Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2012-01-22

Well Dressed Man
PA, United States
2012-01-18
I bought this for a steam punk party with an open bar so needless to say this went from costume prop to functional device in a small span of time. Actually worked fairly well keeping be up right!I am 6'2 and I wish it was an inch longer but I get by since it's mostly a prop. It did get a bit loose and wobbled a lot. I had to unscrew the top part with the glass and hammer in the nails you will see and it's functioned properly ever since!
Lady of Steam
United States
2012-01-17
This blouse is well made with many flattering details. It looks great with a long skirt, but also it can rock a pair of jeans. I am between a large and extra large in size and found the extra large to be a better fit.
Lady of Steam
United States
2012-01-17
What's not to like - rich colors, lace and ribbon, a comfortable material that stretches. This is a fun garment. I sometimes wear a large, sometimes an extra large. I ordered the large in this and it fit just fine.
Lady of Steam
United States
2012-01-17
Well made piece of lingerie or outer wear if you're braver than me. The material is comfortable and stretchy. And the look is very victorian/Steam Punk. Quite a classy garment!
Lady of Steam
United States
2012-01-17
This blouse is a sweet, frilly thing - all lace, pearl buttons, and ribbons. It sets a mood immediately and looks fantastic with a long skirt. It also looks great with a pair of more modern pants. I suppose it isn't very practical, but one doesn't always need to be practical, right?
Joe
ON, United States
2012-01-17
I'm very pleased with the scarf and wear it on a daily basis. It goes well with my regular business clothing.
Joe
ON, United States
2012-01-17
Joe
ON, United States
2012-01-17
This is one of the best vests I've ever worn. The quality is next to none and I'd recommend it. I just wish it was a tad longer on the body. I'm planning on getting some other vests, different colours.
Joe
ON, United States
2012-01-17
I had a lot of laughs with these tokens and even cashed one in with my wife. :)
Joe
ON, United States
2012-01-17
Joe
ON, United States
2012-01-17
The jacket is a perfect fit. It is nice and comfortable.
A Gentleman
United States
2012-01-17
I purchased this tailcoat not long ago and was surprised by the speed of delivery and dazzling quality of the item. I was also impressed at the care taken to ensure it was well packed and undamaged. It fits extremely well and I am overjoyed with the unmatched service and outstanding coat that I received for such a small price. Certainly will buy more from here!
appiehorse
United States
2012-01-17
This is an authentic, well made product that is well worth the money and arrived earlier than expected.
appiehorse
United States
2012-01-17
This is an authentic and well made product that was received earlier than expected.
appiehorse
United States
2012-01-17
This is a quality made, authentic product that was received sooner than expected.
moana
United States
2012-01-17
What a wonderful blouse! Seams are finished well, lace trim set on. I had to move a few buttons on the cuffs. I can vouch that the buttons are put on to stay! Just great workmanship. This will last a long time.
likegangbusters
CA, United States
2012-01-17
Looks great and feels great. Very difficult to find coats like this one, and this is an extremely nice one at a reasonable price. In the middle of an exchange because I initially purchased the wrong size, but very excited to receive and wear the right sized one.
likegangbusters
CA, United States
2012-01-17
Looks great, fits great, reasonable price. Soft felt makes it light, comfy and difficult to become misshapen, which is nice for these types of hats. Definitely recommend for anyone interested.
Andy
United States
2012-01-17
I love wearing this coat. Add some nice trousers, a well starched white shirt, fine silk tie and antique victorian Prince Albert watch chain and I feel like a million bucks. It's just different enough to be special without making me look like I'm wearing a costume. A finely made and classicly elegant frock that I enjoy wearing to work and out on the town. When everyone else is wearing an off-the-rack suit or sport jacket, this piece really pops.
Andy
United States
2012-01-17
Don't be fooled by the very reasonable cost of this coat. This is a top-quality overcoat that is absolutely stunning. I took it to my tailor to have the sleeves shortened and she commented on the quality of construction. I wore it out one night and two people came up to me (on New Year's Eve when everyone is all done up) and commented on how gorgeous my coat looked. A classy and wonderful addition to any wardrobe. This coat stands out in any crowd. I can wear it to the work as easily as I can to the symphony and it is perfect.
Andy
United States
2012-01-17
A beautiful vest made of top-quality materials and built to last. Wonderful for a cold winter's day.Once I got my first one I was so pleased that I made plans to order one in every color. A wonderful addition to any classic gentleman's wardrobe
Andy
United States
2012-01-17
This was one of the first items I had ever ordered from the Emporium and was concerned that, for the price, it was going to be a cheaply constructed.The cost of the vest is not indicative of the quality. It is a very well made garment made of excellent materials.I've purchased vests similar to the Nottingham that cost twice as much and weren't even half as good.HIGHLY RECOMMEND.
markste
United States
2012-01-17
Nice Product. I had to get used to them a little, because I never wore suspenders before. But now I really like them.
markste
United States
2012-01-17
The Work vest fitted just perfect, I really like the material and the way it's made, very neat but sturdy. Definitely a piece of clothing for everyday use.
AlanSchezar
CA, United States
2012-01-17
This ascot is outstanding. Quality construction and material and very nice, classy style. It even comes with a matching pocket square, which was an awesome surprise! In the words of one particular modern day fashion officionado, The victorians were the Lords of style. This dashing ascot proves it.
Cmdr. James Alexander Watts
NE, United States
2012-01-16
Excellent item. Fits nicely over my half boots.
Janean
FL, United States
2012-01-16
They look great. I did add non skid to the front. I wear a 9.5 and ordered a 10, they fit well, but I may stretch them a tiny bit because I have wide boxy feet. They look just like the picture and are leather.
sunshine
United States
2012-01-16
This bracelet was for my daughter she loves it. It was a lot cuter then we thought. We never bought anything on here before but we will buy more it a great site. Also she got it in a 2 days.
AlanSchezar
CA, United States
2012-01-16
From a looks perspective, this vest looks fantastic. The fabric, although probably not very authentic from a historical standpoint, has a nice sheen and a lovely subdued paisley pattern. The shawl collar is awesome.Where this vest falls down is in the quality department. It has a very cheap/ flimsy feel overall (100% thin polyester) and is extremely light. The buttons seem to be very precariously attached and seem like they would fall off a any moment. Fortunately so far none have been lost.Also, I habitually wear a pocket watch and I find the pockets on this vest excessively shallow; my watch falls out easily if I bend forward at the waist in this vest.Still, the vest looks great and isn't terribly expensive, so for a costume item it's just fine, just not quite as good for daily wear.
AlanSchezar
CA, United States
2012-01-16
I ordered this vest along with the Crimson Canvas vest and some other items. This one is my second favourite of all of the vests I ordered. It's a very luxurious microfibre material that's reminiscent of silk. It's very comfortable and extremely stylish. It's a bit fancy and formal for every day wear, but that's not really a detraction. The construction quality is good overall, however the buttons seem to be very precariously attached. So far none have fallen off, but the attachment doesn't breed confidence.All in all, I'm very satisfied with it and it looks great.
AlanSchezar
CA, United States
2012-01-16
I absolutely love this vest. I ordered this along with several other items (a puff tie, ascot, and 2 other vests) and this one shines. It's extremely stylish, distinguished, yet understated and not so fancy as to prevent its being worn as part of a smart-casual ensemble. It's also of very good quality and durable, and being 100% cotton is machine washable. I wear this vest almost daily.
MJC
United States
2012-01-16
The mustache is real human hair, and can be washed and styled. It gets quite flat in the packaging, and so it might be best to wash it and restyle. However, be prepared to have a curling iron for the ends. We used the mustache without washing, and it was fine, but did look a little flat. The ends will also stick out away from the face, unless a little additional tape is used to hold it in. These are not complaints, just suggestions on proper usage. There is also a mesh backing that extends around the edges. This can be trimmed but 1) the hair is actually woven onto the backing, so be careful; 2) it can be used to blend in existing facial hair; 3) it was not at all noticeable in our performance. Definitely recommend as a realistic mustache for performance usage.
MJC
United States
2012-01-16
Tape is easy to use and reasonable to get off. It did its job and kept the mustache on throughout the performance.
Marie
AU, United States
2012-01-16
The blouse is very pretty and I will enjoy wearing it. It arrived at my home very quickly.
Edward
United States
2012-01-16
Julz85
United States
2012-01-16
I had been searching for a cravat like this for ages and it fit the bill perfectly. Great quality and my wife to be loves it. With a pearl cravat pin added to it, made it look really classy. Cheers
Mark M
United States
2012-01-16
This cap was very reasonably priced, and the quality is quite acceptable, a good value. The XL size is perfect for me (7.5 US), and as it is designed to rest down on your head size is not critical unless you get it too small. This one won't be mistaken for the super premium imported caps you see, but it looks just fine.
Ghostiekitty
LA, United States
2012-01-16
My only complaint with this vest is that it is just a teeny bit too large for its intended recipient, who stands at 6'4''. I purchased the XL due to his height, and should have went with the L (he's around 185 lbs.). Otherwise, fabulous purchase, and would definitely order another vest from here!
Ghostiekitty
LA, United States
2012-01-16
Purchased this for my boyfriend for Christmas, and gave it to him last. Truly was his Red Rider BB Gun! Fabulous Fit, and has been very striking with each of the three coordinated pieces he's worn it with so far! Very appropriate for steampunk, Circus Punk, any Saints Game, or a Night Out on the Town (we live in New Orleans)! Some reviews claimed the coat tails were loooong, but at 6'4'', they are very appropriate for him, hanging to his mid-calf. Beautiful piece of work!
RMoore
NE, United States
2012-01-16
Just what we were looking for when we wanted a black derby for my son! We ended up with the wrong size and had the exchange within a week. Service was outstanding also. We'll look to buy from here again!
Romeo
OR, United States
2012-01-16
This is a lovely vest. Very sharp looking, especially with a nice bright-colored collared shirt underneath. It is very well made. Love it.
Susan
WA, United States
2012-01-16
Great service- fast and high quality clothing. Highly recommended.
WildeEngineer
CA, United States
2012-01-16
The Highland vest that I ordered could not have been any better. It looked great and was obviously very well made. The sizing chart worked perfectly and the vest fit me very well. It was the perfect addition to my ensemble and I will definately be ordering another vest. They even refunded me the difference in shipping when they figured I would not need expedited to get it on time.
Casey
United States
2012-01-16
We are using these for our groomsmen and dads at the wedding--and they look perfect! Color is beautiful. Fast shipping.
cowboy
United States
2012-01-20
loved the vest
Irish gal
United States
2012-01-19
Good quality waistcoat.My father is delighted with it. Service great. Will definately be back in the future.
Bocephus
AU, United States
2012-01-17
I bought this vest for an upcoming wedding. It exceeded my expectations in quality and finish. The service from this company is unsurpassed, the item came to my door on a hanger inside a box. I would have no problem buying from Historical Emporium again.
Jeff
United States
2012-01-16
I was verry happy with the product that I received. I followed the instructions on size and received exactly what I wanted. The belt and holster were of superior quality and I am well pleased.
BUG
FL, United States
2012-01-16
Outstanding looks and feels like the real thing.
BUG
FL, United States
2012-01-16
The Badge is to small and the pin will not stay closed.This badge is more like a childs play toy.
Jeff
IL, United States
2012-01-16
I like to wear a vest because it gives me a place to put various items, like a wallet, small appointment calendar, small change purse. I could also carry a cell phone or iphone if I owned one. Very good quality. I wonder how long the lining will last.
Longhorn
United States
2012-01-16
What a fantastic and authentic look/feel product this is. I can easily see myself wearing this shirt again and the quality will allow that for years to come. I ordered my size and it fit perfectly, this is a product I highly recommend.
Longhorn
United States
2012-01-16
I found the quality of the belt/holster combination to be of thick leather and the tooling looked very nice as well, especially when you consider the price I paid for it at around $80.00.My 44 Magnum and 38 Special fit in it well, although I was able to use the trigger saftely tie with the 38 and not the 44. It holds bullets for both well and it was a great addition to our costume for New Years Eve and something I can continue to wear for years to come.
Longhorn
United States
2012-01-16
Product came on time and worked as described for our Wild West New Years Eve party. Made of medal, it held my regulard kerchief in place just like intended. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a slide.
Longhorn
United States
2012-01-16
I like the authenticity of the badge and the fact it was made out of medal. Maybe it is me, but the badge seemed small in size and perhaps that was the way it was supposed to be worn to keep from being a target in the Wild West but I would have liked it a little larger in size.
Brian B
VA, United States
2012-01-16
Clear product descriptions on the website and the quality of my purchase was better than expected. Price was very reasonable.
Patricia H
CT, United States
2012-01-17
design of clothes primarily and then it appeared from info that it was decent quality, so I thought I'd give it a shot. Am very happy!
Jack F
MI, United States
2012-01-16
Jefferson C
IL, United States
2012-01-16
I really like the website. I got interest in victorian clothing after watching the Jeremy Brett series of Sherlock Holmes stories. Dr. Watson is a clotheshorse.
Romeo O
OR, United States
2012-01-16
Prompt delivery, item as promised. Nice work. Cheers!
Ted C
FL, United States
2012-01-16
Great service and amazing quality. I have been looking at this site for a while but I didn't believe it would be as good as it looked. I was wrong. It's better. I'd like one of everything please.
Angelika M
CA, United States
2012-01-16
Product exceeded my expectations and was delivered way ahead of schedule. I would definitely purchase from you again and recommend you to people! Keep up the great quality and service!
James R
MN, United States
2012-01-16
as promised. solid construction.
Cody S
TX, United States
2012-01-16
Eileen S
PA, United States
2012-01-16
Beautiful clothing, great selection, and fast shipping!
Marilyn D
AL, United States
2012-01-22
Good product, reasonable price and good service.
Donald J
NC, United States
2012-01-21
Eileen T
-, United States
2012-01-20
The shirt I purchased is on it's way back to you. The quality was very good but the decoration was too big for the recipients taste and the size too big. Unfortunately there was no shirt on your website that suited as an exchange. If you can give me the same black shirt with just the white piping and NO embroidery at all and in medium size that would be great but as I could not find that on your website I have asked for a refund. Also I later found your products on a UK website which would have saved me a lot of money, customs expense, returns expense, etc. which is why I would recommend The Emporium if a closer option was not available. I have no complaint with your service.
Brendan L
CA, United States
2012-01-20
Carl S
IN, United States
2012-01-19
The quality and fit are unbelievable. . I am so glad that I found your web-site.
Daniel H
NJ, United States
2012-01-19
A good selection and I was very happy with my purchases over all. There was a problem and customer service took care of it promptly and it was resolved quickly and to my satisfaction. Good Job!
James M
-, Ireland
2012-01-19
Excellent service.
Gerold B
ID, United States
2012-01-19
It would be nice if you could notify customers of new items that come in and of out of stock items that have been restocked
Charlie W
LA, United States
2012-01-18
My experience was flawless and no problems whatsoever. Clothing arrived in great condition along with clear details and invoice. I did not have any returns, but all clothing fit and was high quality as advertised.
Alan K
SC, United States
2012-01-18
Other than your odd shipping habits, I would give the highest recommendations to any of my reenacting colleagues. I dislike your shipping of things in separated boxes and separate shipments, because it seems to delay getting to me in what I consider a reasonable time. Notwithstanding, your superior product lines and excellent service and pricing will continue to get my business.
Scott W
NV, United States
2012-01-18
Ashley D
PA, United States
2012-01-18
Steven M
NM, United States
2012-01-18
Patrick A
MO, United States
2012-01-17
Quick delivery, good product, sizes tend to run a little tight, would suggest ordering next size up. overall, good ervice and back up.
Joe A
ON, Canada
2012-01-17
The best reviews and appearence. Everyone commented on the quality.
Charles K
OK, United States
2012-01-17
great product, great service. as a matter of fact I ordered another shirt and tie today
Jennifer S
MA, United States
2012-01-17
I ordered a floral blouse by mistake, I ment to order a plan natural colored blouse. I returned the floral blouse with no trouble but the plain blouse has been discontinued.
Edward R
CT, United States
2012-01-17
The products purchased from this company are well made and worth the cost. They always arrive earlier than expected.
Michelle R
UT, United States
2012-01-17
The order arrived quickly and in wonderful condition. I bought these items as a gift for my brother and he adores them.
Bronwyn S
CA, United States
2012-01-17
Quick service, good prices, well-made clothing
Betty H
MS, United States
2012-01-17
very PLEASE with items i've purchased for my sweet hubby.....THANKS
Don D
MN, United States
2012-01-17
Karen E
ON, Canada
2012-01-17
clothing styles and good prices
Reg M
VI, Australia
2012-01-17
Had a great range of items i was interested in.
Mark S
CH, Switzerland
2012-01-17
Thank you for your formidable shipping service. I expected to wait at least 4 weeks for the order. After 10 Days everything was here. Great Products and a clear made shop.
Jason S
BC, Canada
2012-01-17
Very good service, quality products, reasonable prices. I made a second order after my initial order of several items. Thank you for reviving the incomparable style of the 19th century!
Matthew N
NY, United States
2012-01-17
only place that offered the clothing i was looking for.
Marshall M
KY, United States
2012-01-17
Doug B
AZ, United States
2012-01-17
Hal M
TX, United States
2012-01-17
Don B
MI, United States
2012-01-17
Edward V
NJ, United States
2012-01-17
I was dissapointed with the first rig I ordered.I was not pleased with the quility of craftsmenship. You sent the next order out the next day. I returned the first order and the second was excellent. 100% difference. Thank you.
Roger C
ID, United States
2012-01-17
Price and quality.
Jeffrey N
NY, United States
2012-01-16
Diane U
TX, United States
2012-01-16
The boot is a poor fit. It's both extremely long and extremely narrow. You don't offer any alternatives for customers with wider feet. It has cost extra to have the boot stretched to the point of wearablity.
Ernest M
KS, United States
2012-01-16
Michael D
-, Germany
2012-01-16
The service has been, as usual, excellent. Quick shipping and good quality items is your trademark. Of course I would recommend you!
Leila M
FL, United States
2012-01-16
Found what I wanted and gave you a try.
Wahab S
NY, United States
2012-01-16
Marc C
CA, United States
2012-01-16
Easy to use website. Quick shipping. Good customer support
Thom B
TX, United States
2012-01-16
Greg L
NY, United States
2012-01-16
Cheapest price for a quality product I was able to verify through other sources.
Jonathan K
NJ, United States
2012-01-16
Great value. Good service.
Lowell V
CO, United States
2012-01-16
George G
MS, United States
2012-01-16
everything was shipment was on time . the size fit great

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service