Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2013-06-09

Tony
HI, United States
2013-06-03
Good pants, sturdy construction. These are not costume clothing. They seem the be made for regular use, as in modern pants. They are very long, however. The pants will need to be hemmed. They are too long for the waist size but overall very pleased.
Tony
HI, United States
2013-06-03
The shirt is very well made and not a costume item. It is sewn for everyday use like a modern shirt. The sides will need to be brought in for a more tailored look. The shirt is more of a square pattern. On the whole, it is a good quality shirt and I am looking forward to having it in my wardrobe.

United States
2013-06-04

United States
2013-06-04

United States
2013-06-04

United States
2013-06-04

United States
2013-06-04

United States
2013-06-04
One cup Will
CA, United States
2013-06-04
The surprising quality, comfort, and thickness of this vest exude class and style. I couldn't be happier with this purchase!
MBarnett
WA, United States
2013-06-04
Sturdy fabric, good fit. My only request is to have a longer "tail" on the waist cinch in the back. The "tail" on mine was too short to fold back properly. No worries, though, as I used the hem cutoff to lengthen it.
MBarnett
WA, United States
2013-06-04
Braces are well-made and easy to use.
MBarnett
WA, United States
2013-06-04
Items were all as advertised, and all aspects of ordering and fulfillment were simply excellent!
Cait
MO, United States
2013-06-05
Wearing this is the most fun I've had in a long time. It fits really well since I read the previous reviews, and ordered larger than I might have originally. I wear it both for roller derby and my Zatanna costume and everyone loves it.
Cait
MO, United States
2013-06-05
The hat itself is amazingly well made, but even a men's small is a tiny bit too large for my head and since finding a ladies top hat that isn't miniature is rather difficult I think I will stick with this one and wear a wig with it.
Cait
MO, United States
2013-06-05
I've always looked with lust at the products on Historical Emporium but I never had a need for anything that was offered, until this summer. Almost 80% of my Zatanna costume will be coming from Historical Emporium and I'm glad of that since everything has arrived and exceeded my expectations.
Doctor
United States
2013-06-05
These trousers are brilliantly made, and fit great! i ordered them a bit too big, but fault's on my side there. everything is surprisingly well made, and durable.
Doctor
United States
2013-06-05
this is great, and stands out! the tie comes already put together. i would recommend buying a nice tie tack tho. it comes with a cheap looking one, but if you want to look classy, you'll want a nicer tack. the tie is a little flat when it comes in the mail, so you have to mess with it a lot the first time you wear it. after that, it wears brilliantly. it has become a part of my high-class suit. love it
Michael Garcia
PE, United States
2013-06-05
I have had several dealings with customer service, before and after purchase. I even had a small issue with my order. The people I spoke with were patient, helpful, and pleasant. They made certain I was fully satisfied, and resolved my issues and questions quickly.

United States
2013-06-05
Loved the shirt

United States
2013-06-05
Excellent Customer Service
Michael Garcia
PE, United States
2013-06-05
I haven't gotten to use it yet, but this tie quite nice. It's got texture so it's not just a plain black tie, and it's not expensive. It makes a perfect starter tie if you're just getting into western or victorian clothing. It even came with a fake pearl tie tack! Also, I have a large neck size, and there is room to spare with this thing. So don't worry if your a "big guy".
Michael Garcia
PE, United States
2013-06-05
I haven't gotten to use it yet, but this tie quite nice. It's got texture so it's not just a plain black tie, and it's not expensive. It makes a perfect starter tie if you're just getting into western or victorian clothing. It even came with a fake pearl tie tack! Also, I have a large neck size, and there is room to spare with this thing. So don't worry if your a "big guy".
Michael Garcia
PE, United States
2013-06-05
Obviously, this isn't meant to be a true "field tool," but it does magnify a little, and looks good as an extra brassy bit for steampunk or other adventurous outfits. It's very small, which is exactly what I needed. They carry a larger one if desired.
Michael Garcia
PE, United States
2013-06-05
I LOVE this shirt. Sizing is great, even on a larger guy like myself. The look is fantastic, and could work as a dress shirt without a tie or a casual shirt. Light, soft fabric. I want another. I only wish they had these in other colors.
Michael Garcia
PE, United States
2013-06-05
It is a bit of a lint magnet, but otherwise, it's a nice, solid item of clothing. Just don't expect it to be light and airy because it's cotton. This is a thick canvas vest, as it should be. Sizing is spot-on.
Michael Garcia
PE, United States
2013-06-05
I used to wear a set made of lightweight metal - sort of a spring-like design. I figured it would be more durable. But these are much more comfortable, and they add some detail to your look when you don't have a coat on. A must-have if you wear a large-ish shirt.
Marie
MA, United States
2013-06-06
Fits perfectly. Adorable !
brian
MI, United States
2013-06-06
gloves arrived 1/2" gap in finger seam. Called customer service and they are sending new pair. Other order from this company of several items was perfect. would not hesitate to buy from them again
brian murray
MI, United States
2013-06-06
had a problem with gloves ordered, and problem was fixed with no hassel.

United States
2013-06-07
very pleased with product, will order again
Torres19
NY, United States
2013-06-07
I ordered a pocket watch to add to my boyfriend's collection. On the website. under special instructions, I asked kindly for Historical Emporium to ship it via the USPS. And they did!! I love not having to worry about the tracking information, calling other companies like UPS or FedEx for my package. Excellent customer service. I have been and will continue to recommend this website to others. Thank you Historical Emporium, keep up the good work and excellent prices.
Torres19
NY, United States
2013-06-07
I ordered this pocketwatch to add to my boyfriend's collection. He was amazed at the detail work of the design as well as the black metal. It is a very nice piece. The ladies can use it was well as the gents, the cover opens to reveal modern glow-in-the-dark watch face and the back has a small window to reveal the gears which are functional. I love that it's a wind up instead of a battery operated mechanism. This is a perfect addition to his collection and I will continue to add using pieces from the Historical Emporium.
Binky Thorsson
CA, United States
2013-06-07
I purchased the medium size after purchasing the jenny blouse back in December figuring it should fit like the jenny blouse. It is a little shorter in the length of the arms and 1/2" or so tighter in the neckline. When I called and asked about the next size I was explained that it wouldn't gain me that much more in the sleeve, but would add more in the bust, etc. so returning it for the next size wouldn't be gaining me what I needed other then more fabric where I didn't need it. The quality is lovely and nice to have some color. So I still rate the quality at a 5. The sizing is just my problem because the style is a fitted blouse.
Ryan
MI, United States
2013-06-07
What can I say? I expected a silk vest to be thin and fragile, suitable only for occasional use. I was horribly, terrificly wrong, in the best imaginable way. The vest uses all 8 buttons to close instead of half of them being solely decorational, so even if the waistcoat is a bit snug, one could feel reasonably sure that they won't pop a button. The silk is much sturdier and stiffer than I had anticipated, leading to a more pleasing drape, and increased durability. The adjustment belt has prongs, so unlike other vests I've bought, it stays where you set it. Finally, the piece is American made. I will definitely reccommend this whenever the opportunity presents itself.
Binky Thorsson
CA, United States
2013-06-07
I love the victorian era. The cut of the clothing really adds charm to you overall look. Modern day clothing has no style. I purchased again, because I had purchased the Jenny Blouse back in December. I enjoyed the cut and decided I would be purchasing another blouse of this sort and should be able to purchase the same size in what ever style I chose. These other two blouses I purchased are cut a little shorter in the arms and a half inch tighter in the neck. My concern on the neck is being 100% cotton, once washed it would be even tighter. When I called and asked about the next size up, I was told I wouldn't gain that much in the arm length. I would gain more in the bust, etc. So I decided not to send the blouses back. The person I spoke with was very courteous and really knew her items. I appreciated her explanation of things. I do realize different makers have slightly different sizes. (just like with shoes, etc.) So I thanked her and decided it wouldn't gain me anything to send the blouses back for the next size larger, other then more fabric. That would just take away from the tailored look/style.
Binky Thorsson
CA, United States
2013-06-07
The Somerset blouse in person is actually darker then it looks in the photo on the computer. I still like the style. It is a bit shorter in the arms then the Jenny blouse. It is made of wonderful quality fabric and workmanship. I think anyone that purchases this blouse will love it. It's great to have some print instead of just a solid color. I will be purchasing more in the future.
Pincus
CA, United States
2013-06-07
Excellent customer service and everything.

United States
2013-06-07
For my husband, he loved it.
Mark
OH, United States
2013-06-07
I got this product a week or 2 ago and used it for what I wanted it for and it works very well. I'm glad I got it. It holds up very well. I'm very happy with it. I knew when I got it that it would work. It's made of real leather, which I was very happy about. It looks great and feels great, too. I wasn't sure when I got it if my gun would fit in the holster, but I was happy that my gun fit in it. Thank you very much for making such a great product. Thanks again.
Patti
United States
2013-06-07
Absolutely perfect! Not only do they look exactly as shown, but are a perfect fit and comfortable, too. I'll be on my feet a lot in these boots so while the appearance is important, so is the comfort. I'd definitely recommend them!
Chris Shillock
MN, United States
2013-06-07
This is the 2nd time I've bought clothes from this merchant. On both occasions they fit well, wore well and looked good. What else can I say?
Sunny
CO, United States
2013-06-07
Third time is a charm, these are what I needed and they fit! These knickers are light weight, perfect for Iowa in July, now I'm ready for our centennial event. Thank you, I will visit this site again.
Blaise
MN, United States
2013-06-07
I love my new straw boater! In fact, when it arrived, I placed it on my head, grabbed my sarrusaphone, jumped on my velocipede and rode around 1915 Minneapolis, Minnesota.
Terry
MI, United States
2013-06-07
These guys had exactly what I was looking for and shipped it the day I ordered it. It fits, it works, it is perfect. The price was great! Now I need someone to contact my wife and convince her I am not 12 years old... I highly recommend Historical Emporium!
dmack
ID, United States
2013-06-07
It was exactly what I was looking for and about $30 cheaper than anywhere else.
Karl
PE, United States
2013-06-07
I found my new holster to be of excellent quality and craftmenship I would highly recomend you product and service
Sunny
CO, United States
2013-06-07
I need an outfit for a centennial celebration this summer in Iowa. I found your site, and love your stuff. It took 3 times to get something light weight and large enough for my ample body. I love my knickers, they are light weight cotton and quite comfortable! Service was excellent, fast delivery. I have already recommended you to others.
Marty
NY, United States
2013-06-07
I chose your company by recommendation of a friend. I found the vest to be a little tight. When I received the proper size I was pleased with the product and with the service I received, Thanks! Marty
Anonymous
United States
2013-06-07
As everyone has said before, I had to order a few sizes up. According to the sizing chart, I'm a Medium. So I ordered an XL and to my surprise it still didn't fit. Let me also clarify that I am not big-chested and I carry my weight mostly in my thighs. I ended up ordering a 3X and it's not a perfect fit, but it'll have to do. Other than, it's a great jacket for a great price. I hope this helps anyone else who is looking at purchasing this.
Lewis Crsuoe
MI, United States
2013-06-07
The sales person with whom I spoke was very knowledgeable about the period clothing I was searching for for a museum exhibit we were constructing.
Nilly
NJ, United States
2013-06-07
I loved how the skirt is made and the length was perfect for my height (5Ft.), but it should come with an instruction card on how to pull up the ribbons to make the skirt shorter/longer. It's a bit confusing, but it is beautiful. I ordered the Large size and it fit a bit tight, but it fit. I thought it would be a bit wider. I thank you for your prompt delivery tho. The time you stated was the time it took right on the nose. The price was also something I was happy with. Thank you.
Bookman
CA, United States
2013-06-07
I recently ordered the Livingston Black Brushed Cotton Jacket. I had to request that it be expedited because I needed the product on a tight turn around. I was more than pleasantly surprised when I received an email stating that I was receiving a credit for the expedited shipping because the good folks at The Historical Emporium noticed that I was already in a 2-day ship zone. I've NEVER had the experience where the company I'm ordering from even looks or cares about this sort of thing. THANK YOU for my $24 dollars back! I will save it up and use it to buy something else from you.

United States
2013-06-07
nice fit looks good

United States
2013-06-07
good service will shop here in the future
Dave Mueller
MI, United States
2013-06-07
I have purchased prior. Always helpful! Provided great service. Yes I would definitely order again. Yes I have recommend people you.
Brad Hillgartner
ON, Canada
2013-06-07
I was looking around alot of places a for a gun rig.I found this place and figured I would order from here and I am sure glad I did.They delivered with no problem to Canada.The price was great and the product quality is outstanding.I will most definatly be buying the rest of my gear from here.
cowboy Ivory
SC, United States
2013-06-07
I am very pleased with this product!
Bookman
CA, United States
2013-06-07
I recently ordered the Livingston Black Brushed Cotton Sack coat. It came and more than exceeded my expectations in quality to cost. This coat is really well made and looks fantastic. I wish all of my clothes were made with this much care.
flat iron
United States
2013-06-07
Matched fairly well onto my RH belt and holster. Holds .357 Uberti like it was made for it. Very satisfied with purchase. Will use you again.
Antoine Hammond
United States
2013-06-07
It so comfortable and it looks great. I will definitely be a regular here.

United States
2013-06-07
Beautiful, I have been looking for this vest for 2 yrs.
Pam
MI, United States
2013-06-07
VERY NICE WEB SITE AND EASY PAYMENT PAGE. SUPER FAST SHIPPING AND GOOD PACKING AS WELL. THE FASCINATOR IS DARLING AND VERY WELL MADE. I AM DELIGHTED AND HIGHLY RECOMMEND HISTORICAL EMPORIUM FOR ITS AUTHENTIC PRODUCT AND SERVICE.
Pam
MI, United States
2013-06-07
NONE BETTER, FAST SHIPPING, GREAT PACKING AND EXCELLENT PRODUCT. WEB PAGE AND PAYMENT PAGE ARE EASY TO USE. THANK YOU AGAIN AND AGAIN!
Big Al
TX, United States
2013-06-07
I was looking for the best site to buy old west Gear and I found it with Western Emporium. The clothes are just what I expected from a well known store and the service was top drawer. I will shop with you again as I need to expand my outfit and I would certainly recommend you to anyone looking to look back in time to re-connect to their roots. And as a born here Texan , those roots go very deep.
Jake
CO, United States
2013-06-07
Nothing wrong with it... It is a costume monocle... Slightly too large to stay in the eye. The smallest bit smaller would be much better.
Dr. William (Bill) Altman.
SC, United States
2013-06-07
Thanks for another great piece of clothing that is a head turner.
Dr. William (Bill) Altman
SC, United States
2013-06-07
A 5 Star business with a 5 Star Staff. Thanks a million for your clothing. It's awesome.
Ross10
CO, United States
2013-06-08
This is the best quality, best looking period shirt I've seen. I love to dress up in costume at every chance I get and when I do, I want the cloths I wear to be spot on and this shirt is a 10! I love shopping here!
Ross10
CO, United States
2013-06-08
All the items I've ordered have always been in great shape and have always arrived on time or earlier than expected... I've never had an issue with this site... great job!
Mad Dog
CT, United States
2013-06-08
I ordered the 4X and when I tried it on it felt like an XL. Way too small to be called a 4x
Mad Dog
CT, United States
2013-06-08
Great fit and good look
Mad Dog
CT, United States
2013-06-08
Great people to deal with. Resolved issues quickly. No problems with returns. Will continue to purchase items going forward.
Kathie
RI, United States
2013-06-08
Fit is true...nicely fitted in the back. Fabric is so nice! Very pleased
Kathie
RH, United States
2013-06-08
I absolutely LOVE this skirt! SO well made, true fit on sizing. I falls soooo nicely and goes perfect with the Louisa blouse I ordered. Very very pleased
Jamie
SD, United States
2013-06-08
I was so excited to get this dress for my sister-in-law's wedding on main street of Deadwood South Dakota! Shipping couldn't have been faster, it fits like a glove and I will continue to buy from these guys every chance I get! Thank you for an exceptional online buying experience.
Jamie
SD, United States
2013-06-08
I bought this fan as part of a themed wedding outfit. Lightning fast shipping and beautiful high quality. Thank you for an exceptional online shopping experience!
rushmee
United States
2013-06-08
Good quality, classy stuff !!!

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service