Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2012-08-26

george mabry
TE, United States
2012-08-20
They were ready to go out of the box. No cleaning required. The heel strap was new and appeared to be a quality replacement. I have used the gaiters several times in my work with horses and am very satisfied with this purchase. - Josey
Kelsey Brianne
NC, United States
2012-08-20
Love the style of this jacket. It runs very very small most specifically in the chest area. Besides it being small, I love this jacket and can't wait to wear it in the fall.
Angel Tillman
AL, United States
2012-08-20
The handle is beautiful. It is whiter in person than it looks online, but it is still a favorite amongst our Historical Interpretors.
Angel Tillman
AL, United States
2012-08-20
The watch is beautiful and works very well. The only downside is that it is an antique bronze color, and it is difficult to find a chain to match.
Charles Burg
WI, United States
2012-08-22
Very good quality and fit! The style is unique as to what is available on line. We belong to a victorian Group, the coat works well with my wife's period clothing!
David Loudermilk
CA, United States
2012-08-24
This will be great at Burning Man 2012 this year..

United States
2012-08-24
Fits like a glove and looks great. Sleeves usually run short on me but with the XL shirt, sleeves were perfect.

United States
2012-08-24
I ordered one size larger than what I am currently wearing and had to return them for yet another size larger. Haven't received them yet but hopefully they will fit. Very long, will have to be shortened and I am 6'2" tall.
Emily Randall
CA, United States
2012-08-24
I love my walking skirt! Well-made and comfortable. My service rep was very helpful and delivery was astonishingly fast. I'd order again in a heartbeat.

United States
2012-08-24
My husband is very delighted with this product. We have looked everywhere & unable to find them in calf. Good quality & just want he needed.
typedup
IL, United States
2012-08-24
The gun belt was even more beautiful in person - superb quality and gorgeous colors. The sizing chart was great, as it fit perfectly. What's more, I needed the item ASAP, and with the express shipping it arrived the night before my event. I couldn't be more pleased with the item or the service.
DJ Kinney
MA, United States
2012-08-24
These are not necessarily historical spats, but they are indeed real and wearable spats of the sort you might find in a marching band or a military parade and review. Indeed, they are made in India and many Indian military and paramilitary groups wear spats because of their colonial history. These may very well come from the same supplier!
DJ Kinney
MA, United States
2012-08-24
The gloves work well and look good. They do not fit as tightly as I wish. They are also not made of 100% cotton and so are already historically a bit anacronystic. But for a costume, they are surely as good as one could get without graduating to the realm of genuine men's finery.
Redstone Rider
FL, United States
2012-08-24
Belt not of the quality that you would expect on a gun belt. The buckle is not removable and any gun belt hat you buy espically for cowboy shooting, you want to be able to change buckles. Would not recommend to anyone in my club or posse.

United States
2012-08-24
This is a beautiful skirt! I'm petite so I was a bit worried about the length but the length is perfect since I can wear the skirt high on my waist. The fabric is light but still sturdy so it can be worn in a variety of weather. Definitely a great buy.
Matt Herring
VA, United States
2012-08-24
This shirt was exactly as advertised, and looks great. Quality is excellent and delivery was prompt. Will be looking to add a few more of these in different colors as they become available.
JPM
WV, United States
2012-08-24
I was quite pleased with the quality and fit. These are something you can wear if you want to dress professional/ semi-professional with a bit of old-fashioned style.

WV, United States
2012-08-24
Nice material. Fits as described.
Anya Ludwig
CA, United States
2012-08-24
I purchased this owl necklace for a birthday gift. It was a little larger than I anticipated. I liked the hinged design but when I received it one of the hinge rings was completely disconnected and several others where open to the point of nearly being unhinged. With a pair of needle nosed pliers I fixed the issues but still it should be inspected before being sent.
James Cookenmaster
MI, United States
2012-08-24
I was very pleased. The instructions for measuring were spot on. Quality was EXCELLENT.
Chris Maddox
FL, United States
2012-08-24
As I'm from Texas I am enjoying this addition to my outfit.
Rick Stahl
FL, United States
2012-08-24
Love the cap, it's a great match for my double-breasted brown leather coat. I'd give it a 5 but there was a small ( 1 inch) separation in the stitching on one of the ear pieces that I'll have to repair. All in all, a great purchase.
Bonnie Reilly
RI, United States
2012-08-24
The snow white cashmere wool scarf was exactly what my husband was looking for! He had one for many years and really liked it, but it needed replacing. The scarf is absolutely lovely and will look so handsome with his topcoats. I am so grateful to have found your web site and will be returning in the near future...
Chris Maddox
FL, United States
2012-08-24
A very beautiful shirt. I am enjoying this addition to my outfit.
Linda Marquez
TX, United States
2012-08-24
Thanks for being so prompt and carrying such quality merchandise. I am so impressed that I placed an order this morning for a shirt and a vest for my husband. Linda
Chris Maddox
FL, United States
2012-08-24
As I'm from Texas I am enjoying this addition to my outfit.
Elizabeth Fontenot
LO, United States
2012-08-24
I was looking for a boot that would have so little give in the ankle, and my first thought was to have victorian boots. When I got to this site, I was in costumer's heaven. I had originally made my purchase at size 8.5, but they were not in stock...and am I ever glad they weren't. They had a 9 in stock, and they fit perfectly! Their response to out of stock merchandise was prompt, within hours of my confirmation! I have recommended this site to my alma mater as a source of costuming as well as for my friends who were born in the wrong century. Alot of us love shoes like these, and I expect them to purchase a pair by midwinter. Thank you, Historical Empire, for having your site up and running! Sincerely, Elizabeth F.
Joseph Selch
NE, United States
2012-08-24
These are a great pair of pants especially for summer time use. They look nice are light weight and feel comfortable. They are an excellent addition to my collection.
Kareem
TX, United States
2012-08-24
These suspenders are 48" long, which seems to be about 6 inches too long for me. I have to use the very last notch, and I think I will have to put more holes in the straps to use them on higher-waisted vintage pants. I think I can get a show repair shop to put extra holes put in and cut off some of the excess leather from the straps. So, good product, but they should really offer them in a 42" size as well. If they were sized properly, I'd give it 4 stars.
Joseph Selch
NE, United States
2012-08-24
Tis duster makes any traveling or steampunk outfit look great. I was shocked to see this style duster in a drawing of the Fulton Market in NYC during the 1850's.

CT, United States
2012-08-24
Magical! I had been eyeing these boots for about a year, and took the plunge. I was afraid they might be too costume, but I was delighted that they were very well constructed and beautifully made. I also took the advice on the website and ordered them 1/2 size bigger, they are a perfect fit. Can't wait for the cooler weather to take them out for a stroll.
sheryl shaw
TE, United States
2012-08-24
the globe watch is so fascinating and cool, but i was disappointed because it does not work.... i will take it to a watch repair and see if they can fix it because i really like it and dont want to return it...... sheryl
Roger Martens
AR, United States
2012-08-24
Love my new hat, my dermatolagest likes it too!!!
Mme. Leota
CA, United States
2012-08-24
This hat is total delight. My husband loves it and my brother-in-law who doesn't usually cotton to such things, thought it was "really nice". I am thrilled with the purchase and the speediness of its delivery. I can't wait to wear it to a wedding I am attending!
Jeffrey Tirante
NE, United States
2012-08-24
Very, cool.

United States
2012-08-24
My cane arrived promptly and it was beautiful as well as sturdy. A very good purchase and if I need another cane I will order again.
Wallace Cady
TN, United States
2012-08-24
The Safari Helmet was just the ticket for the look I was after to do ventriloquism with my exotic bird puppet and lion puppet. 100% satisfied with the top quality of the item.

United States
2012-08-24
The Klondike vest is perfection!!!! Beautiful quality and perfect fit.
Larry Blaylock
CA, United States
2012-08-24
I loved your trousers, as did everyone else. I got many, "where did you get such great pants?"You can expect more orders from the gang, and from me as well.
Radio Matty
United States
2012-08-24
Order received VERY quickly- I was surprised and pleased! And the watch was in perfect condition, and looked exactly as depicted on the webiste. Excellent product quality as well- this is no cheap knock-off. I would certainly buy from the Emporium again!

MS, United States
2012-08-24
Very pleased with shirt; good value, roomy , comfortable and easy to care for.
Bob Foster
VI, United States
2012-08-24
This is the nicest leather newsboy style cap I've yet come across. I like it for a number of reasons. The leather is natural, not your more typical dressy, polished leather, which gives it a more weathered, casual look. The seams are taped and sewn, which means they won't leak if caught in the rain. The bill is not overly long. And the size large fits my 7 3/8 (59cm) head perfectly.
Donald R Dolph
IN, United States
2012-08-24
Very pleased with the cane as it was all it claimed to be. Service was prompt and the price was right.
Larry Blaylock
CA, United States
2012-08-24
Loved the feel and style because they went with almost any top I came up with. You can wear them everyday or to get a more dressed up look.
Ron Romonchuk
FL, United States
2012-08-24
Works great, and the service and cooperation of the staff (Eve) was fantastic!
Ron Romonchuk
FL, United States
2012-08-24
Works great, and the service and cooperation of the staff (Eve) was fantastic!
Larry Blaylock
CA, United States
2012-08-24
The suspenders looked and felt great. It is my fault for jumping the gun and ordering them before reading everything more closely. In my black powder club, I can"t wear any thing that was invented after 1840. The elastic strip on the back had a good feeling and looked very good, but elastic was invented after 1840. Loved everything else that I ordered and plan on wearing them a lot.
joe pinero
CA, United States
2012-08-24
thomas Pierce
MN, United States
2012-08-24
Christian Roth
United States
2012-08-24
Love them they are worth every penny!
John Taylor
AL, United States
2012-08-24
The 3XLT vest I ordered is much smaller than any other article of 3XL clothing that I have and is unusable by me. I measured myself and the vest should have fit. All my sport shirts are 3XLT. My dress shirts are 19x38 and my suits/sport coats are 54 XL. Other than the size problem, the vest is beautiful and maybe can be used by a smaller person. A friend recently purchased a vest from you which is labeled XL and the one I ordered seems to be about the same size. Maybe I'll have better luck next time.
Jack Kellum
WA, United States
2012-08-24
The vest did not fit properly. Apparently there were some places on the site that warned of this but I could not find. In fact I had to call to ask about it and the person I spoke to did not advise. It appears as though the return is going to be handled easily and it has been returned. I look forward to doing more business in the future.
betty darling
NV, United States
2012-08-24
great service!!!look forward for future purchases.
Jon Christianson
NO, United States
2012-08-24
I couldn't be more pleased by my purchase. Arrived at my home the next day even though I ordered standard shipping, came in perfect condition, and is just a darn good scarf! Very comfy, very warm. I recommend it!

United States
2012-08-24
Nice piece. Sometimes lenses loosen and fall, but, that's to be expected at this price.

United States
2012-08-24
Nice prop. Strap has a habit of twisting, but, it's a minor issue. Excellent service, by the way.
David F Tryon
OH, United States
2012-08-24
Nice hat and nice people to deal with I highly recommend
Rick Hobson
MO, United States
2012-08-24
This holster was all I hoped it would be. Great leather, fit was excellent, service was great. I plan on keeping this holster and my Ruger together for a long, long time.
Sickshooter0
OH, United States
2012-08-24
I really didnít know what to expect. Historical Emporiumís prices were so much better than the others I had come across. The 2-toned RH tooled leather belt and holster arrived in about 1 week and fits my Colt 1871 perfectly. When they say add 4Ē to your regular belt size, they mean it. I did and it fits very well. I would definitely recommend this series.

United States
2012-08-24
Although we loved the coat it fit across the the front of the chest poorly(baggy) and required alteration to look right. Still the quality and stly were very good!

United States
2012-08-24
love it!
Michael
CA, United States
2012-08-24
Shipment was very reasonable. The quality of this vest was more than I had hoped for. This gorgeous vest is very durable and fits me nicely. I've received many compliments from it. I will definitely be making future purchases and highly recommend the Emporium. Thank you!
Christine L. Malson
CA, United States
2012-08-24
Great Fitting and Fun Suit. As nice as any 21 century suit my husband wears!
Joanne Eriksen
UT, United States
2012-08-24
My father loves it. I think I will have to get him the hat too.
Mage Bailey
CA, United States
2012-08-24
This blouse gives me a very good start on a victorian housekeeper's costume. There's good fabric, it's well sewn, and it is authentic. What more could I ask.
J.Bermudez
NY, United States
2012-08-24
The vest is not burgundy, it is a copper color. I wish I still had the receipt to return it.
Capt. Tim Ellington
NE, United States
2012-08-24
Arr! I really be likin' dis' shirt! It be a nice quality shirt dat be nice and comfortable and it fits me well! I usually be cautious aboot purchasing clothing onilne, (especially since dubloons don't work electronically), and I worry aboot clothin' not fittin' properly or lookin' better online den it does when it comes to me ship, but dis shirt is a good quality shirt dat fits nice de way it should!
Bill Thornal
TE, United States
2012-08-24
This was my second order and am satisfied with the quality of each. Made some minor adjustments on the holster on the first order.. Hung too low for what I liked. My second order was for a rig that could be worn under a suit coat and works great.
Nat Hilliard
TE, United States
2012-08-24
The blouse was a perfect fit. The sleeves were even long enough and that is rare for me to find.
Ed Crowell
NY, United States
2012-08-24
Best workmanship & quality

United States
2012-08-24
Size does run a little small. I'm normally a medium, but was advised on phone to get large size. The large fits fairly well; maybe just a tad big, but I can tell the medium would be too tight. The belt in back does allow for a tighter fit. vest does appear to be well made.
Amanda Dawson
TX, United States
2012-08-25
Nice pair of glasses, goes well with my costume. One hinge is a bit stiff, but I think that will ease with a little wear.
Bill
NY, United States
2012-08-25
I was really impressed with the quality of the shirt, and how quickly it arrived. I'll definitely be ordering a few more.
S.Hearne
NC, United States
2012-08-25
Great looking shirt! The quality & fit of Scully shirts is always outstanding. The order process was easy & shipping was exactly as promised. I highly recommed purchasing your western needs from Historical Emporium & suggest if you haven't already tried a Scully shirt, get one & see for yourself just how great their products are. Excellent design and these shirts will definately get you noticed every time you wear one.
Stephen Belyea
MA, United States
2012-08-25
I have been looking for this hat for a long time. I am very happy with it. Well made, the right shape and a good fit. This homburg is made to last.
Stephen Belyea
MA, United States
2012-08-25
Well made studs that fit well. Well done sir!
Stephen Belyea
MA, United States
2012-08-25
This collar is well made. It is easy to clean and press back into shape. Weel done!
Tom Tuck
KY, United States
2012-08-25
This coat was deliverd ontime and was just exactly as advertised. It will be an asset as I dress as they did in the old west when I go to some of the "stuffed shirt" beneifts at the local university. I love to show them that some choose to dress well but differently than they do.
Anne Kraft
FL, United States
2012-08-25
The fabric looks good, the cut of the trousers is very full and the sizing runs large. I'm having to alter the pair I bought even after ordering a size smaller. Overall, am pleased with the quality.
Stan Burch
GA, United States
2012-08-25
Very nice item. Great service
Stan Burch
GA, United States
2012-08-25
Nice Item, Great service

United States
2012-08-25
Nice material but it is a lot shorter than stated. Editor's note: The cravats measure 59" on the longest side and 54" on the shortest side. If you receive one that is not sized properly, please contact Customer Service for a replacement.
Roger
NH, United States
2012-08-25
Just what I was expecting from Scully, American Made since 1906 and truly a stylish item.
Ellen
CA, United States
2012-08-25
I love then, great work of art. great leather. feels nice to wear.
Andrew Remus
CA, United States
2012-08-25
Very well made, feels great and makes me look pretty darn good, which is no small feat. I use this for everyday work at the office, teaching at the university, stylish motorcycle commuting and such. It will also be part of the gear at some upcoming cowboy action shooting events. Pairs great with canvas pants & leather braces. I'm a busy guy - I use all four pockets and all four work!
Andrew Remus
CA, United States
2012-08-25
Wow - this is the most comfortable shirt I have ever owned. The "hand" of the cotton is soothing, the hue subtle and dignifed and the breathabilty is wonderful. Gratefully, even though this is 100% cotton, it behaves well in the dryed and is easy to maintain. I assumed I would have to iron it, bit it doesn't need it. Now I'm sorely tempted to dump my entire collection of contemporary dress shirts, with their sad little plastic buttons, poor ventilation and unfriendly textures and go totally Emporium.
Andrew Remus
CA, United States
2012-08-25
I finally got it right buying these suspenders. I use them with my Classic Canvas trousers as everyday work clothes. These suspenders are light but seem strong, and the underside of the straps is slick enough to keep the suspenders from binding on the shirt. This is important because when your shoulder's naturally rotate forward and backward when working outside or at a desk, the usual hardware-store/big-box cheapo suspenders drag on the shirt and resist normal body motions. These from the Emporimum don't, they are very comfortable and do their job well without any drama.
Andrew Remus
CA, United States
2012-08-25
I have been converted to the trousers-and-Suspenders side of the Force and I cannot go back. Sorry Ma and sorry Pa, I can't take this Moderne life any more. Seriously, after one day of wearing this style of pants and associated Emporium leather suspenders with a Coulter shirt, I realized something went terribly wrong when society somehow decided that pants-and-belts was the way to go. The Classic trousers rode perfect when I ordered two sizes above my normal waist size. Came out of the dryer ready to go and were easily hemmed to the right height. With this system there's no pressure on your waist, there's a whole lot more freedom of motion in the hips and thighs, and no binding during bending or making long purposeful strides around town. The cut keeps shirt tails under control even after repeated walking, lifting, bending and so forth. Gentlemen note (ladies please refrain from reading further) - the modern issues of high tension zippers and offensive inseam encroachment common to modern jeans and slacks have a remedy in these trousers - the ventilation advantages of the button fly, breathable fabric and (thanks to the suspender-effect) room to pendulate (?) are extraordinary. Enough said!
Andrew Remus
CA, United States
2012-08-25
I got these because they appeared identical to a pair of boots my Grandfather is seen wearing in a formal portraint from 1920. Am impressed with this old-school walking gear; they have become my regular work shoes. They take a polish well, are grippy on carpet and make satisfying sounds on tile and concrete. These are not shy shoes, so expect that people will hear you coming. That's one of the things I like about them - they're not some girly, soft, effete, loafer & tassel affair, but boots for Men. Beyond this, the design has a near-magical quality I must comment on; the sole has a bit of a natural curve in it that, in combination with the heel, lends a sort of propulsive effect to walking. It's something to do with the way the boots encourage an upright posture and purposeful locomotion, and a bit of a mystery to be sure.
Sheila T
CA, United States
2012-08-25
The fast service was amazing. The product is very lovely and of good quality. Very pleased.
RoxyBlue
United States
2012-08-25
...for a woman with Victorian tastes:) The purse is lovely, well made, and has some heft to it as well - a very correct complement to the steampunk Halloween costume I'm putting together and also appropriate for more modern use as an evening bag. Shipping was lightning fast.
Roger
OR, United States
2012-08-25
I want to wear it all the time! I'm pleased with the design quality of my new slouch hat; and I'm eager to see how well it holds up during a rainy Oregon day. I received the hat a few days after it was ordered. Because I ordered the hat a size too large, I had to return it. The turn around time for an exchange was shorter than I expected! I will certainly be purchasing other items from Historical Emporium; and will recommend the business to friends!
Robert Semone
United States
2012-08-25
It was a great experience dealing the them. The gun was in great condition, had no problem what so ever. Would buy from them again anytime.
Randy Toops
United States
2012-08-21
The BEST value on the net. Cost could easily be three times what i payed. I ordered my size 6 higher than my waist and it fits great. I love the color and the thick leather. The whole transaction from ordering to shipping was great. Thank you very much.
Joel R. Rudzinski
IN, United States
2012-08-22
Perfect fit for my Navy open top revolver, and the measurements were spot on for fit.
Michael P
MO, United States
2012-08-26
Sheila T
CA, United States
2012-08-25
Good service and good product is a winner
Lois W
VT, United States
2012-08-24
Theresa S
MA, United States
2012-08-24
Karen E
NY, United States
2012-08-24
Wallace C
PA, United States
2012-08-24
Prior to shipping, I appreciated being contacted to verify my shipping address which was different than my home address.
A V
WY, United States
2012-08-24
Great merchandise, quick delivery
James C
MI, United States
2012-08-24
Very happy with product. Website was excellent.
Garion E
CO, United States
2012-08-24
I really appreciate the fast shipping, the cost and the quality of the coat. It perfectly fit my needs.
Vallery D
WA, United States
2012-08-22
Hello there - wasn't sure whether I answered this ever. Was extremly pleased with your products and your service. Received the items right away. Thanks, Ludlow Village Players
Randy T
MO, United States
2012-08-21
Keep up the good work.

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service