Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2012-08-12

Arin D.
MN, United States
2012-08-09
I love this shirt! It fit well and just wearing it makes me smile.

United States
2012-08-09
Sharon Gooding
CA, United States
2012-08-09
They weren't what I expected and don't work for the project. I returned them with the required paperwork as directed on the receipt.
Zachary Gorelik
WI, United States
2012-08-09
Nice quality and love the colors. The only complaint is that I hate getting clothes tailored/hemmed (just my own laziness, really!). So yes I would recommend purchasing these,
Arin D.
MN, United States
2012-08-09
Very impressed with these goggles. I chose to scratch off the black paint to reveal the brass. I am anxious to wear them as part of my steampunk attire. I even enjoy the authentic smell.
Ld Nicholas Stine
CA, United States
2012-08-09
I received this magnificent vest i very short time. It's even more splendid to look upon in person than the pictures could even hint at. I shall be the very picture of a gentleman in this vest. Sadly, it appears to be sized by asian standards, which tend to be two or three sizes smaller than us "fluffy" Americans use. Still, I'm delighted withdrew this double breasted vest, and am now using it as my dieting inspiration.
Arin D.
MN, United States
2012-08-09
This skirt will look great with the steampunk jacket I just made. In my case the size I ordered was just about right, maybe a bit loose but not enough to get a size smaller. Very happy with the quality.

United States
2012-08-09
I have been looking for a good vest for so long. Seriously. Years. vests (and, for that matter, anything) that fits my bust bags around my waist, and anything that fits my waist turns my bust into a breadbox. Finally, FINALLY, I find one that fits properly: doesn't gap at my bust, and is cut to allow for a blouse beneath. I adore it, and will be wearing it all the time.
Meredith A Loggan
OR, United States
2012-08-09
Do not like this product! It's cheaply made and does not hold up!! I have only had my boots For a week, and the sole to the right boot had come off!! If there were a way to send back and get a refund I would!!! editors note: We have arranged the return of the product for the customer.
Johnny
LO, United States
2012-08-09
It fit well, has a great feel and is made of quality material.
Johnny
LO, United States
2012-08-09
It has a nice classic look and goes well with most shirts.
Remy
CA, United States
2012-08-09
A great, trustworthy company to buy from. They don't lie and say they shipped it, they REALLY DO ship it the next day. It got here in record time. Everyone loves it, I am going to wear it to a wedding. Good quality.
Johnny
LO, United States
2012-08-09
This guys just slips right on and has a nice look to it.
Johnny
LO, United States
2012-08-09
They are not bad for what you pay for them. And the look is really classic.
Mark Cassman
MI, United States
2012-08-09
This hat rivals the same kind of hats that will set you back over $100.00. The fit and finish are grade A. I now know who to buy from for true quality!!!!!!!!!!!!
Johnny
LO, United States
2012-08-09
This hat is perfect for almost every situation. It is just right as far as being formal enough, but not too formal. A must have to go with a gentleman's suit.
John Noreault
United States
2012-08-09
An absolutely gorgeous vest, however your sizes are very much off. I normally wear a 2x vest and yet when I ordered your 3x it was far too small for me to even attempt to try it on. Thinking maybe it was a mistake I was shocked when I checked the tags and found that this was indeed supposed to be a 3x.
Kim Fiedler
IL, United States
2012-08-09
This product is beautiful! Very fine quality. Looks fantastic! Fit my teen-age daughters heads (medium and large) quite well.
Vic Leftwich
United States
2012-08-09
The weapon is perfect. Beautiful to admire and quite the attention getter. However. it doesn't quite fit the stand the way it should, and could easily be knocked off and broken with a gentle wind. Love your stuff, though.
Kim Fiedler
IL, United States
2012-08-09
This is a black hat and looks fantastic. We used it for Lady Bracknell in The Importance of Being Earnest. It does get hot after awhile - but the look is so great it is worth it. It fit my teenage daughter's head easily - no weird tightness. Well-shaped. Well-made. There was one spot inside the hat that had some sort of roughness which was making her forehead itch - but, there is no indication of poor quality. It's worth the price! We temporarily stuck a small piece of fabric over the spot and will seek a more permanent solution when we have time.
cool hat enthusiast
HA, United States
2012-08-09
It's a hat, it's cool, got no complaints. I mean I didn't sit here o*****ing by touching it so I'm not gonna give it five stars but hey if you're looking for a cool hat, here's one right here.
Levey L. Williams
AR, United States
2012-08-09
I love the design, color, feel, and look, of my sarafi helmet. Very lightweight, and thank you, for the inserted sweatband. I will display the wearing of my safari helmet outdoors, at my fraternities event in two weeks. I cannot wait.

United States
2012-08-09
The photos look a lot better than the actual item. Disappointed enough to return it.
Pat Ray
FL, United States
2012-08-09
Absolutely perfect for my needs.
Anita End
United States
2012-08-09
Anita End
United States
2012-08-09
Beth Staff
IL, United States
2012-08-09
Elena Krylyshkina
NE, United States
2012-08-09
Real brass & glass! I love it
Jen W
United States
2012-08-09
Absolutely gorgeous fabric and very easy to wear. Love the look, it's really going to complete my costume! Thank you!
Douglas Fraser
BC, Canada
2012-08-09
In my previous orders I had forgotten to get this cravat. It arrived with everything else and it was the first thing I grabbed up. Detail is everything in a period outfit and if you can ad subtlety to authenticity you have a winner. That is what this cravat gives you. If you buy nothing else (and that would be just silly) get this cravat. The look is great. Once again, the service was unbeatable.
Douglas Fraser
BC, Canada
2012-08-09
The white spats get more comments than anything I have. Do not hesitate to get them especially if you are going to wear the black highland pants, white shirt and a vest. Don't let yourself go without this. It's your ticket to Snazzy.
Meredith A Loggan
OR, United States
2012-08-09
Cheap boot!! Not happy with the product! they came a part after one week! Not Happy!
Christopher Lee
NY, United States
2012-08-09
After a long and annoying search for groomsmen gifts, I was at a loss. I had rejected all the standard gifts, (halfheartedly settling on various multitools.) I was searching this site for a different purpose, but stumbled upon these, and they couldn't have been a better choice for this group. I choose two of the Thresher and two of the Consolidators. The whole presentation of the package is great, with thought even going into the cardboard box. The pistols themselves are very detailed, and have a believeable heft and feel to them. It's a shame they are "non-operational" as it were, but for this price, it's a wonderful product. The groomsmen were pretty stunned and delighted. "It IS a f*ck*n' raygun!"
Christopher Lee
NY, United States
2012-08-09
After a long and annoying search for groomsmen gifts, I was at a loss. I had rejected all the standard gifts, (halfheartedly settling on various multitools.) I was searching this site for a different purpose, but stumbled upon these, and they couldn't have been a better choice for this group. I choose two of the Thresher and two of the Consolidators. The whole presentation of the package is great, with thought even going into the cardboard box. The pistols themselves are very detailed, and have a believeable heft and feel to them. It's a shame they are "non-operational" as it were, but for this price, it's a wonderful product. The groomsmen were pretty stunned and delighted. "It IS a f*ck*n' raygun!"
Christopher Lee
NY, United States
2012-08-09
After a long and annoying search for groomsmen gifts, I was at a loss. I had rejected all the standard gifts, (halfheartedly settling on various multitools.) I was searching this site for a different purpose, but stumbled upon these, and they couldn't have been a better choice for this group. I choose two of the Thresher and two of the Consolidators. The whole presentation of the package is great, with thought even going into the cardboard box. The pistols themselves are very detailed, and have a believeable heft and feel to them. It's a shame they are "non-operational" as it were, but for this price, it's a wonderful product. The groomsmen were pretty stunned and delighted. "It IS a f*ck*n' raygun!"
Tom Rice
IL, United States
2012-08-09
Very well made and nice fitting vest. Quite pleased with product and service.

United States
2012-08-09
not sure but the latch on mine broke rather quickly...only a few days... only real complaint. the watch is beautiful and after i figured out how to actually work a pocket watch it works wonderfully...might stick a little around 11 o clock...not sure if it was only a one time thing... its wonderful though

United States
2012-08-09
Wonderful braces! Paired nicely with the Chadwick Striped trousers. Will be a repeat customer!
Jane Doe
WA, United States
2012-08-10
When I ordered this hat, I was a little apprehensive, because I'm not really good at ordering things online. (I know, I know. -_-) But, the site was super easy to follow, and when I got my hat, which came in a timely matter, I was super happy with it! It's exactly as advertised, and exceptionally well made!
L.G. Hegsted
WA, United States
2012-08-10
Very pleased with the hat and your service.
L.G. Hegsted
WA, United States
2012-08-10
Again very pleased with the product and your service. My wife won a prize in the parade because of the hat.
anthony miller
NS, Australia
2012-08-10
Must say a solid item, with quality felt. I bought this for a customer with a "difficult" head, so I have seen a few versions. It is a fine woven brushed felt, and not that hairy teddy bear fabric you see on cheap hats
Robert Boehmer
NE, United States
2012-08-10
They were not even close in the waist measurement, and more importantly the suspender buttons in the front were missing on one side. I will be absolutely returning them. All-in-all, they do seem to be good quality.

United States
2012-08-10
My son loves the monocle! Probably a bit big for a child, but he could not be happier. Excellent service and super fast shipping. Thanks so much!
RJ Keets
United States
2012-08-10
I bought these not knowing what to expect and since you were out of my one-size up I went to the closest next, they fit very well and the extra room makes them quite comfy! Even more so with the strap in the back to cinch them for a more tailored look and feel. I can't wait to try the plaids. And they go very well with my mocha frock coat too.
Alice Perry
FL, United States
2012-08-10
I was told when I called in my order that I would receive the merchandise in 8 business days. Everything was sent and arrived in 3 days. That far exceeded my expectations considering I live on the east coast. Thanks!
Chester Winchester
HA, New Zealand
2012-08-10
The American Empire is crumbling, and your leaders are mearly puppets to the royal families of Europe. That said, my wife needed a coat for her birthday and I could find only one that would surfice. Unfortunatly it was in your country and had to be bought via the interweb, possibly the two things I detest most in the world, combined together. All that aside, the price was reasonable, the purchase was easy and the service excellent. I am a technophobe but being able to see where my package was on different days certainly soothed the nerves. The coat itself was good quality and I will not hesitate to use your global super highway shop again in the future, assuming your downtrodden masses do not grow a spine and overthrough your corrupt power hungry leaders. As you folks are so fond of saying, "Have a nice day"
Amanda Mujica
MA, United States
2012-08-10
I used these pants for a stage production. They fit great and were well-constructed. They gave the exact "period feel" I was going for for this character. I also ordered a few other pieces that I was unable to use onstage. I printed out their return form and sent them back. I was issued a credit within a few days. Great customer service and great products!
Rick Saenz
MI, United States
2012-08-10
Was exactly what was promised

United States
2012-08-10
carol malia
MA, United States
2012-08-10
the gloves were just what we needed to complete a bridal outfit. Ordered and received in a blink of an eye...Good job everybody at aHE!

United States
2012-08-10
This is superior quality, finest craftsmanship. Shipping was fast. Thank you so very much.
Sarah W.
IL, United States
2012-08-10
Olaf Lutherson
United States
2012-08-10
I have a large head with large orbitals, I have no problem wearing this monocle comfortably. I did adjust the tensioners a bit to keep my eyelashes from rubbing, but only a few millimeeters. As others have said, the tin is merely a sticker, but for a gag, it's quite funny & I've gotten a number of laughs. All in all, I am quite happy with the purchase.
Olaf Lutherson
United States
2012-08-10
The ear wraps were unequal and overly long. Additionally, these are narrow frames. If you have a large skull, you may want to try one of the other sets. I ended up giving them to the wife who loves them...
Glen
WI, United States
2012-08-10
My purchase was delivered in a timely manner and I was pleased with the monocle. I liked that it was a metal frame and not plastic. Its hard to tell things like that from the web site picture. The cord was a little too short which caused it to fall off when I turned my head, but it was easy enough to replace it with a longer cord. The carrying pouch was a nice touch :)

WI, United States
2012-08-10
color perfect. does not stick if he smiles.
Patrick Raymond, Itinerant Adventurer
CA, United States
2012-08-10
These are most comfortable to wear for an extended period and are well vented for even an active gentleman like myself. The lens rings unscrew with ease granting you access to a large selection of lenses made available by this very fine emporium. The grey lenses that come with these goggles make excellent sun guards. My only issue it the elastic band that sometimes slips out of the clips, though this can be secured with some minor ingenuity.
Patrick Raymond, Itinerant Adventurer
CA, United States
2012-08-10
No self respecting mad scientist should be without these lenses. It bathes the world in a destructive ruby light. At least that is what I am imagining when I don these. These fit perfectly in the Screw Ring goggles.

United States
2012-08-10
The fit and look is great, however, the buckle in the back does a poor job of holding the tie tight.
Sheri Gaines
NM, United States
2012-08-10
I was very satisfied with the product and with the delivery time. Paypal wouldn't work so I used the old telephone and the customer service representative made ordering very painless and quick. My mailman left the package where is got soaked by rain and I really appreciated the suit being properly wrapped in plastic inside the box.
Nikolas
CA, United States
2012-08-10
This was the first waistcoat in the catalogue that truly caught my eye, and I couldn't be happier with it. Paired with the silver puff tie or even a black ascot it stands out even more.
Nikolas
CA, United States
2012-08-10
This coat is the crown of my collection now - it's light enough to drape and move gracefully, but also substantial enough to be a fashionable and comfortable touch during the cooler months as well. The detail on the buttons is also unexpectedly gorgeous. I would recommend this coat to anyone looking to add a touch of class to their wardrobe.
Jim Miller
TE, United States
2012-08-10
The product was far better than expected. I wear it at every opportunity and have received great remarks from comlplete strangers. Most of these are people who would not have the courage to to wear a pith helmet in public. Living in Texas where the temperature has been hovering around 107 degrees the helmet provides shade and cooling. --- Guys, the ladies love it. The delivery was prompt and the helmet was well packed. I can say that I was completely satisfied and look forward to ordering additional items from Historical Emporium.
Linda Loska
MA, United States
2012-08-10
The item is beautifully made but I will be returning it. It is too big at the neck and too tight at the bust (my problem!). I wish I could keep it, as it is exactly what I am looking for.
Mr. T Catman
CA, United States
2012-08-10
Great price and excellent hat. Should have been sent in a slightly larger box to prevent crimping brim. Was able to straighten it out though.

United States
2012-08-11
Gary F Kusy
WI, United States
2012-08-11
I tried looking for it when i seen a movie with them in it and won'ted ever since i looked a long time for it when i found your web site i had to order it wright a way and was very happy with my order. The bad thing i seen a lot of hard to find things in your web sight i plan to order again !
Lynn McElfresh
NE, United States
2012-08-11
We are celebrating the 100th Anniversary of our island association. I wore the bathing suit in the antique boat parade and later in an antique cedar canoe for the regatta. Everyone wanted their picture taken with me. So many people asked where I'd found such a wonderful costume. I was happy to tell them that the Historical Emporium had quality items at great prices with outstanding service.
Scott Ferleman
CA, United States
2012-08-11
Yes, these gaiters look simply smashing. Well made, in great condition and at a price not to flatten the wallet. Speedy delivery. What more could one ask for?
Liz
OR, United States
2012-08-09
Love the hat. Would highly recommend it. Thank you
Liz
OR, United States
2012-08-09
I haven't tried it on but it looks great in person. Can't wait to wear it to a shoot.
Daniel Hamilton
AL, United States
2012-08-09
The darn thing got here fast. I bought this to wear at the upcoming wedding of a neice in Texas. I have wanted to get a western style tie, and this one had a look that stood apart from the rest. I tried it on the evening I got it. It appears to be well made, and it is pretty easy to adjust its fit. It really looks great.
V Stephan Sette
NJ, United States
2012-08-09
A good entry level cross draw holster. I use mine for cowboy Action shooting. Although this holster is tooled it would never pass for a more expensive custom version. It does its job and if your just starting out or on a tight budget you can't go wrong. The only drawback was the finish!!! Be sure to wipe the down the holster as it appears they use some sort of shoe polish to buff the finish. If you don't, you will get it all over your clothes.

United States
2012-08-09
I have a small collection of western hats, so was eager to try this coachman style. I found the crown to be a perfect height and the brim just wide enough to be adjusted to my liking with a little help from the steam kettle. I put my own black satin liner in and added a 1
Jeremy Gillin
NB, Canada
2012-08-10

United States
2012-08-10
This is very well done and believable mustache.

United States
2012-08-10
This is a decent looking mustache, but it tends towards a
Olaf Lutherson
United States
2012-08-10
Classy and quite apealing. I like this one because it secures in the back instead of the front. Makes for a little bit more work to put on, but you aren't left with a hook & eye closure visible from the front. Also be sure to purchace a tie tack to go with it to complete the look!
Olaf Lutherson
United States
2012-08-10
This is a rock solid shirt. Color is great and it feels sturdy. The fit is excellent and all of the buttons are functional as well as sewn securely.
john samuel cox
QU, Australia
2012-08-10

United States
2012-08-10
This is a solid, cast pewter reproduction. The pin back is a tad
Olaf Lutherson
United States
2012-08-10
This simply is what it is. Nothing complicated or out of the ordinary. If you are looking for this look in a pre-tied bow, this is the tie to get.

United States
2012-08-10
This shirt has the look of linen. It's light and great for hotter climates. Color is good. Buttons are a bit
Dennis McNerney
CT, United States
2012-08-10
This coat is one of the nicest coats I have bought. The coat fits great and is the right lenght. You can bet I will be shopping here again.
Olaf Lutherson
United States
2012-08-10
The beard fits and has an acceptable look to it. However, it is obviously fake from even moderate distances. It's a tad thin and stiff for a natural look in my opinion. It would likely be best for stage and film work as opposed to close work with the public.
Olaf Lutherson
United States
2012-08-10
These are quite nice trousers. The look and feel is excellent. Be sure to allow for a high waist measurement when selecting size. It says this in the directions and they mean it!
Peter H
CA, United States
2012-08-11
Tim S
PA, United States
2012-08-11
Melissa C
MO, United States
2012-08-11
The company was very helpful in getting me the right sizes and colors before my wedding. They were first sold out of the colors we wanted but as soon as they came in stock we were able to exchange and they shipped them to us before the wedding date. They were easy to get a hold of through either email or phone and very professional. I would recommend them to anyone needing western wear or authentic gear.
Kira L
OR, United States
2012-08-10
Good quality products and reasonable prices.
Cindy W
TX, United States
2012-08-10
My order arrived very quickly. The website is easy to use. The monocles that I ordered are high quality and very well liked by my customers.
Sandra U
VA, United States
2012-08-10
Very impressed with the quality of the products, and the speed of shipping
Michael E
LA, United States
2012-08-10
Great turn around. Prompt delievery. Products are exactly what they say and of good quality.
Jill B
VA, United States
2012-08-10
Marie G
CA, United States
2012-08-10
John A
NY, United States
2012-08-10
Good prices, unique products.
Tim H
SD, United States
2012-08-10
very satisfied with the vest. Fit perfectly. My only negative comment is that it took a bit longer to arrive than expected.
Robert M
CA, United States
2012-08-10
Customer service was a very pleasent experience
Tanya P
CA, United States
2012-08-10
The items were exactly as advertised and arrived promptly.
Robyn B
CA, United States
2012-08-10
Wonderful products and excellent customer service! So very glad we found this shop, we will be repeat customers.
Harry B
KY, United States
2012-08-10
I got a 40 inch gunbelt that only measures 38 inches. This makes the belt fit too tight on me.
Matthew L
SC, United States
2012-08-09
Great service, love the gloves.
Trevor H
VI, Australia
2012-08-09
Jim K
PA, United States
2012-08-09
Thanks for the great products and accurate info after ordering regarding shipping!
Dorinda O
MN, United States
2012-08-09
I was very satisfied with the quality of my entire order. It arrived promptly and I am already looking at what to order next.

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service