Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2012-12-09


United States
2012-12-03
Good quality vest. Sizing is perfect. Definately would purchase from Historical Emporium again. Also, very quick service
Christine
NJ, United States
2012-12-03
I bought this for my 2012 Halloween pilot costume. I was debating getting a real leather one, but decided against it since they are so much more expensive. This hat worked out great. Easy on the wallet and got the job done on Halloween. If you're looking for something warm or to wear every day, I would probably go with something else, but for a costume this was perfect. Also if you have a larger than average head this will probably be too small for you. Pair this with some goggles and you're good to go.
A. Carlson
United States
2012-12-03
I ordered per the size chart and the shirt, including the neck billows out on all sides from me. I hope to exchange it

United States
2012-12-05
good quality, good price great fit.

United States
2012-12-06
Received item promptly, great item, received many compliments, look forward to shopping again!
David holcomb
United States
2012-12-06
First order got lost sent emails and called. It was resolved. Great customer service. pants are great will be back for more pares
Brandon
AL, United States
2012-12-06
Truly appreciate the item, received many compliments, prompt shipment, good communication, would shop again!
Del W. Gardner
United States
2012-12-06
I'm sure on Christmas morning our daughter will love receiving these gloves. They look very nice. She picked them out and put them on her Wish List. Arrived in plenty of time. And, I love Shopping on the computer. Malls drive me nuts! Yep, and I'm a female. Rather be with my horse. You do a great job with your products. >(Mrs) Del W. Gardner
Tonya DeKruger
MI, United States
2012-12-06
Beautiful corset and speedy delivery. Satisfied customer and will return.
Delaina Scholes
ID, United States
2012-12-06
Was exactly what we were looking for. Every Christmas we have a Jane Austen Yule Ball and this made the outfit just dashing!

United States
2012-12-06
Exactly as described. A+
Deacon Bankes
NC, United States
2012-12-06
I have ordered the monocle before, and was very happy with it. I recently ordered another for a friend. It arrived in a timely manner. The only quibble I had was that there appeared to be some rust or tarnish on the chain. I offered to have it exchanged, but my friend didn't seem to mind.
Terry Letterman
MI, United States
2012-12-06
I had ordered the Hubbard shirt and it took way to long to be delivered and then I found that I needed a smaller size so I sent it back and that was almost 2.5 weeks ago and I have not heard from them since I sent the shirt back. So I can not make a comment on the quality of the garment as I have yet to be able to wear it.. I can comment on the fact that it takes forever to receive the item, especially if you have to exchange it.
Delaina Scholes
ID, United States
2012-12-06
The boots were exactly as the description entails. However, the sizes might be off just a bit.

United States
2012-12-06
Good quality, although you'll need a razor blade if you want the wing tips to stick up in an authentic way. Also, you may need to order TWO sizes smaller than you think unless you're using it for the actual Emporium shirt. I have a 16.5 neck and needed to go to the smallest size for my normal collarless shirt. Kind of surprising, as I tend to buy in the extra-large end of regular dress shirts. So, do question the size chart if you got your shirt somewhere else. On the other hand, it's nice to be a "small" for once in my life...
Kay McKinnon
TE, United States
2012-12-06
Just as described. I would recommend ordering a petticoat to go under the skirt and possibly a belt to cover the elastic waistband. Other than that, an excellent purchase.
Kay McKinnon
TE, United States
2012-12-06
Excellent purchase. This blouse runs a little large so make that a consideration when ordering.
Carlos
MI, United States
2012-12-06
Terrific cap and service !
Kay McKinnon
TE, United States
2012-12-06
An excellent petticoat to go under any of the skirts available. I have used it with several skirts and it works well with all.
Kay McKinnon
TE, United States
2012-12-06
A very good belt to cover the skirts with elastic waistbands. Runs true to size.

United States
2012-12-06
I really like the coat but the sizing is a bit off. I wear a 40 long and originally ordered a medium which didn't fit. I had to order a large.
Kay McKinnon
TE, United States
2012-12-06
I really like this blouse. It goes with several skirts and seems to work well with all of them. Runs a little large, a size adjustment might be made.
kathleen stear
NY, United States
2012-12-06
Beautifully made, very generous in sizing. Check measurements before purchasing. Am thrilled with purchase.
Chandler McGrew
ME, United States
2012-12-06
The Large was too big for me. HE replaced it with no questions asked. Honestly the Medium was too tight. But I purchased a hat stretcher on Amazon and now it fits perfectly.

United States
2012-12-06
The size small fit me perfectly (I'm 5'5" and 125 lbs). High wasted fit and the lace hung perfectly just above my shoes. Was comfortable to walk around in without being too constricting. Nice quality also! Fabric felt heavier/thicker than I expected and there is a lining on the inside of the skirt.
Polly Dextrose
United States
2012-12-06
We originally purchased the wool "blend" version of this coat. They may as well have not bothered with whatever tiny percentage of wool it contained, because it looked as fake as can be. This 100% wool version is very nice, and Historical Emporium gave us an effortless and fast exchange. A fit note: We ordered the coat in Long originally, as my 6'2" partner usually buys Long off-the-rack. It was at least 2" too long in the sleeves. We got this one in Regular and the length is perfect (though the waist on this design is comically high-- I wonder if it would have been better to stick with the L and have it altered!). The chest seems true-to-size.
Mark H
WA, United States
2012-12-06
Great fit and looks fantastic. I get lots of compliments in this and it accompanies a lot of colors. Couldn't be happier with this. It really is a sharp polished look.
Ed Williams
NC, United States
2012-12-06
This was just what I was looking for. My friends were amazed at the quality and just how little I paid for this rig. I seached the web for this very type of Gun Belt and holster and found prices that were for or five times more than I paid. My 45 fits just perfectly in the holster. I just love it.
Bruce Davis
MA, United States
2012-12-06
Why did these comfortable pants go out of style? These are nice with my frock coat etc. do order one size up like suggested!
john hurtado
MI, United States
2012-12-06
Good to go. I will definetly buy again. Good job. Adios

United States
2012-12-06
Anna L Austin
United States
2012-12-06
I am very impressed with the suit. I am a little on the short side, which makes it too long, but other than that I am impressed.
Kerrie Lane
CA, United States
2012-12-06
I purchased this frock coat for my husbands birthday and we could not be happier with it. It arrived in a box packed with enough paper packaging to cushion. The size chart was very accurate so I'm glad we measured before ordering. The detail pleating in the back was very crisp and all stitching throughout the garment is very neat. We recommend this coat to anyone looking for an accurate historical frock coat. It has really taken my husbands steampunk attire to the next level.
Texas Confederate
TX, United States
2012-12-06
The pants fit exactly as described. They are high quality canvas. The design is proper to the period (except they have a hip pocket). I am very pleased with the purchase.
Pat Bradshaw
CA, United States
2012-12-06
Very pretty light blue lacey fan. Lite and looks great.
Chase
TX, United States
2012-12-06
Shipped quickly, and great product! It's very soft, warm and the patterns looks awesome!
Susie Easley
CA, United States
2012-12-06
This is a fine bowtie, in a style hard to find elsewhere. However, I wish the image would show the obvious clasp that, without a decent collar, would show and turn this tie into a cheesy clip on. The color is chocolate and the sheen is very satiny. Overall, perfect for our applications in victorian dinner theater, but from a costumers point of view, please show an image of the hardware.
Susie Easley
CA, United States
2012-12-06
A good find for the price, though like some other reviewers, the "odd duck" to this piece are the plastic covers. Still, watching the moving parts makes up for a good deal and the pewter color is true to form. My only other grievance lies in the case opening, which doesn't open to a full 90 degrees. This watch keeps time quite well, the clip is secure, the chain is of a good length. Though it may be a costume piece, in relation to price, I believe it was a very good deal. My darlin' loves it and is apt to time things as never before, because he does so like a gentlemen.
Kallian O'Sullivan
CA, United States
2012-12-06
I had considered getting the basic elastic suspenders but I am very glad I got the leather ones. Very well made.
Kallian O'Sullivan
CA, United States
2012-12-06
Very comfortable; can't wait to get a few more pairs.

United States
2012-12-06
Very nice quality. Fit is true-to-size.
les harris
VA, United States
2012-12-06
l ove shirt color style fit perfect love to have more colors had three request to borrow it from me happy customer
Byron Faber
WA, United States
2012-12-06
The item was exactly as advertised, very nice. Prompt arrival.
Cathy Keyser
NY, United States
2012-12-06
This top hat fascinator is adorable. I wore it to a victorian Celebration, and it got many compliments!
Lynette Humke
IL, United States
2012-12-06
I love the Red satin day suit. I will be wearing it for an old fashion Christmas. The delivery was fast and on time. Thank You!

United States
2012-12-06
Used my hat for a FIRST Lego League Regional Qualifier on Saturday, December 1st. Tied a 4" glittered organza ribbon around it leaving 12" tails down the back. I received numerous compliments on my hat. It's slightly big for my head, but i love the hat and would order from you again. The hat was well packed and the box arrived undamaged. Thank you.

United States
2012-12-06
I've bought numerous things from your company. Like the fact that evrything I've gotten was well-made and nice quality fabrics.

United States
2012-12-06
The ammo bandoliers are the perfect size for 45 and 308 ammo. Delivery was prompt, but a little overpriced. I am satisfied with the purchase.

United States
2012-12-06
Victoria Leigh Fobes
OH, United States
2012-12-06
I bought this as a gift for my husband he loves it, so I also in turn love it. My husband actually makes pew noises too it and plays with our infant son, who also loves it We also really appreciated the wonderful touch of the letter added too it was great. I will defiantly buy from here again.
Tim McDonald
NJ, United States
2012-12-06
A nice lightweight coat. Recieved many positive comments about it.
Tim McDonald
NJ, United States
2012-12-06
Sometimes a simple design works best. For me, in this case, it's true It holds my steampunk pistols quite well. Just one problem.....I have to purchase a RH Holster. :)
william dininny
TE, United States
2012-12-06
very happy with the vest ,I will buy from historical emporium again.
Richard Best
TE, United States
2012-12-06
Great product. Fair price.
Richard Best
TE, United States
2012-12-06
Very high quality. It fit like a glove and didn't look like a costume. It looked like a real suit.
Richard Best
TE, United States
2012-12-06
I was very happy with the hats and suit I ordered, but this shirt was not as good a quality and was returned because of the thinness of material and the very poor fit in the neck.
A. Loveless
NY, United States
2012-12-06
A welcome new take on regency Holiday dressing - we do a lot of it and taking a break from the usual red and black is a big plus! Very elegant line in the back of this coat and it got LOTS of compliments on its first wearing. Does look best with a waistcoat, so be sure you have a handsome one to complete the outfit.
Tom McCain
United States
2012-12-06
Outstanding product made even more valuable with the instructions on how to tie it.
Tom McCain
United States
2012-12-06
From a distance it looks like the real thing. Perfect for the stage
Tom McCain
United States
2012-12-06
I enjoy wearing it. Makes me feel in character
Brenda Aucoin
LO, United States
2012-12-06
This purchase (western holster) is a Christmas gift. From my stand point I am pleased with the item but the real test will be once the gift is opened.... I am hoping that my husband will be pleased as well. Thank you Merry Christmas
Valerie Jones
TN, United States
2012-12-06
Beautiful skirt and just as advertised. Very pleased with purchase.

United States
2012-12-06
I wanted something nicer than an aluminum old folk's cane to help me move around after tearing my ACL. Received a lot of compliments. Knob doesn't thread on quite straight. Very happy otherwise.

United States
2012-12-06

United States
2012-12-06
Excellent. Just what I wanted, When I needed it.
Black Mark
FL, United States
2012-12-07
Nice quality for a faux leather boot. Comfortable fit. Color is more dark grey than black but I like it. Will compliment my pirate costume.

United States
2012-12-07
Will buy from you again.

United States
2012-12-07
Will buy from you again.
aleeta j schaffer
IL, United States
2012-12-07
It is a Christmas gift have not opened it yet... ask me again after Chirstmas!!
Rob aka stack Baker
ON, Canada
2012-12-07
Hmmm... the last pair I ordered was a whole lot better material. This pair was very thin, but comfy. I hope they last as long as my walnut pair does.
Ryan Rabideau
MA, United States
2012-12-07
Excellent piece, the metal buttons and sturdy construction make this really stand out. Only downside is that the inside fabric is a plad, mostly white. this means that if a small section or corner flips or bends, its very noticeable. If the inside fabric were simply red that would of course remove any possible issue.
Bowie Hamilton
MS, United States
2012-12-07
The shipping was prompt. Fantastic hat. I was nervous about the quality, but it's exquisite. Since it's winter time, I wear it all the time.I get constant compliments, a few "wise guy" comments, but only by those who must always dress ordinary. If anybody is interested in this hat and worried about the quality, and look, I attest that it's great. I can't wait to go camping with it. Next year, I plan on ordering the black Gambler's hat. Bowie

United States
2012-12-07
Aaron S
WA, United States
2012-12-07
Great fit and extremely comfortable! If they could use period buttons (bone,wood,metal, whatever) then you could quickly use it for period recreation. Then it would be 5 stars.
B. Earl
WI, United States
2012-12-07
My husband needed a vest for a caroler's costume. He chose this style and color. It was fabulous. He is considering wearing the vest more often other than the caroler's costume. Thank you Historical Emporium.
Randy Rodgers
OK, United States
2012-12-07
Beautiful coat, stiching and design is great, great quality, My only issue was the sizing. I ordered my size, but it was about 2 sizes smaller than my other coats. I would suggest ordering two sizes bigger.

United States
2012-12-08
Fit was fantastic after reordering right size. Looks Phenominal. Material first rate.

United States
2012-12-08
Way to wide. Material ok.

United States
2012-12-08
Holds breasts up and out.Can wear with many outfits. Material great.

United States
2012-12-08
Looks great.Fits perfect.Bustle feature was fun.

United States
2012-12-08
This blouse belongs in every womens wardrobe.Can be worn with so many outfits. Richly detailed.
Paul S
IL, United States
2012-12-08
Quality, service(had to reorder a different size),and prompt delivery were exceptional.
Jillian B
CT, United States
2012-12-07
Love your site, the customer service has been absolutely wonderful and your merchandise is gorgeous. If anyone is interested in this style, I will certainly recommend your site!
Xenia V
AK, United States
2012-12-07
I have a couple of friends who like historically based clothing, I think they would enjoy this site.

United States
2012-12-07
April J
FL, United States
2012-12-07
I really liked the walking sticks. I don't really have a use for a walking stick at this point, but when I find an excuse to buy one I'll definitely come here.
Robert C
PA, United States
2012-12-07
sevice was great,when i called about the color of the trousers i was interested in person that answered phone checked on rihgt away
Paula W
VI, Australia
2012-12-06
Neil M
MN, United States
2012-12-06
Raymond P
FL, United States
2012-12-06
Nice site. I'll be ordering shirts next time.
Phillip Z
IL, United States
2012-12-06
Barry S
TX, United States
2012-12-06
Very good communication. I spoke witha pleasant lady who explained how to return a fine product that just wasn't me!.
Jon S
CA, United States
2012-12-06
The service was outstanding. I had to return my original vest, an L, because it was too small. There was a no hassle refund. I do not have a large belly, and the XL fit me comfortably in terms of girth. I'm 6-1 and 1/2, not extraordinarily tall. It's hard to order clothing by mail, I know. But I feel the vest was too short, all things considered.
Rachel R
United States
2012-12-06

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service