Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2012-07-15

Married to a Dandy
SU, United States
2012-07-09
Fantastic product. I bought this for my husband as a birthday gift and he absolutely loves it. It is very good quality at an extremely reasonable price (as we live in the UK I had to pay duty on it and it's still worth the price!). It looks great on the website but is so much nicer when you actually see and handle it- very intricate, heavy, but not too heavy, a nice solid piece with a chain of a good length to stretch across the waistcoat front. I guarantee you won't be disappointed if you buy this watch.

TE, United States
2012-07-09
I initially wanted the US made version however my size was out so I went with this one. Size is spot on and material is good for import.

TE, United States
2012-07-09
They were a little long so I took them to my tailor who is going to shorten them up. They look great and feel great.

TE, United States
2012-07-09
I really like the vest. I bought it to go with my entire outfit purchased from GE. The buttons feel a little rough thus catching on the threads in the button holes. The buttons also feel a tad flimsy so later on I may re-sew them. I am wearing this, along with one of the coats with tails, puff tie and crimson pants for my wedding. We have a Halloween theme and I am going for a steampunk look. This is also going to be used for Texas Ren Fest. The vest is well made and is worth the money, which is cheap to me anyway.

TE, United States
2012-07-09
Bought these to go with my black baker city vest and regency tailcoat. The pants are very comfortable. It will take some getting used to since they ride up high but even then they are comfortable. I wish I could wear them daily. Wearing this for Texas Ren Fest and our Halloween wedding this year.

TE, United States
2012-07-09
This is the center piece to my steampunk outfit for our wedding in the fall. This is doubling as my Texas Ren Fest outfit also. I am a slender guy: 6'2" 140. I bought a medium because of my long arms even though I knew the chest was going to be super big. Took this and other GE items to my tailor. He is going to have some difficulty tailoring it because apparently there are no tradition seams under the arms in order to take in the torso. So he is not sure how he will make it smaller but he seems to think it will be possible. The material is fabulous and the price is well worth it. I would like to see the buttons a little more secure however that is a personal preference and does not reflect the truth quality of the coat. The two small pockets in the back are a plus.
Merrill Miller
NJ, United States
2012-07-10
Not in the least flimsy. Really nice open weave so it breathes very well in the hot summer even though the shirt cloth is thick. Washes beautifully. Liked this shirt so much I bought another. Only criticism: it only comes in this one color.
Merrill Miller
NJ, United States
2012-07-10
While in almost all resepcts a wonderful shirt, the material definitely had problems. Many creases in the cotton material would not come out. Had hoped they would relax with washings but no. The material is a black and white thread pattern and my wife noticed that some of the black threads were pulling out and fraying around the belt line after just one wearing. Unfortunaely had to return same. No other problems reported with this shirt accoring to the HE rep. I talked to, so perhaps this is just a fluke. Would have tried another but there was not one in the main store they could inspect before shipment so I declined getting another.
Merrill Miller
NJ, United States
2012-07-10
Nicest fitting shirt I have ever purchaed from HE. The weave is very tight so for really hot summer days it's a bit warm. Had this on all day in 95+ heat at work. I was wilted but shirt still looked crisp! Well made. Top drawer shirt.
Felsen Binger Bejnar
BC, Canada
2012-07-11
Came just in time for my wedding. Looked Great!
Brandon Morgan
UT, United States
2012-07-11
I LOVE my top hat. So much so that the word love in my opening sentence was actually capitalized via holding down the shift key, not just hitting the caps lock key. I'm that serious about it. The hat fits perfect and while it took some getting used to, I now where it everywhere. I was worried how well it would hold up to weathering as it rains and snows a lot here, but thus far its held up like a champ! I have recommended this site to all my friends looking for classy head apparel.
David MacKenzie
CO, United States
2012-07-13
Incredible topper. This hat looks first class all the way. Sizing is a bit larger than I'm used to, but a bit of felt in the sweatband and it is great. Highly recommended. I really can't recommend this company enough for victorian clothing. They are just incredible.
Nicolas F. Bruno
NE, United States
2012-07-13
Works perfect for my assassin's creed costume, and works well for formal affairs. Great product. Thanks guys! Get more stuff like this in stock!
Salvatore Antonio Di-Francescantonio
NE, United States
2012-07-13
It was awful, it was cheap and hard, and was nothing like I had expected. If they had negative stars I would definitively have picked it. Sorry to say this but it was very disappointing. Also, it said large well, it sure didn't feel like it, and what was with the pimp feather, That really ruined the essence of a great hat. :(
Lady Ebony
PA, United States
2012-07-13
Fits perfectly and it came three days early!! :)
Ashley Trizna
IL, United States
2012-07-13
Yet another great product I purchased from your site! Thanks so much :)
Sam Kandil
OH, United States
2012-07-13
Okay so first things first this is the first vest i have ever purchased. I love the material to this vest. It feels very nice, and not cheap in any way. There is only one problem to this vest, anybody planning on buying this please take my advice so you dont make my mistake. I always wear an XL. That is what i have fit into for the past three years. I bought the XL vest thinking..... "It must be the same size." Well they arent, these vests in particular are semi small. the XL couldnt even button up. So i sent it back and the 2X arrived today. I tried it on and it fits. Its a tad tight but i plan on losing weight to fix that issue. So here is my recommendation. If you are planning on buying this vest make sure you order a size UP. I'm telling you this to save you the heartache. Anyway other than that, i love this vest and i recommend it to all that can buy it, and that share an interest in victorian clothing like myself ;)
Sam Kandil
OH, United States
2012-07-13
I absolutely without a doubt love these gauntlets. They remind me of Executioner Gauntlets during the Crusades or some form of Medieval clothing. The sizing is accurate and they fit snug, the way i prefer my gloves/gauntlets. These will go great with my Gothic victorian outfit i am striving to make.
Sam Kandil
OH, United States
2012-07-13
Some people that bought this claimed it woudnt fit in there eye, maybe its just me but it fit me great, It never really fell out. Unless i ended up sweating. It did then. But its not like im planning on getting in fist fights with it haha. Other than that it fits fine. You just gotta fit it on your eye in that perfect position. Once i figured it out, It worked like a charm. Im not to fond of the string attached to it. But anything thats not black i usually dont like.
Matt Beecher
WI, United States
2012-07-13
I have been DREAMING of getting this coat ever since I started getting into victorian musicals like Jekyll & Hyde, Phantom Les Miz etc. and was about to have a tailor make it from a pattern and god knows how expensive purchasing the fabric can get, so when I saw that this was being offered I instantly took the opportunity to get my hands on one and made my order right away, and I was blown away at the quality. I ordered one size up from my actual size so it could be used in the colder months as well as fit me in the years to come an not for a lesser period of time. The drape of the skirt is amazing, the black silk inner lining really just makes the coat flow so smoothly it's fantastic to wear. I have a LOT of different outfits and I can say that this frock will definitely make any outfit I have 100% better, so I glad this graced your website :)
Cathy Wieder
MA, United States
2012-07-14
I purchased this suit for my husband for a vintage dance event. The suit arrived quickly, fit perfectly, and is incredibly well constructed. What was especially nice is that this is a lovely but unusual combination for a turn of the century summer suit -- no one else had a suit quite like this one. He wore your boater with it and looked quite dashing. By now we have come to expect a certain level of quality and this suit did not disappoint!

United States
2012-07-14
The vest is beautifully made and looks great. The only problem is that it does not match the other sizes on the site. I ordered several styles at the same time, all the same size, and this was the only one that was too small...although it does give me an incentive to lose the extra pounds.
Barbara Selletti
PA, United States
2012-07-14
This is really cute! It looks even better than depicted. Fits well. Due to it's color, would recomment wearing another layer underneath id you plan to get it wet or you'll show more than you want. ;)
Barbara Selletti
PA, United States
2012-07-14
Very disappointed in the sizing. I normally wear a medium, so this is what I ordered. BIG mistake! These pantaloons are more like extra small! Now, I'll have to open the sides and add a panel. I bought these to save time, but it backfired. If you by these, buy at least a size larger than stated. Note from HEI: The sizing chart has been corrected since this review was written.
Clay Allison
TX, United States
2012-07-14
These soft, comfortable boots surpassed my expectations. They are simple in style and authentic in appearance. Thank you for being a great site! Clay
donald phelps
IL, United States
2012-07-14
Very good helmet that is keeping the sun off my head and cool at the same time. If something happens to it I hope you can replace it.

United States
2012-07-14
It is perfect and arrived fast. Thank you JUDY
mr briscoe
United States
2012-07-14
I was a bit worried i wanted to actually try on a hat before i brought it, but no such look finding a place to do that. However after reading the helpful reviews, i can say that I with a size 8 head am able to fit the helment on perfectly
Marilyn Chesson
AL, Canada
2012-07-14
I recently purchased two evangeline blouses from you. When ordering I never realized these were Scully brands. The quality is excellent and the product was exactly as shown and described. The detail on the blouse is excellent and the lacing and eyelets look fantastic.
Jimmy Stewart
CO, United States
2012-07-14
Awesome look with my vest!
Don R.
TX, United States
2012-07-14
These trousers are very nice. The fabric is heavy (plus), which means I'll wear them in Autumn/Spring/Winter....probably not in summer. These are the first trousers I've ordered in the retro style. I bought them because I wear suspenders with all my trousers, and I wanted a pair of pants made for suspenders. I was pleasantly surprised! They have a nice trim/athletic cut to them, and they fit me nicely. I ordered my usual size because all my pants are high on my waist because of my suspenders. They fit a little more snug than my usual 34's, but not uncomfortable.....I like them better than blue jeans.....I wish all my suit and dress pants were cut like these pants. It would be great to have these patterns in summer "chino" cloths.
Don R.
TX, United States
2012-07-14
This is a cool vest. I wear suspenders with all my trousers and I thought this would be a nice casual vest with my "emporium" trousers, and other casual pants in my closet...chinos, blue jeans, etc. A vest made with washable cotton fabric is almost impossible to find anywhere but this "emporium". I really like the square cut along the waist and the cotton lining (instead of satin) which is also very hard to find elsewhere. I'm usually a perfect medium, but this vest is a little roomy. If I pull the back adjuster all the way, it fits.....the small would probably be a little too snug for me. I like this vest....ordered one in black too!
Jendra Gosai
WI, United States
2012-07-14
Excellent quality, good fit.
Jendra Gosai
WI, United States
2012-07-14
Good quality, instructions for adjusting to fit (with saw).
Jendra Gosai
WI, United States
2012-07-14
Nice design, just as pictured.
anthony cristiano
NJ, United States
2012-07-11
I love my Vigilante Town coat, great fit just have to shorten the Sleeves
anthony cristiano
NJ, United States
2012-07-11
Was not too happy with the quality of the hat, felt like it was made of cardboard
Eric shappee
KS, United States
2012-07-14
The only thing that I was not thrilled with was the small size.
Ingrid O
CA, United States
2012-07-13
John P
NM, United States
2012-07-13
fast delivery. nice product.
Troy R
GA, United States
2012-07-13
As always, great service and great products
Ken B
CA, United States
2012-07-13
love the selection
Helen M
CA, United States
2012-07-13
everything I've bought so far has been great value and quality
Len G
CA, United States
2012-07-13
Gary R
NY, United States
2012-07-12
This was my first time using your store and I like the things which I purchase. Iam sure to return to this site.
Meredith M
CA, United States
2012-07-12
The shipping is super fast. The clothing is very high quality. The customer service was helpful and friendly.
Natalie I
CA, United States
2012-07-11
Elizabeth G
CA, United States
2012-07-11
I have now purchased three items and are very pleased with the quality as well as the speed at which I received them. Thank you--I will be back!
Peggy L
CA, United States
2012-07-10
Eugene L
WA, United States
2012-07-10
No scams here. Emporium delivered nice quality goods as described in a reasonable amount of time.
Tyree P
CA, United States
2012-07-09
Love the products and the service!
Lawrence K
IN, United States
2012-07-14
Customer service was very helpful with placing my order. Overall, I will purchase additional products from here.
Ronald S
KY, United States
2012-07-14
Great quality! Fast service!!! WOW
Nick H
CA, United States
2012-07-14
Prompt delivery of my order. My order had exactly what I needed for my reenactment program. Looks great and I fit right in with the other participants.
Alfred E
FL, United States
2012-07-14
Excellent quality and received my order promptly. I have added this company in my Favorites folder which for me is a will return site..
John K
NC, United States
2012-07-14
Product came in a timely manner. Well made. I will be ordering again soon.
John D
VA, United States
2012-07-14
Suzanne S
CA, United States
2012-07-14
You guys were FAST in your delivery ! I LOVE the piece I ordered....beautiful.
Donald P
IL, United States
2012-07-14
very fine product and I would purchase another one if this one wears out!
Gene W
IL, United States
2012-07-14
Excellent,I look forward to shopping w/you again!Thank You,Vicky
Merrill M
NJ, United States
2012-07-10
Always impressed with the reps when I call. Your folks REALLY know the stock. Most helpful in looking up existing stock, colors, fit of pants, etc. Should be an 11 on the reponse bar above. Always get comments about my costumes at work and am pleased to say ...at Gentleman's Emporium.
Babs B
CA, United States
2012-07-10
Charlie H
TX, United States
2012-07-09
Order processing was a little slow. With that said, I appreciate your time and commitment to customer satisfaction and I am thoroughly pleased with my items and the transaction. My fiance and I will definitely buy more from yall. Top notch-quality-items and service. Thanks!!
Debbie R
United States
2012-07-09
Fantastic products, reasonable prices and quick delivery considerating it was to the UK. Even with the relatively high postage costs (justified by the fact you were sending to the UK) and the fact I had to pay UK duty on top, I will still buy from you again as the products and service are so good.
Cynthia G. A
TX, United States
2012-07-09
always looking for period costumes that are reasonably priced for high school drama use
Jerry G
MA, United States
2012-07-09
great quality very happy with my purchuse
Ashly R
CA, United States
2012-07-15
THe products looked very authentic and well-made.
Donald S
CO, United States
2012-07-15
Jendra G
WI, United States
2012-07-15
Donald R
TX, United States
2012-07-15
I order by phone because of the Emporium's unique product profile. I don't have to wait long to talk to a real person. I left a message once (on the 4th of July), and you returned my phone call. Thank you
Angelique L
NY, United States
2012-07-15
love the boots...can't wait for a steampunk event or the Ren. Fair in Sept. :)
Charles L
CO, United States
2012-07-14
I was satisfied with the quality of the products, and the prompt shipment.
Amandah P
NC, United States
2012-07-14
They have an EXCELLENT selection of victorian men's clothing, which I've had a hard time find elsewhere. Their prices are on average better that what I have been able to find elsewhere as well.
Nisreen H
CA, United States
2012-07-14
It is perfect and I got my order within a few days !
Barbara S
PA, United States
2012-07-14
The speed of delivery is first rate, but you need to have a better sizing chart for the clothes.
Jesse H
MA, United States
2012-07-14
Samuel K
OH, United States
2012-07-14
This would be my second purchase from Historical Emporium and once again i am greatly impressed with the quality of your products. I find your service to indeed be great. So yes i would without a doubt send word to my friends about your products. I have some new people i know that would love to order from you all and even my nine year old brother wants your products. I'm getting everyone in Ohio wanting your products.
Liliana A
TX, United States
2012-07-14
James L
TX, United States
2012-07-14
Very good service! Got here much earlier than expected!
Mark M
IN, United States
2012-07-14
Carolyn G
NY, United States
2012-07-14
I was very pleased with the speed with which I received my costumes, and the selection--our theater group is putting on a production that takes place in 1912, and I had been having trouble finding period costumes for that era. The Gibson Girl style blouses were of beautiful quality. The only complaint I had was with the cameo that I ordered. The pinback broke on it the first time we tried to pin it on. Otherwise, I was completely satisfied! I'm sure I will order from you again!
Bryan D
PA, United States
2012-07-14
the best I ever had.............thanks for USA made....Bryan
Kelly S
AZ, United States
2012-07-14
The boots I ordered, and then had to send back, were very cheaply made and the size 10 I ordered was not a size 10. Substandard products from China never fit and are never made well. Stop ordering from China!
Heather F
MD, United States
2012-07-14
I had requested that if possible my last-minute order be expedited due to travel plans, and I was happy that the order arrived so quickly and everything worked out on schedule for my husband to have the shirts he needed for his costume while touring Finland with the brass music ensemble Ameriikan Poijat. Thank you for your assistance with the quick processing of our order.
Elisabeth E
WA, United States
2012-07-13

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service