Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2012-11-18

Diamondback
CA, United States
2012-11-16
They are what I ordered. Delivered promptly in time for a movie shoot I was doing. Thanks.
Batman
MI, United States
2012-11-12
This is one well-made shirt. It's very soft and therefore comfortable to wear all day, which I did as part of my steampunk cosplay. After washing it and letting it hang dry all I had to do was let it tumble in the dryer for a few minutes and it came out ready for me to wear. No ironing necessary unless you're going for the starched look! I agree with another reviewer that I'm tempted to replace all my "regular" with several of these. :)
Ed H.
IN, United States
2012-11-13
The "gambler's black Soft Felt" hat arrived quickly. It is an excellent lid. High quality soft felt (much more long term comfort than more rigid and heavier material) that fits perfectly, stays on in breeze, brim reblocks easily to personal 'side roll' preferrence (dampen front 270 degrees of brim with fine mist of DISTILLED water, then shape to choice with a piece of string looped around the front of brim {as far back as crown will allow} holding it in place; allow to dry and leave alone for 36 hours, about 75% of held shape change will be permanent when released from string, if not, repeat as many times as needed) then spray entire outside of hat with ScotchGuard) aresol 'protectant' {there are 4 different types of spray}). That will make it waterproof and protect it from stains. Does not alter appearance at all. I put an elasticised silver conchos band over the factory black band (which does not show), which adds about 200% of 'spiffy'. Overall, I have not seen a better looking western flavored hat anywhere at any price. I feel like I very rapidly recieved an excellent product and excellent value Both material and workmanship are beyond complaint, and with a black shitt, pants, boots, and gun rig, (rig also from you) "Palidin lives again"!! Money well spent, and future customer well treated.

United States
2012-11-13
The blouse looked well-made, but was too small. I ordered this size because another style blouse in the next size up was way too big. Sizes vary according to style, so it's just a matter of trial and error sometimes.
Jim Ridgway
CA, United States
2012-11-13
This is a beautiful vest. As noted, it runs small and I ordered per the sizing chart. Very nice material and very comfortable. The only drawback is there are no pockets whatsoever on the vest - no place for a pocketwatch, etc. Two small pockets at the lower end would make this a five-star vest.
Damion Mosier-Tidd
United States
2012-11-13
Shipped fast, like, REALLY fast, got in 2 days. Fantastic value, and well made. It fits, the advice on the website was spot-on, and it looks great. If I'm not having a custom piece made, then GE is my one-stop-shop for costuming and historical dress. I could go on, but short and simple is always better.
Colette Hayes
TX, United States
2012-11-13
I really appreciate the quality of the product. It was as I expected. Nice grip on the handle and very sturdy. My husband needed good support and this product gave him the support he needed. Very stylish and I couldn't ask for a better product to express character. Thank You
Hearter
AR, United States
2012-11-13
The quality of the coat was very good. Unfortunately, the size of the coat runs small for labelled size. Even ordering 1 size above what you normally wear may be tight.

GA, United States
2012-11-13
I appreciate the autheniticity of the item. Unfortunately, the shipping costs were extremely high and I had to return it because the sizes are different from what I am used to and it was going to cost $27 for shipping in addition to the cost of the skirt. I don't think that is practical. A bit disappointed.
MICK BRASCHLER
CA, United States
2012-11-13
PHENOMINAL CUSTOMER SERVICE, I PRICED SIMILAR ITEMS ON OTHER SITES, THESE GUYS BLOW THE COMPETITION OUT OF THE WATER. I AM VERY HAPPY WITH MY PURCHASE, GOOD QUALITY PRODUCT. I RECOMMEND HISTORICAL EMPORIUM FOR ALL " GET UP " NEEDS.
Johnny Stackhouse
CA, United States
2012-11-13
Vest was nicely made for the price, but fit oddly. vest fit fine in the waist/stomach, but was big and baggy in upper chest/under arms.

United States
2012-11-13
Holster is very nicely done! Their sizing chart was right on and gave us the perfect fit!

United States
2012-11-13
Quality better then expected Will continue to purchase additional items
Bastien
MI, United States
2012-11-13
The advise of one size up for the boots wasn't good for me. But they fit to my daughter's feet (and she loves them) : she has now her Christmas gift ! I've made a new order for me and I'm waiting for my true size.
Ricardo Romero
VA, United States
2012-11-13
As expected, anticipated and appreciated! I typically wear a size 36 and ordered size 38. They fit nicely. Slightly snug around the belly. A size 40 would have been fine as well (I also orderd the suspenders but other than for looks, didn't really need them with the size 38).
Michael Oliver Mussi
CO, United States
2012-11-13
This vest has become one of my favorite pieces in my wardrobe. Its a guarenteed compliment magnet and really makes me feel classy on the days i wear it to work. It spices up my black and white dress code and keeps me looking stylish and ironically fashion forward despite its old timey inspiraton/design. I highly reccomend it, and the price is surely worth the quality.
Nick Pernokas
TE, United States
2012-11-13
I wore this coat on the set of the movie"Jailwagon". It looked great and the quality ,service,and price were as well.Thanks!
Carol Fougerat
TE, United States
2012-11-13
I ordered this shirt to wear to an Urban cowboy birthday party and it's wonderful! Much prettier than I expected and appears to be well made. Package came in a timely manner and undamaged. I was reluctant to order something so specific on line but it fits perfectly. Website has a good selection of retro western shirts at a fairly good price. The only thing that would have been better would be to offer free shipping over $50 or $75 purchase. I'm very pleased with my order.
Jon Provo
VI, United States
2012-11-13
I am beyond pleased with this great coat. It is elegant and functional, the perfect wardrobe addition for the man about town with a flair for the victorian.

United States
2012-11-13
This badge feels authentic and has a great look.
Mr. Dominic Sedillo
NM, United States
2012-11-13
This is great! I was actually only expecting one garter but I got two! The color perfectly matches the vest I bought also!
Mr. Dominic Sedillo
NE, United States
2012-11-13
I have always wanted a cane like this. I have been sporting it few the past few weeks up to my wedding and I think I'm going to have it as a regular accessory. People don't mess around with a dope cane like this!
Vicki
TX, United States
2012-11-13
Thank you so much for the quick response to my order! I was hesitant to order so close to Halloween, but my necklace arrived several days before. It was the "crowning jewel" to my steampunk costume this year and received several complements. I plan on wearing it with more than just my costume as it's really fun and much 'cooler' in real life than shown in the photo. Love your site and will visit again! :-)
Arkansas Historian
United States
2012-11-13
Shipped promptly, especially for a special order. Very nice fabric, well constructed.
Arkansas Historian
United States
2012-11-13
Lovely fabric, just what was needed. Prompt shipment.
Importance of Being Earnest
PA, United States
2012-11-13
This cameo, while physically beautiful. broke after the first gentle wearing. The metal that holds the pin back to the cameo is incredibly soft and after one side broke, the other literally fell of in my hand with no effort. A shame for such a pretty pin.
Importance of Being Earnest
PA, United States
2012-11-13
A very pretty purse, exactly as described and pictured.
Importance of Being Earnest
PA, United States
2012-11-13
Purse was exactly as described and the wide mouth opening makes it much more practical than it seems when closed.
Tehryn O
NO, United States
2012-11-13
I recently bought this utility belt, and holy cow...it is awesome. More pockets than I thought it originally had, it has perfect hidey spots for lady things as well as my phone, wallet, and keys! The folks at Historical Emporium are obviously looking out for their customers in regards to credit card fraud. It may have taken a day or two longer for it to get to my place, but just knowing that they look for signs of fraud is a relief. Totally going to purchase from here in the near future!
Kay McKinnon
TE, United States
2012-11-13
Excellent purchase. Exactly as pictured and sized properly.
Kay McKinnon
TE, United States
2012-11-13
Exactly as pictured and sized properly. I would recommend adding a petticoat or hoop under the skirt as the skirt is unlined and benefits from an undergarment.
Scott Macomber
MA, United States
2012-11-13
Yeah, apparently UPS delivered in a flooding storm. "left at back door". Well, it wasn't there. Shipping with signature confirmation would be nice for a 200+ $ coat. Still no idea where my coat is.
Katie Ann Baker
OH, United States
2012-11-13
The Product is made of very high quality matirial and is exactly what I have been looking for. The price was fair considering the type of product it was, and considering the high quality of materials it was made of. The product shipped within two days of ordering it, which was very nice and unexpected. The only complaint that I have is that I did not receive an e-mail containing the Receipt of payment, it is not the end of the world but I personally like to keep records of my spending and as such it would have been nice to receive a Receipt. Thank you for offering these type of products which tend to be very hard to find anywhere else.
Steve Weber
GA, United States
2012-11-13
Love this vest it fits the look I wanted for a River Boat Seaman. Thanks again
Susan Crawford
TX, United States
2012-11-13
Love the product I ordered.
jayne e. soulman
IL, United States
2012-11-13
i am totally satisfied with this vest, the workmanship and the quality are excellent. plus, it looks great on either left open or buttoned up. i would definitely recommend this vest to anyone. the first vest i had ordered came, but the manufacturer had mis-marked the size. the folks at Historical Emporium were great to work with on this situation. they immediately emailed me a return shipping label and upon receipt of the vest, they credited me back the original price and it was on my credit card in a matter of days. i am very excited to have found Historical Emporium.
Bob
United States
2012-11-13
The product was beautiful.. The site and selection was easy... very functional and I look like a cowboy..!! Highly recommened
Dave Lewis
CA, United States
2012-11-13
Not only do these folks have what no one else seems to have, but it is top quality and delivered like "right now". Happy to business with this company and wish I lived in the right era to do more.
kathy carter
TX, United States
2012-11-13
The service is outstanding and the employees are most helpful. They treat you the same whether your order is large or small. My son LOVED his t-shirt, and I appreciated the service, and will be ordering more. Thank you Historical Emporium, keep up the fine service.
F. Smith
CA, United States
2012-11-13
Excellent quality, color and fit. What I expected. Would have been five-star except I had to wait a year for the maufacturer to replenish depleted stock. Oh well, I have it now.
James C. Fite
AR, United States
2012-11-13
I really liked this globe watch. The only gripe I have is that I would have liked a thicker chain. Very thin chain, but then again it's a necklace, not a pocket watch.
James C. Fite
AR, United States
2012-11-13
I love this ascot. I wore this with the Farnsworth vest, canvas trousers, black cutaway jacket, and a black John Bull topper. I wore this to my wedding, and the ascot almost perfectly matched my wife's dress in both color and pattern. It is comfortable and easy to wear, and it looks great!
James C. Fite
AR, United States
2012-11-13
There's really not much to say here. These are some great gauntlets.
James C. Fite
AR, United States
2012-11-13
It did feel strange at first to wear these so much higher than my regular pants, but once I got used to it, they were surprisingly comfortable.
James C. Fite
AR, United States
2012-11-13
These certainly did the job, and so I really feel that they're at least alright. However, there's nothing really spectacular about them, and they do seem to have one minor flaw. While they are adjustable, the clasps don't seem to want to stay in place. I found myself having to adjust these every couple of hours. I've never worn Y-back braces before, so I don't know if this is normal or not, but it was at least mildly annoying.
James C. Fite
AR, United States
2012-11-13
This shirt was surprisingly comfortable and breaths very well.
James C. Fite
AR, United States
2012-11-13
this Farnsworth is fantastic! I love the look of this waistcoat, and I plan to wear it every chance I get.
James C. Fite
AR, United States
2012-11-13
I really love this coat. I bought this for my wedding, but I'll wear it for all formal and even only semi-formal occasions. I ALMOST went with the slightly more formal tailcoat, but I just couldn't see myself wearing it for anything other than another wedding, a military ball, or conducting an orchestra (I don't plan on doing any of these things). I immediately loved the look of this coat. I could wear this to the most formal occasion, but it's not so over the top that it is only appropriate at the most formal of occasions. It fits very well and is very comfortable, so long as it's not hot outside.
James C. Fite
AR, United States
2012-11-13
I've always been a fan of the top hat, but I didn't want to go with the ol' Abraham Lincoln. I found this slightly shorter topper to be much more to my liking. I wore this for my wedding, but have since worn it just to wear it.
Leon Echols
CA, United States
2012-11-13
This is a very well made and beautiful walking stick!! well worth the money. Thank you! I'll be back for sure!
Nick
AL, United States
2012-11-13
I am a leather tooler and like to make things myself but thought I would give this a try as the price was so reasonable and it would take me considerable time to make the holster myself. Well I was totally surprised as to the quality and fit for my Colt 45 absolutely perfect. Would recommend it to anyone wanting to reenact the old west.
Ashley Rose
IL, United States
2012-11-13
It arrived in two days and was perfect. The watch is beautiful and was the perfect gift.
David
IL, United States
2012-11-13
Every thing arrived in good condition albeit a little slow. Shipping slow is a result of using USPS hrather than UPS or FedEx.
Michael Coxe
NO, United States
2012-11-13
Fit perfectly and very high Quality !! Will be buying more !!!
K Thorsten
CA, United States
2012-11-13
Always have concerns when ordering online. However, for all who read this, have no fears. The waistcoat I ordered is an excellent purchase; fits to a 'T'; is well crafted; couldn't have asked for more. Have already worn it upon several occasions and received numerous ego busting compliments. Will order again without hesitation. Thank you Historical Emporium!!!!
Una Nowling
United States
2012-11-13
These boots are much better than I thought they would be, and I am very happy with them. They looked worryingly small when they arrived, but they fit true to size (9) and not only that, the combination of the zipper and laces mean you can custom fit the boot to your foot to a large extent. They look awesome and I've had other women walk up to me just to ask about them. They're not only comfortable to walk in, but one night I danced with the girls for nearly 3 hours with minimal pain. I'm tempted to buy a second pair.
Traci Coleman
TX, United States
2012-11-13
The vest was beautiful! I was so excited to get it. It looks great with jeans and dress pants. It came in excellent condition. and fits perfectly. I love it!
C B Kloppe III
TX, United States
2012-11-13
Nice experience from beginning to end.

United States
2012-11-14
I bought two of these to wear in a play, and the fit and quality appear to be excellent. In fact, this is one of the few shirts I've been able to find in my proper size that also has long enough sleeves, so these will probably get some off-stage wear as well. Beware of laundries, though. The first time I sent these out, they came back with the corners of the collars ironed down. I presume I wasn't specific enough and the ironer decided to treat these as wing collars, not standing collars.

United States
2012-11-14
Great service- product satisfactory and as advertised.
bruce davis
MA, United States
2012-11-14
this hat is tremendous, just the right touch - not as formal as a top hat and much easier to handle - not as silly as a derby. well on me a derby would look silly anyways! top quality, well shipped. Very classy with the great coat too.
bruce davis
MA, United States
2012-11-14
much better in person than any picture can show you. Its gorgeous and looks very refined. Generously cut, if your tummy protrudes and you up the size beware you man need to have it tailored at the top! :) do not hesitate, if you like it, buy it.

United States
2012-11-14
Very nice vest, received lots of "love it" comments first time I wore it. Not as green as I'd expected or hoped, but still nice pattern and well made. Back of vest was black not tan as advertised and this caused a reevaluation of what I could wear with it, but still made it work. Wish back of vest was same tweed material as front, instead of plain cotton; would really add to full appearance.
Mark Gray
PA, United States
2012-11-14
Switching from military impression to civilian and this frock Coat really is a step back in time. Thank you!
Mark Gray
PA, United States
2012-11-14
Perfect fit! This cotton vest will be cooler during the hot reenacting season. Thank You!
Kevin L. Miller
WV, United States
2012-11-14
It was the perfect piece to finish off my tux.
Jeanne DeMaria
PA, United States
2012-11-14
While nice looking, this men's vest from "Historical" Emporium was not particularly period accurate, but worse than that...made in CHINA....
megg
NO, United States
2012-11-14
Nice embroidery, fits a bit snug, but otherwise quite flattering
Unca Doogie
CA, United States
2012-11-14
I already have a safari jacket in standard khaki, but I was looking for something a little different. This jacket did the trick. The times I've worn it so far, I've gotten complements from colleagues and relatives.
James Daniel
AL, United States
2012-11-14
Extremely satisfied with this blazer. The workmanship and material is excellent. Extremely soft and plyable.
Leon Echols
CA, United States
2012-11-15
I'm very glad that this store is around! because this was another wonderful buy.I founded my new favorite store!
Robert Thomas
KA, United States
2012-11-15
No complaints what so ever. The item was received in a very timely manner and fit perfectly.
Chino Hills Marshall
CA, United States
2012-11-15
The Western Gun Belt & holster IS A VERY GOOD QUALITY PRODUCT for the price ! I examined the similar Ruger licensed product for comparison. The Ruger belt was the same price as this one but the leather was thin, the inside of the belt ( and holster) was rough & unlined, it was fabricated from two pieces of leather sewed together at the bullet loops. The Ruger holster would not even accept a Ruger .45 revolver without using force. The WESTEREN EMPORIUM BELT IS TOTALLY SUPERIOR. IT FITS WELL, IS COMFORABLE TO WEAR, IS EYE APPEALING, HAS QUALITY CONSTRUCTION, AND IS COOL FOR FAST DRAW! TRY IT. YOU WILL LIKE IT ! Customer Service at the Emporium is excellent as well.
Christine
PA, United States
2012-11-15
Great and speedy service!
James D.
OR, United States
2012-11-15
I simply adore them! I have run into a couple pairs of glasses they wouldn't clip to comfortably, but they are just so grand in every other way.
Nigel III
United States
2012-11-16
After a bit of trimming (tape and mustache) the stache was applied over my own real mustache. Fit nicely, covered my trimmed up mustache (grey by the way under the black making a "nice" double surprise when removed) held up remarkably well throughl quick removal (as part of the scene). It has ridden through 3 rehearsals and I may not even have to use the extra taping for opening tongiht. I am astounded. Even with scissor trimming the mustache held together well. I'm impressed. Thanks
Diamondback
CA, United States
2012-11-16
They are what I ordered. Delivered promptly in time for a movie shoot I was doing. Thanks.
S. Orrill
NC, United States
2012-11-16
My grandson has ordered many items from you. These are a Christmas present and I know he'll enjoy them.
Diamondback
CA, United States
2012-11-16
They are what I ordered. Delivered promptly in time for a movie shoot I was doing. Thanks.
Diamondback
CA, United States
2012-11-16
It's what I ordered and expected. Delivered promptly in time for a movie shoot I was doing. Thanks.
Diamondback
CA, United States
2012-11-16
It is what I ordered and expected. Delivered promptly in time for a movie shoot I was doing. Thanks.
Friedrich
TE, United States
2012-11-17
Ordered my tie along with with a shirt and a cashmere wool scarf on line late on a Thursday afternoon and they were in the mail box the following Monday. That is truly OUTSTANDING. The tie and shirt look great and they give me the 1870's appearence I am looking for. Being in Texas, I have yet to have a day cold enough to try out the wool scarf. It is, however, a great looking wardrobe accessory. Vielen Dank Historical Emporium.
Rick Mansfield
KY, United States
2012-11-17
This is a very professional-looking dress shirt. The white cuffs and collars give it a touch of elegance. Definitely wear it with a vest, but this shirt looks good both with and without a tie.
Rick Mansfield
KE, United States
2012-11-17
I already had both the black and the brown work vests in this same style. The burgundy vest is definitely my favorite though. This vest goes both with any shirt whatsoever. If I could only have one vest, I think it would be this one.
John B
NV, United States
2012-11-16
I was very well please with the timely delivery and quality of everything I ordered. When I called on the phone to add more items to my order it was no problem. The phone was answered quickly and professionally by very helpful people. My return item was handled quickly and my CC was credited back in a timely manner. Overall a very good experience!
Gwendolyn W
SC, United States
2012-11-16
Gerald E
TX, United States
2012-11-15
The product was everything I'd hoped it would be,and was delivered promply. I thank you and will recomend your company to anyone looking for a simular product.
James S
IL, United States
2012-11-14
Kevin M
WV, United States
2012-11-14
I was very pleased with the friendly staff. I ordered the wrong size vest and needed it in 3 days. They were able to assist me and I received it in 3 days. Everyone was very impressed with the look of my vest.
James F
AR, United States
2012-11-14
I really enjoyed this experience. I found everything that I was looking for, and once my order was complete, everything arrived at my home in only 4 days! Everything fit well and looked great. None of it seems cheap or costume-ish. Everything struck me as very close to exactly what would have been worn in the time period.
Wallace M
CA, United States
2012-11-13

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service