Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2012-02-19

Carol Zito
NY, United States
2012-02-13
I purchased this regency shirt as a Valentine gift, so the person I am giving it to hasn't received it yet, so I am not sure how it fits him yet. However, my observations is that the material is more of a linen-type and thinner than expected -- not that crispy cotton material I was expecting. I hope it doesn't get wrinkly and is easy to take care of. Hopefully my friend will like the shirt. The style looks "pretty" . . . .and is what I was looking for.
Sweet Feet
NY, United States
2012-02-13
The Lucille Walking Suit is pretty; however, the colors of the suit looked more subtle in the web photos whereas they appear more bright when I received it. The suit fits me nicely although I may have to take the hem up an inch or so. The label mentions "bleeding" can occur when washing and suggest hand washing in cold water. I am hoping that the colors don't bleed; I may have it dry cleaned instead. I look forward to the opportunity to wear this day suit in the future.
Alexander Urciuoli
United States
2012-02-14
I am not a re-enactor or old west dresser but I do like fine vintage styles to wear as regular, dress clothes in the early 21st Century. I particularly like brown pinstripes in men's fashion, something not easily found, even shopping on the internet. I can truly say that the Birmingham vest is everything I'd hoped it would be. The wool blend is substantial yet soft. The color is true to the photo yet looks even better in real life. The fit was true to the size listed and the construction is first rate. It looks great with a watch and chain. A true bonus is that it's made in the USA(!). This vest is sure to be one of my standard, well loved fashion items. I am truly a satisfied customer! A 21st Century Dandy
Mary Todd Lincoln
IL, United States
2012-02-16
These gloves are perfect for my needs. When I am conducting tours on the Illinois and Michigan Canal boat, the Volunteer, in the early spring and late fall, the temperatures can get rather nippy. I've tried other gloves, but these are the best. The spandex keeps them in place at all times so that I'm not constantly pulling on them. I am a return customer, many times over, for dresses (3), parasols, fans, hats, and now gloves. I have never been disappointed.
Francesco Baracca
EM, Italy
2012-02-16
It was a pleasure dealing with the kind Sirs at Historical Emporium. The delivery was fast, and came in a nice package. The items were in perfect conditions and I am pleased to say that I will, no doubt, purchase again.
Francesco Baracca
EM, Italy
2012-02-16
It was a pleasure dealing with the kind Sirs at Historical Emporium. The delivery was fast, and came in a nice package. The items were in perfect conditions and I am pleased to say that I will, no doubt, purchase again.
Francesco Baracca
EM, Italy
2012-02-16
It was a pleasure dealing with the kind Sirs at Historical Emporium. The delivery was fast, and came in a nice package. The items were in perfect conditions and I am pleased to say that I will, no doubt, purchase again.
Greg Weaver
OH, United States
2012-02-16
Product was exactly what I was looking for. Reasonable price, good product, fast shipping, and notifications by their customer service will bring me back again. Thank you!

United States
2012-02-17
This is an awesome shirt. Well made and looks great with a vest.
Marilyn
United States
2012-02-17
I have worn it for several occasions...large cameo at the collar, and pearls wrapped 3 times cascading down, topped with a vest to show off he puff sleeves.
Mike Redshaw
NO, United States
2012-02-17
Coat arrived across the Atlantic in good time (with the other items ordered) - our VAT tax hit a bit hard but hey-ho who cares! The coat is thinner than I expected but nicely cut. However 2 of the velvet buttons split when I first buttoned it up and I haven't got them back together yet. Not a big issue but they are a bit.... well, cheap and nasty to be honest.
Mark Henderson
TN, United States
2012-02-17
I wore this coat to a concert held an an Historic home here in Memphis last week. It was a hit (along with my handlebar mustache) . The construction is solid and it hangs well. I will need to take up the sleeves a little but that is no problem, after all it is off the rack. I would give this a recomend . Thanks
Anthony Bridger
NE, United States
2012-02-17
This vest is of very fine quality. The adjustable back allows for any additional winter weight a man might put on in the winter months. The material is sturdy and should be suitable for working conditions, and the structure and stylish look of the vest make it ideal for wearing out as well.
Mark Henderson
TN, United States
2012-02-17
These are nice and sturdy. they fit well, are highly adjustable, and have beautiful metal hardware. Even though I wore them under a waistcoat, I felt well supported and they also look great.
Mark Henderson
TN, United States
2012-02-17
The buttons on this shirt got the most coments. I really like the sewn down pleating on the bib as it makes this shirt very fine finished. The fit is good and a little extra starch on the collar makes this cotton nice and stiff. Five Stars!!
Aaron Walsh
FL, United States
2012-02-17
Really nice quality for the price! Extremely impressed with the historical emporium!
Mark Henderson
TN, United States
2012-02-17
Even though this is a pre fab tie, it looks Awesome . Put a nice tie tac or long pin on it and it really shows off your creativity and style. It is versatile in the way you can leve it flat or puff it up a bit for that extra loft. Great comments are headed your way when you wear this beautiful tie.
Mark Henderson
TN, United States
2012-02-17
Combione this with a nice Puff tie and you have the look you need. The metal buttons are a very nice touch with this one. It coordinates well with the Highland coat.
Mark Henderson
TN, United States
2012-02-17
These fit perfectly after hemming them . The fabric is forgiving in the way it really moves with you. The textile blend is a little stretchy in a good way. It really feels good to wear these. I really like the high natural waist fit. Get the Black Y braces for the best combo.
Gilbert Sullivan
United States
2012-02-17
Great helmet for what it is! I've had a great deal of fun with it. For the price you can't go wrong. My friend and I both have one, and have found ourselves playing video games with them on. The helmet it self is well made, particular for costume attire. I have always found the Historical Emporium to be of great quality. I strongly recommend this item for its intrinsic value, and great fun!
Dave
UT, United States
2012-02-17
This is a totally killer coat. Forget period costumes. I've got to find more occasions where I can wear this. This should be every day wear for me. The coat material, workmanship, buttons, everything are of the highest quality. And no, Historical Emporium did not pay me to say that. I really am impressed. This is not a "costume" jacket. This is a high quality coat and worth every penny.
Oscar Chica
QU, Canada
2012-02-17
Everything is right with these trousers, except the fabric! The fabric is thin and too elastic, like the spandex-containing fabric used to make modern-day ladies pants!

United States
2012-02-17
well made with lovely rouching, but poor quality fabric that multi layered can still be seen through. Requires a petticoat or slip, but having great difficulty finding one of the proper length!
Ian drew
United States
2012-02-17
I am very please with the watch The services
Mr Ian drew
United States
2012-02-17
Great waist coat first class service
Dave Marlatt
MI, United States
2012-02-17
Excellent hat. Quality. Good photos showed the size and shape really well. I'd get another. Very Happy with it.
mark cash
AR, United States
2012-02-17
I was very pleased with my purchase of the vest, pants and coat and the shirt and cravat. all of the items were a perfect fit and i only needed to alter the lenght of the pants
Carey Hester
TN, United States
2012-02-17
Great product top quality fast shipping hard to find these in stores. I am glade you offer this service. Tyvm
steve markuson
NE, United States
2012-02-17
thank you for my recent purchase...the quality of service and product are superior...and stylish...shm
Carter
WA, United States
2012-02-17
This is a great coat generally. The chest is a bit loose, almost like you need a big chest or breasts to fill it out. My size is really a 36 and the smallest available is a 38, so maybe that is why the chest feels loose. Other than that, the cut is wonderful and the materials are good. It borders on a "costume" coat, but I think it can be an everyday coat, too.
Carter
WA, United States
2012-02-17
This is a wonderful vest. VERY well made. The wool is very nice, the buttons are nice, and the burgundy color is classy. I really like this vest, a lot!
Carter
WA, United States
2012-02-17
These are barely leather and are mostly plastic. Very cheap boots and not worth the price. I would return them but I tried to give them a chance and wore them for two days. I am sorry I bought them. Oh well. I really like this store and most of what I have ordered is quality. These boots are not quality.
Sandra Sanchez
NJ, United States
2012-02-17
I want to let you know that my order came in a timely manner. The boots fit perfectly and are very comfortable. Thanks for recommended on your website to order a half size bigger. They look great and the leather feels very nice.

United States
2012-02-17
I've been in the market for a good detachable collar for some while and I'm very pleased with this one. Occasionally, I have a bit of trouble keeping it buttoned in front; the collar tab on the Fairchilde shirt is a bit slippery, it seems. But overall, oustanding!
Miss Happ
NE, United States
2012-02-17
Love these blue specs for cloudy days. I can never go without any eye protection during the day and these are spec(pun intended)tacular! Wish I had more $$ to spend here-Love this stuff.
Ronald Burch
NY, United States
2012-02-17
Fits fine. Looks good. 5 stars so far. Can't gauge a reaction from the Civ War music group I play with until March 10.
Barbara Brugler
OH, United States
2012-02-17
This was a very nice vest. We loved the fabric. My husband does Abe Lincoln and it was just too short for someone who is 6'4" tall. The ones that come in tall were not the type he needs. We may keep trying. Thanks for the wonderful selection of quality goods.
Barbara Brugler
OH, United States
2012-02-17
This vest is an excellent choice. The fabric is great. My husband is 6'4" tall and it was just too short. He wants a double breasted vest so he may try one of the ones that comes in tall. Thanks for the great selection.
Maria D. McEuen
NE, United States
2012-02-17
I love these boots.
Laura Fritz
RI, United States
2012-02-17
the corset did not come with any lacing instructions and it doesn't fit properly. it is too wide at the top and cannot be tightened with the laces.
Baron Von Eisenhoden
TX, United States
2012-02-18
These were far too loose at the wrist. Aside from that, they're okay.
Baron Von Eisenhoden
TX, United States
2012-02-18
This is a cravat, and it looks good on me. That's about all I can say. Good for if you're looking for more of a steampunk type cravat.
Baron Von Eisenhoden
TX, United States
2012-02-18
These are much better than the white ones. Opaque and snug at the wrist. Pretty cheap too if you don't want to spring for leather ones.
Baron Von Eisenhoden
TX, United States
2012-02-18
A bit too large and bulbous on the index finger and thumb, and I would like it if the cuff had a snap or button to keep it from flopping about, but otherwise nice leather. They will look awesome once I add a snap to tighten up the cuff.
Sarah Thompson
MA, United States
2012-02-18
This was far superior to the pic on the site. It has a nice weight, clicks open smoothly, and just feels like a wonderful piece. Thanks!!
Colin
ON, Canada
2012-02-18
Good quality, well priced, looks great
Alexa G
MD, United States
2012-02-18
My 14-year son old wore the Drake vest to a school dance so he could look a little more polished than a shirt-and-tie. He really liked how he looked, and of course, as his mother, I cried.
Pat Ledford
TN, United States
2012-02-18
I received my 1900s bathing suit in 2 days and was amazed at the speed my order was processed! The construction and material is very good quality. I would have liked to have the sleeve bands a little larger as they are really tight. I bought a size 2X based on the measurements on your size chart. I am between a size 14 and 16. I like it so much that I decided to keep it, open the sleeve band seam and insert a short piece of elastic to allow expansion. A size 3X would probably have been perfect for my size but you were sold out! I do hope you re-stock soon! I would rather return and go to 3X than do alterations. I would recommend this outfit to anyone looking for a quality costume at a reasonable price!

United States
2012-02-18
I was not impressed with the fact that I had clearly ordered a size small, and when I received my order I was swimming in it and since the size is not labeled on the dress I had to email and ask what the waist should measure if it were a small. Come to find out the reason it was sooo huge was because they sent me either a large or an extra large (I'm not quite sure because according to the size chart the waist for a large is 30 in and 32in for an XL, mine measured 31in). This would have been fine if I could have simply exchanged it, but when I tried to do that they said they no longer have any size smalls and aren't getting anymore in. Luckily I was able to track down this same dress on a different site in the CORRECT size and for a few bucks cheaper :)
Bekky P.
NY, United States
2012-02-18
A stunning timepiece - very impressed with the quality for the price! Was purchased as a gift and the recipient raved about the design as well.
Vanessa
PA, United States
2012-02-18
My husband got this skirt for me for our anniversary. It is so very beautiful. I would highly recommend this. A bit more complicated than the average skirt to put on, but more than worth the effort.
Bj?rn Nilsson
SK, Sweden
2012-02-18
I love it. Works like a charm, little sag after each day before rewinding though but nothing much. It's also smaller then I imagined but no big deal. I carried it with me to work for two days and it worked very well. The pin on the chain worked very well on my sweatpants and I got a lot of nice compliments. Has to be rewound every day but you just twist the top so that's easy. If you like pocket-watches then I do recommend it. It's also more stylish then the gold one. More "Classy" less "Bling" over it.
Jason Heuerman
IL, United States
2012-02-17
quality made and a really nice touch for a western outfit
Daniel Eskeli
MI, United States
2012-02-18
I ordered these trousers and they were shipped to me in a very timely fashion. The price was very good in my opinion for the quality of authentic period wear. I was impressed with the quality and color. I did that one of the suspender buttons was a little off in spacing when compared to the proportion of the other side but it's not really a big deal to me. I would definitely recommend these trousers to a friend.
Terry J
NB, Canada
2012-02-19
Good quality, authentic appearing products. Shipping time was very good.
Pyol T
IL, United States
2012-02-19
I love the site! When I got married all the groomsmen had to get their vests from here! My only complaint is that the derby I bought wasn't available in my size so I had to get one that is bigger than I my head is. If I wear a ponytail I can stick goggles on it but other wise the hat will slouch forward over my eyes. So I just wish there was some the men's gear in a women's sizes. I like the women's look but it is nice to 1800's cross dress for that more capable look while maintaining the refined look.
Trask P
VA, United States
2012-02-19
I have recomended it to several co-workers, friends, family etc. and will continue to do so.
Norman S
GA, United States
2012-02-19
Robert F
MD, United States
2012-02-19
unique item (men's herringbone chesterfield overcoat), quality construction, great price! Couldn't be happier.
Rosemarie S
CA, United States
2012-02-19
I have already recommended your web site to two friends from our reenactment club. Really love the blouse I got. Thanks
Bjorn N
-, Sweden
2012-02-19
I like old stuff. You make old stuff. Win-win.
Gerry K
MI, United States
2012-02-19
The service was excellent and the quality of the product is top notch!
David P
CA, United States
2012-02-19
Product shipment was very fast and the quality was much better than expected. A couple of items had to be exchanged and that was handled effortlessly.
Bill S
NJ, United States
2012-02-18
They have the period clothing that I needed for our business
Charles A
MA, United States
2012-02-18
Bradan B
CA, United States
2012-02-18
Love it, keep it up. Customer for life here!
Francis K
-, United States
2012-02-18
So very pleased with the Leather vest, the colour & quality are first class the buttons even had little paper wrappers to protect them; amazing! The service was excellent.
Bradley G
CA, United States
2012-02-18
All items I purchased were exactly as described on the website. Shipping was prompt. My orders were all trouble-free.
Alexa G
MD, United States
2012-02-18
The only place I found vests in interestign fabrics and cuts. Received shipment much faster than I'd even hoped.
Colin P
ON, Canada
2012-02-18
I found the site easy to navigate, the products were economically priced unlike other sites that offer poor quality products and high prices
Sarah T
MD, United States
2012-02-18
My boyfriend was so pleased with my gift purchase for him that he has now made some of his own. So you got two satisfied customers from one transaction. We will definitely shop here regularly!
David M
NY, United States
2012-02-18
The selection of unusual and historically accurate clothes is fantastic. These are not flimsy, ?costumy? clothes but sturdy, well-made garments. I am really glad I found them.
Frances Z
PA, United States
2012-02-18
Mike K
CO, United States
2012-02-18
Glynn W
-, United States
2012-02-18
would be useful to know in advance the cost of import duty. It is far more expensive than I thought.
Tony E
CA, United States
2012-02-18
Maria M
NM, United States
2012-02-18
I will recommend The Emporium to all the people I know that are into steampunk.
Kalaura H
CA, United States
2012-02-18
Allie-kazumi B
CA, United States
2012-02-18
Watch looks great and works great too. I would recommend including a piece of paper with instructions on how to open the cover. It took me a few minutes to figure it out.
Ryan G
-, United States
2012-02-18
very happy with the service i got from Historical emporium
Francis A
AB, Canada
2012-02-18
I felt the shirt to be underwhelming. The collar, the main reason I purchased the shirt was not stiff, nor was it prominent to me when I wore the shirt. Moreover, white (the colour of shirt), was not available.
Richard S
WY, United States
2012-02-18
Rodney K
TN, United States
2012-02-18
Very quick service, excellent products - will order from the Emporium again - I have their site bookmarked!
Jessica M
TN, United States
2012-02-17
Mervyn B
QL, Australia
2012-02-17
Exelent service promt delivery great quality of product ,your firm is great to do bussines with and would recomend it to anyone thank you will be sending another order in for rifle scabbord very soon Mervyn Australia
Ronald B
NY, United States
2012-02-17
Product arrived in a timely manner; fits well; looks good.
Lauren W
AZ, United States
2012-02-17
Really pleased with watch.
Christopher C
KS, United States
2012-02-17
ABSOLUTELY! Already have, actually, and I intend to buy more when I am able!
Sherman P
TX, United States
2012-02-17
Juliet K
France
2012-02-17
Very good quality, unfortunately the blouse is a little too big but I think I lost some weight so it's not your fault. A little bit expensive.
Donald D
NY, United States
2012-02-17
Selection and products were terrific. The prices are very fair. I ordered a vest and a shirt ..They came separately, which is fine.. When I called three days after the first delivery to ask when the second one was coming I was told that I was informed in my second email. I said there was no second email and that is why I was calling.. She insisted there was and was pretty snotty.. She then said she would send it again. Poor attitude..By the way, she didn't send it..
William P
ID, United States
2012-02-17
I'm extreamly pleased with the professionalism you have displayed. The items I ordered, (4 shirts) were exactly what I expected. Morever, the size fit perfectly. (3xl).
Cade A
UT, United States
2012-02-17
Love the Clothing, Service, And all elements affected By Historical Emporium. Obviously, It is difficult to judge size and personal fitting to clothing offered on the internet, But with Historical Emporium, I feel safer based on their sizing guides, customer service, and policies. I would prefer more physical locations around the US, clothing sizes for specific products (I.E. I wear small vests, there are some I would like to order, but they only come in Medium and up), and more products if possible. I understand that some of these things might not be controlled by Historical Emporium, but its worth a shot stating it. ;) Reguardless, Historical Emporium is my one and only stop for all western clothing and I will be ordering from here for many many years to come.
Elizabeth R
SC, United States
2012-02-17
good quality on US made clothing, had to resew all buttons on the made in China shirt.
Claus A
BC, Canada
2012-02-17
Please load up better Photos. The color of the boots is not very accurate. I like my boots a lot but there were not what I expected, color wise. I also know that a lot of my friends would order shoes form your store if there would be a possibility to make sure that they are the right size. Let's face it: Shoe sizes vary a lot. Why don't you offer either a fax where people can send the contour of their feet on a piece of paper and your friendly team picks the right size or you offer to do the same per e-mail? I old method that still works very well in the shoe mail order business ;o) I am positive it would probably let your shoe sales go through the roof. ;o). Have a great day, Thorsten
Dan T
AZ, United States
2012-02-17
fast shipping and excellent product...thanks historical emporium!
William S
OK, United States
2012-02-17
good products at a fair price i wil buy some more stuffl
Michael B
CA, United States
2012-02-17
Merchandise was as advertised and shipped quickly! A+
Jace D
OH, United States
2012-02-17
Steve T
NY, United States
2012-02-17
Stefan S
-, Germany
2012-02-17
Fast delivery and fantastic quality. Thank you!
Andre G
CA, United States
2012-02-17
Another great order! Thanks, Andre Groft
Mark H
TN, United States
2012-02-17
I am Always telling people to go to this site for great Period Clothing. I need some of your Business cards.
Mark M
IL, United States
2012-02-17
Super product-fast ship!!
Catherine S
ON, Canada
2012-02-17
Loved the quality and fast service.
Mark J
CO, United States
2012-02-17
great clothes, great fit for both my wife and I!
Paul D
IL, United States
2012-02-17
Everything I've gotten from you guys have been great!
John P
NM, United States
2012-02-17
Good Job.
Blaine N
WY, United States
2012-02-17
Excellent quality, and color.
Andrew C
ON, Canada
2012-02-17
Dana W
LA, United States
2012-02-17
Darell F
TX, United States
2012-02-17
I am very pleased with the high quality and authenticity of the products. I have already recommended the my friends to shop at the Historical Emporium.
Donald A
PA, United States
2012-02-16
Merchendise was great, wonderful selection. Better prices and selection than other sites. Even in the midst of the Christmas rush, shipping was quick.
Marie R
DE, United States
2012-02-15
enjoyed working with you... and we are expanding our museum and will be dealing with you more this spring/summer.
Alexander U
CA, United States
2012-02-15
Service over the phone was courteous and attentive. Delivery was very quick. Thanks so much! Will purchase again in the future.
Tony B
-, United States
2012-02-14
Service was very good indeed and the quality of the item was very good also, the only bad point was the postal costs and import duty. These are prohibitively high and would stop me shopping here again - sorry
Craig P
VA, United States
2012-02-14
Your staff does a great job in checking the inventory and describing the products, I want to thank the young lady that helped me with my orders.
Brian F
NY, United States
2012-02-13
Although I ended up returning most of what I ordered, I was satisfied. Because it was an online order, I had no way of knowing how things would fit or what they would look like on me. Once I tried everything on it was clear that I needed either tailoring or different sizes.
David G
MT, United States
2012-02-13
i love to be classy, for i am the duke of elsington. reginald thomas buxley the 3rd,

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service