy enough to wear on occasions, but practical enough for daily use.
Chris Madsen
United States
2011-05-19
A superb boot and the gautex/elasticated sides make for a brilliant fit for me as I have large calves and standard high leg boots just don't cut it.Features like the vamp and spur shelf all add to the look and feel and as a western re-enactor here in the UK that is very important.
the Major
MI, United States
2011-05-17
The pistol is heavier than I expected but of excellent quality. The only thing missing were replica bullets for the cylinder.
the Major
MI, United States
2011-05-17
I purchased this item for a costume and ordered the wrong size. I ordered the correct size and sent the smaller one back. I received my replacement in time and am very pleased.
Megan K
MN, United States
2011-05-17
Joe B
-, Australia
2011-05-17
Nikola E
WA, United States
2011-05-16
Order came super-fast as advertised and the quality and look of the clothing is excellent!! We will definitely use your site again.
Midian V
LA, United States
2011-05-16
I know many reenactors, and unique clothes horses, so of course I'll recommend you.
Joseph J
NY, United States
2011-05-16
Paul R
CA, United States
2011-05-17
Michelle H
OH, United States
2011-05-17
Liked what I saw online and the reviews of the products
Tania M
-, New Zealand
2011-05-17
I was impressed by the array of items. The parcel arrived in a timely manner.
Patrick M
CA, United States
2011-05-17
Selection & Prices. Itemes were well laid out and described.
James C
FL, United States
2011-05-17
Very happy with the service and with my purchase.
Nicholas T
SK, Canada
2011-05-22
Fast, safe and a lovely selection. I shall use you again.
Adam B
OR, United States
2011-05-21
The correlation between the pictures and description on the website and what actually came in the mail was excellent. The products were well packed, and they were shipped promptly.
Alex K
PA, United States
2011-05-21
Rhonda B
WV, United States
2011-05-21
It's the only website I found to have period clothing I needed for the historical tour in our town & home.
Joanne F
NY, United States
2011-05-21
Beautiful suit! Well made and fit is perfect. Thank you.
Charles P
TX, United States
2011-05-21
the hat was great! as well as the service !
William G
OK, United States
2011-05-20
I find the emporium to be the best place for all my historical needs. great products at great prices, i love this site!!!!
Ann E
BC, Canada
2011-05-20
authentic fabrics and construction of purchased items
David M
PA, United States
2011-05-20
Brian S
UT, United States
2011-05-20
The Items that I got are very good. I have been looking for a place like this for a while and I will be a repeat customer.
Steven S
AB, Canada
2011-05-20
Cindy A
MI, United States
2011-05-20
High quality apparel at a reasonable price, and the shipping was prompt. I highly recommend this site for period clothing.
Nigel A
BC, Canada
2011-05-20
Items arrived exactly as described within a few days of my ordering them. Excellent selection of sundries outside of common circulation. I'll more than likely do more business with the Gentleman's Emporium in the future.
Debra L
TX, United States
2011-05-20
The dress I ordered and received is true to size and I am truely satisfied with this purchase.
Dennis K
NJ, United States
2011-05-19
Super fast shipping and service
Tamarr B
NV, United States
2011-05-19
Very happy with the quality of the garments I purchased. Your sizing suggestions were accurate on the men's canvas work pants (what with the period's higher waist line). The Sinclair edwardian club collar shirt was too big, but it was very easy to swap for a smaller size.
Melodie B
IN, United States
2011-05-19
I am very pleased with the timeliness in which I received the items I ordered for my husband, as well as the quality of the products. Thank you for such a great experience. I definitely will refer you to others!
John B
BC, Canada
2011-05-19
We were very pleased with the selection. Everything we thought of was available, your selection is great.
Karlene L
NY, United States
2011-05-19
Very good experience all around: ordering is easy; shipping charges are oneof the lowest; delivery is super fast; Never had to use Customer service; return policy seems very generous
James G
KY, United States
2011-05-19
Good product at a good price. Delivery was prompt.
Edward S
IL, United States
2011-05-19
Terry A
SA, Australia
2011-05-19
Responses to email enquiries regarding sizes and purchasing were instantaneous and the advice offered was high quality and relevant. Manner of staff was courteous and understanding - great credit to your staff and organisation - old fashioned service 'with a smile' via a modern format. I checked other apparel websites prior to purchase and even found garment purchased at a less expensive price, by $30.00 US, but chose to buy from western Emporium due to manner of staff correspondant; well done, I say!!! Also, a very comfortable and quality garment, thank you. Regards, Terry Anderson
Neal O
CO, United States
2011-05-19
Very Good Customer Service. All the products were good except for my Scully Engineershirt. Buttons fell off when I put it in the wash, had to sew them back on.
Kyle H
KS, United States
2011-05-19
Kristen A
OH, United States
2011-05-19
I am pleased with each product I purchased and they shipped quickly and efficiently.
Jonathan M
NJ, United States
2011-05-19
The product came in mint condition and on time. Great service~
Shawn B
TX, United States
2011-05-19
i took the advice on picking a belt size +4 from my hips, but it feels like it wants to fall off. i'm wondering why 4.
Edsel M
-, New Zealand
2011-05-19
Nedra R
WA, United States
2011-05-18
A J
-, United States
2011-05-18
Good range of product to suit special interests. good value and service. Quick delivery with attention to detail.
Ramon F
NY, United States
2011-05-18
everything ive ordered was great.
Jason N
NE, United States
2011-05-18
i was very pleased with both the product and the service
James V
MI, United States
2011-05-18
The products arrived on time and in tact. The only issue I had was my debit card number got hijacked and a few charges were applied to a computer store. I talked with the sales rep and they were looking into the security measures on their end. This is the only time I've had this particular issue occur while conducting business on line.
Joanne P
WV, United States
2011-05-18
I received it promptly and it was very nice.
Julie M
IL, United States
2011-05-18
Just thanks for keeping your quality high and your prices low! I've seen the boots I purchased from you on other sites for more $.
Jared W
WA, United States
2011-05-18
Fred J
PA, United States
2011-05-18
Jacqueline A
CA, United States
2011-05-18
Fantastic customer service, and the item I purchased is wonderful!
Richard A
CA, United States
2011-05-18
Good selection, quick shipping, good quality goods
Kathleen C
TX, United States
2011-05-18
N P
OH, United States
2011-05-18
Awesome selection & great, quick service - I'll definitely come back to Historical Emporium for any future needs.
Joyce K
CA, United States
2011-05-18
Hanna V
-, Norway
2011-05-18
I loved shopping at Gentleman's Emporium! Great stuff, great prices and quick delivery. Thank you, and I will definetly be back!
Matthew T
MD, United States
2011-05-18
your products are of extremely good quality and at very reasonable prices, i will defiantly come here again and again for all my historical clothing needs
Ben W
SC, United States
2011-05-18
Sean O
CO, United States
2011-05-18
I am already impressed at the wide selection of patterns and styles, keep up the good work.
Donald W
FL, United States
2011-05-18
The items received were exactly what I was looking for.
Terry K
CO, United States
2011-05-18
Sarah W
AR, United States
2011-05-18
James M
AL, United States
2011-05-18
Already have recommended to a friend.
Constance S
MO, United States
2011-05-18
I was very pleased with the suit I ordered. It fit and works great. I also ordered a blouse that was marked XXLg and actually was a Large. I am sure that this was not your fault because it was marked xxlg but you should be aware that it is smaller. Thank you. Constance
Greg C
OH, United States
2011-05-18
James A
AR, United States
2011-05-18
service was great I have already placed another order. I have also recommend you to some fellow shooters. thank you.
Aaron S
IN, United States
2011-05-18
Laurie S
MI, United States
2011-05-18
To be honest, the service was great but, I was unable to wear either shirt. I am a 14-16 so I ordered the x-l and it was too small. Then I ordered it in a 2x and it fit the same as the first. So your service as I said was great but I was frustrated that neither item fit . P.S. I normally wear or large and sometime an xl but a 2x and still too tight.... bummer
Liana R
-, Latvia
2011-05-18
Very nice quality and fast shipping.
Edward M
FL, United States
2011-05-18
I felt you did a very good job displaying the products and the quality of the clothing is excellent
William M
MD, United States
2011-05-18
Item was the wrong color, OK size - but material too heavy. Was sent back last week. wmerritt@jhmoi.edu
Mark S
IN, United States
2011-05-18
Edward S
OH, United States
2011-05-18
The vest that I purchased is absolutely fantastic.Looks great, feels great, fits great! Quality is superb. I would highly recommend the Emporium and willdo so.
David B
NJ, United States
2011-05-18
Very high quality stuff, good prices, fast delivery. What more could ya want?
Richard S
MA, United States
2011-05-18
Great service!! Amazing clothing!! Wish the victorian Era style would come back!! Thank you, very much.
Nils N
-, Norway
2011-05-18
some of the most awesome packages i have ever got in my mail!
Darren P
QL, Australia
2011-05-18
Sandy B
SA, Australia
2011-05-18
got a gun holster for my brothers 30th he love love loved it . My friends have already ordered since then will be ordering again thankyou
Robert S
QL, Australia
2011-05-18
very pleased with the workman ship of the item. The size is good.
Cody B
AZ, United States
2011-05-18
Brian S
AK, United States
2011-05-18
Andrew S
-, United States
2011-05-18
Product is fantastic, but because the shipping to the United Kingdom involves the Royal mail I it ended up costing twice as much. From previous experience of buying from the States I have found that if UPS is used the service is much better and you don't get ripped off. So offer UPS as a shipping option
Jo G
CA, United States
2011-05-18
Rupert E
-, Switzerland
2011-05-18
Michael D
KY, United States
2011-05-18
Jeff A
ID, United States
2011-05-18
Jennifer K
CA, United States
2011-05-18
Joseph S
TA, Australia
2011-05-18
Rebecca R
MO, United States
2011-05-18
Stephanie S
CA, United States
2011-05-18
Keegan T
CA, United States
2011-05-18
You have an awesome selection of really cool stuff! It would be nice to see some products offered in period correct natural fibers, and I would love to see more edwardian era clothing in the women's department
James D
PA, United States
2011-05-18
The product was as advertised and shipment/receipt was prompt. I will be purchasing additional items.
Kathryn P
CO, United States
2011-05-18
I bought two Bradshaw Embossed vests and they are perfect!! Very high quality. Very sharp looking.
Michael D
CA, United States
2011-05-18
Service was fine and timely. It appears that the credit card information is secure. I thought the price for the product with the shipping was excessive.
Annika L
-, Finland
2011-05-18
Leonard N
IL, United States
2011-05-18
I apreciated you sending whatever you had of my order instead of holding everything back until you could send it all at once.
Amanda B
UT, United States
2011-05-18
We were pleased with the products that we received. The first shipment we got we had to return due to the fact that it was the wrong size, but they gave us no trouble in sending it back for an exchange, and they were quick! Greatly appreciated :) Thank you guys!!!!
Jacqueline W
MO, United States
2011-05-18
You guys did great!
James C
ME, United States
2011-05-18
Adam H
NJ, United States
2011-05-18
Accurate and prompt delivery as well as quality product. Overall I was very satisfied.
Charles V
LA, United States
2011-05-18
Excellent friendly service. I teach customer service and I'm very critical. I was very impressed.
Craig H
PA, United States
2011-05-18
Quick delivery and very good quality
Cathryn D
TX, United States
2011-05-18
Item arrived quick, was as described, and exactly what I was looking for. The price was rather high, however, and while I get that the items are high quality, I have seen several other places with the same quality and yet a much cheaper price for similar items.
Victoria K
MA, United States
2011-05-18
I really love this emporium!! Everything in it is absolutely loverly! <3 <3 <3
Philip W
CT, United States
2011-05-18
We already have recommended your website to several people.
David H
MD, United States
2011-05-18
It was a rough start, telling me that my credit card co did not match up my address! Like if i was to defruad someone I would search out Historical Emporium! Right! Glad they wised up and did not loose a$1000 order! But the products are of very good quality and some MADE IN THE USA which is great!
Roy R
CA, United States
2011-05-18
very courteous personal service, fast delivery, and quality product
Channing H
MA, United States
2011-05-18
Curtis B
PA, United States
2011-05-18
The quality of items is just grand, I have yet to be disappointed with a purchase.
Sharon P
CA, United States
2011-05-18
Mary F
MI, United States
2011-05-18
Very high quality.
Raymond P
FL, United States
2011-05-18
The Emporium has a great website and a friendly staff. After finding the vest I wanted on their website I called the help line to ask a question and place my order. I will be back.
Stephen P
CO, United States
2011-05-18
Unique inventory and excellent reputation.
Molly K
NC, United States
2011-05-18
awesome pricing, awesome dress. Much better than expected !!
Jennifer R
IN, United States
2011-05-18
Great source of beautiful steampunk clothes at reasonable prices.
Max D
IL, United States
2011-05-18
I don't really have many friends that are particularly interested in steampunk clothing, but should the opportunity present itself, the Gentleman's Emporium is the first place I'd point them to.
Richard A
KS, United States
2011-05-17
Great choice of products, prompt service, and no disappointments when I opened the packages.
Ben R
NY, United States
2011-05-17
great product, customer service and speedy delivery. Also, well packed.
Teddie B
KS, United States
2011-05-17
John K
NC, United States
2011-05-17
I like the fact that your products are unique and look very representative of the period.My only complaint however was the shipping charge. Does the same shipping charge apply to everything? Don't worry I will be placing more orders as long as you are around
Savannah T
MO, United States
2011-05-17
Got the watch I ordered on time, and it was lovely! The check-out process was a breeze!
Sheryl F
VT, United States
2011-05-17
Great selection, great website, and easy purchase. My husband is very happy with his jacket!
Robert F
OH, United States
2011-05-17
Karen G
MD, United States
2011-05-17
I ordered a skirt which looks very nice. The shipping was very fast.
Dennis E
ME, United States
2011-05-17
I have five different shirts from Historical Emporium and I love them. I get the greatest compliments when I where them. Keep up the good work.
Steve Z
CA, United States
2011-05-17
I am using the Emporium (Western & Gentlemens) to costume my film. Service has been exrraordinary and I've already recommended you to several others.
Ian F
MA, United States
2011-05-17
While the prices are on the steep side, and the transit time is significant for clients on the east coast, the products are second to none and definitely worth recommending.
Amanda K
-, Australia
2011-05-17
Amber F
MT, United States
2011-05-17
I liked how easy & nice the Web site was.
Melanie L
QC, Canada
2011-05-17
I am having a western themed wedding in october and lots of my guest are looking for outfits and accessories ... we can find lots of interesting stuff on your site! thank you
Cathy P
CT, United States
2011-05-17
Fast delivery and quality merchandice. I have been extremely happy with products and service. True to size and when not, I was encouraged to order the next larger size.
Nicolas D
France
2011-05-17
It was my third order, and both service and goods are still excellent, as well as delivery time to France.
Dona K
NJ, United States
2011-05-17
Steve M
NC, United States
2011-05-17
I recieved my order quickly and with the correct size change from my order note.
Lugh P
CA, United States
2011-05-17
Service and quality are excellent
Kristen M
NY, United States
2011-05-17
Edward M
MA, United States
2011-05-17
The quality of the merchandise is fantastic. I did find the sizing a little off but on the whole the clothing is fantastic and I look absolutely dashing in it. The Gentleman Farmer
John J
CA, United States
2011-05-17
Edi B
CA, United States
2011-05-17
Everything was great.
Avery S
MI, United States
2011-05-17
Marco B
-, Italy
2011-05-17
Ellen C
CA, United States
2011-05-17
Service was great -- clothing arrived within a few days! Thank you. One disappointment: the buttons on the vests and shirts are too modern.
Heather L
VA, United States
2011-05-17
Suellen P
FL, United States
2011-05-17
ABSOLUTELY I would recommend them! Their service was very prompt, and the merchandise was of very good quality. I actually found one of the items at a local store yesterday, or rather a similar item, but the quality was far inferior to what I bought at Historical Emporium, and at a higer price. I'm VERY pleased.
Albert K
MS, United States
2011-05-17
Item of good quality, price fair, shipping fast
James D
MA, United States
2011-05-17
A friend vouched for the quality of your products, and I thought the items were reasonably priced.
Jacquelyn L
NV, United States
2011-05-17
Bonnie S
MT, United States
2011-05-17
I ordered this for a friend of mine and she was tickled pink with it, she had loked and looked for this shirt.

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service