Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2011-12-04

Evie
United States
2011-11-29
One of the best products I have purchased. I'll use it as a wedding dress.
Evie
United States
2011-11-29
I choose the wrong size, too big, but I'm clever with needlework and I'll fix it quickly. Nice enough to be used as a skirt.
Evie
United States
2011-11-29
I have purchased it for my wedding gown and I like the way it support the skirt of the dress. It would be perfect if there was an elastic band at the waist instead the ribbon, but I'm really pleased about my purchase.
Kelly F.
United States
2011-11-28
Great style never goes out of fashion. I have received many compliments on these boots. They fit well, are comfortable through long days on my feet and the high quality leather takes a good polish.
Kelly F.
United States
2011-11-28
The price and quality of this 3 piece suit is beyond expectations. I was pleasantly suprised when it arrived and I immediatley ordered a Cutaway coat. Kudos Gents Emporium!
Kelly F.
United States
2011-11-28
I received a HIGH quality coat that is beyond my expectations. I was not sure about the usefulness of this coat until it arrived and I was able to feel the fit and fabric. This garment is not a theatre costume but a coat of utmost refinement.
wndrbunn
United States
2011-11-28
The quality of the item was very good however it was too big for my face and I was unable to hold - a couple of my friends had the same difficulty - I tried roughing up the edge so it wouldn't slip - then some spirt glue neither worked
samohane
United States
2011-11-28
a realy good poduct and i would recamend a very stylish product.
mike
United States
2011-11-28
Capt. Crowley
United States
2011-11-28
Excellent product for the price. Mostly historically correct which can be remedied with a few modifications. Highly recommended!
Capt. Crowley
United States
2011-11-28
Very nice, period correct style goggles. Can be usedfor many impressions!
I<3Steam!
United States
2011-11-28
I really love, love, love this shirt. The attention to detail is just wonderful, the graphic is place perfectly, and the shirt is very comfortable. My only complaint is that after I washed and dried my shirt a few times it seemed to shrink in length. That could be just because of my dryer though, so no worries. =) Everywhere I go people ask where I got my shirt, a wonderful buy.
Rosco
United States
2011-12-03
Really good vest. Good leather finish, well made and good styling.Have received some good comments from friends.
Rosco
United States
2011-12-03
Was not dissappointed with this vest. Good quality leather, good style and well put together.
Rosco
United States
2011-12-03
Having already bought the black equivilent of this vest which I was very happy with, I was a little disappointed with the the black cherry one as the color was rather blotchy. However, rather than send it back all the way from Aust, I decided to keep it, as it passes off as a well-worn antique vest.
jon
PA, United States
2011-12-01
i bought this pocket for my son as a christmas present.he is into steampunk. when the item arrived, (which was quick) i pulled it out of the cloth bag and checked it out. it is of very good quality, quite pretty too. my son will definately enjoy his pocket watch. in fact i will probably order one myself.
jon
PA, United States
2011-12-01
i bought this item for my son for christmas. he is into steampunk. when i received the item (which was quick) i opened the cloth bag and checked out the monocle. it is of very good quality. my son will enjoy his gift. thanks!
Joe
United States
2011-12-01
I like the quality and color. They give a nostoligic feeling to any victorian outfit
Joe
United States
2011-12-01
These are great quality pants I have them in other colors as well. Each one looks great in my different outfits. They are of high quality and look great. i would highly recomend these to any re-enactor. They are even good for going out on the town.
yatman
United States
2011-11-30
I work at Civil War historical site and my wife assists with the park's interpretive programs. I bought this watch for her for her birthday to go with her interpretive clothing. She was very pleased with it and can't wait to use it at our next demonstration. We were both very pleased with the quality of the watch. Thanks.
Dale
United States
2011-11-29
I would appreciate it if Historical Emporium would denote which items are made by Shrine clothing, as their sizes ALWAYS run WAY small, and they are not of the quality of the other items they carry. This is the second item I have sent an item back from Shrine.
mbs
United States
2011-11-29
I rarely use the word exquisite, but I have to with these gloves. I love the feel of them. Smooth, soft, and almost buttery to the touch. I've been looking for simple, unlined leather gloves like this for some time, and am very pleased with the quality of these, especially for the very reasonable price.
Clowno
United States
2011-11-29
I like the suit. It is well made. Seems so. Great overall I would say. They do run a little on the small side.
Rhythm
United States
2011-11-29
Rhythm
United States
2011-11-29
Evie
United States
2011-11-29
I'm very pleased about this purchase: it is very comfortable. It looks beautiful when worn and gives a really great hourglass silouette.
Evie
United States
2011-11-29
Mr Keep it simple
RI, United States
2011-11-28
I was looking for a good mechanical pocket watch and this one is very attractive, feels good in the hand, opens and closes very well and keeps good time. I look forward to passing it on to some lucky member of the family.
Will L
United States
2011-11-28
The quality is excellent and the size appears to run true. I know I'm going to enjoy wearing this.
kilmer
United States
2011-11-28
As a replica, I compared it to several vintage models. This may be an exact spec replica of a certain model, so the sight, hammer, trigger etc; were something only I + avid collectors of replica's who do not want to spend $4000+.In addition the gun is heavy and the hammer drags, so fast draw games are a bit painful. Also, never knew a trap door was ow it was loaded, detail was spot on.Otherwise, for the price, you it would be very difficult to find a better replica + it is made in Spain.
kilmer
United States
2011-11-28
Jasmine
United States
2011-11-28
This little helmet is just adorable! It has a nice weight to it for a keychain, and does indeed make a good finger puppet. I'm always glad to show it off in all its shiny, brassy glory.
rj.i enjoyed my shopping experience for the very first time. am very happy with the customer service,will recommend to my frien
United States
2011-11-28
MrsP
United States
2011-11-28
I loved the look of this vest, the design was very unique but the quality of the vest was very poor. Within about 15 minutes of wearing it the buttons started falling off. By the end of the night (2hrs later) all of the buttons had fallen off.
Dean
United States
2011-11-28
Dear HES team,For my daughters wedding, I wanted to make a fashion statement without taking away any attention from the bride and groom. So I topped off my black tux and formal white shirt with a black H.E.S. Deluxe Floppy Tie.It was the perfect special accessory to a classic look. I searched stores everywhere in Northern NJ and NYC to find The Right TieNo one knew what I was talking about when i tried to explain what I was looking for.Even the Formal stores gave me a funny lookSo i went online and after a few tries at key words your site caught my eyeIt was easy to navigate website with detailed photos. I made a decision in 5 minutes and had the tie in my mail box in 2 days.Thanks Historical Emporium Stores for making me look good on my daughter's special day.
MerrittM
CA, United States
2011-11-28
Easy to use, good material, this made the look for my boyfriend's mid-Victorian look.
MerrittM
CA, United States
2011-11-28
Yes, it is polyester, but it looks good. I ordered a 34, a size larger than the streetwear my boyfriend buys. The hem was a bit difficult to get angled properly, but it worked eventually. Good item for the price and completed his look.
Solojat
WA, United States
2011-11-28
Excellent experience. I have ordered several items. They fit as expected and the quality is excellent. You can be assured I will be a repeat customer.
shopgirl
United States
2011-11-28
I would only recommend this to a friend if they wanted a taffeta-like petticoat. I think the fabric is on the thin side (but, hey, the price wasn't bad!). It's acetate and reminds me of something that might line a cheap jacket. It is, in my opinion, too thin to wear as a skirt. There is a narrow, tunnel waist band with thin elastic inside and a self-fabric drawstring. I feel the elastic would lose its stretch pretty easily with much use.
Liza
CA, United States
2011-11-28
These pants/skirt were more than I hoped for. The quality of the fabric and the workmanship are top quality. The size {8} was perfect.
MerrittM
CA, United States
2011-11-28
I didn't expect a lot from these gloves and was thus rewarded. Thin nylon, not a lot to it, but to come with a run already in the fabric was not what I had in mind. I did not return them because it was not worth the effort for this one cheap item. I DO NOT recommend this glove, however.
no nickname
NC, United States
2011-11-28
The service was excellent and delivery on time. I was surprised to see the gaiters looked like they had been used and called to find out they were surplus and therefore the low price. They'll work fine for my purposes.
Linsey
United States
2011-11-28
Wonderful Service....Exquisite Tailoring, an Absolutely wonderful shopping experience.
Linsey
United States
2011-11-28
It is even more beautiful and sumptuous in person than it looks on the website. I want to buy more in more colors. (A dark green would be lovely...hint, hint).
Loophole Larry
TE, United States
2011-11-28
I was very impressed with the quality of the vest and the prompt delivery of the product. I would recommend it to anyone.
Linsey
United States
2011-11-28
It is so beautiful and very well made. I had a last minute opportunity to go to Galveston for Dickens on the Strand and needed some period clothing. Not only did I get clothing quickly, wearing it makes me feel like I've travelled back into a beautiful time period.
Rob
United States
2011-11-28
Fits well , appears to be made well , compliments everywhere I go !
cowboy-wannabe
CA, United States
2011-11-29
I ordered this shirt to cowboy-up for special events. It arrived in perfect condition, on a hanger, folded neatly, and protected by plastic. It is designed to button the top button for authenticity but I an unable to because my neck is too big. Mediums fit great but I cannot button the neck. If you want to button the neck the buy the next size up and have it tailored once you get it.
cowboy-wannabe
CA, United States
2011-11-29
I bouth this tye to cowboy-up for a more dressy event in Virginia City, NV. It arrived within a week in perfect condtion. Easy to use and adjust.
fancypants
AZ, United States
2011-11-28
It is an interesting piece. I bought it for my father as a gift. He is 81 years old, and cannot fire it. I am 55 and I have to use both hands to fire it. being a rep. I did not send it back, however would strongly recommened that you think about if you want it or not.
Oldcrota
United States
2011-11-28
A very nice, well constructed shirt that is comfortable to wear and presents a striking appearance. I would be tempted to wear shirts like this on an everyday basis, but the style would not be appropriate in my work place. It is a real nice shirt for casual wear and with other period clothes to step back into the late 1800's.
shopgirl
United States
2011-11-28
This hat is just slightly smaller than the similar hat in Cognac. The bow on the back is very soft, silky fabric, and the ends hang down about 13 below the brim. The crown is covered with a plum acetate fabric. The feathers are more of a mauve shade, very complimentary to the other colours on the hat. The silk flowers have a more reddish hue to them, which balances the purple tones. There is even a little bird on the front of the hat, nestled in the flowers (it doesn't stand out, it's just a small accent). The elastic strap is quite helpful if worn underneath your hair in the back (no hat pin needed!). All in all, a lovely hat!
shopgirl
United States
2011-11-28
I love this skirt! I also have the moire blouse that matches it and the combination is wonderful. It is a nice, mid-weight fabric, very comfortable. I am 5'2 and it is just above floor-length on me, which is perfect for my needs. The flat front and gathered back look very classy, especially with the matching blouse. I know I will get a lot of use with this!
Ric Marshall
UT, United States
2011-11-28
I bought this crossdraw holster to put on a wide belt I already had. I like it so much, I decided to order the matching gunbelt and right side holster. Now I need to buy another revolver to go in it.
Mark A
MS, United States
2011-11-28
Sybil C
CA, United States
2011-11-28
The service was outstanding. I ordered on Sunday night and received my delivery on Tuesday evening.
Brianna N
VA, United States
2011-11-28
Mika M
-, New Zealand
2011-11-28
Charles Y
TX, United States
2011-11-28
I am VERY impressed with all aspects of doing business with Historical Emporium. You do a great job and have super products. Thanks
Joanne B
CA, United States
2011-11-28
Historical Emporium provided excellent customer service with fast delivery and a beautiful watch for a great price. It was a birthday gift and the recipient loved it! Will definitely be making future purchases at the Historical Emporium. Thanks!!!!!!!!
Tj F
LA, United States
2011-11-28
I received my orders within a week or less of placing them. The items were in great condition as well.
Patricia B
TX, United States
2011-11-28
This store has remarkable customer service with employees being extremely helpful, personable and professional. The quality of the merchandise is extremely exceptional. It is beautifully crafted.The description of the items on the website are accurate. I would certainly recommend The Emporium to others who were interested in designs that are elegant and sustainable.
Karl E
TX, United States
2011-11-28
Terrific products and service.
Ian M
United States
2011-11-28
Donald G
FL, United States
2011-11-28
The clothing is of high quality, the sizes run fairly true and the customer service was excellent.
H. N
NY, United States
2011-11-28
Everything was fine - the product was exactly as shown. The only problem was the U.S. Post Office. They failed to deliver the package when it arrived. Instead they claim they left a notice somewhere although I never saw it. It is a one-family home with a single door so it hard to explain. I eventually checked their website and found out your shipment had arrived 3 days earlier! Apparently paying for Express Mail is a waste of good money...
Cody M
CA, United States
2011-11-28
Service was great. I received my items promptly and there were no issues with any of the items. The website does a great job letting the customer know exactly what they are getting when it comes to how the items are sized.
Geoffrey H
-, United States
2011-12-04
extremely pleased with the quality,cut,design and sizing of the waistcoats ordered from you.
Tracy D
IL, United States
2011-12-04
I had alot of great compliments at my wedding on the boots. Love them.
Carol F
NH, United States
2011-12-02
good quality constuction, had to line dress, pants were more contempory fabric than I expected.
Jonathan M
PA, United States
2011-12-01
the products I ordered are good quality, turn around time was quick. overall, I am completely satisfied with my order.
Roumen D
TX, United States
2011-12-01
Michael F
LA, United States
2011-11-30
Easy to order from, and prompt delivery!
Jasmine G
WI, United States
2011-11-30
My purchase was easy, and the product arrived quickly and was very satisfactory. What more could one want?
Mary M
PA, United States
2011-11-30
Very fast service; the product appears to be well made. So far anyhow
Kelly K
MN, United States
2011-11-30
Lynda H
ID, United States
2011-11-30
Bought sleeve garters for Christmas present and am quite pleased with the quality of the product.
Joyce H
WA, United States
2011-11-29
Sherry R
AZ, United States
2011-11-29
Dawn W
NM, United States
2011-11-29
Joseph N
NY, United States
2011-11-29
Great quality products...terrific service and fast delivery...what more can you ask for. Thanks.
Kalyn S
WA, United States
2011-11-29
It really is better in person than online! This is going to make the BEST christmas gift! Thanks for the careful shipping and fast export! I am already planning my next purchase!
Amy H
FL, United States
2011-11-29
Great selection of hard-to-find steampunk items!
Jennie G
-, New Zealand
2011-11-29
Great service. Very quick receipt of goods and very well packed
Michael C
PA, United States
2011-11-29
One of the two vests is excellent quality, the wool one. Pockets a little small, and only two of them, but a excellent product. Two vests I would like to buy are not available in medium. . . will keep looking.
Gregory B
MO, United States
2011-11-29
Stephanie T
QC, Canada
2011-11-29
Love your site, have told others about it, will likely buy from you guys again.
David M
WA, Australia
2011-11-29
The items were authentic looking and better quality than we imagined. They look fantastic! Service is friendly, efficient, professional and they delivered to us than items coming from within our own country and state!! Good old fashtioned service which is hard to find these days - keep up the great work
Tad C
GA, United States
2011-11-29
Good customer service! My order color was not correct but it was completely resolved to my satisfaction. The delivery from west to east coast takes a full week which I found surprising.
Clint A
WA, United States
2011-11-28
Great inventory. Excellent , Prompt delivery
Jerry J
NC, United States
2011-11-28
Tabblair H
CA, United States
2011-11-28
I've been searching for the perfect black blouse forever. Thanks.
Sue T
NS, Australia
2011-11-28
Service was great I'm very pleased with the watch as it's a gift for my husband I feel he will also be pleased I would shop with the Emporium again Thank You
Jeff C
CA, United States
2011-11-28
Only place I could find a button-on collar... if I ever need another I will come back.
Angel A
CA, United States
2011-11-28
I think the website needs bigger images but the transactin was great. I ordered my product and it arrived at my home with ease. I have bought steam punk clothing every year from this website.
Jennifer S
CA, United States
2011-11-28
We already have-the service was prompt, the prices were reasonable and the clothing sturdy and real (these are not just costumes)
Carle J
MD, United States
2011-11-28
Jason S
QL, Australia
2011-11-28
Danielle P
WI, United States
2011-11-28
my favorite vintage style clothing store! MUCH LOVE
Diane Z
MI, United States
2011-11-28
Jerry P
SC, United States
2011-11-28
very sharp jacket can not be found just anywhere quick ship got faster than i expected have had lots of compliments can not find that type of western wear in the deep south thanks so much jerry
Barney O
NM, United States
2011-11-28
Very quick service and the quality of the products exceeded my expectations! I would recommed Historical Emporium to anybody interested in period clothing.
Robert F
MA, United States
2011-11-28
your clothing is fantastic!
Larry F
TX, United States
2011-11-28
Mike B
UT, United States
2011-11-28
Absolutely great customer service. holster arrived within three days of ordering, and good quality product, just as described. I will definitely buy more from you guys.
Abraham D
CA, United States
2011-11-28
Great service and products.
Denise C
CA, United States
2011-11-28
The quality, selection and prices are great.
Kelly C
CA, United States
2011-11-28
You have a great selection of products at good prices.
Heike H
-, Germany
2011-11-28
Best looking, fitting vest found so far.
Donald C
NY, United States
2011-11-28
Order was EASY, Quick, reasonably priced, All items came on HANGERS, in Dust sleeves, ready to hang-ready to wear!! Very impressed. This was my wedding suit, many compliments for both of us!!
Susan B
TX, United States
2011-11-28

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service