Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2012-05-27

Terri C
United States
2012-05-21
A prior customer posted a negative review of the Fairlawn shirt, stating it "Might be good for a dusting rag." We disagree. I believe the customer was expecting something different. From a business & customer perspective, I'd suggest that you include in the product's description that it is a "waffle weave" cotton resulting in a softer fabric. Our review: The Fairlawn shirt is not a dress shirt, rather, it's a classy-looking "casual" shirt that looks great worn by itself or with casual vests. It is a "waffle weave" cotton so it's a much softer material than the dress shirts and cooler in hot weather. The shirt body is not as full as the Tombstone which makes it a better fit for more slender guys. I ordered a size smaller for my Hub since Scully shirts run too large & it's a great fit on him, including the sleeves being long enough (he has long arms). Both the Hub & I are really pleased with this shirt. The only drawback is it does need to be ironed but that's okay since it's cotton. :) Sincerely J & T
Terri C
United States
2012-05-21
This is a beautiful shirt. The picture doesn't do it justice b/c it doesn't show the subtle pattern in the fabric of the shirt. Very classy, elegant shirt that looks great by itself or with a dressy vest. I ordered a size smaller for the Hub since I was worried that it would run too large like the Scully shirts. The size smaller fits great & has long enough sleeves for a long-armed guy. A heads up--it's not a "true" white as compared to the Fairlawn shirt. It is a slightly ivory color. We love it.

United States
2012-05-21
I followed the measurement guidelines provide on the website and it fits very well. There's sort of a tiger/zebra stripe thing going on in the red sections that isn't easy to see in the photos, but it's a neat look. Wish that the lacing was a bit fancier, but overall I'm very happy with it and itching to find other occasions in which to wear it.

United States
2012-05-21
Such a pretty blouse: I bought a medium and it fits well - the lacing is a great help in customizing the shirt as I want to wear it. I want to try aging it in tea but plan to test a portion of the blouse and the ribbon lacing first to see how they both handle the dye process. The front is low cut but I didn't find it to be too low cut. I Would definitely buy another one.

United States
2012-05-21
The medium turned out to be a little big for me but I think with some tailoring these will be very comfortable under the skirts I own.
Ritchie Boss
NJ, United States
2012-05-23
I ordered the Huxley Striped vest and it is a hands down piece of art and attention getter without being a star. Even before I ordered the vest I took a screen shot of it and messaged it to my friends who like and know my style. The vote was obvious and iI purchased it and is now cow coveted by friends. I refer Gentlemens Emporium to all my friends who want a unique choice of fashion for all occasions from casual to formal. When you have style you can get away with it especially when you have Gentlemens Emporium as your closet. Gentlemens Emporium is my personal vice. Good fortunes to all the staff and crew.
Tobias Noah Walnofer
CA, United States
2012-05-25
This cane looks brilliant. Unfortunately, mine was damaged in the shipping process (no fault of the manufacturers), leaving the rubber tip chipped (inevitable, assuming one plans to use it on a weekly basis, as i do), and the metal cuff that binds the rubber and metal at a noticeable slant (quite irksome). One feature not mentioned in the product description is that the helmet screws off, allowing one to stash keys or trinkets within. The one problem that could be resolved by the manufacturer follows: after sustained use, the three pins which hold in place the metal ring which the head screws onto become loose. However, the owner can easily solve this issue by affixing said ring more firmly in place using a spot of epoxy. This cane is mildly expensive, given the build quality, but apart from my last complaint it is quite sturdy. The lower metal cuff is set solidly in place, and though it has fallen several times on concrete, you can barely see bronze beyond the nickel in the scratches if you look closely.
Tobias Noah Walnofer
CA, United States
2012-05-25
Warm, fashionable, 100% German cashmere. I wear this in a Parisian Knot at my school on the colder of my Fancy Fridays. Good price, shipped quickly, zero regrets on my end.
Holden
GE, United States
2012-05-25
These glasses were exactly what I was hoping for and the shipping was fast.
lori ruth zurfluh-deGarmo
PA, United States
2012-05-25
I was invited to my daughter's recent college Graduation party, which she held in a beautiful outdoor garden. Her invitation indicated "fancy garden party attire". I already had a beautiful lacy skirt and blouse and just the right hat, but wanted something to kind of stand out. I found your site just by happenstance and absolutely love it. Had I had enough time, I would have ordered a pair of boots, but I fell in love with the white lace fingerless gloves. I was quite pleased when they arrived. They are exactly as pictured and fit well on my largish hands without ripping. I got scads of compliments on them and referred all to your site! Thanks for helping to make my outfit the "hit" of the party! I'd be happy to send you a picture of my ensemble if you'd like!
Jeanfi
Belgium
2012-05-25
I like it. It's not the first vest I buy from Historial Emporium. And it is not the last.
william harrison
United States
2012-05-25
love the watch
Samantha Daugherty
KY, United States
2012-05-25
My son looked awesome at prom in his steam punk jacket, top hat and blue puff tie. The color is vibrant and the material high quality. This is a truly great value and we will be back!
Brian Olney
NE, United States
2012-05-25
I like that it is different from the same old vest but is still period correct for my civil war civilian events. Very well made and fits great. I changed my order after I sent in the order and they made the corrections with no problems.
Brian Olney
NE, United States
2012-05-25
I like the old style look with a new internal works so I can carry it in the field and know it keeps accurate time. It has the cover to protect the glass for banging around in my pocket during reenactments of battles. It fits both Civil war Civilian and Military events.
RedDog
TE, United States
2012-05-25
Received in time and were exactly what was needed.
RedDog
TE, United States
2012-05-25
Original out of stock. H.E.s recommended replacement entirely satisfactory.

United States
2012-05-25
The goggles were delivered quickly; they are exactly what my daughter was looking for. Price was very reasonable as well.
Jacob H.
VA, United States
2012-05-25
I was absolutely surprised by how quickly these arrived, as I live on the east coast. The quality of the product is great and the fact that they were military issue and have been used gives them so much character.
Ralph B. White
TE, United States
2012-05-25
This tie tack is an attractive, yet inexpensive item, so no need for a big write up. I gave it three stars just on price and looks. I took off two for breakage. The "pearl" fell off of the stem the first time I pulled the tie tack away from it's backing clip. I just glued it back on with epoxy, so it should be good for another 100,000 miles. I'm sure the Emporium would have sent a new one... their customer service is great, but this matter wasn't worth the fuss. Please don't confuse the review of the item with the seller, they take care of their clients. Check yours when you get it, to make sure it's not loose.
Ralph B. White
TE, United States
2012-05-25
I am very pleased with this tie. The price was nice, and it looks great with my charcoal frock coat suit.
Ralph B. White
TE, United States
2012-05-25
I am very pleased with this shirt. It is comfortable and looks great! I'm going to order another one next week.
Ralph B. White
TE, United States
2012-05-25
Very good quality product. The leather components are substantial, not cheap or thin-as-paper. I was very pleased with this purchase.
Ralph B. White
TE, United States
2012-05-25
Great looking coat, very stately. I changed the buttons out for more authentic sea-shell, but this was just personal preference.... the black plastic ones look good. The fabric is a bit light, but that is a bonus in the hot weather of Texas. I count this as one of the Emporiums best values!
Walter G Smythe
NY, United States
2012-05-25
Very nice fit and presentation. I play Lt.Gen. Ulysses S Grant and I often times need a nice shirt with a collar that has "the right look". This and the Tomestone shirts have that "special quality" and capture the feel and the look. Sincerely yours, Walter G Smythe, USA Retired (A.K.A.: Lieutenant-General Ulysses S Grant and sometimes Major General Edmund Kirby-Smith: Trans-Mississippi Commanding)
Ralph B. White
TE, United States
2012-05-25
This review comes with a caveat... so read it all. This set of pants is well made, look great, comfortable and I am VERY pleased with them, thus the five stars rating. Something you should know before you purchase, is that if you are a reenactor (I am), the stretchy, synthetic material is completely incorrect and the nice, large plastic buttons are also incorrect. If you are a stickler for authenticity, these are definitely not the pants for you. I will be wearing them a lot to ballroom dances, so they suit my purposes quite well.
Kenn Whiteman
BC, Canada
2012-05-25
My wife Linda was very pleased when she opened the package Mother's Day to find the touring hat and a purse to match. Excellent quality and workmanship. Delivery of product was flawless. Well done. Kenn Whiteman BC, Canada

United States
2012-05-25
glass falls out

United States
2012-05-25
sticks when trying to extend

United States
2012-05-25

United States
2012-05-25
ugly, poor construction

United States
2012-05-25

United States
2012-05-25
This hat is absolutely beautiful and I couldn't ask for more. It's a perfect fit and the veil in the back is great because the net material is very soft so it's not itchy. I have bought a few items from here and this is definitely my favorite thus far!

MN, United States
2012-05-25
I bought these boots for performing as the lead in a musical, set in edwardian times. Everyone loves them, and the quality is excellent. They are exactly what I need, and I plan on wearing them after the show is over.
Robert Fillmore
MN, United States
2012-05-25
Very nice and high quality.
Matthew Miller
CA, United States
2012-05-25
Had to return this as it was sized a size too small. Got a 3X jacket and 3X vest. Jacket fit perfectly, vest was a size too small. Material was fantastic, just wish they had it a size larger.

United States
2012-05-25
The vest is well-made, fits true to the size/measurement guide provided on the website, and looks fantastic!
B. Scrivener
United States
2012-05-25
Historically accurate? Maybe. Awesome? A resounding yes! This is a Sharp(e), dashing waistcoat that got me noticed the first time I put it on. The fabric is excellent and the buttons are good quality. The button-hole stitching is machine-made: enough said. The cut is longer than the usual vest and is generous through the stomach area without being over-large in the shoulders. Beautifully shaped and tapered so you don't miss the adjuster strap at all. Only downside is that the inside French seams did not leave enough room to cover the rough edges so after one wearing I had thick threads hanging out all over. However, that's easily remedied with snips and should not put you off the purchase. Multiple buttons give several different looks. One of their best products. Highly recommended.
KA Turner
MI, United States
2012-05-25
"Stunning" was the word used to describe how my daughter and her Prom date looked the evening of the dance. I used an old rhinestone stud earring for a stick pin, which made the tie sparkle in their photo's. The shipping was super prompt, considering I placed my order 1 week before the event and it arrived with several days to spare. I have recommended your site to several people.
KA Turner
MI, United States
2012-05-25
"Stunning" was the word used to describe how my daughter and her Prom date looked the evening of the dance. The hat was slightly big but that was fixed with some self adhesive weather stripping, under the hat band. The shipping was super prompt, considering I placed my order 1 week before the event (hence the hat modification) and it arrived with several days to spare. I have recommended your site to several people.
Thom Carling
CT, United States
2012-05-25
And by "sweet" I mean "a fine shirt." I love it! So glad you guys are doing business. Time I bought something else. Too busy to write--gone shopping. Stick with it, guys!
KA Turner
MI, United States
2012-05-25
"Stunning" was the word used to describe how my daughter and her Prom date looked the evening of the dance. The vest was of the finest quality and matched my daughters steam-punk kimono of floral silk perfectly. The shipping was super prompt, considering I placed my order 1 week before the event and it arrived with several days to spare. I have recommended your site to several people.
Roger Upton
CA, United States
2012-05-25
Great quality, great service, great delivery time. I'll be back to order in the future.
Hua Ming
IO, United States
2012-05-25
This item is simply wonderful. I put it on during the Graduation, everyone commented positively on it. A real eye-catching dress.
Tyler Morrison
FL, United States
2012-05-25
Very high quality and finely made bow tie. The color is a bit shinnier than I expected, but still very nice. Pricey, but a nice accesory!
Tyler Morrison
FL, United States
2012-05-25
Great vest, nice feel! I'm not sure what happened, but the first time I washed the vest, it got a hole on the outside near the left shoulder :/
Kelsey
CA, United States
2012-05-26
Got these for my boyfriend. He loved them, especially the cute case they come in. We replaced the tie string with elastic and now they're perfect!
Kelsey
CA, United States
2012-05-26
I love this swim suit! I ordered a Large just in case, and after washing for the first time I put it in the dryer briefly and shrunk it to the perfect size. I love the bow and the elastic waistband! Material is lightweight and good quality. Great buy!
Kelsey
CA, United States
2012-05-26
This little hat goes great with my Ladies 1900s Sleeveless Bathing Tunic! Can adjust size with pull string, very comfortable and cute!
Simon Wagstaff
United States
2012-05-26
Excellent service very quick and good a quality item well packaged thankyou!

IL, United States
2012-05-26
It doesn't fit tight around the middle, but otherwise it's great.
Ron Sonnek
MN, United States
2012-05-26
Great fit! A hard to find style, my wife loves it! came just as pictured and sizing is very accurate!
Ron Sonnek
MN, United States
2012-05-26
My wife loved it! Sizing is very accurate. Have no complaints!
Ron Sonnek
MN, United States
2012-05-26
I love this coat. My wife and I dress up in period clothing and go out. We have gotten great comments on out clothing. We have started a trend here i think. WE WILL BE ORDERING AGAIN!
Dan
KA, United States
2012-05-26
I purchased this as a gift for my father. He had been looking for a good mechanical pocket watch for over 30 years and had never found one at a reasonable price. This was exactly what he wanted and he is just plain giddy with excitement over it. The quality is amazing and the price is astounding. Of note, the watch comes from the factory with a $125.00 price tag on it.
Eric Inglesby
NY, United States
2012-05-26
Greg Ficek
59, Canada
2012-05-25
I give them 5 stars for a quality product. Very authentic and fits my model 629 S&W like it was meant to be. This product should be worn over rough outer clothing as the dye will rub off a bit. I am from Canada and I will purchace from them again.
Marguerite Cummins
UT, United States
2012-05-25
We received the trousers in only 3 days! They were shipped out the same day they were ordered. Really fast service, and the quality is excellent. The trousers are well made, and the color is just like it looked on the website. We're very happy with the product.
5
United States
2012-05-25
I loved this product. I am by no means a tie connoisseur, but this tie had a great look and felt good. It ended up being the greatest double windsor I had ever done (not saying much as I am 18 and don't do ties frequently). Worth the money.
Monica B
CA, United States
2012-05-25
Rebecca B
MD, United States
2012-05-25
My father LOVED his gun belt and holster. Loved the craftsmanship of it. I was pleased at how fast it got here and how easy your website made it to order.
Roger U
CA, United States
2012-05-25
Great service, great product. Very timely delivery. 100% satisfied. I will order again. I am a costumer for CSUB Theater Dept..
Ernest L
NJ, United States
2012-05-25
products were of good quality and fit good.would advise my friends to buy from you
Lorie J
CA, United States
2012-05-25
Prompt order fulfillment & shipping-- much appreciated! I was also impressed with the quality of the item that I ordered--thank you!
Tyler H
CA, United States
2012-05-25
The format was simple and easy to use. I had no problems ordering.
Jack D
TX, United States
2012-05-25
Absolutely, 100% satisfied. Jack Dyess
Anthony P
CA, United States
2012-05-25
You guys are doing good
Ira B
CA, United States
2012-05-25
Amazingly fast service. High quality hat. Good price.
Lynn S
MN, United States
2012-05-25
I called on a Friday afternoon and needed something delivered by the following Tuesday, and the woman I spoke with went above and beyond to make sure I received my order on time. The truck that was going to pick-up the outgoing orders hadn't arrived yet, so she personally gathered my order and brought it out to the pick-up area so it would go out that very afternoon! She provided phenominal service and I wish I could remember her name because she definitely deserves recognition for her positive can do attitude, dedication to customer serivce and knowledge of how to get it done without relying on the standard process. Please thank her for me and let her know the bathing suit was a huge hit at our executive dunk tank event. Her efforts made our event the talk of the company for the entire week!
Larry O
CA, United States
2012-05-25
Service was fast and efficient. In 2 days it was in my hands.
Gerald G
IL, United States
2012-05-25
Karl E
NY, United States
2012-05-25
A wonderful vest, I'm glad I decided to buy it. I got several compliments on it too. I will be definitely be getting my vests from here from now on.
Charles P
FL, United States
2012-05-25
Good service, great product for the price!
Cameron S
TX, United States
2012-05-25
I always receive excellent service from the ladies and gents here. Dr. Wh0m
Bob O
IL, United States
2012-05-25
Very quick ship, first class mailing and great packaging.
Kent R
NY, United States
2012-05-25
Stephen O
PA, United States
2012-05-25
Great service - ordered the wrong size - just completed the form and sent back - they shipped a replacement the next day after they received the return. Thanks!
Lesa W
TX, United States
2012-05-25
Delivery is very fast, and customer service exceptional at all the Emporiums. I feel the prices are very competitive, when these values are factored in. If you are shopping for cheap junk and not particular when (or if) you will get your order, perhaps eBay might be a better vendor for you.
David F
WI, United States
2012-05-25
David L
PA, United States
2012-05-25
I had to purchase these items for a themed wedding and I will most likely never be in this situation again. I don't really enjoy this time period so i wouldn't be discussing this site with friends.
Jocelyne F
WA, United States
2012-05-25
Wonderful company, extremely fast shipment and great product
Bryan K
AZ, United States
2012-05-25
Awesome quality with great prices. That is what an end user wants.
Douug U
NC, United States
2012-05-25
great service, the item was on time, correct size, folded properly in the package. Also had a question on care of the coat, and they responded the next day. Great product and service. Thanks
Vassilios T
VA, United States
2012-05-25
the only comment I have is to tell you how pleased I was with the service provided by your staff
Chari M
NE, United States
2012-05-25
I was more than pleased with the quality of the clothing I purchased. I was even more impressed with the speed in which my order was processed and shipped.
Robert D
MS, United States
2012-05-25
We are very pleased with the product that we ordered and would recommend you to my friends or anyone else that is looking for western attire.
Billie G
IL, United States
2012-05-25
When ordering online, there was a special instructions/comment section so my daughter typed in Make it Awesome. When the box arrived, it had a handwritten note saying AWESOME with a little smiley face. The entire family enjoyed the humor and attention to detail. Of course, my daugher saved the box! :)
Pedro C
CA, United States
2012-05-25
the sizes were not accuratte.
Dianne L
MA, United States
2012-05-25
Product was great. Package arrived damaged--crushed on one side. I initially rejected it at the P.O., then went home and discovered that the item was no longer in stock. Took a gamble and picked up the box. The hat was fine, but you really, really need to improve your packaging.
Brian O
NY, United States
2012-05-25
I changed my mind on what to order after I placed the order. I contacted you by email right away and you made the corrections with no problems and contacted me before I could contact you the next day to let me know you had made the changes.
Mark T
VA, United States
2012-05-25
Quick service and jacket was as described and what I was looking for. Many thanks.
Thomas C
NY, United States
2012-05-25
Greg F
AB, Canada
2012-05-25
I would recomend to others. The holster is authentic and well built. It fits my .44 mag S&W very nicely. Should be worn over rough outer clothing as the dye runs a bit
Ann M
MI, United States
2012-05-27
I'd referred your site to friends in the past, but am now telling them not to purchase from Historical Emporium since they do not stand behind their products. I'd purchased two parasols, and one broke the first time I used it. I emailed you (less than a week after I received it, by the way) and was told you do not refund or replace.
Sandralyn D
GA, United States
2012-05-27
Gary K
HI, United States
2012-05-27
Several of the vests in which I was interested, were out of stock. I've been checking on those items for more than a month now and all remain out of stock. How frequently are items restocked?
Jason S
CA, United States
2012-05-27
Customer service was EXCELLENT! I WILL be ordering again in the future..
Ross S
OR, United States
2012-05-27
Great selection and fast shipping. Thank you kindly.
Dale B
WA, United States
2012-05-27
the pant i received has the brass clasp in the rear that is broken order # 0509951. I don't have the time to reorder so i will sew or cut the straps off. I have to leave on the 4th of june to cody wyoming for an s.a.s.s. competition. If i had the time i would return them. Please in the future have you quality control take better care. Dale Boe 360-739-2969. I hope to hear from you but I wont hold my breath
Eric I
NY, United States
2012-05-27
Excellent Service!!
Ruben A
CA, United States
2012-05-27
You guys are the greatest. Very helpful and very prompt with your deliveries.
Grady K
CA, United States
2012-05-26
Kristin N
-, Norway
2012-05-26
Ron S
MN, United States
2012-05-26
Great place to find period clothing! Sizing was perfect and the order came in 3 days!
Felsen B
NM, United States
2012-05-26
I appreciated your email requiring pictures of my credit card because the shipping and billing addresses were not the same.
John N
NY, United States
2012-05-26
Keep the prices low. I've been telling all of my friends about your product.
Brian G
OH, United States
2012-05-26
great product line and realistic pricing
Kelsey S
CA, United States
2012-05-26
Ordered 3 different product i was highly satisfied with. Quality is up to par and pricing is reasonable. Shipping was prompt. Will order from Historical Emporium again in the future!
David H
CA, United States
2012-05-26
J O
KS, United States
2012-05-26
Wanted a vest but you didn't have a long in the one, other than that I am satisfied with what I ordered.
Matthew J
MN, United States
2012-05-26
Very prompt and accurate.
Sarah A
OH, United States
2012-05-26
I love the site and products! The service is excellent and delivery fast. Will be buying more from your site!!!
Shawn P
NE, United States
2012-05-26
John R
AR, United States
2012-05-25
Great customer service! I had to order a larger size and the exchange of the merchandise was seamless. I'll be back.
Maestro G
MI, United States
2012-05-25
Clayton C
AZ, United States
2012-05-25
My only complaint is the steps taken before shipping. I had listed an alternative address for shipping other than my billing. Because your follow up e-mail to verify this landed in my junk mail folder I never saw it (i rarley see this happen with other vendors). This caused a delay in receiving my product. Do to this delay I never got a chance to try my holster out as now I am in a arm sling from surgery for the next 12-16 weeks. Pretty bummed!
Richard L
CO, United States
2012-05-25
Excellent products. No unwanted surprises when the items arrived. I couldn't be happier.
Sonya L
MS, United States
2012-05-25
Kristen S
MD, United States
2012-05-25
I recieved the order within 4 days. Thanks for the superfast service!
Thomas C
-, United States
2012-05-25
Great products look good and great quality
Thomas D
MA, United States
2012-05-25
Ron P
QC, Canada
2012-05-25
David M
CA, United States
2012-05-25
I am very happy to say how pleased I am with the boots I orderedand how fast I received them, they are a perfect fit, true to size. I look forward to placing more orders in the near future and having a complete steampunk outfit, Thank You
Les B
CA, United States
2012-05-25
Jeff W
CA, United States
2012-05-25
fair prices, fast shipping.
Laurie B
NJ, United States
2012-05-23
Josh T
CA, United States
2012-05-21
Great selection of items, great customer service and quick delivery times
Brian S
MI, United States
2012-05-21
Joanne A
NJ, United States
2012-05-21
Great store: items arrive looking like they do online (not always an easy feat with other stores) and helpful measurement directions ensure that they fit well. Nice quality construction to the garments, too.

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service