Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2012-03-25

Yarm Falters
IL, United States
2012-03-19
It's a splendid bit of cappery which I've purchased here. Fits with the perfect level of snugness. High quality leather, stitched together immaculately. I've not a single negative point to bring up regarding this cap.
Jacob T. Reilly
United States
2012-03-19
I searched and searched online for a dress boot to wear at my wedding this summer, until I found this shoe. The pictures on the website made it look like everything I had looked for. I ordered the boot and eagerly awaited its arrival. I was so disappointed, however, when they came that I immediately returned them. The pictures on the website are not at all true to the color, texture, and quality of the product's leather. If you want a better idea of what the boot looks like, check it out on the Stacy Adam's website. Even their pictures aren't perfectly accurate. This shoe could not be worn for anything other than a costume. The leather upper looks and feels like plastic; the shoe laces are also of a poor quality. I would not recommend this boot to anyone who is looking for real footwear.
jane carter
SO, United States
2012-03-19
it seemed like ages to receive this item down to English customs and excise but worth the wait as the tail coat is for my sons wedding. He drew what he wanted and it was spot on, i am glad that he will be wearing a jacket of quality and style thank you Gentlemans Emporium. you have made it possible for me to answer my sons wish.
Mike Maughan
AL, United States
2012-03-19
Great cap. Just what I wanted. Fast shipping.
snappy gentlman
United States
2012-03-19
We were very pleased with this purchase. Like the way they fit, and we ordered one size up, which fit perfectly. Do not try to "cram" yourself into these...just buy one size larger, cause they sit a little higher than modern pants, but are really good pants. They have the hooks for suspenders, which we may end up buying, but actually, by the time we put on the vest, coat, etc., you don't see them, and they fit nicely without rolling down, so it's up to you, suspenders are not necessary to keep these pants up, which is what I was worried about. They are quite long, and we will be getting them hemmed. The only way these could be better, is if they actually came pre-hemmed by length needed.
Nancy Bradley
PA, United States
2012-03-19
This watch is a quite lovely and feminine accessory for either a steampunk outfit or everyday wear. It has a delicate chain, and I love the detail on the cover with the sprocket cut-out. Although the watch is small, the numbers on the dial are easy to read. I am very happy with my first purchase from your store!

CA, United States
2012-03-19
The ribbon detailing is beautiful and it fits perfectly. Its a tiny bit low cut, which I don't mind, but some might!

United States
2012-03-19
Lovely and comfortable!!!
Michelle Sebastian
DC, United States
2012-03-19
I bought this tailcoat for my son and husband as we are part of an English Country dance group for a local museum. The coat is of excellent quality; the sizing was spot on - no alterations will be needed. The coats were delivered extremely quickly and packed well - out of the box and on the backs with no fuss! I am extremely pleased with my purchase and highly recommend both the tailcoat and Historical Emporium for its service.
Michelle Sebastian
DC, United States
2012-03-19
Excellent quality, beautiful material. Fits true to sizing. A great addition to my son's regency outfit.
Michelle Sebastian
DC, United States
2012-03-19
Excellent quality, beautiful material. Fits true to sizing. A great addition to my husband's regency outfit.
Michelle Sebastian
DC, United States
2012-03-19
Excellent quality, beautiful material. I do wish it was a bit longer so as to be more era appropriate, but otherwise, a great addition to my son's regency outfit.
Michelle Sebastian
DC, United States
2012-03-19
Excellent quality, beautiful material. I do wish it was a bit longer so as to be more era appropriate, but otherwise, a great addition to my husband's regency outfit.
Michelle Sebastian
DC, United States
2012-03-19
Excellent quality, beautiful material. I do wish it was a bit longer so as to be more era appropriate, but otherwise, a great addition to my son's regency outfit.
Richard Archuleta
CO, United States
2012-03-19
The belt fits and it looks great thanks ' The price was right.
s jakes
United States
2012-03-20
ace product and fast delivery not cheep but worth that little extra
Jack
KY, United States
2012-03-24
The piece de resistance of my ensemble incorporated to play my part as the eccentric--if a bit foppish--Uncle at my neice's wedding this summer. Sublime.
Bill Thurston
VT, United States
2012-03-24
First class operation. Great web site. Products are as described. Customer service is very helpful and customer oriented. Shipment and email correspondence is very timely. Lastly the product is perfect.

United States
2012-03-24
Fragile and not for daily wear, but just the style I was seeking and great for special occasions. Thank you!
Lynne Wainfan
CA, United States
2012-03-24
I got this after I transitioned from crutches to a cane. It was very stylish and the compass went with the firm I own, Compass Alliance. I lvoe the looks of the stick, the size, and the compass but the tip is very slippery. It has a small rubber collar on it, which bends after a little while, and the metal brad that holds the tip on slips on most commercial flooring. I've tried a pool cue tip but no luck. I still like the stick, but not for what I originally purchased it for.
Stacy Allen
CA, United States
2012-03-24
I love the skirt, it is very well made and looks better than I had even hoped for. I would like to know what to do in order to return one of the skirts, I was rushed for time so I bought both sizes to make sure I had one that fits, and now I need to return the one that didn't fit. I am not sure if I should go to the post office or UPS. Thank you for your time and I look forward to shopping with you in the future. Stacy
Daisy Braswell
TX, United States
2012-03-24
These were a birthday gift for my 14 year old. She loves them and had them on this morning when I spoke with her. I have enjoyed the list of your items and have shared this with others.
Thom Carling
CT, United States
2012-03-24
What a terrific shirt! I'm so glad I've started buying your haberdashery. Even my wife agrees! I'd be buying now, but--doctor's orders--I'm slimming down. Once my weight's where it should be, I'll be back for more shirts; pants and coats, too. Keep up your great work! Thanks!

United States
2012-03-24
A great watch, elegant, and exquisite frame

United States
2012-03-24
great fabric, elegant, stylish and yet simple! i'd like a ton of those.
Roy W Phillips
CA, United States
2012-03-24
Nice shirt. Fits well, feels nice, looks good. Only negative is the way it comes out of the dryer. Although I watched the dryer closely and took the shirt out when it was still a little damp, I still had to iron it to make it look good.
Roy W Phillips
CA, United States
2012-03-24
Good quality, looks good, pin sets it off. Compliments the outfit.
Roy W Phillips
CA, United States
2012-03-24
Outstandng vest. Could not have asked for anything more!
Doctor Apothecarius
ME, United States
2012-03-24
Overall good quality, but the buttonholes are a little tight and needed to be pushed open a bit before buttons would work without fear of ripping them from the vest body.
Gordon Harris
BR, Canada
2012-03-24
I ordered this shirt as a first trial of the Historical Emporium's service. This first purchase took a while to arrive, but it was within the suggested length of time for delivery. It fits perfectly and I really like the colour. As a result of this first order, I have since ordered a much larger selection of items, and they arrived very quickly! I was somewhat taken aback, however to find that I had to pay duty on them. I understood that we have a free trade agreement with the U.S., but I did not realize that these items were generally made outside of that country and therefore were not subject to this agreement. In future, it would be nice if the source of manufacture of items could be shown in the online catalog to avoid unpleasant surprises. However, I will still buy from the site as the service is very good, and so are the products.

United States
2012-03-24
Since his unfortunate accident in the laboratory I have sorely missed Mr Finklesteens mustache. I was thrilled to find an appropriate replacement post haste. Golly good show Gentlemen's Emporium, you saved the day! Pip pip and cheerio! Sincerely, Mrs. Finklesteen

United States
2012-03-24
Gentlemens Emporium, I cannot express me gratitude in finding your shoppe on the interwebs. As an international jewel thief, it's imperative to have first rate disguises at the ready and who would suspect a woman as beautiful as Countess Von Drake to be disquised as a mysterious man in a mustache and bowler could possibly have the crown jewels hidden in his waistcoat? Yes, thanks to you, and your clever mustache, I will have champagne bubbles tickling my nose by the Riveria tonight! Wahhhhhh haaa haaa! Au revoir! Possibly written by the international jewel thief Villianna Ratsworth Aka: Countess Von Drake Aka: mysterious mustached man in bowler Aka: ???
M.O'Byrne
ON, Canada
2012-03-24
Product is excellent. Appears to be of superior quality. Service was excellent. Would highly recommend this company
C.A. Dugan
MI, United States
2012-03-24
I have been wanting a rather long-length coat for years now, only to be greatly disappointed at the lack of longer coats out in general retail. I also seem to have a bit of a thing for 19th century style, so that's what brought me to this site and this coat. Put in my purchase, and got it in right the next week. If you are planning on just wearing it alone (like I was), don't be put off on the sizing. I usually wear a size 44 coat, so I went for this coat in size 42, and the fit is fantastic. I am also a fan of the outer and inner pockets, and it is just an overall awesome coat.
Betty Brinkman
WA, United States
2012-03-24
The quality for the price was good. The sped of the delivery was excellent.
Jeri Hauff
AZ, United States
2012-03-24
Our handbell group is doing a concert, and the theme is a New Orleans-style funeral....starting out as a dirge and ending as a celebration. This umbrella and fan are perfect for the entry procession. I will be the envy of all the other "mourners".

United States
2012-03-24
Purchased for an upcoming steampunk themed wedding...bride loved it so, I gifted it to her.
Paul Andersen
NS, Australia
2012-03-24
Very nice maerial & well made - Would be better untied - (ie: withouththe metal fastener) as if your wearing an eposed coller you can see the fastenining
Paul Andersen
NS, Australia
2012-03-24
Good material well made - but would have been better without the press stud fastener - to allow fastening with your own choice of pin
Paul Andersen
NS, Australia
2012-03-24
Very nice material & Well made - Highly recommended
Paul Andersen
NS, Australia
2012-03-24
High Quality - Look great & Sticks well
Bill Poplovski
MA, United States
2012-03-24
I was extremely satisfied with the purchase of this item. It was purchased for my 90 yr. old mother-in-law who at night as I put her to bed, she would put on a shower cap to keep her hair from being mussed and I would sing "In your Easter Bonnet" to her. As Easter is approaching, I decided that I would give her a Easter Bonnet as a surprise gift.
gno
FL, United States
2012-03-24
cool piece, using it in "Titanic the Musical" i am the Major!
Markus R.
Germany
2012-03-23
Markus R.
Germany
2012-03-23

United States
2012-03-24

United States
2012-03-24
Great holster and belt. Fits my .45 Ruger Blackhawk great. Very well priced and the leather is top notch.

United States
2012-03-24
The Lamb leather vest (Buffalo Flats vest), is very light and thin. It is ideal for everyday wear summer & winter. I have not found a lapel leather vest for many years. I recomend this item to anyone. This vest is made by Scully. If you are looking for a heavey leather vest, I recomend contacting the Western Emporium. There are very very few western leather garment companies. Most of the leather is imported and not made in the USA. I highly recomend the Historical Emporium for all your historical needs !! I have not found any other to compare to the rich heritage of the Historical Emporium !! Rev. Dr. Wil1
Bennett T
WA, United States
2012-03-24
Fastest shipping I have ever seen.
Bart K
-, Belgium
2012-03-24
since you deliver the highest quality, i will always recommend you
Gwendolyn D
NH, United States
2012-03-24
Great stuff!
William K
PA, United States
2012-03-24
Selection and check out were quick and easy. Delivery was prompt and the quality of the product was more than satisfactory.
Aaron I
OH, United States
2012-03-24
I would recommend the emporium to anyone
Robert G
OR, United States
2012-03-24
Pleased with what I got.
Gregory B
KS, United States
2012-03-24
Excellent customer service and authentic, high-quality product line offered at reasonable prices. I'm currently waiting shipment of an item exchange due to incorrect size ordered.
Rich B
MA, United States
2012-03-24
I e-ordered Friday and the vest was on my doorstep Monday (my birthday). Great service.
Tony O
MT, United States
2012-03-24
already have recommended your store to three friends
James G
FL, United States
2012-03-23
Information on mounting the moustache to the face was not provided.
Kristin D
IL, United States
2012-03-22
You guys are wonderful! Quick, courteous service (even helping me out with a special situation) and wonderful products. I will definitely be ordering from you again!
Daryl F
CA, United States
2012-03-21
Douglas B
TN, United States
2012-03-21
Very good customer service. I had to make an exchange and it was easy to do and handled quickly.
Stephanie J
AZ, United States
2012-03-20
Great selection with not-too-shabby prices!
Gerald F
CA, United States
2012-03-25
good products ... good service
Douglas M
MD, United States
2012-03-25
Great hat! Everyone loves it!
Sheryl K
MI, United States
2012-03-25
The quality of the product is excellent! I received it in a timely fashion. I plan to make future purchases.
Anna R
MN, United States
2012-03-25
Diane D
NJ, United States
2012-03-25
I bought theseas a gifts. The jump ring was not attached to the keychain gizmo, the jump ring was skimpy and didn't hold the hourglass and the person I gave one of them to lost it immediately because it didn't hold. Not a good thing. Now I hesitate to give the other one . I am very unhappy.
Leslie R
MD, United States
2012-03-25
My friends would probably not appreciate the styles offered in your store.
Jon M
CA, United States
2012-03-25
Fast shipping, nice vest!
Richard S
AZ, United States
2012-03-25
authentic look of the old west gun belt, and the reasonable price. Was a pleasure doing buisness.
Robert S
FL, United States
2012-03-25
merchandise sent timely when it became available and information passed on when back ordered
Steve T
VI, Australia
2012-03-25
The service was more than efficient, we received our products within 10 days of ordering & they matched their description perfectly. We are very happy to recommend The Emporium to everyone.
Alexae V
CA, United States
2012-03-25
Even when my order is totally screwed up, you guys are on the ball with fixing problems. I really appreciate that when I call with size questions that your staff has the ability to go take measurements of the product for me. Also I've never had major shrinkage issues with your products like I have with some other historical garment sellers, quality assurance is appreciated. Thanks
Andrew G
WV, United States
2012-03-25
Order was easy, taken quickly and question about speed of delivery was well answered. Shirt was a little blowzy, but felt fine, buttons popped off vest at an alarming rate, over half needed to be reattached.
Robert A
DC, United States
2012-03-25
Matthew B
VA, United States
2012-03-25
Mike G
-, Luxembourg
2012-03-25
Very helpful and friendly customer service! Ordering, shipping and returning items has not been a problem at all. All went as smoothly as it could. Swift and helpful responses to every e-mail I sent. Great!
Gale W
WA, United States
2012-03-25
Quick delivery and delightful wares, as always!
Isaiah G
IN, United States
2012-03-25
Great products, fast delivery.
Nola Y
AZ, United States
2012-03-25
Nathanial T
RI, United States
2012-03-25
Paul A
NS, Australia
2012-03-25
Generally the look of the clothing is excellent - Advised sizing can be a worry I bought & large mwns swimsuit a while back & when I put it on I looked like a sausage & it was stretch material - Use of more natural fibres would be prefrereable - Overall though, quality,service, delivery are excellent
Rickey B
OR, United States
2012-03-25
Your selection you have is very good and the way it is displayed on line with the complete outfit to show how it would look.
Kathryn M
QL, Australia
2012-03-25
I have made a number of purchases through the Historical Emporium and satisfaction has always been the only result. The products are reliably made, authentic, incredibly well priced and the shipping standards are exceptiona.
David S
TN, United States
2012-03-25
The item I ordered turned out to be the wrong size. I have returned it to exchange for a different size. I will be in a better position to rate the item once I have the opportunity to wear the proper size.
Mare S
OR, United States
2012-03-25
Wonderful experience!
Richard F
TX, United States
2012-03-24
Perfect transaction in all respects.
Shawn C
MO, United States
2012-03-24
I would have placed a 10 but the vest I bought had issues. 2 of the buttons fell off when I pulled it out of the package and the bukle on the back of the vest is non-functional it appears to be broken. We sewed the buttons and put a safety pin in the buckle.
Gale C
MD, United States
2012-03-24
Norma C
NV, United States
2012-03-24
The Emporium was highly recommended by steampunk friends.
Chad D
MN, United States
2012-03-24
Relatively affordable prices on great old-timey apparel. I wish more old-timey stuff like you guys have available were in popular fashion, but alas, it's a niche fashion, but at least you guys make it easily available via the internet. Great merchandise, great service, good shipping.
Shel W
CA, United States
2012-03-24
Great idea successfully realized. Beautiful period clothing and accessories. Presenation on website is easily accessed. The item I purchased was beautifully made, accurately described, and reasonably priced. Bravo for an excellent overall shopping experience.
Mike O
ON, Canada
2012-03-24
Appears to be an excellent variety of vintage clothing, easy to use website. Service was excellent
Madelaine H
CA, United States
2012-03-24
I would very happily recommend your sight to my friends that do historical re-enactments.
Lois C
GA, United States
2012-03-24
I could not use the items ordered. It was not something that I could were in south Georgia, USA. I returned them to you on March 23, 2012. I tried to call about the return, left a message, no one called me back. Please refund my credit card for this amount. Thank you. Lois Corbett
Sharon G
TX, United States
2012-03-24
VERY PLEASED GREAT QUALITY
Jerry S
WA, United States
2012-03-24
Roy P
CA, United States
2012-03-24
Unable to acquire products locally and I ran out of time. I was needed the products in a hurry and ordered the products on a Thursday mid moring thinking I would not get delivery until Monday or Tuesday and I would really needed them for a Saturday AM event. To my surprise and delight the packaged arrived the very next day, Friday. Thank you for the fast service and fine quality products/
Robert A
NC, United States
2012-03-24
Fast friendly service, safe delivery, items as described.
Michelle S
DC, United States
2012-03-19
Ordering was easy; delivery was quick; packing was well done so products came out of the box in excellent, wearable condition. I am extremely pleased with my purchases. Thank you.
Kelley H
MD, United States
2012-03-19
I purchased vintage leather gaiters, which were in perfect condition. I just cleaned them with a little water and olive oil and they look brand-new.
Nancy B
PA, United States
2012-03-19
I love my pendant watch and will definitely return to your store!
Burkhard S
-, United States
2012-03-19
Suuuper fast delivery. WOW! Very good value for money!
Jacob R
TX, United States
2012-03-19
Disappointed in the quality of the products...the shipping/return process is not easy...when I asked for a refund on the exorbitant return shipping costs, the customer service I received was more than a little snarky...
Lesmarie V
FL, United States
2012-03-19
Timothy G
NH, United States
2012-03-19
Alexander B
AB, Canada
2012-03-19

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service