Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2013-05-12

Dave
GE, United States
2013-05-06
Fits my Cimarron Model P 7 1/2 barrel perfect
Neil
VE, United States
2013-05-06
This is handsome well made vest. I generally wear size 38 - 40 suit jacket. I ordered this vest in medium, however, it was a bit loose around the chest. I sent it back for an exchange for a small which fits great. The entire process was quick and easy and the staff communicated well on e mail at each step. I would recommend this vest to anyone who likes a more fashionable vest than the modern looks with thin fabric and no collar.
Neil
VE, United States
2013-05-06
I recently ordered a wool vest that was a bit too large. I sent it back for an exchange to a smaller size. The service during this process was outstanding, quick, and the staff communicated clearly and promptly each step of the way. The packing and shipping were very efficient, and the box in which the garment arrived was first class as was the interior packing of the clothing. Things could not have been performed better. Thank you for this great service.
McKenzie Kate
OR, United States
2013-05-06
I just started cowboy Action shooting and my husband also joined SASS. He will be shooting later, but wanted an outfit to wear right away. The duster is great, looks very period, and is extremely well made. Thank you

United States
2013-05-06
As with everything, it's not a one size fits all. It definitely isn't made for people with big heads. Fits me perfectly though and looks great. Quality is superb.
Debbie
AB, Canada
2013-05-06
A little bit of history to these goggles, which makes them even more interesting when decking them out for steampunk. They are much more interesting than something made recently. Love them a lot!
Josh
AZ, United States
2013-05-07
I got the package fast, but while the vest was nice, that is about it. The material is light, the fit is decent, but for the price i was expecting more.
P. Overton
CA, United States
2013-05-07
I was very pleased with the quality of the clothing I ordered from Gentlemen's Emporium. I placed my order over the phone with customer service as I needed the clothing by a certain date for a musical performance my son was in. Customer Service was very helpful. They helped me decide which shipping option to use so that I would get the clothing in time. They helped me determine that it was unnecessary to pay for expedited shipping. I received the items in just 2 days. I was so pleased with the quality and fit of the items. It was just as pictured on the site. I will definitely order from this site again.
P. Overton
CA, United States
2013-05-07
I was very pleased with the quality of this product. The vest was as pictured and very well made. Customer Service was also excellent. I called to place the order over the phone as I needed the items quickly for a musical production my son was performing in and we needed some additional items to complete his costume(s). I received the items in just 2 days. My son loved the vest so much that he not only wore it for his performance, but regulary wears it to church on Sundays. I would definitely order from this site again.
P. Overton
CA, United States
2013-05-07
I was very pleased with the quality of this product. Customer Service was also excellent. I called to place the order over the phone as I needed the items quickly for a musical production my son was performing in and we needed some additional items to complete his costume(s). I received the items in just 2 days. This shirt was great. My son does many theatre productions in HS and at the local community theatre. Many times he has needed a shirt like this with full sleeves and every time I intend to sew him one, but end up making the rest of the costume to usually run out of time to make the shirt and then just make due with something else or borrow a shirt. THis time he had various costume changes and I went looking for some pieces I could buy. I found this shirt and it was perfect! I couldn't make a shirt like this one for this price. And if I could, my time alone to make something like this made the shirt well worth the $. The quality is superb. The removable jabot allows you to really change the look. Also, for some scenes where we wanted a more casual look, we not only removed the jabot, but we were able to tuck in the lace on the sleeve at the wrist to only show the more simple ruffle. The shirt is extremely versatile for many different costume looks. Love it.

United States
2013-05-07
It's absolutely gorgeous! It's also very well made and will last me a long time.

United States
2013-05-07
Ordering was easy, shipping was fast, and the product was even better than I imagined! I will definitely recommend this company!
Jeff
MI, United States
2013-05-08
I am very impressed with the fit and finish of this shirt. The fabric is very sturdy, and the fit is very roomy. Highly recommended!
Jeff
MI, United States
2013-05-08
I am very impressed with the fit and finish of this shirt. The fabric is very sturdy, and the fit is very roomy. Highly recommended!
Jeff
MI, Canada
2013-05-08
I had a question about the shirt sizing and called to speak to a representative. The lady I spoke with was very helpful, and also gave me some recommendations for a few other shirts that I hadn't considered. I ordered two shirts, and I am very pleased with the fit and finish. My order arrived swiftly. I will definitely shop here again, and recommend this site to others.
Christopher
CA, United States
2013-05-08
Like every product I've bought on here, this is of great quality, durable and practical. It goes well with my hat.
sar7ah
OH, United States
2013-05-09
My (now) husband and I ordered this vest for him to wear in our wedding. After months and months of searching for something like it, we found Historical Emporium online with only a week until the big day. We ordered this and another vest just in case this one didn't come in time. It did come in time and was exactly as described. It fit perfectly and looked great! We are very happy with our purchase!
sar7ah
OH, United States
2013-05-09
After months and months of searching for something like it, we found Historical Emporium online with only a week before our wedding day. We ordered this vest in case the double-breasted one we also ordered did not come in time (It was a special order and had a longer estimated delivery time). The other vest did come, but we liked this one so much we decided to keep it too. We are very happy with our purchase!
sar7ah
OH, United States
2013-05-09
We searched and searched for months to find a vest for my (now) husband to wear in our wedding. We finally found Historical Emporium with only a week left to the big day. We emailed them to ask them to expedite the order and they did a GREAT job making sure our order got to us in time.
Mary
WI, United States
2013-05-09
One of my hobbies is collecting vintage mannequins. I dress them in many different themes, and most recently decided to dress the girls in steampunk and Victorian. Your website provides me many options for both of those, and I am absolutely thrilled with my order. I got three womens hats, and they far exceed my expectation. I will be back. Thank you. Mary
Susan
TE, United States
2013-05-10
My son loves the watch! I bought it for an upcoming concerts and banquet and it arrived just in time! Thanks again to Eve for the wonderful Customer Service! You were a true blessing!
Susan
TE, United States
2013-05-10
Again Many Thanks to Eve for her wonderful Customer Service!! My son loves the watch! He and his brother had an upcoming concert and banquet and the watches arrived just in time. They are beautiful watches and the boys love them!
Susan
TE, United States
2013-05-10
Please let Eve know that she is a true blessing. She was so wonderful to talk to and she resolved all of or order issues. I found your website by chance. I was looking for a top hat for my 14 year old son. What I discovered was an incredible website full of beautiful clothing, pocketwatches, ties and much much more that the guys think are really cool. They're already picking out Christmas ideas! There was a mix up on our end with our address and the watches were sent back. When I called to find out why they hadn't made it yet I got to talk with Eve and within a matter of minutes she had the whole thing resolved and assured me that the watches would be here in time for my sons concert and banquet! The watches arrived an hour before they got home from school and they were so happy! Thank you again, Eve, you made two young men very happy! (By the way...Eve needs a raise! ;0) ) She was a delight to speak with, such a sweet young lady. We will be shopping with y'all again real soon! I'm sharing this wedsite with our high school drama class as well as the boys telling all their friends!
Doug
AZ, United States
2013-05-10
received the holster that was just as advertised in a short time. was happy with the product and the shipping.Thanks
Paul
VA, United States
2013-05-10
The vest is exactly what the photo and text promised. I'll be wearing it under a white dinner jacket at my same-sex wedding. Paul
Paul
VA, United States
2013-05-10
My partner will be wearing this for our wedding. Living in Arlington, Virginia the name of teh vest is appropriate. We love both vests. They deliver on the photos and texts.
Paul
VA, United States
2013-05-10
The vests arrived on time and well packaged. They met our expectations.
Charles
MA, United States
2013-05-10
I've seen several things advertised as brass binoculars or telescopes that turned out to be totally cheep looking, and poorly constructed. Not so with these! These are solid, move as you would expect, and have reasonable magnification. The "focus" is just for show - there is no second lens (just flat glass), so it is always in focus - but the gearing works well, and the product looks and feels nice. My one minor complaint is the leather cord - this piece could look nice and be cruelty free with a standard chain, and the obviously died leather is a risk around white shirts in hot or wet weather.
Charles
MA, United States
2013-05-10
These look nice, but they are sadly clearly too small for me, and while my head isn't "narrow" it also isn't huge (most glasses at stores fit me), especially for typical male heads. These probably more clearly classify as child's glasses and should probably not be stocked with adult outfits without a note of warning.
Greg Richter
GA, United States
2013-05-10
This is not a theatrical prop, this is a first-quality hat suitable for everyday wear. Well, everyday wear in certain circles I suppose... Recommend taking it to your local western emporium and having the hat steamed and sized to fit perfectly. If you do, it's quite comfortable for all day wear.
Johnny Dollar
IL, United States
2013-05-10
I ordered the "Straw Boater" and I must say that as a "Dandy & Dapper Gent" that I am completely satisfied with the quality and style of this product. Compaired to other retailers selling the same hat for $180.00 and up the price of $46.95 is exceptional for the same make and style of Boater. I would recommend and have recommended "The Gentlemans Emporium" to all my friends and followers on my Fashion Blog "JOHNNY DOLLAR" THE URBAN DANDY GENTLEMANS BLOG @ http://johnnydollar.tumblr.com/
JOHNNY DOLLAR
IL, United States
2013-05-10
I ordered the "Straw Boater" and I must say that as a "Dandy & Dapper Gent" that I am completely satisfied with the quality and style of this product. Compaired to other retailers selling the same hat for $180.00 and up the price of $46.95 is exceptional for the same make and style of Boater. I would recommend and have recommended "The Gentlemans Emporium" to all my friends and followers on my Fashion Blog "JOHNNY DOLLAR" THE URBAN DANDY GENTLEMANS BLOG @ http://johnnydollar.tumblr.com/
Charles
MA, United States
2013-05-10
Finding size 13+ boots has been a challenge my whole life, so I was glad to find these in my size. They use all man-made materials, and seem sturdy, using a thick layer for the boot itself. The price is great and the quality is quite reasonable. I haven't had a chance to break these in, but they were comfortable and good looking on their first wear and I have high hopes. My one complaint is that these (like what seems like most every men's boot currently in existence) use the "Doc Martin" style sole (where the rubber sticks out all the way around the shoe), which is not very period, and (in my opinion) makes all boots look like modern military surplus. For the price and the look of the rest of the boot, this is a minor issue - but still something that would be nice to avoid.
krystal
TN, United States
2013-05-10
Was a birthday gift for my husband and received it just in time. He loves it.
Hattie Lewis
United States
2013-05-10
Very pleased with quality and fit and great detail. This was a gift to a musician and he absolutely loved it. Will shine on stage!
Charles
MA, United States
2013-05-10
This shirt looks good straight out of the box, though it did take a minute to sort out all the buttons. It is a fabric that holds wrinkles, so be aware that you may want time to dry clean or at least let it sit in some steam before wearing.
Charles
MA, United States
2013-05-10
This was slightly more "tuxedo shirt" looking than I expected from the picture, but it's a good shirt and the sizing is as expected.
Hattie Lewis
United States
2013-05-10
Purchased this item because of the quality and a very good price. The customer service was excellent, answered all my questions and will highly recommend you to my friends/family and will be shopping with you again.
wdbdan
TX, United States
2013-05-10
I have a lot of hats and the Slouch hat is my new favorite. I have been searching for one like this for some time now and ordered this one wondering if it would be what I wanted. It was more than I expected. I love it !! It fits perfect and looks even better than perfect.
vin
MI, United States
2013-05-10
Great product, great price. Everywhere else was double the price, the tooling work is excellent. Very pleased. Can't wait to order a brown one.
Richard
United States
2013-05-10
Great fit and comfort stylish too
'Raspberry'
SD, United States
2013-05-10
As in, "This is EXACTLY what I was looking for!" Workmanship is awesome, shirt is heavy-weight fabric, made to last. I perform re-enactments six days a week all summer long, so most 'costume grade' costuming just doesn't cut it. These have the look and feel I wanted, and should last quite a while. Thanks H.E.!!!
'Raspberry'
SD, United States
2013-05-10
You've built your store around a wonderful variety of amazing quality products. You always live up to my expectations, and sometimes exceed them. I once placed two orders on consecutive days thinking, "It's extra shipping, but, oh well." Without my having to ask, H.E. consolidated my orders, and refunded the extra shipping. That's 'above and beyond', and what I've always found at H.E. Thanks! I'll be back, and I'll send others' too!!!
Kelly
United States
2013-05-10
A nice shirt that can be worn classy or dressed down a bit
Kelly
United States
2013-05-10
This is a classy tie that can be worn with just about every color.
Kelly
United States
2013-05-10
This vest is versatile. It is nice enough to dress up with (crimson color is great) I matched it with the black midnight puff tie and Wyatt shirt. The material is tough enough to ride and work in as well.
Alex L
FL, United States
2013-05-10
Great looking watch and priced to match. I was afraid that it may look different when I got it and was pleasantly surprised that the representation of the product was so accurate. Looking forward to using it and more so, looking forward to doing business with Historical Emporium again, soon
Kelly
United States
2013-05-10
Customer service at Historic Emporium was great. My questions regarding sizing info and print patterns, etc. were answered promptly and completely. My purchased items were received in a very timely manner.
Alex L
FL, United States
2013-05-10
I have done business with you in the past and have always found your products and service to be top notch. I purchased two pocket watches (one gold and one silver tone)and they look every bit as good if not better that the webpage image. I am looking forward to doing business with you again and would encourage others to do the same. It's not often that you find a company on the internet that offers great service and great products. You are one of the few. Keep up the great work.
Steve
United States
2013-05-10
Great product & price; don't understand earlier objections to band, this one is just fine. I wear a 7 5/8 and it worked for me.
Karen Saunders
CT, United States
2013-05-10
Well constructed and easy to adjust
Karen Saunders
CT, United States
2013-05-10
I ordered a small. However, the shirt was huge. I'm taking 2 inches on the seams each side and shortening arm length by about 1.5 inches. This could be a medium or large. Otherwise, a well made product.
Karen Saunders
CT, United States
2013-05-10
These were a perfect fit.
Karen Saunders
CT, United States
2013-05-10
Size Small is really a medium and needs to be taken in about 3 inches. Otherwise, well constructed.
Karen Saunders
CT, United States
2013-05-10
Handsome Tailcoat, handsome son. Nicely constructed. Would have liked a little more weight in the tails.
Ron "Snort" Martin
TE, United States
2013-05-10
Recieved my holster and belt 3-4 days after ordering...weekend included! Very nice quality! The only weight I felt was the weight of the pistol. The belt was very rugged, but light as a feather! Had to return it for the next size down. Been loosing some weight and didn't want a drooping belt. Wonderful folks to deal with..A+++ Will use them again and recommend them to others.
Gunkus In The Pipus
MO, United States
2013-05-10
The Ascot is very stylish and I experienced very fast shipping. My only small beef with it, is that it is a bit on the small side which makes it a bit difficult to handle for someone with a larger neck, and a bit difficult to tie in different knots.
Sheri
SC, United States
2013-05-10
The Craftsmanship is excellent, I'm very impressed with the material and quality
Sheri
SC, United States
2013-05-10
The Craftsmanship is excellent, I'm very impressed with the material and quality.
Sheri
SC, United States
2013-05-10
The Craftsmanship is excellent, I'm very impressed with the material and quality
Sheri
SC, United States
2013-05-10
The Craftsmanship is excellent, I'm very impressed with the material and quality
Judi
AR, United States
2013-05-10
Beautifully made and fit true to size. Arrived quicklyl Very happy!
dole
TN, United States
2013-05-10
Wow, amazed at this company! Great website and friendly contacts.
Sheri
SC, United States
2013-05-10
The customer service was excellent, they were very helpful and answered all of my questions about the items I was ordering.
TC von Gal
GA, United States
2013-05-10
I got one of these recently, cause I'm always into strange and interesting coats and I mean just look at that! when I got it, it was the correct length, comfortable fit, solid stitching and good buttons. The only way this could have been made any better is if it were a heavier canvas like a thick duster, but even then that's just my preference. The cloth is perfect for what it is by anyone's standards. I'm actually considering buying the black one too, just for some variety. you can even wear it like a normal coat if you leave it open, albeit one side might look a bit heavier than the other. I won't lie though, i'm just looking for an excuse to wear this regularly, cause It feels so comfortable.
Mike
United States
2013-05-10
Ordered by Email, received by USPS mail within 3 days. Is well made, 'tails' are 6" long - just right, price is a little high but quality is great. Hope this is U.S. made.
Vernie
PA, United States
2013-05-10
I wanted a straw boater to wear with my J. Peterman, Custom Boating Blazer. (Owners Manual No. 105). I chose this one because of the price over the one from Connecticut ($160) and two I looked at in Manhattan ($175 & $110). Th quality seems about the same. I'm very pleased with my purchase from Historical Emporium.
blake
TE, United States
2013-05-10
polite,articulate people on the phone.
Guanto
NV, United States
2013-05-10
Seeing "real" holsters out there costing $300 and reading the single "cardboard" comment about this item on these forums, I was hesitant. Thank goodness i finally went for it. This thing is perfect beyond all my expectations. The raw look of no tooling is very Spaghetti Western. It's real leather, the holster feels like its lined with metal, and it "antiqued" quite easily after some blood sweat and tears with a bit of alcohol and sandpaper. I was saddened to find out after I purchased that they "now" offer it in an antique finish out of the box, aw well. The metal furnishings are on the cheap-side, only thing holding me back from 5-star. This item looks amazing on film/video btw: http://www.facebook.com/guantomovie
Vernie
PA, United States
2013-05-10
After help from customer service, we discovered that I didn't receive my customer order confirmation email because of my spam filter. I really appreciated this extra help and trouble shooting and didn't expect it.
Bonnie Guthrie
CO, United States
2013-05-10
Much more than I expected. You need to start selling period wigs to go with the costumes.
Chris B
CO, United States
2013-05-10
I ordered this to wear to a steampunk themed event but it is so nice and so well-made that I intend to wear it as part of my regular evening going-out attire. I received many many compliments on it the first time I wore it and had at least two dozen people ask me where I got it. Of course I told them them.
Bonnie Guthrie
CO, United States
2013-05-10
It fits perfectly! A little long but by turning the waist band once, I didn't even need to shorten it. Better quality than I was expecting.
red
CA, United States
2013-05-10
very happy. great quality and fast shipping
red
CA, United States
2013-05-10
great quality. Fast shipping
Shannon
MO, United States
2013-05-10
Amazing! My husband is turning 40 this year, and I am hosting a "Great Gatsby" party in his honor. We are all dressing in 1920's attire, and this hat fits the theme perfectly! It is beautifully constructed, and arrived promptly. I will absolutely be ordering from your website again!
Gary L McClure
LO, United States
2013-05-10
Great product. I'm very please. In near future,I will order a belt and holster for my 357 magium.
Judy B.
TX, United States
2013-05-10
This product exceeded my expectations in every way. I was sure buying shoes through the mail would be problematic, but the instant I tried them on they fit perfectly. I cannot wait to wear them with the dressing I'm making for the Dickens event I will be attending! Very happy with this purchase! :D I would definitely check this site first the next time I need something.
M.J. McGuire
United States
2013-05-10
I purchased this hat for my son to wear during events at the local historical village. He loves it! It's made well and looks great!
djb
CA, United States
2013-05-10
Flip
OR, United States
2013-05-11
Like the shirt very much, wish cuffs would accommodate cuff links.
Flip
OR, United States
2013-05-11
got the shirt quicker than promised, can't beat that.
stacie may
CO, United States
2013-05-11
This blouse fits me like it was tailor made!!

United States
2013-05-11
stacie may
CO, United States
2013-05-11
fits perfectly and looks stylish with jeans or the classic black walking skirt!
stacie may
CO, United States
2013-05-11
i can't believe how this blouse, and the pink pinstripe blouse fit me....as if they were made just for me!!

United States
2013-05-11
perfect fit, perfect length. extremely comfortable...so glad I found you!
Stacie May
CO, United States
2013-05-11
I have several items of clothing and shoes from you now...each item fits me as though it were tailor made, and I couldn't be more pleased!! Patrons at May Farms ask me where I purchase my wardrobe from. Your staff cheerfully and professionally answer all my questions, and are extremely helpful if asked for suggestions. You can expect more orders from me!!
Hess
TX, United States
2013-05-11
Got this in 4 X and man this is the 1st time I found a place that is sells a true 4 X. I wanted my shirt to fit lose and is huge so I washed it on hot and it is just right now. They seem to be well made and for the cost it is a very good buy
Hess
TX, United States
2013-05-11
Service was the best. I have ordered from them about 6 times in the last year and not one issue. Will continue to use them
Rod HTA
KY, United States
2013-05-11
This shoulder holster is exactly as described. It is very light weight. I only give it 4 stars because it is actually to light. When you holster a colt clone in it, well it just doesn't feel right almost flimsy. It is well made and the colt clones fit nicely in the holster.
The circuit rider
OR, United States
2013-05-11
I am very satisfied with my purchase of this vest. As my measurement came out at the top of the size range, I opted for the next larger size, it fits great.
The circuit rider
OR, United States
2013-05-11
I am starting to acquire the pieces for my period costume. My experience so far has been very good. Yes, I will definitely shop here again, and I have already recommended your site to others. Good work!
Mrs. D.
MT, United States
2013-05-11
super for the price.
Prof Warflight the Wrong
CA, United States
2013-05-11
Let me start out by saying, that I am a bit picky when it comes to goggles used in costuming. There is nothing I hate more, than the trend to use cheap plastic goggles for a steam punk character. That being said, cheap plastic, these are not! Let us start off with the eye cups. They have the look and feel of a soft leather, though, that portion is "pleather" stuffed with foam rubber for comfort, it still has the look and texture of soft pig skin boot leather, and is quite breathable. The main goggles themselves are aluminum, which, would have been quite the valuable metal in the pre-victorian era, but also keeps the goggles light weight, and allows the lens frame to be removed for lens replacement. The lenses themselves feel like real glass. Not some cheap plastic that would scratch easily. Now, here's the kicker that was an unexpected treat for me: These goggles come with TWO sets of lenses! The ship with polarized glass lenses in them, and your red, and cyan lens are packaged separately. The polarized lenses make for the PERFECT sunglasses, for all of your mad science work at the beach, while the red and cyan, do indeed make the perfect 3D glasses. Remember the red goes over your left eye, while the blue goes over the right, and enjoy as 3D images pop out at you. I even tried them out for a bit of 3D gaming (though, do NOT attempt to play Left for Dead 2 in 3D with these goggles... the graphics are great, the 3D effect is great, your character is moving, and you are not... well, let's just say, I used to be a pilot, and it still made my stomach turn just a bit) Now, great goggles and all, WHY did I give them only four stars? Well, because 4 stars wasn't an option... you see, the strap does make them lose a half of a star. The strap is a bit small for my head, however, it is elastic, and, eventually will stretch over time, but, the clasps for the strap are plastic, and the strap doesn't really secure itself well on it's largest setting... for a smaller setting, it would be fine, but, I have an obnoxiously large head. Fortunately, because of the material, one can simply do a tack stitch on the straps (two seconds of my life) and they are then perfect. So, in the end, I highly recommend these. Brilliant design, beautiful look, and quite the bargain, what with how much these are other places, and the fact that you get two sets of lenses, thus making them more versatile, not only for your costuming needs, but, for their practicality for things like 3D gaming, and 3D picture viewing.
Prof Warflight the Wrong
CA, United States
2013-05-11
Let me just start with this: Wearing this lab coat, through one's neighborhood, while carrying a portal gun, does NOT alleviate the fears of one's neighbors that you are not, somehow, a mad scientist, and I fear, that, eventually, my neighbors may be showing up at my door steps, with pitchforks, and torches. (I'm sure all that has stopped this action so far, is their lack of pitch forks) To say "realistic" is an understatement. I have seen many Howie style lab coats out there, from costume shops, to the Internet, to people wearing them at Comic Con (which, BTW, is a bit rare in comparison to other costumes, so it is a great costume piece for standing out) What I have seen so far, however, is cheap construction, inaccurate construction, or cheap material, and out of all of those horrible renditions, you usually can't find one for under $100! Now, let's move on to this particular lab coat, and what we have is so much better... it is to other Howie style coats, what a leather mask would be to a paper bag over one's head. Speaking as someone who has done a bit of lab work, and thus knows his lab coats, and as one who has a thing for historical costumes, let me say, this lab coat is spot on. The construction is spot on perfect for a Howie style lab coat. The stitching is right, the back strap is correct, allowing it to be adjusted (I have the XL/2XL size, and it does actually adjust for both sizes quite well) and the buttons are perfect. Though the description on the site says the buttons are steel, they are indeed plastic, HOWEVER, the plastic buttons have the feel of old Bakelite buttons, which, is a bit more realistic for a Howie style of coat, and they are at the proper spacing, with the proper inner flap of material once it's buttoned, to allow for both style, and purpose. Now, here's the kicker... generally, for me, any sort of costuming (or even modern shirts for that matter) the necks are always too tight on me. Well, not so for this lab coat! The neck can be fully buttoned, without feeling like I'm being strangled by that damn Japanese tentacle monster on the other side of the lab! (at least I think it wishes to strangle me... it looks at me funny, either way, which makes me feel a bit... awkward) Now, construction, and buttons aside, let's talk about the material. Once again, having mentioned before, that I have a familiarity with lab coats, the material on this one is perfect. It looks and feels like a right proper cotton twill, the style that has been used for lab coats for the past 150 years. Yes, if you work in a career that requires a lab coat, this will work PERFECTLY. The only thing it does lack, is pockets, which, the Howie style of lab coats never really had pockets on them until the 1950s anyway, and even then, it was only one pocket on the chest for a set of pens, and possible small tools. So, why did I give this five stars, rather than less, what with the buttons being plastic, rather than steel? Well, quite easy, really... the plastic, and their Bakelite look, give the coat a LOT more realism, and a much better look than steel would have, the pricing is FANTASTIC, making these coats practical from both price range, as well as construction, and, the neck fits actual humans. After having a flatmate try it on, it still has a great look even for someone with a smaller neck than my own, and, it still retains it's comfort! All in all, this coat has earned it's stars. Now, I must go, I think the Japanese Tentacled monster just got out, and may be heading towards the local shopping mall! OH DEAR GAWD! DOES ANYBODY HAVE A ZERO POINT ENERGY DEVICE!?!

United States
2013-05-11
Prof Warflight the Wrong
CA, United States
2013-05-11
Jim
United States
2013-05-11
I am very pleased with my purchase and the service that came with it. The shirt that I had wanted had been out of stock for a while, so I emailed historicalemporium and was immediately helped. They even sent me an email when the shirt came back into stock! Everyone was incredibly friendly and kind, and I absolutely appreciate their help. Definitely shopping here again.
Linda Bass
MN, United States
2013-05-11
I was very happy with this hat. It is constructed very well, the materials are of good quality and I liked the amount of feathers that were added to the hat. I did not need the back tail for the particular event that I was attending so I folded the veil and placed inside the crown of the hat. It did not affect the fit of the hat at all. I wore the hat for a victorian Mother's Day tea. The function was held in a victorian home and the luncheon was served as it would have been served during the victorian period. I received many compliments from members of the historical society members. I would recommend this purchase to anyone who is looking for a authentic version of a victorian type hat.
Linda Bass
MN, United States
2013-05-11
The service was fast. The clothing fit very well and was of good construction. I would order from your company again. I was very happy with your service and would recommend you to my friends. Thank you.
Grungy - DT
CA, United States
2013-05-11
I was very impressed with the workmanship of the leather. I pulled on one of the leather strings too much and I had to re-string it. It came apart very easily and I was able to re-string it with no problem. I just wanted a cowboy look and I got what I wanted. Thank you.
Grungy - DT
CA, United States
2013-05-11
I would suggest adding a secong item with the holster setup like leather cleaning solution. This cleaning solution would be the preferred one by your company to use on your products. I'm sure they would buy the holster setup and the cleaning solution in one package deal, because I would have.
Judy Christensen
United States
2013-05-11
I sent back the Parasol yesterday - 5/10/13. It wasn't the color of blue I wanted to match an outfit I need to wear with the parasol. Your picture shows 'light blue'. The parsol was medium blue - and my outfit is teal - so it just didn't blend in at all. Thank you for sending it to me - but please credit me. Thanks!

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service