Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2012-04-15

christopher cato
United States
2012-04-09
i purchased 4 different colour faceted tie tacks and was pleased with them all,nice design and style,will look good on any necktie or cravat for that special occassion.a reasonable price also,i will sooner or later purchase the whole set,delivery was as usual very prompt.
Nick
Canada
2012-04-09
Good value for money - works well and keeps good time - about 30hours reserve when fully wound.

Australia
2012-04-10
I love these suspenders. Highly recommended. Paul.

WA, Australia
2012-04-10
I am very happy to recommend this shirt. Very high quality, and looks fantastic. Paul.

WA, Australia
2012-04-10
Gorgeous hat. Very high quality, and looks fantastic on. Paul.
Lazarus Arbordell
TX, United States
2012-04-14
These are a nice, practical, and very stylish steampunk alternative to spats or boots, and an exceptionally good value for the price. For the Approx. $25 all told that I spent on these, plus dress shoes I already own, I not only get the look and feel of $200 steampunk boots, I get it in as many variations as I have shoes to pair them with!
Ronald T. Curran
PE, United States
2012-04-14
I couldn't be more satisfied. The cashmere wool scarf was exactly what I was looking for. It arrived incredibly quickly and worked well with the beautiful Chesterfield Overcoat I had purchased a week or so before I ordered the scarf. It's depiction on the Historical Emporium page is exactly like the appearance of the scarf I received.
Ronald T. Curran
PE, United States
2012-04-14
Like everything else I have received from Historical Emporium so far, the quality of this burgundy vest as well as the fit couldn't be better. No complaints whatsoever.
Ronald T. Curran
PE, United States
2012-04-14
The only complaint I have here is that I had to return time and time again to order this overcoat. No sooner did it became available in my size, the coats available disappeared. Actually, this "inconvenience" was more a tribute to the coat's quality than any serious lapse on the part of Historical Emporium. I used the size clues on the page, and, when the coat arrived, it fit like it had been tailor-made. It is stunningly attractive, and the first time I wore it, I heard a compliment from a man behind me as I exited a parking lot! I would have had to pay at least twice or more for a comparable coat bought where I have generally purchased my suits. Before I buy locally in future, I'll check what I can find on Historical Emporium's website. The positive comments on this site couldn't be more authentic.
Ronald T. Curran
PE, United States
2012-04-14
I bought this coat because my wife and I are addicts where BBC TV series are concerned. We've fallen in love with the styles in the late 19th century. I fully expect someone to call me "Sherlock" one of these days. It will make me a walking anachronism in the best sense. Great fun. Great quality. How else can you begin an "acting career" in your own mind without this coat in your wardrobe?
Marney
TN, United States
2012-04-14
Beautiful fabric, beautiful quality.
GeorgeB
TX, United States
2012-04-14
Absolutely fabulous! Much better than I had expected. Definitely recommend to anyone wanting a classy walking stick.
Melissa Deufel
KS, United States
2012-04-14
The groomsmen in the wedding are wearing these suspenders and the fit is great. The service from Historical Emporium has been prompt and professional. So glad we finally found the right suspenders through them!
Beki st. Dizier
LA, United States
2012-04-14
The fan itself is beautiful but the functionality of it is lacking. It is very difficult to open & close. Both hands have to be used in order to accomplish both. I would have returned it had it not been so lovely. I rarely use it which is sad for me. So, in actuality, I have wasted my money. Beki St. Dizier
gary michael celima
PA, United States
2012-04-14
Nice heavy material, made well. But be careful they run a little small. I am usually between a small and a medium. I ordered a small and had to send it back and the medium just fit. I would say order a size up. BTW they credited my account immediately
Richard Mansfield
KE, United States
2012-04-14
If you want a really authentic common 19th century white shirt, this is it. Be aware that the sleeves are looser than modern shirts or a lot of the other shirts I've ordered from Gentleman's Emporium. The material itself is unique among any other shirt I've ever had, but seems to be very durable.
Richard Mansfield
KY, United States
2012-04-14
I only had this vest briefly because it was too small, and the larger size was not available, so I had to return it. But it seemed to be very good quality, and I liked the buttons better than the ones on the vest I replaced it with.
Richard Mansfield
KY, United States
2012-04-14
I've now bought four shirts from Gentleman's Emporium, and this is my very favorite. It's really a good looking shirt for any era. The black collar is quite unique and goes great with a black vest.
Richard Mansfield
KY, United States
2012-04-14
I wore this shirt to church on Easter Sunday with a vest and modern tie. Club collar shirts have such a great classic look. I have photos of ancestors wearing these kinds of shirts, so I was glad to join the club (pun intended). Note that the navy stripes are a very dark shade and almost look black in some lights. The stripes are also slightly wider than stripes on similar modern shirts, not that it mattered for my purposes.
John Salicco
WA, United States
2012-04-14
Reasonably priced and fast delivery. Received as described... no surprises - that's good! It is an attractive vest and will go great with my minstrel outfit. I will very likely order from you again.
John Salicco
WA, United States
2012-04-14
They were received as described. The mismatch pattern is funky, but since I am a minstrel performer, funky is good. Very fast delivery and you can't beat the price!

United States
2012-04-14
Fast delivery, great customer service
Richard Mansfield
KY, United States
2012-04-14
This vest goes with just about everything. It looks good buttoned or unbuttoned. Buttons are brass-colored, solid and hold fast. The canvas material looks nice, but is not meant to be dressy (although I've worn it for a more formal look). So far, with four shirts and two vests ordered so far from Gentleman's Emporium, I've found that the shirts run slightly large, but the vests run a bit small. Although I wear an extra large shirt, I had to get this vest in a 2X.
robert hancock
PA, United States
2012-04-14
i'm very pleased with the quality and look of the raven walking stick. exceeded my expectations, for the price, which is quite reasonable for such a fine looking, and well made product. service was great, shipped very quickly! a great purchase, i highly recommend it. when not in use, i have it hanging on my livingroom wall next to a picture of edger allen poe!
Richard Mansfield
KY, United States
2012-04-14
I bought this as a gift for my wife, and I was surprised to see that the back side of it was recessed--that it, it is not a full three-dimensional key on both sides. On the other hand, the heart that it as the top of the key makes it a nice gift to give to the one you love.
Jeffrey
United States
2012-04-14
It is quite comfortable and well made. However, more accurate measurements should be given, including the neck sizes. I purchased the s/m which was not "trim through the body" and the neck is about 4 inches to big which droops and looks awful.
William Sharp
NM, United States
2012-04-14
Although I will still keep this coat, I made a mistake of buying it, because it was not as good of quality as I previously thought it would be. And I did see another frock coat that was approximately 100 more dollars; perhaps I should have purchased that one. Oh well, buyer beware.
Reginald Regnar Rutherford IV
KE, United States
2012-04-14
A stupendous pair of gaiters, a great replacement for the expense spent in purchasing very expensive boots of your own. You can wear these with any kind of boot or shoe and it will do the job. The Swiss surplus origin means that every pair has seen action and, while may get your hands dirty putting them on or taking them off, will show that you're not an armchair general when it comes to exploring the world!
Reginald Regnar Rutherford IV
KE, United States
2012-04-14
It arrived quick and looks fantastic. I haven't worn it yet, I still need to acquire a suit that would look good with it, but listen to me. I'm considering getting a suit to match the scarf. That's how good this is! It's only a shame it's probably sold out now. More people deserve to wear these wonderful works of art.
Victoria McKinney
AR, United States
2012-04-14
Love the vest, originally bought for an interpretive camp but my son wears it all the time. Only complaint is that the buttons were a little loose and had to be reinforced and the buckle doesn't seem to be of the same quality as the rest of the piece. We will be ordering another one!
Victoria McKinney
AR, United States
2012-04-14
This is a work of art, beautifully tailored and I am impressed by how supple the material is, I thought it would be stiff and need to be washed several times. And the color is very rich. Highly recommend this item.
Laurel Dunayer
VA, United States
2012-04-14
this site is awesome. high quality products for a reasonable price and super fast shipping. I have never been disappointed with any product I have purchased. Glasses, parasols, and hats, all great. Thanks so much Historical Emporium for making my job easier.
Rivka M Nipper
WA, United States
2012-04-14
These got to me way before the expected shipping date, which was marvelous, because I needed them that weekend! Thank you for saving my costume with such a speedy delivery.
Randall Knauss
FL, United States
2012-04-14
The Caledonia vest The Historical Emporium sent me is an absolutely stunning representation of the era . These guys are GREAT !
Darrell C
CA, United States
2012-04-14
This vest fits really well and the fabric quality is somewhat light, yet beautiful. Caught a few eyes during a formal event. Order shipped really fast.
Darrell C
CA, United States
2012-04-14
I received this vest in due time for an upcoming wedding event. Rich-beautiful fabric. Received a few compliments on where I purchased it at.
Jennifer Irwin
NS, Australia
2012-04-14
Excellent service. Thank you
lise lange
CA, United States
2012-04-14
theatre is some of the most stressful work on the planet. when our ONE evangeline blouse did not come back from the cleaners in perfect shape, i panicked. i am in charge of wardrobe at our theatre and our stars must look perfect. when i called your company to get an IMMEDIATE back-up blouse, it seemed woefully impossible. but enter NOEL!!! our hero--the man who saved our show!!! he not only looked up the designers info so that i could make sure of ordering the same size, etc, he HAND WALKED my order out to blouse land in order for it to be shipped right away. what a guy! he was efficient, thoughtful, kind and UNDERSTANDING of my difficult situation. face it, blouses are everywhere--we could have gotten a second blouse from anyone. noel made it possible for us to have THE IDENTICAL blouse as back-up--keeping our designer, our actress, and no doubt, the world at large--oh so satisfied!!!! give him a raise PLEASE--employees like noel keep your business coming, and send him on some long wonderful cruise, a shopping spree--SOMETHING to show your appreciation. sincerely!!!!
Iris Davenport
TN, United States
2012-04-14
I purchased the parasol to use with a dress I made circa 1812 anniversary coming up in June. It goes quite well!

United States
2012-04-14
Deb Adams
CA, United States
2012-04-14
While this hat looks orange-ish in the picture, but it's really a lovely brown. This hat is well made and very flattering - I absolutely love it!
earl klemm
MD, United States
2012-04-14
i am very pleased with this hat i wear it every day everybody loves it
earl klemm
United States
2012-04-14
just perfect when i wear it my director says i look like walter houston.
earl klemm
MD, United States
2012-04-14
great product even better is the service u guys are the best.
Sally S
NY, United States
2012-04-15
R J
PA, United States
2012-04-15
Easy order, quick delivery and perfect fit. What more can you ask for? Thanks.
Brad S
-, United States
2012-04-15
i was shocked by how comfortable the clothes are, and the quality is flawless. I will definately be purchasing again at some point.
Karen B
TX, United States
2012-04-15
very nice products and quick shipping.
Keith P
OK, United States
2012-04-15
very satisfied
Rosemary K
CA, United States
2012-04-15
It depends on what they are ordering. I am very satisfied with the umbrella but, the blouse is waaaaaaaaaaaaay too small. The sizing is not correct. I am sending it back.
Emily H
CO, United States
2012-04-15
Clayton B
TX, United States
2012-04-15
I bought this rig for sas activities. New to this. Do yall think this holster will hold up to the use in comp. shooting. It seems very well built. PS trying to be the fastest draw in the south
Mick P
AC, Australia
2012-04-15
A great range of product and fantastic delivery. I was impressed and will visit again soon. Thank you
James C
FL, United States
2012-04-15
Great product at great price. also got it in a timely manner. Very satisfied.
Michael D
PA, United States
2012-04-15
The vest and ascot will be perfect for our autumn wedding. I will have quite a dapper groom! They look just as gorgeous as the picture and shipped in an impressive amount of time!
Anthony H
SA, Australia
2012-04-15
Your service was ok, i just thought the box size was over kill 4 what i ordered but apart from that fine thank you. Tony
Timothy G
NH, United States
2012-04-15
Kurt E
NS, Australia
2012-04-15
Lindsay P
-, New Zealand
2012-04-15
I am into CAS and I find your website fantastic, I have already recommended the Emporium to other club members. I will be purchasing other goods, as I find you great to deal with. regards Lindsay Powell
Andrew G
PA, United States
2012-04-15
Byron S
AL, United States
2012-04-15
EXCELLENT IN EVERY RESPECT!!!!!! EXTREMELY PLEASED.
Mckenna E
IA, United States
2012-04-15
Great quality and it got here fast!
Jessica B
MI, United States
2012-04-15
Victoria B
MD, United States
2012-04-15
What my husband wanted for his birthday!
Benjamin H
CA, United States
2012-04-15
Great waist coat a little short but well made.
Charlotte D
HI, United States
2012-04-15
Price, selection, quality, fit
Jolene B
CA, United States
2012-04-15
I ordered this dress last minute for my wedding. I was making my own and just didn't have time to finish it. It arrived just in time, and was absolutely perfect! My mother-in-law also ordered her outfit from you as did my husband for his waistcoat and puff tie. All was perfect!
Peynot O
France
2012-04-15
I am french. I have always my items queeckly. But I need more small size, 36 or XS.... or 1/2 sizes for shoes...
David M
GA, United States
2012-04-15
Excellent service, with brilliant and excellently made products... I'd recomend you and your products to anyone I know who expresses even a moderate interest in the steampunk, Victorian, or Western dress & decore.
Joanna N
-, United States
2012-04-15
still have not yet recieved the order so can not comment on what they are like
Raymond F
CA, United States
2012-04-15
was very satisfied with the two products I purchased.
Denny C
NC, United States
2012-04-15
Dean H
VA, United States
2012-04-15
quick service, nice quality shirt, fits appropriately
Fidel M
NV, United States
2012-04-15
professional service, great product
Kenneth Y
AB, Canada
2012-04-15
parcel arrived sooner than expected and in one nice package....
Leslee R
TX, United States
2012-04-15
Quality of items purchased (man's tailcoat and spats) were exceptional. Items were just as described, came in a timely manner and were packaged safely and beautifully. What more could you ask for!
Bill R
PA, United States
2012-04-15
My Scully Weatern Jacket came packed perfectly, and the Jacket is a perfect fit
Ann F
MI, United States
2012-04-15
Julie B
VI, Australia
2012-04-15
Great, everything went without a hitch!
Mark P
CA, United States
2012-04-15
Unique selection of products.
James T
NJ, United States
2012-04-15
Mark D
-, New Zealand
2012-04-15
I made 2 seperate orders, both of which were extremely quickly recieved considering they were ebing shipped internationally. I found the whole experience greatly satisfying.
Judith F
QL, Australia
2012-04-15
Joyce L
TN, United States
2012-04-14
I gave you a 9 instead of a 10. Wouldn't want you to feel spoiled !
William G
CA, United States
2012-04-14
John M
OH, United States
2012-04-14
I love that it's possible to buy high-quality victorian and Edwardian style clothing at reasonable prices. I am living history coordinator for a local historical society, and the Gentleman's Emporium has been nothing short of a godsend for me.
Robert C
TX, United States
2012-04-14
fast service and a good price. You will be there for my next order. R.J. C.
Robert W
NY, United States
2012-04-14
I liked the shirt very much but it did not come with extra buttons. The buttons on the shirt are unique and I don't think I would be able to find a match if I lost one.
Ken L
FL, United States
2012-04-14
Great product, great customer service, great quality, just what I was looking for. I will order again with you, and have spread your name around to friends and family. Thanks
Trevor S
CA, United States
2012-04-14
I regularly recommend you guys, if you ever start printing out business carsd for customer to give to friends I will totally pass them out.
Michael M
NJ, United States
2012-04-14
Noel was very helpfull and willing to work with me.
Howard A
AZ, United States
2012-04-14
The website was a pleasure to navigate. My order was handled rapidly and accurately, and arrived promptly. I am very satisfied with the quality and your service. I'll be back!
Mary P
PA, United States
2012-04-14
Mabel G
FL, United States
2012-04-14
Daniel S
OH, United States
2012-04-14
Excellent price for unique item
Greg B
UT, United States
2012-04-14
Product and service were excellent, the only way you could improve, would be to give your product away! Thank you!
James R
TX, United States
2012-04-14
Indeed, I already have made several recommendations.
Donovan J
KY, United States
2012-04-14
I greatly appreciated the Historical Emporium's professionalism and extremely detailed information and assistance in helping me obtain and use these products effectively. I'm wearing your items right now and I have to express complete satisfaction. Everything said was true, every helpful piece of information culminated into a very pleasing experience. I thank you again from the bottom of my heart.
John L
WA, United States
2012-04-14
I am particularly happy that my vest was made in the USA. And I find your website is both easy to negotiate and inspiring.
Richard M
KY, United States
2012-04-14
I'm very pleased to find Gentleman's Emporium. This is the only place I'm buying shirts and vests from for now on.
Ian W
CA, United States
2012-04-14
I already have recommended you. You guys are great!
Jeffrey N
WA, United States
2012-04-14
Robert H
PA, United States
2012-04-14
i already have recommended the emporium to a friend of mine, he seemed impressed!
Jason R
TX, United States
2012-04-14
I'm a repeat customer
Kurt G B
IN, United States
2012-04-14
products ordered were just as advertised ,shipped in a timely manner and in quality shipping container to prevent damage,,would highly recommend to others.
Sue W
CA, United States
2012-04-14
Johnathan G
TX, United States
2012-04-14
Our order arrived surprisingly fast!
Cathy P
NJ, United States
2012-04-14
Thomas P
TX, United States
2012-04-14
everything went great.the holster and belt was better than thought
Hugo P
ON, Canada
2012-04-14
Only place that had the items I needed and looked like a legit website
Michael R
MO, United States
2012-04-14
Very quick delivery. I absolutely love every item that I ordered. They all seem to be very good quality. I regularly check EBAY to see if I can find things cheaper, but with new items, most of the time Historical Emporium seems to beat EBAY prices.
David T
OH, United States
2012-04-14
Great products (hard to find anywhere else), good prices, good communication and fast delivery. Couldn't ask for more.
Lucille G
CA, United States
2012-04-14
Just the other day I had recommended to my daughter-in-law to use your web site for the purchase of a historic dress.
Mark T
NM, United States
2012-04-14
Marsha C
MA, United States
2012-04-14
Andrew N
CA, United States
2012-04-14
Leslie went WAY above and beyond the call of duty to help me get myself and my groomsmen dressed their absolute best for my wedding. Honestly, she should get a raise. Always quick with an answer, phone, email, kept me in the loop on stock, made good, HONEST, suggestions and gave fantastic advice. My wedding seriously would not have been as wonderful without her.
Wendell B
KY, United States
2012-04-14
Quality material, effective product descriptions, well-done web site, prompt delivery.
Marney H
TN, United States
2012-04-14
Anna H
VA, United States
2012-04-14
Great selection and fast service!
Bruce B
IL, United States
2012-04-14
Just what I was looking for, something you won't find in retail stores.
Brian T
CO, United States
2012-04-14
Laura W
PA, United States
2012-04-14
Michael M
FL, United States
2012-04-14
The items were wonderful and made a quite a hit at a local victorian themed event. I plan to order more items soon.
James L
CA, United States
2012-04-14
Olli V
Finland
2012-04-14
Very fast service and fine quality products.
Sammy M
IL, United States
2012-04-13
i was really sad that only 10 days into owning my goggles the side of them broke. all it took was for me to try putting them over my head. the elastic stretched and the casing on the side snapped off.
Whitney M
CA, United States
2012-04-13
Debbie G
MO, United States
2012-04-13
Everything was great! From silly question from a nervous bride to returning items for a new size. We loved the clothes and the sole family was very impressed with our vintage look. Thank you.
Joyce P
AR, United States
2012-04-12
completely satisfied with the purchases I made and customer service was great.
Daniel M
CA, United States
2012-04-11
The holster was exactly as described. Ordered it 4 larger than my regular belt size and it fits perfect. My Vaquero sits well in it and it looks good. It is a great holster for the price. Communication from the vendor was quick and reliable, and shipping was incredibly fast at the regular shipping rate. Would feel good about purchasing more items form them.
Nick C
ON, Canada
2012-04-09
Unique and Broad range of products - stareted googling for a pocket watch and pleasantly surprised by other offerings
Anette P
Denmark
2012-04-09
Thank you for the fine clothes. We are very pleased and it fits so well.
Rick S
SK, Canada
2012-04-09
I was looking for victorian / Edwardian clothing for men and this website offered the most options in higher end clothing from the period.

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service