Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2011-12-25

MrFridayNite
United States
2011-12-24
This tie is soo very nice. I wore it in my wedding allong with the regency Tailcoat and Drake vest. It looked so good I would have married myself...
MrFridayNite
United States
2011-12-24
No one at the poker table will call your bluff if you have one of these bad boys wrapped around your neck. Very nice...
MrFridayNite
United States
2011-12-24
Awesomely Sweet. The XL hat fit my giant head perfectly. It really set my regency Brocade Tailcoat off perfectly!
Joe
United States
2011-12-22
The coat really makes the outfit. A word of advice order one size up from your normal coat size. The coat is not to heavy and people are taken by how great it looks.
GeoffUK
United States
2011-12-22
Very pleased with the quailty of this item it is well made well lined well cut although the sleeves were a little to long ive had them shortened so now veery pleased with the overall look
The Wolf
United States
2011-12-21
The Tie tack was just what i needed to complete my wardrobe. Now my friends keep trying to steal it... off my neck.
Aussie
AU, United States
2011-12-20
I live in one State in Australia,and I purchased this item for somebody else who lives in another State. Not only were they thrilled with both the quality of the vest itself but also with the extremely prompt, courteous, and general overall response from your company - right down to the hanger. In terms of on-line shopping this Company is a stand-out.
Mary
United States
2011-12-20
The item was just beautiful. Top quality, full lined - great. Just not practical for lounging which was my original intent of the purchase for my husband. Thank you and will keep your site in mind.
Frank
OK, United States
2011-12-20
I ordered this gun belt with holster for a western themed event we were having at my church. I was amazed at the quality of this product. At such a reasonable price, I really didn't expect what I got. I would definitely recommend Historical Emporium to anyone for all your western wear needs!
dutter
WA, United States
2011-12-20
It has a compass built into the top of the walking stick. The needle on the compass was installed so that one end touches the surface which keeps it from spinning freely. Very disappointing. I bought it as a gift so now we are debating whether to return it.
Tilly
PA, United States
2011-12-20
Sepp19
United States
2011-12-20
B. Scrivener
MA, United States
2011-12-20
I bought these pants because, like everyone else, I wanted something beside black. When they arrived, I thought there had been a mistake: how could fabric this soft possibly survive the wear and tear pants normally take? They were like very thick, breathable (ish) felt! I'm happy to report that they have survived quite well forseveral wearings this month. The only down side is that I had to order two sizes up, not just one. However, they were a perfect fit so I can't complain! Just go up another size and definitely dry clean only: 100% Cotton and I'm sunk if they shrink. Deep brown
smallandpissed
United States
2011-12-19
I've wanted these pants for years. I feel a bit foolish for having waited so long to get them. I'm extremely pleased with the quality of construction, and with the quality of the fabric. The fabric is very soft, with great drape, very unlike the stiff, canvas-y fabric that I was expecting. I am very glad that I took the other reviewers' advice and purchased a smaller size than I normally wear. I'm usually a size 8, with a 30 waist. I bought these in a size 4 and they fit my waist perfectly. At 5'2 I'm going to have to have a tailor take them up about four inches, but it will definitly be worth it. They're the bee's knees.
Skippy
United States
2011-12-19
This coat looks great on. It was a lighter of fabric than I would have thought for an overcoat, so you might not want it if your winter temps are in the teens or below. The button holes were a little small to begin with, but have stretched to be quite nice now. It's a really nice coat and quite a head turner! I would recommend it.
cherylpaul
United States
2011-12-19
Justice Citizen
United States
2011-12-19
These gauntlets are awesome. I ordered them to go with my Crusader armor and they look awesome with it. The fit was excellent, and they feel great. Now will have to see how well they stand up to reenactment use. At this point I would order then again.
Justice Citizen
United States
2011-12-19
I bought this scarf to go with a black wool dress coat, and am very pleased with it. I get good compliments on this scarf when I wear it. I will be shopping this site again.
Jimmy Twitcher
United States
2011-12-19
Wonderfully goofy mismatched plaid pants, and a great price. I wore these at the Great Dickens Christmas Fair in San Francisco, and collected many compliments. They breath well and were not, as I had feared, too heavy.
Vacagirl
United States
2011-12-19
I ordered this product and was very impressed with the price, customer service and product quality.
ntbone
WA, United States
2011-12-19
This is a unique suit in that the coat is long. However, the buttons are fabric covered, the material is quite thin and I needed a 38L. Even with a 38L the vest didn't fit me very well and would have needed to be taken in. Ended up returning it.
ntbone
WA, United States
2011-12-19
Unfortunately it would not fit in my eye. As a result, it was merely a decoration to hang around my neck. While I didn't intend to wear it often it would be nice if I could.
ntbone
WA, United States
2011-12-19
I love this vest. Its elegant. Fits well and looks sharp.
ntbone
WA, United States
2011-12-19
Its a great hat. At first I thought it was too big compared to my current ones. It grew on me though. There are two things though I wish this hat had. I wish it had a feather in it and a lining on the inside of the hat.
ntbone
WA, United States
2011-12-19
It is a lovely gold chain. I was hoping it was the type I could hook to a pocket but the ends are not designed for that. That being said it is a very nice gold chain.
JB
United States
2011-12-19
The small jacket has a waist measurement of around 36 (the narrowest part) and the shoulder width/hips run closer to a standard size 8/10 US. The sleeves are also roomy, so it would fit easily over layers and thick sweaters. Overall it runs big, but looks very nice and is extremely well constructed. Nothing flimsy about it!
sir george bellbottom
AU, United States
2011-12-19
briliant product, well worth what i paid for it, though the packaging was a little silly, as it was a foot long box, containing a small plastic bag, containing a faux velvet bag, containing the monocule, none the less, well worth it, it was kind of funny actually.
yukonkt
United States
2011-12-19
I bought this in addition to another pair of goggles, only because I thought they were really cool. However, it turned out that the glass in both lenses was scratched and no matter which way you put them on, they looked upside down. The strap wasn't of the best quality either. Disappointed.
JoeAtty
CA, United States
2011-12-19
Very nice fabric and good construction, but unfortunately had to return the product, as the sizing from this manufacturer runs very small.
Rave
United States
2011-12-19
Originally I had purchased the charcoal version of these. They provided me with a replacement since they had these in stock already. They are really warm and comfortable. I wear them every time I go outside in the cold weather. Totally amazing feeling and a little stretchy. These make a perfect set of gloves if you need your fingers for texting on your phone with out losing warmth.
Chuckoluck
NY, United States
2011-12-19
The H.Emporium level of customer service is as customer friendly as a business can be. I commend the Emporium for their patience with my order. I feel this is a business to be recommended to all in need of purchasing items listed in their very specific product line.CHUCKOLUCK
Rave
United States
2011-12-19
These goggles do exactly as I wanted to use them for! To repel wind and glare.
BBUBBA
United States
2011-12-19
The vest that I received was of relatively good quality although it is not as good as other purchases made previously from the Emporium. The color looked much like it did on the site so it was as I expected. As it turned out the arm openings did not fit right. The lower part, under the arm, had a lot of excess material. I had to take it and have it altered to fit correctly. Since the item was shipped to me promptly I still have it ready to use for the Christmas holidays.
Rave
United States
2011-12-19
I was really impressed with the quality of this scarf. Most places you buy are not really what they say it is. The item arrived before expected and I was really impressed!
maggiekn
United States
2011-12-19
well made, great fabric, only possible fault for us was body a little short ending up with gap between pants and waistcoat
maggiekn
United States
2011-12-19
well made, great fabric, only possible fault for us was body a little short ending up with gap between pants and waistcoat
Clément
BR, United States
2011-12-19
It's seems to be very fragile.
Clément
BR, United States
2011-12-19
There was a problem with a element I had to fixed. But it's ok now
Black Rory Harper
BU, United States
2011-12-19
I bought this vest to go with my victorian outfit, especially worn during the Christmas season. I received a lot of compliments!
wasabi
United States
2011-12-19
Neeks
NE, United States
2011-12-19
I received my order a mere 5 days after I first placed it and I'm from New Zealand. So very happy with the customer service for one.Secondly I LOVE my new skirt. It's of absolutely stunning quality and the weight is perfect for what I need it for. (Albeit a little long because I'm only 5'3 but that's okay I'll deal with it)
Belladonna Remington
United States
2011-12-19
This was the first pocket watch I had ever purchased. As Im sure you can imagine, I took my time, searched around, and did the best to find a watch that was in my price range, but also held up to my standards and would look exceptional with the rest of my wardrobe. Well, this watch has managed to fit all of those categories not only on screen, but also in person. I am a little hard on my accessories, and thus far it has held up beautifully, although I have been doing my best to be careful. It is a simply beautiful watch. My personal favorite feature is the engraving and window on the back. The only issue I have had thus far is forgetting to wind it, but Im sure that will come with time. I am sure there are better watches out there, but for the price (at least from what I know) this is an excellent buy.
noname12243
United States
2011-12-19
Grann
United States
2011-12-19
I love this blouse and it can be dressed up or down for different characters. Wear it with a black skirt or striped skirt. I could open the collar & roll the sleeves for summer work or add a vest to cameo. Well made and washable!
VicChristams
TN, United States
2011-12-19
Well tailored and a great addition to my collection. Highly recommended.
arthur
MA, United States
2011-12-19
Good quality cotton, sturdy and solid construction methods. The collar could be a tad higher, but overall, a really great product and decent price. Sizing is perfect.
zenjen
United States
2011-12-19
I love this coat! It is perfect for California winters and might run a tad bit large, but can easily be adjusted. It took a bit longer to receive than I thought, but it was worth the wait.
Sara
United States
2011-12-19
It did not take long at all to receive this item and it was PERFECT for my skirt. : )
M80
United States
2011-12-19
Very nice looking, very detailed. Love the little velour carrying pouch. My son loves this watch.
SoCal Magician
United States
2011-12-19
I quickly needed a cravat for a themed performance. The Cravat arrived in plenty of time, and I'm quite pleased with its quality in construction. However, I do wish that it came with both tying instructions (I had to look them up online) as well as cleaning and care instructions.After a single use, it was extremely wrinkled (I can only assume that it can be ironed).
Graf von Watts
PA, United States
2011-12-19
There is not much to say on this. I really liked the shirt. Nice wieght and made well. It went very well with my impression.
Rich
IL, United States
2011-12-19
I love wearing these trousers, and I like the fact that they are washable. I wear them with an Arlington blue vest and light blue cravat with the pant legs inside my tall boots for the sophisticated country genltleman look at re-enactments at our local historical society. They are very comfortable to wear.
Graf von Watts
PA, United States
2011-12-19
I like the cravat. I do whish however, that you sold a style of cravat that did not have such large ends. I normally tie my cravats into a kind of bow tie. With the large ends it could not be made uniform. It is rather difficult to find a tie it yourself white cravat with the regular 19th century sutlers, so this was the closest I came to it. I thank you for that. If you ever decide to sell straight edged, or even straight pointed cravats (like the one's you see on photo's of Abraham Lincoln) I will be your first buyer!
Raevynette
United States
2011-12-19
This had was well-made and excellent quality.
Rich
IL, United States
2011-12-19
I get a lot of compliments on this vest. It looks very rich and elegant. I wear it with a robin egg blue cravat. Just the look I wanted for my civilian evening wear re-enactments at our local hisorical mansion. I was even alble to open the pockets myself. They come sewn shut.
Robear
United States
2011-12-19
I love my new Wool Great coat! Not only does it look great, but it also is incredibly warm. My only complaint is that the collar tends to get out of shape really easily. Other than that small complaint, this coat is a must buy for anyone looking for that Sherlock Holmes look on a budget.
Rich
IL, United States
2011-12-19
I like the way that the suspenders can be easily adjusted. They look great with the gray trousers I purchased. The suspenders were too long for me, but I was able to shorten them myself.
r.wiliams
TX, United States
2011-12-21
product was exactly what i wanted , nicely made exceeding the quality that i was expecting for the price.i highly recommend it.
Tracy Thomas
CA, United States
2011-12-19
My husband wanted an authentic looking old west holster . After searching many stores and websites, this store had the best selection. The quality is excellent. It's a Christmas present so I hope it fits. The other reason I purchased from your store is the great return policy.
Woody
TX, United States
2011-12-19
Great looking vest, good fit, only problem was: worn once and a button came off, put that button back on, second wearing another button needed sewing back on. Looks like I will need to have all the buttons done before I can wear it again.
gschaff2
United States
2011-12-19
The pistol has great weight and action as advertised. I was disappointed that dummy bullets could not readily be added to the pistol.
gschaff2
United States
2011-12-19
Good looking, what I expected. I would prefer a different pin.
Kelly B
TN, United States
2011-12-22
Stephen C
-, United States
2011-12-22
You need to make it a lot clearer and upfront that customers from the UK will face horrendous import charges. VAT, customs charges and handling charges added 30% onto the cost! The information about this is hidden away at the bottom of a list of information. Very disappointed
Scott C
AC, Australia
2011-12-22
Gerson H
VI, Australia
2011-12-22
The service was great and the items are impeccable!
Marie N
CA, United States
2011-12-21
Thank you for your prompt shipping and excellent service.
Maura R
PA, United States
2011-12-21
Steven W
TX, United States
2011-12-21
product and service was both great. shipping was excellent, i will be a return customer.
Nick B
CA, United States
2011-12-21
I am very pleased with the vest I received. It is made from high quality materials and is very well constructed. It is my new favorite vest and I wear it all the time :)
Allan M
-, United States
2011-12-21
I am very happy with the Emporioum and my purchase. The only downside was the 4 weeks delivery and the extra import duty into the UK which is not your fault Thank You
Thomas A
CA, United States
2011-12-20
Joan A
CT, United States
2011-12-20
Mt grandson loved the hat - and the shipping was super fast - thanks.
Simon W
-, United States
2011-12-20
Great service but products/delivery a bit over-priced
Margaret D
ID, United States
2011-12-20
Items came quickly and in excellent condition. Website was easy to use and items were described very well.
Debra A
KY, United States
2011-12-20
great quality good buy
Frank P
OK, United States
2011-12-20
Sally M
NS, Australia
2011-12-20
Elizabeth B
-, United States
2011-12-20
The site is easy to use but the shipping costs are astronomical.
Jerry R
PA, United States
2011-12-20
Nothing to say really...good quality coat . No breeches available.
Travis M
IN, United States
2011-12-20
William P
CA, United States
2011-12-20
Actually got order earlier than was stated. I have not tried gunbelt out, but did put it on and if fit well and looks good. I did form the holsters to my Rugers by bending the metal liner in between the leather and the fit is good now.
Samuel C
WA, United States
2011-12-20
I'm tickled pink with the riding pants/skirt. The quality is terrific and the shipping was very prompt.
H Peter A
CA, United States
2011-12-20
Mary C
NC, United States
2011-12-20
excellent service! i ordered a vest for my husband. it is top notch quality, and the size was right on.
Karen C
PA, United States
2011-12-20
Douglas W
NY, United States
2011-12-20
Jordan B
LA, United States
2011-12-20
I am really enjoying my boots that I purchased. When I stumbled across the pictures for these boots, I just knew I had to have them. And they are fantastic. People have complimented me about the shoes and I've told them exactly where I got them from.
Deborah C
MB, Canada
2011-12-20
Ths shoes are a Christmas surprise and I hope they fit, Service was prompt and accurate!
Daniel F
VA, United States
2011-12-20
Rita M
ID, United States
2011-12-20
Lauri E
NV, United States
2011-12-20
Carol M
NS, Australia
2011-12-20

United States
2011-12-19
Henry P
MA, United States
2011-12-19
Great, the clothing was great, and when I had to return something I got an e-mail as something was out of stock. It was really wonderful.
Mary S
CO, United States
2011-12-19
Jill M
TX, United States
2011-12-19
I was impressed by the detail and affordability of your products.
Beverley G
NC, United States
2011-12-19
Only concern was that the shipping took quite a long time and I got worried my articles wouldn't arrive on time. Perhaps sending more info on shipping and tracking would help alleviate concerns such as mine.
Thomas S
TX, United States
2011-12-19
Ralph C
LA, United States
2011-12-19
I like the scarf - it is first rate - shipping was quick - a very good transaction all around..
Katy F
QL, Australia
2011-12-19
Beautifully made, absolute quality. Surpassed expectation.
Jeffrey B
ME, United States
2011-12-19
Packages shipped very promptly and I had it in just a few days. Was well packaged. Good Job and Thanks!
Kaori T
YT, Canada
2011-12-19
Although I wasn't fully happy with the product I ordered, the turnaround time from ordering to receiving it seemed quite fast, even though I'm way up in the Yukon. I also found ordering was very straightforward and easy.
Eric B
NC, United States
2011-12-19
If my duties take me your way I'll be stopping to shake Noels hand.
William H
FL, United States
2011-12-19
Very nice vest and quick delivery.
Daniel L
MI, United States
2011-12-19
Wrong item was shipped. Item was broken in the box
Clay C
CO, United States
2011-12-19
Jared G
MA, United States
2011-12-20
Terry D
IL, United States
2011-12-19
I was really impressed with the service! The items I bought arrived before I expected them to. Most places when you choose the basic shipping option will ship and then you will be waiting for your stuff a week before you get them! Not Historical Emporium! Fast shipping, excellent quality in their products and wonderful descriptions!
Charles H
NY, United States
2011-12-19
You are a very reliable business to deal with. And, very patient with your customer's specific needs.
Jennifer C
WA, United States
2011-12-19
Linda H
PA, United States
2011-12-19
Your sizing was off based on measurements and I had to spend over $25. inshipping costs. Just not right.
Linda B
TX, United States
2011-12-19
Michael P
CA, United States
2011-12-19
Brendan R
PA, United States
2011-12-19
I have and continue to recommend it to anyone I know with any interest in vintage dress!
Patricia L
NC, United States
2011-12-19
They process orders quickly and their prices are fair. Everything I've ever ordered from them has been great. Also, there aren't many places to buy things like pith helmets.
Tom B
IL, United States
2011-12-19
Great merchandise, quick delivery, very happy!
Carlos V
ON, Canada
2011-12-19
Erika D
MA, United States
2011-12-19
the service is very satisfactory and clothing is very well made. The only problem i have ever had was being sent the wrong color skirt which turned out alright since i had planned on buying the color i received as well as the one i order.
Grover S
FL, United States
2011-12-19
Michael K
TN, United States
2011-12-19
Great service, great products, great value!!
Roy T
TX, United States
2011-12-19
Daniel O
CO, United States
2011-12-19
I purchased gifts, which haven't been received yet. I am pleased with the quality of the items I've examined so far.
Kathy B
PA, United States
2011-12-19
Justin W
NY, United States
2011-12-19
Any compliments I receive on my ascot will result in my recommendation to your website.
Juergen G
RI, United States
2011-12-19
Kathleen P
AZ, United States
2011-12-19
My granddaughter is into vests these days, and I love seeing the outfits she comes up with. She already purchased two vests from you recently and wanted a third, which I purchased for her (she selected) and she has not seen yet as it's a Christmas present. I love the way if came very fast and also the condition and professional manner you send it. Thanks, Kate Pearson
Jerome M
ON, Canada
2011-12-19
great products, excellent quality. good customer service
Conor M
-, Ireland
2011-12-19
I would take away c/card as a payment option for international customers if standard transaction services are not enough (i.e ID and photo of card). Just offer paypal.
Thomas B
OH, United States
2011-12-19
I love this company! The shipping time is short, the quality is always far beyond acceptable, and it is literally the only emporium of such wonderful goods I have been able to find!
Terry Q
TX, United States
2011-12-19
Handling, shipping, and receipt were extraordinarily quick. The products I received comport with my expectations derived from the web catalog description and images. I was completely satisfied with the shopping experience.
Jakob R
Norway
2011-12-19
I loved it! You are officially bookmarked and loved by me and whenever I have some extra cash I will look towards the emporium. Do not have many steampunk loving friends, but I shall make them so. Love Sir Jacob Terjes?nn Rypdal
Margie W
MD, United States
2011-12-19
Craig S
WA, United States
2011-12-19
As always your product are of good quality and good price. Also, your customer service is top nootch!
Cathryn S
MA, United States
2011-12-19
Michael M
FL, United States
2011-12-19
Shannon S
LA, United States
2011-12-19
Dwight F
NV, United States
2011-12-19
Kathleen F
VA, United States
2011-12-19
Brian P
PA, United States
2011-12-19
Fast shipping great quality!
Linda W
CA, United States
2011-12-19
It was easy to order and very quick delivery. I can't comment on quality of items as they are for my son as gifts, and haven't been opened yet.
Wendy S
NB, Canada
2011-12-19
Customer Service very helpful. Advised me of potential problem with my ship to address and helped ensure that it was corrected.

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service