Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2011-06-26

Jerry
United States
2011-06-24
The product was exactly what I was seeking.
BlushingBride
United States
2011-06-22
I wore this on my wedding dress and everyone assumed it was a family heirloom. There is nothing about it that suggests mass production.
BlushingBride
United States
2011-06-22
I wore a fairly simple wedding dress, but this parasol and the matching fan made it look over the top elegant. It is an item of excellent quality with fun flair.
Luke Short
United States
2011-06-22
very nice with authentic covered buttons
Luke Short
United States
2011-06-22
very fine silk, elegant... but buttenholes not even
felix
United States
2011-06-21
I love this jacket, and it has quickly become my favorite. I wear it with jeans and a white shirt.
Tripp
United States
2011-06-21
Well made with nice finish. Size was generous with high quality buttons.
Tripp
United States
2011-06-21
Overall very well made, solid with nice finish. Cap is showy from a distance but up close, the details look a little rough.
blondie
CO, United States
2011-06-21
Very nice quality easy care and wonderful product ,workmanship love it when money alows we will be ordering more
lizardlady
CA, United States
2011-06-21
Good quality. Looks nice and fits well. Really am pleased with the pattern, subtle but distinctive
lizardlady
CA, United States
2011-06-21
High quality, good fit and very authentic style.
Sirwilson
NY, United States
2011-06-20
I have purchased several of these over the past few years and I have found them all to look good, however the actual quality is all over the board. I've found that in general the paint on all goggle pairs I've received has degraded to the point where the brass beneath is visible in spots. This isn't necessarily a bad thing but this isn't clear from the description or pictures. I have also noticed that the straps tend to be weak and frayed, with a life span of no more than two years max if worn more than once a month. That said they are replaceable. Finally the velvet lining tends to be aged as well, within a few dozen wears I find that the lining tends to wear out and the goggles get progressively less comfortable as more of the metal frame pokes through.That said, these goggles look fantastic and I have found that both the straps and the lining can be repaired relatively cheaply with some basic craft tools (in my case some ribbon, the lining of an old pair of gloves and crazy glue.) The frames and lenses are both durable and of high quality.Finally the claims that the goggles can be stripped down to brass are completely true. Using a pocket knife I stripped most of the paint off of two pairs in a couple of hours and with some polish I managed to buff out the scratches and any excess paint in a few more. The look fantastic stripped down.Overall, I recommend them but be weary that regular use will quickly require some maintenance.Pros: Very durable frame and lenses, look rather good if aged and can look anywhere from antique to new if stripped and polished.Cons: Straps and velvet are aged from the beginning and deteriorate rather rapidly, the original paint job is almost always worn and the condition of one compared to the next can vary.Still, I'd buy them again, they worked well as light snow and wind goggles, though I've retired them from that since I acquired the glacier goggles which are far more durable, and convenient for every day wearing.
miker
United States
2011-06-20
miker
United States
2011-06-20
can be worn with anything period costume or still looks sharp as a modern top.
miker
United States
2011-06-20
excellent gives the trousers a real authenic feel.
sycojoe
United States
2011-06-20
These are plasic lens with a thick rim around the edge if you were buying them to replace sunglass lens I don't believe you will beable to use them. Possibly for making your own goggles But the lens itself is not real clear.
Aussie fan
United States
2011-06-20
easy to order,recieved quickly and very happy with the fit and quality of the skirt, now waiting for my next order to arrive Yee Haa Mate!
abelineundertaker
United States
2011-06-20
abelineundertaker
United States
2011-06-20
Santa Jack
United States
2011-06-20
Good quality, good representation of the 1900 men's bathing suits. Only problem was that one of the former reviewers suggested that the suits ran larger than their stated size, I bought one that was "just" my size and it was a tight fit. Perhaps the manufacturer's sizing is inconsistent. HOWEVER, I really like the suit and it helps keep my stomach in.Santa
Santa Jack
United States
2011-06-20
Excellent representation of the time, fit, price, and quality
Lady Tesser
FL, United States
2011-06-20
I had received my pocket watch ahead of the proposed delivery date and it certainly is worth every penny. The faces of both the watch itself and the glass cover were clean and scratch-free, and the watch had not been activated, so the battery was still fresh and ready for the time to be set. And speaking of, a spare battery was sent along with the watch in its black pouch - an unheard of but appreciated bonus! The chain is sturdy and the clasps strong, and the watch is simply beautiful hanging from the neckchain or even from a pocket chain from a waistcoat (or a jeans' pocket!). A worthy investment, indeed.
geordieb
United States
2011-06-21
i am very pleased with my purchase it is well made and very comftorble however i was a bit confused with the fastening with the zipper being on the wrong side for a mans coat its on the right instead of the left i dont know if this is a yank thing but to us brits the zipper on the left= MAN zipper on right=GIRL this has put me of slightly in wearing it
accumulated vertue
United States
2011-06-21
title says it all , they are a nice colour , adjusted easily in minutes , clip onto and of of the buttons easy enough , do not come off as you are wearing them or sitting down .
accumulated vertue
United States
2011-06-21
Great shirt , I wear it around on the weekends wherever I go , it gets a lot of looks and smiles . I think it is only going to look better as it fades and wears .I wear it with canvas pants that has braces or low rider denim , looks great ether way , hope you get as much enjoyment out of yours as I do .
accumulated vertue
United States
2011-06-21
after wearing low rider jeans for the last decade , I thought that I would not take the advice of getting the bigger size , boy was I wrong , as they are higher they feel a tad to tight where I keep my spare tyre , other than that they are a great product , I will be putting an order in for more ( a size bigger though )
snow
QU, United States
2011-06-20
looove the jacket style,however a couple of things i'm not so happy about. I have worn the jacket only three times and have noticed a couple of loose threads and a button is almost off. Three minor details, but I have a lot flattering comments.On the whole a very nice coat.
Scotty
United States
2011-06-20
Another quality product.Comfortable and well finished garment.Excellent value.
Scotty
United States
2011-06-20
Quality and finish to usual high standard.Generous cut to materiel.Would recommend.
Smokie
United States
2011-06-20
Great product and service! AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA+
Roland S
TX, United States
2011-06-20
I am very happy with my order.
Dawn C
AZ, United States
2011-06-20
David S
KS, United States
2011-06-20
Jerry J
NC, United States
2011-06-20
Maxine S
CA, United States
2011-06-20
The service was great and the product was exquisite
Joseph T
NM, United States
2011-06-20
Great clothing and I always receive my orders on a timely basis.
Paul S
MN, United States
2011-06-20
Fast service, great merchandise!!!
Anthony J
TX, United States
2011-06-20
Barry C
GA, United States
2011-06-20
The selection is excellent, the quality is great, and the costumer service was exemplary.
Kathy S
TN, United States
2011-06-20
Great clothes and fast service.
Kirk P
CA, United States
2011-06-20
Without question!!
Frances M
ND, United States
2011-06-20
I don't have a lot of knowledge in this time period, though I wanted good-quality top hats for my wedding. Through a google search I found the Historical Emporium. The quality was great and the price was very reasonable. Another site wanted almost twice your price and that was something that I wasn't willing to pay. You guys hit the sweet spot.
Paul P
TN, United States
2011-06-20
Joanna H
CO, United States
2011-06-20
The truly wonderful merchadise and the honest and very friendly staff make this site one of my favorites!
Ginger S
CO, United States
2011-06-20
the service is outstanding always helpful and courtious love shopping here
Robert A
TX, United States
2011-06-20
I truly believe that you have produced a great product. I will send others to your site. I only issue I ha with my holster is that the barrel lenght on my weapon is six inches and the holster has a 8 inch lenght. Besides that, i love it
Darrell T
MB, Canada
2011-06-20
That was my 3rd or perhaps 4th order with you guys and so far so good. With the last one there was an issue though. I had ordered the 'western single point vest' in the antique brown and it came in the black cherry. The vest was actually tagged as antique brown but was definitely the black cherry. I never mentioned anything but, you have now asked. I figured due to shipping costs etc what would be the point. I guess I'll use it at some point. That would be my only complaint. I enjoy your products and generally speaking the service. Have a good one guys.
Jill P
FL, United States
2011-06-20
Your willingness to still take mail order even though you're an online business is great! And thank you so much for the fast shipment once you received my payment - you will definitely be getting more of my business.
David R
AB, Canada
2011-06-20
Michael S
-, New Zealand
2011-06-20
Ashley E
TN, United States
2011-06-20
Michael J
NY, United States
2011-06-20
I ordered two garments. One fit fine, the other was way too small. The sizing chart said Runs small but there's no way the second garment had any resemblance to the sizing chart. None. Unfortunately, in the process of putting it on, I got makeup on it, so it no longer is as new and therefore unreturnable.
Michael B
AK, United States
2011-06-20
Tee M
VA, United States
2011-06-20
Erica P
NJ, United States
2011-06-26
Good service, high quality product
Dana A
MO, United States
2011-06-25
hat is great and it was fast.
Kimberly G
MI, United States
2011-06-25
Michael G
OH, United States
2011-06-25
GOOD QUALITY PRODUCT/ GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE
Heather S
ID, United States
2011-06-24
clothing and response times are awesome!
Dirk E
TX, United States
2011-06-24
I own a Ag Service business. I use the clothes for work, they comfortable and I had hoped tough. I pair of trousers, the stitching came out in the crotch. The Y suspenders already broke. I might take them to a sddle maker and have him use latigo leather to replace the ends. Dirk
Nick H
CA, United States
2011-06-24
My friend and I dropped in unexpectidedly and were treated great. They showed us the things we were interested in and took the time to help us out and make great suggestions. I plan on buying more.
Mario M
CA, United States
2011-06-23
great selection and awesome service
Craig S
WA, United States
2011-06-23
I've always gotten quality products at a good price.
Beverly S
NY, United States
2011-06-23
Perfect experience--well-priced, well-made unique items, received in good order and in good time. Thank you!!
Catherine D
CA, United States
2011-06-23
I loved the clothes. Hard to pick the size though - the numbers listed for the skirt should say if it is the larger of the adjustable size or the smaller, or give a range. I loved the blouses. I expected the apron to be white, not cream though and that was a disappoinment.
Kea B
ME, United States
2011-06-23
The shipping was excellent, the item was exactly as shown and my email was answered promptly and curteously. All in all great service.
Charles V
AK, United States
2011-06-23
Andrew R
CA, United States
2011-06-23
Great service, great product.
Nancy H
NT, Canada
2011-06-23
Very stylish and historically accurate clothes, but good suit quality so they don't look like costumes.
Christine W
AB, Canada
2011-06-22
Joseph R
IL, United States
2011-06-22
I have already recommended Gentleman's Emporium to others. The quality and fit of my new clothes are very good and the service was excellent!
William B
-, United States
2011-06-22
Julia W
-, United States
2011-06-22
Elisa S
IL, United States
2011-06-22
My only complaint is the sizing. I emailed and asked about sizing. The recommendation resulted in an outfit too big for me and had to be returned for another size.
J J
CO, United States
2011-06-22
I have been making purchases for a wedding. Your company provide great response & service. Thank you for making this small part easy! I WILL recommend you to my SASS friends.
Chase P
NH, United States
2011-06-22
Wonderful service, great products! Keep up the good work!
David S
OR, United States
2011-06-22
GREAAT fast shipping and put in well and cared for. I will buy more from you, I need some of the pins that go to the top of the shirts, i always lose them and it would be cool if you caried a few really NICE NICE Pocket watches, even if high, but ike the ones that have both sides that opens, i would buy for sure, thanks
Lisa M
United States
2011-06-22
Stephanie L
MO, United States
2011-06-22
Richard P
CT, United States
2011-06-22
Quality was good, price was good, turnaround time was good.
Cj G
VA, United States
2011-06-22
My son dresses in Gentleman's Emporium clothing as the drummer in a soul/hip-hop band in Nashville, TN. His style of dress and the 9 handlebar mustache causes quite a stir. Everyone loves it.
Sarah D
PA, United States
2011-06-21
I have ordered items several times and I am very happy with the service. I have told several people about your items.
Mike C
KY, United States
2011-06-21
The same exact product was available with free shipping. By the tine I paid $695 shjppimg,$9.00 to return for the correct size and another $6.95 to ship it back to me I had spent $23.00 dollars on a $50 dollar item. In future I will only buy clothing where I can try it on or where they offer free shipping. The product was good and the service prompt. It just ended up costing me too much.
Victoria W
NJ, United States
2011-06-21
The Emporium carries many of the Victorian and steampunk clothes which I've been looking for for years, and had been unable to find until discovering your website.
Anne F
NY, United States
2011-06-21
Nice product,promptly shipped.
Kelly B
PA, United States
2011-06-21
we were both very happy with our order. thank you
Rhonda A
MO, United States
2011-06-21
Rosalie H
WA, United States
2011-06-21
The product I ordered arrived on time and in very excellent packaging. I received exactly what I saw and needed. Thank you for your promt service.
Sue V
IL, United States
2011-06-21
Robert S
OH, United States
2011-06-21
I usually never order anything online and was a bit skeptical about the process. I called to ensure my order went through, and also received a call back (after I made a mistake by placing two orders of the same product) to fix the mistake I made. The woman who answered the call was very courteous and made the process as comfortable as possible.
Alejandro V
CA, United States
2011-06-21
Great quality and fast shipment.
Linda E
OR, United States
2011-06-21
very satisfied with product and excellant customer service.
Larene H
CO, United States
2011-06-21
Woderful products very helpful nice customer service. Very promt with order and shipping thank you
Dave S
CA, United States
2011-06-21
All of the clothing has fit me very well. I have always worn a men's large size, and your sizes correspond very to that. Delivery has been exceptionally fast. Keep up the good work!
Donald F
FL, United States
2011-06-21
Unique products and old-fashioned service, highly recomanded.
Lana W
CA, United States
2011-06-21
Charles I
IN, United States
2011-06-21
Pleased with the quality of merchandise, ease of ordering, and reasonable pricing.
Jane I
ON, Canada
2011-06-21
Felicia S
TX, United States
2011-06-21
Everette T
TN, United States
2011-06-21
Second order from your firm for me. Good customer service, fast shipping. What's not to like?
Jean-pierre S
QC, Canada
2011-06-21
I do cowboy Action Shooting and my only hesitation to recommand your store to friends, is because I fear someone would show up next week with the same clothing I wear. But this is a remote probability since you offer a wide choice of articles...
Diana K
AE, United States
2011-06-21
So far I am very happy with my experience exept for receiving on item incomplete. I have emailed to see if this can be rectified. I am still waiting a refund on a return on a previous order.
Gary J
NC, United States
2011-06-21
Marcia L
FL, United States
2011-06-21
Terry D
FL, United States
2011-06-21
Edward M
FL, United States
2011-06-21
Jacquelyn H
NY, United States
2011-06-21
best site I could find
Erika M
NY, United States
2011-06-21
Great items, great quality, we do appreciate your quick shipping, also.
Keegan J
VA, United States
2011-06-21
Jorrit M
-, Netherlands
2011-06-21
I wanted to buy a victorian style costume for a long time, but never quite knew where to find one. When I came across The Emporium I was glad to see there was indeed a site with plenty of choice for mens clothing.
Louise C
NS, Australia
2011-06-21
Jeuan J
-, United States
2011-06-21
Theresa S
NS, Australia
2011-06-21
Brian W
NS, Australia
2011-06-21
Robert K
-, Sweden
2011-06-21
Michael C
QL, Australia
2011-06-21
Quick Processing,fast postage ,Thanks
Ronald G
NY, United States
2011-06-21
Dominique C
NO, France
2011-06-21
Sean C
CA, United States
2011-06-21
Item was exactly as described, and arrived very quickly.
Ralph B
WA, United States
2011-06-21
Brian P
VI, Australia
2011-06-21
I found the web site easy to use , very quick delivery , and am very happy with the quality of the goods , I without a doubt will be buying more items in the future .
Nicole G
IL, United States
2011-06-21
Brenda G
CA, United States
2011-06-21
Excellent quality. Quick easy to exchange products
Shawn P
WA, United States
2011-06-21
I love your products. However, I would recommend not putting staples in a $55 pair of gloves!
Robert C
MN, United States
2011-06-21
Very easy, great product, no problems. Will definitely use them again.
Mervin F
PA, United States
2011-06-21
Ron M
NV, United States
2011-06-21
Richard D
NU, Canada
2011-06-21
Good service I received all the products I ordered in good time.
Alexander W
CT, United States
2011-06-21
This website is amazing and has some of the best stuff I have ever found on the internet. I cannot wait to strut around Newport on the 4rth of July with my cane and monocle.
Cris C
TN, United States
2011-06-21
Product was exactly what I expected. Was packaged well and arrived on schedule. I told Pa he looked like Ben Cartwright with his Father's day vest on. Thanks guys. I'm goign to order one for myself now.
Euell A
CA, United States
2011-06-21
When the belt finally got here it was great. The problem was the three month wait from order to delivery.
Shaila B
CA, United States
2011-06-21
Karen T
MO, United States
2011-06-21
Kenneth S
CA, United States
2011-06-21
Great web page with very nice photos and you had items in the big man range of sizes 3X-4X
Rebecca J
UT, United States
2011-06-21
Very satisfied!
Gary R
TX, United States
2011-06-21
Great products...good service
Nathan Y
IL, United States
2011-06-21
You had exactly what I was looking for, and the prices weren't unreasonable for a specialty store.
Cheryl C
IL, United States
2011-06-21
David S
CA, United States
2011-06-21
can not any happier great service thats why i buy from you
James L
ME, United States
2011-06-21
Gigi T
CA, United States
2011-06-20
Very happy with all purchases. A few items were a little bit more than other places. And I ordered them and had to return them and order from Historical. Well worth the couple extra bucks. Learned my lesson
Gene S
WI, United States
2011-06-20
One of the buttons is falling off.
Ralph P
NM, United States
2011-06-20
We have given out your website to quite a few people involved in the Rio Arriba Stuntmen Assoc. here in Chama, New Mexico. We are holding Territorial Days on July 8,9 & 10. Your service was great everything I ordered arrived in good time.
Kitina M
CA, United States
2011-06-20
I am currently cowboy Action Shooter and in the past I've participated in Civil War re-enactments (2nd MA Cav / CA 100) and didn't know about you folks. What a bummer! You're a great local resource here in San Jose.
Mary H
WI, United States
2011-06-20
Paul S
CA, United States
2011-06-20
Awesome qwik service........and items we ordered were great..........just as pictures on the site........thanx
Christopher B
MI, United States
2011-06-21
Product arrived faster than indicated on the site (Perhaps the StarTrek Scotty modality, but still, very gratified to receive the items quickly. Quality was better than expected and fitting guide was right
J'nean H
TX, United States
2011-06-20
Samuel S
PA, United States
2011-06-20
You guys ROCK!!!!
William B
WI, United States
2011-06-20
Patrick C
MA, United States
2011-06-20
Brittany O
KS, United States
2011-06-20
I was extremely satisfied with the service I received while dealing with your company. We will definitely use it again. Noel was extremely helpful in a stressful situation. I ordered quite a few things from the website for my wedding and it went better than I could have imagined. Thank you!!
Margaret D
BC, Canada
2011-06-20
Loretta S
BC, Canada
2011-06-20
I was entirely satisfied with the Petticoat I ordered - although I did have to shorten it 4 as the medium only came in one length. The price at $49 was great, but by the time I paid the shipping and the customs duty it came to just under $99 - which made it pricier than I anticipated and will hold off ordering a blouse I had wanted.
Kevin K
NH, United States
2011-06-20
Martin Z
TX, United States
2011-06-20
Robin W
QL, Australia
2011-06-20
love the period
David N
WY, United States
2011-06-20
George F
DC, United States
2011-06-20
Anthony A
FL, United States
2011-06-20
Laurence M
MI, United States
2011-06-20
Straight forward on line transaction. Bravo. Encore.
William G
MT, United States
2011-06-20
One word, Fantastic!! Product is of high quality and the customer service was great. The shipping was fast, and even when the holster did not fit they shipped the size that did with no questions upon return of the original.
Lorraine O
RI, United States
2011-06-20
I have always received top notch customer service from Gentleman's Emporium. The price of every item I have purchased has been reasonable and the quality is very good with the exception of one vest.
Douglas H
MI, United States
2011-06-20
The coat is first class and the service was excellent. You will likely hear from me again, aye.
Rebecca A
CO, United States
2011-06-20
I've been very satisfied with the quality of all of your products. They arrived in a very timely manner.
Lawrence H
BC, Canada
2011-06-20
Your holsters are about half the cost of the other site. Nicer looking with the tooled leather.
Nina H
OK, United States
2011-06-20
A distinct pleasure working with Historical Emporium. The website and online shopping makes connecting with history quite easy. Many thanks for the prompt shipment.
Thomas R
TX, United States
2011-06-20
Great item better than I expected.
Astrida S
ME, United States
2011-06-20
Jack B
WI, United States
2011-06-20
Product arrived in a very timely fashion!
Tim B
WA, United States
2011-06-20
thanks: the salesperson on the phone got me to get exactly the right size
Robert P
VA, United States
2011-06-20
Marisa M
NV, United States
2011-06-20
The package came quickly and on time, I was aware of the exact date the package would arrive, and the quality of the item was wonderful and extremely well-priced!
Ryan N
WA, United States
2011-06-20
I had to return a product for exchange and the person I spoke with to guide me through the process was extremely helpful. I was pleasantly surprised at the speed of delivery for both the original order and the return.
Kimberly M
IL, United States
2011-06-20
Elliot B
MA, United States
2011-06-20

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service