Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2012-06-24

Tiberius Sturngarde
IL, United States
2012-06-18
I have greatly enjoyed this pocket watch. It looks good, works fine, and is a great price. Only minor nitpick, having never owned a pocket watch before, I was unsure about the kind of clasp/clip it had and needed to do a little research as where and how it should attach. I would recommend this product.
Tiberius Sturngarde
IL, United States
2012-06-18
I have been coming up with excuses to wear this vest. It is a very crisp, fine look, and I have received numerous compliments everytime I've worn it. The pattern is distinct enough that one can pull off wearing a black shirt. Echoing the other reviews, the button holes started to fray a little even with the first time putting it on, but I knew about that issue when buying it. So other than needing a little tightening on the button holes, it is perfect.
MaryBeth
NO, United States
2012-06-20
I love this corset!! The only problem is I ordered the size that they recomended for no reduction and it's to big. Once it adjusted to the contours of my body, I could spin it all the way around my waist. As in, while it was tightened all the way, I could , while I still had it on, turn it from the front to the back. But that is my only complaint. It still looks awesome, but I'll just have to order a smaller size next time.
MaryBeth
NO, United States
2012-06-20
I LOVE these boots!!!!!!! They are the most comfortable old-fashioned boots I have ever found!!!!!
MaryBeth
NO, United States
2012-06-20
I absolutely LOVE this walking suit!!!! It fit so well, and was delivered super quick!!!!!
Victorian Val
DC, United States
2012-06-20
After much hunting through vintage shops for a pair of high waisted trousers that would meet my standards in quality and fit, I came upon Gentleman's Emporium. While I was initially disappointed that Size 36 in this design of trousers was out of stock, I ordered the next size up..They're way better in person! I took them to my local tailor to fit me perfectly and they're a total dream. Suits my victorian outfit just right!! Highly recommended
Victorian Val
DC, United States
2012-06-20
These Premium braces fit my Black Callahan Dress pants (also on Gentleman's Emporium) to a tee! Very happy customer. Will gladly come back for more period attire and accessories.
James Goebel
MI, United States
2012-06-22
I am really very pleased with the knickers...very speedy service...I just wish I could have gotten more than one!
BBrewer
United States
2012-06-22
Loved it! Great quality, suprisingly comfortable. I'm personally high waisted, and it still fits like a charm. Mine was a little less gold than it looks in the picture, more of a burnished copper which was actually what I wanted.
Scott Wright
FL, United States
2012-06-22
Unless you are a cyclops don't plan on wearing this. However it is a great magnifier and handy to have around. It's great fun and best worn when playing the appropriate "monocle wearing" music.
Katharine Noon
CA, United States
2012-06-22
The lining on one of the sleeves was twisted around before it was sewn in so it's almost impossible to get your arm into one of the sleeves and there is a large tear in the lining of that sleeve.
Charlotte
OR, United States
2012-06-22
I can not say enough good things about this hat. It's gorgeous,VERY well made and so authentic looking. Also very good service! I wasn't expecting to get it so soon. Will definitely be shopping here again!
Susan Angermann
FL, United States
2012-06-22
These were very well made, atractive and well cut. They are a full cut - as is right for the style. If you want a closer fit, order down one size. Very pleased with these.
Laura Dyken
CA, United States
2012-06-22
Very impressed with this hat. Fits a more average to large head without the "cone head" effect. Excellent quality. Shipping and processing exactly as promised. I'll be back!
Jay Royce
IO, United States
2012-06-22
I like the walking stick very well I only regret that I did not get one with the black knob. I wish I could purchase a black knob for this stick instead of the glass knob. The service I recieved was definately a 5star. J.Royce
Paul J. Stevens
FL, United States
2012-06-22
This is the third vest I've purchased from HE, and it's everything I've come to expect from their products. Wahmaker sizing is consistent and in line with off-the-rack sizing. The silk pattern is absolutely beautiful and the vest itself is super light-weight. It's a great fit and a great look. I'm thinking about ordering another just so I have a spare!
SOPHIA BERETTA
TN, United States
2012-06-22
used skirt in play looked great
SOPHIA BERETTA
TN, United States
2012-06-22
Holly Hastings
TN, United States
2012-06-22
We paid for priority shipping and got the vest within 3 days of ordering it! Very fast service! The material was great and it fit my fiance perfectly! Thank you for helping to contribute to our wedding day!
Susan Falk
NE, United States
2012-06-22
I never write reviews, but want to say how great I think your company is. Everything I have ordered has exceeded my expectations. It's just like getting a package in the mail of something my grandmother made. You are to be commended for your attention to authenticity and quality.
Lindsay Bernal
OR, United States
2012-06-22
I bought this watch as a gift to my soon to be husband to wear on our wedding day. He has yet to see it in person and has no idea it will soon be his but he was marveling over my shoulder as I perused your wonderful shop under false pretenses. Here's hoping he likes it. The watch itself is beautifully detailed and has a really satisfying weight to it. The window to the gears is absolutely entrancing after winding it I found myself staring at the little gears for quite some time. I am very pleased with my purchase and plan to continue making purchases with the Historical Emporium! The only remark I can make that is anything less than stellar is that I sort of wish there had been some sort of instruction pamphlet or something included detailing ideal care for the watch, things like this may be common knowledge among the dyed in the wool hard core steampunks and "era enthusiasts" but your average layman now finds these things a bit bewildering. It would have been nice to have a little bit of neatly printed guidance.
Dennis catrett
VA, United States
2012-06-22
its is a beautiful wast coat, the only thing is the large is more of a long the a regular cut. I am 5'9" and it would fit great if i was over 6'2". If you by this you will have to have to altered. It is still a great buy.

United States
2012-06-22
its is a beautiful wast coat, the only thing is the large is more of a long the a regular cut. I am 5'9" and it would fit great if i was over 6'2". If you by this you will have to have to altered. It is still a great buy
Figaro
VA, United States
2012-06-22
Excellent quality, Excellent workmanship, Very Durable and Substantial Fabric Loved these pants. Will wear over time very nicely. Great fit, and Feel comfortable. Recommend highly.
Figaro
VA, United States
2012-06-22
Excellent Quality Lining and Fit, Superb Style, and Tailoring. Detail of front buttons and tail vent are very classy. Material Fabric contains a Very Nice Quality and Finish. Recommend Highly. Excellent with vest Mate.
Connie Davis
NV, United States
2012-06-22
I have wanted a parasol like this one ever since i first saw one carried by a woman in the movie 'Young Guns'. I have checked several websites and found this particular parasol to be a very popular selling item. I believe it is not only very pretty, but historically it is also very period correct! I love it! I was so pleased to find it here on your website as you have it listed in price well below everyone else! I do want to 'Thank You' for super fast shipping!! I could not believe it, I only paid for standard shipping, but I received it in only 2 days! AWESOME! I will be a returning customer.
Kathy O'Leary
IL, United States
2012-06-22
My Son Love it so much that he will not go anywhere without it
Figaro
VA, United States
2012-06-22
Somewhat skimpy on the amount of material to work with. Fabric too stiff and too polyester to feel and touch. Some explanation or directions on how to wear would be helpful as I wasn't sure how to wear it.
Figaro
VA, United States
2012-06-22
My all-time favorite color and fabric !!! I'd give this a 100% satisfaction rating.
cody cuppett
CA, United States
2012-06-22
these pants fit perfectly and look great, they are comfortable and great formally and informally. i am very happy with my percheses and i will be back to buy more.
Joshua
CO, United States
2012-06-22
This is the most amazing waistcoat I've ever owned. It's extremely durable and looks fantastic. Since wearing it I get nothing but compliments. I like it so much I bought a second one just in case they stop making it. If you want to look good during the apocalypse then this is the vest for you.
Debbie Aitken
OK, United States
2012-06-22
These goggles are fantastic. We have an old time photo business (Shady Lady Old Time Photos) in Guthrie, Oklahoma and are adding steampunk as one of our photo options. We currently do Old West and Victorian. We are excited to have found the emporium and will be ordering more in the near future. Thanks for the prompt delivery.
Hector Chavez
TX, United States
2012-06-22
I already had a VTC in a size 40 and I always felt that it was just a tad bit too big on me but the sleeves were perfect. So I put off getting a size 38 thinking that the sleeves would be slightly smaller. One day I just bit the bullet and did it and it is a tremendous improvement. The top is much more fitted like a real frock coat and the sleeves are actually just a bit longer so they fit awesome. It is very soft and rugged yet snazzy enough to wear to dinner. I find myself now buying clothes to go with the jacket more than anything else I have. Service has always been great and I am very happy with everything I have ever purchased.
bbj
CA, United States
2012-06-22
Seems great. Haven't tried to wash/clean it yet but the quality is nice. Trust the tape measure. I couldn't bring myself to order a size large as 100% of my wardrobe is XL. Ended up having to exchange it. I think I could have even fit a medium. Trust the tape measure procedure they give you. Also, go a size up on the pants as suggested. The Ferndale combo looks pretty sweet.
Denise Lang
MI, United States
2012-06-22
Oh it is really beautiful. I wish it was a little larger. My Fan & Parasol are amazing. And My Grand Daughter was so surprised & delighted that I got more hugs & kisses than I can remember at one time. Thank you for the Promt service. I guess the old fashioned southern girl in me came out. I want to thank your personell. They were generous with their time & very versed on all of your products. Thank You Very much
Sir Phillip Bleeding Sydney
MI, United States
2012-06-22
I'm seriously considering muttonchops. This coat looks great with jeans or dress slacks, work boots or a pair of Stacey Adams. As other reviewers have said, the cut is generous, so no worries when you machine wash it. I wear it to present Green's Theorem and hit the village pub right afterward.
Gacefully Aging Hippie
NC, United States
2012-06-22
The pictures do not begin to show the real beauty of this skirt! Embroidery details are absolutely gorgeous. Came in the mail in two days - incredible.
Felicia
NY, United States
2012-06-22
I loved it good quality,got it for my dad for his birthday on 6/18/12 he absolutely loved it, I was happy that he was happy.
Nancy Cheatham
VA, United States
2012-06-22
The parasol was even more beautiful than the photo.
Linda Sickler
GA, United States
2012-06-22
The fan is perfect and just what I wanted to complete my costume. The price was right, too, and I got it very quickly. Thank you!
Doc Allright - Victorian Magician
TE, United States
2012-06-22
Outstanding quality. A heavy-weight material that has a pattern that shines enough to be recognized as correct. Highly Recommended!
Rebecca Arnott
WV, United States
2012-06-22
My son wanted a vest (in his words" a waistcoat")to wear under his linen jacket at his June wedding. We were unable to find anything he liked in our area. I googled vest/waistcoat and your site came up. After reading the description of the vest, I ordered it with only two weeks till the wedding. The vest looked and fitted as if it was tailored-made! He looked so handsome and fashionable! Rhett Butler never looked as good as my son did on his wedding day!
Joseph Golombek, Jr.
NE, United States
2012-06-23
Very happy with the bathing suit!!
Joseph Golombek, Jr.
NE, United States
2012-06-23
Awesome hat!!
Joseph Golombek, Jr.
NE, United States
2012-06-23
Very satisfied.
Joseph Keller
AL, United States
2012-06-23
Usually when you're dealing with surplus clothing items, you get something nearly worn out, dirty or deteriorating. I was really shocked when I got these gaiters; they were like new. Shipping was quick and the gaiters are first quality. Could not be more pleased!
Eric Christensen
IO, United States
2012-06-23
The pants were rugged and durable, Unlike some online purchases where the product quality looks great on the website and then arrives with dissapointment. I was pleasanlty surprised at the quality and felt satified with the value.
Mark Carsten
IL, United States
2012-06-18
I ordered the Aristocrat vest. The quality is much greater than I ever expected. Well worth the cost. However your sizes run a little small. I am loosing weight however so hope to fit into it soon.
David Kerr
OH, United States
2012-06-22
I am very pleased with the quality and fit of these trousers. I will certainly be buying more in the future.
David Kerr
OH, United States
2012-06-22
They hold up my pants. Good quality. I'm happy with my purchase. I'll buy more from Historical Emporium.
gary hill
CO, United States
2012-06-22

United States
2012-06-22
About what I expected. The price is probably 1/2 of what I could find anywhere else, but most of the other holsters were tooled leather. I actually like this plain design better. My .44 Ruger Blackhawk fit it nicely. I'm happy with it.
Bob Allison
CA, United States
2012-06-22
very pleased with the belt except for the buckle the radiused inside corners make it hard to pull the belt tight
Karen King
AZ, United States
2012-06-22
So authentic and so hard to find in a regular store!

United States
2012-06-22
This holster is beautiful and extremely well made. I was blown away at the speed that it was delivered. My only problem was that I ordered it too big, but the exchange turnaround was even faster than my first order and fit
Bill Tucker
LO, United States
2012-06-23
I was very pleased with the product. It was well made and true to the west. I feel like it would be just the thing the average cattle hand would have wore. It fit my Colt SAA 45 great and the service was quick.

United States
2012-06-18
The gun belt and holster were actually much better quality than I had expected. The trick with the sizing is that even though you are measuring your hip and where the holster will actually be placed, there are three additional notches, so I would assume the measurement is at the last notch. Place your order with a customer service rep on the phone versus online - they are very friendly and helpful and will gladly answer any questions. Bottom line: there is attention to detail and you are definitely getting a great product.
Jeremy Gillin
NB, Canada
2012-06-22
John G
MO, United States
2012-06-24
Wanda O
TX, United States
2012-06-24
Order was very timely And exactly what we ordered.
Mark B
MI, United States
2012-06-24
Very nice, good quality, the chain gets a bit tangled but its not a big problem. Thanks
Mark D
AZ, United States
2012-06-24
They went above and beyond on making sure I had my product on time, and that it was the correct item I needed.
Keith B
CT, United States
2012-06-24
There is much more I could say about the specific items I purchased and how they very nicely compliment the clothing I already have.Unfortunately,beyond trying things on for basic fit,I can't wear any complete outfits until October at the earliest.When I do,I can get back to you with further commentary.Suffice it to say for now that the frock coat & shirts fit amazingly well as if they had been tailored personally for me..
Dan R
GA, United States
2012-06-24
Mary H
MO, United States
2012-06-24
Zack B
CO, United States
2012-06-24
I like the vest selection a lot. And I had several choices in my size(2xlt).
Lori W
MI, United States
2012-06-24
The vest and shirt looked great! However the sizing on both items ran larger then anticipated.
Georg L
MD, United States
2012-06-23
Linda E
OR, United States
2012-06-23
Awesome, fast and friendly company!!!
Gary C
IL, United States
2012-06-23
Interesting catalog of products. Shipped very fast. I;m an artist and I hire models as reference. I create costumes as best I can. This will be part of a Catwoman costume.
Stephanie S
CA, United States
2012-06-23
Natasha W
AB, Canada
2012-06-23
Love this site and love the customer service. Have been struggling to get proper sizes and they have been so helpful
Oscar M
NJ, United States
2012-06-23
OUTSTANDING SATISFACTION
Joseph K
AL, United States
2012-06-23
I could not be more pleased because of the quality of the products and ease of ordering.
Susan S
CA, United States
2012-06-23
The hat is beautiful!!! Willy Wonka would be proud to own it! I am sure the actor wearing it will walk alittle taller because of it. Thank you!
Joseph G
NY, United States
2012-06-23
Fair price and quick delivery on good merchandise.
Thomas D
OH, United States
2012-06-23
Good service but high dollar for quality of items.
Martin R
FL, United States
2012-06-23
Tyler G
PA, United States
2012-06-23
Rebecca A
WV, United States
2012-06-23
I couldn't have been happier with the product ( a vest) and the shipping was quick!
Carlton E
TX, United States
2012-06-23
Brad B
MN, United States
2012-06-23
Bought the Twin City vest. Beautiful vest, light and thin enough to finally allow me to wear a vest during the warmer months. Fast Shipping! Will be a return customer...Thanks!
Sandi L
NY, United States
2012-06-23
Jeff S
MD, United States
2012-06-23
The item arrived quickly and was exactly as described. I would purchase from Historical Emporium again and recomend to others.
Saba A
IL, United States
2012-06-22
Robert L
LA, United States
2012-06-22
my product was everything it was claimed to be. Great buy, quality products.
Judy G
KS, United States
2012-06-22
John N
NY, United States
2012-06-22
Solange F
NV, United States
2012-06-22
looked like good quality and a great price. I was right.
Timothy R
GA, United States
2012-06-22
EXCELLENT QUALITY AND SERVICE !!!
Felicia O
NY, United States
2012-06-22
Jeffrey J
ME, United States
2012-06-22
Rebecca F
MI, United States
2012-06-22
Very sharp vest..
James B
TX, United States
2012-06-22
John M
-, United States
2012-06-22
Good quality and service.
Aaron C
NE, United States
2012-06-22
You sell quality goods and ship reliably.
Gary B
MN, United States
2012-06-22
The items arrived very quickly and were exactly as expected.
Dee C
CA, United States
2012-06-22
Excellent site for western clothing. Prices are very reasonable. I will definitely recommend to others and I will be back often as a customer.
Robert A
CA, United States
2012-06-22
the service was very fast and easy
Amanda B
WA, United States
2012-06-22
Shipment arrived within a week, very fast! Everything was as ordered and neatly packaged. High quality items....perfect for our victorian wedding!
Rosser T
NC, United States
2012-06-22
Frederick L
OH, United States
2012-06-22
Lenny C
MD, United States
2012-06-22
on time and got what i expected
Roger A
KS, United States
2012-06-22
Holster and belt received and seem to be pretty much what was advertised. The price was substantially less than anything else I could find, so I did wonder about quality but I must say I'm satisfied with what I received.
Vincent W
WA, United States
2012-06-22
John R
BC, United States
2012-06-22
To begin, very friendly service on the order, very fast shipping totally satisfied with holsters that I purchased
Karen V
CA, United States
2012-06-22
I received my order in perfect condition. It was safely packaged and I got it even earlier than I'd expected. Customer service was great as well.
Steven F
AZ, United States
2012-06-22
the debut of the vest is set for tonight at a stated meeting , but it wears very well , is real comfortable , the church where i attend , most of our elders wear , long sleeve white shirts , black or dark blue trousers , dark matching ties , and a 'vest' , i am extending an alternative to the suit jacket . thanks for being on the internet .
Gary H
CO, United States
2012-06-22
totally satisfied, workmanship, material,and service,.
Dorothy W
CA, United States
2012-06-22
Heard it was among the best - honest and reliable
Steven C
VA, United States
2012-06-22
Service was excellent, outstanding, and superior in every way. I underestimated my sizes however, and nothing fit properly because I've become too ( FAT ) .... so, I'm undertaking a diet to fit into these clothes the next time I order. But the quality of fabric, tailoring, and workmanship was of the highest quality.
Michael M
NY, United States
2012-06-22
Cody C
CA, United States
2012-06-22
i love historical emporium and i have told a few friends about H.E and they love it as well it a great store and i plan on buying more stuff
Lloyd D
CA, United States
2012-06-22
Excellent quality and great service specially by one of your representative named Eve. She displayed a highly professional and very accommodating attitude toward customers, which encouraged me to continue to do business with your company.... Lloyd Aron Douglas
Denice B
MI, United States
2012-06-22
I love the things I bought! Great service ! I received my order quickly and in perfect condition.
Robert B
NJ, United States
2012-06-22
your customer service and shipping time was the BEST. i will certainly be doing business with you again
Diane M
CA, United States
2012-06-22
Needed period pieces for a themed wedding, the selection was great, and since you are nearby, I expected shipping to be quick.
T L
SC, United States
2012-06-22
awesome experience
Barbara B
FL, United States
2012-06-22
Michael M
OH, United States
2012-06-22
Fast shipping , Great products Ill purchase from you again for sure!!
Lynn G
CA, United States
2012-06-22
Your customer service was excellent! Never been happier with an online retailer. You should give tips to other sites!
Charlotte S
CA, United States
2012-06-22
sizes was off, not very accurate to shirt size
Dennis C
VA, United States
2012-06-22
Michael W
PA, United States
2012-06-22
Long shipping time, the product made in china and felt cheap. In light of this, the item is overpriced. Finally, the wrong size vest was sent. A real shame.
John S
MO, United States
2012-06-22
It seems to be of good quality, I just wish that the sleeve length was a little longer.
Kevin D
OH, United States
2012-06-22
James M
NY, United States
2012-06-22
I had a good experience dealing with your company. Your call taker was pleasant and professional and my order was received within a few days. I look forward to doing business with you again in the future.
Gale N
CA, United States
2012-06-22
nice products, good service
Nili P
MA, United States
2012-06-22
First item I received was broken. When I contacted you, you immediately sent me out a new one - great customer service!
Marvin M
GA, United States
2012-06-22
Adrian H
TX, United States
2012-06-22
Order was received fairly fast and the products were exactly as described.
David G
CA, United States
2012-06-22
You guys are great I could not be happier with the quality and service great job!!
David J
CO, United States
2012-06-22
Excellent products, and very fast service. The glassed that I purchased were perfect. They complimented my look very nicely, and were of decent quality. I would highly recommend this company for all period purchases.
Holly M
CA, United States
2012-06-22
Everyone was very helpful and my order got here fast. THANK YOU EVERYONE!!
James G
MI, United States
2012-06-22
Customer Service was very helpful and prompt with responses!
Robert S
IA, United States
2012-06-22
Steven S
CA, United States
2012-06-22
Your response, your clothing, from my point of view, is EXCELLENT! Keep up the great work and the top quality.
Susan A
FL, United States
2012-06-22
You are always very helpful and an important resource for our theatre. Thank you for this past order and many before.
Andrew L
MI, United States
2012-06-22
Quality, in every sense of the word. I'm a history buff and I enjoyed seeing actual period clothing at a good value with exceptional service. I found everything I needed, but I think an interesting branch out would be in vintage military uniforms. After all, many gentleman of the time, particulary early-mid 19th century, were likely to have served in some conflict. I think it would be an interesting addition to the wonderful selection already provided.
Bethany B
CO, United States
2012-06-22
Fast Service, great quality, respectable prices!
Sean R
OR, United States
2012-06-22
Julie H
CA, United States
2012-06-19
James T
OH, United States
2012-06-24
I ordered some knickers which you said you had in stock, then returned my payment for them, with no further comment. The items you did send were of good quality, and delivery was prompt. Thank You

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service