Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2012-07-08

Cat
LA, United States
2012-07-03
Skirt is true to size and very flattering.
Cat
LA, United States
2012-07-03
I am often cautious ordering shoes over the internet due to my wide feet. These came in and I was very pleasantly surprised. Comfortable, look like leather, and a great deal for the price. I am very pleased with this purchase.
Cat
LA, United States
2012-07-03
Comfortable but runs a bit large. You may want to order down a size.
SOPHIA BERETTA
TN, United States
2012-07-05
This item is very nice. It looks great with my blouse
SOPHIA BERETTA
TN, United States
2012-07-05
This is a nice suit. The jacket is short on me. I am long waisted. I will be returning this today
T Gibs
WA, United States
2012-07-05
A very nice vest, well made and feels nice. I was worried i may be too warm (being a larger man) but i was suprising cool in it.
T Gibs
WA, United States
2012-07-05
These are pretty nice looking, with the only exception in the shedding. Not a large issue.
Christine
RI, United States
2012-07-05
My fiance is wearing this vest when we get married (informal, outdoor wedding; vest-shirt-no tie-slacks-sandals). The Large-Tall fits him like it was made for him, and the materials and construction are of good quality. The color goes well with almost any other shade of brown or beige.
Charles Alyn Pruett
FL, United States
2012-07-05
very nice shirt - sizing seems a bit larger than the other coulter large that I bought - but not a problem!
George L. Hersh
CA, United States
2012-07-05
Honest price. Accurately described in catalog. Not a top quality lined hat, but excellent value for money for occasional costume wear. Prompt delivery in well-protected packaging.
Candace Williams
TE, United States
2012-07-05
The hat I ordered for my husband arrived several days before expected, in perfect condition, and it fit correctly. The quality was surprisingly good considering how inexpensive it was - what more could we ask?
Theodore Sawyer
OR, United States
2012-07-05
This is an exquisite vest. Colors on computers are not true and the vest is darker than shown on the website but no less exquisite. I am very pleased with the item.
Linda Pulver
NJ, United States
2012-07-05
I gave this as a birthday present to a very good friend who is into the steampunk craze. He loved it, and loved the fact that I bought the Pewter. He is going to some kind of steampunk gathering in September, and I wanted to be there, is spirit anyway. So I am very satisfied.
Angie Hatcher
OH, United States
2012-07-05
I was very impressed with the service and the quality of the product.
Angie Hatcher
OH, United States
2012-07-05
I was very impressed with the service and the quality of the product.
Angie Hatcher
OH, United States
2012-07-05
I was very impressed with the service and the quality of the product.
Vic Leftwich
CA, United States
2012-07-05
A magnificent display piece. The design and construction of this sculpture will awe anyone into steampunk. The dials, gears, knobs, and details should delight anyone. The display base is perfectly matched to the sculpture. And it's heavy. So be very careful if you own a curious cat. It's look and placement will be a factor if you don't want a pile of busted up small pieces on your floor. Guard it, take care, and it will last as long as you like. No flaws in the workmanship, and I'm a perfectionist. Vic
Sean Peschel
TE, United States
2012-07-05
The Chesterfield coat is by far the pinnacle of style for the Gent who enjoys looking great! This overcoat is by far the best I have ever owned, I cant wait for winter now!

United States
2012-07-05
The aviator cap is authentic looking and comfortable. It fits snug on mens size large head (ex: large motorcycle helmet size). Wearing for costume but my husband likes it so much that he may wear it when flying his ultralight airplane.
jerry keith
FL, United States
2012-07-05
Ascot was high quality and the delivery was very fast.
Karen E. Failoni
NE, United States
2012-07-05
very pleased with it, received many complements on my new skirt. I'm also involved with our 50th celebration of the Erie Canal museum, and intend to wear it there.
James
United States
2012-07-05
So I've never actually bought another pair of trousers, BUT these things are great! I have large thighs and a small waist and they were able to get me into a pair with just a little bit of a size increase, which the handy "butt strap" takes care of fantastically. They are a little bit darker than the picture would leave you to believe, though that may be because I have yet to launder them. The color you should think of when you order them is of Kahlua and creme, so not much darker, but I was surprised because they looked like they would match a vest that I had, but it actually works out better this way because they are a nice complement to my suspenders and vest, so everything worked in the end.
James
United States
2012-07-05
And only suspenders I own, but that's not the point. These are great, seem very sturdy, and (more importantly) they are very adjustable (on all three straps) perfectly fittin the pair of trousers that I also bought here.
Sam Kandil
OH, United States
2012-07-05
I found these gloves to be very nice. They fit perfectly but for a guy i have small hands. My father tried them on and they fit GREAT! So i guess just about anyone can use them. For the price they are epic. And very warm. I shall be wearing these once winter strikes!
Sam Kandil
OH, United States
2012-07-05
I am a diehard fan of victorian Clothing, when i found this website with such a lovely looking Top Hat like that. I had to jump on this! Overall i am greatly impressed, the material is top notch. The sizing chart is without a doubt accurate to the T. my family thinks I look like a genuine aristocrat with this hat on. And boy do i feel like one! All in all, if you want a top hat, for a good price and well made one, Then my friends look no further....

United States
2012-07-05
This blouse is gorgeous but not true to size. It runs big and I had to reorder a size smaller and pay the extra shipping.

United States
2012-07-05
Once again a beautiful shirt but the sizes are WAY off. HUGE on me and I wear a ladies large or men's medium. Once again I had to pay the return shipping.
MICKEY BROWN
CA, United States
2012-07-05
Wonderful Walking Stick, just what I was looking for. It arrived in a timely manner. My only concern is the handle is a little loose and rocks a bit. Otherwise a good purchase.
Kathleen Arvila-Scott
MT, United States
2012-07-05
This hat was absolutely stunning with my 1870's Polonnaise gown! I received so many compliments on my ensemble at a recent Centennial celebration. This hat was just the perfect touch!! Very high quality in construction and materials.
Rev. G. Waters
PA, United States
2012-07-05
This hat is very nice, form fitting and classy. A true gentlemans hat.
Susan LaLone
WA, United States
2012-07-06
As usual, incredibly good service. Fast, very good, helpful & reliable sizing chart. Great blouse, just as advertised. A pleasure doing business again with Historical Emporium, I'll be back for more.
Kirsten K.
CA, United States
2012-07-06
This vest is perfect for my fiancÚ for our wedding...only thing is, since he is 6'4, we ended up having to exchange the vest for one size larger for length...
Kirsten K.
CA, United States
2012-07-06
Easy to wear, classy, the perfect tie for the rest of the outfit we bought for my fiancÚ to wear at our wedding...
Kirsten K.
CA, United States
2012-07-06
Great quality, quick delivery....my fiancÚ is so happy with this and everything else we purchased...he ended up exchanging for one size bigger that his measurements, because it felt snug on the shoulders, but they were quick about that. Very satisfied
Patricia Williams
NO, United States
2012-07-06
It looks wonderful and we got it in a timely manner. It's all good.
Patricia Williams
NO, United States
2012-07-06
My husband just loves this shirt. He doesn't like much of a collar. He is happy so I am happy.
Grifdog
VA, United States
2012-07-06
While I like steampunk, this is a great normal world watch. I carried a Waltham watchworks pocket watch for many years, it consistently failed, and I finally gave up on it as the annual repair costs were several hundred dollars. I ran across this one - and the price here is cheaper than directly from the manufacturer. It is an EXCELLENT timepiece, no holds barred. I wish I had found this years ago. I wear this to Court everyday and I have more comments on it than my legal arguments.
Puck
United States
2012-07-06
Amazing piece. Beautifully made. Great quality. Shopping here again.
Puck
United States
2012-07-06
Great quality, the pattern deviates less than on the picture. Well worth the price.
Terry Siminski
TX, United States
2012-07-06
I loved my bonnet. I used it when gardening to keep the sun out of my eyes and my hair off my neck. Will be buying more.
Christie Shell
MA, United States
2012-07-06
Great transaction! The hat came perfectly shipped and just in time for my sister's birthday. She had mentioned how much she wanted a Straw top hat and I was so fortunate to find your website. Thank you again for the great service!

United States
2012-07-06
The problem is with size, I wear a 43 coat and 40 pants so I get a large vest. The large vest should fit 43 thru 45, so I should have plenty of room in the waist. I have hardly any room in the waist. I have to take it to a tailor and hope there is enough material to let out. Also the length is of a long and not of a regular. The last 4 vests I have ordered are either one size small and in a tall mens, or its proper size in a tall mens. All the vests are great but priced to high for the coast of alterations
Warren Friedrich
TE, United States
2012-07-06
The tie arrived within two and a half days of placing the order as it was shipped USPS Priority Mail. However, when it arrived I discovered the strap was way too long. The catalog states the tie will fit neck sizes 14 to 20 inches. I wear a 151/2 neck size and the strap, even drawn up the the max, was still too long to fit properly. The problem was solved using a pair of scissors and a sewing machine. The tie now fits perfectly and looks great. It adds a great deal to the 1800's look I am trying to achieve.
John J Walsh
NY, United States
2012-07-06
Near An Exact Fit Of Perfection! Period Authentic And Comfortable, Complete With Working Pockets And Fully Ajustable Backstap. Button Holes Tend To "Fray & Catch" Slightly Time & Again But Overall, A Well Worthy Investment Of Finer Quality.
John J Walsh
NY, United States
2012-07-06
Near An Exact Fit Of Perfection! Period Authentic And Comfortable, Complete With Working Pockets And Fully Ajustable Backstap. Button Holes Tend To "Fray & Catch" Slightly Time & Again But Overall, A Well Worthy Investment Of Finer Quality.
Scott "Memige" Den Adel
CA, United States
2012-07-06
In an era of cheap props, and photo 'corrected' ads, this pleasantly was exactly how I expected it to be. A well made, and beautiful walking stick. The details on the head are nice, and the entire piece is stately. Definitely a good finishing touch to any gentleman's apparel.

United States
2012-07-06
Wonderful! Comfortable fabric. Subtle decorative stitching is beautiful. Does ride quite low, which will be excellent in hot weather. Am used to misses sizes and had to go up 1-2 for an equivalent junior; (meaning the measurement chart wasn't a good guide). Entirely pleased here. 5 out of 5 Hearts.
Kim Mathews
KY, United States
2012-07-06
The cameo brooch was the one thing that completed my overall look and it is elegant enough for me to wear on other occasions.
Kim Mathews
KY, United States
2012-07-06
The hoop underskirt arrived and was a perfect fit, the price was reasonable a well.
J.R. Strachan
CA, United States
2012-07-06
Vest is high quality and looks great! worth every penny! fit was perfect, and as usual..it arrived FAST! thanks again!
J.R. Strachan
CA, United States
2012-07-06
Wife LOVED it! She said it looked even better than in the ad..high quality, and went perfect with her dress..arrived fast as usual, and the customer service is BEYOND AWESOME..couldn't be happier! Looking forward to placing more orders..LOVE this store! thanks again!
J.R. Strachan
CA, United States
2012-07-06
shirt fit perfect, arrived super fast, and the customer service at Historical Emporium is top notch! It's a welcome breath of fresh air in this day and age of rude service, to deal with a company who cares, and goes that extra mile to make sure customer is happy..and my wife and i ARE! we WILL be placing many future orders...our thanks to the staff! This shirt is awesome..
Warren Friedrich
TE, United States
2012-07-06
Great hat, outstanding hat; exactly what I was looking for. Wore it out and about today and received several complenments, one lady warned someone might want to steal it as it looks so good. The hat fits my German vent and it will tail nicely into my reenactment of a early German merchant in Austin, Texas. Delivery on the first hat was really fast (UPS Priority Mail). The only problem I had was that the first hat was too large and I had to exchange it. Delivery on the exchange took longer, (6 days) because USPS was the carrier. When the hat arrived the box was extremely deformed. Fortunately, the hat only suffered minor damage in one spot on the brim. With a little coaxing the brim soon regained its shape. I am thankfull there is a Gentlmen's Emporium where one can purchase period clothing. Selection is outanding, locating and ordering an item is so easy, and the prices are extremely reasonable. Kudos!!
S. Maxwell
United States
2012-07-06
The tie seemed ok, but was not ironed out flat along it's full length because of an issue of where the fabric is joined.
Diane Lindsey
CA, United States
2012-07-07
When I first opened the fan out, it seemed just fine, but it's so thick that folding it up in it's accordian folds is not an easy thing to do and it won't stay shut, mainly because its too thick. Would love to get my money back, but I don't want to pay the cost of shipping. I probably won't be jumping to buy anything else due to your pay your own shipping policy. It's too expensive. Very disappointed.

United States
2012-07-07
I have been consistently pleased with your products and service. Keep adding colors and variety and you will have more business!!
Anderson D
NO, United States
2012-07-05
These are really nice and great for period dress. I'm considering going to these for all of my jeans.
Fred Garcia
TE, United States
2012-07-05
The western gun belt and holster are made of quality leather material. My Colt Peacemaker fits well in the holster and the 45L ammo fits snugly in the ammo loops. Tooling adds so much to the look of the rig. Great fit, can't say enough good things about the belt/holster combo. Thanks.
Anderson D
NO, United States
2012-07-05
This item is so hip it's gonna double as my new riding vest.
Bubbu Lee
TX, United States
2012-07-05
this holster is great for my blank gun. it is beautiful and the price was very awesome at only 40 dollars.
earl-cowboy-klemm
MA, United States
2012-07-05
these boots are wonderful. the fit is perfect. i am so pleased with the product that i ordered another pair in brown.as far as service i can find no problems everything is delivered promptly i,am very pleased

United States
2012-07-05

United States
2012-07-06
This vest arrived in excellent condition and very quickly. The item was exactly what I was looking for. I would most definitely order from here again.
Thomas Mullen
AL, United States
2012-07-06
Quality product. Excellent value.
Elaine E
CA, United States
2012-07-08
quick, efficient; products are as good or better than pictured
Anson L
TX, United States
2012-07-08
The swimsuit was made of very cheap material like a Halloween costume - for $47 should have been higher quality and should have had a disclaimer that it wouldn't actually work as a swimsuit. I returned it.
Mike B
IA, United States
2012-07-08
Daniel K
HI, United States
2012-07-07
Quick and good fololow through.
Helen M
CA, United States
2012-07-07
great value, good quality
Rich S
GA, United States
2012-07-07
Menber of SASS, Shiped very fast, Well made holster, Pleased looks great. Thanks Rick
Robert B
VA, United States
2012-07-07
Tim S
IL, United States
2012-07-07
Excellent quickness. Size is a little large but going to make it work because of the price.
Kyle H
IN, United States
2012-07-06
Delivery was prompt, product was well made and matched the description on the website to a dot. I will certainly be visiting the website again as I work on building my dandy ensemble.
Douglas C
WI, United States
2012-07-06
Jason Z
CA, United States
2012-07-06
Excellent selection. Service was good and fast!
Jason Z
CA, United States
2012-07-06
Excellent selection. Service was good and fast!
Brandy G
SC, United States
2012-07-06
Only place I found that had nice reasonably priced full back vests for my wedding
Erik C
IL, United States
2012-07-06
Richard P
CA, United States
2012-07-06
absolutly - service is outstanding, shipping prompt and products without par! Richard Pierce
Susan H
OR, United States
2012-07-06
Scott A
CA, United States
2012-07-06
The materials ordered were high quality, in good condition, packaged properly, and arrived quickly. In terms of a vendor, I couldn't ask for anything better, well done. I will definitely be returning to you for future needs, and have already recommended you to several friends interested in period apparel.
Marie N
CA, United States
2012-07-06
Your service is exceptional.
Jann R
WI, United States
2012-07-06
I was pleased to get my order prompt and in excellent condition. the mustaches that I ordered held up to repeated uses and looked good every time. Thank you Jann Roethe
Thomas M
AL, United States
2012-07-06
Rachael B
CO, United States
2012-07-06
Richard M
WI, United States
2012-07-06
I have always had great service for great product!
Mary M
LA, United States
2012-07-06
Our community theatre is doing The Music Man this summer. I bought the Abbington blouse and some accessories for my costume. They were a big hit. Several cast members asked where I bought them.
Warren F
TX, United States
2012-07-06
The hat I ordered is a high quality hat and once I got the right size, I was extremely pleased with it. It's a cool hat!
Marion B
NJ, United States
2012-07-06
great site; great service
Danielle T
CT, United States
2012-07-06
The quality was spectatular, everything was as advertised. I am very pleased and will be shopping here again.
Stephen W
IN, United States
2012-07-06
Jd G
VA, United States
2012-07-06
You guarantee to stand behind the products, and you ease of use in purchasing on the website.
Leon D
NY, United States
2012-07-06
Patricia W
NC, United States
2012-07-06
We received our order in a timely manner and love the items quality.
Renato P
MA, United States
2012-07-06
Richard B
VA, United States
2012-07-06
Christian S
CA, United States
2012-07-06
Excellent products and awesome service!
Justin W
CA, United States
2012-07-06
its great, but things needed adjustments. I spent 20 minutes with a pair of pliars to make sure my glasses didnt look all crooked on my face.
Julia Z
CA, United States
2012-07-06
Russ S
TX, United States
2012-07-06
Richard C
NC, United States
2012-07-06
I was very pleased with your service and fast response to the order. Two thinks come to mind to look at. The directions for measurement on pants made me select a size much too large and resulted in return and reorder with additional expense. Also the straw hat brim is nor flat as I would expect and has a wavy look to it. It will pass.
Ed S
MT, United States
2012-07-06
High quality product and received very quickly. The best pricing I found on-line for victorian products!
Andrey A
OR, United States
2012-07-06
Just great!
Perry M
WA, United States
2012-07-06
great customer relations
John W
AL, United States
2012-07-06
Both items received in a timely manner. Less than a week. Better than any other company I've ordered from on-line.
Ginger S
CO, United States
2012-07-05
the people there a great always always very helpful and great love the outfit
Vic L
CA, United States
2012-07-06
Very high quality, no defects, unbelievabe custumer service via e mail. Plus, plus, the guns look great, feel great, and are quite the conversation pieces. One word of warning: These are display pieces and although the body of the weapons are very heavy and solid, there are a lot of detailed, applied parts that need to be treated with care. Anyone who loves steampunk, will adore these pieces. But be careful!
Robin J
CA, United States
2012-07-06
Though your sizing was off....I finally figured it out and now all is good...the clothing is spectacular !!!!!
Samuel K
OH, United States
2012-07-06
I found this store, by accident. I was very aggravated one day that none of my stores where i live sell victorian clothing. so one day i typed in on google. IS THERE ANY STORES THAT SELL victorian ERA CLOTHING? and sure enough your store popped up. Within two days i realized without a doubt i wanted to get something. I talked to customer support and they were very nice and helpful. i got my products in a speedy time, and the quality was phenomenal. Without a doubt i will recommend to more people because you guys have it right in everything you do, and thats saying something, since i fear buying online. Thank you! My sister is already planning on buying clothing fromm you all and my friends :)
Darla M
CA, United States
2012-07-06
Very nice selection of 19th century clothing. Great shopping experience.
Lakin W
KS, United States
2012-07-06
Chris D
MA, United States
2012-07-06
Already did!
Conrad K
IL, United States
2012-07-06
Excelent product- fast shipping
Jerry K
FL, United States
2012-07-06
Loren C
TN, United States
2012-07-06
do not care for the poor tracking system. i could not get info to show . and it said product had to be signed for on expedited delivery which means unles recipient stays home all day they cannot get delivery quick. appatrently this is left up to discrtetion of delivery people which defeats the purpose of expedited delivery and i was not informed my people at the target home would have to either stay home from work or not get expedited delivery ( very heavy extra charge for what turned out to be less than desired in terms of speedy arrivel.. should be customers right to choose if recipients have to miss work to get expedited delivery
Orlando S
CA, United States
2012-07-06
I ordered a pith helmet for my son's birthday and within two days I received my order. The selection was very good, the website easy to use, and now you have satisfied customer. By the way, my son loved the helmet. Great job!
Joseph P
CA, United States
2012-07-06
excellent workmanship and super speedy shopping. Being a big guy 6'3 and 280 lbs it's great to find clothes that fit. I got a few coats and pants and vest. This is my 3rd perchance.
William D
MI, United States
2012-07-06
good quality and fast delivery
Thomas R
MO, United States
2012-07-06
Bruce A
CA, United States
2012-07-05
I ordered black leather gauntlets and I was very pleased with the product. The fit was great and they were exactly as advertised. They were delivered within a few days of my order. I will be ordering from them again and I will recommend them to anybody looking for quality clothing and accessories.They get a five out of five star rating from me.
Jerry P
OK, United States
2012-07-05
The four vintage swimsuits were exactly what I wanted the two couples (sons and daughters in law) to have. The loved them and I'll be back for more stuff. Thanks so much.
Michael D
-, Germany
2012-07-05
Charles D
CA, United States
2012-07-05
Earl K
MD, United States
2012-07-05
i give your customer service 5 stars
Chuck J
IA, United States
2012-07-05
Great Service - Shipped Quickly - Good Products
Carol M
MN, United States
2012-07-05
Theodore S
OR, United States
2012-07-05
Delivery was very quick and the item gorgeous.
Robert R
IL, United States
2012-07-05
Completely satisfied with all purchased thank you
Amity B
TX, United States
2012-07-05
i got my order within 3 days of order. i love the quality of the order and the fast delivery was great.
Jeremy H
MO, United States
2012-07-05
I was having trouble finding good hats from stores around where I live, and The Emporium had a really good selection.
Dennis P
CO, United States
2012-07-05
I have ordered from this company numerous times and am very impressed with the pricing, the quality, and the excellent customer service. The one time I needed to exchange an item, it was handled very quickly with no questions asked and a fast turn around. These folks have my business and I always recommend them! - Dennis
George H
CA, United States
2012-07-05
Responsible catalog descriptions with good illustrations.
Ernest S
BC, Canada
2012-07-05
Products were as advertised and are just what I was looking for
Fred G
TX, United States
2012-07-05
Excellent customer service. Item arrived promptly as advertised.
Grace H
IA, United States
2012-07-05
Very, very prompt service!
James C
CA, United States
2012-07-05
Could not get plan left hand holster in black.
Christine C
GA, United States
2012-07-05
The Emporium carries clothes that my fiance actually liked the idea of wearing at a price that I can afford. The sizing info is very clear and customer service responds very quickly.
Joseph S
MD, United States
2012-07-05
Delivery and product description perfect....
Thornton B
WA, United States
2012-07-05
I think the nicest thing that happened was the trusting response I received when I had to return part of the order. Someday I'll order a top hat and boots.
Valarie G
CA, United States
2012-07-05
I received my order within 2 days, I was very impressed!
Jeffrey F
MA, United States
2012-07-05
Catherine D
LA, United States
2012-07-03
Items lost in shipping were immediately resent. Customer service was a breeze to work with.

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service