Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2013-08-18

Oliver schneider
HE, Germany
2013-08-12
Fantastic!.....A Little too large, but thatīs only my fault. Because of that I washed it too hot....90 degree Celsius ..and.........IT SURVIVED totally untouched!!! The Quality is very good...much better than expectet. I love this shirt!
oliver schneider
HE, Germany
2013-08-12
I regret to say that itīs a Little to large...but thatīs my fault. Next time Iīll take a smaller size. ...Itīs conveniently to wear and was manufactured in prime Quality! And a"thanks" from my girlfriend.....because it looks so sexy! Well done Folks!
max
Australia
2013-08-12
A very nice piece. It has ample adjustment and fixtures to ensure a comfortable fit is assured.
Max
Australia
2013-08-12
wore this one on the weekend for the first time. Comfortable to wear and move in. Fabric and quality quite acceptable! Very glad I bought it!
Deb
PA, United States
2013-08-12
The hats were excellent quality and held up well. We took off the original trim to put on trim that matched the costumes they were purchased for and had no trouble.
Deb
PA, United States
2013-08-12
The item we wanted was on back-order. But we had a deadline and when I emailed you to change the size of the item, you informed me that the item had become available and would be shipped ASAP! The hat was received in plenty of time to customize it and it was perfect. Thanks
Crusader1
MA, United States
2013-08-12
The spats met my expectations, and delivery was timely.
Paul
United States
2013-08-12
Great quality, awesome style, the perfect accessory for the "explorer" impression.
Patrick
NO, United States
2013-08-12
For as long as I can remember. My love for vested suits has always remained. From the double breasted versions to the good old 3 piece. Ever since those days though! I have been enjoying all your many different types vest. With more colors options and styles than I would care to mention. I have found that a good vest can offer a lot of flexibility to either a matching(color) jacket. A real good add on for a suite. Or like myself. I'll wear one with a nice shirt. The look and quality of the vest are actually quite superb. I will most certainly be ordering more in the future. You folks are on my favorites page! already! Cheers!
Patrick
NC, United States
2013-08-12
Shirt is a very comfortable feeling styled shirt. It really has that back in the early days look. The fit was spot on. Got a feeling that old will be meeting up with new as far as different Ties and ascots go.
Patrick
NO, United States
2013-08-12
Quality very nice. Arrived nicely packaged. I wore it the other day with a matching Ascot and vest. Must say I saw a huge attention to detail quality stitching was very solid looking,,, I'll just say everything was very authentic. Spot on. Well done! Cheers!

United States
2013-08-12
I was pleasantly surprised that the holster was as advertised. I will come back for my other needs. I have shared this web site with others and they are impressed of the high selections they have to choose from. Terry Enid, OK
Grayling Pingel
WI, United States
2013-08-12
Hey! I love the spectacles! I wore them for a folk festival because I'm going for a folk/Americana style image for stage and they looked great! I would recommend your products to others. I'll probably get a vest from you guys soon! Thanks for great products!
Ken Cobb
GA, United States
2013-08-13
Rust color in photo does not match actual garment Probably a good idea to photo them in natural light
operastuff
MI, United States
2013-08-13
These petticoats were purchased for students who are embarking on their opera careers and need a rehearsal skirt to add to their toolkits. These are pretty, well made, reasonable and will be appropriate for any rehearsal period.
Ed Payne
United States
2013-08-14
I bought this for use with my wife's steampunk outfit. What a deal: relatively inexpensive yet full of quality and features.

United States
2013-08-14
I had inquired about a product listed as out of stock and they took the time to track down a coat in the correct size for me. Not only that, but to confirm they had it in hand and it was the correct item before processing an order. That is how you win and keep customers, a rare thing in today's business world.

United States
2013-08-14
The coat looks perfect and feels well made. It should work perfectly for my costume and the site was very helpful with the order. I haven't yet completely confirmed that the sizing runs true to the stated size, it seems it may be a little tight - but that could be me.
Brenda Goodlad
NO, Canada
2013-08-16
The product was satisfactory. The service was not!!! I ordered something for my son and requested it be sent to his address not mine. This can't be a unique request. I also paid extra for expedited delivery. That didn't happen because of the time it took to open and understand your email. Apparently you needed a secret code from my credit card online info. Days of time and frustration including many fruitless phone calls could have been avoided if you had just called it the transaction number. Why would you call it a secret code? My bank could't even guess what you meant and told me they had never heard of such a thing. The order was late arriving and i was annoyed. There was no reason for any of it. You had no problem taking the payment on time but did not ship in time. You need to fix this! By the way...the phone number provided didn't work from canada
Jack
PA, United States
2013-08-16
I recently purchased this Acot for my Groomsmen & I and we're extremely excited to wear them in my upcoming wedding. Awesome customer service!!!!
Cheryl
ON, Canada
2013-08-16
Very happy with the pioneer dress, the fit was perfect, except I had to take up the shoulders, thankyou and I know I am going to enjoy wearing it to our annual Blockhouse opening of the locks in Merrickville, Ontario, Canada!
Techtao
NE, United States
2013-08-16
I received excellent service and quick delivery of my Coachman hat. I'm looking forward to the coming of Autumn so I will have the occasion to wear this hat while outside playing my ukulele.
jables
CO, United States
2013-08-16
Quick and fast reliable service! a++++++
Cheryl
ON, Canada
2013-08-16
Thankyou for the tip on sizing, I went for the next size up and they were a perfect fit and very comfortable..they look great with my pioneer dress!Very happy!
Cheryl
ON, Canada
2013-08-16
Very cute bonnet..fits great...made well!
Cheryl
ON, Canada
2013-08-16
Very happy with the service...my order came all safe and sound and arrived to my surprise within just a few days straight to my door..very pleased with everything and will certainly shop with you again!!
alexandria
QU, Canada
2013-08-16
Absolutely very handsome vests. The fit was perfect on both the small and mediums. Went very well with white shirts and bolo ties!

Canada
2013-08-16
Was exactly what I wanted. Thankyou
Sweet Tea
KS, United States
2013-08-16
I just ordered and received my new holster and it fits my reproduction 1873 Pieta 44 single action revolver perfectly. The leather is not as ridged as I thought it would be and it smells phenomenal. The sizing instructions helped me get a perfect fit. Awesome holster especially for the price and I highly recommend it.

United States
2013-08-16
Good service! Do not hesitate. Good stuff good service!
ma morneau
ON, Canada
2013-08-16
The Monocle was a gift for my boyfriend and when he opened it the first thing he said was "why did you pay so much?" That was the best part since it cost so little and he loved it! It was exactly was he wanted. The shipping was truly amazing and I received it only seven days after order in plenty of time for his birthday. I had it wrapped and waiting for the big day! Very satisfied!!
alexandria
ON, Canada
2013-08-16
I was looking for vests that would reflect a country feeling. This store has a wide selection and it was difficult to decide but decide it did! I made a mistake in my first order and it was very easy to have it cancelled and credited to my credit card. I made my correct order and was very please at how fast I received it. I will definitely shop here again and have recommended it to others.
ma morneau
ON, Canada
2013-08-16
I was worried the monocle I ordered would be late but it showed up in record time. I couldn't believe how fast! When I went by my mailbox only a week after order and saw the package I was so pleasantly surprised!
Keith
NE, United States
2013-08-16
Basically , I was pleased with my purchase , I was happy with the quality for the money .... The problem was I didn't receive the "Antique Brown Leather " rig I ordered ... At best it was brand new chocolate brown .... Despite my dissapointment , I decided to settle for what I got as I had neither the time or inclation to go to the trouble of returning it ....
Wild Willy
TX, United States
2013-08-16
EXACTLY what I was looking for and a FAST delivery!!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
W Complete
TX, United States
2013-08-16
This skirt is exactly as advertised and absolutely perfect!
Keith
NE, United States
2013-08-16
I purchased from your Co. as I found you on line and had the best selection of what I was looking for at reasonable cost .... My purchase met my expectations asside from being the "Wrong" item ... The service was quick ... I do believe I would try shopping with you again , though for a first time purchase I was a bit dissapointed ... I suppose I would direct others to look into your store .............
W Complete
TX, United States
2013-08-16
Excellent! Now for the perfect blouse for the twill skirt!
silvia
Norway
2013-08-16
A little bit big in size, but a fantastic skirt! I guess elegance and sensuality cant get more united than this?
Thane of Duninsane
MD, United States
2013-08-16
I have to agree with everyone else who noted the size of the monocle as being too large. It's certainly well made, just too large. I attempted to bend the eyepieces but ended up breaking one of them. I also concur that the lanyard looks pretty tacky. I replaced it with a length of thin black ribbon.
Richard Elam
TN, United States
2013-08-16
This piece is exactly what you see in the picture. However, it is NOT 10x magnification. Jesus is coming soon. Richard southeast Tennessee
Ed Bideau
KA, United States
2013-08-16
I ordered this in both 46L and 48L. I ordinarily wear a 48L coat and I am in a white collar job, buying suits and sport coats for many, many years. The 48 was too big in the shoulders and the body, more like a 50 in a regular suit coat. The 46 fit well through the shoulders, but the chest area was poorly tailored and the waist was too small to button. Tailoring for the body and chest area is not too hot either. Sent them both back. Not sure how they size these, but it is a long, long ways away from standard suit sizing.
silvia
Norway
2013-08-16
Wearing this suit let me feel like a queen from the past, and its actually funny to travel in time. Fits perfect and is as lovely and shiny as shown in the pictures. Besides it makes a nice teasing "sound" from the fabric that tells everyone you are moving! (especially brand new). Together with click from heels its funny to walk.
GrandPasRock
IN, United States
2013-08-16
The hardest part of the entire purchase experience was deciding which model and color to buy! Received my order quickly, and it was exactly as pictured and described. My Ruger Vaquero 5.5 inch fits in the rig perfectly. Sizing advice of 4 inches larger than belt size was right on, though I did measure in advance. I found other sites with cowboy rigs priced 3 times more, and they do not look any better to me. I like this all leather rig better than the metal re-enforced styles I've seen. An easy shopping experience with prompt shipping.
silvia
Norway
2013-08-16
You will love this from the first moment, fit many combinations. Look better than the (good) picture and feels marvellous. For this price I would buy two, you will wear it often!
silvia
Norway
2013-08-16
Nothing wrong with the item. Only that I didnt knew it also were included with the nice jabot I also put in the cart. (I didnt trust the picture and didnt read carefully)
Paula Phillips
CO, United States
2013-08-16
I ordered this hat for our wedding vow renewal ceremony as we are having an "Old West" theme. I was so worried about it arriving on time as it was so important to my outfit. To my surprise it arrived in just a few days, it was perfect, I just loved it and it fit perfect. I am so excited for our special day so everyone can see it. Thank you for your excellent five star customer service I will definitely be using you all again!
Ken
IL, United States
2013-08-16
The vest looked great! I thought the size was way small for a XXL.
Ken
IL, United States
2013-08-16
Coat looked great! I thought the size was way too small for an XXL
Ken
IL, United States
2013-08-16
I was very disappointed to have to pay the return shipping for products that did not fit. An exchange was impossible becouse the items were not offered in larger sizes.

NE, United States
2013-08-16
excellent shirt , just what I wanted and expected !
gab
QU, Canada
2013-08-16
I had a great service and bought those shoes for show business. They were shipped fast and looked exactly like the description. There was one problem, even for very small feet, the shoes were made too tight.
Patrick
IL, United States
2013-08-16
This Tailcoat fits perfectly. I ordered it and was a bit unsure about the measurements. However, it looks great and I'm going to enjoy wearing it a lot!
Ethan
CA, United States
2013-08-16
The Customer Service at Historical Emporium was excellent. After long and exhaustive but helpful conversations with Eve, I set up an appointment to try on several items. Eve was waiting in the front with all I desired and went back into the warehouse several times to fine-tune the fit. She was friendly, helpful, understanding and courteous. The costume pieces were *just* what I needed for Dickens Faire. Thank you Eve and the Historical Emporium.
silvia
Norway
2013-08-16
Like on ebay you give 5 stars when you are satisfied. So when I am more than satisfied I must give 6! As a fantastic tool internet is for shopping, shops who provides worldwide trade is even more fantastic. It was easy to choose from catalog, communication was quick, shipment and price as described. I felt so secure about this firm that my very first order I placed 350 USD I wanted to place a bigger order, but because of customs and VAT and tax other costs here in Norway, I managed to buy some items under the tax free level (ap 30usd), this way saving money. "Ill be back", I definetely will buy more in future! Sincerely S I just found you by accident! Searching victorian clothes on internet I rolled pages after pages finding some nice things, this was ok enough. But in the bottom of the pages I found some links. Searched a couple of them from time to time. Your hit were quickly send to adress list!
Dundee
GE, United States
2013-08-16
The canvas vest is very nice. I will be using it in the hot weather re-enactment season. I am very well pleased.
Corina
United States
2013-08-16
Amazing product, works well with the outfit I am making.
Corina
United States
2013-08-16
Great fit, surprisingly comfortable, and works fantastically with my outfit. Well recommended product!
Peg
CO, United States
2013-08-16
This was my first purchase from Historical Emporium and the quality is outstanding! Everything arrives neatly pressed, in plastic bags and with very fast delivery. I will be wearing these and the other items I ordered as part of a barn costume party and picture day with everyone and our horses. I'm so excited to wear the ensemble and see the pictures. This site was a wonderful find, and I would highly recommend any item you are thinking about ordering. The fit and styles are exquisite and you will be very pleased with your purchase.
Peg
CO, United States
2013-08-16
This was my first purchase from Historical Emporium and the quality is outstanding! Everything arrives neatly pressed, in plastic bags and with very fast delivery. I will be wearing these and the other items I ordered as part of a barn costume party and picture day with everyone and our horses. I'm so excited to wear the ensemble and see the pictures. This site was a wonderful find, and I would highly recommend any item you are thinking about ordering. The fit and styles are exquisite and you will be very pleased with your purchase.
Peg
CO, United States
2013-08-16
This was my first purchase from Historical Emporium and the quality is outstanding! Everything arrives neatly pressed, in plastic bags and with very fast delivery. I will be wearing these and the other items I ordered as part of a barn costume party and picture day with everyone and our horses. I'm so excited to wear the ensemble and see the pictures. This site was a wonderful find, and I would highly recommend any item you are thinking about ordering. The fit and styles are exquisite and you will be very pleased with your purchase.
Peg
CO, United States
2013-08-16
This was my first purchase from Historical Emporium and the quality is outstanding! Everything arrives neatly pressed, in plastic bags and with very fast delivery. I will be wearing these and the other items I ordered as part of a barn costume party and picture day with everyone and our horses. I'm so excited to wear the ensemble and see the pictures. This site was a wonderful find, and I would highly recommend any item you are thinking about ordering. The fit and styles are exquisite and you will be very pleased with your purchase.
Peg
CO, United States
2013-08-16
This was my first purchase from Historical Emporium and the quality is outstanding! Everything arrives neatly pressed, in plastic bags and with very fast delivery. I will be wearing these and the other items I ordered as part of a barn costume party and picture day with everyone and our horses. I'm so excited to wear the ensemble and see the pictures. This site was a wonderful find, and I would highly recommend any item you are thinking about ordering. The fit and styles are exquisite and you will be very pleased with your purchase.
Peg
CO, United States
2013-08-16
I was so very impressed with the quality of merchandise, the method and condition with which it was shipped, and the speed of delivery. I think your web site is a great find, and I highly recommend your company to everyone! The quality of the clothes is very high, and styling very authentic. I purchased the items to wear for a barn costume party and picture day and am so thrilled with the items I have put together for this special day. My expectations were exceeded. One item was on backorder which you promptly informed me of, but much to my surprise, I received the item later that same day. I received everything within a week of placing my order. I was very impressed that everything arrived neatly pressed, in plastic bags, and on hangars. Your service is outstanding, which is a rare compliment from me with the quality of service provided by most companies these days. Having spent most of my career in customer service, I don't pass out high praise like this lightly. I would definitely shop with you again myself, and do highly recommend you to others. Thank you for a truly great experience!
MJH
PA, United States
2013-08-16
My fiancé has a giant head, so we weren't sure if we'd find a top hat that fit. But the XL size DOES fit him and he is thrilled with it. It is a tall hat and definitely a great special occasion hat!

United States
2013-08-16
Quality Quickly.

United States
2013-08-16
Quality Quickly.

United States
2013-08-16
Quality Quickly.

United States
2013-08-16
Quality Quickly.

United States
2013-08-16
What you want, when you want it. Reasonably priced.
Don
LO, United States
2013-08-16
The most BANG! for the buck. I love my holster, quality made and looks great! I ordered on line on Sunday. My holster was shipped on Monday. Great service and a quality product. This is a no brainer, buy one.
Michael
MI, United States
2013-08-16
I'm very happy with my tie, perfect!
Saint
VA, United States
2013-08-16
I love this hat. Its solid, well made and attractive. The red feather on the side is an added treat. The lining is good and solid, glued underneath the headband and stitched with a black cord like binder to the top. All told a finely made hat and not a cheap throw off. If I had any complaint its that medium just fits, if I were to let my hair grow it wouldn't. As it is I steamed it some to stretch it so it would ride right at the top of my ears level instead of on top of my head. 23 inches is medium on the chart, it could be a tad larger, but if I that is my only complaint, I have nothing to complain about. After I steamed it a couple of times, it fits fine and I have had a lot of compliments on it. I would and have recommended Historical Emporium... at least for this hat, I plan on buying other things and once I do I will be in a better position to speak... but if they meet the quality of this hat, they are stellar.
Alain
Canada
2013-08-16
The Real Thing !
Kenny
KA, United States
2013-08-16
I was very happy to recieve this belt/holster as a gift. The quality and design of the tooled leather surpassed my expectations. Not to mention my blackhawk fits and looks GREAT in the holster. I look forward to dealing with your company in the near future.
Bob
PA, United States
2013-08-16
I'm very impressed with the quality of your product. Exactly what I was looking for. You're service was impeccable.....and fast. I will be placing other orders.
Wayne
CA, United States
2013-08-16
This is not my first purchase and have always had great service and fast shipping

CA, United States
2013-08-16
These 2 Faux Aviator 'helmets' are going to work great as period pieces when my wife and I show up in our 50's vintage Super 7 Roadster! The car does its own job of announcing its presence... these funky aviator helmets add lots of flavor to our fun.

CA, United States
2013-08-16
I'm sad that the goggles aren't comfortable at all over my regular glasses! They actually press my glasses painfully into the bridge of my nose. Perhaps I can survive for short bursts of wearing them as my wife and I drive up to local destinations in our 50's Super 7 Roadster... They add quite a visual flair to the Faux Aviator Helmets we also purchased and look great for the purpose.
Gus
NV, United States
2013-08-16
The design set's this Safari Jacket far apart from contemporary popular fashion. As an international pilot I feel comfortable in this casual yet stylish classic. The style crosses modern multi-cultural norms for the internationally involved individual both business and socially. Capt. P. Augustus Mitchell Airline Transport Pilot Aviation Consult INTL
Doc
SC, United States
2013-08-16
Great vest love it. Silk fantastic.

United States
2013-08-16
Excellent assistance from Jamie

United States
2013-08-16
Just what I wanted and excellent quality for the price!
Pat
United States
2013-08-16

United States
2013-08-16
I was expecting 5-8 business days but UPS drove up 4 days after ordering!
Colleen
IN, United States
2013-08-16
Hi. I ordered a bow tie for my father. Just after I did that, he phoned and asked my to order a brown one as well. I had just ordered the other and I did not want to pay more shipping costs. I phoned and asked the last in customer service and she said she could still ship the brown bow tie and wave the shipping since they had just sent it to me. That is what I call valued customer service. I will definitely order from you again.
howie
United States
2013-08-17
I am deployed to Iraq and ordered this for my wife back home. She loves it.
Karen
CA, United States
2013-08-17
It is terrific ! My husband cant wait to wear it at a steampunk wedding.
Sharon
TX, United States
2013-08-17
I love the parasol. But the one I received is defective. It won't stay opened and will not stay closed when carrying handle end up. I have just sent it back for an exchange. I'm hopeful the replacement will be fine.
Jamey
United States
2013-08-17
Purchased the vest for a wedding. Just what we were looking for.
Leesa aka the pink wonder
CA, United States
2013-08-17
I just got this skirt and it is the bomb! Everyone loves it! Great quality. Beautiful fabric. The size is just what I ordered. I'm 5'4" so it's a little long for me but a three inch heel fixes all that. Now I'm saving my money for the Vivian fishtail skirt...
Lindy
AC, Australia
2013-08-17
I have now replaced almost my entire wardrobe with Historical Emporium clothes. They look amazing, fit great, are comfortable and splendid. I know some folks buy from here because it's costumey, but not me - the cotton and wool lines sold by the Emporium are high quality, hardy and stylish clothes fantastic for ordinary use, at a decent price, even with international postage. The service is also wonderful. I'm a woman who prefers to wear ye olde drag and the men's clothes here fit the bill better than anything else I've found in 20 years. Thanks Emporium!

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service