Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2013-07-14

Martin Z
NS, Australia
2013-07-08
This is even more awesome than the picture shows. The notes say it runs to small so I bought a size up from my normal and it is perfect. I now have 14 vests from Historical Emporium and this is the king of vests. The finish and look is brilliant. When I wear it the ladies swoon and want to be with me and the men want to be me. It is that great.
Martin Z
NS, Australia
2013-07-08
An elegant and sophisticated look. If you like vests, this should be in your collection. The colour is great and matches just about anything.
Martin Z
NS, Australia
2013-07-08
Bold and striking, this means business. It is as though you ripped the wallpaper off your favourite saloon and decided to wear it. It is eye catching and well made.
Martin Z
NS, Australia
2013-07-08
Formal but casual... This has a great cut and look to suit many occasions. It is also unique and takes out other try hard coats these modern youngsters think is fashionable. I feel I need to wear a rig on my hip when I step out :-)
Martin Z
NS, Australia
2013-07-08
All my orders have been received faster than expected and I have got better than I expected. Every garment is well tailored, unique and creates a good talking point. The look of yesteryear is coming around again and I just wish I had a bigger wardrobe to buy everything! Customer service is excellent and friendly. The staff know their stuff and are glad to answer any questions in a timely manner. I will definitely be shopping here again.
Mark Hegman
TE, United States
2013-07-08
Darlene
CA, United States
2013-07-08
The purse is beautiful and will dress up any victorian style outfit. It is a bit heavier than I had anticipated from the picture of the model having it on her wrist, but I will definitely use it.
Jolene DODGE
UT, United States
2013-07-09
I purchased this watch for my husband for his birthday. He had been wanting a mechanical pocket watch for some time. It's beautiful, and fully functional. The two tone makes it easy for him to compliment anything he wears. I have purchased other items from Historical Emporium and found you can't go wrong! Thank you!
Linda B
PA, United States
2013-07-09
I needed a suitable purse in a hurry for an event, and I got exactly what I was looking for very quickly. The purse is well made and has the right look and feel and provides the final touch to my period outfit. I am delighted!
Brent
NO, Canada
2013-07-12
Very pleased with my purchase and with the service. Excellent job done. So impressed that I followed my first purchase with a second one 2 weeks later ... and I am just as impressed with product and service quality the second time. Well Done Historical Emporium!
Bikil
UT, United States
2013-07-12
Got this item as a gift for a friend. I really enjoyed the tin and the product was of good quality. Friend was happy, too.
Bearhand
GA, United States
2013-07-12
Ordered the hat and received it in time to wear during the 2013 Atlanta Peachtree Road Race. The hat is well made and sharp looking, but I have only one complaint, it is NOT one size fits all. If you have a head that is bigger than 22 inches in diameter, the fit will be tight and almost unwearable. The hat description does not tell the customer what the hat sizes are and it should.
Bikil
UT, United States
2013-07-12
Good customer service, great product, item came as stated, I would definitely shop with Historical Emporium again, and would recommend them to friends.
Rainy
CA, United States
2013-07-12
I wanted some gloves to complete an old west outfit after seeing them worn in a few movies. These gloves are an excellent combination of sophisticated dress and bad-ass attitude - just what I was looking for. No extra fancy stitching, just very well made and softer than soft. I was afraid the gloves would be a little too small after measuring my hand and rounding-down on the size, but that seemed to be perfect. They look and feel (and smell) great. You won't be disappointed with these gloves, unless you're one of those that complains about everything just to hear yourself squeek. Enjoy!
Mark Carsten
IL, United States
2013-07-12
Sizing a off. The med. is just a little to small, and the next size up, (large) is just a little to big. Other than this, the quality is great. Could not ask for better quality. You do need to work on better sizing.
Mark Carsten
IL, United States
2013-07-12
Beautiful, just perfect. Could not be more pleased.
michael nuckles
WV, United States
2013-07-12
Once again I have come to you to help with a hard to find item and again I am thrilled with my puchase. As always the quality was above par and the price could not be beat. Service as always was fast, and the shipping prompt, it is always a pleasure to deal with your fine company and futher purchases from myself is guaranteed..whenever my friends ask about my purchases I am more than happy to tell them about you and your fine selections..Thanks for being there.
Bill West
MS, United States
2013-07-12
I purchased the chocolate Brown Tooled Leather holster and belt recently. I've noticed that some previous comments dealt with the rigid leather. My comment is that I believe that this holster is quality in every way. Western pistol holsters are supposed to be rigid and hold their shape. This holster is obviously made from saddle type leather, which in my estimation is a good thing.
Larry
CA, United States
2013-07-12
The bandolier was precisely what i was expecting and it arrived promptly. I have only good things to say about the entire transaction.
mark fairchild
CO, United States
2013-07-12
I was concerned a out the fit of the pants. I have kind of large thighs. When the pants arrived, I put them on, and they fit just fine. Love the material.
michael nuckles
WV, United States
2013-07-12
While looking for something different I happened across your ad for Professor Ocularo's X-ray Monocle,,,the moment I saw the package I knew this was meant for me. the Item itself is very fine and the instruction booklet brought a giggle,,a friend asked if it really worked so I had to tell him that upon reciept I accidentally put it on backward and was able to see the darkness in my mind..
Doc Jones
MA, United States
2013-07-12
The construction of these goggles is top notch, I love this style and have been wearing it for years, and will accept no substitutes. The goggles offered by Historical/Steampunk Emporium have a different gasket material than I'm used to (solid foam with leatherette cover, vs tubular rubber) but I think I like it. My only complaint is that the head strap isn't big enough for my huge head, and the slide buckles are always slipping, so I end up having to re-thread the strap. Not a huge deal though, and with time the strap stretches so it becomes more or less a non-issue.
Celestina
NC, United States
2013-07-12
Lovely hat, well made, and the colour makes it really stand out.
japii
PA, United States
2013-07-12
As with all the items I've purchased from H/E the authenticity is just incredible! But this item, the bow tie, was equally comfortable but yet maintained a snug fit. It was worn outdoors on a hot July day (on a bike ride that preceded a picnic social) and my wearing the bow tie never became an issue.
japii
PA, United States
2013-07-12
All the items thus far have top-shelf in authenticity and quality. This item was purchased for our daughter to use (in lieu of a hat in the sun) and it worked but the construction did not seem as "hearty" or "sturdy" as I have come to expect from H/E, but admittedly I have no basis of comparison nor do I have any complaint, and hey I'm a man, the item is made for women so perhaps it is as it should be?...but also, something other than the plastic sheath packaging it came in to keep it closed would be a handy improvement -so a random piece of lace will be needed...
japii
PA, United States
2013-07-12
The fast shipping...a real person ALWAYS on the phone..practical and useful advice...I wish they could train every C/S person I must deal with!!
Lizzy
OR, United States
2013-07-12
These gauntlets were the finishing touch for my character: it's the little things that help bring the past to life. They're a pleasure to wear. They're very well made, the deerskin is incredibly soft, and they have just the look I was searching for. I'm also looking forward to wearing them this winter so they won't look so new next year. As for service: a rousing 5 Stars as well! My order was pulled and shipped the day I placed it and was on my doorstep in 2 days! I do live on the Left Coast, but you'd be surprised how long I've waited for delivery from others in basically the same location. Historical Emporium will be the first stop in my future searches. Thank you!
Katcrat
IN, United States
2013-07-12
I purchased this to form part of a steampunk outfit, but after it arrived, I realized I could wear it anytime with the right accessories. It fits well and makes your legs look incredibly long. I wish I had it in other colors now.
David Day
WI, United States
2013-07-12
Shirt is made of good qood quality cloth and generously cut. Have not washed it yet, so cannot commment on ease of washing and ironing. Family members are involved in historical interpretation and were impressed with quality also. Would have preferred a lighter weight texture, but will be able to use this often. Thank you.
Lizzy
OR, United States
2013-07-12
I love this hat! It's got just the attitude I was looking for. It's well made, has clean lines, and it's not heavy on my head. I also like that it's water resistant and packable. I have no plans to either wear it in a downpour or squish it, but that lets me know it was designed to be treated like a serviceable piece of clothing, not a prop. It looks terrific on me: a little big, but not overwhelming. To keep that in perspective I'm 5'2" and weigh 115 lbs. and I ordered a medium. It's just perfect for my 1880's steampunk Western Gal! Service at Historical Emporium is the best! From placing my order to opening the package was a little over 48 hours. I am on the Left Coast, but these people are serious about getting your merchandise to you fast. Save time. Shop here first. Thanks!
Carson C. Smith, FSA Scot
IN, United States
2013-07-12
Highland Festivals take place in the heat and humidity of our American summers. When wearing a kilt, a black Balmoral, or a black Glengarry, seems wildly inappropriate. But the British Empire Pith Helmet in White satisfies our requirements perfectly.
Carson C. Smith, FSA Scot
IN, United States
2013-07-12
My British Empire Pith Helmet arrived, when promised, and in excellent condition.
Nicholas W. Jones, Sr.
AL, United States
2013-07-12
Cam
United States
2013-07-12
These are the pants I am wearing on my wedding day. Save for a little tailoring in the pant length, they are the perfect trousers for my day, and exactly what was advertised and exactly what I wanted for my wedding day. Recommended VERY MUCH!
Cam
United States
2013-07-12
Similar to the trousers I purchased, this vest is part of my wedding ensemble. Not only was it also perfectly described, it fits nearly perfect. Since it's my wedding, I am bring ing the armpit area just a little, but be it not my wedding day, the vest would be an absolute perfect fit. We like it so much, we're ordering vests for each and every one of the groomsmen to wear as well! Love the clothes, love the website! Perfect!
Jenbasket
NY, United States
2013-07-12
It was just what I was looking for. The Sleeve length was perfect. This is a wonderful addition to my steampunk wardrobe!
Nicktheguy
BC, Canada
2013-07-12
Way better quality than the smoking jackets website - and 1/2 the price too! It's the smoking jacket I've been looking for - now I just have to find some mutton chops to go with it.
Cindy
TE, United States
2013-07-12
I love the hat, it looks great with the outfit I am wearing to a reenactment festival in New Mexico. There is such a great selection on the web site that you can find what ever you need. Shipping was very fast. I am totally satisfied with the hat!!
Cindy
TE, United States
2013-07-12
Customer service was very helpful and extremely pleasant to work with. Will definitely recommend to my friends
Terri
GE, United States
2013-07-12
The vest is beautiful! I bought it for my husband to wear at our daughter's wedding in the park. It is a fairly casual wedding, but he needed something to set him apart as the father of the bride. This vest is perfect!

United States
2013-07-12
Bruce Gutilla
FL, United States
2013-07-12
It arrived on time but I think you should put the measurements for the shawl. It is a lot smaller than I expected!

United States
2013-07-12
excellent experience all around thank you so much. the shirts looked so awesome for the event
Jarrod Stanek
United States
2013-07-12
These pants are wonderful. They look even better in person than they do in the picture. The nice, durable quality of the pants makes it seem like they're made to last.
Jarrod Stanek
United States
2013-07-12
Overall, this is a good shirt but there are a couple of things to point out. The actual shirt is more ivory/cream colored than the white color it appears to be in the picture (this is a good thing). The sleeves are a little long because the shoulder seem actually sits off my shoulder. This would suggest getting a smaller size but then the neck would be too small. It still fits okay and is accurate to the picture shown. Overall a very good purchase. On a side note. I accidentally purchased an XLT (Tall) the first time around and I was swimming in it. It was basically a 2XL. The return process was exceedingly easy and I'm very happy with the customer service.
Jarrod Stanek
United States
2013-07-12
These Y-back bracers are really cool. I'd like to buy more pants from Historical Emporium just so I can wear these more often. These are truly great quality for an affordable price.

United States
2013-07-12
The quality of this hat is superb. It looks incredible and I couldn't ask for a better fit. The price is a bit steep but that's not what I'm rating and I love the hat so I'm not going to complain. Recommend this for anyone looking for a top quality top hat.
Jimmy Dale
AR, United States
2013-07-12
Beautiful, excellent quality, FAST turn around. My 2nd order from the site.
Jimmy Dale
AR, United States
2013-07-12
Little thinner than expected, however. Very nice appearance, fit and shape.
RoMeR
TE, United States
2013-07-12
A great version of the gunbelt of the old west. I filled it with .45 replica bullets and the Peacemaker in the holster. Greatness!
RoMeR
TE, United States
2013-07-12
Another perfect replica from the old west. These leather products are put together very well, but keep the simple old west style and appeal to them. SImply put, these would work perfectly in the old west for real. I filled mine with .45 cal replica bullets ( left a few blank for character ) and now I'm ready to go!
RoMeR
TE, United States
2013-07-12
Thi is a very nice "working" non-firing replica. It is even pre-weathered for that old west used look. I filled it with replica bullets and now I am practicing my quick draw and gun spins. :)
RoMeR
TE, United States
2013-07-12
Yet another cool and authentic product from you guys. These pants give that old west look for sure. With all of the product listed, I have done some research ( just google old west photos ) and you will see that these products are exact replicas of what they wore in the old west. Furthermore, everthing I have got is NOT a costume but real, high quality equipment and clothing. ( except the guns, of course. Those are just replicas- but very good ones! )
NYC
MA, United States
2013-07-12
Great umbrella and matching lace fan. The perfect gift for someone who has very eclectic tastes. Will order again from your company . The delivery took a bit longer than expected but I am very happy with the product. I also appreciated the instant and direct response to an inquiry about my order . Thank you . From, NYC
BIG ED
TN, United States
2013-07-12
GOOD LOOKING BANDOLIER, LOOKS VERY WELL MADE, APPEARS TO ACCOMODATE UP TO A 60 INCH WAIST IF YOU CHOOSE TO WEAR IT LIKE A BELT. IT'S COMFORTABLE AS A BANDOLIER, BUT I BELIEVE I'LL USE IT S A BELT FOR A holster I PURCHASED, ALSO FROM HISTORICAL EMPORIUM.
BIG ED
TN, United States
2013-07-12
INCREDIBLY GOOD LOOKING holster, VERY NICE DETAIL. I PURCHASED IT FOR A RAGING BULL WITH AN 8. 3.8 BARREL AND IT FITS GREAT. I ALSO HAVE A TAURUS 44 MAG WITH 6.5 INCH BARREL WHICH ALSO FITS IT. THE holster IS VERY NICE I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT.
Dale
TX, United States
2013-07-12
I Love the way the Jarrod trousers fit, nice and smooth. They are just right with the fit. I like the color grey because gray goes with almost anything you wear. And I have several shirts that I have bought from Historical Emporium in the past and I have some that willl match really fine!
Beth
MO, United States
2013-07-12
I was extremely pleased with my Mad Scientist Howie Lab Coat. While I was initially concerned about the length, your sizing chart allowed me to determine the correct size, and when it arrived I tried it on to find that it was the perfect fit and looks great on me. Also, rather than being a cheap costume garment, the coat was high-quality and heavy duty, meaning it's unlikely to fall apart after a few wearings. This is the perfect garment for all those who like to celebrate their successes with a thunderclap and mad laughter.
captbill
FL, United States
2013-07-12
Very well made! Wish I had ordered one size larger, but should lose a little weight anyway...
Big Head
NC, United States
2013-07-12
Great hat - exactly what I was looking for except for one small problem. It is sold as one size fits all. At its maximum adjustment, it did not come close to fitting my head.
Colonel Hawthorne
New Zealand
2013-07-12
I bought this intending to use it as part of my intrepid explorer steampunk costume, but it's so comfortable and such a great fit I've worn it to work several times. Moral: don't limit your thinking. I suspect many Emporium products can be worn on 'non-costume' occasions.

United States
2013-07-12
These folks have been great to work with will be getting more stuff from them in the future even thought I had to send one item back for a different size ,all good easy .
Svensk
CO, United States
2013-07-13
The suspenders I ordered arrived very quickly and are exactly what I ordered. The only problems I encountered were of my own making. I thought I was ordering all-leather suspenders, while the description clearly says leather with elastic back. Also, they are a little long for me, and I can't recall having an option to specify a length. I am having the length altered, and the elastic replaced with leather, as I am using them as part of an old-west costume. (No elastic). Overall, I am very satisfied with the product, price, and service despite my ignorance as a first-time buyer. I would make a future order (just read the descriptions more carefully), and I would recommend Historical Emporium to my friends.
James E Niblett
GA, United States
2013-07-13
The holster was perfect for my S&W Highway Patrolman 357 magnum.
Bill
MA, United States
2013-07-13
I had been looking for a brown bowler for some time. A friend suggested The Gentleman's Emporium, so I gave it a try and sure enough I got what I was looking for. It seems to be well-made and I like the way it fits and looks.
Just The Seamstress
United States
2013-07-13
Surprisingly long-legged - the man who will wear them is 6'4" and I'm cutting a few inches off at the hem, then making a real hem. It's the first time he's ever had that problem. Also: they are not "boot cut", they are almost reverse tapered. The thighs are roomy, but the calves are not roomy enough, and the bottom doesn't flare enough to cover the top of a cowboy boot properly. Because, of course, they are DRESS trousers.
Just The Seamstress
United States
2013-07-13
Ordered the "L" option. Finally, a vest that (in combination with the Callahan dress trousers) is long enough to avoid the unsightly "shirt-muffin top" poufiness between the trousers and the vest.
Just The Seamstress
United States
2013-07-13
The "L" option does mean it's long enough and having to hem sleeves UP and move buttons UP is a novelty. However ... the shoulder pads should be larger. They are like teeny tiny little caps on the shoulders and don't transition from pad to chest like they should.
Just The Seamstress
United States
2013-07-13
Editor's note: This was due to a manufacturer's defect and the item has been replaced for the customer. Alas, they arrived with a faulty rear tab ... the round tab is partly sliced off under the buttonhole. Will be weak unless I find some black duct tape to fix it. It is apparent that it was from the machine that stamps the button holes and cuts out the tab, went through with the leather misaligned. Then no one inspected between that machine and shipping to me to catch the flaw.
David Johnson
C0, United States
2013-07-13
The pictures don't do this waistcoat justice. It is beautiful, very well made and quite lavish. It's worth the price for it, and made a splendid addition to my wardrobe.
David Johnson
C0, United States
2013-07-13
Ok, it's a minor quibble, but this does run just ever so slightly small, especially in the waist. Now, before you tell me I need to lose a few pounds there, I'm actually a very good fit for the standard suit "drop" (i.e. 44" chest, 38" waist - I actually tend to run under a bit as I wear size 34 trousers). The chest fits very nicely, even with an iPad mini in the pocket (steam powered of course). But when I button all the buttons, it is just a tad tight at the waist. Still, as these were typically worn with only the top buttoned, it is not a terrible drawback. As for the quality, it is quite nice. Warm, comfortable, definitely worth the price asked here. The lining is a bit on the thin side, but feels quite sturdy, so I am not worried about wear there too much. If you want a good variant on the frock coat for your wardrobe, this is a good bet.

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service