Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2012-12-16


United States
2012-12-10

United States
2012-12-10
Natalia Pendiuk
ON, Canada
2012-12-10
got the order in good time - it is a very nice looking belt well made and it will do exactly what I need it fits well as there is room to make it smaller or larger would reccomend this item
Lawrence Kenski
MI, United States
2012-12-11
These trousers are great for people with legs. You can get a pair by clicking a few times on your computer. I think some form of currency was exchanged. Now go out in public and be clothed.
Edgar b. Suarez
TE, United States
2012-12-11
I love these pants, wear them almost everyday ,definitely getting some more trousers from this site
Jack McDaniel
United States
2012-12-11
This was purchased as a period appropriate topcoat to wear when greeting the audience outside the theater after performances of Don Nigro's play Ravenscroft, and it certainly looked better than a more modern coat when wearing an edwardian costume. It's also a rather nice coat, and I'm old enough to wear something like this just about any time and just claim to be a little eccentric. At 6'2", and a bit over 200 pounds, this fit very nicely over a 3-piece suit, though being unlined, I did have to hold on to the ends of the suit sleeves when I put it on. Not really a problem, though, considering I've had the same issue with topcoats costing several times what this one did.
Janie Garcia
TX, United States
2012-12-14
I love the scarf it is a gift I am sure my friend will love it too. Thank you service was fast . I received quickly.
Erich Bruckner
United States
2012-12-14
Fast ship, quality, accurate sizing, fit like a glove. They are of a bit thinner leather than I had thought they would be as well as a bit different finish than they look in the photo. Still, love these gloves, well worth the price.
Jim Ridgway
CA, United States
2012-12-14
This is a gorgeous jacket. It seems true to size, if a little bit large. Sleeve length is good. Construction is excellent. I will need to have a little tailoring done, not unexpected with an off the rack jacket. Material is excellent - the purple is nice and rich. Looking forward to wearing during upcoming events :)

United States
2012-12-14
I purchased this for my son for Christmas -- can't wait to see his reaction on Christmas morning -- he really likes the old fashion clothing look -- I had purchased him a top hat for his birthday -- so I know this will be a welcome edition to his outfit
Frankie P
CO, United States
2012-12-14
Nice stitching, smooth lines. The 4 pockets is what "makes it" for me :)
Judy Shuster
CO, United States
2012-12-14
I bought this as a gift for one of our teenage grandsons. I think it quite unique and am very hopeful that he will enjoy wearing it.
Judy Shuster
CO, United States
2012-12-14
I bought this watch for a friend and it is so unique that I know she will enjoy wearing it.
LLoyd Kwiecien
MN, United States
2012-12-14
Pin was exactly as presented and delivered very quckly.
Marlen Quern
MN, United States
2012-12-14
Absolutely beautiful coat. I love the way it fits my wife and the way it looks on her! Thanks !!!
Becky Feaser
AZ, United States
2012-12-14
These are exquisite!
Doug Crandall
NE, United States
2012-12-14
I am very pleased with this vest. It fits a tad snug even though I ordered one size larger. The leather and tailoring are first class. I've worn it everyday, since it arrived in a nicely packaged box.
Becky Feaser
AZ, United States
2012-12-14
These are exactly what my husband asked for as a Christmas gift!
Bill Beil
NY, United States
2012-12-14
Nice product well made. excellent price will last a long time. I do have a complaint though the straps to attach scabbard to the saddle are junk and will have to be replaced my rifle is too valuable to depend on such cheap straps. Bill
Jim Miller
OK, United States
2012-12-14
Awesome..great hat---perfect fit!!!
Ella B.
IL, United States
2012-12-14
I bought this blouse for a choir concert. I didn't know what to expect and was very pleasantly surprised. It was a bit large but still looks very nice. It was expensive that is why I gave it 4 out 5 stars
Aaron Cantor
United States
2012-12-14
Am extremely pleased
Aaron Cantor
United States
2012-12-14
Very pleased with this product
J. Dillard
NC, United States
2012-12-14
I had been looking locally in stores and online for a cap of this type. Without exception every one I found was made overseas. Most of them were not lined and they all cost up to $49. I found this cap at Historical Emporium and was a bit skeptical about its quality. Here was a cap that was fully lined, made in America for only $29. I decided to give it a try and found this to be a bargain indeed. The material is first rate and thick, the cap is fully lined and the overall quality and workmanship is first rate - unlike that of the caps made overseas. I constantly tire of hearing we have to have everything made overseas because it would be more expensive. This product proves that statement to be untrue and is an example of the high quality of Craftsmanship that used to exist in this country.
Jennifer
CO, United States
2012-12-14
The watch arrived within days of our purchasing it and we are absolutely thrilled! We are giving it to our 15 year old son for Christmas and know that he will love it and treasure it for years to come. I am very impressed with this company.
Mike Meier
MN, United States
2012-12-14
I had been looking for a victorian workshop type shirt to complete a Santa Claus outfit I use professionally. This period cotton shirt was first not an easy find, but more incredibly reasonably priced! I couldn't help myself from near committing the entire catalogue to memory because it is so packed with fun! The order process was fast and easy. I got quick confirmation of my order then physically received it in the mail in just two business days. Since this was my first purchase I don't know if that speed is normal, but it sure makes me eager to find out by ordering up some more stuff!
Frank Ciolino
IL, United States
2012-12-14
The leather is VERY STIFF and the Black dye comes off on your hands and clothing.
peg wright
PA, United States
2012-12-14
Thank you so much for this cap. My son loves it and he loves the items on your site. He wqs definately born in the wrong era. He products are high quality and style. Please continue to add items.
Jon Rogers
IN, United States
2012-12-14
Product is great
Jon Rogers
IN, United States
2012-12-14
I've been looking for a great looking mustache to replace my Santa mustache...this is a great mustache for me...I order three more as backups...
Don Fraser
CA, United States
2012-12-14
Excelent product. Easy to adjust size , easy to put on and take off.
Kenya Tassin
IL, United States
2012-12-14
So far so good. This was shipped to me right away and has a nice weight to it. I am giving to my father for Christmas so hopefully he likes it!

United States
2012-12-14
Always wanted one so I got my first from this Company, came as described, fast delivery, fair price., can't ask for more Thanks so much Historical Emporium your top notch
James Lewis
GE, United States
2012-12-14
I purchased an ascot online with my fingers crossed that I would receive it on time for a semi formal event I was attending the following weekend. It arrived quicker than expected. I was than pleased with the fabric, color and price. I complicated my attire magnificently. Needless to say, I will be making future purchases and would definitely recommend this site to friends and family.
Chris Middlebrook
GA, United States
2012-12-14
The Octopus bracelet is all and more than described. My wife was thrilled and wears it everyday. Thanks Historical Emporium for selling a quality product for a great price. I will be ordering more from your way-cool on-line store.
Kelley
United States
2012-12-14
I absolutely love them! I am hooked and will be back to purchase more. Thank you!

United States
2012-12-14
An excellent chapeau for trodding about in my backyard during monsoon season, eh what?
Michael Reitz
FL, United States
2012-12-14
It fits fine and will satisfy what I need for the party.
Keith Dykeman
ON, Canada
2012-12-14
This garment makes a real statement, it's well made and fits great. I have had so many compliments on this piece. Only problem is I am becoming addicted to this site and will soon need another closet.

United States
2012-12-14
Beautiful vest. Just what I was looking for. Fast shipping and great service. Will be back again and again, I'm sure.

United States
2012-12-14
Lorraine M.
VA, United States
2012-12-14
I would absolutely reccommend you pick this up the moment you see it, because I waited a week before ordering and it sold out during that time. For good reason too! I kept the link and ordered the day I saw it back in stock. The belt is beautiful and pretty sturdy. The pockets are perfect for holding cell phones and money, and have 2 different options for actually latching them. (A belt latch and snap latches) I bought this belt for a steampunk costume, and it fits perfectly in the whole scheme. I'm extremely happy with this belt, and am glad it actually came back into stock! <3
Anya Allred
UT, United States
2012-12-14
Seem to run a bit large. Ordered the size 42 due to hubby's waist measurements but was to large/baggy when received so returned and ordered size 40 - just right.
Michael Bacigalupi
AR, United States
2012-12-14
I basically purchased this for a western theme holiday party. I'm from New York so I refuse to wear a cowboy hat. The top hat was the perfect answer. It is designed very nicely, fit great, and looks fantastic. I kinda wish I could wear it more often if current styles would allow! I got a lot of compliments on it at the party and was very glad I made the purchase. Thank you.
Anya Allred
UT, United States
2012-12-14
Very happy with it. Good feel to it.
Deborah Schakel
MI, United States
2012-12-14
Skirt arrived in timely order, as I need to use it for a victorian Tea...I was able to move the back buttons closer together to move the wasit in an inch. I will look again to your procucts.
Michael Bacigalupi
AR, United States
2012-12-14
The tie was a great addition to a holiday party when everyone else wore bandanas. I think it looks nice. It seemed a bit smaller than I thought it would be, but made a great addition to a western holiday party. Would recommend for anyone.
Anya Allred
UT, United States
2012-12-14
Wish it had another version with a lower waist.

United States
2012-12-14
Workmanship is wonderful, very pleased with my purchase
Anya Allred
UT, United States
2012-12-14
Used as an earlier impression so the sleeve scythes weren't quite right but overall pretty happy with it. Needs ironing after you wash it. But my husband said was very comfortable.
Brendan
VE, United States
2012-12-14
In terms of the quality this vest I have no qualms. I only wish it was longer on the torso. By the sizes at Historical Emporium I consider myself a size small. I however did not realize how this could affect my clothing after buying this vest. I had previously bought a Black Cherry Jacquard vest which fitted very nicely after I received it in the mail. What I did not account for in my second purchase was that the lack of front tails (as I suppose you could call them) would cause the vest to stop a little too high above my waistline.The only way I suppose I could fix this would be to get some suspenders and hike up my pants higher though if I were to buy a similar vest in that style I would be sure to get it one size larger.
Anya Allred
UT, United States
2012-12-14
Wish it was a bit longer. Husband normally take a 17" neckline an it was a bit short but we got it to work okay.
Joseph M. Spangler
OH, United States
2012-12-14
fantastic goggles the lenses are green and no one can see your pupils through them they are amazing quality with little slits to stop fogging up and the little metal cases are nice I love the smell of them reminds me of a wwII navy vessle

United States
2012-12-14
Looks very sharp, quite pleased. Fits fine, all is as advertised. Not really a daily-wear sort of item, at least for me, but it is going to make a pleasing addition to my more formal looks.

United States
2012-12-14
Very pleased, looks great, sturdy but lighter than my black Wahmaker vest. Good for daily-wear. Pockets are a bit deeper than the Wahmaker, which is nice, as this means items aren't so prone to falling out when I lean or bend.
Bruce Davis
MA, United States
2012-12-14
omg its amazing quality, just different enough to be noticed and feels awesome on. note it does run big so no problem getting coat, vest and duds on and then putting on this coat. my daughter loves the subtle pattern too! Thanks much
Christie Frederick
VI, United States
2012-12-14
I had one of these given to me a couple of years ago. I work in kitchens inspecting them quite a lot and use this "snood" all the time. It washes by hand and dries overnight. I love it! I made this purchase of 10 more of them for an excellent kitchen staff that remarked how much they liked mine. These were very affordable rewards for them for their hard work. Well worth it!
Ethan
KS, United States
2012-12-14
I purchased the brass compass as a novelty gift for a friend moving abroad. The compass was a little smaller than I had anticipated, but none the less was a great item. The service from this company was great. I ordered the item and it was here within a matter of a few days. I would definetly do business here again.
John Neglia
NY, United States
2012-12-14
Its not what I expected I want to return it.
DL Furney
MD, United States
2012-12-14
I bought this vest for my grandson and he loves it ! He enjoys fine clothing, and is pleased with the quality of the vest.

United States
2012-12-14
GORGEOUS! Very well made would recommend this site to anyone looking for historical clothing.
Oliver J. Perrillioux
LO, United States
2012-12-14
fits perfect, everyone that i showed it to loved em. made really well A++++++++++++
Brenda Deal
OH, United States
2012-12-14
This watch is absolutely beautiful, the picture does not do it justice. My son was wanting something he can get monogrammed, and he will be able to do that. As I purchased this for a Christmas gift, I don't yet know how accurate it is, but I am confident this company stands behind its product.
Cindy Pendergrass
OH, United States
2012-12-14
This is the first time I have ordered from you and I was extremely happy with the prompt service delivery of my order as well as the beautiful tooling on the belt and holster.Will order again from you.Thanks for your great service and quality products.
Lost Jim
MI, United States
2012-12-14
I couldn't be more pleased with the brown wool tweed newsboy cap. It fits perfectly, it looks great, and the color and material are perfect. I have received many compliments on this cap, and I wear it daily. I'm looking forward to ordering the grey one!
Bob Prantner
MN, United States
2012-12-14
Your service was fast as I was expecting the badge in 7-10 days! However it came like in 5 days or less. I am very pleased with the service!!!!! Also I was very pleased with the quality of the " U.S. Marshal " badge! I will definitely order again!!!!!!!!!!! Thank You so much!!! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! God Bless You All!
bruce davis
MA, United States
2012-12-14
first words out of my young adult daughters mouth "sharp shirt Dad!" when the kids are right they are right!

United States
2012-12-14
This is a beautiful coat. I ordered, per HE suggestion, one size lower (36) from my normal size (38). Unfortunately the coat was too small in the chest. Nevertheless, it was far too long as it drug the ground. I'am 5'6" (1.6 meter) and around 160 lbs., (73 kg). I immediately mailed it back to HE for an exchange (004508-38 Forsythe Cashmere Topcoat) and today received an email from them confirming my exchange. Then a little while later they emailed my shipment notification. This is not my first order from HE but it is my first time to return/exchange an item and I remain very pleased with this company and look forward to ordering from them again.
gilda elmore
KE, United States
2012-12-14
Bill H
CT, United States
2012-12-14
This holster will not fit most revolvers. It will only fit the larger ones. It is too lose for percussion revolvers. It is however well made and that is why I gave it 4 stars.
Michael Thomas
CA, United States
2012-12-14
This rig comfortably supports my firearms. I am extremely pleased with the quality and craftsmanship.
Jessie Hendrickson
CA, United States
2012-12-14
The description of this item was ill-informed. I believed to be recieving a small bottle that could be opened to place perfume in however I was surprised to find that it was not as described and could not open the tiny bottle after all. I was very disappointed to say the least. The charm itself is not quite what I imagined. The "wish tonic" writing is a little gooey and is poorly made. Not worth the money. I am now cautious purchasing further items from this site. Editor's Note: We apologize that the item was not described correctly. We have corrected the description and have issued a full credit to the customer.
Merrill Freed
PA, United States
2012-12-14
Merrill Freed
PA, United States
2012-12-14
I am pleased with the Classic Canvas trousers, well made and comfortable. Also they arrived in good time.
Laurel Watson
CO, United States
2012-12-14
I was very happy with the skirt. It is very nicely made. I will definitely be purchasing other items from this company.
Jenny Bon
AL, United States
2012-12-14
This is my very first petticoat and I love it! Nearly every day begins with the thought "what will look good with my petticoat today?" I live in Alaska and the winters can be pretty cold! I gave up on pants several months ago in favor of skirts...and now thanks to this fabulous petticoat I no longer have to wear several skirts at once a day to stay warm! I can't wait till I can afford to buy another! I bought an extra large this time, my next one I'll order the large so I don't have so much extra to cinch! Not accustomed to ordering things online and needing to take measurements! But I still LOVE what I got and wear it every day!
Kris Thorsten
CA, United States
2012-12-14
Once again, I am more than pleased with my purchase from Gentleman's Emporium. Sterling quality and tailoring, excellent fit. Shipped and received expeditiously. I look forward to my next purchase in the near future.
connie
CA, United States
2012-12-14
The tie was exactly as described. It was the perfect final touch to the outfit. .
connie
CA, United States
2012-12-14
This shirt had tje look and feel of an oldwork shirt. It ewas g great value, quality piece of an era gone by.
connie
CA, United States
2012-12-14
Thuis was a fantastic little piece tbat creates a quality re-enactment addition! Not a painted pop metal toss away costume. We will be using for many years to come!
connie
CA, United States
2012-12-14
Thuis was a fantastic little piece tbat creates a quality re-enactment addition! Not a painted pop metal toss away costume. We will be using for many years to come!
connie d.
CA, United States
2012-12-14
Great value, good quality. The parasol looked just like the picture. It will be a cherished memorie thanks to quality pieces like this black feathered parasol.
DEBORAH MCCLELLAN
MO, United States
2012-12-14
I want to thank you for the extra mile you folks went to get this order after I initially sent you an incorrect address for shipping and also I loved that you followed my request to blank out the name on the box so my dear who is getting it on Christmas did not see where the box came from. We have not opened it yet, I can barely wait to give the hat to him, he will look so handsome and be thrilled I know. So thank you, I would give you ten stars for the satisfaction from this customer. :-) Merry Christmas, Deborah McClellan
Prince Tunde King
CA, United States
2012-12-15
My Order was prompt; it was executed without a delay. The quality of the material was excellent. The only problem I had with the Studs was; that they were all of the same size. I finally came to the conclussion that they were meant for wear with an Evening Dress shirt. eg all three buttons in front. A collar studs consist of two; a long One and a short One. The long stud goes in front of the shirt, because it has to pass through four holes; (the shirt has two holes, and the collar two holes) ; the short stud, which is referred to as the back stud, goes through two holes only. One hole on the back of the shirt, and one hole on the collar. You can verify my information with Austin Reed of Regent Street, London. England; and also also Gieves and Hawkes of No. 1 Savile London, England.
Daniel Enright
CA, United States
2012-12-15
I ordered two cravats from "Historical Emporium." They are beautiful, and I think were reasonably priced. We purchased them for the play, "The Importance of Being Earnest."
Karen
United States
2012-12-15
I am so pleased with the duster I received. It is a Christmas present for my son, and I know he will love it. Very fast shipping. Have had excellent phone communication and plan to order the ladies duster in same color as soon as they are back in stock.
Bruce Knowles
FL, United States
2012-12-15
Looks great. Color, fit, functionality as advertised. If I were to get another one, I would make it 6 inches larger than hip measurement though.
Dwain Holloway
WI, United States
2012-12-15
Awesome as awesome can get. Absolutely wonderful! My first cane ever, and I'm totally impressed and satisfied. Great, fast service and delivery.
Dwain Holloway
WI, United States
2012-12-15
As good as it gets! I'll shop here for the rest of my life. Great service, fast delivery and excellent customer service. Absolutely wonderful
Joey Wink
United States
2012-12-15
Product shipped quickly. Good value for the money.
Denise Warner
FL, United States
2012-12-15
This is the 2nd time I have purchased this item for one of our productions. The style and fit is fabulous. Customer service is outstanding. As a costume Manager for a Professional Regional Theater, I am so glad you are online.
Nicolas Pullin
IL, United States
2012-12-15
This vest not only looks handsome but comes with a silk cinch/tie at the back, which really enables you to tighten the fit and taper the torso. Very handsome indeed! and covers regency through mid-Victorian styles.
Nicolas Pullin
IL, United States
2012-12-15
This frock coat has a good, quality look and has a nice fall to it, but it does come larger than the fit suggests. I am slim and needed to move all the buttons so that it sat closer to me, though it still doesn't taper to the waist, and the sleeves are a touch long still, but that is better than short.
Tom Beasley
IN, United States
2012-12-15
quality was excellent Shipment was prompt It appeared as good as the pictures of the product
Andrew
United States
2012-12-15
This is a great coat and very well made.Truly an asset to my Sherlock Holmes/ victorian clothing collection. The shipping was fast which is also a bonus.
LaVonne Dee Puha
HA, United States
2012-12-15
These look like I went out and bought them at a high end store. My son will love these for his project, and I will be shopping at historical Emporium again.
LaVonne Puha
HA, United States
2012-12-15
I got this for my sons project, and he was very pleased. It arrived quickly, packaged nicely and very affordable. We will be doing alot more shopping at this store.
LaVonne Puha
HA, United States
2012-12-15
The items we ordered were here very quickly and very affordable. They look like the real thing, and we will be shopping at the store again
BARRY GRANT
UT, United States
2012-12-15
WOW......YOU GUYS ARE THE BEST! WHEN I ORIGINALLY PURCHASED THE WESTERN ACTION holster RIG YOU HAD TOLD ME THAT I WOULDN'T GET IT UNTIL JAN 5, 2013! NEEDLESS TO SAY I WAS DISSAPOINTED BECAUSE IT WAS TO BE A CHRISTMAS PRESENT! BUT THEN I RECEIVED IN ON OR ABOUT THE 1ST WEEK OF DECEMBER.....I WAS DELIGHTED! THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU! YOU GUYS ARE THE BEST! SINCERELY, BARRY GRANT
G. A. Dormu
United States
2012-12-15
beautiful garment I had the all black version too. Now I want one that is purple, that is black with purple accents, buttons and edges. It wears well and many people tell me how attractive it is. But then I love vests perhaps a morning coat in similar colors would be fitting as well
Gary B.
CA, United States
2012-12-15
Great holster for this price, it fits my 5 1/2" barrel 45 perfectly, just what I wanted, Thanks.
Gary B.
CA, United States
2012-12-15
Very nice deck of cards that look like the old ones.

United States
2012-12-15
Great little piece...great price....great service!

United States
2012-12-15
Good quality, practical and attractive. Much better than pulling out a loupe to look for hallmarks!

United States
2012-12-15
These are perfect as a carry along. Not as feminine as opera glasses, they would certainly be as unobtrusive at the opera or ballet. Particularly like the opening mechanism...very old school and funky!

United States
2012-12-15
Very good quality and style. And the best part: made in America!

United States
2012-12-15
Called customer service and they were able to change a size to my order before it shipped out with no problems whatsoever. Thank you!
The Admiral
NJ, United States
2012-12-15
I spent my well earned shillings on this excellently crafted jacket. Now when I go exploring or hunting I have the utmost protection from the elements. Bloody good show my good sirs. Bloody good show.
The Admiral
NJ, United States
2012-12-15
These pants were an instant like, and make a great addition to the Deluxe Safari Jacket. The description said to buy one size larger, which I did. The pants are a little long, even when worn properly. But I was not faltered as I always tuck my pants into my boots. Overall I would recommend these pants to everyone.
The Admiral
NJ, United States
2012-12-15
I bought these boots as a alternative to the Black Preacher boots. I would have gotten the Preacher's but theyare quite expensive. The Captians boot looks good, and is comfortable to wear. But be forwarned, take care when zipping them up. You need to ull the zippers together before zipping up. The boots look good, but I fear they may not last too long after lengthened wear.
Anna Davis
TE, United States
2012-12-15
The shipping was amazingly fast. I paid for standard, and it came within four days. The watch itself is quite attractive. I've received multiple compliments on it in the three weeks that I've had it. The one criticism is that the watch is slightly slow, and I often find myself correcting the time. Still, fixing the time is far easier than fiddling with my old digital watch.
Glen Harvey
CA, United States
2012-12-15
Glen Harvey
CA, United States
2012-12-15
Angrew G
TX, United States
2012-12-15
great service. I've allready recommended a few friends to these great clothes.
Marsha C
CA, United States
2012-12-15
Colin N
CA, United States
2012-12-15
Great quality items at a reasonable price. Excellent customer service!
Merrill F
PA, United States
2012-12-15
Aunthentic clothing and a fun site.
Lielise R
CT, United States
2012-12-15
I am the wardrobe mistress for Eastern Connecticut Ballet. A few weeks before our Nutcracker program we had problems with our usual rental source for mens costumes. I found your site and decided to purchase costumes. We found exactly what we want and are very pleased with the quality and appearance. I will send pictures! Thank you
Jennifer M
TX, United States
2012-12-14
My delivery was prompt and the product well protected.
Carolyn G
NC, United States
2012-12-14

United States
2012-12-14
Marc T
CT, United States
2012-12-10
I had many compliments on your products, I was happy to refer them to your website.

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service