Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2013-06-23

JAMES HOLT
GA, United States
2013-06-17
The material is too heavy and not dressly enough for me. I want material that will last and look good because I will wear this without a siut jacket. Thanks
JAMES HOLT
GA, United States
2013-06-17
The material is too heavy and not dressly enough for me. I want material that will last and look good because I will wear this without a siut jacket. Thanks
James Holt
GA, United States
2013-06-17
The Material was made thin and cheaply. Once putting it in the cleaner. I do not think I will get too much wear out of it.
James holt
GA, United States
2013-06-17
The Material was made thin and cheaply. Once putting it in the cleaner. I do not think I will get too much wear out of it.
James Holt
GA, United States
2013-06-17
The Material was made thin and cheaply. Once putting it in the cleaner. I do not think I will get too much wear out of it.
James Holt
GA, United States
2013-06-17
The Material was made too heavy. It look really sportly on-line. I was not please with it. .
James Holt
GA, United States
2013-06-17
The Material was made heavy. My favor
Kelli Parker
OK, United States
2013-06-17
I love your stuff!! My husband and I live on a farm/ranch and he is the real deal. He looks super in your line of clothing. I have purchased several things for him from you. I am always pleased. You are prompt in getting it to me and I appreciate that. The items are always great quality, always.
Fritz
ND, United States
2013-06-17
Never had so many complaments on a vest ever. The color, style and softness.
Raul Lopez
NJ, United States
2013-06-17
My wife loved her dress and granny shoes they were a big hit at the victorian Tea fundraising she had for Domestic Violence victims. The products came timely and she received several compliments. Thank you for the quick service.
Brennan M.
VA, United States
2013-06-17
I ordered a men's shirt, and even though I measured it it was still way to large. I sent it back and requested the smaller size be sent to me without having to pay the shipping again (as I paid to have it shipped back and I had followed the directions as requested). The store allowed my request. The new shirt came. I have worn it twice and really like it! Thanks again.
Julie Gregory
BR, Canada
2013-06-17
We purchased the Wheat Duster for my husband for Fathers Day. As we were on a vintage Car Run that weekend ... it could not have been more perfect. He was thrilled! We also purchased the Spectator Spat Shoes which looked amazing with the Alexander Parish outfit we bought for him last year. They just finished off the outfit! The quality of both was as always very good. The service was unbeatable from checking stock for me to the incredibly fast shipping. I could not believe how fast they arrived. Thank you so much! Will look forward to doing business with you again. As well I received many compliments on the outfit I bought for myself last year and have passed your site along to many interested parties.
Chad
United States
2013-06-17
Nice, true-to-fit vest. I'm a slim 6'0 and got a medium. I have a shorter torso and the fit was perfect except for the back. You can adjust the stomach tightness with the strap and buckle, however this does not adjust the upper back which I found to slightly billow outward. I planned on needing to get it modified anyways so I'm glad it's too large instead of too small. The fabric is of medium weight/thickness, not heavy like a wool vest. Should do fine in warm months.
Chad
United States
2013-06-17
These were true-to-fit using the website's measuring method. They have a slim cut in the legs and the in-seem is not too high or low. Very soft, breathable, and even a little stretchy. I was expecting them to be stiff and starchy but they are actually very comfortable. Works great with the matching vest.
Riet
WA, United States
2013-06-18
This blouse is as pictured and well made. I did order a size bigger after reading reviews and did need the larger size. Overall I am very satisfied.
Pappy
ME, United States
2013-06-18
The entire experience was awesome and easy!! The web site came up first thing on a Google search. very nice product!! much nicer than I anticipated for the cost! I was looking at around $150.00 for a simple holster and a separate belt with ammo loops that quite frankly I would have had to" settle on". The delivery was easy to track and right on schedule. I will definately recommend your web site to others have no reservations about future purchases when the need arises! thanks, Wayne from Maine
Cody
FL, United States
2013-06-18
This is a wonderful piece of clothing, perfect for any formal occasion. The fit is nice and snug, and the coat is beautifully ornate. This tailcoat is a gem of early 19th century clothing.
Ron
AL, Canada
2013-06-18
Very authentic in appearance. Quite pleased.
Ron
AL, Canada
2013-06-18
Wife is pleased with it. Her happy....me happy!!
Ron
AL, Canada
2013-06-18
Very comfortable. A little on the tight side for stated size...could be my wishfull thinking when I measured.
Ron
AL, Canada
2013-06-18
Just like the picture. Should work well.
Ron
AL, Canada
2013-06-18
Fits pretty well. Sizing was bang on.
Ron
AL, Canada
2013-06-18
A little tight for size stated. Button popped off on first wearing. Did manage to repair it by cutting the spring end off of a safety pin and epoxying it into the hole. Sewed it back on and we were good to go.
Ron
AL, Canada
2013-06-18
Looks and wears just like the picture.
Ron
AL, Canada
2013-06-18
Just a little loose for size stated, but fits well, hangs well. Particularly pleased with the button front convertible to skirt. Wife is pleased...me happy.
Ron
AL, Canada
2013-06-18
Ron
AL, Canada
2013-06-18
Fits the pants well. Very authentic in appearance.
Ron
AL, Canada
2013-06-18
Very nicely constructed, looks great but too small. Had to modify in order to be able to wear them. Still, the end result was impressive.
Grigosik
WA, United States
2013-06-18
I am very happy with my order that came ontime and even earlier than expected, the pendant was exactly as I imagined and I already got many compliments on it. Extra battery is a nice bonus! All I have to say is thank you!!

NE, United States
2013-06-19
The boots fit great. This is the first time I ever bought a pair of boots or any footwear via internet. They fit perfectly. I wore the boots all day (for the first time) at a wedding. I was on my feet most of the day. To my amazement, my feet were not in pain at the end of the day. I'm going to love wearing them again and again.
Lady McDuff
NE, United States
2013-06-19
My order was filled in a very timely manner. Part of my order was a "special order" and I expected a longer time delivery. Delivery was as indicated. I'm very happy with doing business with Historical Emporium. I would recommend your company to anyone. Thanks bunches.
Preston Hughes
TX, United States
2013-06-19
I've enjoyed wearing it and have always had a few compliments. Good product.
Charles
CA, United States
2013-06-21
My lovely daughter had a steam punk wedding in June. The entire crew was decked out in ascots, vests and hats. I received numerous compliments on my attire, especially my distinctive hat! The hat was the highest quality, one I would be proud to wear at anytime anywhere! I am pretty tall, so the John Bull style was just perfect! Of course, I decked mine out with the obligatory pair of goggles, but it could be worn without them! I also bought my outstanding vest and ascot at your Emporium. I must add that you have the fastest delivery of any mail order I have encountered!! My brother decided to by a hat at the last minute and knowing how quickly my orders arrived found that he didn't even have to rush his order to him. Apparently everything is treated with haste! How nice! Your service is impeccable and I plan on buying more of your wonderful products in the future! Thank you Historical Emporium!
Brian Evans
SC, United States
2013-06-21
Excellent quality. It just needs to be worn a bit so it will be shaped to fit your head properly. I was suprised by the speed upon which my order arrived.
Bill
Canada
2013-06-21
Good material and finish service and delivery was good i am pleased with this and will order again.

United States
2013-06-21
excellent product
DKeyork
FR, France
2013-06-21
Marcus
United States
2013-06-21
Very pleased with this product as my dress sense has a very victorian feel. This is now part of my more formal wardrobe, I'd recommend to anyone wishing to really add a touch of classic elegance to an outfit.
Marcus
United States
2013-06-21
I do like these trousers in tems of cut and shape-the fabric is a little unusual but again it works well. I would say to be aware that the trouser is a little long, I'm 5'11'' and found they trailed unless I was wearing foot wear. Otherwise a purchase I'm happy with. On a side note I'd recommend anyone buying from blighty to be prepared to pay custom duty which can be an additonal 30. As such it might be an idea to buy enough clothing to make it worth the money.
Marcus
United States
2013-06-21
I was eager to get this waistcoat in this style and ordered the large as the medium was not available at the time. As much as I'd have liked to have kept it, it was simply too large. However, I was able to send it back and was given a full refund my GE. If not for it's size I would have happily worn it.
Swan
BC, Canada
2013-06-21
I normally wear a large and these are really large more like double x. Other than that it is what i expected
swan
BC, Canada
2013-06-21
Claire
AL, United States
2013-06-21
Love them, very well made and we received quickly. Would order again from this company! Also, Great service and quick response when I asked a question.
Miss 1920
SO, Australia
2013-06-21
I was thrilled to receive my spats. They are well made and look great. I have been searching for products like these for years, so glad to discover your website. Your service was fantastic. Thank you so much.
Jamie
SD, United States
2013-06-21
Fast shipping and a clean beautiful vest. Fits "okay" but that's my fault on measuring. Historical Emporium rocks!
Miss 1920
SO, Australia
2013-06-21
I was very excited to receive my boots, and to arrive in perfect order. Absolutely love this style, although have to say they are slightly narrow. Workmanship and price, both very good. Would love to see more velvet clothing added to the Ladies list. I will be purchasing again. All correspondence was excellent. My very first purchase on line, thank you.
Frank Vitagliano
FL, United States
2013-06-21
The 1873 Colt Peacemaker Pistol Replica - Nickel 001735 is one beautiful replica. Out of all the purchases I had made online, this was the best I have every purchased. Historical Emporium has the best product and a wonderful customer service attitude. It was so good that I bought a second Replica and hope it gets here soon.
Frank Vitagliano
FL, United States
2013-06-21
The purchase of my .44/.45 Western Gun Belt and holster was outstanding. The workmanship was the best I had seen on a gun belt and holster in years. This company sure has quality products.
Jamie
SD, United States
2013-06-21
These pants are great! Thanks for the fast shipping and the great product. Love Historical Emporium!
Jamie
SD, United States
2013-06-21
These suspenders are really cool. They fit the pants and outfit perfectly! Love Historical Emporium!!
J. Goss
CO, United States
2013-06-21
The coat was well put together and the material being polyester was as I expected and acceptable. The shoulders, however, made me look like I was trying to try out as a linebacker. I took it to my tailor which I use for minor adjustments and he said that the shoulders were designed for a size 44 whereas the coat was a 38. He would have to take out two inches of shoulder and rebuild them. The total cost of tailoring was more than the cost of the coat. I've been highly pleased with the shirts and pants but this is my second strike with the frock coat.
J. Goss
CO, United States
2013-06-21
The folks at HE did a great turnaround on an exchange for me. I've found their service to always be courteous and quick.
Karen E. Failoni
NE, United States
2013-06-21
I tried it on as soon as it was delivered, perfect length. Now I understand why women wore underskirts back then, instead of all those petticoats, "air conditioning" underneath those dresses and skirts.
kathy
CO, United States
2013-06-21
Excellent rating - I was in a pinch for a wedding. The gal who answered the call was great! She took the order and took it imediately to get it out the door before UPS was gone as I needed it in 2 days. Awesome -awesome - awesome!! I received it in time and the best man was happy also, since the other store let us down. I would definately come back, just hopefully next itme I won't have to have it on a rush. Thanks again!
Lord Colaen
NS, Australia
2013-06-21
I could not be happier with this jacket. Quality is far superior than anything I could purchase locally and it draws admiring comments everytime I wear it. Size and fit is perfect. I have been recommending the Emporium to everyone who shows an interest...it will not be my last purchase.
Lord Colaen
NS, Australia
2013-06-21
I am a teacher and performer of medieval, rennaissance and victorian history and sword combat and so I need to dress in correct historical period outfits regularly. The quality and style of the Emporium outfits is not only historically accurate, it is the best quality clothing of this style that I have ever come across. It is so comfortable and stylish that I often wear it at more formal events even when I am not performing. Being an international customer I have always been impressed with the speed in which I receive my order and they way they are safely packaged. I am now a committed regular customer and intend to continue shopping with the emporium as "my store" and to continue to recomeend it confidently to anyone.

United States
2013-06-21
I ordered this for my boyfriend for our anniversary. it looks just like the picture and fits pretty well (a little big, but that may have been a measuring error on my part). he practically won't take it off!
Shiny
TA, New Zealand
2013-06-21
As a relatively new cowboy Action Shooter in New Zealand it has been awesome to find a Company that has such an excellent range of products available. Products like yours aren ot avilable here and with the excellent postal service you use it takes very little time to get anything. (pity the charges for international shipping are so expensive though!). I highly recommend you to other CAS members here and will continue to shop with you in the future. Thank You
DJM
WA, United States
2013-06-21
My husband has a nice collection of hats and derbys and likes to trade off wearing a different one almost daily. I found your hat on line and really liked it, my husband had been wanting a new straw hat, so I decided to get it for him for Father's Day. I must mention he likes to re-shape all his hats to fit his own style. He doesn't want it to look like everyone else's. It's an awesome hat, very good quality. We love it.........................................
DJM
WA, United States
2013-06-21

FL, United States
2013-06-21
Speedy delivery, tie was perfect!
Jerry
FL, United States
2013-06-21
Great comfortable pants. Sizing suggestions were right. I ordered one size larger than my size. Thought pants might be too big when they arrived. Washed and dried them and they were almost too small. Definitely order one or two sizes larger.
Jerry
FL, United States
2013-06-21
Fit and look perfect for my outfit. Just wish they came in other colors besides black.
Ken
AZ, United States
2013-06-21
This is a really nice coat for the price. The fit is proper and the material is far more comfortable than wool or polyester/rayon mixes. Highly recommended!
Jerry
FL, United States
2013-06-21
Excellent costumer service. I called and asked for additional information on a pair of trousers. I was provided with friendly and accurate information. I have always received great service and speedy delivery from Historical Emporium and will continue to purchase from them.
Handlebar
FL, United States
2013-06-21
I wore this shirt for the first time today at work and then on the town. The shirt looks great in combination with Humboldt trousers, brown canvas braces and a brown derby. While the look brought in a several positive comments, what people commented on more is the quality of material and workmanship. victorian era clothing for me is not a costume, it is every day wear. Why? Some may think me to just be a codger, but the real reason is comfort and quality. To date, everything I've purchased from Gentlemens Emporium is top notch and worth every penny.
Handlebar
FL, United States
2013-06-21
This is my first pair of pants from Gentlemens Emporium. The quality of material and workmanship impress me greatly; however it is the comfort that I like the most. How impressed am I with these pants? This pair of pants motivated me to order two more pants the same night. victorian clothing is my everyday wear and you cannot go wrong with products from this company in terms of quality, value and service. Caution! Products from Gentlemens Emporium are addictive. Each time my package is opened, I'm compeled to log back on the site and make another purchase. All the comments from people talking about the great look, quality material and workmanship do nothing to help overcome this addiction.
Handlebar
FL, United States
2013-06-21
These braces are top quality and look great. The look and material is authentic to the period, the quality just screams of durability. Most importantly, these braces do their job and are very comfortable and natural feeling all day long.
Handlebar
FL, United States
2013-06-21
Gentlemens Emporium is the perfect fit. They back their quality products with prompt delivery and communication. I've followed the company's sizing advice and never had a problem; but my impression is that if the tags are left on with the product being returned clean, there would be no problem in working out the correct size or product. I only wish all companies were like this one. Buy with confidance.

United States
2013-06-21
Bandolier is well made and can easily be shortened to suit your personal needs. Bullet loops are all even and hold ammunition snug without being too tight allowing fast access. It would be good if available in tan.
Erin
VI, Australia
2013-06-21
I must admit I was a little worried buying these boots sight unseen for my upcoming wedding but the time it took to get here was practically nothing and they are a perfect fit!!! Exactly what the description says. Thank you
Ryan
MI, United States
2013-06-21
These pants are quite comfortable and look great, for sure. However, they are stretchy--almost like pajama pants. I kept them because I like the comfort factor, but I think I will try the Highland pants next.
Andy
QL, Australia
2013-06-22
top quality pants, nice long leg which is good as i need it being 6'6"
Andy
QL, Australia
2013-06-22
love these shirts, the quality is great and fit is superb, have all ready ordered another
Andy
QL, Australia
2013-06-22
quality once again is great, a top addition to my cowboy wardrobe
Andy
QL, Australia
2013-06-22
wonderful fit and very comfy, worn everyday
Andy
QL, Australia
2013-06-22
stumbled across this place while trolling the interwebs, and am glad i did. everything i have purchased far exceeded the quality i was expecting, pricing is good value for money. postage to Australia was fast, and reasonable cost. top notch service, will continue to shop from here, and can highly recommend them to others. A++
Colonel Terry Featherstonehaugh-Bumleigh (Ret.)
QU, Australia
2013-06-22
I couldn't ask for more really. Well, maybe a ride in a flying machine of some sort, but we have to be realistic about these things.
Colonel Terry Featherstonehaugh-Bumleigh (Ret.)
QU, Australia
2013-06-22
A brilliant addition to any vintage, steampunk, or everyday wardrobe.
Colonel Terry Featherstonehaugh-Bumleigh (Ret.)
QU, Australia
2013-06-22
I and everyone loved the look of this item, but it did have a somewhat magnetic attraction with the floor. I haven't quite worked out to keep it from unbuckling, but time will tell.
Colonel Terry Featherstonehaugh-Bumleigh (Ret.)
QU, Australia
2013-06-22
Want to feel like a million dollars? Walk down the street with one of these. I couldn't have felt more dignified if I tried.
Colonel Terry Featherstonehaugh-Bumleigh (Ret.)
QU, Australia
2013-06-22
This item just added that extra bit of lift to my steampunk outfit. It's magnification is awesome, especially if you want to study the whorls on your finger, the Ben Day dots on a cartoon, or if you want to just look at someone with sophisticated contempt.
SAB
Norway
2013-06-22
SAB
Norway
2013-06-22
SAB
Norway
2013-06-22
Good quality. Excellent for wearing as an outdoors coat in the summer and fall.
SAB
Norway
2013-06-22
SAB
Norway
2013-06-22
Good quality. The fabric is solid, but thin enough to be comfortable wearing in summer.
SAB
Norway
2013-06-22
I wore it at a summer party recently, and got many compliments. Even if the temperature was unusually high and the air was very humid, the vest felt comfortable to wear, even if the fabric is thick.
David Quay
48, Netherlands
2013-06-22
I am very pleased. Well made. Good quality material. Perfect fit.
David Quay
48, Netherlands
2013-06-22
I had no problem ordering through your website. I did expect postage but I also had to pay 28 import tax which made the trousers much more expensive than I expected. But I will order more items in the future.
SAB
Norway
2013-06-22
Although I got my size, it's something strange about these shoes that make them uncomfortable to wear. They are too loose or too tight in the wrong places, and in the middle of the sole there is a "bump" across, all of which goes against the anatomy of my feet, at least. And the under sole is quite smooth, which makes them very slippery. I can only wear these shoes indoors, and only for a short period of time. The laces are too short. The only thing positive in my view is that they are nice looking.
SAB
Norway
2013-06-22
I wore it at a summer party recently, and got many compliments.

United States
2013-06-22
After being out-of-stock for a long while, the camel colored fall front trousers are back. I now have pairs in camel, fawn and black. These are well made, nearly all-wool, and are well suited for fall or winter costuming. They're a shade darker than the photos, and match well with the regency tailcoats for a "Mr. Darcy" look. I've gotten a lot of compliments on these trousers.
George
Sweden
2013-06-22
Looks great, fits great, and feels great.
George
Sweden
2013-06-22
Nice and proper shirt.
George
Sweden
2013-06-22
Looks great, fits great, and feels great.
George
Sweden
2013-06-22
Looks great, fits great, and feels great.

United States
2013-06-22
Looks great, fits great, and feels great.
Steve
IN, United States
2013-06-22
Good fit & the great feel of cotton. Good value.

United States
2013-06-22
Repeat customer. Pleasure doing business with a firm that cares.
JoK
Australia
2013-06-22
Nice bonnet - just the thing for the purpose. However, a little on the large side. Postage vitually doubled the cost, which made it rather expensive for a once-only use.
Skidd
VI, Australia
2013-06-22
I was pleasantly surprised by the quality and heavy duty nature of these pants. They are well constructed and certainly look and feel like they will last a long time. Quite a good fit and I'm certainly looking forward to getting a a lot of use out of them. The international shipping to Australia was quick and no trouble.
Skid
VI, Australia
2013-06-22
These suspenders were a great quality item that look and feel terrific. The period look at the front and yet the elastic at the back make them super comfortable to wear.

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service