Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2013-06-02

Beverly Luciano
NY, United States
2013-05-27
The blouse was perfect for the 1910 Gala at Sagtikos Manor Historical site
Mike
MI, United States
2013-05-27
My son and fiance have decided to have a western themed wedding. Your clothes are perfect for this event. Thank you for the wonderful website, the accurate sizing advice, and prompt delivery.
Jim
VI, United States
2013-05-27
Purchased a western holster and am extremely satisfied with the product and service. Would highly reccomend this product to anyone who wishes to purchase a great product, great workmanship and authenticity. Jim
Friley
LO, United States
2013-05-28
Very well crafted, the pistol I got it for was a bit tight but an overnight soak in water, then placing the gun in it and allowing it to dry, formed it perfectly.
Rupert Beckford
KI, United States
2013-05-28
Love this pocket whach, have been looking at this whach for sometime, would recommend this product to anyone
Kiya
CA, United States
2013-05-28
Lovely cane, solid and heavy. A bit of rattle (as expected, with the glass vials in there), but overall, fantastic and exactly what he wanted. There's a brass tip under the rubber one, which is a nice touch.
Kiya
CA, United States
2013-05-28
Nice quality, super fun. Needs a different string (or very light weight chain), the one it came on is just a bit too heavy/stiff. It was too big for my (small female) face, but fit hubby's face just fine.
April
GE, United States
2013-05-28
This compass is exactly what I was looking for to be part of a steampunk costume. This, is of course, a light, "costume quality" piece, but this item meets my expectations and requirements.
April
GE, United States
2013-05-28
This choker is very light and comfortable to wear. I purchased this as part of my steampunk costume, and I am happy with the item.
April
GE, United States
2013-05-28
I purchased this compass to attach to my husband's utility belt as part of a steampunk costume. It is a sturdy item, and is exactly as it was described. Serves our purpose exactly.
April
GE, United States
2013-05-28
These keys were purchased to attach to a steampunk utility belt. They are a bit larger than expected, and are quite sturdy. Meets our expectations ... we are pleased with the item.
April
GE, United States
2013-05-28
The shirt is very well made, sturdy yet soft, and overall quite lovely. My husband is a fine figure of a sturdy man, and it is difficult at times to find plus size clothing that actually fits. The shirt is perfect and helps round out a great steampunk engineer's costume!
April
GE, United States
2013-05-28
Such a beautiful watch! I purchased this to be part of my steampunk costume, but it is so lovely that I have been carrying the watch in my pocket and actually using it! Keeps accurate time.
April
GE, United States
2013-05-28
Ordered these trousers for my husband's steampunk costume. They are sturdy and well made. They fit well, and true to size ... which is refreshing given that my husband is a fine figure of a plus size man, and it is difficult at times to find costume clothing to fit. These trousers are great!
April
GE, United States
2013-05-28
Purchased these to put in my steampunk goggles ... now I have my rose colored glasses!
April
GE, United States
2013-05-28
Sturdy and well made. Holds my husband's pants up just perfectly! :)
April
GE, United States
2013-05-28
Bought this item to attach to my husband's steampunk utility belt, but I misread the description. The telescope is too small to serve the purpose that it was purchased for, however, it is a pretty little item. I have used it as an interesting part of his hat decoration instead of the purpose we intended.
April
GE, United States
2013-05-28
Pretty, sexy, and well made. I bought them as part of my steampunk costume. Exactly what I was looking for!
April
GE, United States
2013-05-28
Purchased these cards as part of a steampunk outfit. They have the perfect look that we wanted.
April
GE, United States
2013-05-28
My husband and I are taking a cruise for Halloween this year, and decided upon a steampunk theme for our costumes. We have now purchased several items from The Historical Emporium, some of which were phone in orders, and have been impressed and please with both the products we received, and the great customer service. We will purchase from the Historical Emporium again, and will not hesitate to recommend them to everyone!

United States
2013-05-29
For the price, I don't think I could even buy the leather to make these. The description said they were used, but they had recently been oiled, and were in good shape. I'm very satisfied.
Sanoma Steve
PA, United States
2013-05-29
Since I will be wearing the vest over other clothing, I bought it one size bigger than normal. While the style, workmanship and material are great, it was a little on the small size for me. I guess I need to back off when the cook offeres the peach clobber in the dutch oven.
Sanoma Steve
PA, United States
2013-05-29
Exactly what I needed. Looks and feels great. Put on a vest and a tie and you are a dude!
Sonoma Steve
PA, United States
2013-05-29
Website is easy to navigate and purchase was a snap. Email confirmation with shipping information was received next day and I received entire order on time with no problems.

United States
2013-05-29
It came with a spare battery as stated; it has a plastic cover which I did not expect but it still looks nice for the price. Overall, I am happy with the purchase.

United States
2013-05-29
Looks greet and is very solid.
dad 9098
KA, United States
2013-05-30
This vest fitsm like itl was made for me and, it goes with my grey pinstrip suit perfectly.
dad 9098
KA, United States
2013-05-30
This vest fitsm like itl was made for me and, it goes with my grey pinstrip suit perfectly.
Ron
TE, United States
2013-05-30
My coat is totally awesome, the fabric is really nicer than I expected and the sizing was spot on in my case. I am more that satisfied with my purchase. The coat wears well ( it looks good. ) This is my Sunday go to meetin coat, I look forward to buying a fancy tails coat out fit as soon as I can.

United States
2013-05-31
Gretchen
United States
2013-05-31
This pristine white apron with lace like old fashioned tatting is an elegant reminder of yesterday. The linen apron is also eminently wearable.
Another Happy Customer
United States
2013-05-31
The service we got was terrific - very quick answers to our query and speedy delivery of the product! I would consider the service to be exceptional and we will be recommending both the product and service to friends.
Gretchen
MI, United States
2013-05-31

United States
2013-05-31
Wonderful suit! Love it.

United States
2013-05-31
shipping and customer service was great all the way around...very speedily shipped. Thanks much!
Justine
NJ, United States
2013-05-31
This was my first order from Historical Emporium so I didn't know what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised as the item was exactly as pictured and the description was accurate. The fit was perfect and I really love the skirt! Fast delivery and priced right.
Justine
NJ, United States
2013-05-31
I did quite a bit of research for this item and after considering the reviews and cost I decided that I wanted to go with a reputable store. The item I purchased definitely exceeded my expectations with regards to quality and service. I would absolutely make another purchase from Historical Emporium! I would most definitely recommend them as well. Thank you!
michael nuckles
WV, United States
2013-05-31
tried to order this item earlier this year but it was out of stock so I waited,so very glad to find them back in stock,I ordered two,one for myself and the other as a gift for a fellow Whovian.. It was an Instant hit , they were very well packed and in excellent condition when recieved..shipment was very quick,(less than 4 days),,color and weight of were just perfect,fit is excellent,as was the price. it is among my favorite headgear and it annoys the life out of some of my friends! (another plus) as always I am happy with my purchase and your fine company and I sound your praises to all my friends who are looking for period wear,, Looking forward to making more orders in the future, Thanks for being there....
Shirley
OR, United States
2013-05-31
Very happy with this blouse. Goes perfect with my 8 panel skirt of this period. I will have to modify the cuffs and tighten them up because I ordered a larger size than I probably should have. Quality and style is perfect.
michael nuckles
WV, United States
2013-05-31
I came across Historical Emporium a few months ago while looking for a birthday gift for my daughter, there on your pages was the very item I had been looking for weeks, so I made the purchase and was surprised at how quickly the item was recieved (approx.6 days) it came very well packaged and in great condition,,the workmanship and materials were very high quality and the fit was perfect..the service from your company was top-rate,and the shipping updates were very welcome indeed,,I have since made other purchases with the same results and am very happy with the services that I have recieved.( my last order arrived just about a week ago) I will be making more orders in the near future and have told my friends,as well as posting your information on my facebook page. I really enjoy looking through the different styles of product you carry and look forward to see when something new is added,,,Keep up the Great work.
Jeff
OH, United States
2013-05-31
The gun belt and holster are just beautiful! Great quality. Will definitely buy from here again. I shoot 45 long colts and the rig performs great.
Mad Science at Home
MD, United States
2013-05-31
This lab coat is made of a confidence-inspiringly durable material and its seams are well constructed. I purchased it with the intention of using it in my kitchen, and I am confident that it will protect me from the experiments that I am doing, except for my sleeves. The sleeves of this coat flare, and there is no way to close them about the wrists. The picture shows the model wearing gloves, but it is very difficult to stuff the sleeves into a pair of gloves. This coat would benefit greatly from straps around the wrists to adjust or close entirely the sleeve openings. Other than that it is spot on.
Lee Wilson
AZ, United States
2013-05-31
This is a top-quality item - beautiful soft leather - well made, tailored perfectly. Highly recommend.
Lee Wilson
AZ, United States
2013-05-31
I received excellent customer service. The ladies who answered my phone calls were very helpful and pleasant. The item was shipped in a timely manner.
Gary Pankow
WA, United States
2013-05-31
This is, by far, the best suit I've ever purchased. In comparison to other suits of similar style, the cut and feel of this suit is superb and the price cannot be beat! The fabric and stitching is beyond reproach. Due to my size (6í1Ē / 260 lbs / broad shoulders), I was very worried about the fit, but talking with a representative over the phone put many of my fears at ease. Their return policy is very fair, and as it turned out, I didnít need it at all. The jacket, vest, and slacks wear like a tailored suit. I will definitely buy from Historical Emporium again. I will recommend them to all my friends. In fact, if youíve read this far, you should just go for it! What the heck are you waiting for? Get the suit! You wonít regret it. Youíll want to wear it all the time; to work, a night on the town, a friendís bachelor party, your own funeral, etc. And donít skimp on the accessories. Go for several cravats and vests so you can mix and match.
Gary Pankow
WA, United States
2013-05-31
Good shirt with a comfortable fit. Versatile and nice quality. The sizes run a little big, so don't be fooled. I originally ordered one size larger, but returned it for a smaller size once I received the shirt and tried it on.
Sunny
CO, United States
2013-05-31
I love the design, especially watching the movement. But the big red numbers inside look cheap. The person I bought it for is seriously picky and probably wouldn't like it.
Gary Pankow
WA, United States
2013-05-31
I searched the web, and local shops, for several months before purchasing from Historical Emporium. I was nervous about ordering clothes online because of the dangers of proper fitting, but after reading the return policy, I finally took the chance and called. The salesperson was well-acquainted with all the products and talked me through the entire purchasing process, answering all of my concerns regarding fitting. She was patient and supportive, as well as collaborative in finding the overall look I was hoping to obtain. I will most certainly purchase from Historical Emporium again and will recommend them to anyone who asks.
Sunny
CO, United States
2013-05-31
Really loved this outfit, didn't want to send it back. Just a small problem with polyester in Iowa in July! Too hot! Otherwise it was exactly what I was looking for.
Sunny
CO, United States
2013-05-31
I need an edwardian outfit for an event this summer, found this site and love all the variety. My purchase met my expectations, just didn't fit with the climate. You service is excellent and yes I will shop here again. I have already recommended you to others.
Joel
NC, United States
2013-05-31
These shoes look spectacular and fit perfectly. Wore them all day and I don't even think they'll require any breaking in. Amazing quality, will definitely be ordering shoes here again!
Joel
NC, United States
2013-05-31
Super fast shipping; shoes arrived exactly as described. This was my third order with Historical Emporium and I will definitely order from them again!

PA, United States
2013-05-31
i would buy from them again..top notch in every regard.
Derek
SC, United States
2013-05-31
Looks great, and arrived quickly!
Paul H.
NV, United States
2013-05-31
Great service, will recommend
Lady MacDuff
NE, United States
2013-05-31
It is exactly what was advertised and what I wanted. The fit is great. I plan to get alot of wear out of it.
Rae
AR, United States
2013-05-31
The shoes are great looking, but the spat area does not seem to be or look like leather. Almost looks like pleather. But still a great looking shoe.
Rae
AR, United States
2013-05-31
There was an issue with the deliver to and bill to addresses being different. Customer Service worked with me on that and the issue was resolved quickly and effortlessly.
Lady MacDuff
NE, United States
2013-05-31
The skirt is exactly what was advertised online and what I wanted. It is just my style and I plan to get alot of wear out of it.
Lady MacDuff
NE, United States
2013-05-31
The items I ordered were shipped as stated and delivery as indicated. I appreciate the tracking infomation provided.

United States
2013-05-31
Great fit, good quality, fast ship.
Crazy about vests
NE, United States
2013-05-31
With my last purchase I'm well satisfied. they fit great and they sharp looking. I'm often asked where do I get my vest and of course that makes me feel good. I'm more than happy to give them the website.

United States
2013-05-31
These suspenders are way too long. Yes, after their arrival, I checked the web site and it did say 48inchs. I am 5, 7 and the adjustment buckle came up on my shoulders. This was not the look I wanted. I reworked them. I cut 3 inches off the back strap and around 6 off each front leather strap.
Joe
United States
2013-05-31
Cool goggles but fog badly and instructions are only in German. Not worth the money if yo plan on wearing them.
Kelly
ON, Canada
2013-05-31
The quality of workmanship is very good, I was pleased and impressed. The size was right for my waist and having just the right "Drop" on the side with the gun holster. THE "BAD" IS THE BUCKLE DOES NOT SIT IN THE MIDDLE. When I belt it together the buckle is off to the far side of my waist. If I put the buckle in the center of my waist the gun holster is resting on my ASS !!! For this reason I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED I put it on once and dont think I will put it on again .... maybe I'll put it on Kijiji and try and get some of my money back. I dont think I would endorse your company or ever buy anything from you again. Thankyou Kelly W.
Peter
MA, Canada
2013-05-31
The vests are good quality and very share looking.
Patrick Tinkham
IL, United States
2013-05-31
I have placed a half-dozen orders so far through Gentleman's Emporium. All have flowed with nary a hitch. The only wrinkle came when I received a defective shirt, but Christine helped me iron it out quickly and courteously. I will definitely do more business with Gentleman's Emporium, as well as encourage my friends to so!
Patrick Tinkham
IL, United States
2013-05-31
This was my first hat purchase made on line. It fits well and the quality is excellent. And it looks GREAT!

United States
2013-05-31
VERY NICE vest!!!!!!! WEARING IT IN MY WEDDING!!!!

United States
2013-05-31
VERY NICE!!!! VERY AUTHENTIC LOOKING!!! WILL WEAR THIS IN MY WEDDING!!!!

United States
2013-05-31
BOUGHT A STRING TIE...WESTERN STYLE VEST...AND A vintage SHIRT!!!! VERY HAPPY WITH ALL...SHIPPING WAS VERY PROMPT!!!! VERY HAPPY WITH THIS COMPANY!!!
Butcher Creek Bob
BR, Canada
2013-05-31
All things arrived on time, and in proper condition for the product desciption in the catalogue. The fit was perfect, the color exact. Dam I look good in this stuff, hahaha. Butcher Creek Bob SASS# 98025. Mrs BCB refuses comment, WOMEN, what can you say????

United States
2013-05-31

United States
2013-05-31
BogieBJ
GA, United States
2013-05-31
HE sent me an email alerting me that my size in this holster was in stock. Online shopping was a breeze. There was a mix up in sending me an email about the purchase and tracking number. I called CS and got the info I wanted. They sent me the info for my records and the holster came that afternoon. My Ruger fits like a glove as does the holster. Look forward to using it when it gets "blue jean" weather.

United States
2013-05-31
Very nice to deal with. Fixed my problem with ease. A delight to work with.

United States
2013-05-31

United States
2013-05-31

United States
2013-05-31

United States
2013-05-31

United States
2013-05-31
Jeanine
CO, United States
2013-05-31
Love the cut, fit, and style. However because I am petite, I am going to need to alter/shorten the sleeves as they are far too long.
Darlene
OR, United States
2013-05-31
Love your items, love your service, the speed of delivery. It's all great! We have ordered numerous items as we do historical re-enactments and a living history tour. I have not been disappointed with any purchase. I just wish you would add more items to what you already have like more edwardian women's hats and clothing... maybe even edwardian dresses. Our group is always looking for new outfits. Hint...Hint!!!!
Bob
LO, United States
2013-06-01
Excellent product. Work as tour guide at Louisiana plantation. As with other 19th century trousers, make sure to order at least one size larger than you would with modern pants. Lighter than the canvas trousers and work for both outdoors and indoors settings. Worn for 12 hours first time and are flattering with the right braces. Machine washable and reasonably priced. Will order more.

United States
2013-06-01

United States
2013-06-01

United States
2013-06-01

United States
2013-06-01

United States
2013-06-01
Rana
GA, United States
2013-06-01
...When I called to order this, it was for a party the same weekend. Eve told me that I should not order by waist size but by bust measurement. I was very worried because of time constraints that I wouldn't get the costume ready in time. I was not even able to try it on until the night of the party but she was right, it was perfect. No alterations needed. We rode up in our Wild West costumes on our horse and were the hit of the party.
Rana
GA, United States
2013-06-01
When I called to order several items, Eve told me that I needed a measurement I didn't have. She said "no problem, just call me back tomorrow and we'll get it out to you." I have never called an 800 number and spoken to the same person twice, but there she was the next day. She was 100% correct about the fit, and my costume (Katya corset, petticoat, and choker) were perfect for our ride up to the Wild West party on our horse. Thanks Eve.
Tim
CA, United States
2013-06-01
This hat is exactly what I was looking for and fit perfectly. The quality is amazing!
Bobbie
FL, United States
2013-06-01
Just what I expected when I ordered it and it arrived. Was very pleased
Michelle
DC, United States
2013-06-01
I had so many compliments on my parasol and requests for "where did you get that wonderful..." This was a rousing success and Historical Emporium should expect several orders from my purchase! Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful@
Chuck P
CA, United States
2013-06-01
Arrived two days after I ordered them. Very comfortable. Works very weel with the look my wife and I are trying to create.
Chuck
YU, United States
2013-06-01
I ordered this for my wife's outfit. First time she ever ordered shoes mail order that fit.

United States
2013-06-01
My wife looks absolutely stunning in this dress.
Chuck P
CA, United States
2013-06-01
The first one arrived was too large. I called the next day and reviewed my measurements with customer service. The customer person asked to put me on hold, went out to the warehouse, found one that would fit, got back on the line and said she would sent it right away. Sure enough it showed up 2 days and fit fine. She gave me really excellent customer service. I returned the one that didn't fit and got an email confirmation that my account had been credited. You buy from these people with confidence.

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service