Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2013-07-07

Adrian Murphy
KE, United States
2013-07-01
Wanted a period-styled coat for general wear on my craft-stall...and something which would cover my frock-coat and other finery. Well...the duster is a fuss-free, well-made and good-looking coat which ticks all my boxes. Affordable (UK import tax was a pain though...) and speedily delivered, I am looking forward to some inclement weather now! Many thanks, and now I am browsing your outstanding store for my next purchase. Would recommend you to anyone.
Brian
LO, United States
2013-07-01
Absolutely love the holster. Fits perfect. Im so glad I found you website. Thank you, Brian
The Time Travelers' Marketplace
United States
2013-07-02
Fast delivery, and product was exactly as described. Perfect and versatile for nearly any occasion from the 1850s through the 1910s, the Livingston vest is sleek and durable. Loving all the pockets, too!
B Kohlwey
UT, United States
2013-07-02
We dance in vintage clothing, and it looks great on my husband!
Oystein Braseth
71, Norway
2013-07-02
I made an order from Norway since I found the store on the internet. My order could not be completed due to regulations about shipping replica guns to another country, in this case my country. This I was told in an e-mail shortly after making the order. I was therefor able to get the item otherwise, and in good time before the occasion of use. I`m very satisfied with both the internet page and likewise the company. The items I ordered were really nice. Thank you for some SPLENDED SEVICE.
Linda Palmer
MA, United States
2013-07-02
I was very pleased with the satin blouse I received. I wore it to a victorian Tea and it was a big hit. Everyone wanted to know where I got it so of course I told them. It was a pleasure to find a company that was able to fill my needs.
Linda Palmer
MA, United States
2013-07-02
Customer Service was very helpfull when I called to inquire on my order. When I accidentaly order the blouse twice my return request was given and my refund taken care of immediately. Thank you so much.
Jerry
FL, United States
2013-07-02
Well made and great looking.
Jerry
FL, United States
2013-07-02
Nice badge, though a little smaller that I had expected. Would have been better if it had been around two inches in diameter.
Jerry
FL, United States
2013-07-02
Nice shirt, light weight, perfect for hot Florida weather.
duke
AR, United States
2013-07-03
I am very pleased with my purchase, your 22 gun belt and hoster is a great accent to my old pistol. thanks! A very satisfied coustomer
Rowan
BC, Canada
2013-07-04
Great watch. Ordered it to go with my Navy Mess Kit, and it didn't disappoint. In fact, my wife opened the package when it arrived and had to show it off to the neighbours. Strong build, and the face closes securely. Being able to see the gearing is a plus, and it is fascinating to watch. I like the fact that it's wind-up, just for the 'old school' factor. Will definitely add this to some costuming ideas I have as well.
Rowan
BC, Canada
2013-07-04
These are perfect. The screw ring is a bit tricky at times to restart, I recommend twisting backwards (counterclockwise) until it catches and then screwing them down. Immediately replaced the lenses with the blue ones, more for preference than any issue with the lenses. Going for the Cygnaran look from Warmachine as a possible costume idea in the future. Otherwise, comfortable, fit nicely and are vented. They'll fog up a bit if you leave them on your forehead, but the vents take care of that once you put them on.
Rowan
BC, Canada
2013-07-04
I recently ordered a pocketwatch, some goggles and replacement lenses. The order was processed with no difficulty, and dispatched quickly. When it arrived, it was in good condition, well packed and everything exactly as it should be. The website is excellent, with good searchability and decent cross-referencing. My oldest daughter would like to see more boots in the ladies' steampunk section, but otherwise a good collection of accessories and other 'bitz.' My favourite part about the website, though, is that when shopping, the descriptions and photos are accurate and do reflect the product. They are written well, and neither upsell or downsell an item, but describe it. This is a relief from websites that only have the briefest of descriptions, in particular due to it being online, where you cannot pick up and inspect the goods. I would totally shop from the Emporium again. In fact, I'm already planning some additional purchases.

United States
2013-07-04
These are exactly as described. Nice, think lenses that fit easily into the screw ring goggles.
Raymond
WE, United States
2013-07-05
Yet another wonderful item of clothing from Historical Emporium, this waistcoat (or vest) is stylish, comfortable and definitely draws compliments fro all my friends.
Jim Levy
Singapore
2013-07-05
I couldn't be happier with the quality of the product. The fabric holds a press without starch and the stitching is second to none. As good a shirt as any I've had made by a tailor. Historical Emporium's shipping is second to none. My order (which was a special order) arrived weeks before an Amazon order made on the same day -- all the way to Singapore.
SJD
MI, United States
2013-07-05
The product arrived in a timely manner and the quality of the item exceeded my expectations.
Fred Mandell
MA, United States
2013-07-05
Communicated status each step along the way.
SJD
MI, United States
2013-07-05
Product received exceeded my expectations, was was delivered in a timely manner. Great job!!!
meyockslv
NV, United States
2013-07-05
Fits Great Classic Look, Well done!!
Josiah
IA, United States
2013-07-05
The quality of the fabric is by no means cheap or flimsy. The coat is thick, high-quality, warm, and classy, and the craftsmanship is well worth the price. I am very satisfied!
Josiah
IA, United States
2013-07-05
Customer service here is prompt and efficient. I will be ordering from this site again.
meyockslv
NV, United States
2013-07-05
I could wear these pants anywhere, look great fit perfect. Well Done!

United States
2013-07-05
Fast shipping. nice product [gun belt] and excellent customer service!
Gerald
PA, United States
2013-07-05
A very nice vest. I bought it in summer so I have to wait until fall to wear it. It would have been a lot nicer if the collar went all the way around the neck. This should be indicated in the description. Should look nice with a jacket, though. Also, you say it's olive. Looks gray to me.
Karla Keller
AL, Canada
2013-07-05
I LOVE my new boots. They are true to size, and look just like the photo. I cannot say enough about how pleased I am with all Hisorical emporium's products, pricing, and shipping times here to Canada. I am very happy. ALL products that I have received from your establishment, have exceeded my expectations. I am getting married in 2 weeks at Heritage park, and have been able to order both of our entire wedding attires thru you. Thank you for letting me keep my vision!

United States
2013-07-05
I had a bad experience with another vendor. This holster is fantastic. My order was processed in a timely manner and the product is great.
Mark Ranger
BR, Canada
2013-07-05
I ordered two old west Badge - Texas Ranger Stars which both arrived promptly and were as expected but for the pin on one badge was broken off the back due to a light misaligned weld. I'm sure this is a rarity so I'm giving a 5 star rating just the same. Star/Badges might have been a tad on the small side but the quality and size were as described.
Lars
VA, United States
2013-07-05
Item looks great and is made well. Buckle could be better quality.
Lars
VA, United States
2013-07-05
Arrived when promised. Package was intact and product protected for damage free shipping.
didier karkel
FR, France
2013-07-05
Absolutely stunning trousers, great shape, great quality, great finish, love it
Cathy
United States
2013-07-05
Very nice miniature piece! Totally happy with it.
Judy
IL, United States
2013-07-05
Great petticoat, great price. Unbelievable quality. Could wear alone.
Lori Herbst
CA, United States
2013-07-05
The trousers came very fast and are just perfect. Great price!
Judy
IL, United States
2013-07-05
Beautiful dress. Quality exceeded my expectations. I am bummed because it is too small in the bodice. Broken hatred because I love this dress.
Absinthe Daemon
LA, United States
2013-07-05
These mock 19th-century lace-up boots are divine in every aspect. They are incredibly comfortable and they look spectacular! I was somewhat worried about ordering a pair of boots online, but the fit was perfect. I've never been more satisfied than I am with the stylish Stacy Adams Madison. Completely recommended...
Judy
IL, United States
2013-07-05
Customer service was stellar. Service person checked stock while I was on the phone to assure that the one in stock was there. Shipped the same day. Unfortunately the suit was too small. I had excellent service when I called to inquire about the return. Will order again from this company. First class all the way around.

United States
2013-07-05
I actually did not purchase this for myself, but for a friend as a birthday present. with-in 3 days of ordering this i received an ecstatic phone call "THIS IS THE MOST EXQUISITE HELMET EVER! THIS SHALL BE MY NEW ADVENTURING hat!". I am very indebted to the emporium for providing such an exceptional pith helmet (which for me was hard to find), as well as a new piece of headgear for my friend for the next time we go big game hunting in the hot sun, traverse long forgotten mines, or bush-whack through the dense wilderness.
Nickolaas
ID, United States
2013-07-05
After receiving my new hat purchased for my daughters wedding I was more than pleased. The hat is of a superior quality fits perfect and arrived persisly when promised. I would greatly recamend historical emporium to a anyone looking for good quality historical costuming.
Ben
MO, United States
2013-07-05
I wanted this hat because I live in the tropics and have had two skin cancers. I will be returning soon, so need a good hat. Baseball caps just don't do it - they are getting old hat (excuse the pun!). And they do not shade the ears and neck. I love it - it is great! My friends are jealous! People ask me where I got it. Many people remark on it. The only question I have is about the cloth part of the band inside which adjusts the size. I guess to clean it you just have to sponge with soapy water and then try to rinse with clear water and leave to dry. A great hat - recommend it
Dorothy
NE, United States
2013-07-05
I am very pleased with the walking skirt and blouse I ordered from Historical Emporium. I will be playing Marilla Ricker in a historical setting at the Woodman Institute's 'Night at the Museum' on Labor Day Weekend in Dover NH. And a good costume helps people enjoy the show!!!
Vickie
LA, United States
2013-07-05
Beautiful shirt bought for wedding. I've spent many summers in the southwest in historic venues like Tombstone, AZ and Old Tucson, AZ where the west comes to life. This shirt makes you feel like you are stepping back in that time of Wyatt Earp or Billy the Kid. Fine product.
Vickie
LA, United States
2013-07-05
The product was shipped immediately with tracking info supplied via email. Easy!

VA, United States
2013-07-05
This was a gift to my brother, replacing one I had purchased years ago from Brookstone. A new safari hat was badly needed and this one is perfect! Light weight, it's a great hat when riding a tractor in the fields.
KDee
GE, United States
2013-07-05
Great quality and very quick shipping. Thanks from Historical Jonesboro's Stately Oaks Plantation.

United States
2013-07-05
Very nice quality items and fast shipping.
Ryan Pakledinaz
MI, United States
2013-07-05
The tailcoat arrived in a reasonable amount of time, and when I opened it, I found there to be very few wrinkles, and those that were there were easily removed by simply blasting them with steam from an iron. The coat fabric had a weave that could've been a little finer than it was, but for 200 dollars, I can't complain. There are better coats out there but you won't find them for this price. Construction seems rugged enough to where I am not concerned about scrapes, though I don't wanna get it wet at all. A good buy, definitely worth the price.
Wilbur Nelson
IN, United States
2013-07-05
The 45 gun belt that I ordered was really very well made, no problem with fit, It fit like it was made just for me, and there were no flaws on the holster at all, and it looked great on me in my western ware when I went to the western fair we had in town. Thanks you Historical Emporium for shush a great Gun holster and I will tell my friends and others if they ask were I got it from. Thank-you and God bless!
banthagrl
NE, United States
2013-07-05
Very well-made, high-quality garment. Versatile steampunk costume piece, well worth the money. Glad I read an earlier review about sizing running large - I ordered a size smaller than I originally thought and it's a perfect fit.
Wilbur D. Nelson
IN, United States
2013-07-05
Well the reason I purchased the gun belt from the Historical Emporium is because the gun belt look professionally made and looked great and it was not to expensive to buy, and the 45 gun belt met my expectations and the fit was spot on and it looked great on me as well, and the service was really great and when I would asked questions they answer right away to my Email and I didn't have to wait all day to get a answer and to me they gave me great service, and I would for sure buy from the Historical Emporium again if I need more western wares and items and I would most definitely tell my friends to buy from the Historical Emporium.
Brian
OR, United States
2013-07-05
Good quality, matches the rest of the Highland set perfectly. Be sure to buy a size up from your normal waistline, as the pants sit at a higher waist position than do modern pants. You'll definitely want a set of braces to hold them up. Be sure to order in enough time to get them hemmed to your proper length. I found the seat to be just slightly tight, but not so much that the pants are uncomfortable. This may be a feature of the garment?
Brian
OR, United States
2013-07-05
Impeccable customer service, high level of product knowledge, clear information on which clothing matches specific historical periods, on-time arrival of the shipment, and high quality clothing. I'm very impressed. Definitely consider calling the Historical Emporium team on the phone to discuss your order; they ended up pointing me toward something that I hadn't found on the website, but which fit my requirements perfectly.
Brian
OR, United States
2013-07-05
Very handsome shirt, works great with the Highland outfit. Sleeve length seems slightly longer than I'm used to in a modern cut: sleeve garters solve that issue. My only negative: I was surprised that the cuffs don't accommodate cufflinks.
Brian
OR, United States
2013-07-05
Great quality, very flattering cut, high historical accuracy. I purchased this for an impression of a distinguished late 19th century naturalist and was able to very closely match surviving photographs of the scientist in question.
Karenne
MA, United States
2013-07-05
This was delivered on time, and was packaged well. The blouse itself is absolutely beautiful - it's exactly what I have been looking for! It will go very well with many outfits, victorian style or latest style. The price was VERY reasonable, I have seen quite a few blouses that were of much lessor quality selling for upwards of $100. I will most certainly be ordering again, and will recommend to friends.
Brian
OR, United States
2013-07-05
I found the sleeve length on the victorian mens' shirts to be slightly long, but these nicely solve that issue and look classy to boot.
Brian
OR, United States
2013-07-05
This is a must-have if you are purchasing one of the Highland coats. Flattering cut, high historical accuracy.
Brian
OR, United States
2013-07-05
Bought these for use with the Highland pants, which they hold up admirably well. Easy to adjust.
Karenne
MA, United States
2013-07-05
This was my first purchase from the site, and I emailed customer service with a question. I'm happy to say that I received a quick reply, and that everything was fine with my order - very happy with my purchase, and the good response from customer service! I will order again, and recommend to friends-
Southern IL
United States
2013-07-05
I really like the color and cut of this dress, but....I do have one small issue. The lining under the Lace part is really short. So I think I will wear a lace slip that will extend the hem just a little. I don't want the bum showing.

United States
2013-07-05
Gust242
IN, United States
2013-07-05
Wow nice heavy fabric good for every day use
Mundo
United States
2013-07-05
This was my first order from Historical Emporium and I was pleased by the entire experience. The vest arrived quickly. The quality was excellent and the fit was perfect. Will order from Historical Emporium again.
Bill Rivernider
United States
2013-07-05
This top hat was exactly what I was looking for and it is of excellent quality. I am looking forward to wearing it to the theater.
Maggie mae
NC, United States
2013-07-05
The parasol is beautiful and well made. It went with my 1915 dress and provided shade from the sun.it could also be used at a bridal shower.Maggie Mae
June
United States
2013-07-05
Lovely blouse. Rated 4 stars instead of 5 because I wish it were in a nicer cotton fabric. This was a looser weave than another I have. I appreciate the nice return policy because I had to get a larger size. Great site.
Patricia
VI, Australia
2013-07-05
My husband and I have a small country and western band. These shirts certainly make us look the part. They are extremely comfortable, and easy to wash and iron. Thankyou for helping us look smart.
MageCap
HA, United States
2013-07-06
My only complaint being that the knife was very full, it is a magnificent piece of work that I am very proud to own. The design is exquisite and the knife itself is lightweight, but not cheap.
MageCap
United States
2013-07-06
As someone who is fascinated by the inner workings of a clock, I consider this the best sort of "skeleton watch" in existence. The clear covering is a strong plastic that is quite thick and won't chip like glass. It's very scratch-resistant. My only advice is not to drop it. The back hemisphere may come off and since the back workings of the clock are pretty much flush with the edge, it may get debris in it quite easily. Also a plus: no batteries because it winds by hand. I fidget with it a lot so it's never unwound, but definitely allows for a more delicate look To the inside.
Vernon Huebschman
MA, United States
2013-07-06
Thanks for providing a long lost item of male clothing. It was difficult to locate a separate vest to wear with sport coats and jackets. They are a practical solution to my needs. I lived in Gettysburg for many years, and saw my share of Re-inactors. We had one nice period clothing shop, but its offerings were limited. There are so many different styles and fabrics, I can't complain any longer.
Jordan
IL, United States
2013-07-06
It is a Scala Classic by Dorfman Pacific. A really well constructed boater for the price and accurate to sizing. The straw is sturdier than I had expected, roughly 3/16" thick at the brim, so little worry about damaging it or undue flex at the brim when you handle it. If treated with care and stored when not in use, I can easily see this hat lasting for years. I did find one stray thread that needed a snip, but otherwise, I'm fully satisfied.

United States
2013-07-06

United States
2013-07-06
Really loved this piece. only problem is that the choker part is too long.

United States
2013-07-06

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service