Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2012-07-29

Terry
WA, United States
2012-07-23
Excellent product. Best customer service I'v ever dealt with.
Terry
WA, United States
2012-07-23
Great product.
Amandah
United States
2012-07-26
I bought this vest as a birthday present for my husband. He absolutely loves it! The quality is superb and the cut is just right for dressing in (Gothic-)Victorian fashion, which he loves. Delivery from Gentleman's Emporium was swift and painless. Definitely worth the price!
Amandah
United States
2012-07-26
I purchased this along with a vest for the my husband's birthday - it's just right for pinning down an ascot and looks very tasteful against a black ascot and black vest.
Kimberly
United States
2012-07-26
This was a really good looking ascot - more black in it than shows up in the picture, but really liked it. Item shipped and arrived quickly.
Cara Ocobock
MI, United States
2012-07-26
I guess I expected this to be more like the brown one you carried a little while ago. I LOVED the brown one (got destroyed in the wash). This new design is too long and the chest is cut strange making wearing a bra rather difficult. Please bring back the old design!
Vanessa
CA, United States
2012-07-26
Although it looked cool, the chain was pretty cheap and broke within a few minutes. It didn't break on the clasp...it broke in the middle of the chain. Thirty bucks down the drain! (Editor note: This customer was contacted and the quality issue was resolved to her satisfaction.)
Cara Ocobock
MI, United States
2012-07-26
I guess I expected this to be more like the brown one you carried a little while ago. I LOVED the brown one (got destroyed in the wash). This new design is too long and the chest is cut strange making wearing a bra rather difficult. Please bring back the old design!
dean mehling
MO, United States
2012-07-26
Bought it for a play wherein I depicted a russian well-to-do from 1868. Understated, but very classy. Love the way it looks on me. Seems durable; may change out the buttons eventually.
Marilyn
GA, United States
2012-07-26
It Shrank horribly when I washed it.

United States
2012-07-26
Looks Great, but too small. I need to return for refund.
Pamela Cederquist
NY, United States
2012-07-26
Brilliant. I may never take it off. & brilliant service. Love U peeps.

United States
2012-07-26
The hat arrived ahead of schedule and was very good quality - we were very happy with it. The Adult Small size fit our 11 year old son (the intended recipient) perfectly and he's small for his size so look at the sizing carefully.
Richard Manshatz
CA, United States
2012-07-26
Bought this for my wedding and absolutely love it. Good quality material, and a nice cut for the sizes available.
R. Stan
FL, United States
2012-07-26
Very striking against a black victorian dress. Excellent quality. Nice touch to have the two different lengths of chain which are easy to change out.
Teri Van Buskirk
CA, United States
2012-07-26
I ordered your boots for my youngest son who was putting together a "Steam Punk" costume. He was not sure of size so we ordered 2 pair. He was very happy with the look and I was impressed with the "faux" leather material. The second pair is in my store for sale! Since my store carries historical clothing they fit right in.
Mshows
MS, United States
2012-07-26
Got these specs along with the double loop magnifying attachment for a role in a murder mystery. The good: quality is OK but not great; frame was a little bent at nose bridge but could be adjusted. The bad: the loop attachment can't possibly be used with these glasses because of the very thin frame of glasses and mechanism for clipping loop onto glasses. But the worst thing is the fact that they are made for a very small person; very narrow and totally unuseable by me. They need to specify that they are for small-framed folks only or offer different widths/sizes.
Bob Cannon
OH, United States
2012-07-26
Needed a period shirt for a presentation and found the Emporium. After sorting through all the options, I picked the victorian Mens Dress Shirt with Wing Collar. Could not believe how quickly my order was processed and shipped. (Sure wish other online businesses were half as fast.) Wore the shirt and I think the costume helped me get the positive comments I did after the presentation. Shirt has now been laundered and wore it for the second time. I think a little more starch will make it perfect.
Richard
CA, United States
2012-07-26
The mustasche is made as cheaply as possible, the supposed hair density is so thin it hardly represents a mustache. It looks like it was grown by a Kimo patient as a last resort for a few small coins. (Editor note: This customer was contacted and the quality issue was resolved to his satisfaction.)
Lori Gesing
OH, United States
2012-07-26
Very impressive vest. Extremely pleased!

United States
2012-07-26
Exactly what I was looking for and it arrived quickly. I received many complements on the hat.
Erin
WI, United States
2012-07-26
The hat is beautiful - a very good deal from the price. The quality is excellent and it fits very well. I'll be back for more of your products!
Chad G.
PE, United States
2012-07-26
This vest is a durable staple to a wide range of outfits. When paired with a nice ascot or tie, it fits the bill for an edwardian look. Throw on a coat and a hat and you have the look for an earlier time period. A good, well-rounded buy!
Sondra Flesch
OH, United States
2012-07-26
We love the hat. My 11yr old grandson is going to be in the Pioneer Peddlar's Festival in Butler, Ohio this fall selling his birdhouses. (Gavin Birdhouses) He has to dress to fit the era; his great aunt made nice striped pants, blousen shirt and vest. The hat was much needed. It is wonderful quality and fits perfectly!! We may also be buying a pocket watch from the Emporium.
Wendy Long
UT, United States
2012-07-26
Pretty..but did not work, after several attempts. The tassle fell off quickly after opening. I reattached it easily enough. Cute peice of costume jewlery, but was not functional. (Editor note: This customer was contacted and the quality issue was resolved to her satisfaction.)
Wendy Long
UT, United States
2012-07-26
Great Quality, it looks great, functionable.
Russ
WI, United States
2012-07-26
great fit & looks very,very nice
Russ
WI, United States
2012-07-26
Great trousers. Order a size larger because of the higher fit on the waist. I had to return this item for a larger size. The return and refund were handled exceptionally well. Thank you very much.
Parasol Queen
FL, United States
2012-07-26
The Battenberg Lace parasol is beautiful. It is a replacement of one I purchased several years ago in New Orleans. It has rec'd many compliments. I had just one problem, the second day of use the upper bracket that holds the parasol open lost the little pin that secured it in place. It was repaired with a cut off paper clip which fit the small hole exactly. I am very pleased with this item.
TheAngryScotsman
TE, United States
2012-07-26
I've been lookin for a shirt like this one for a while. I read the reviews and ordered accordingly. I generally take a large but it was unavailable. I got a medium and it is an ok fit. The neck is just a smidge tight and the sleeves just a smidge short. But, as I said I usually take a large and with the lace at the cuffs its unnoticable. Also it looks great! It was well packaged and delivered in a timely manner, Oh I'll be ordering more things from this company,
Don Short
AZ, United States
2012-07-26
The vest is very nice. If it had inside pockets large enough for wallets and iphones it would be awesome.
Hny Glmr
AL, United States
2012-07-26
I have not yet worn this item, but will be wearing it this weekend. On the whole, it is a nice skirt. However, some instructions on how the gathers work would be quite nice to have. Additionally in my efforts to work with the gathers at least one of the grommets is already pulling away from the fabric. I used the middle rating to indicate that I am neither please or displeased with the skirt. I think it is a good garment for the price.
Vicki Kolbe
CA, United States
2012-07-26
This is a very pretty and well-made dress! The price is great! I intend to wear this all the time. I'll be back for another color! Thanks Historical Emporium!
Sam Kandil
OH, United States
2012-07-26
These boots have that Gothic look that i really liked. This is also the main reason to why i got these boots. They fit great. I have semi wide feet, yet these still fit me and they are normal width. My only issue with these is they don't lace all the way up with my black jeans. Not a big issue, but i wanted to wear them while performing live with my band. Its okay though ill just get a pair of Highland pants with them!
E. J. Worthing
OH, United States
2012-07-27
I consider this to be an excellent silk ascot. The color and the pattern are unusual, (since it isn't another paisly), but co-ordinates well with lighter colored waistcoats. The silk material is unusually strong and almost inpenetrable by real gold stickpins. When I first tried this, my ascot-lengthed 14K stickpin literally bent like wire before I could push it through this sturdy material. It's a reminder instead to use stainless or brass pins. I clearly would order and purchase such an ascot again if it came in blue, gold or light gray. The black and silver version is tempting. Five stars are due for the speed of its delivery. The condition was perfect. No more service than this was required. Thankyou.
Robert Bell
CT, United States
2012-07-27
I have order a number of times from Gentlemans Emporium. Good service and products as described. I have recommeded them to friends and customers that see me in my "riverboat gamble" outfit.

United States
2012-07-27
Skirt came in looking exactly like pictured! It fits like a dream, and I love it. Fast delivery too! It was one of the last items I bought for my costume, and it came in the first! Thank you for your amazing service and product!

United States
2012-07-27
This tie tack is a nice size, with the pearl being more than a pin point. The back is satisfactory, and it arrived very quickly
Wesley
WA, United States
2012-07-27
This is a great jacket, very heavy for lambskin (a pleasant surprise) and very durable. The finish is very well done and the seams are without flaw, highly recommended. This is a bit oversized and I would order one size down unless you like an oversized fit; for reference I am 5 10 and 163 pounds I ordered a small and it is just a tad bit big but fits great.
Kandy
FL, United States
2012-07-27
Very nice walking stick. My husband loved it.
Lilly Lea Zirpoli
OR, United States
2012-07-28
Overall, I am very satisfied with this product. It is very well put-together. The only complaints I can honestly say I have about it are the elastic headband and the plastic bits. It detracts ever so slightly from the feel of the product, but it still looks very nice and I plan on modifying them anyways.
mswendybe
United States
2012-07-28
It's true about the neckline, expect to need something underneath for modesty. Flattering on many different figures. I purchased to use as a bathing suit, but it even works as a cute top with a pair of capris.
John Jerkovich
OR, United States
2012-07-28
Great quality, styling and value. A striking hat that is perfect for summer. Thank you for posting the 'how to measure' information - worked out nicely. The box was packed perfectly too. A+
Angel
United States
2012-07-28
I bought this watch for my husband, and he adores it. It's absolutely gorgeous! :)
Ann
VA, United States
2012-07-28
A++! Excellent quality, excellent style. The hat is sturdy and well-made. The stiching was precise, the wool was perfect, the silk lining was beautiful, and the feather & hatpin were lovely touches. Made in the USA and a nice price too? It doesn't get any better than this. Thank you!!

United States
2012-07-26
everything they should be. material, color, fit, etc. nice.
Vernon W
PA, United States
2012-07-29
Received my order in a timely manner. Very happy with the product,after searching for awhile I found exactly what I wanted. Thank you! Vernon Williams
Shirley R
OH, United States
2012-07-29
I felt that the vest that I ordered was not worth $45. While it was a pretty vest it is very thin. Also the clasp on the back of the vest will not stay closed. I wore it at a horse show and someone had to tie it and it did not look very good. Also I ordered the blouse in large and was shipped a 2X. I swam it it.
Brandi P
OH, United States
2012-07-28
We recieved order promptly and it matched the description.
Sandra K
PA, United States
2012-07-28
Wendy B
WA, United States
2012-07-28
Already sent people to the website.
Jerry J
NC, United States
2012-07-27
Elizabeth G
FL, United States
2012-07-27
I like.
Joe P
UT, United States
2012-07-27
They were great.... shipped everthing promptly....great place !
Noel O
Ireland
2012-07-27
Quick post, very professional, Thanks.
Trent D
OR, United States
2012-07-27
Shipping was quick and accurate, and the pricing was very reasonable. Good job. I'll definitely be back for more.
Gayle W
MS, United States
2012-07-27
I was well pleased with ther prompt and courteous communication and the quality of the product.
Kurt K
NY, United States
2012-07-27
Very delighted to find your company online. Very good quality. Customer service very good.
Robert W
RI, United States
2012-07-27
Your products are of great quality, especially given the price point. I will be returning!
Richard H
ME, United States
2012-07-27
D.r. S
AZ, United States
2012-07-27
I am extremely happy with the service. A problem with the size of one of my purchases was handled very, very courteously and efficiently. I will definitely do business with your company again.
Robert W
CO, United States
2012-07-27
You all do great work
Brian B
FL, United States
2012-07-26
Excellent quality--very speedy service..
Michelle S
OH, United States
2012-07-26
Jayne C
ON, Canada
2012-07-26
I have ordered from your company several times, and the customer service reps are always friendly and helpful. The things I order have always been of great quality, and arrive surprisingly quickly, especially considering I'm in Canada.
Robert L
TX, United States
2012-07-26
The items were in very good condition, and delivered in a more than timely manner.
Beverly H
NY, United States
2012-07-26
I purchased a lace shawl and fan for a victorian picnic. I was so pleased to find these items that completed my outfit without breaking the bank. Everything arrived promptly. Thank you!
Bobby F
MS, United States
2012-07-26
Joseph K
NC, United States
2012-07-26
Joe M
CA, United States
2012-07-26
Antony R
NV, United States
2012-07-26
Good product range, quality service and reasonable price
Donn G
MN, United States
2012-07-26
I HAVE NO ISSUES
Casey M
CT, United States
2012-07-26
Delivery was fast and the shrug was exactly as described and even better than I expected!
Robert C
OH, United States
2012-07-26
Already placed my second order with you folks.
Wendell B
KY, United States
2012-07-26
James V C
NC, United States
2012-07-26
I have been a customer for over 10 years.
Michael W
KY, United States
2012-07-26
The quality of the merchandise is amazing, I bought a pocket watch for a wedding that I was attending for the groomsman and the bride decided that it was going to be hers! (she was a girl genius fan) Thanks for the awesome service!
Jason C
TX, United States
2012-07-26
Larry M
CA, United States
2012-07-26
Susan K
MN, United States
2012-07-26
Hat arrived ahead of schedule. Very happy with service and quality of product.
Darren B
CA, United States
2012-07-26
Great products. Quick shipping. Good prices.
Kevin W
WA, United States
2012-07-26
James C
FL, United States
2012-07-26
The product was as represented.
Richard M
CA, United States
2012-07-26
I am totally satisfied with the quality.......
Michael F
CA, United States
2012-07-26
The product i bought was for a special occasion and not a typical purchase. I would only not recommend for this reason and service was completely fine.
David C
NM, United States
2012-07-26
wow...so nice to get prompt delivery and my wife was most pleased with neckesses, bracelets and ray gun i had ordered for her birthday. thankfully, the ray gun wasn't real so she hasn't de-atomized me yet.
Leyton C
TX, United States
2012-07-26
Andrew L
MI, United States
2012-07-26
Mohamed H
NC, United States
2012-07-26
excellent service, great clothing!
Antoinette H
LA, United States
2012-07-26
Jason G
MO, United States
2012-07-26
The prices were good, and the products were actual felt hats, not just flimsy costume pieces.
Jeffrey C
ME, United States
2012-07-26
very pleased they took very good care in shipping I use it in my reading thing like the small type in the phone book .
Christine L
NJ, United States
2012-07-26
I ordered a gift for someone from Historical Emporium. They shipped it within a day and the order arrived within a week. I didn't get to see the product in person, but the recipient was very happy with the item. I would order from them again.
Michael M
CA, United States
2012-07-26
Dean M
MO, United States
2012-07-26
Ronald R
OK, United States
2012-07-26
You kind folks do a bang up job. Great products and at a very reasonable price. I will continue to use Historical Emporium for any future SASS Needs.
David E
TN, United States
2012-07-26
Excellent items and Very fast delivery! Very satisfied
Gabriel K
CA, United States
2012-07-26
I am impressed by how quickly the items were delivered and the quality of the products.
Jessica H
CA, United States
2012-07-26
Bryan B
KY, United States
2012-07-24
great selection of products, excellent service.
Charles S
VA, United States
2012-07-23
I love my new items
Terry L
WA, United States
2012-07-23
I think you have the best sales people on the phone I have ever dealt with, happy , excited and ready to help with anything you need. You also have great product quality and some of the best shipping and returns I have ever encountered. Thanks, again. Terry L, Puyallup, WA
Abigail N
NY, United States
2012-07-26
Donald H
GA, United States
2012-07-26
Melissa M
GA, United States
2012-07-26

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service