Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2013-04-14

Kate Nuberry
IL, United States
2013-04-12
The watch is great. Very detailed on the front and back. The chain is nice and a perfect length. The only problem I had was that the watch was not working - apparently the battery in the watch was dead, but it had an extra battery in the package and now it is working.
Bruce
NJ, United States
2013-04-12
Exactly what I expected. Fits and looks great! Thanks
Bruce
NJ, United States
2013-04-12
Exactly what I expected. Fits and looks great! Thanks
Kate Nuberry
IL, United States
2013-04-12
The necklace is great - love it, love it. I was very surprised when I opened it up and it was larger than I thought it would be. It makes a real statement. Very detailed.
Garretson
AL, United States
2013-04-12
Put it on and fits great, and looks sharp.
Jenn
NH, United States
2013-04-12
I ordered these for my Haruhara Haruko cosplay for Anime Boston this year, and was a bit concerned as to the quality of these goggles. When I received them I was pleasantly surprised to find that they were very lightweight and, while being plastic and quite inexpensive, look very nice and are very comfortable to wear. They arrived quickly and securely, as well. Thank you guys so much!
Howard Weinstein
MD, United States
2013-04-12
Love the style & color of this vest. But beware of fit and washability issues! My other 10 vests are mediums and fit well. So I ordered a medium. Turns out this vest is cut VERY snugly, and the medium felt like a girdle! Had to exchange it for a large, which is a little too big, but is wearable (although I ended up having to pay for shipping three times over for a double purchase and return). Machine-washing & drying the garment per label instructions (machine-wash warm, tumble-dry low) yielded a very wrinkled vest which required 45 minutes of careful pressing to get it looking decent again. So, while it may technically be “machine-washable,” I’d strongly suggest dry-cleaning. (The website description says "machine wash in cold and line dry...or dry clean" -- the website and label should NOT contradict each other.) Historical Emporium should take steps to clarify both the garment's natural fit (SNUG!) and misleading washing instructions. If you can get the size that fits and avoid machine-washing it, it should look good – and shipping was fast.
Devin Preston
KE, United States
2013-04-12
The vest is as described, and has a nice weight to it, I've taken to wearing it with my pair of Wahmaker Frontier Canvas Pants in the brown color, with a white or red dress shirt, it adds a nice casual look to the somewhat dressed look that I wear on a regular basis.
Alex
MA, United States
2013-04-12
This was listed as a dress vest and, from the picture, it looked like the material would be nicer than it is. It's made of a fairly stiff cotton and seems to me more like a work vest. That was something of a disappointment since this was the only black, collared vest without patterned material that I could find. It seems well made and is fine for what it is, it's just not what it looked like on the website.
Brent Horrocks
UT, United States
2013-04-12
works well, but not the high quality I expected. More for show instead of functionality.

United States
2013-04-12
Despite choosing the standard shipping, the gaiters arrived the next day. The leather is thick, and in my opinion very good quality, and they are perfect for riding my motorcycle. They go quite well with bowler hats too...
Brent Horrocks
UT, United States
2013-04-12
For the price, this is not the quality I expected. Although well made it's not the elegant chain you can buy in a jewelry store for the same money. I should think that a $10.00 to $12.00 price range is more appropriate.
Fred
TX, United States
2013-04-12
A sharp, classic look. I really like it!
Fred
TX, United States
2013-04-12
A cool, mysterious look.
Fred
TX, United States
2013-04-12
Looks great! Band collar is awesome. As a 16¼ neck, 42 chest, 34 sleeve, I expected the neck to be right and the chest and sleeves to be big, but as it is the neck is a bit large and the chest and sleeves fit well. Take that with a grain of salt.
Fred
TX, United States
2013-04-12
Great look. Definitely heed the advice of ordering a size up if you don't exactly have washboard abs. Oh...and know your size!
Doug A.
CA, United States
2013-04-12
The holster fit my .357 Ruger Blackhawk just right. Totally satisfied!
Whiskey Lips
CA, United States
2013-04-12
I was looking for a casual vest I can wear every day, that will stand up to the rigors of being worn by a clutz like me. It still had to look sharp. I ordered this because of the notched lapel and canvas make, and could not be happier with the cut or the look of it. It will last a long time, and looks very sharp. I wear it with a lot of casual button up collared shirts in grey / neutral / white it absolutely looks the part every time. This is a great daily wearer that will last! Historical Emporium themselves offer great prices on quality US made clothes with excellent services.
Whiskey Lips
CA, United States
2013-04-12
This shirt is very well made. The stripes are subtle but stand out in the right environments. I wore it with the Wahmaker Canvas trapper's vest and felt and looked sharp without being antiquated. Of course the package handling and service from Historical Emporium is great! Fit wise, I am very satisfied. Usually I have a hard time finding standard sized with long enough sleeves, but these sleeves fit my arm length very well. I ordered a M with a 42" chest and 15.5-16" neck and the shirt fits GREAT!
Lisa
PA, United States
2013-04-12
Looks just gorgeous, and the belt which ties in the back allows you to custom fit it. Perfect!
McKenzie Kate
OR, United States
2013-04-12
This is comfortable, easy to wear, and look so old fashioned, the crochet is attractive. I can wear it either alone, or with my hat. I will be buying more in different colors. Thanks!
Greg Rivera
FL, United States
2013-04-12
The Commander's vest arrived within three days of placing the order. The vest is great! Fitted well, high-end materials, etc. Wore it during REnFest in Miami and received lots of compliments.
Lorenz H
Switzerland
2013-04-12
if you ever thought that you just don't stick out enough with your top hat, try this one. Well made, very sturdy and as bright red as a signal light, this hat is an over-the-top(hat) headturner.
Kathleen
OR, United States
2013-04-12
The bloomers are great with my cowboy action shooting outfit. I wear a split skirt so a crinoline wouldn't work, I took them up a cuple inches and let the lace show at bottom, they look great, and give a nice fullness the skirt would not normally have. and they are comfortable. Thank you
Joseph A. Mirabella
FL, United States
2013-04-12
I purchased this imported shirt as a back-up for the USA made Tombstone shirt I had ordered earlier and I was not disappointed by doing so! ~ A very comfortable shirt to wear! At first I was leary of the old high-collar style as I thought it would be a neck irritant, but after actually wearing these style shirts I have found that they are indeed comfortable and of a style that should have never gone out of vogue! (WHY don't we bring some of these old styles back into vogue by publicly WEARING THEM?!)
Frankie Rainey
KE, United States
2013-04-12
I recently ordered the charm necklace and several pendant watches. For the relatively reasonable price, I think the quality is superb. I've gotten so many compliments on the pendant watches. People are convinced that they are true antiques. Your customer service is one-of-a-sort. I mistakenly ordered the wrong watch. My fault. One phone call and it was all taken care of. While I was on the phone, a UPS return label came across my email and the rep sent me the watch I wanted that very day. Pure star-spangled customer service. I was amazed by the speed and willingness at which you corrected my mistake.
Junelea Grenier
AL, Canada
2013-04-12
Way too big as I am 5'1 Will need to alter!
Joseph A. Mirabella
FL, United States
2013-04-12
AGAIN the folks at WAHMAKER have not disappointed me in creating this fine, made in USA, Rifle frock Coat! ~ I'm size 48 thus the 46 size fits perfectly with the exception of needing slight sleeve alterations. ~ VERY PLEASED with this purchase! ~ Earlier, I purchased the standard Wahmaker frock Coat and just could not resist adding the Rifle Coat to my suit rack!
Junelea Grenier
AB, Canada
2013-04-12
Loved it ...but the zipper split as i was leaving the event (Very embarrassing) could not fix went home half naked

United States
2013-04-12
This skirt brings me back to when I was a kid and had my favorite article of clothing that you refuse to take off. It fits fantastically! And it's exactly what I was hoping it'd be. Beautiful!
Codi Calcaterra
CA, United States
2013-04-12
These are fantastic goggles. They are my first pair that I've ever bought and they exceeded my expectations! Love them so much!
Joseph A. Mirabella
FL, United States
2013-04-12
The photo of this faux-diamond tack does not truly bring out the beauty and realistic looks of both the stones and gold mounting! ~ Fantastic, intricately cut center stone of about 3 Ct. that will not disappoint anyone concerned with authentic detail!
Joseph A. Mirabella
FL, United States
2013-04-12
THIS WAHMAKER vest is top of the line in a well made, handsome and authentic vest of the period in time it represents! ~ It is a real "eye-catcher" that will not disappoint its wearer! ~ Best of all it's ....MADE IN THE USA!!!
Andrew, Historian Guy
PA, United States
2013-04-12
As a Abraham Lincoln living Historian it is important for me to be able to dress in the approperiate attire for our 16th President. The Callahan Dress trousers were fantastic. They were a little long but nothing that couldn't be tailored. These definitly make me feel the role.
Alejandro
United States
2013-04-12
Beautiful ascot, great color and look.
james mills
CT, United States
2013-04-12
The perfect item if you're looking to bring that touch of class that only comes from covering your braces with a vest, and your shirt sleeves with a jacket. The bowler is perfect to round out a suit and give it that something extra. I love it!
Jan Hayden
WA, United States
2013-04-12
Good quality, sturdy, would like elastic strap to be black.
Kevin Deeter
WI, United States
2013-04-12
I am very pleaed with my walking stick it is light to carry but suits the purpose and is well made!
Alejandro
United States
2013-04-12
Amazing jacket looks really sharp and fit perfectly. Great shipping and prompt delivery
Shirley Morgan
KE, United States
2013-04-12
Very Pleased, it is more beautiful than pictured.
Shirley Morgan
KE, United States
2013-04-12
Very Pleased, accented costume to the max!
Chrris Godby
CA, United States
2013-04-11
I when I received this shirt my initial impression was good. However, I do believe that there is room for improvement. I wish that this item was offered in a small size, as that would have fit better then the current S/M offering. I also think that this item should be offered in a totally natural fabric i.e. cotton, or better linen.
Isaac Carnes
IO, United States
2013-04-09
While I love my brace I did have a few issues. I hardly blame the site as it was my fault. 1. The brace does not fit my wrist well, I had to soak and stretch the leather for fit. and 2. I unfortunately have a significant nickel allergy and it did make my wrist break out. I can resolve both issues and again, I do not blame the people of this fine page

United States
2013-04-10

United States
2013-04-10
SCK
NE, United States
2013-04-09
Great quality, great fit. Very comfortable and stylish.
Lois
OH, United States
2013-04-09
I absolutely love this hat! It is a victorian beauty. This hat is what makes my victorian outfit stand out. I am so glad to have stumbled onto this web site. Your products are of great quality and I will be sure to recommend it to everyone in my victorian cottage community.
Lois
OH, United States
2013-04-09
I love the skirt. It looks very classic with the decorative stitching. My victorian outfit is complete for our cottage-owners Chautauqua celebration week.
William V
CA, United States
2013-04-08
These are a very nice-looking pair of work pants, but unfortunately they're just not comfortable to wear. It seems to be a combination of the their very stiff fabric and the fact that they seem to sit rather low compared to other period trousers. If you are looking for khaki trousers I highly recommend the Emporium's "Classic Mens trousers - Khaki Twill," which have a very similar color and overall appearance to these pants but are actually comfortable to wear. On a similar note, if it's canvas pants that you're looking for, try any of the much-more comfortable "Classic Canvas trousers." These are thus far the first and only Gentleman's Emporium product that I wasn't happy with. Overall, I love the Emporium and would recommend almost any of the wares that I have purchased here, but I will definitely be avoiding their "Canvas Field trousers" from now on.
Roger S.
OR, United States
2013-04-08
I am very pleased with my Livingston vest. In fact, it's even nicer than it appears in the photos on line! This is my 2nd vest, and I'm planning on purchasing a 3rd, very soon.

United States
2013-04-08
HEI is AWE to the SUM

United States
2013-04-08
hei is awesome. nuf sed
bob me
BI, United States
2013-04-08
really good stuff.
Richard Hailey
TE, United States
2013-04-08
Love them! Do their job amd I hardly notice they're there!
Richard Hailey
TE, United States
2013-04-08
Fits perfect and Love the look! pictures on site give it no justice.
Tracy
NE, United States
2013-04-12
The shirt is Beautiful but runs a little small, I should have ordered a large, because the sleeves are too short.
William
TE, United States
2013-04-12
This is a great product, well made. I look forward to wearing it for events.
Jeanne
TX, United States
2013-04-12
Fits perfectly, very comfortable, and I love the way it looks! I felt that I needed a white tank top underneath, as it is a little on the sheer side, but that is the case with other blouses from other stores. Very happy with the material and workmanship.
Jerry Calvert
SC, United States
2013-04-12
I couldn't be more pleased with the gun belt and double holster bought. It fit perfect!
Joe
NE, United States
2013-04-13
The jacket is certainly made well and is of good quality, although, the actual color of the delivered product is more of a sandy tan in stead of a bone white as displayed on the web site. I was informed that there was a change in the manufacturer's color, however, the photo did not reflect the true color. This was a bit of a disappointment. I don't believe I would have ordered the jacket had I known of the color change.
LMH
OK, United States
2013-04-13
Freakin Awesome! We went with a size medium and he's quite slender, the medium is actually just a touch large but the small probably would have been too tight. It's way cool, certainly has the WOW factor!
LMH
OK, United States
2013-04-13
This vest is nice quality and the sheen and pattern of this fabric is outstanding! Love it!
LMH
OK, United States
2013-04-13
These gloves are just what we wanted. They have enough stretch quality to make them comfortable but too much to make them tight. Nice quality, we are pleased.
LMH
OK, United States
2013-04-13
This tie was pretty much what we expected. It's a nice fabric, love the deep rich black color. Wasn't too familiar with how the silk puff tie is worn we went back to the picture to make sure we weren't suppose to try and tie it somehow. It gives the our suit a nice touch.
Rosered
CA, United States
2013-04-13
This would be a great blouse for someone generously endowed with no hips but I am built the opposite way. On me it felt dowdy and the cut was not meant for my build. I'm sure this would work for a top heavy lady roleplaying a housekeeper/cook/stagecoach stop owner but it didn't work for me.
Rosered
CA, United States
2013-04-13
Very authentically made bloomers that will look perfect with my Bloomer costume. If you're looking for historical accuracy and a strong Period look this is it. Unfortunately, the pants aren't flattering as streetwear as they have a drawstring waist and since they are 100% cotton they have no stretch which means in order to fit the cut must be generous which adds bulk and the lace must be ironed or line dryed to avoid wrinkling after washing. I do enjoy them as comfy indoor lounge pants though which is important to me as I like all my costume pieces to have a doublelife since I can't afford to keep them as just a fancy costume only.
Valerie
PA, United States
2013-04-13
Love it! Perfect for our Old-Fashioned Ice Cream Parlor and Candy Store... Ballyhoo Purveyors of Fine Ice Cream http://www.ballyhooicecream.com http://www.facebook.com/ballyhooicecream
Jane Zamudio
TX, United States
2013-04-13
I loved, loved, loved this hat! And thank you for getting it to me so quickly. Has gotten great reviews from friends and colleagues, and I have been heavily promoting your business among all of them.
Raynor
NY, United States
2013-04-13
Very Well made. Fabric very nice. Navy background almost black in color. Not "costume" like. Very nice garment.
Barn Girl
NY, United States
2013-04-13
I ordered the XL and it was too large on me. The skirt has beautiful fabric and is well made. I suppose I could have moved the buttons on the back to take it in, but there was a great deal of fabric, and the L would probably look better on me for that reason. The company was prompt with a refund and great to work with. Excellent communication.
Coleman L
GA, United States
2013-04-14
The CSR is quite knowledgeable. Excellent lady.
Dennis B
HI, United States
2013-04-14
Elizabeth R
United States
2013-04-13
Interesting styling and excellent fabric and sewing. Great communication. Love the quality of your products. Keep up the good work. I haven't found a blouse I like as well as the one I bought from you for many years. It feels great and looks like I spent even more than I did.
Gordon W
MO, United States
2013-04-13
I do like your products n do recommend them to other customers Only thing wrong was the measurements were about a size off from what it was marked. It says its a 42 but only measured 40. It barely fits.
Lyndon J
OK, United States
2013-04-13
I have liked everything I have purchased. I have no reservations to suggesting the Historical Emporium to anyone.
Brandon S
TX, United States
2013-04-13
I truly have been happy with this experience, and I shall most assuredly be returning monthly for more purchases. Christine is indeed a fine lady, and her patience and kindness a godsend! This had been the first order, ever I made, and I am a larger Scot than I realized. She helped me, most kindly, and I sent back the outstanding clothing that would fit not. The Emporium mailed my larger sizes with post haste, and I have naught to say but praises!
Joseph R
NY, United States
2013-04-13
Gary H
IL, United States
2013-04-13
Product was as advertised, quality satisfactory, priced very competetive, and shipped promptly - no complaints
John M
FL, United States
2013-04-13
KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK.
Jeanne T
TX, United States
2013-04-13
Selection of clothes/boots in one place that I didn't see elsewhere.

United States
2013-04-12
Judith B
FL, United States
2013-04-12
Very good quality and service. Will order again
Devin P
KY, United States
2013-04-12
Have recommended it to a few friends already
Carlotta W
MI, United States
2013-04-12
Alexander R
ME, United States
2013-04-12
Best selection of the sort of thing I was looking for.
Brent H
United States
2013-04-12
with my last purchases, I'm concerned about the quality of your products.
Leroy K
WI, United States
2013-04-12
The holster fit my Ruger Super Blackhawk perfectly. The real leather and tooling are great.
Albert F
TX, United States
2013-04-12
Dale B
VA, United States
2013-04-12
Got it right the first time (something of a rarity in on-line sales) with exceptionally quick turnaround.
Steve C
NM, United States
2013-04-12
Loretta P
TN, United States
2013-04-12
Kathleen E
United States
2013-04-12
In cowboy action it s sometimes hard to find clothes that are in the larger sizes. These are well made and look great. Thank you. It has been a wonderful experience shopping for my first outfit, and now my second. The only thing that could make it better is more sales... :)
Donald D
NM, United States
2013-04-12
I have recommend to my friends about Historical Emporium. They are very likely to place a order soon.
Frankie R
KY, United States
2013-04-12
In short, exceptional products, exceptional customer service.
Reeta K
FL, United States
2013-04-12
The cameo was lovely and the gears were just what I was looking for the items were received before I knew it thanks.
Bernie M
NH, United States
2013-04-12
James G
AZ, United States
2013-04-12
Brian W
CA, United States
2013-04-12
Greg B
CA, United States
2013-04-12
The quality and variety of your products is outstanding. This was my first ever order, and I will definately return, and highly recommend Historical Emporium to my friends.
Ralph W
NY, United States
2013-04-12
Janice H
WA, United States
2013-04-12
Good quality, fast service.
Daria M
IL, United States
2013-04-12
I regularly buy things here and has always been pleased with the result. But my new vest that i order last time broke too quickly on the back.
Craig G
GA, United States
2013-04-12
Great quality. Great Service. Fast Service. Period
Sandra T
VA, United States
2013-04-11
Your clothes were immediately available. [competitor] had to make them which would have taken too long. I needed them the same week I ordered them.
Raymond P
MO, United States
2013-04-10

United States
2013-04-10
I really enjoyed my selections. I will shop again here in the near future.
Rebecca B
KY, United States
2013-04-10
Steampunk clothes more selections...Please.....
Robert O
WA, United States
2013-04-10
Isaac C
IA, United States
2013-04-10
I love this site! Such a valuable resource for steampunks such as myself
Smauss K
NY, United States
2013-04-09
I've asked a few questions of the Historical Emporium and have been very satisfied with their excellent customer service. Their products, shipping, packaging, and everything about my purchase was fantastic. I highly recommend them wherever I go. I have wanted to be a customer of The Gentleman's Emporium for years. Only recently I've come into the funds to be able to do so, and I intend to as often as possible
Betty B
MT, United States
2013-04-09
I was really pleased with the service and quality of what I had ordered.
Don L
IA, United States
2013-04-09
Carolyn S
AZ, United States
2013-04-09
Katherine H
IL, United States
2013-04-08
I always brag about my vest to everyone I know...and show it off. I have loved your site since I found it. I also love the fact that there are more double breasted vests. This makes me happy.
Jordan N
UT, United States
2013-04-08
Overall you guys are GREAT!! you have just about everything that i need except for a few but i cant remember them
Christy N
CO, United States
2013-04-08
Dennis D
CA, United States
2013-04-08
Anthony J
NE, United States
2013-04-08
Great service, especially after the UPS delivered the hat to the wrong address and lost the package. After informing the Historical Emporium of what happened they had another hat in the mail immediately. Got it in plenty in time to be ready for a state convention of York Rite Masons.
Tracey B
PA, United States
2013-04-08

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service