Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2013-06-30

Chuck
CA, United States
2013-06-24
The vest came very quickly and fit perfectly! I was very pleased with the quality, this is the real deal. The wool tweed was a lot thicker than expected but I was pleased with this, will defiantly be a part of my winter wardrobe.
Tammy
AK, United States
2013-06-24
I like everything about the Wilhelmina blouse: craftsmanship; style; heft and texture of the cloth; detail around the collar and cuffs; the covered buttons! Lovely, just lovely. Thank you!
Chuck
United States
2013-06-24
These are great, a really good value for the price. The leather is thick and soft and they really feel like you have boots on! Quality is pretty good for surplus gear and at least you don't have to break in the leather, they're good to go!
Grant
VI, Australia
2013-06-24
What a great item, good quality, great value, my only (and it is minor) complaint is that it is a lot darker than expected...however I would suggest that this must be attributed to possible software/graphics variations, and as such I hold no reservations in recommending this item. I look and feel a million bucks in this coat.
Grant
VI, Australia
2013-06-24
you will love it
Grant
VI, Australia
2013-06-24
Perfect fit, excellent quality...my friends LOVE IT!! Guys? How about a winter weight one? Please :)
Grant
VI, Australia
2013-06-24
I will be buying more of these shirts.
Grant
VI, Australia
2013-06-24
love this, will buy a few more.
Jenny
QU, Australia
2013-06-24
These pants are different in sizing to the previous trousers we bought. I guess thats because they are a different make, by a different company. The sizing , though numerically the same, was markedly larger. However, they are a very warm, durable work trouser, and look good with braces.
Larry
NV, United States
2013-06-24
Well made, and fit on the waist was dead on. Length was long enough to be altered for any size.
Larry
NV, United States
2013-06-24
The people here are GREAT! I ordered a way too large shirt, and had no trouble exchanging it for the right size. Andrea helped size the correct shirt, and was very helpfull.
Cate
CT, United States
2013-06-24
just fabulous....had a wee bit of trouble getting the scope to swing up, but a friend figured it out...my husband LOVES it!
VioletRook
OR, United States
2013-06-25
A lovely coat that I wish had fit! Even though all of the other reviews said that this coat ran small, I still wasn't anticipating it to be THAT small; I normally wear a 1X, ordered the jacket in a 3X, and I couldn't even put it on. I am a busty woman and do have somewhat broad shoulders, but looking at the measurements thought this would work for me. Definitely check the measurements, and anticipate that this is very tight in the shoulders. If it fits you, though, I would say it looked like it would be very flattering!
Kieran Riley
New Zealand
2013-06-25
The best sunglasses I have ever worn!
Ole Cowboy
LA, United States
2013-06-25
This is a very rich looking watch that appears to be more expensive than it is. Very nice!
Ole Cowboy
LA, United States
2013-06-25
Been trying to find a vest just like this one for a long time. Every time I would find one they sold out before I could get it ordered. Ordered one from a competitor and 6 months later they cancelled my order due to unavailability. Then I found this website and won't look back. Really glad to get this one. Very well made vest and the fact its wool you can't beat the price I payed at Historical Emporium. This will be my old west store from now on. Good prices...great stuff...very authentic and I received it quickly! Thanks H.E.!
Ole Cowboy
LA, United States
2013-06-26
This is by far the best old west store I have found to date. Been buying old west style clothes and accessories for a few years now but I'm new to this website. So far everything I have purchased from Historical/Western Emporium has been top rate and much better quality than expected for the price. The prices are comparable or better than the competition, the quality appears much better and customer service definitely outshines the rest. I will be a loyal patron of this old west store for a long time to come. Would recommend this store to any and all that are looking for good quality old west style clothing and accessories at an unbeatable price. Thank you Western Emporium/Historical Emporium for your great customer service and excellent quality merchandise, don't stop doing what you do! :))
Richard Lane
TE, United States
2013-06-26
I purchased the tooled cross draw 357 holster and belt. The belt was to samll. I returned the belt for a larger one and received it with no problem . Customer service was outstanding ans should be told so. Thank you for the product and the service. I will be purchasing from you in the future, as will friend's Thank you. Richard LaneBurleson Texas.
Sir Reginald
SO, United States
2013-06-27
Fabulous product! This is a birthday gift for my 17-year old son who is discovering steampunk. He loves it and wants more!
Sir Reginald
SO, United States
2013-06-27
Loved the product! Order-to-delivery time was very short, product arrived ahead of schedule.
Jonothon Lyons
NY, United States
2013-06-28
We love the vests and they arrived in a timely manner. They are of the highest quality and they're perfect for our barbershop quartet, The Apple Boys - Thanks!
Helen Del Ciotto
QU, Canada
2013-06-28
CS Forester
United States
2013-06-28
This wonderful brocade vest is stunning; the colors are vivid and lush, not quite as muted as in the pictures. The construction is sturdy yet elegant. Just the perfect cross between Napoleonic and victorian!
Joe
OH, United States
2013-06-28
I ordered 2 of them, thinking I ordered one but it was a nice surprise because I gave one to my uncle, these watches are awesome great time piece. I don't loose that much time and I only need to wind it daily, Its beautiful to the eye and the inner workings are spectacular.
Theresa
WI, United States
2013-06-28
I have the Evangeline blouse in both black and white. I did get this one but just didn't like the red laces on black. That's just a color preference though and has nothing to do with quality. The blouse is made very well and there are a lot of details on it from the collar detail to the cuffs to the lacing on the sides. The blouse is extremely flattering and I've found that it goes just as well with my steampunk skirts as it does with slacks to go out for dinner. I've had several complements on it when I'm just out and about wearing it with jeans and boots. The blouse is very flattering. Just to give you an idea of sizing, I have a 43" bust and 40" waist. I got the 2X because it has a 45" bust and 42" waist. The extra 2" on the waist is not noticeable at all (and probably good for some ease) because the blouse is very fitted throughout the waist. Because the blouse is very fitted, you'll want to make sure you follow the bust sizes closely.
japii
PA, United States
2013-06-28
All I can say is WOW...the quality of the hat was so much more than I expected, to say it is "authentic" would be an understatement...the speed of the shipping was/is uncannily fast and customer service top shelf...just can't ask for more! So nice was the whole experience that I have since ordered additional items (for the same event) and plan to use this vendor a valued resource going forward. Well Done!!
Rudy Perez
TE, United States
2013-06-28
The belt was just as described excellent quality coloring just as shown on the picture the only thing I didn't care for is i ordered the wrong size and I ended up having to pay shipping charges 3 times. Twice for having the item sent to me and once for returning the wrong size ordered item. I feel that maybe the company could have refunded the returned item shipping charge. Just part of having good customer service
japii
PA, United States
2013-06-28
I "discovered" the Historical Emporium in preparation for an event (a "Seersucker Social") where stylish quality authentically from the period is a must! I was more than pleasantly surprised to not only find such a great selection, but such reasonable prices as well. After making my initial purchase we needed some additional accessories, but this time I had questions and needed some advice, and once again they proved to be a fabulous resource. Now, with our daughter deciding to join us, additional accessories are needed and as soon as I complete this review, the purchases will be made. A valued find that I will recommend to others...
Chris
CO, United States
2013-06-28
The holster I purchased I feel is inferior to other holsters priced about the same. It looks nice in the photos but......... I feel all holsters should be made of full grain leather, not split grain.

United States
2013-06-28
Well made and beautiful.
Chris
CO, United States
2013-06-28
The product was inferior. The service is absolutely the best. Will I shop here again? Not sure. Would I recommend Historical Emp. to others? Not sure.
Rudy Perez
TE, United States
2013-06-28
Nothing Negative to be said of the individual that assisted me she was very helpful and courteous. The fact that the company would not provide free shipping for the item to be returned to them. Ended up costing me shipping charges three times ,twice for the item to be sent to me and once for the wrong size item to be sent back to the company
Brian
SC, United States
2013-06-28
Quick, efficient processing and delivery. Also very precise descriptions of the products. I will be ordering more from the Emporium in the future.
dappergent
TE, United States
2013-06-28
The overall quality of the garment met my expectations at it's price point, however the shoulders were much wider than the chest size so I returned the tailcoat.
dappergent
TE, United States
2013-06-28
Well made, good fit and wuality
MARK E HUTCHINS
CO, United States
2013-06-28
As a result of a big interest in British history, I have wanted a British Sun helmet like the British Empire Pith Helmet for quite some time. Now that I have one, all I can say is, it is FANTASTIC and I received it within a few days after ordering. It came in superb condition and the price was just right. Now I can imagine myself as Michael Caine or Stanley Baker in the movie Zulu. As our British cousins across the pond would say "Good show Historical Emporium. Jolly good show".
dappergent
TE, United States
2013-06-28
While the crown is wool the brim is flocked (and was damaged upon arrival - bald spot in the flocking), the fit was good.
cale
IO, United States
2013-06-28
It is awesome.

United States
2013-06-28
It is a great looking watch but the quality is terrible. After just two days it stopped working and has been broken ever since. I plan to send it back in hopes if exchanging it. Very disappointed.
Art
United States
2013-06-28
On time delivery, outstanding quality product, will probably buy more but will be looking for boot next.
Mikhailo
NM, United States
2013-06-28
These were exactly what I wanted, and the condition was way better than I expected for the price; they were in great shape: worn but not worn out, like a pair a favorite broken in shoes. They even smelled good!
Cheryl
CA, United States
2013-06-28
Bought it for my mom for her victorian tea society. She loved it!
Ksetrat
CA, United States
2013-06-28
The hat itself is very sturdy and even came with a feather accessory that isn't picture. The only true complaint that I have would be the coloration of the hat received. I am fully aware that the picture will never exactly match because of lighting and different monitor/video card color ratings, however the hat that was received had a slightly purplish band/trim and the hat itself was a bit more green than grey. It still works well with the outfit I needed it for. The customer support was amazing as well. Originally ordered the wrong size, and brought up the concern with the color. Received a callback right when I requested it, and the rep was a great person to assist with my concerns. Bravo to Historical Emporium. I shall return!
Sandra
NJ, United States
2013-06-28
I ordered the hat and received it three days later. Looks great and my husband loves it. He can't wait to wear it. Thanks

NV, United States
2013-06-28
Shipping time was amazing! Less than a week! All items are exceptionally well made and great quality. Returned to make 3 more purchase within a week- love it!
Pat c
MA, United States
2013-06-28
Excellent repo nice leather would recommend to any body
Pat c
MA, United States
2013-06-28
Matches the holster that I purchased to a tee. Very happy with both products.
Pat c
MA, United States
2013-06-28
Excellent customer service. Ordered the wrong size and no problem. Sent me my belt right out and very fast. Very happy with the service.
Frank
VA, United States
2013-06-28
First I did not expect to receive the products so quickly. I have made purchases of similar items from other vendors and when I received them I was very disappointed. Again the prompt delivery and quality of your products made me a very happy customer, I have made recommendations to my friends. Thank You for providing this service. I hope you will consider expanding your selections to provide even more styles and color variations.
Phileas Flash
AL, Canada
2013-06-28
What a fantabulous company! I would thoroughly recommend popping in here to purchase any gear you may well need for your next expedition. Personally I would quadruple the stars I gave them for their excellent service, but it only allows 5 out of 5.
Saffronhill
IL, United States
2013-06-28
Items I've purchased have all been packaged carefully and sent on time. I'm very pleased.with your website and customer service.
Saffronhill
IL, United States
2013-06-28
I'm very pleased with the quality of the pendant. It is so unique. I have never been disappointed in your store or merchandise.
western wedding
CO, United States
2013-06-28
Very nice vests. Will be great in our wedding! Arrived in a timely manner.
Western Wedding
CO, United States
2013-06-28
Shipped quickly, arrived in good condition. Great experience.
ulyses
CA, United States
2013-06-28
it fits comfortably arrived promptly and seems well made
Ginger
CO, United States
2013-06-28
The vest arrived so quick. It is heavy and very handsome. Love it. Highly recommend the Historical Emporium.

United States
2013-06-28
Is a good product for the price, Is great for the look.
Andevarld
MN, United States
2013-06-28
I was looking for something with a little more color than you normally see in men's steampunk apparel. These are exactly what I was looking for! A very well-designed and well-made product.
Handlebar
FL, United States
2013-06-28
You can not go wrong with this shirt. Clothing from Gentlemen's Emporium has been chosen as the staple of my everyday wear and this quality shirt with a stunning look is one of my favorites. This opinion is not just mine, the Earp shirt brings in great comments from a lot of people. Because the shirt has the band style collar with a top fastening stud, the four available collars can be used with the shirt providing a wide range of looks. The fit is perfect, the craftsmanship top notch, making this a value buy.
Handlebar
FL, United States
2013-06-28
You will look smart in this trouser. It has a look that goes well with a wide variety of shirt colors. The material is lighter than denim but still offers a substantial feel of weight while maintaining a very dressy look. The Hummoldt trouser is perhaps my favorite to wear at the office and clothing from Gentelmen's Emporium is my staple style. I'm amazed by the number of folks that ask to feel this material. You can not go wrong with these trousers if your looking for complements on your dress. The trouser's fit is spot on with the exception of adjusting the standard 36" inseam. After several washings my Humboldt pants are unfaded and crisp looking with minimal shrinking; however I advise with all your Emporium pants, clean before adjusting the inseam.
Angie
WA, United States
2013-06-28
This is a lovely top has a nice bit of stretch to it . It did seem just a tad big. Overall I recommend it. Soft comfy and very wearable
Angie
United States
2013-06-28
Fix well a bit long however very well made love them! Recommend them!
Bryan
WA, United States
2013-06-28
Run large over all very nice
Paul
WA, United States
2013-06-28
This coat is very nice good quality! Arms are a little long, ordered 3x was pleasantly surprised at the size could have gone done a size and it would have still work! Even thought its cotton it is a heavy coat and with work well in all seasons! Over all I am very impressed
Big Jim
UT, United States
2013-06-28
This is a well constructed shirt. The only reason it does not get five stars is, the button holes need to be a little smaller for use with the kind of button the shirt come with.
Big Jim
UT, United States
2013-06-28
Every one loves this badge. But if you wear it, you better have a pocket full of 'Brothel Tokens'. And having a little information about "Inspectors" is handy.
Big Jim
UT, United States
2013-06-28
Well constructed. Nice fit. Remember, if your going to do something "historical", don't just wear jeans.
Big Jim
UT, United States
2013-06-28
Every one loved these at my daughters wedding, Don't forget the small details.
Handlebar
FL, United States
2013-06-28
The brushed cotton gives these pants a rich look and feel. The pants can literally be the foundation to a variety in dress levels. Black goes well with almost any color of shirt. Add the matching Livingston vest and you ramp things up from a well dressed look to that of a distinguished look. With the addition of the matching Livingston town coat, now you are transformed to a dapper gent in a three piece suit. My pair of Livingston pants gets freqent wear, because victorian dress is my everyday style; after three washings there is no issue. Their is minimal shinking after a wash, so be sure to wash before adjusting the standard 36" inseam. Don't be concerned with shrinkage and waist size.; whatever girth is lost in a wash quickly comes back in wear. The pants are well sized providied you stick to the advise of ordering 2" up from modern pants waist size. No issues with fading. Get rid of that belt and work in victorian style pants. You will be amazed at how comfortable you feel after making the switch.
Marshall MacGregor
MI, United States
2013-06-28
To paraphrase The Doctor: 'I wear frockcoats now, frockcoats are cool!'
Big Jim
UT, United States
2013-06-28
JUST AWESOME!! I am going to have to get more. These work great as a gift for any occasion. Just as long as the recipient has a sense of humor.
Big Jim
UT, United States
2013-06-28
I wore this with my outfit for my daughters wedding. Most people didn't notice the design, but when they did, they looked "Pole Axed!" Just because my daughter wanted a "Cowboy" style wedding, doesn't mean I cant have a little fun thanks to Historical Emporium!
Wayne
CA, United States
2013-06-28
Better than I thought and happily so. If need or desire arises will not hesitate to revisit (or recommend). Thanks for my latest favorite!
Leon
United States
2013-06-29
I will never use a digital watch again.This is a very beautiful watch i highly Recommend it!
Leon
United States
2013-06-29
This is a very well made shirt i will be buying more in the future.
Leon
United States
2013-06-29
The material is fantastic and beautifully made.
Umikuma
UT, United States
2013-06-29
I wanted a good vest for my steampunk outfit, but my wife was not looking forward to sewing all those welt pockets. This was a great price and the vest is excellent quality - heavy duty fabric, nice lining, excellent workmanship throughout. I am very satisfied with this purchase. And the nice folks in shipping put a fun picture on the shipping box, just as I asked. :) I made the mistake of ordering an XL vest, which was too tight (I should have known - an inch or so really does make a difference) - I ordered an XXL vest instead and returned the first one. The fit of the XXL is perfect. Service was prompt and I am very satisfied.
Umikuma
UT, United States
2013-06-29
This is a great hat, fully lined and nicely finished. At a 7 5/8 hat size, I was concerned about fit, but it's just right. I am very pleased with it.
Umikuma
UT, United States
2013-06-29
I love these goggles. Brass eyecups joined together with sewn ribbon, and with a pair of long ribbons to tie them on with. They fit nicely on my bowler and the ribbon fits in neatly in with the hatband - looks like they were meant for it. They have a comfortable fit on my face as well. A quality surplus product that I am very pleased with. And the little hinged tin they came in is very cute, too. I shall have to find a use for it with my steampunk outfit.
Raymond
WE, United States
2013-06-29
I have made puchases from Historical Emporium on four separate occasions, and have been delighted with the excellent quality of the products, which are all of the highest standard, and represent very good value for money. On two occasions I needed to contact the company, and they dealt with my enquiries courteously and quickly. I would recommend Historical Emporium to everyone. You will not be disappointed.
Umikuma
UT, United States
2013-06-29
I ordered the wrong size vest and realized my mistake after trying it on. I reordered the correct size, and returned the original. Service was prompt and efficient - a matter of a few days rather than the two or three weeks the website warned might happen. I'm reminded of Montgomery Scott's words in the following exchange: Kirk: "Mr. Scott, have you always multiplied your estimates by a figure of two?" Scotty: "Aye, sir. How do you think I got my reputation as a miracle-worker?"
B. Pusta
FL, United States
2013-06-29
The quality of fabric, design and workmanship are all outstanding...particularly given the price! Well done! I have purchased items as costumes for theatrical productions, as well as for my own wardrobe. I've not been disappointed.
Carol
NE, United States
2013-06-29
I chose Historical Emporium because, as I was web browing for old west clothing, I found the merchandise I was looking for on this website. My purchase certainly met every expectation I had. The service was good, I would definitely recommend this website to others, and I have already purchased more items from this website.
B. Pusta
FL, United States
2013-06-29
I have purchased items for theatrical productions in the past based on internet searches and the quality of website. I've never been disappointed in the items I've received. Quick, respectful and thoroughly answered questions when emailed. Quick delivery on items. I highly recommend doing business with this company.
Big Jim
UT, United States
2013-06-29
This is just what it says. It is a good belt and holster. You just cant pull it out of the box and bag and expect it to not have a little dye come off. Just try it on to make sure it fits, then let it dry in a hot room. JUST NOT IN THE SUN!

CA, United States
2013-06-29
I've gotten a few things from this store now and I'm very happy with the products and exeptional service. 11 thumbs up!

United States
2013-06-29

United States
2013-06-29
Was a little disappointed with these boots. Clearly costume boots.
Al La Fountain
United States
2013-06-29
Was a little disappointed with these boots. Clearly costume boots.
Al La Fountain
United States
2013-06-29
This is a fine looking hat. For the price You cant beat it.
Al La Fountain
United States
2013-06-29
This is an awesome product, Very durable, authentic & look great. I will defenatly purchas more of these. Love them.
Al La Fountain
United States
2013-06-29
I Love this vest, defenatly worth every penny. Looks great, very functional, durable & a must have for any real Gent.
AL La Fountain
United States
2013-06-29
These shirts are awesome, Look & fit great. The real thing. Defenatly a Must for a self respecting Gent.
Al La Fountain
United States
2013-06-29
Perfect, These are great, Love the look,& very functional. If your going to wear the trousers you have to have these wether you need them or not!
Al La Fountain
United States
2013-06-29
Great service, Very Fast. Over all I was very happy with the whole expeiriance. Thank YOU.
Alex
Sweden
2013-06-29
Love the shirt, will use it for hunting and fishing but would look cool everywhere. Looks far better than most modern shirts I bought. Big in size, as described on the page.
Dave
CO, United States
2013-06-29
After placing an order with this company on a sunday evening,we stumbled on a few more items we wanted to add. Rather than a completely new order we decided to call them up monday morning and see if we could just add a few more things. A very helpful service rep was able to do that very thing and all the items were shipped that very day. Everything arrived in great shape and was just as advertized...We will definately be ordering from these great folks again!
Roger "Wyatt" Stedina
PA, United States
2013-06-29
I must say that I am very pleased with both the quality and the price of the gunbelt/holster that I recently purchased. I have another "rig", that I bought from a different supplier, and when the two are compared, this rig wins, in both price and features. I will be a future shopper at the Historical Emporium. If I could give 6 stars for both servce and quality, I would!
Bob Jacobs
IL, United States
2013-06-29
I bought Schafer canvas vests for years, happy as a clam. Then suddenly, I ordered two new ones and, when they arrived, the fit was wrong, the material was thinner and floppy and they were cut a full inch wider and longer. My Historical Emporium one is exactly the same quality that I used to get. The fit is perfect. The canvas material is good and thick, and I know where I'll be buying my vests and other stuff from now on.
Sarah
UT, United States
2013-06-29
I bought these for my daughter's wedding for the groomsmen. They look great! In fact, they look more expensive than what I paid. I wish they included buttons to attach to pants, but other than that I am thrilled!
Kerry Ross
CA, United States
2013-06-29
As a professional Magician, I bought this Twin City Vest to replace on of my current vests (purchased elsewhere) that has worn out. It arrived well packaged, along with the two matching garters that I purchased as well. The vest looks and fits quite well, but the material (especially the lining) is a bit thinner than I was expecting. All in all, still a good looking vest at a good price.
Rick
DE, United States
2013-06-29
Love it! Classic look, especially with bow ties
Richard
NH, United States
2013-06-29
An excellent hat! Nice quality. Timely shipping.
Hollowpoint
NE, United States
2013-06-29
This beautifully sculpted hat screams sophistication with a daring edge. Sometimes pictures can be misleading, but definitely not in the case of this Gambler. Nothing beats its fit and feel and I hope to have mine for many years to come. So, to make a long story short, I Love this hat!!!

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service