Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2011-11-27

dennper
United States
2011-11-26
I have ordered several vests from the Emporium and the quality for the money is most excellent. The print on this vest is beautiful, and the piece is overall very well sewn and I expect will last for years. Also the deliver time was perfect.
vicnorton
KE, United States
2011-11-26
Very pleased with my purchase.Thank you David
Donald
CA, United States
2011-11-25
Enough said. Do I really need to elaborate? Do I need to tell you about the nice accent of leather? Or even the shiny buckles? Shiny buckles should haves sold you on these. I stopped wearing my normal suspenders, and have only been wearing these. There is less stress on the shoulders from the elastic. and you just simply adjust the buckle to where you need it, and your pants stay at the right level. It truly is that simple.
Donald
CA, United States
2011-11-25
I saw this and thought, Wow, that is a nice vest. I can find a good use for it. Then I got it. This is an amazing vest. The only drawback, if you can call it that, is that there are no pockets. I looked it over, admired it, tried it on and then realized the only problem with this vest. I do not have anything in my closet that will stand up to it. If you plan on going out in silk and tails then this is a fine vest. I on the other hand dress for lesser affairs, and prefer more humble attire. Once I do get around to buying my tails, I at least know I have a vest to match.
Donald
CA, United States
2011-11-25
The feel of these pants are so soft, and they are so light I sometimes forget they are on. I don't know if it is a mistake, or I am a little color blind, but the description said grey but they look brown to me. They are very nice, and easily wearable on a daily basis. If you are hovering on the idea of buying these pants, just do it. You will not regret it.
Donald
CA, United States
2011-11-25
These are a pair of sturdy pants that feel like they are going to last. I have started wearing them to work, and so far they have been holding up better than my normal work pants. They fit a little loose, unlike some pants that I have found fit rather snug. Extremely comfortable and low maintenance.
Friz
BA, United States
2011-11-25
Noice rusty
Danny
United States
2011-11-24
Comfortable to wear, good quality, and great looking. For the price, you'd be mad to go past this vest.
Danny
United States
2011-11-24
Fantastic boots as a whole. The squeaking was unacceptable. I had to apply talcum powder to the tongue to stop it, but once it was stopped, great product.
Danny
United States
2011-11-24
The shirt itself is really great, lovely buttons and material. The sleeves were a bit puffier than I personally liked, especially around the shoulder, so I did have to have it adjusted.
Steampress
United States
2011-11-23
The best-dressed young lady in my local Art Scene spotted my new vest immediately and complimented my Fall Colors! This waistcoat is washable, durable, no-nonsense~ yet perfect steampunk-design... it seems droopy around the ribs when you take it out of the box, but when you put your pocketwatch,tapemeasure and businesscards in the pockets it comes together perfectly!
BawdyChap
United States
2011-11-23
Wore for a steampunk pool party. It was perfect. Just add your underwater breather and swimming goggles.
jim b
United States
2011-11-22
Lovely item.Quick delivery.
jim b
United States
2011-11-22
Just as described lovely item ,quick delivery.
morrell
TE, United States
2011-11-22
Excellent quality, they have the feel, look and fit of fine taylored mens wear, not costumey at all. They completed the authentic look we were going for for our wedding.
dovienya
United States
2011-11-22
Alex
United States
2011-11-21
I have been looking for this shirt for years! I thought I would have to have it made. Then I found your website and this shirt. AMAZING! It's very well made, NOT costume looking... I can't wait to wear it for the first time! Would DEFINITELY recommend!
94th Aether Hunters
United States
2011-11-21
These are worth every penny. Beautiful and my girlfriend won't take them off... Comfortable, too!
alice
United States
2011-11-21
I was disappointed. The item was priced too high considering it was foriegn made. Won't do that again.
alice
United States
2011-11-21
I am sorry but one size fits most doesn't work for me which i didn't know at the time i ordered. The pantaloons did not fit. I have a 36 in. waist. Of course, who goes to the trouble of returning things once they are opened.I will be more careful in the future.
steampunk1967
United States
2011-11-21
They look great, but have a little trouble fitting some glasses
steampunk1967
United States
2011-11-21
They fit great and go right along my type character
Gambol
United States
2011-11-21
My order arrived earlier than I anticipated, which was very very nice. The gloves are good quality and very pretty.
steampunk1967
United States
2011-11-21
She was thrilled
Gambol
United States
2011-11-21
I placed an order with Historical Emporium and was very happy to receive the order quickly. The blouse looks exceptional. I have no complaints at all.
DandyHank
WI, United States
2011-11-21
Its a bit longer than I expected, but the size was correct! I was amazed at how fast it dried after coming out of the pool!
mary
AU, United States
2011-11-21
Its a beautiful watch, and i love the look of it. However the covering of the watch face doesn't seem to be attached and falls out everytime it is opened.
TyGuy001
United States
2011-11-21
This hat is better than what I had expected. It is made of very high quality material and the fitting is perfect. It is very hard to find a nice top hat on the Internet, but this hat was the exception. I am part of a very gifted choral program that spreads Christmas cheer by singing carols. The program has been going for about 50 years now and need to dress up like people from the victorian Era( and no I am not an old person, youth is on my side).
Evie
United States
2011-11-21
I'll admit, I was a wee bit worried when reading some of the reviews of this telescope. Fortunately, I did not run into any of the problems others have described. The only problem was getting my own eyes to focus, when they did the view was perfect and clear! I was surprised by how much 12x was and had to try to find things further away to focus on (at first I kept seeing strange blobs and was concerned, haha). As for the case, the strap is on the wimpy side, but in my past experience with leather, even when it's a small amount it usually holds up well for quite awhile when cared for, so I'm not too concerned.
Mudd
NY, United States
2011-11-21
Arrived quickly and fits great! Wore is as part of a costume for an independent film. Already going to use it as a continued costume piece when filming starts up again in the new year.
Rumbeard
United States
2011-11-21
It is difficult to find mechanical watches in this age. Seeing this one raised my hopes that I found one at a great price. Actually, I should be pleased that it keeps relatively good time (about a minute fast for 24 hours) but the White Metal of the casing and plastic crystal face makes it more of a show piece than a working watch I could use every day about the shop. Still, as a show watch, it is very beautiful. And it does keep time.
Rumbeard
United States
2011-11-21
Been buying vests from normal outlets. Always wondered why they seem poorly made. This is the best! Better by far than I ever expected! Bought another as soon as I wore this one for several days. Very durable and well made. Will be buying more as they stock my size!
Kawu- Kudi
SI, United States
2011-11-21
Excellent Product:Authentic Aviator's Cap has Style, Manufacturing quality, and 100% quality leather... A hard-to-find quality... Rating a 10+
Rumbeard
United States
2011-11-21
Very period and solidly made. Low power magnification though.
Rumbeard
United States
2011-11-21
Very well made shirt! Much better than clothes I had purchased for 3 times the price. Bought another as soon as I wore this one. Thanks!
clint
CA, United States
2011-11-21
I got these pants because of the unique fabric and colors. Hard to find something similar. It's a little big but that's easy enough to fix. Ordering online was excellent as usual.
clint
CA, United States
2011-11-21
This is a real cool tailcoat. Unlike most gothic or steampunk coats this one can actually get by as formal wear. Fit was dead on (perhaps a little tight when I raise my arms above my head). The order process was fast and it was nice to speak to a real person with real answers. Well done.
Jacopo
United States
2011-11-21
The vest is very well made, exept plastic buttons. Even with this little imperfection, the vest is good, sturdy and warm. Perfect with its matching trousers.
Jacopo
United States
2011-11-21
The shirt is wonderful. It fits perfectly and it's very soft and comfortable.
Joe H 55
MA, United States
2011-11-21
These are so comfortable, I could wear them all the time. I've been looking for knickers for a while and while they are available at some golf stores, they can be very expensive. I highly recommend these.
Joe H 55
MA, United States
2011-11-21
I've been looking for a replacement pair of spats for a long time and finally found a real pair that match my old set. These are great quality and I'm glad I purchased them, In fact I'm gonna order another pair as a backup.
Manfred
United States
2011-11-21
An awe inspiring piece to behold. The material is thick and heavy, I like a durable coat so this was absolutely perfect. The lapels are dark and glisten slightly, adding a very robust accent to the wardrobe. I wouldn't be surprised to see it donned by the devil himself!
AStateofIllusion
MD, United States
2011-11-21
Good quality materials, average-depth pockets and a nice, standard cut make this vest a winner. Being on the tall side, I purchased the Long version, and am happy with it.
Shannon09
KS, United States
2011-11-21
The Historical Emporium helped me hit my father's birthday gift totally out of the park with the purchase of this vest. The tailoring & fit were perfect. He slipped the vest on 1st thing in the morning and it was one the last things to come off that night! I'll definitely be making future purchases from this company.
Kristabelle
United States
2011-11-21
Wonderfully sturdy vest. I bought the XL in order to fit some of my womanly gifts, and was able to take it in at the waist with very little issue. Worked perfectly.
Kristabelle
United States
2011-11-21
The fabric of the skirt really is lovely. The length was perfect, the only down side is the very strong elastic at the waist, will take some stretching to loosen it up.
Fish
United States
2011-11-21
Very good feel, nice heft and finish. Quick shipping and good customer service. A+++
Tequila Rider
United States
2011-11-21
Excellent product, great service really nice packaging, and shipped quickly.
RSCov
LO, United States
2011-11-21
Just received my gunbelt/holster rig a few days ago. Very satisfied. The quality is fantastic for the price.I'm ordering a second one in a different color and a different size... mine was slightly too large, but adjustable (my fault on the measurement). Don't just add 4 inches...measure. In my case, only needed 2 inches greater than waist. Everybody's different.
rohenn
BC, United States
2011-11-21
Light weight, needed some adjustments to fit better on my shoulders, good quality in materials, good workmanship, very authentic looking.
Bassett Hound Lover
United States
2011-11-21
I really liked this vest. It is quiter comfortable and nice looking
Saddle
NE, United States
2011-11-21
This is the most beautiful and the best made vest I have ever seen. I have owned more vests than I can count and while this is not an everyday work vest it is so well made it could be used that way, I will however wear it for dressing up. The people at Historical Emporium are great to work with, they are the best.
Renee S
FL, United States
2011-11-25
I love your detailed measurement descriptions... especially in the bust. So hard to tell difference in manufacturer's size specifications based only on L or XL. Only thing I didn't like is how you are almost always sold of of the larger sizes 2X and XL in many of the other most fashionable blouses.
Anthony F
NJ, United States
2011-11-25
Great service! Great product! Halloween was the best yet!
Dennis S
MD, United States
2011-11-24
Don't know anybody with similar western interests as I have.
James V
CO, United States
2011-11-24
The organization and speed of my order was very impressive.
Jack W
NT, Australia
2011-11-24
Items arrived in good condition, matched description, happy.
Heather D
SA, Australia
2011-11-24
very pleased with product and service, delivery to Australia for our Black Powder shooting event next year.
Jeremy N
CA, United States
2011-11-23
This was a great purchase, the quality is amazing. The service, over the phone order and then come in in person to try on and pick up was fabulous. I want to buy more!
Gerardo L
CA, United States
2011-11-23
Scott F
-, United States
2011-11-23
Came quick as said and very good quialty. Very happy with my purchase
Brian D
WI, United States
2011-11-23
Your products are of much higher quality than other places I looked, but prices are still reasonable.
Chris T
CA, United States
2011-11-22
Historical Emporium products are very good quality and truly historically correct of time period. shipping items arrive very quickly after ordering and are packaged so that they are in great condition with no shipping damage. We recommend Historical Emporium for all your steam punk, Cos-play, L.A.R.P. needs Thank you. Chris & Doneva Tomlinson Lotuszen@mchsi.com
Peter M
NY, United States
2011-11-22
Service was fast. Product lived up to description. Packaging was good, but much too large for the item.
Olivia C
-, United States
2011-11-22
I had been let down by a dressmaker in the UK and needed a costume urgently. I found you via Google and I am thrilled withe costume - superb quality and very reasonable price. Thank you!
Artie F
SC, United States
2011-11-22
got it quick good quality it fit very pleased thank you
Aimée T
-, United States
2011-11-22
The items arrived in good condition and in good time.
Michael B
MO, United States
2011-11-27
Dennis P
CO, United States
2011-11-26
Completely pleased with the quality for the price offered.
Michael F
-, United States
2011-11-26
Very good prompt service
Tony R
CA, United States
2011-11-26
Holly J
AL, United States
2011-11-25
I was very impressed with the time it took to fill the order and have it shipped. I ordered on a Friday night and the following Wednesday I had the item.
Donald B
CA, United States
2011-11-25
I like the Historical Emporium. I have found web sites where I can purchase the same items, and similar items, for less. Although, there is a fine collection on this one website. It is an amazing online store for both those starting to purchase 19th Century attire, or those just wishing to add to their wardrobe.
Michael R
CA, United States
2011-11-25
J M
WA, United States
2011-11-22
Well made Frontier Classic pants at a great price, shipped quickly! Thank you. I'll be back!
Joe S
IL, United States
2011-11-22
I got my order fast, and the product was excellent. I was also able to send a money order which helps me a great deal not having a credit card and all. I will always order from here for my clothing needs.
Steven R
NS, Australia
2011-11-22
Joseph S
RI, United States
2011-11-22
Tough to figure size. Measured chest and waist ordered shirt and pants unless I loss a lot of weight shirt will never fit. Normal size is 2x, shirt is 2x must return at an additional (Postage) cost plus exchange(shipping) cost.Pants appear to be of good quality, however additional cost to alter leg length makes the pants to expensive. Have found additional source where help is available without traveling 3 thousand miles to get proper fit.
Marjorie B
SC, United States
2011-11-22
I've always worn 2XL shirts, the first two 2XL shirts I purchased we at least 3 or 4X L, had to take to a tailor, cost $40.00 (US) With next order I ordered shirts I tried XL, worked fine Im that order a Black workers vest was ordered, size XL, this item was about a Medium, so I returned for exchange.Still waiting for second try. My wife ordered me a Sully's Western fringedand beaded size 2XL. We both worried until it arrived. Perfect! I strongly believe that your QC of clothjing items, manufacturer in Pakestain. This haviong to return items gets old and frustrating.
Alex C
MO, United States
2011-11-22
you have made a dream come true! i have looked for an 18th century shirt or poet's shirt for SO long. thought i'd have to have one made and then i find your site by chance. i'm SO glad i found your site and i have shared it with many friends since. thanks! great stuff! alex
Kyle P
NC, United States
2011-11-22
Had an issue with the product, but very helpful in resolving it!
Thomas H
TX, United States
2011-11-22
nice products. novel products
Karen C
HI, United States
2011-11-22
Wonderful assortment of clothing and what-have-you, at reasonable prices, with fast service!
Tamara B
BC, Canada
2011-11-22
Shipping was less than a business week! Given the holidays I was surprised and my birthday gift order came in time in perfect condition. I would shop here again. :)
Patrick R
MI, United States
2011-11-22
I work at a jewelry store and the vests give me a style all of my own. Thank you for keeping it old school!
Charles S
LA, United States
2011-11-22
Very pleased with purchase. Received quickly and was very good quality. Have already recommended to others.
Rodney C
OK, United States
2011-11-22
I am very pleased with my order & your store.
Carol B
MI, United States
2011-11-22
I bought a 2342 Lucille walking suit (Floral) and I love it. I wore it to a craft show to draw attention to my display of Herbal products that I make and sell. I also put on victorian Herbal Teas for our church and I'm having a ball. I highly recommend the products. They are very well made and are shipped very fast.
Bev O
MD, United States
2011-11-21
very fast delivery
Karin D
CO, United States
2011-11-21
You always provide great customer service and great products.
April H
ON, Canada
2011-11-21
I love the products and have yet to have any real problems with any of the products that I have ordered so far.
Richard R
NY, United States
2011-11-21
Very good quality, appears authentic, and much of it is made in the USA! I enjoy wearing the clothing and wonder why we ever stopped dressing that way...
Keith C
QL, Australia
2011-11-21
Jeremy R
PA, United States
2011-11-21
I have friends who like this kind of clothing, so I believe they would enjoy this website.
James F
AB, Canada
2011-11-21
Great Quality, Helpful comments and testimonials.
William H
MA, United States
2011-11-21
Laura B
PA, United States
2011-11-21
Sandra W
MI, United States
2011-11-21
good service, prompt delivery, exactly what I needed for a period costume
Darrell D
NE, United States
2011-11-21
I seen this vest I Loved but it was out of stock so I waited several months to try again and they worked hard to get it for me from there supplier. They were wonderful to work with.
Susan E
IL, United States
2011-11-21
ordered and received with no hassles....!
Andrea C
-, Italy
2011-11-21
Great communication. A pleasure to do business with HISTORICAL EMPORIUM. Thank you
Wes J
SC, United States
2011-11-21
Everything I've order has been great. Your follow up is excellent and the one exchange I had was easy. Thank you.
Kelly T
IN, United States
2011-11-21
Thomas C
CO, United States
2011-11-21
Nicholas B
-, United States
2011-11-21
as always the items were delivered in a timely fashion and are of excellent quality. Very happy to shop with you and I always recommend you to friends looking for steampunk/victorian attire.
Ian J
UT, United States
2011-11-21
I already have!
Michael P
AZ, United States
2011-11-21
Excellent product and speedy delivery. Prices are a tad high but reflect the product quality. Wore the outfit I purchased from you at my wedding, and the effect was brilliant. Should I have the finances to purchase from you in the future, you can be assured that i will.
Bryan S
MI, United States
2011-11-21
Jmichael W
CA, United States
2011-11-21
Fast delivery good products
Julien P
-, France
2011-11-21
Well done. uality product and delivering, even in Europe. Nothing went wrong. Please keep serious as you are !
Anthony T
MN, United States
2011-11-21
Love the vest selection, BUT, would like to see more wool vests.
Anibal P
ON, Canada
2011-11-21

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service