Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2012-03-18

chet carman
United States
2012-03-12
Becky Grate
OH, United States
2012-03-12
I love the dress I ordered. It fits perfect and its beautiful....It arrived soon and I am so happy with everything about the dress. Will for order from your company again.....
J. Michael Sheldon
PE, United States
2012-03-12
Really wanted a good, durable black work vest. Based on other similar vests I purchased from the Emporium, I figured this would be a good bet. It was. The vest is a good, true black consistent color and the construction tells me it's going to last for a long long time. You may have to take in the bottom a little bit since it [like the others] is a straight cut, but even without alteration, it's still a well-made vest and worth the price. Unfortunately, none of the vests I've purchased thus far from the Emporium come with extra buttons in case you lose one. That's the only drawback. Enjoy!
Faye Chan
VI, Australia
2012-03-13
It goes well with my tailored work trousers, adds a touch of elegance to utilitarian corporate attire.
Faye Chan
VI, Australia
2012-03-13
Love the good quality cotton fabric and trimmings! I can never have too many long black skirts! Great for the winter with a short or long coat, or on hot summer nights with my black shroud top & silk camisole when I want to express my inner Goth ...
Faye Chan
VI, Australia
2012-03-13
It goes with the natural classic cotton camisole which I bought several months ago, to make a nice feminine summer outfit. I love the way the bottom folds swish around me as I walk.
Faye Chan
VI, Australia
2012-03-13
I wear them as culottes! The best bits are at the bottom, all that gorgeous lace trimming.
Cole
United States
2012-03-13
This was an excellent purchase, the goggles are both stylish and highly functional. Lenses do not limit vision to the sides of your head, and fit very comfortably. Delivery was timely and easy to track. An excellent purchase.

United States
2012-03-13
I would recomened this product to anyone who is looking to look smart and stylish for a night on the town.With a little practice one could tie this item easily.
J Pascoe
MI, France
2012-03-14
very happy with the hat thxs. But shipping was over priced by about 20%
J Pascoe
MI, France
2012-03-14
The monocle is great a little on the large side but with a little pratice fits and stays fine. 0 starts for the cost of shipping to Europe $ 30.00 to ship a monocle to Europe ... you do the maths... shipping costs to Europe need to drop buy at least 50% or more or the Emporium which is a grate ship dont get me wrong will price its self out of the market in Europe buy having over priced shipping costs.

MB, Canada
2012-03-16
I bought this as a valentines gift for my boyfriend ,he had wanted a gun to go with his costume for sometime. I was a little worried it would look cheesey or cheap and not like it did on the website,But that couldnt be further from the truth.I was totally pleased with the product it looks even better than the picture and my boyfriend loved it and now has it on display in his office. the express delivery to canada was pretty pricey but it got here extreamly fast so I cant really complain.I would deffinatly use this site again :)
Doug kindred
MO, United States
2012-03-16
great vest great sevice evs was a very helpful nice person look forward to doing buisness with you again!!
Frank Frey
FL, United States
2012-03-16
I wore this last Saturday to one of our Tampa Bay steampunk Society's events and got a lot of compliments on it. It is very comfortable to wear and it fits well. Very satisfied.
Frank Frey
FL, United States
2012-03-16
Very comfortable and cool. Just the thing for these warm Florida summers. However, sleeve garters are a must.
TONIE ROBINSON
CO, United States
2012-03-16
I'M SO HAPPY ABOUT MY WATCH. I LOVE IT AND SO DOES EVERYONE ELSE, BUT THEY ARE NOT GETTING IT. I HAVE BEEN PRAYING FOR AN ANTIQUE WATCH AND DID NOT KNOW WERE TO GET ONE. I REMEMBER ONEDAY ASKING GOD SHOW ME WERE I CAN GET A PENDANT WATCH THAT LOOKS ANTIQUE. SO THE THOUGHT CAN INTO MY MIND TO INPUT LADIES ANTIQUE PENDANT WATCH ON THE COMPUTER AND GUESS WHAT THE WATCH CAME UP. I'M SO HAPPY AND WILL BE BUYING MORE FROM YOUR SITE. THANK YOU, THANK YOU SO MUCH. TONIE
CDM
CA, United States
2012-03-16
Second pair... the first lasted about 4 years of near constant wear, being switched with a taupe pair of the same design. They always get complemented and admired. They're better looking and more comfortable than jeans. They wash and dry beautifully. Follow the directions for sizing and they'll fit perfectly. You'll probably want them hemmed to your preferred length, and you'll want to buy a pair of braces (if you don't already own some) to keep them at the correct height; the buttons to attach your braces are already there. Whether worn with a plain shirt every day, or with a vest and coat for an evening out, you'll always look dapper and just a notch above the crowd.

United States
2012-03-16
Sarah
MO, United States
2012-03-16
I am using this vest in my groom's outfit for an historical wedding this summer. The color exactly matches other items purchased elsewhere, for which I am thankful. I would give it five stars if not for the rather high cost of shipping, and returning for sizing trouble; spending so much to ship such a light items brings the overall experience down. Especially as I am buying the outfit piece by piece simply because of the cost.
Lothar Brandt
New Zealand
2012-03-17
Outstanding as per usual. I have purchased a variety of vests from HISTORICAL EMPORIUM and have been totally satisfied with the complete process of reviewing the products online, purchasing and receiving on a timely basis my order in excellent condition. My students and colleagues alike complement my taste and material of the vests including the TAHOE JACQUARD VEST [001916] which I wear with pride and delight.
Jeff W
VI, Australia
2012-03-17
Beautiful design - Exactly what I needed to complete my outfit.
Jeff W
VI, Australia
2012-03-17
This walking stick is of a very high quality. A must if you are looking for an accessory to set off your historical outfit.
Christine Ford
CT, United States
2012-03-17
Exceptionally pleased with the quality of the merchandise and the speed of delivery!
Sarah-Helen Snow
NE, United States
2012-03-17
I bought this item as a friend of mine had made me a lovely pin with ribbons attached to it in the style worn by victorian ladies around the Civil War times. Attached to this pin are several ribbons and the point of this contraption was for ladies to have at hand their glasses, scissors or timepieces (whatever they might need), readily accessible if they didn't have pockets. I portray a lady from our town's history who in 1868 organised 172 ladies to vote in the presidential elections of that year - 52 years BEFORE women get the vote here in USA!!!!! I will attending a poetry tea next month, and so I was looking for something suitable to attach to my pin. I was delighted to find this monocle & will actual use it when I read my poem. On behalf of Portia Gage, I Sarah Snow, thank you.
Ned Sonntag
MA, United States
2012-03-17
I had ordered the Brisbane after ordering the Classic Canvas Wheat, and now the Chadwick seems to complete a set~ to steampunk-up any of my vast collection of thriftshop zootsuits... these vests're not weird in any way, lending a whimsical depth that projects a subliminal air of authority. The Chadwick being dark is already beginning to show cat-hair coverage, however having laundered the Wheat, I'm confident of the washability of the Chadwick. I'd be tempted to order the Chadwick trousers if didn't already have enough trousers for a small army...
Susan Berrend
UT, United States
2012-03-17
This is an attractive and very sturdily made monocle! It is much too big for comfort during a play for most actors' eyes.
Time Watchers
United States
2012-03-17
We love this pocket watch! It looks great on line but you never know about the quality until you hold it in your hands...This watch is truly elegant and just what we had hoped to find. My 15 year old son had wanted "a nice timepiece" and i have to tell you, it is exactly what we hoped to give our son for his birthday! He is a guy who does not really place value on material things but this is a treasure that he adores!!! Thank you for for a fabulous product!
John
CA, United States
2012-03-17
Great hat for the price! It works for me and would recommend it to you too.

United States
2012-03-17
A re-enactor
United States
2012-03-17
The shoes look great, are extremely comfortable and true to size. Depending ion the shoe make/style I can take a 10 or a 10.5; I ordered the 10 and they were perfect.

United States
2012-03-17
Being 6'8", it's hard to find a coat that is long enough for my taste. This one is perfect.
Linda Gandy
AL, United States
2012-03-17
I was looking for a shawl to wear over a stylish dress to a Western, cowboy-Cowgirl wedding . I found this website and fell in love on line. When I received my purchase, I had to immediately try on my finds and was completely amazed. It not only felt sensual, but was just what I had in mind. A sexy look to a modern style, cowgirl boots and all. The Emporium worked with me and made sure I was completely satisfied. Which, of course I was. Would definitely recommend this site.
Linda Gandy
AL, United States
2012-03-17
What a find. Just exactly what I saw on line, was what I received. Love this website. You will be amazed!
Greg Grizzell
OH, United States
2012-03-12
I am very happy with the western gun belt and holster. My colt fits very well in the holster and it's comfortable to wear.

United States
2012-03-16
This got to me a lot faster than I expected it to, and my colt .45 fits perfectly in it. It looks great, and was much cheaper than anything I found at Cabelas or other popular stores. I'll definitely be buying more from this site.

United States
2012-03-16

United States
2012-03-17
Cat A
NS, Australia
2012-03-18
Robert L
HI, United States
2012-03-18
Johannes H
NC, United States
2012-03-18
I loved my first purchase, the 002989W PLAIN BROWN Leather Western Holster and Belt (.45 cal). Unfortunately, it wasn't the right holster belt for me, but that wasn't Western Emporium's fault, it was entirely mine. I had needed a cowboy Fast Draw Association (CFDA) gunbelt rig, but the Western Emporium's holster rig was of the drop-loop variety, which actually isn't sanctioned for CFDA competition use. I can and will use your holster rig for other purposes, but just not for CFDA's. Again, I love your 002989W PLAIN BROWN Leather Western Holster and Belt (.45 cal). I loved the looks, its quality, the craftsmanship, its details, and the price was very reasonable, much lower than many of the western holsters that I've seen locally or online. A key point: the drop-loop holster, as I understand it, isn't an authentic period gunbelt holster rig (i.e., used between 1873 and 1899 or so). The drop-loop (again, only as I understand it) was invented around 1920 for Hollywood Western film, and therefore not an authentic period gunbelt holster rig. Regardless, I love your 002989W PLAIN BROWN Leather Western Holster and Belt (.45 cal), and I have every intention of continuing to use it...other than for CFDA functions. One final comment, the other Western items that you sell also looks great, especially the apparel and accessories, and their prices seem very reasonable, plus the looks appear authentic (but I'm not an expert); however, they do look close enough to actually be used in Old West reenactment events or for Old West play or stage productions.
Judith S
GE, Netherlands
2012-03-18
I'm very pleased with the bootsd I ordered, they were photographed well, from different angles, so I had a good idea of what they would look like in real. They arrivd soon.
Fred C
NJ, United States
2012-03-18
great service quick delivery great website a lot of information
Linda R
OK, United States
2012-03-18
Excellent quality boot, fits very well. Great service and e-mail response. Highly recommend. Thanks very much.
Jon P
MA, United States
2012-03-17
Isabelle C
-, Switzerland
2012-03-17
Good price, easy to buy and there are not many shops with the same items.
Rodney M
OH, United States
2012-03-17
Christopher T
GA, United States
2012-03-17
John C
CA, United States
2012-03-17
I was really impressed with the speedy delivery and follow through on my order. Great quality stuff, too. I'm hooked. Thanks for providing a great service!
William G
CA, United States
2012-03-17
Rachael S
FL, United States
2012-03-17
I was looking for a high-quality holster that wouldn't break the bank. The Emporium presented the best product that met both of my specifications.
John K
CA, United States
2012-03-17
Thank you for being for helpful
Daniel F
CA, United States
2012-03-17
Jessica E
UT, United States
2012-03-17
It came sooner than I expected and was very good quality.
Simon F
BC, United States
2012-03-17
Excellent service - great product. Many thanks. Simon Richard Farrow
Monty C
WA, United States
2012-03-17
Karl W
PA, United States
2012-03-17
Ken H
NC, United States
2012-03-17
Susan R
FL, United States
2012-03-17
Nice quality website and product. Nicely packaged also. We appreciate all those nicer touches.
Shelby N
MI, United States
2012-03-17
Linus N
Sweden
2012-03-17
Sarah-helen S
NJ, United States
2012-03-17
Great transaction all around. Easy to use website, rapid shipping. Can't fault a thing.
Ruth E
CA, United States
2012-03-17
Thank you for being there for me. I now know where I can order itums and know I will get them fast . And that that will be great.
Bridgette S
WV, United States
2012-03-17
These are pretty sweet mustaches! I wear mine like a boss!
Stian C
Norway
2012-03-17
Shopping here was a very pleasant experience! And fast shipping, even to Europe (Norway).
Robert B
MI, United States
2012-03-17
Daniel P
France
2012-03-17
disappointed not to know before ordering that an item is not available;
Larry J
OR, United States
2012-03-17
EXCELLENT AND PROMPT SERVICE. I WAS VERY IMPRESS WITH THE QUALITY OF EVERYTHING I ORDERED. I WILL DEFINETLY BE ORDERING MORE ITEMS. THANKS LARRY
Aaron Y
CA, United States
2012-03-17
the box it came in was damaged but the product was fine and not damaged
Laura T
CA, United States
2012-03-17
Great quality and rapid shipping
Heather C
CO, United States
2012-03-17
Ronald T
AZ, United States
2012-03-17
very pleased with your work
Gregory H
AR, United States
2012-03-17
Called and asked if the sizes were true or ran large or small. Was told to measure because they couldn't say. Am returning both coats because they were too small.
Tonie R
CO, United States
2012-03-17
MY PURCHASE WAS THE BEST
Surjit G
CA, United States
2012-03-17
Fair price, appeared to ship from San Jose - I'm in San Francisco.
Andre W
PA, United States
2012-03-17
Excellent information on your website. Fast shipment after I placed my order for pants and suspenders. My only problem (the reason I gave 9 instead of 10) is the same as prior complaints by other people: suspenders are too long! I was able to add a hole and trim the excess strap. This seems to be a recurring issue and needs to be fixed.
Lillie O
LA, United States
2012-03-17
Kyra-ann S
AB, Canada
2012-03-17
Great products, but I had problems with UPS.
Gypsey T
SC, United States
2012-03-17
The skirt was very long. I had to take it in to have it shortened by 5 inches. The blouse stitching around the collar frayed the first time I washed it. I am having it restitched. other than that it's fine.
Chester R
AZ, United States
2012-03-17
Kylie B
MB, Canada
2012-03-16
I have already recommended this site to friends
Julian P
NO, France
2012-03-14
shipping costs to high for shipping to Europe
Wesley K
AK, United States
2012-03-14
For the last month I have been putting together a costume for this years comi-con convention in Seattle and found that the costumes parts I was looking so desperately for where here on this site. Thank you for your quick service and excellent products I can't wait to model them in Seattle!
Ubense P
CA, United States
2012-03-13
Jeannie W
WA, United States
2012-03-13
I was mis-shipped an item. Customer service was quick and helpful and made everything right.
Richard W
OR, United States
2012-03-13
I know I only paid $20, and I'm not sure what I expected for that price... I did expect that it would keep time, not have the sweep hand peter out after two or three revolutions. Looks interesting.
Les G
IN, United States
2012-03-13
Chad G
PA, United States
2012-03-13
Historical Emporium is a unique resource on the web. The site offers such a large variety of apparel on a user-friendly site.
John O
-, United States
2012-03-13
The product is first class, and the sales service is excellent too.
Danette C
MO, United States
2012-03-13
Vernon G
AL, United States
2012-03-13
Nehama S
NY, United States
2012-03-13
If you've got the money to spend, Historical Emporium has got the goods. (and some of their stuff isn't so expensive either) They have the real deal, and if you want to look authentic they're the ones to shop at. Plus, the clothing really is quite beautiful and looks amazing!
Colleen M
ON, Canada
2012-03-13
Completely satisfied and i will shop here again.
Wesley B
AB, Canada
2012-03-13
Danaee H
QL, Australia
2012-03-12
Michael S
PA, United States
2012-03-12
My only complaint is that none of the vest I've purchased thus far come with any extra buttons in case one gets lost ... and some of the vests have very unique buttons so that if I should lose one, I'm going to have to replace them all.
Cole B
CO, United States
2012-03-12
Dan P
MA, United States
2012-03-12
My favorite feature: 1) Pre-built outfits with individual items listed (and removable) My biggest concern is: 1) Out of stock items with no etas for availability
Lyle C
AZ, United States
2012-03-12
Greg G
OH, United States
2012-03-12
Good service and quality products.
Louis B
MD, United States
2012-03-12
Service was excellent; friendly and efficient and I received my item quite rapidly. It was high quality and as advertised. (I would suggest, however, you have your manufacturer not sew lables into seams; makes them difficult to efficiently remove (after I get the shirt, I know the size--don't really need the sewn-in tag anymore).
Chloe P
NJ, United States
2012-03-12
Arthur B
NS, Australia
2012-03-12
very pleased with my purchase and would buy again and also recommend to friends should they be interested.
Lynn W
MI, United States
2012-03-12
Alex T
WA, Australia
2012-03-12
good prices, some excellent quality items (tailcoat), some lacking (all US made items), quick shipping
Gordon D
AP, United States
2012-03-12
Aaron S
MN, United States
2012-03-12
It had some neat looking materials.
Laura P
NY, United States
2012-03-12
Product exactly as described and sizing is accurate. Fast shipping. Great customer service!

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service