Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2013-05-05


MT, United States
2013-04-29
I got this for my fiancée, more or less thinking it would be something he would wear once or twice and mostly just hanging it up. After seeing the quality of workmanship however, he wears it every chance he gets. It's very durable and solid, and of course beautiful.
Steve
MD, United States
2013-04-29
I got this vest to liven up my boring grey suit, to get married in. It matched my wife's dress, and I got a lot of compliments on how I looked. I was worried that the vest's lapels would overlap my shirt collar, but they fit together like a dream. I wore my grandfather's pocket watch in my vest pocket, attaching the chain to the top vest button, and people loved how it looked. I'm looking forward to wearing this vest in the future, perhaps as part of a steampunk or old-timey gambler costume.
kyle
CA, United States
2013-04-29
i bought this vest, for my historical renactment as a Railroad police officer of the 1860s. i recieved it via mail and was surprised how fast the shipping was. the event took place 4/28/13 and i recieved many comments and questions about my out fit. i am very proud to wear and support the quality of the Historical Emporium.
Major Dan
CA, United States
2013-04-29
Love the style, love the fit, love the material. I wasn't alive in the late 19th century, but this shirt seems like the real deal and it's comfortable. Delivery was quick and customer service couldn't be better.
Major Dan
CA, United States
2013-04-29
The fit is great, they are comfortable and durable. It perplexes me why styles changed.

GA, United States
2013-04-29
product is better quality than I have been able to find elsewhere. Good construction and material
Mickey
PA, United States
2013-04-29
Mickey
PA, United States
2013-04-29
Mickey
PA, United States
2013-04-29
Mickey
PA, United States
2013-04-29
Mickey
PA, United States
2013-04-29
Mickey
PA, United States
2013-04-29
The service was wonderful! I would certainly shop with Historical Emporium again! I highly recommend using them!
Gus McCrae
TE, United States
2013-04-30
I wanted a holster rig that didnt look too flashy, to portray just a simple cattle drover. This fits the ticket! It will blend well with the rest of my outfit- thanks!

United States
2013-04-30
excellent quality and perfect fit
strongbox sal
United States
2013-04-30
excellent quality and the fit was perfect , shirt, pants and vest are all very nice
lmh
OK, United States
2013-05-01
This walking stick is really sharp looking, it gives an over the top look. Quite upscale. Very pleased with this purchase.
lmh
OK, United States
2013-05-01
This hat is very nice, good quality and is a perfect size between the really tall top hat and just some bowler type.
lmh
OK, United States
2013-05-01
I was not pleased with a purchase so I emailed the service department to let them know of the negative review I would be posting about an item. They encouraged my honest feedback, so I proceeded. After leaving the review, I was contacted with a personal phone call by an associate and was very pleased at their effort in trying to make a resolution. Some companies would have tried to avoid anyone leaving negative feedback but they wanted honesty. That is refreshing. And they were extremely polite and personable when calling, I was impressed. I would definitely recommend Historical Emporium and will continue to be a customer myself.
Jessica M.
CA, United States
2013-05-01
For the price, these are really nice boots. The actresses that are wearing them say they have good support and are comfortable. Only drawbacks are that they don't breathe very well (to be expected with faux-leather) and they are a bit slippery on the stage (easily remedied with the non-skid grips you can find in any drug store). Since they come in whole sizes only, we found that the half size down fit best. Example: a 6 1/2 foot fit best in the size 6.
Jessica M.
CA, United States
2013-05-01
Love this cotton blouse. The sizing was accurate to measurements. Looks great on stage. The shoulders were a bit wide for actress. We solved this by putting in a stylish tuck perpendicular to the shoulder seam.
Jason
NV, United States
2013-05-01
Nicely made, sharp cut to its angles, just as pictured. Took this for a spin at our local pirate fest, with great results. Very sharp layering piece for historical or steampunk applications. Considering the above, this vest in particular spans a number of time periods, allowing great versatility. Buttonholes were sturdy enough to support a watch chain, though I would be careful with the buttons themselves: Being small and light, they are prone to becoming loose if any single one is submitted to strain. Even on my size small, arm holes allowed freedom of movement. Two pockets, both of which are somewhat shallow. They will contain a pocketwatch of fair size, but business cards will protrude by half their length. A solid piece of clothing-grade (not merely costume-grade) apparel.
Jessica M
CA, United States
2013-05-01
For the price, these are really nice boots. The actresses that are wearing them say they have good support and are comfortable. Only drawbacks are that they don't breathe very well (to be expected with faux-leather) and they are a bit slippery on the stage (easily remedied with the non-skid grips you can find in any drug store). Since they come in whole sizes only, we found that the half size down fit best. Example: a 6 1/2 foot fit best in the size 6.
Jessica M
CA, United States
2013-05-01
Love this cotton blouse. The sizing was accurate to measurements. Looks great on stage. The shoulders were a bit wide for actress. We solved this by putting in a stylish tuck perpendicular to the shoulder seam.
Greg
GA, United States
2013-05-01
I'm very satisfied with the vest. It is very well made, even better than I expected and the fit is spot on. Delivery was much faster than expected also. I'm sure I'll be back for more as I really can't find the availability with an extensive selection elsewere.
Greg
GA, United States
2013-05-01
Esteban S.
CA, United States
2013-05-02
I am literally at an epic loss of words! The quality of these boots is unbelievable! A definite show stopper wherever you intend on wearing them! Forgive the constant use of exclamation marks, but if you buy these boots you too will not be able to hold your excitement lol. Amazing product and the delivery was precise and more than punctual. Thank you Historical Emporium! The detail and quality of these beauties could not bring my steam punk outfit together any more perfectly.
Gregor
Germany
2013-05-02
The vest fits great 1 size bigger and the back is black and not brown. But I like it and will wear it also at work.
Creekgal
NY, United States
2013-05-02
My son turned 18. He appreciates steam punk, but isn't a flashy kid. This pocket watch fits the bill perfectly. I thought it was well made and had a nice weight in the hand. I look forward to seeing his face when he opens it and watches all the gears go round. I especially appreciate the lifetime gurantee as you never know when an 18 year old will decide to wash his jeans without emptying the pockets, or play a spontaneous game of barefoot soccer and take a tumble!
Creekgal
NY, United States
2013-05-02
Service was very fast, package was securely wrapped and beautifully presented.
Phil G
SO, United States
2013-05-03
Excellent cap...looks exactly like the one I've had for over 20 years. Love it.
Gary
NJ, United States
2013-05-03
I received the vest in record time. No issues with customer service, or the order process. I tried the vest on and hated it. You see, I'm going to a wedding and I wanted something different. I felt that the over look of the product was cheap. So.....sent it back yesterday. I will continue to use your shop...just not that vest. Thanks.
Pat C.
United States
2013-05-03
The belt and holster are just as I expected, good quality and good workmanship made in Mexico by good leather workers.
Tim
NO, United States
2013-05-03
I was pleasantly surprised by the high quality. The buttons were "real", the fabric was first class and the fit was very comfortable
Pat C.
United States
2013-05-03
The on-line promotional picture is exactly what you get and it met my expectations. The service was excellent. I recommend Historical Emporium for their prompt and professional service.
Bull Rider
TE, United States
2013-05-03
The fit was perfect as well as the holster matching the gun. The Quality is outstanding. I am glad I ordered this and will order more things as needed.
Bull Rider
TE, United States
2013-05-03
I ordered my item and within an hour had an email confirmation with delivery information. I was surprised and impressed. I got it a few days later and am enjoying it. Thank You
Shade Ryder
NY, United States
2013-05-03
Black finish rubbed off on my hand.
Shade Ryder
NY, United States
2013-05-03
Didn't fit gun. Black rubbed off on my hand.

United States
2013-05-03
always good service from this company
Shade Ryder
NY, United States
2013-05-03
Love it. Fits great, well made product.
Shade Ryder
NY, United States
2013-05-03
Beautiful product... just what I wanted.
Shade Ryder
NY, United States
2013-05-03
Great product... size seemed to run a little small, had to return for larger size, but great quality.
Dennis
IL, United States
2013-05-03
Love it.
Dennis
IL, United States
2013-05-03
Great service have other purchases and will purchase again.
Ncsd
CA, United States
2013-05-03
My son wore this for prom and looked fabulous. He received many compliments and it was a great bridge piece connecting his suit to her vest. He looked very polished and modern, especially compared to kids in rented tuxedos. The photos show it as a western style piece, but with an updated shirt and contemporary tie, the outfit was quite fashion forward. This was our second purchase (junior prom last year), and we are a two time satisfied customer. Couple of notes - vest ran big. Son is 6'1" and 175ish. He wears at least a large, but vest was medium and perfect size. Last, plan ahead. The "expedited" shipping, which is 3-5 business days is extremely overpriced. We had to pay about $35 just to get a five day delivery guarantee. But that is my only quibble. Overall, a great piece.
cris
UT, United States
2013-05-03
I ordered this shirt received something different. After returning I received another shirt, still not this one. I give up! This shirt is getting very expensive since I've had to pay for shipping 4 times now.
Victoria
NJ, United States
2013-05-03
I just received my suit yesterday afternoon. This walking suit would have gotten a 5-star rating had it not been about 4 sizes too big. I used the measuring chart provided on the website and in order to accommodate my bust size I ordered a 3x. I didn't want to run the risk of something being too tight and then I would be really stuck with an upcoming production and not enough time for an exchange. I'm a 36G bust but with the circumference it's a 46-inch measurement. Needless to say, I'll be at my seamstress tonight for alterations (at least 4.5 inches from each side of the waist, the shoulders will have to be readjusted and the length of the skirt taken up at least 2-3 inches. Other than that, the material is great and the craftsmanship seems pretty good. The design is just like what you see so I'm confident that once the alterations are made this will be a stunner on stage.
Chester Clopton
TX, United States
2013-05-03
Very good I like the holster I am very please with your product
Jennifer
IO, United States
2013-05-03
The length of the skirt is perfect. Standing 5 foot 8 1/2 inches the 38" size version of this skirt is quite snug fitting over my waist, hips and thighs. Originally bought this to wear for a friend's wedding in November themed steampunk. The hem stops a most short of an inch off the ground which is perfect to find some low heels to help complete the outfit Listen to the size instructions about going a size bigger than what you have for pants size otherwise you will have to send it back for a larger size.
gdurr
UT, United States
2013-05-03
I know it only says leather uppers, but the picture still shows a dark, rich leather look to the entire product. So, excited by the look, I ordered them. When I got them I was disappointed not so much by the materials used as by the lack of looking anything like real leather(which was kind of the point).
shannin
WA, United States
2013-05-03
Very pleased with these gloves. the leather on these gloves is very soft and moldable and the color very even. Perfect price for a costume glove that needs to look period appropriate yet let the actors move easily on stage. We would most definitely purchase these again for future productions.
shannin
WA, United States
2013-05-03
I am as always very pleased with customer service. You always know exactly what is in stock and are able to answer very specific questions about the product. Shipping is also super quick and affordable. We have bought pants, gloves, badges, and shirts from you many times in the past and will continue to in the future. thank you!
Katie
CA, United States
2013-05-03
This skirt is beautiful and so well made! It fits so good and looks fabulous. I'am so happy with it and well worth the money. It came so quickly and very well packaged. I couldn't be more satisfied with this product and company. So glad I found this site! I'm Aunt Eller in an upcoming production of Oklahoma and this is perfect.
Katie
CA, United States
2013-05-03
I absolutely love this Apron. It's perfect for my costume as Aunt Eller in Oklahoma. It's so well made and came so quickly.
Katie
CA, United States
2013-05-03
I am so thrilled about this beautiful Petticoat. It's just so wonderfully made and perfect for my dress I'm wearing in Oklahoma as Aunt Eller in an upcoming production. I'm so happy with it.
Katie
CA, United States
2013-05-03
This is a fine made Pin that is perfect for my costume in Oklahoma. I just love it!
Katie
CA, United States
2013-05-03
This hat is gorgeous! I couldn't believe how well made it is and every detail is beautiful. It's perfect for my costume in Oklahoma as I'm playing the role of Aunt Eller and I feel just great in it. Can't wait for the show to open to show this hat off.
C David Snyder
IN, United States
2013-05-03
Love it ! Did not expect anything of this quality.
Katie
CA, United States
2013-05-03
Wow this blouse fits perfectly and is beautiful. I'm blown away on how well everything I've ordered from this site is so well handcrafted. It is a treasure and the prices here are right on. Worth every cent! No where on line could I find anything as perfect as this. I've ordered alot from this site and am only waiting on a couple more items to be shipped but so far everything has come within a week. The dress and other blouse I'm waiting on had to be special made so I expect them soon. Can't wait for my show to open so I can wear everything. Oklahoma production will be great as I'm playing Aunt Eller and I'm a larger women and to find this site that accomdates the larger gals is a treasure! The sizes so far have been right on. Thanks to you folks I didn't have to stress about my costumes.
E. Yentrok
GA, United States
2013-05-03
I absolutely loved it and will be wearing it tomorrow for a book promotion event. Thanks for having a quality product and prompt service!
Katie
CA, United States
2013-05-03
To have found this site as I surfed the net looking for costumes to fit since I'm a larger gal was a true treasure. Not only do they have the larger sizes but they are so well made and most of the items came within a week. I'm only waiting on a couple of special made items. The service is wonderful and it has far exceeded my expectations. I will most certainly shop here again and highly recommend this site to all my friends.
Michael
MO, United States
2013-05-03
AWSOME! Great products, super cooperation, fast shipping!
Bob
MO, United States
2013-05-03
Reilly nice holster and belt. One thing, the buckle could be more heavy duty and sturdy !

AB, Canada
2013-05-03
I purchased both the Blue/white Pinstripe Walking skirt and blouse. The quality was much higher than I expected, The fabric is a great weight not light like I had expected. All seams are finished and the sizing very accurate if you follow the size chart guidelines. I love the construction of the waist band on the skirt with the adaptable button closure, makes the skirt fit like a dream! Even the buttons were higher quality and the outfit is very period authentic! With a little adaptation and accessories I am making a victorian nurse from this set, and I love it!
flypiper
CA, United States
2013-05-03
I received the gun belt very quick! It had included in it a warning to watch out for dye seeping out. I simply took it out and let it air dry for awhile. The bullet fit for my 44 mag's was perfect and same with my Ruger Vaquaro 5&1/4 barrel. Build quality seems to be very good as well. Time will tell with that. I would order this all over again knowing what I got this time. Thank You!

AB, Canada
2013-05-03
I took others review comments to heart and ordered the size 3x, ( I normally wear a size 12) The comment that drew my attention was tightness in the arm area. It is easier to take clothing in than try to enlarge. I have room in the sleeve, and I do have larger arms. Rather than take in the waist I got navy fabric and made a tie belt, and I am very happy with my vintage style suit. I did get the white bloomers as well and plan to add a navy strip to trim, I ordered the bloomers in a size large and they fit fine , but do not think someone over size 14 clothing would be able to wear them! In all a very adorable outfit at a very reasonable price! Just follow the caution for sizing being small!
flypiper
CA, United States
2013-05-03
I located your site from Google. You prices were in the range I was looking for and you had good pictures of the product so I could see what to expect when my package would arrive. The main thing was you had the larger sizes and unfortunately I needed one of those however you still delivered a good product that exceeded my expectations! I did it all on line so never spoke to a person however the ordering process was easy and I was shocked at the speedy delivery! I will for sure shop with you for my future needs. I will recommend Historical Emporium to my friends. Thank You!
Paul
LA, United States
2013-05-03
I love the hat, so do many of my friends. Good quality for the price.
EHK
MI, United States
2013-05-03
The vest was exactly what we thought it would be. It fit perfectly, and my fiance will look dashing on our wedding day! Thank you so much
Paul Bertrand
LO, United States
2013-05-03
I like Historical Emprium because of the quality, decent pricing, and service. I would definitely recommend them to others and will shop with them again. They have many hats that I like. Unfortunately, most do not come in size Small.
C Konkle
CA, United States
2013-05-03
I purchased this hat for my husband to wear to a Gatsby event. I was surprised how quickly it arrived and packed well. This is a Scala hat which is a quality piece of goods and will last a long time. I'm very happy with the purchase and qucik service.
Christopher A Haig
PA, United States
2013-05-03
I knew what I was getting, but was really impressed with the quality and craftsmanship of these replica period playing cards. They are perfect for the play I'm working on which is set in the 1890's. I will definitely be back to the Historical Emporium for all my old-fashioned needs. Thanks!
kona
IL, United States
2013-05-03
I just didn't listwn to the rwview about it being a size large when I should have. Great shoe so far no complaints. Super snazzy!
gunz
IL, United States
2013-05-03
just great , seriously , ifn ya get anymore in , in gabardine (for winter advise ) thanks
Ken
TN, United States
2013-05-03
Simple design but beautiful. Well constructed 100 cowhide leather. Adjustable hammer guard that helps different size revolvers fit the holster. Works & looks good with my Highrider cartridge belts.
Don Green
VA, United States
2013-05-03
Your products are excellent. I had to get used to their running smaller than the ordinary size, so I always order one size larger.
Ken
TN, United States
2013-05-03
100% cowhide leather well made that works well with both my High-Rider holster & my personal western style holster. Exactly what I wanted to slip my holsters on to. Be sure to know where you want to wear your belt/holster for a better fit. Since I wanted to wear my belt over my waist & not on my hips, I measured at a 45 waist with pants & pants belt on & a 46 at the hips. It was suggested that I order a 48 gun belt, but should have only gotten a 46. The 48 fit but had to be tightened to the very last hole to fit snug enough. Pleased with the belt but not the size I have exchanged for the 46.
Ken
TN, United States
2013-05-03
Very polite and tries to be helpful to ensure your product is exactly what you want and is the correct size. I had to make a return and the customer service rep was clear & concise as to the steps necessary that made the process easy.
Bez
TN, United States
2013-05-03
This was my first rig and I didn't want to spend as much on it as I did my new model Vaquero 45 colt. I was amazing at the quality and fit. Beautiful rig! holster and cartridge loops were perfect. I plan on using this when I work cattle and I am sure it will hold up wonderfully! Pleasure doing business! If you are debating trying their products I would do it.
Betsy
OK, United States
2013-05-03
Perfect in every way. I could not ask for anything better.
Betsy
OK, United States
2013-05-03
Period correct and goes perfectly with the dress I made.
Betsy
OK, United States
2013-05-03
I got my merchandise earlier than expected. It was just what I wanted.

AZ, United States
2013-05-03
The knickers look great and were a perfect fit, just the size I ordered. The problem: my boxers showed through in the sun! Since discovering this was the case, I've been more craeful to my choice in colors for my under garments. Aside from this snafu, no issues.

AZ, United States
2013-05-03
Why did you choose to purchase from us? MENS KNICKERS Did your purchase meet or exceed your expectations? WELL PRICED, BEST COST AVAILABLE Did we provide good service? EXCELLENT SERVICE, GREAT COMMUNICATION. Would you shop with us again? YES Would you recommend us to others? I ALREADY HAVE!
Billy
AL, United States
2013-05-03
John W.
OH, United States
2013-05-03
Excellent, Gentlemen!
John W.
OH, United States
2013-05-03
Well done, my good sirs.
Shea
GA, United States
2013-05-03
After shopping several online vendors, I chose a product from Histoical Emporium. The web site is laid out nicely with hundreds and hundreds of products from which to choose. The ordering process was very user-friendly and easy to navigate. Paypal is accepted, which is my preferred payment method. The product description was extremely accurate. The automatic tracking information was promptly sent, and I was able to track the shipment and know exactly when the product would be delivered. I ordered on Sunday, and the product shipped on Monday evening. I would definitely shop with Historical Emporium again in the future, and I would recommend them to anyone in the market for old west clothing.
Obadiah
OR, United States
2013-05-03
I bought these pants for a Titanic reenactment. I frankly wasn't expecting much from them. Just enough to get me through the event. I was a bit wrong there. They are built sturdily, and actually are quite comfortable. I am very pleased with the purchase. I do believe that the pants would stand up pretty well to some real work.

KE, United States
2013-05-03
Once again I am totally satisfied with my purchase and the timely mannor inwhich it was shipped. This is by far the best mail order clothing company I have ever had to pleasure of dealing with. The clothing is very high quality and very reasonably priced. I look forward to ordering from you again soon. Thanks again J. Keith Hurt

United States
2013-05-03
great product looks good and it works perfect
Robert Wright
FL, United States
2013-05-04
The product is way ore than I expected and is a classy shirt .
Robert Wright
FL, United States
2013-05-04
once again the product is very well constructed and a bit more than I was expecting.
Robert Wright
FL, United States
2013-05-04
The service was pleasent and respectful with amazing quickness. Thank you
Penelope Price
IN, United States
2013-05-04
These are really cute! I'm looking forward to wearing them!
captain zero
LO, United States
2013-05-04
as always the emporium delivers with no regrets..i am in love with my new trousers, they fit great and the style is fantastic...need more of these kinds of prints, the more outlandish the better. they are real head turners. thanks!!!!!!
captain zero
LO, United States
2013-05-04
will add greattly to my attire..no regrets. good job emporium. need more pouches though.
captain zero
LO, United States
2013-05-04
always great and always nice.no complaints in this department.
Silva Dudgeon
CA, United States
2013-05-04
I was a little surprised to not get the petticoat that I ordered. I got a split pant petticoat of some kind. It will work but wasn't what I ordered or expected.

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service