Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2013-06-16

April
GE, United States
2013-06-10
Ordered this vest as part of my husband's steampunk Engineer's costume. The vest arrived in a timely manner, and was very true to size. No complaints!
April
GE, United States
2013-06-10
This was one of several orders I have placed recently with the Historical Emporium. No complaints, and will not hesitate to place additional orders!
Hoss715
KA, United States
2013-06-10
The Klondike vest is gorgeous. Great fit.
Hoss715
KS, United States
2013-06-10
This camisole fits great, is very comfortable on a hot day. Love it.
Hoss715
KA, United States
2013-06-10
Love the selection and quality of clothing. Everything I have purchased is top rate. I will definitely purchase from again in the future. Highly recommended company.
Edward Donchez
PA, United States
2013-06-12
I recently purchased an oiled western holster. The recommendation on how to measure insured a perfect fit. The quaity of the leather and craftsmanship were superb. I am very pleased with this product and the company in general. I would definitely recommend them to anyone looking for authentic western gear.I will be ordering from them again.

United States
2013-06-12
nerktwins
United States
2013-06-12
shannin
WA, United States
2013-06-14
the brocade this vest is constructed from is very nice. overall, it has a great fit and designed with some theatrical flare. both our designer and director loved it.

United States
2013-06-14
Very large keys on keyring are an excellent visual effect and are perfect for my daughter's costume.
Frank D Byers
OH, United States
2013-06-14
This is a high quality shirt. It will be a big hit at our vendor trade show for Woodcraft with a themed country western celebration. Also DJ'ing for events like this, this shirt will stand out from the crowd, and I am sure people will ask where I bought it from. The customer service interaction was cool too! In fact, I am awaiting word on another shirt from Historical Emporium that was out of stock that I will hopefully get to purchase once re-stocked.

United States
2013-06-14
This is the second vest ordered from Historical Emporium and very satisfied with both. Quick delivery. Wore the Burford to a wedding party a few days after receiving the item and got many compliments. This should go well with the Coburn Inverness during the Dicken's event.
shannin
WA, United States
2013-06-14
these pants are perfect for theatrical productions. they have a bit of stretch which makes for great dancing and the waist is nice and high and figure flattering. We have used these pants many times and will continue to.
drunkcynic
CA, United States
2013-06-14
Love the fit, feel, and appearance of these boots. I was concerned they wouldn't fit, because my foot is usually a 13 1/2 in normal shoes. The only downside of the boots is they are not robust enough for everyday wear. On the hem of each boot, there are portions where the leather has started to rub and flake off from where the lacing made contact.
shannin
United States
2013-06-14
H.E. is always great to work with. their shipping is super quick and the customer service is always impeccable. Such a great resource to have.
Frank D Byers
OH, United States
2013-06-14
Since I myself am in retail, it is always nice to embrace a company that values great quality customer service and attention to the customer needs. The gal at Historical Emporium was very kind and helpful in trying to help me find another shirt in their inventory that I might like, due to the one that I wanted originally was out of stock. I will order that one too once re-stocked! They will also put you on a return call list for such issues, which is cool! Thanks Historical Emporium, keep up the good work, it's all we've got left to retrieve our American lost values in caring customer service!

United States
2013-06-14
Waist size of these trousers is much smaller by about 2 inches compared to the three previous trousers that I ordered. That means I have to return them. I like the quality of material and workmanship, but the belt buckle on the rear is cheap and flimsy.

IO, United States
2013-06-14
The vest arrived very fast and looks amazing. I would definitely recommend to my friends if a friend hadn't already been the one to recommend it to me. :)
BeastRider
NC, United States
2013-06-14
I love the steampunk look of this belt, but I didn't really buy it for looks. I bought it for functionality. I needed hands-free easy access to my wallet and phone when on my motorcycle. This sturdy, heavy-duty, cleverly designed utility belt met all my expectations and then some. I didn't realize that there were buckles at both the back and front, which makes it adjustable to a great variety of waist sizes. I also underestimated the size of the pouches, I can easily fit my phone, pocketknife/multi-tool, and small notepad in one and my wallet, comb, and small sunscreen in the other - and the inside zip pockets are a great place for spare mad cash or tickets to an event. The first ride I wore it on we got caught in a pop-up pouring rainstorm. Every square inch of me was soaked, but my phone was entirely dry. I could not be more pleased with this belt, in fact I love it so much I will probably order a brown one as well.
Katalin Blasdel
IL, United States
2013-06-14
Fast Delivery, Easy to use website Arrived perfectly
Ink
CA, United States
2013-06-14
The Western - RH Cross-Draw - Black Tooled Leather - holster Fit my gun belt perfectly.
art weintraub
NJ, United States
2013-06-14
I not only found the product to exceed expectations, I also found that I was dealing with an honest and reputable company. Thank you! Art
Karl Breckenridge
NE, United States
2013-06-14
I am glad to have located this vendor on the web, as I am somewhat involved in productions where such clothing is indicated, and to date most I've found are "costumey" and don't come in larger sizes, which I seem to be. The vest is well-made and I am looking forward to acquiring a couple more as time goes on, together with a period coat, which will tickle my mate no end to have one more vintage coat come into our home. One quibble is that this one does not come in a "long" version. The size seems to run small, and I am today preparing to return the vest for one the next larger size, and really need length more than girth. But it will be great in any case. A good transaction, a good product.
Tod
BC, Canada
2013-06-14
Look great and I am sure they will be great since the event I am wearing them for is not till August can't say anymore
Tod
BC, Canada
2013-06-14
Exactly what I ordered fits well, looks great but not using it till august so can't say more.
Viv
BC, Canada
2013-06-14
Well even though I measured it is too big, I had hoped to move the buttons but a sewing friend says no. I had to leave town the day after recieivng it so haven't returned it yet since the event it is needed for isn't till August should be okay only need the next size down. Having said that the dress is well made, all you tall people don't worry I am 5' 7" and it is way too long but since it has an elastic waist can pull it up so no problem. Very gererous in the bust which is where my problem is that I need another smaller size. Alsa since haven't been able to actually wear it can't say more
Cowboy
IL, United States
2013-06-14
I was very pleased with the quality of this shirt. Have purchased other products from H.E. have never been disappointed either in the product quality or the promptness of the delivery time. Will continue ordering products in the future. Signed, a very happy customer.
Jill
CA, United States
2013-06-14
Jack LOVES this coat - it has a very flattering fit. Some other historic coats skimp on the details and tend to hang unflatteringly without additional work done to them, but this one is actually structured. It makes a good occasional coat as well.
Sue
CA, United States
2013-06-14
First off GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE! I had considered ordering a size 10 and emailed my question. After hearing back right away, decided to order a size 8. When received, it was still too big. I was able to exchange to a size 6 with no problems whatsoever. I'm 6' tall with a 31 1/2" at true waist. The 6 is even still a tad large, but it will work. Wish there were belt loops, that would be helpful. All in all, a great purchase and I will order from you again! Thanks very much
22magnumkj
AL, United States
2013-06-14
Great gun belt. Fits perfectly. Goes great with the matching cross draw holster that I ordered with it. Staining was very good. Almost perfectly matches the new leather sheath I had custom made for my old (and now restored) Bowie knife.
22magnumkj
AL, United States
2013-06-14
Great holster. Perfectly matches the gun belt I bought with it. Fits my 44 black powder pistol perfectly. The pistol has bee converted to 45LC and the holster still fit it great. Was a bit loose for the 36/38 caliber pistol though. Would be nice to be able to order this holster to fit the size of the intended gun.
Karl
PA, United States
2013-06-14
I found my new holster to be of top quality and craftmenship I would recomend this to anyone looking for a product of this type
Swiftelk
CA, United States
2013-06-14
Love my new vest. Just as described and well made. Shipped quickly and transaction was easy. Thank you, will shop again.
Swiftelk
CA, United States
2013-06-14
Great customer care. Fast friendly help and took the time to answer all my questions before I made my purchase. Will deffinately shop with you again. Thank you!
John Hayden
ME, United States
2013-06-14
Had a great experience this week. My first H E order arrived, the products were just what i was looking for but a size too large. I mailed them back the next day, not wanting to wait for the return/exchange process I called your CSR placed a reorder for the two garments in my size and added an additional item to it. The catalogue said sold out but she found a way to make that happen. I found your company researching steam punk, never thought I would find clothing like this. Well made products with fair pricing, keep it going!
Don
NE, United States
2013-06-14
The Pocket Watch is a work of art. Thank You so much for your prompt response. Good Night and God Bless

United States
2013-06-14
Light and airy, I work in costume in 90+ weather and it breathers wonderfully.

United States
2013-06-14
Wonderfully recrafted, a great addition to a true costume.

United States
2013-06-14
Wonderfully tough pants, stretch out well with time and wear, feel great.

United States
2013-06-14
Great service, shipping was fast and prompt.
Mitch
CA, United States
2013-06-14
I chose to shop at H&E because of the great selection. Every item I buy is excelent. The service is really great. When I call or use the comeputer and even email, the service is excelent! I really like the tracking of an item that comes with the email. I will continue to shop at your online store. I do recommend this site to others. The one thing I would like is a show room at the warehouse. I was in San Jose recently and would have loved to be able to come in and see the items in person and if any where on sale. Museum Replicas in GA. does this and once a year has a sale on most items from their show room. Just a though. Thank you again.

United States
2013-06-14

United States
2013-06-14
Boy Of metal
PR, Canada
2013-06-14
In a fashionless town I am now the King,
The Hat
FL, United States
2013-06-14
When I received my cane, I was quite impressed. It was everything I expected, despite one minor flaw... It seemed that the cane was not straight as hoped it would be, but then it gives it a bit of character. I would like get another one...straighter, of course. Keep an eye out for it in the music video for the group NOT DEAD YET. Thank you, Historical Emporium!
Richard
MA, United States
2013-06-14
I wanted that hat. I love this hat. Let face it this hat is thin, it comes in S/M/L/XL and the cord does has no control of length. Still with all that, I love this hat and there is nothing like it anywhere else. Then your whole organization does that.
George Van Buskirk
CA, United States
2013-06-14
They are great. As soon as I put them on display they were gone within hours. Everyone loved them.
Richard L Allen
MA, United States
2013-06-14
Love your hat and nothing like it anywhere else. Let face it, your shipping software need a redo. I live in an apartment with apartment number and Shipping software did not deliver hat to me until I contacted the shipper. No more business with your outfit.
Peg
VI, United States
2013-06-14
Excellent product - just as it appears on the computer screen.
Peg
VI, United States
2013-06-14
Beautiful - Perfect for my use.
Peg
VI, United States
2013-06-14
Perfect - don't know what else to say.
Peg
VI, United States
2013-06-14
Perfect - makes the entire outfit!
Peg
VI, United States
2013-06-14
Absolutely beautiful! I feel as though I have stepped back in time when I tried it on.
Rebecca
VI, United States
2013-06-14
My husband is going to be the best accessorized gentleman at our upcoming regency Ball. It's perfect.
Rebecca
VI, United States
2013-06-14
According to the size chart, my husband is a "medium" but this coat was much too large. He's very slim, with quite broad shoulders, and not very tall. I went with a different coat I had ordered at the same time, due to a time issue, but I did like the styling for the most part. The straight cut front and the fabric covered buttons are quite authentic and the tails are pretty good, but the lapels are really, really wrong! The collar should stand up and the lapels should be very wide and quite short. this is more like a modern cutaway, but in black, the fault is not so glaring. It would be nice if it buttoned closed. Also, the fabric is a bit heavy. But for an off the rack coat in a pinch, it's not too bad.
Rebecca
VI, United States
2013-06-14
I must say, I like this much better "in person" than I expected. I was dubious about the pointed front and, like the Sovereign tailcoat, the collar and lapels are completely inaccurate for the period impression. However, in black, the lack of contrast helps to disguise the glaring fault! The styling of the tails are excellent, really sexy from the back! The "small" size fit my husband well, even though according to the size chart, he should've been a medium. Slim, broad chested guys might want to take note. I thought I might want to change out the buttons for plainer fabric covered ones, but the silver is growing on me. Quite a nice choice for an off-the-rack coat in a pinch.
Rebecca
VI, United States
2013-06-14
Good fit, right style. Not crazy about the fabric, which is a bit cheesy, but fine for now.
Sue
PA, United States
2013-06-14
I bought this hat for my husband for a birthday gift. He loved the hat and I was very impressed with the customer service -- the package came (across the country) in just 2 days and was packaged very well! Very pleased with the customer service!!
Nikki Howard
IN, United States
2013-06-14
The monocle was precisely as described, and my son loves it. Thank you.
Nikki Howard
IN, United States
2013-06-14
Completely hassle free order. Fast shipping.
Celia R
WA, United States
2013-06-14
nice but small

United States
2013-06-14
Celia R
WA, United States
2013-06-14
Very cool but heavy

United States
2013-06-14

United States
2013-06-14
Celia R
WA, United States
2013-06-14
Too small to be much use
The Hingeman
MN, United States
2013-06-14
FKIN GREAT! totally messed up my mind when I looked in the mirror ,I haven't taken them off since I got them except when I sleep. I expect a call from Gary Oldman any time, hes gotta be looking for a pair of these!
The Hingeman
United States
2013-06-14
Fast shipping and product as advertised first class operation
Hobbit
MO, United States
2013-06-15
This is a fantastic hat. An item well worth the price. Actually does help keep me cooler, keep the sun off my head, and weathers the rain. Truly, no gentleman worth his cigar should be found without one of these one the summer months turn hot.

United States
2013-06-15
Vest was extremely large between chest and shoulder to the point it could not be altered, so it was returned. Oddly it fit around the waist. Otherwise it is a nice vest and well made.
Ralph
FL, United States
2013-06-15
The holster and gun belt are great quality and very good looking. I am very happy with my purchase! The items arrived in perfect shape and pretty quickly too! I will definitely recommend your shop to friends and family! Thank you for a great buying experience! I will be back!
Will S
United States
2013-06-15

United States
2013-06-15
The vest is beautiful!

United States
2013-06-15
The puff tie is gorgeous!

United States
2013-06-15
Prompt service and accurate shipping!
James
OH, United States
2013-06-15
I was pleased to see the addition of a sack coat that would go with my Livingston Vest and Trousers. Now I have the complete ensemble. The quality and fit are excellent. I hope you will consider making this item in other colors to match your already existing vest/trouser combinations.
Horseylady
CA, United States
2013-06-15
Very pleased with the quality and service for all the items I have purchased.
Horseylady
CA, United States
2013-06-15
I have recommended you to others. Very impressed with the quality of the items I have purchased and plan to order more in the future.
Steampowered Gary
CA, United States
2013-06-15
I paid for standard delivery and my items came as fast as if I had paid for express. The quality of the items was excellent. I could not be happier with this site.
Steampowered Gary
CA, United States
2013-06-15
I have been collecting hats for twenty years and change. This is one of the best hats I have ever put on my head. The construction on it is some of the best I have ever seen. The shape is very 1880's without looking out of place in a none event setting.
Steampowered Gary
CA, United States
2013-06-15
They are very well made but on a pair of lower top dress shoes there is a gap where they rub. This is easy to cure with moleskin, but it is something to consider. They are in excellent shape for a surplus item and look sharp.
Steampowered Gary
CA, United States
2013-06-15
This looks sharp. It got a number of complements at the event I wore it to this week. The construction, the material and the fit were all outstanding.
Raphael
VI, Australia
2013-06-15
First time i had bought clothing online and was initially hesitant. Having received the vest was just what I had hoped for. Great quality and a perfect fit. Delivery from the US to Australia was very quick. Highly recommend Historical Emporium.
Raphael
VI, Australia
2013-06-15
The method of checking sizes was spot on. Delivery was prompt and email communication was great. Highly recommend Historical Emporium. I will definately be buying again.

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service