Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2012-09-16

Jim Kline
PA, United States
2012-09-12
Excatly what was promised was delivered; very satisfied.
ELTC
NJ, United States
2012-09-12
exactly as advertised; fit big actor like a dream; customer service and shipping also 5-star!
Jim Kline
PA, United States
2012-09-12
Excatly what was promised was delivered; very satisfied.
Lyndy B
GA, United States
2012-09-12
Well suited for my modern day need for costume appropriate sunglasses. I have sensitive, light colored eyes and wear contacts. My family approved these for my use with our Family of steampunk Monster Hunters. Thanks for having something that allowed me to leave the old plastic frame sunglasses at home during DragonCon.
Peter J. Ward
WV, United States
2012-09-12
I didn't know exactly what to expect but I was extremely happy as soon as I pulled the carefully-packed fez from the box. No concerns, no complaints!
Jim Kline
PA, United States
2012-09-12
Excatly what was promised was delivered; very satisfied.
Happy Lady
NE, United States
2012-09-12
The website does not do it justice. The quality is top of the line. Sometimes lace can be a bit stiff and need several washing to get it to relax but this is by far the softest blouse I have purchased. The fit is fabulous and looks good with a skirt/slacks or with jeans. I could not be more satisfied.
Linda Blowney
PE, United States
2012-09-12
These boots were as comfortable as everyone says! I am not used to wearing any kind of heel and was able to wear them an entire day with no pain and no aftereffects.
Michael Wright
KE, United States
2012-09-12
Goes great with my black dress shoes and steampunk costume
Robbie Morton
OK, United States
2012-09-12
Loved it! It fit nicely and everyone thought it was darling. I got the mob hat too and it was a hit!
Happy Lady
NE, United States
2012-09-12
I was looking for something vintage to wear to a cowboy shoot and found the Evangeline Blouse. I was so pleased when it arrived. It's a Scully so you know it is top quality. If you are looking for something sexy but not trashy this is it. I feel like a million when I wear it...my man loves it on me too.
Robbie Morton
OK, United States
2012-09-12
Loved it! It was easy to iron and loved nice with the swimsuit.
Rich
CO, United States
2012-09-12
Really great vest along with excellent customer service, secure packing and fast shipping.
Eric Uhinck
TE, United States
2012-09-12
Not a lot to say about this, it's a badge. Good quality, good price, overall great product.
Robert Tillery
TX, United States
2012-09-12
All items have order were perfect fit and in high quality. I will defiantly recommend to others and purchase more at later date.
Robert Tillery
TX, United States
2012-09-12
All items have order were perfect fit and in high quality. I will defiantly recommend to others and purchase more at later date.
Robert Tillery
TX, United States
2012-09-12
All items have order were perfect fit and in high quality. I will defiantly recommend to others and purchase more at later date.
Rich
CO, United States
2012-09-12
Really great vest along with excellent customer service, secure packing and fast shipping.
Robert Tillery
TX, United States
2012-09-12
All items have order were perfect fit and in high quality. I will defiantly recommend to others and purchase more at later date.
Robert Tillery
TX, United States
2012-09-12
All items have order were perfect fit and in high quality. I will defiantly recommend to others and purchase more at later date.
Robert Tillery
TX, United States
2012-09-12
All items have order were perfect fit and in high quality. I will defiantly recommend to others and purchase more at later date.
Max Garrett
AR, United States
2012-09-12
i loved the item it's fit and design were exactly what i wanted.
Robert Tillery
TX, United States
2012-09-12
All items have order were perfect fit and in high quality. I will defiantly recommend to others and purchase more at later date.
Eric Uhinck
TE, United States
2012-09-12
The shirt looks great, and though it came in a bit large, that was more an error on my part. My only complaint would be that the inside of the shirt does not feature the same pattern as the outside. I don't know if that's historically accurate or not, but as I prefer to roll up my sleeves, I was slightly disappointed by this. However, it's a very minor issue that overall has little effect on the quality of the product. Good buy.
Max Garrett
AR, United States
2012-09-12
i loved the item it's fit and design were exactly what i wanted.
Eric Uhinck
TE, United States
2012-09-12
Not a lot to be said about suspenders, other than they look good and keep your pants up. Great product.
Max Garrett
AR, United States
2012-09-12
i loved the item it's fit and design were exactly what i wanted.
Max Garrett
AR, United States
2012-09-12
i loved the item it's fit and design were exactly what i wanted.
Max Garrett
AR, United States
2012-09-12
I will be sending these back as they were one size to small to be replaced with the next size up. the quality was great.
Eric Uhinck
TE, United States
2012-09-12
I love these pants. They look great and are very comfortable. I'd advise one to make sure to observe that they sit higher than modern pants. The site tells one this, but I still managed to forget it and they were a bit tight. Nothing a minor alteration couldn't fix, however. Great buy.
Max Garrett
AR, United States
2012-09-12
i loved the item it's fit and design were exactly what i wanted.
Eric Uhinck
TE, United States
2012-09-12
These guns are great. I already owned a few others similar to this, but I'd have to say that this one is the best yet. Looks and feels real and all the moving parts work as they should. Excellent product.
Eric Uhinck
TE, United States
2012-09-12
Great vest. Looks and feels great. I highly recommend it.
Eric Uhinck
TE, United States
2012-09-12
Not much to be said of a neckerchief, other than that it looks great and is comfortable to wear. Highly recommended.
Nancy
PA, United States
2012-09-12
Your service is fast and the I recieved so many compliments on my hat! Thank you so much for all you do!
Philip Chilcote
OR, United States
2012-09-12
Not only was the helmet everything I imagined from style to the quality of the material and design, but delivery was prompt too! It was a gift for my son and he is so very delighted with your product. Thanks!
Nancy
PA, United States
2012-09-12
Your customer service is excellent. I ordered this blouse a size too small and returned it for a larger size and I still recieved it in time for our "Victorian Days" event. The blouse is absolutely beautiful and I recieved numerous compliments on it all day!!
Vickie Reinhardt
AZ, United States
2012-09-12
This was a purchase for my teen Granddaughter who lives in another State from me. My son tells me that when she opened the package her comment was "freaking awesome!". I am pretty sure that means this is a GREAT item! I had just found your store on line and love it. I will return in the future. Oh yes, the shipping was exceptionally fast as well.

United States
2012-09-12
Shannon
NY, United States
2012-09-12
This top exceeded my expectations. The designs are far more beautiful and complex than an Internet photo could show. The fabric is nice, solid without being too heavy. It will be perfect for multiple of my cosplays at NYCC. Thanks so much!
a dashing gentleman
MN, United States
2012-09-12
Mustache adds that distinctive upper class look for the late 19th century period play that I'm currently performing in. So far I've got multiple uses out of the tape supplied but did purchase additional tape just in case. I am very satisfied with this product.
Jeff Cohen
GA, United States
2012-09-12
This is an awesome head adornment. It is labeled as "One size fits all", but it was in fact just a little big for me. Since the fez is made of wool felt, I was able to cut about an inch off the bottom with a pair of good, sharp fabric scissors, and now it fits perfectly. To get a straight cut I first put a ring of tape on the edge to act as a guide. Since the fez is slightly conical, cutting off an inch made the opening a little narrower, which was just what I needed!
David O'Sullivan
MI, United States
2012-09-12
Maybe it's my head, but this hat will not stay on unless I punch up the middle "dip". It fits well around the sides but the top is too shallow.
ALEX
CA, United States
2012-09-12
I PUT THE VEST ON BUTTONED IT UP AND ONE OF THE BUTTONS FELL OFF. IT LOOKED AS IF THE SEWING NEEDLE PIERCED THE BUTTON METAL AND THE SHARP EDGES CUT THE THREADS. I BOUGHT NEW steampunk GEAR WHEEL BUTTONS OFF AMAZON AND HAD THE TAILOR SEW THEM ON AS REPLACEMENTS FOR ALL THE BUTTONS. OTHERWISE I LIKE THE VEST.
Rusty Shackleford
United States
2012-09-12
I have to say these are the finest trousers I've ever owned. The material is lighter and more flexible than the slate gray brushed cotton. I get compliments on them whenever I wear them out.
Phillip S
NA, United States
2012-09-12
This is a watch worth its price. Totally worth looking at for any steampunk cosplays.
Vince
VA, United States
2012-09-12
Great service, vest is a little snug but that's ok. But it looks great and is well made.
Vince
VA, United States
2012-09-12
Nice vest. Well made.
chuck mc grann
UL, United States
2012-09-12
great set of holsters real quailty leather the double rig fits like a glove post was very quick no problem now to get set of 45s and im back in the old west
Barbara LaCarter
MI, United States
2012-09-12
The gloves were perfect! Fit, look everything was high quality and beautiful. Thank you.
Joseph Lloyd
United States
2012-09-12
I absolutely love this coat! it fits well, isn't thin or weak feeling, and is just plain awesome! The only thing is that I wish you could order one that was a little longer, but that's no big deal.
Gay Blech
NM, United States
2012-09-12
The helmet is perfect. Just what I was looking for.

United States
2012-09-12
Excellent service and product. Timely delivery
Barbara LaCarter
MI, United States
2012-09-12
It was perfect, better than the picture and worked beautifully with my outfit.
Rick Abercrombie
GA, United States
2012-09-12
I am pleased with the acquisition. The color was a little darker than I expected but still suitable. I will order from you again.
Rick Abercrombie
GA, United States
2012-09-12
I am very pleased. The quality is excellent, the fit is very good. I will buy from you again....
Robert Klein
NE, United States
2012-09-12
Excellent shirt, great fit and better quality than I expected. All around 5 stars
Stefani
WA, United States
2012-09-12
real rating 10 stars, these gloves are great and perfect, nice and warm but not too heavy where my hands would sweat, comfortable fit too...
Samantha Merriweather
CA, United States
2012-09-12
I could not be more pleased with the customer service I received. This company went out of its way to make sure I got my skirt in time for my event, and I really appreciated it. The skirt is lovely, though it seems a bit lighter in weight than the pictures. I recommend getting a petticoat to wear underneath.
Stefani
WA, United States
2012-09-12
I like the color of this tie a lot, its nothing to fancy but I wore it to a wedding and got a lot of compliments, it is a adjust and hook type instead of self tie, but I didnt mind as I have a black one just like it. a side note, all my collars are starched and detachable, so trying to adjust and fit it under was difficult but only due to my collars not the bow tie, it works well with a flat stand up collar or tuxedo type collar...
Harold Silcox
GA, United States
2012-09-12
Thanks so very much for the prompt shipment. The tie is exactly what I needed.
Jett Kash
CA, United States
2012-09-12
Very cool style and perfect for my band attire. Size-wise, it's a tad small; however, the frame flexes a bit so I can wear them without discomfort (I wear a medium to large hat size, ~21-22 in). The construction is very acceptable for the price and should function well for a couple of years before needing replacement.
Harold Silcox
GA, United States
2012-09-12
Got the tie promptly. It is well made. Thanks.
Mary Kay Voss
WA, United States
2012-09-12
Excellent quality, beautiful details. Very well made. Only issue, which was very minor, was misplacement of top button at neck. Had to move it -- not a big deal, and now it is PERFECT.
Mary Kay Voss
WA, United States
2012-09-12
Wow! it is absolutely beautiful, very well made, excellent materials. Was a little lighter blue, than I imagined, but will be absolutely perfect.

United States
2012-09-12
The pants fit great. They looked great. I was very pleased with this product.
Mary Kay Voss
WA, United States
2012-09-12
Looks just like the picture. Well made, comfortable and exactly what I need.
M. Holly
CA, United States
2012-09-12
Well made, well priced. This vest has moved to my everyday wear column, it gets 4 stars because I added an inside pocket for my cell phone.
Mary Kay Voss
WA, United States
2012-09-12
This beautiful navy suit is extremely well made. Fabric is good weight and not only looks good, but will hold up. the buttons in the back and the way, the back is made, made it easy to move the buttons to take in the waist a little. Perfect. I'm very pleased with the look, and the quality.
Judy Binkley
MI, United States
2012-09-12
I love the skirt...being cotton it is cool and comfortable. The Port Austin MI Area History Center had our Grand Opening and we alll dressed in vintage clothing...I received my skirt in two day...great job!
Ray M
FL, United States
2012-09-12
Great accent piece that drew raves of attention!
Brandon
United States
2012-09-12
The vest fit perfectly and looks amazing!
d dyche
WA, United States
2012-09-12
I love it. It is a real eye catcher. I officiate wedding and had many comments when i wore it last week
Jeremy L
VI, United States
2012-09-12
This is a very solid cane. I like the aesthetic of it as well as the functionality. The solid bronze handle may be a little too slick for your liking but it is perfect for mine. No blemishes or burrs of the handle, very comfortable to use, and doesn't feel like it will ever give. I did have to trim an inch and a half off the bottom for optimal comfort but that's to be expected as one size doesn't fit all. I need a cane these days to help me out when strolling about and it's great to have one that looks classy and is completely functional.
Satisfied
United States
2012-09-12
The bonnett was top quality at a good price. Loved it.
Dickey Weinkle
CA, United States
2012-09-12
Wore it at the Willits Kinetic Carnivale (a steam punk event) this past weekend. People loved the swim costume.
mike kaczmarek
PA, United States
2012-09-12
very nice holster class a service i ordered the wrong size belt for this holster the return form was so easy to use they sent me the correct size in a little over a week i received the new belt like i said class a service
Annisette
OR, United States
2012-09-12
Very well made and the faux ivory handle is more ivory than black as shown in the pictures. It is also sturdy and quite handsome.
Annisette
OR, United States
2012-09-12
Rich red fan with black trim. Very, very nice.
Guinn
United States
2012-09-12
The quality and workmanship were commensurate with the price, which is to say that I was satisfied with the purchase. Higher quality and workmanship can be found, but at a much higher price. I did have a small modification made at a local boot shop which involved having the back piece stitched to the holster on either side of the gun opening to keep it from flopping around. Otherwise, I was happy with the product and especially the service.
Annisette
OR, United States
2012-09-12
Well constructed. Lovely; good color and floral design.
Guinn
United States
2012-09-12
Quality and workmanship were good for the price. Better of both can be found but at a much higher price. I would have preferred more the twelve cartridge loops, and I would recommend one more inch above the four inch increase above the waist size recommended for proper fit.
Greg Fruth
IN, United States
2012-09-12
During a recent village festival, six of us played people buried in the cemetery. I needed to look like I was from 1915; the bow tie was the perfect addition to my attire. Historical Emporium--speedy delivery, quality item.
Evan McClain
ID, United States
2012-09-12
This watch is a wonderful piece, classy,stylish,elegant. the one problem is the front panel (infront of the watch face) comes loose easily,and i believe is plastic if t were glass and better secured i would not even consider another watch but sadly that is not the case.
Mark Anderson
ND, United States
2012-09-12
Only worn it twice so far- but the poll of those who have seen it suggests this is winner. great stuff. I'll be back for more style thanks for the great product
Jason Preston
CA, United States
2012-09-12
I have made my fiancee swoon and my future mother-in-law marvel at the awesomeness of these pants. Yes, you'll have to get them tailored. No, you shouldn't be surprised--pants this awesome went extinct 100 years ago, so you're lucky to get them at all. Just be sure to measure yourself before you order. Seriously, I may sound overexuberant, but these really are, far and away, the most flattering, handsome pants I've ever owned. It's just a very dashing look. I recommend pairing with tall black equestrian/riding boots.
Greg Simpson
AR, United States
2012-09-12
Thanks for the fast response. And the Blazer is very nice was nicer than what it appeaers in the picture, Thanks again Greg customer for LIFE.
Greg Simpson
AR, United States
2012-09-12
Thanks for the fast response. And the Blazer is very nice was nicer than what it appeaers in the picture, Thanks again Greg customer for LIFE.
Andy
ON, Canada
2012-09-12
Fantastic guantlets and for the price super, need to order a couple more pairs. I ride a 1999 Drifter 800 and these gloves and the Canvas Trench coat along with the goggles are a super addition to my riding gear when I need to step it up a notch. These gloves fit so well and are so comfortable while riding I just love them Thanks alot.....
Andy
Canada
2012-09-12
Got these and they are so cool and my sister fell right in love with them I rode up on my Drifter 800 in my Canvas trench coat and guantlets and the goggles over my eyes......she laughed so hard she cried. She now has the goggles as she is undergoing chemo so that things will look brighter for after it is over....thnaks for an awesome place to shop and to buy "stuff"
Larry White
TX, United States
2012-09-12
The blazer is exactly what I ordered. Customer service was extremey courteous. The blazer shipped quickly and arrived in great shape.

United States
2012-09-12
Mustache looks amazing. Exactly as ridiculous mixed with classy as I wanted it to.

United States
2012-09-12
Put it on the person it was meant for, and it looked comicly huge on his average sized face. Handed it over to a wider faced friend and it was perfect. So, you should probably have a wider face.

United States
2012-09-12
Love this prop, its perfect. And it magnifies a fair amount, so it was entertaining as well.

United States
2012-09-12
I bought this to go swimming at a steampunk LARP and everyone there loved it and gave me many compliments. Listen to the other reviews about sizing, and you will be all set.

United States
2012-09-12
Perfect! Use it for LARP and it looks great!
Mark T Heafner
NC, United States
2012-09-12
Beautiful shirt. Sized as advertised.

United States
2012-09-12
Very nice. Would definitely order again. Feels like silk.
Mark T Heafner
NC, United States
2012-09-12
Pretty nice pants overall. However the picture on your website pictured them with a floral design on the buttons while the actual buttons were plain with no design.
Fred Pollak
VI, Australia
2012-09-12
The watch arrived earlier than I expect and I am very happy
Fred Pollak
VI, Australia
2012-09-12
The vest arrived before I expected it and I am very happy
A Calef
MA, United States
2012-09-12
Better then expected. Good solid badge

United States
2012-09-12
good quality

United States
2012-09-12
good fit good quality

United States
2012-09-12
great duster with the pants and shirt I look like a real working cowboy
Reverend Joshua
NY, United States
2012-09-12
Great trousers. Really good quality. Comfortable fit. AND stylish. What more could you ask? They're all I hoped for, so I'll definitely be buying more clothing very shortly from the Emporium. Thanks!
Terry Riggs
TE, United States
2012-09-12
Jacket is beautiful, the button loop is a bit tight but can be fixed, Also size runs a bit small (1 size smaller). Since I assumed it was not made in the USA (since nothing is anymore) I ordered a large when needed a medium. The large fits snuggly.
Kevin Rorer
SC, United States
2012-09-12
I have been looking for these type of pants for over a year. They look very much like the Hampton Legion Officer pants (1861-65).
Michelle Woodyard
CA, United States
2012-09-12
I bought this skirt as part of my steampunk costume for Halloween this year. The size dimensions listed were spot on. The only thing is that while the skirt fits my hips perfectly it is a little too big in the waist. No worries, I'll just have it tailored. I cannot wait to wear this skirt! Is it Halloween yet?!?!?

United States
2012-09-12
The amount of detail put into this pocket watch is phenomenal. The open-faced back is great to see the clock's inner works, combined with the intricate front works beautifully. Highly recommend getting this watch as a special gift.
F. Darcy
NY, United States
2012-09-12
After a quick adjustment and hemming, my Fall Front trousers were ready to wear soon after delivery. They got me through the three hours of English Country Dancing at the Macomb Ball in Plattsburgh in style and comfort! Authentic looking and very willing to 'move' with me throughout all the different dances... Very finely crafted (my ex-wife was an excellent clothing constructor ((seamstress?)) and I learned enough through osmosis to know quality workpersonship when I see it! A great buy...
F. Darcy
NY, United States
2012-09-12
Wore my new regency Shirt to a Ball and it performed with elegance and comfort. My only wish would be neck sizing availability upon ordering...I have an old wrestler's neck (thick) and the standard XL was too tight to wear buttoned up to the top. Still looked great, but I would have loved to wear the Jabot and show off the pleated (?) collar. Otherwise a great shirt for English Country Dancing (or whatever strikes your fancy).
James R. I. Cady
United States
2012-09-12
This hat is well-made, handsome, and the perfect accessory for spring and summer. I do have one note, that while not by any means a complaint, should be known by potential buyers: This derby is high-crown. In other words, it looks more like the "tall" derbies available on this site than the standard derbies. It's still a great hat, but be prepared for it to be a bit taller than your average bowler. Still, all around an excellent purchase!
Sarah Pierce
IO, United States
2012-09-12
I bought this hat for a friend who loves vintage looking hats. He was very pleased with the hat. He sent me pictures and I think he looks amazing in it. It is a cool piece that he'll have forever. Thanks.
robert l harvey
NC, United States
2012-09-12
Just great! Price was outstanding, product was unbelieveable and service beyong going the extra mile. I have a 44 cal henry rifle and it looks great inside this scabbard. Talk of the range. Super service and product. Will continue buying from these folks. Retired Marine, hard to please, but love the service and products.
Euphemia Hamilton
IN, United States
2012-09-13
Not at all what I thought I was getting. Then when I got them, packing poor & scratched. Packed in a metal tin. Thin band to tie on your head. Picture on line looked way better! I work at a haunted house (we have 5 haunts). Always buying on line. I'm not even going To use them. Went out & bought goggles from another store. Wish I could say something Good about my order. I can't :0( oh, might use in a doll. Other than that,nothing.
Printer's Row
United States
2012-09-13
Beautiful coat. Perfect fall weather weight, so I havenít been able to wear it out yet. The sizing is pretty accurate. I usually wear a 6 on top, but as Iím curvy on the lower half I ordered an 8. It leaves just enough room under the coat to wear a thicker sweater. I looked at this coat a year ago, didnít get it, and then it went out of stock for a while which made me sad. I was happy to see it back! Also happy to see it was made in the USA.
DJ Kinney
MA, United States
2012-09-13
I give this a "qualified" five stars. The quality is absolutely astonishing. It is a wonderful coat with a wonderful cut that really follows the lines of the body. The problem? It is meant to be an "Edwardian" coat, which is mostly correct, but the buttons Shrine has used are pence pieces from 1937!!! Am I picky? Yes. But if you want historical clothing, it can't have anachronistic buttons from the future. I bought appropriate 1-1/8 inch pewter buttons and had them attached. Wonderful coat.
DJ Kinney
MA, United States
2012-09-13
This coat is of such a high quality, and of such a precise velvet material that I can hardly believe the price. It could easily be a coat in the $500 range, I should think. It is a bit eccentric for a true regency piece. Mr. Darcy would likely not have ventured out in it...it looks more like a piece a showman would wear, perhaps someone in theater. But it is no less accurate for that fact.
DJ Kinney
MA, United States
2012-09-13
This is a fine looking tie tack and though it's small, it is essential as a finishing touch.
DJ Kinney
MA, United States
2012-09-13
The reviews here all have suggested sizing guidelines and it is very confusing. After trying a couple of sizes, let me explain what the issues is. In short, this is what you need to ask yourself: "Do I have a gut?" You see, modern pants sit at the waist. For your "average American male" this is the smallest circumference. As one moves up, the circumference grows markedly because of a swelling midsection. BUT, if you are in shape and your body has no beer belly, then the waist is actually the biggest part and above it should be narrower. Most trouser styles up to the late 1950s sit high--and these 19th Century styles are VERY form-fitting. This is the root of the confusion. Many people say to get "a couple of sizes larger"--so if you are a 32, get a 34 or 36. This ONLY APPLIES if you have a gut, because these pants sit way up around the stomach. If you have a healthy trunk, and you are usually a 32, these are made correctly to size. Get a 32. I think this is something to keep in mind for all of the trousers, waistcoats, and over coats that are available through this company.
DJ Kinney
MA, United States
2012-09-13
This vest should have 5 stars. The pattern is fantastic and the colour is absolutely rich and shining. A special touch is the oriental-inspired cloth-covered buttons which have the same pattern (as opposed to metal buttons). The problem? The pockets are decorative. That means no pocket watch. One might possibly cut the seam and enter the lining through the pocket to create a space for a watch, but there appears to be no actual pocket. Editor's note: As noted on the product detail page, this vest does have buttons, they are just sewn shut so that the vest maintains it shape in transit. We spoke with the customer and the vest pockets are now open.
DJ Kinney
MA, United States
2012-09-13
I'm not sure where the patterns for these tokens came from, but several have references to rather famous and historically accurate brothels. It was a nice surprise. I believe that I have purchased all of the variations.
DJ Kinney
MA, United States
2012-09-13
Well, it's simple and there aren't that many things that could go wrong with it. It is labeled "Historical Emporium" and the pattern is good. I have run a tack through it many times and there seems to be no damage to the silk. I have worn it in a variety of styles and all work well.
DJ Kinney
MA, United States
2012-09-13
It's extraordinary that these shirts are still made by any company. This one is made in Guatemala and I have a feeling that it isn't just for cheap labour. I wonder if there are places in the world--such as cattle country like Guatemala--where sensible, loose, but good looking shirts are still worn. High quality. NOTE: It does look good with the collar up or down, resulting in a style from two separate periods of men's dress.
DJ Kinney
MA, United States
2012-09-13
These get 4 stars only because they are not as historically accurate as they could--and should--be. The back is a patch of elastic rather than silk or leather. This is nice for wearing daily, but not accurate. The elastic will decay eventually, giving these suspenders a built-in death date of 10 years out or so. It's a shame. A nice touch is the included 6 buttons to make any trousers compatible with the suspender style.

United States
2012-09-13
These suspenders are great quality, no complaints about the materials or construction. As other reviewers mentioned, I also found that when paired with the Callahan dress trousers, the suspenders were noticeably loose even when on the tightest setting. I'm not short by any means at 6'4", but I am a slender 200 lbs. It's a minor issue though, and one that a quick visit to a friend's leather punch will remedy nicely.
Nancy
GA, United States
2012-09-13
The skirt was more beautiful in person than in the catalogue. It can be dressed up or down. Looking forward to wearing some favorite scarves with it, along with ankle boots! Thanks for making such a nice skirt.
Mimi Koerner
NJ, United States
2012-09-13
My return and refund were processed promptly.
Clever By Half Productions
VA, United States
2012-09-13
Clever By Half Productions purchased this moustache for our production of A Midsummer Night's Dream, and it *just* fell shy of holding up to outdoor humidity conditions. Will you need separate spirit gum if you purchase this? Yes. Will you need moustache wax if you're using this outside? Yes. But ... the shape holds well, the back is quality, and the bristles will take a waxing back into shape. For the price, for no more than a couple of hours of wear a day, you could do a lot worse.
Chase B.
TE, United States
2012-09-13
Looks just like in the photos. The hat is very comfortable and looks sharp.
Lola
TE, United States
2012-09-13
This telescope is very well made. I love the leather and the brass together - nice touch. If I were have to have any negative, I guess I would have to say that maybe there should be instructions (for those of us that are not savy at navigation and don't know how to use a telescope). When I first opened the scope, I pulled everything out as far as it would go and what did I find - only blurriness. It took me several minutes of fustrationingly twisting and turning and such until I accidentally pushed the smallest eyepiece in and one last look-see through the scope revealed clarity. I almost was ready to send it back with a nasty letter. Silly me. I love it now...now that the way to use it is clear.
Lola
TE, United States
2012-09-13
Love this brassy bit. It is very well made and works quite easily. Will make a lovely set of binoculars for the opera. I am sure they will get quite a few looks. Has good clairity. I also have the folding monocular and loved it so much that I invested in the binoculars. The only thing I dislike about them is that you have to push them closed instead of twisting the lever. It would be nice to close them by twisting the lever. Minor flaw.
Jake
MA, United States
2012-09-13
Very happy with the quality of the product for the price and service. Historical Emporium has the best products for price and quality. No other stores compare.
Lisa
WA, United States
2012-09-13
This is an amazing product in quality and in fit also. It was delivery in much less than a week.
wanda
United States
2012-09-14
this was the coat, can not say nothing bad about it, or the people behind it, this is the place to order, and will many more times, as this game we love to play keep going, (sass) is the game. to have fun spend you money and count your blessings Thank you Rip
Starlord
United States
2012-09-14
In all my 523 years I have not owned such a well constructed pair of steel toe boots. They are quite comfortable, and had a very short break in time. (three days total) the toe does not pinch at all (a first for me, I must say) and the heel does not bind, even with repetitive trips up and down slopes of various grades, heights, and terrains. They are full sewn welt, so they could be re-soled if ever worn out. All in all, quite a bargain. The only caveat is that they need a keeper for the side zippers. Once the zipper is fully broken in, they tend to like to open a bit, and a keeper would stop this. And that, good sirs, is the ONLY negative.
howard daubs
IL, United States
2012-09-14
quality product, reasonable price, prompt delivery. Too bad everything doesnt turn out so well as this purchase.
Hector Chavez
TX, United States
2012-09-14
I had purchased the Cobern Coat in attempt to get an Inverness style coat from HE. It was nice except that it felt just too short...almost above the knees. And it just never felt "right" at that length. Well, a few weeks later, this coat showed up, in brown (my favorite color), and while the described measurements didn`t make it sound much longer, the picture looked it. So I ordered and was incredibly well surprised. I wear my HE clothing regularly for daily wear and this coat is a great addition. It is lightweight yet feels warm and soft. The length is perfect, and it cast a very classic vintage victorian sillouhette...especially when paired with a bowler, homberg or top hat. Great product and as usual, shipping was fast and hassle free!
Sue Barrett
CO, United States
2012-09-15
We are having a western style wedding and the vests are perfect for the groom and best man! I have looked high and low and was so happy to find your store online! We'll be back for sure.
Rich Cook
IL, United States
2012-09-15
When my wife looked at the trousers she said that the chain stich used to so tha trousers cam loose any where it would alol pull out and the trousers would come apart. The button holes were too small and made it very difficult to button the buttons. She had to make the button holes bigger and resow the seams.
andrew Binkerd
UT, United States
2012-09-15
Fell apart first time I used it. Being that it is so inexpensive, it should almost be expected. Editor's note: We have provided a replacement tie tack for this customer.
andrew Binkerd
UT, United States
2012-09-15
Beautiful shirt! Soft and well fitting! My favorite shirt now!
Randall A. Freysz
MA, United States
2012-09-15
Quality is there! delivery and timeliness are second to none. I would buy again. This item was hard to find and no problem here.
Tracker Thom
OR, United States
2012-09-15
I ordered 1/2 size larger than my normal 10 1/2 and they fit peerfect. A great looking boot and the order turn around time was excellent considering this was a special order item. I will definatly order more of the items I need to create my old western persona from Historical Emporium.

SC, United States
2012-09-15
I'm really pleased with these boots. They seem to run true to size and so far have been really comfortable to wear. I found the soles to be a little slick on tile floors, but other than that they're great.
Michael B
NE, United States
2012-09-16
I am very impressed with the quality and workmanship of the product I purchased.
Micki G
WY, United States
2012-09-15
I ordered a jacket in 3X, but when it came it was much smaller. When I contacted the company and asked if they could look at another to check the size I was told simply they are the correct size. There is no way the item was so I sent it back. Very disappointed. I really needed the jacket for a work event.
Alexander S
IL, United States
2012-09-14
Great product, quick service.
Inger M
WA, United States
2012-09-14
Great products at good prices. All were very well made
Joshua R
NJ, United States
2012-09-14
I love Gentleman's Emporium! As a victorian enthusiast, nothing thrills me more than to walk a mile in the shoes of the men I admire (literally)! I've purchased nearly an entire wardrobe on this site, and I intend to keep coming back!
Noah J
VA, United States
2012-09-13
Quick delivery and a strong site UI made this a very pleasant shopping experience.
Eugene W
UT, United States
2012-09-13
Stephanie K
TX, United States
2012-09-13
It's hard to find quality, accurate victorian/Edwardian/etc clothes without getting things custom made. Historical Emporium is, to my knowledge, one of a kind.
Brenda S
VA, United States
2012-09-13
R. R
CA, United States
2012-09-12
Shipping time was fantastic. Placed an order in the late afternoon, was shipped that evening. All the items were packaged well and arrived in perfect shape. Thanks for the excellent service.
Robert U
TX, United States
2012-09-12
I had no problems and was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the goods. Great work.
Allison T
NY, United States
2012-09-12
Satisflied with product but sent back for smaller size.
Ralph L
CA, United States
2012-09-12
Already have! In fact a large group of us are all buying things from here for an event soon. Great work! Keep it up!
Alina B
CA, United States
2012-09-12
Scott D
TX, United States
2012-09-12
Your workmanship is excellent and the material outstandis colors thank you scott
Patrick B
NY, United States
2012-09-12
Wonderful customer service and good shipping. I had to outfit a size 56L man in a Turn of the Century costume, and your clothes fit him surprisingly well. Very little alteration (trousers hems, sleeve cuffs). And the clothes were well made! Thank you for making my job easier!
Joy L
CA, United States
2012-09-12
My exchange for a larger size was handled very well so I would have it in time for my event. Phone operaters were very helpful.
Thomas S
MN, United States
2012-09-12
Anna D
CT, United States
2012-09-12
I ordered the men's bathing suit on a Tuesday or Wednesday. My excellent husband and I (plus assorted children) were leaving on a weekend outing Saturday morning. There was some anxiety that the suit would not arrive in time for said outing, but sure enough, Friday's post saw it arriving at our door in fine style. Color me extremely pleased.
Daniel M
FL, United States
2012-09-12
They had prompt and friendly service. I will definitely be buying from here again.

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service