Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2011-06-05

AStateofIllusion
MD, United States
2011-06-04
Pockets are sewn very tightly shut, but have faith as they are indeed real. Nice material, good fit, very happy with it!
Tin Pan Alley Cat
United States
2011-06-04
These are really nice. Authentic and heavy duty. These will not wear out any time soon.
Tin Pan Alley Cat
United States
2011-06-04
This is a nice quality shirt. The cotton was a little heavier than I was expecting. Also I thought the collar would be a bit stiffer like a dress shirt but it's not. The collar is quite floppy and will require a heavy dose of starch to crispen it up. Overall though the quality is really good.
Rick
IO, United States
2011-06-04
A very solid item. Well made and comfortable. I would recommend this to everyone interested in buying a well made vest.
Dapper Dean
OH, United States
2011-06-03
Vibrant sage green color! Quality and fit are excellent, too. A nice option for a man who wants to dress up for a special event like a wedding, Broadway play, or a trip to the concert hall.
Cowtown gal
KS, United States
2011-06-03
I was pleased with the cameo itself but when I tried to pin it onto several layers of clothing (crocheted collar and bodice), the back pin came off. Once I reglued it, however, the pin was fine. In fact, I wore it to a bead show and sale and got several compliments. It's a lovely piece, especially appropriate for a gardener.
Dutchlady
TH, United States
2011-06-03
I'm real happy with this skirt.It looks very pretty and I love the fact that I can just throw it in my suitcase and not having to worry about the 'wrinkles'.
aloha
MA, United States
2011-06-03
Anachronist Painter
AZ, United States
2011-06-03
It was exactly what I was wanting! I've looked at some other ones in stores, this one is so much better finished, even got some envious looks from passer's by in Tombstone, where everyone likes to play dress-up.
Prof. Dragoon
United States
2011-06-03
This watch is very unique as I have never seen another like it. However, while it is a wind-up, it doesn't keep time very well. It tends to run fast, at least in my experience. But for the price, it is too damn cool!
KassonMel
MN, United States
2011-06-03
At 41 years old, I was worried I might look a little silly in this shirt, but it turned out to be the PERFECT thing to wear in the "real world" with an asymmetrical denim skirt that I bought years ago. The adjustable ties actually make it fit well, while the good-quality cotton fabric makes it less trashy and quite classy. It's also going to be perfect for dressing up for old west reenactments and Melodrama summers in Mantorville, MN--absolutely a keeper!
Jules
United States
2011-06-03
I needed something to use as a base for my LOTR Orc steampunk costume, this was perfect! I was impressed with the sturdiness & quality of the leather for the very reasonable price. I have mounted a homade gas mask on it, should work out perfectly
designdrw
FL, United States
2011-06-03
I have purchased a number of items from your company and they are all FABULOUS.

United States
2011-06-03
Wow, what a great price for a beautiful cameo. Totally completes outfit. Purchased it to go with a dark red pioneer dress to
shellee04
United States
2011-06-03
This pocket watch is Beautiful. My husband loved it. It was a present from his children (7,5,2 yrs) for his birthday. It will absolutely complete his pioneer look for our wagon train. He was very happy. We will be ordering another one for his dad.
shellee04
United States
2011-06-03
This Cameo is Beautiful. It definitely creates a finished look for the pioneer or victorian re-enactor. It is a wonderful present! My mother-in-law loved it. It matched exquisitely with a dark blue pioneer dress.
shellee04
United States
2011-06-03
The Y-Back Braces did not fit my husband. He has a long waist, and needed a longer size. They would have been good for our event, but will probably give them away. I believe the Braces would be sturdy for re-enactors who have physical jobs.
shellee04
United States
2011-06-03
This was a great price, excellent for product. My husband is very pleased with the quality for a true pioneer look and feel. The fit was great using the size chart. Perfect hat!
Paul T
-, United States
2011-06-01
Susan C
-, United States
2011-05-31
very quick service
Chris M
CA, United States
2011-05-30
All of the items we purchased were great. Excellent quality, and they looked awesome. They all made the wedding turn out perfectly!
Adrian H
WA, Australia
2011-06-05
Although not many of my friends would appreciate the style, those who would will be as pleased as I was.
Adam H
QL, Australia
2011-06-05
Fredrik E
-, Sweden
2011-06-05
Already done!
Janice M
MA, United States
2011-06-05
Kevin E
-, Australia
2011-06-05
The goods are well made and accurately reflect what was on your internet site.
Timothy B
TX, United States
2011-06-05
Holly G
-, New Zealand
2011-06-04
If they r looking for something that is hard to find but being in new zealand shipping cost alot so i would recommed the emporium to USA Gentleman's Emporium is awesome
Ida ?
-, Sweden
2011-06-04
Love it, fast delivery, really good quality clothes. Couldnt be more pleased :) My man is gooing to look great at oru wedding thanks to you! :)
Peter M
IL, United States
2011-06-04
Your Prices were very reasonable and I received prompt service after my payment was made it also fit very well and Thank You for the business
Joseph H
CT, United States
2011-06-04
The order was delivered much faster than I anticipated. When They arrived I found that the vest and bow tie matched perfectly. This was an added bonus I did not expect. The western tie was also better than I anticipated. I plan to order more items in the fall. I have spent my whole life wanting to be an Indian and my wife dresses me up like a cowboy. Go figure!! I need tall items ( I'm 6'3) and only some of your clothing come in long sizes. Maybe you could broaden the choices a little more. Looking forward to doing more business with you in the future.
Jerry J
NC, United States
2011-06-04
Great service!!! Items were of good quality.
Sharon T
CA, United States
2011-06-04
Loved the clothes and the prices!!!! Have told everyone
Gary M
CA, United States
2011-06-04
David H
MD, United States
2011-06-04
How can you sell stuff when you are out of stock
Catherine B
OH, United States
2011-06-04
I already have recommended your site to a number of friends. It has been a great find.
Richard F
-, Canada
2011-06-04
Peter W
MD, United States
2011-06-04
Another great vest and smooth transaction. Kudos!
Daniel M
NY, United States
2011-06-04
very fast in receiveing what igot and very good qualty very pleased Dan
Ben W
SC, United States
2011-06-04
Kathy S
PA, United States
2011-06-04
The vest is beautiful. I bought it to wear for carriage driving competition with my pony.
Marie S
CO, United States
2011-06-04
well described and accurate really like what you offer
Shelley H
ON, Canada
2011-06-04
I bought the shirt for my cousin I live in Burlington Ontario Canada - and asked to ship it to him in BC Canada - I was billed he got the shirt in fast time and no mix up with whom paid - just great guys !! He tells me the shirt is perfect - good quality AND HE LOVES IT
Vivian C
AR, United States
2011-06-04
Pierre-jo D
HA, Belgium
2011-06-04
Martha P
CA, United States
2011-06-04
The quality of the garment was amazing, the mail service was very quick. The packaging was excellent--even though it was a cotton garment it did not arrive all wrinkled. It came with a hanger and with a drycleaner plastic over it.
Max M
CA, United States
2011-06-04
The quality is excellent and I was absolutely stunned by the promptness of the shipment. I have already recommended your business to others.
Elliot B
MA, United States
2011-06-04
Christopher O
MI, United States
2011-06-04
brilliant shipping speeds. absolutely amazing in terms of service.
Darren J
ON, Canada
2011-06-04
Gabriel N
AL, United States
2011-06-04
Mark O
WA, Australia
2011-06-04
I have found dealing with Historical Emporium a wonderfully refreshing experience. They are polite, quick to respond to questions, efficient and have a magnificent website with an easy to follow layout (most necessary for a ludite like me) and excellent multiple photos of each item. The items I have bought have naturally needed shortening in the leg or slight tailoring for my own shape and I have been delighed with my various purchases. Thank you very much
Heinz H
NS, Australia
2011-06-04
Athough the holster with the belt turned out to be a little small for the 45 smith & wesson I cannot fault the workmanship. The holster without the belt was a perfect fit and also of high quality.
Rick B
IA, United States
2011-06-04
Fast shipping and great items. The only thing that confused me was that the order was shipped in two seperate packages and arrived two days apart. Other than that I am very pleased with the outfits and will shop here again.
Stephen P
TX, United States
2011-06-05
Photographs of items were accurate to color and look of items. Fit and finish were very good with the exception of stray threads around button holes which needed trimming, but did not affect the item's integrity.
Georgina C
NJ, United States
2011-06-05
Michel B
-, Netherlands
2011-06-05
I had tried it on, it fitted perfectly. I hadn't had the chance to really 'wear' it yet though, as i ordered for the 50 year anniversary of marriage of the grandparents of my girlfriend. (And to go as a victorian vampire to fantasy/goth fairs. Where this suit will most likely get quite some attention, as every one that dresses victorian, gets their clothes from those fairs. I will be unique.) So i will be most satisfied, when i can really wear this outfit.
Lorenzo D
FL, United States
2011-06-05
Well i recently became employed as a tour guide and i needed a costume for this venture and my manager recommended this site, i had actually know about the Emporium for awhile but had no reason to make a purchase. But seeing that my initial interest of this site was was confirmed by the those at my work who shop here, i decided this was reason enough for me to buy my costume from here and i was very satisfied and would definitely shop here again. But i must say since i live in Florida there was a considerable wait for delivery but i didn't mind, it just made me feel like a kid waiting for Christmas morning. I am also a steampunk fanatic so i wouldn't mind seeing more steampunk related attire with more of a Victorian sci-fi twist.
Martha J
NC, United States
2011-06-05
it's not often anyone i know needs victorian clothing but if someone does, i'll recommend you!
Bridgett L
IL, United States
2011-06-04
Refunds should be credited within a week of the merchandise being returned. The customer should not have to call to and check on refund status almost two weeks after receipt. Otherwise, it was good quality merchandise - the color was just wrong.
Kathy V
CA, United States
2011-06-04
The website was pretty easy to work with and the delivery was really quick. I love the detail on the blouse, which didn't show up in the picture. excited to wear the outfit!
Steven N
NT, Australia
2011-06-04
Both GE and WE have a fantastic range of mens and womens traditional and practical clothing. Especially considering that I shop from Australia, purchased items arrive here in great condition within a reasonable timeframe. I have already been spreading the word about this awesome site.
Bradley S
PA, United States
2011-06-04
Cynthia C
SC, United States
2011-06-04
speedy shipping, wonderful quality item....thanks!
David W
DE, United States
2011-06-04
very good customer serivce.
Kenneth M
Australia
2011-06-04
Michael S
CA, United States
2011-06-04
as a victorian/Steam Punk enthusiast, your site is great. It is equally great at ordering. I shall recommend you to all my fellow enthusiasts.
Ward B
NY, United States
2011-06-04
quick and easy
Richard D
ID, United States
2011-06-04
I really enjoy browsing through the items you offer, the quality is evident and the old time styles are way cool! the service is even better.
Benjamin G
MI, United States
2011-06-04
Jason S
OH, United States
2011-06-04
The order arrived on time and I was pleased. The items I ordered are very nice and well worth the money that was spent.
Leffie C
FL, United States
2011-06-04
John S
MN, United States
2011-06-04
Looks like high quality garments.
Evan S
TN, United States
2011-06-04
Had exactly what I wanted. Shipped prOmptly.
Christopher B
WA, Australia
2011-06-04
Daniel P
CA, United States
2011-06-04
Just keep getting more of everything so I keep having a reason to visit and buy more. :)
Michael M
OH, United States
2011-06-04
I can only say it's terrific to have period pieces offered of such quality. There's so much crappy, cheap costumes/period pieces that are a complete rip-off. e.g.: once you open the package you can't return the item. It's usually a cheap looking ensemble of the lowest quality which came all the way from China.
Allan D
MD, United States
2011-06-04
Everything just as expected.
Rebekah M
SC, United States
2011-06-04
I love my watch! It came to me very quickly and was even more beautiful in person.
Craig H
PA, United States
2011-06-04
Danielle S
-, France
2011-06-04
Good product, quick delivery
Mary K
CA, United States
2011-06-04
The quality of the goods were excellent but the camisole seemed to be small in sizing and not generously sized. The 2XL camisole has tight arm holes. i am hoping they will stretch with wear or I will have to have them altered.
Thane M
WY, United States
2011-06-04
My order arrived quickly and in good condition, which is a big bonus point. People were interested in where I'd gotten my goggles and I pointed them straight toward the Emporium website. Keep up the good, ladies and gentlemen!
Robert M
ON, Canada
2011-06-04
Lance L
MT, United States
2011-06-03
Elvira M
NY, United States
2011-06-03
Outstanding quality. Will be shopping with you again
Barbara G
FL, United States
2011-06-03
Diana S
KS, United States
2011-06-03
Service was good and the items were exactly as represented. I did have to repair my cameo: the pin came off the back after wearing it once, but it's fine now. In fact, I got a compliment on it today at a bead show and sale!
Ted S
CO, United States
2011-06-03
Claus B
-, Sweden
2011-06-03
John F
MA, United States
2011-06-03
You have great quality clothing.
Corey P
MA, United States
2011-06-03
I'm very satisfied with the quality of my purchases and with the simplicity of ordering.
Paige I
NY, United States
2011-06-03
I had ordered the monocle for my boyfriend for his birthday and hadn't expected to receive it until the middle of the next week. To my surprise, it came within the week and the quality was fantastic. The price was very fair as well, I would say. My boyfriend loves the monocle by the way. :)
Kenneth W
GA, United States
2011-06-03
Wayne T
NS, Australia
2011-06-03
High quality product, priced right, prompt delivery
Gwendolynne C
MI, United States
2011-06-03
Bette H
IL, United States
2011-06-03
You bet.I ordered things sent to my home which is different from my billing address. You are the ONLY people who refused to do that. So then I said ok- send it to the billing address. I dont know where or when you sent the merchandise but the next thing I know I get information that no one was home and you returned the stuff and sent me my money back. This is completely no way to run a business. I still want the parasols I ordered but I dont want to deal with an organization where the customer is always wrong. At least have the courtesy to tell me where I can get the parasols by July 4th. Bette Cerf Hill
Mary H
CA, United States
2011-06-03
Excellent service and product.
Sharon W
CA, United States
2011-06-03
Maria Z
UT, Netherlands
2011-06-03
It was my first purchase with your company, on my visit to the US. I'm very glad there was no problem about paying with creditcard with a foreign billing address, as other companies often don't accept them. Delivery was in time too, so I'm content! Thanks.
Colin C
MN, United States
2011-06-03
Kay H
DC, United States
2011-06-03
Out of all the sources I looked at this one seemed to have the best quality, resonable prices, and good reviews. Thus far I'm very satisfied with my order and the customer service representatives that worked with me. If we have need again I will be looking here first.
Beverly W
TX, United States
2011-06-03
The product (a gift) was appreciated by the recipient. BUT.. It was very lucky that they received it. I asked for it not to be left if it couln't be delivered, as there is much mail theft in the area. The package was found by chance -- left near the street-side mailbox. So that part was BAD. Could have been much worse. -- Bev
Sharlotte W
MO, United States
2011-06-03
All merchandise fine quality, good fit, and shipped very promptly.
Vivian L
CA, United States
2011-06-03
all was good except i bought the cameo pin and the glue was very cheap and fell off almost immediately. i just re-glued it with proper glue. but still not the best first impression just something to let the manufacturer know. the service and shipping was great!
Andrea K
-, New Zealand
2011-06-03
I am pleased with the product and the delivery was quick.
Tomas F
AZ, United States
2011-06-03
Loyd I
OK, United States
2011-06-03
Good products and service.
Ben R
NY, United States
2011-06-03
Service was fast and efficient.
Rochelle M
OR, United States
2011-06-03
Already working on second order. Great prices, great shipping, and good products.
Neville H
FL, United States
2011-06-03
I am very please with the products. I will be shopping with you again.
Shawn W
AL, United States
2011-06-03
It seemed like a very reputable, responsible store with plenty of helpful information and many varied, interesting products. And it was. Overall, my experience with H.E. was extremely pleasant, and I couldn't have asked for anything better.
William W
CO, United States
2011-06-03
Absolutely impressed with the quality of the cross-draw holster. Fits my original colt SAA 44-40 perfectly after a little customizing. Just lightly wetted the holster and inserted my colt in a thin plastic bag then warapped with a cord. Let it dry overnight and its now a perfect fit!
T T
FL, United States
2011-06-03
Tony E
CA, United States
2011-06-03
I have always and continue to enjoy your products, Thank you!
Hannes C
Sweden
2011-06-03
Jared H
WI, United States
2011-06-03
Order was processed and shipped on a very timely manner. :)
Elaine B
FL, United States
2011-06-03
Suzanna S
NJ, United States
2011-06-03
Daniel J
-, Belgium
2011-06-03
I am very pleased and I will place a second order soon I am bying mu wife an outfit to perform line dance in. Boots, bloomers, dress, etc etc
Cynthia R
PA, United States
2011-06-03
I called a few times I order to make sure what I was ordering was what I wanted and each time the operator (I'm sorry, I forgot his name) was informative, helpful and more than merely polite. The order was received in a timely fashion and I was impressed with the quality. I will absolutely recommend your store.
Loriann K
NY, United States
2011-06-03
Vicki O
NC, United States
2011-06-03
The quality of the product was very good and you are selling items that rarely are available anywhere else. I would have liked faster delivery. I also wished you offered bigger sizes in mens coats and women's corsets.
Sarah L
NY, United States
2011-06-03
I am a costume designer for theater and the Historical Emporium has saved my bacon more times than I can say. Excellent products and excellent customer service.
Donald S
MN, United States
2011-06-03
Great site and enjoy shopping on it.
Rich H
MI, United States
2011-06-03
Everything was excellent; selection, quality, fit, service, shipping. Very happy with you guys =)
Jeff G
TX, United States
2011-06-03
Gabrielle M
TX, United States
2011-06-03
Very easy to order and the order was filled right away. We got it quicker than expected.
Jolanta Z
CA, United States
2011-06-03
My step-son really wanted to get his prom outfit from The Emporium.
Bob P
TX, United States
2011-06-03
very pleased; excellent quality, fast shipping
Charles K
MD, United States
2011-06-03
Alexander B
-, Norway
2011-06-03
Nic B
CA, United States
2011-06-03
Please consider expanding your size ranges to Tall. I bought a vest for a friends wedding and its about 6 too short on me, and I bought a large. I really like wearing vests and you have some great looking vests, but after this, i wont order another one that's going to be too small. Nic Bardea - quikniq@yahoo.com
Trevor S
CA, United States
2011-06-03
I would and have recommended you guys to friends who are interested in these types of clothing.
Julie K
IL, United States
2011-06-03
Gillian F
-, United States
2011-06-03
quality merchandise and service
William F
AZ, United States
2011-06-03
I was very pleased by your service, prices, and speed of delivery. The website layout was well done. Also the site was easy to navigate and the pages loaded rapidly. I was also glad to see you have such a large catalog of items of high quality. Overall it was an outstanding online shopping experience.
Eugene F
CA, United States
2011-06-03
I do not recal his name (I am awful with names) but the guy who helped was great! I have been recomending you at the conventions I have been part of as a good source for all sorts of stuff.
Gary L
CA, United States
2011-06-03
H.E. provided excellent and fast customer service. They provide quality products at very affordable prices. They quickly turned around my exchanges and refunded money in a timely manner. I am more than satisfied with both the service and the products I purchased.
Gary M
IL, United States
2011-06-03
Randall P
MI, United States
2011-06-03
My only complaint would be that your web site is very inaccurate when it comes to time periods. Some are said to be civil war era and are not. Also sevearl other time periods are misrepresented.
John C
AL, United States
2011-06-03
FANTASTIC on all aspects! Will be back...and will be sending you bunches of more customers!
Jared C
OR, United States
2011-06-03
Sandra W
NJ, United States
2011-06-03
Charles V
LA, United States
2011-06-03
Carol F
FL, United States
2011-06-03
The merchandise was of very high quality, but I was disappointed with the service experience.
Ian C
OH, United States
2011-06-03
Prices were a bit high, shipping took several weeks, and on top of that one of my pants was missing a button where I would attach the suspenders. Wanted to return it but figured that would be even more frustration.
Lisa V
KY, United States
2011-06-03
We belong to www.sixgunsonline.com and our group loves your site! Thanks & God Bless!
Joel H
GA, United States
2011-06-03
Historical Emporium has high-quality items and I would not hesitate to shop there again.
Zacrey H
UT, United States
2011-06-03
Have recommended, do recommend, will recommend.
William D
SC, United States
2011-06-03
Good quality, large select, and timely service.
Norbert S
-, Austria
2011-06-03
Jeanne S
CO, United States
2011-06-03
Caroline K
OR, United States
2011-06-03
Kevin L
NY, United States
2011-06-03
I liked the hats and goggles a lot! I did think, however, that the goggle straps would be of better quality. Other than that, Everything was great and I am sure to order something from you again.
Ericka B
PA, United States
2011-06-03
More than I expected and excellent quality and price
Melisa F
MN, United States
2011-06-03
The clothing is fabulous, the shipping and exchange process simple and perfect. Thanks for an easy transaction!!!! (I referred you to a friend at a Civil War event recently. He proudly pointed to his new vest and said, I know--aren't they great!)
Deepti K
CA, United States
2011-06-03
Kyle D
TN, United States
2011-06-03
love the site, thanks!
Larry C
CA, United States
2011-06-03
What I bought was exactly as pictured, of nice quality, and arrived well ahead of schedule.
Raymond L
TX, United States
2011-06-03
it was exactly what my brother wanted, thanks
Paul H
AR, United States
2011-06-03
David F
CO, United States
2011-06-03
I have been thrilled with the Gentleman's Emporium's customer service. I had placed an order for an article of clothing that was too small, and the return process was fast, easy, and efficient. I ordered a replacement and the shipping was incredibly prompt. I look forward to doing buisness with your company again in the future.
Danny B
TX, United States
2011-06-03
Very pleased with the items I ordered.
Cynthia M
GA, United States
2011-06-03
Marcus D
-, United States
2011-06-03
Only place that really does these clothes - can't get them in London!
Linda J
NJ, United States
2011-06-03
Daniel C
NY, United States
2011-06-03
I was very pleased with the speed of delivery and the quality of the items I purchased; I got my money's worth. I have shared this site with friends, who were also impressed with the merchandise.
Ginger S
CO, United States
2011-06-03
they are the best at what they do
Marlin W
OH, United States
2011-06-03
HOLSTER AND BELT CAME AS ADVERTISED... I AM VERY PLEASED WITH IT.... THE SHIPPING WAS AS FAST AS CAN BE EXPECTED FROM CALIFORNIA TO OHIO..

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service