Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2013-09-08

Klamath Jack
ID, United States
2013-09-02
Received my raven walking stick. I am impressed with the quality of the piece. It will make a classy addition to my wardrobe.
Klamath Jack
ID, United States
2013-09-02
Service was quick and efficient.
Stewart
CA, United States
2013-09-03
Worked out great, thanks for great service
Stewart
CA, United States
2013-09-03
It was a hit! Thanks for quick shipping!
Stewart
CA, United States
2013-09-03
Perfect! Lots of compliments! Thanks!
Stewart
CA, United States
2013-09-03
It was the best accessory; it made the outfit!
Stewart
CA, United States
2013-09-03
Didn't use it because we didn't like the hook on the side.
Stewart
CA, United States
2013-09-03
Fit perfectly and made the outfit fit the theme of victorian State Fair.
Stewart
CA, United States
2013-09-03
Was excellant!!! Fastest shipping ever!
The Madness
New Zealand
2013-09-03
Absolutely outstanding suit!!!! I will be purchasing the purple one eventually.
Brian D
CT, United States
2013-09-03
Exactly the product I needed for my costume. Shipping was really fast. I am still perusing you pages and anticipating my next purchase.

United States
2013-09-03
Bought this as a costume for a play. It's well made and looks wonderful when worn. Highly recommend.
marion bradym nj
United States
2013-09-03
didn't fit in front and was much too large a shoulders in back; will need to return
marion brady, nj
United States
2013-09-03
didn't fit in front and was much too large a shoulders in back; will need to return
marion brady, nj
United States
2013-09-03
will work fine for awkward figure we are dressing
Frankie Santino
United States
2013-09-03
I understood the garment was made in USA so was very disappointed to find it had been made elsewhere. The garment was also very poorly made and required alterations.

United States
2013-09-03
Great hat, high quality, arrived quickly. Fits perfectly.
Billy
TE, United States
2013-09-04
These boots were a fantastic purchase. They are extremely well constructed, they looked incredibly good with my steampunk outfit, and can we talk about comfortable? They didn't make my feet hurt, they have great support and I liked wearing them! Do not be afraid to purchase these boots.
Billy
TE, United States
2013-09-04
This company provides quality merchandise and customer service that blew me out of the water. I was considering boots for a costume piece to wear to a convention. I emailed the company with specific questions regarding sizing, and they guided me through what information they needed to advise me how to purchase. They never once pushed any specific product, but guided me in selecting what would best suit my needs. Eve in customer service even took the time to contact me personally to help with measurements and suggestions on how to make my purchase work for me. The boots arrived well ahead of schedule and were fantastic, I love them. I would most certainly buy from this company again and strongly encourage anyone else to do the same.
J L Hoffman
--, United States
2013-09-04
This is a very high quality product. The workmanship is really nice. I would absolutely recommend Historical Emporium to anyone seeking good quality leather products and the old west look.
dave
MI, United States
2013-09-04
overall quality is good ,great price, good leather holster fits gun well,could use a snap where holster loops through to hold tighter, but measured over clothing where belt would be worn 36", 4" bigger than pants size like recommended. Middle hole measures 34" should have took advice of other review and ordered 6" bigger than waist size. maybe they're just not made to wear with modern jeans and clothing, but should still be measured correctly unless its supposed to stretch.
Elvis
FL, United States
2013-09-05
I am very impressed with this jacket so far. Color and fit are perfect. A great option for dressing up jeans or a pair of khakis when a suit is too formal. Ordering was easy and it was shipped and received in no time at all. I will definitely be purchasing from Historical Emporium again.
Sunny
MA, United States
2013-09-05
My son made his bride-to-be promise not to order any vests for their formal outdoor wedding. He and his best man were wearing dark brown pants, a tux shirt with cuff-link custom made and yellow paisley ties. The bride was in an ivory gown handmade by her bride-maid younger sister. It was painted with yellow and orange on the inside and her hair was dyed blond with orange streaks, which were beautifully arranged in a simple style. Fortunately, I had gone and ordered two vests for my boys in ivory and they pulled the entire wedding party together. Thank goodness I found you and that your delivery is so speedy! My accolades to you for your product and customer service! Regards, Sunny Caldieeeri
Haitch
United States
2013-09-05
Lovely item, a bit tight, just don't do any upper body workouts while wearing it! It's most flattering to those who have fairly slim arms so it shows them off. The collar can take a bit to get used to, as can the tight sleeves, but its well worth the trouble. Really dresses up a simple tank top into something you can wear out and feel very nice. Would recommend!
Glenn Reimel
WV, United States
2013-09-06
I was pleasantly suprised upon receipt of my new gun belt. The materials and craftsmanship was exceptional! I see alot of things on the Historical Emporium website that i will be looking to purchase in the future.
Carl
OH, United States
2013-09-06
The sizing was way off. The quality of the collar is good, but I followed the directions given for the sizing and it was no where near. First time I have been disappointed in this company.
Amy
MI, United States
2013-09-06
I received my Lorena Skirt in Black recently I was immediately impressed by the quality of this item. It's very well made, fits perfectly, and is very lovely. It was exactly what I hoped it would be. Thank you.
Gene Moore
MI, United States
2013-09-06

United States
2013-09-06
These are great sunglasses, they are very dark, they fit perfectly, nice and comfortable, and they look awesome.
Michael Bottari
NE, United States
2013-09-06
Hello, I have usually been very happy with your period reproductions, but this smoking jacket was made with very cheap velvet which caused puckering when it was sewn. I didn't return it as I needed it right away, but please be careful with your fabrics in the future.
Grayling Pingel
WI, United States
2013-09-06
I ordered this vest for an Americana music video shoot. I needed it in about 3 days so I paid a bit extra for speedy shipping. The vest arrived in about 2 days. It fits like a glove and looks excellent on camera! I also wear a brown Bailey Bowler hat with this vest and it is a super combo! This vest is really high quality and I guarantee, you will not be disappointed. At first I thought, "geez, I'm paying like $167. with speedy shipping, that's crazy for a vest", but once I had the vest all my doubts about it's worth vanished. It's excellent! This is my second purchase from Historical Emporium and both products were great! Thanks for having quality products.
Grayling Pingel
WI, United States
2013-09-06
This is my second purchase from Historical Emporium and both times, customer service was great! No problems here. Thanks.
Cheyenne
MI, United States
2013-09-06
I ordered these for my husband, but I love the look of them so much, I'm going to order a pair for myself! With just a couple of buttons sewn on to your pants or jeans you can wear them with any thing.
Grandma
OR, United States
2013-09-06
Received blouse in good time even though it was rated as "special order+1 week.
Grandma
OR, United States
2013-09-06
Well constructed and high quality fabric. Only one complaint that it was a tiny bit snug across the bust even though I am small busted.
Barb K
CA, United States
2013-09-06
I am going to use this for my wedding and it's PERFECT!! Quality product at a reasonable price! I will definitely be ordering more items from Historical products again! I am a victorian girl in a modern world :)
BarbK
CA, United States
2013-09-06
The item I ordered arrived fast and no issues! Item was packaged appropriately. Love this Place :))
tim
TE, United States
2013-09-06
seems to be well made,,,looks great..fits the 5.5 uburti 45lc well
Peg
PA, United States
2013-09-06
Very pleased with this skirt - lovely material and beautiful detail. The one-size-fits-all elastic band fit me fine.
Peg
PA, United States
2013-09-06
This beautiful blouse is of quality material and craft. Very pleased with this purchase.
Peg
PA, United States
2013-09-06
This bonnet is crafted very well and with excellent, quality material. It is sturdy as well.
L. Matthews
TX, United States
2013-09-06
I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw the holster and belt.I is so well crafted. It is well worth the price. I would surely order it again. That Blackhawk 357 fits perfect in it. I pray God bless you all and protect you all. Sincerely, L. Matthews
Jay Morgan
United States
2013-09-06
If this British Empire Pith Helmet - Khaki [001972] is not authentic, then it is, at least, convincing. Receipt of purchase was surprisingly and delightfully fast. I will shop here again.
Diane
NE, United States
2013-09-06
This bonnet is absolutely lovely and very becoming! It is exactly what we were looking for!
Will
CA, United States
2013-09-06
Rod HTA
KY, United States
2013-09-06
Well made, fit is good, material is good. Service and delivery also very good.

United States
2013-09-06
I love these suspenders. They are made out of quality leather. They wear well and will hold up forever. They are sized to a giant though. I am 6'5" and I wear them on the very last hole. I am a leather worker and I will just punch my own holes as needed but be aware if you are short you may need to punch several (many) new holes. Overall I think they are excellent quality.
Arabian Wind
KY, United States
2013-09-06
I bought this as a prop only. My sport is mounted shooting and I though maybe in a pinch I could use this in my sport. Here's the fact of the matter. It's a nice prop holster but does not hold a six shooter (colt .45 and clones) in a snug fit at all. It's like putting your gun in a round cup. Now I did give it 4 stars because if your using it for show only it will work fine. It does come with hammer leather ties to keep your gun in the holster. Seems to be of average quality and the tooling looks to be stamped not hand tooled. All in all I am satisfied with the holster as will fit my needs for our train robbery reenactments.

United States
2013-09-06
I think this monocle is really neat but there are just a couple things to be aware of. There is no immediate way to hang it from your gear if you do not want it hidden in a pocket. You will have to wrap a wire or something around it to create a hold or loop to hang it from your belt. Also there is no auto closing mechanism. It is really easy to open and close, but you do have to close it manually.
Arabian Wind
KY, United States
2013-09-06
I bought this as a prop only. My sport is mounted shooting and I though maybe in a pinch I could use this in my sport. Here's the fact of the matter. It's a nice prop holster but does not hold a six shooter (colt .45 and clones) in a snug fit at all. It's like putting your gun in a round cup. Now I did give it 4 stars because if your using it for show only it will work fine. It does come with hammer leather ties to keep your gun in the holster. Seems to be of average quality and the tooling looks to be stamped not hand tooled. All in all I am satisfied with the holster as it will fit my needs for our train robbery reenactments. I did not have any die bleeding on to my cloths as complained with other reviews.
Alberta
CA, United States
2013-09-06
Found the site on the internet and ventured to order. Was very pleased with product and service. Definitely recommend you to others. Thank you for providing historic clothing for those of us who are docents.
Leslie
CA, United States
2013-09-06
Sizing was accurate, nice quality, very happy with purchase. Arrived sooner than expected too.
Leslie
CA, United States
2013-09-06
Item arrived sooner than expected well packaged.
Ronald A. Ferreira
KY, United States
2013-09-06
I sent back my first order as it was to small and would not fit my holster. I sent insructions on what I wanted & you totally messed that up. You had my email & phone number if you had any questions. Nothing. I took the gun belt to a shoe maker to have made to fit my holster. I even called after I sent the first belt back & you still got it wrong. the One star rating is not for the belt but your failure to read and understand what I wanted.
JPrimus
AL, United States
2013-09-06
The skirt was exactly as in the picture. The material is durable and heavy. For the most part the stitching is very secure. (three stitches in the waist band unraveled but very easily fixed by even a complete sewing novice like me.). I am happy over all.
Rick
CA, United States
2013-09-06
These trousers were very well made and looked exactly like the photos. This is one thing I LOVE about Historical Emporium - their product photos are very accurate. The pants fit well and I'm sure will last a long time. Thank you Historical Emporium.
Rick
CA, United States
2013-09-06
I love the brushed cotton trousers. They look classier than the canvas ones (which I also have and love) and are very sturdy and well made.
Eddie
VA, United States
2013-09-06
Very nice, perfect fit, well made product, I love them and plan on ordering several more pair.
Darlene Moore
TN, United States
2013-09-06
The people there was very helpful, and really nice. We have received our order, and are very happy with them. The holsters are just what we have been looking for. Your people gave us all the information on the mailing and when we would receive it, and they were correct. Hope to do more business with you in the future. We wish that you had a book on everything that you have, I would like to see your cloths products for both women and men. Once again you all did a great job. I would have given your company a 10 star rating. We will be very happy to recommend you to others, with no hesitation. We really love the holsters. Thank you so very much, Don and Darlene Moore
john
LA, United States
2013-09-06
love the pants, i wish i could buy pants at the store with suspender buttons
john
LA, United States
2013-09-06
great service, i will be buying from you all again.i
Bmike
FL, United States
2013-09-06
Very nice product. Quality material and stitching. Timely delivery. Would definitely recommend to others.
James
TN, United States
2013-09-06
I purchased a Sovereign regency Tailcoat for an English Country Dance. When it arrived I immediately saw it was superbly crafted and a garment of definite appeal! The fit was exactly right. The materials were definitely of quality! I am anticipating many enjoyable hours on the dance floor with this wonderful coat. I would recommend this garment to all gentlemen who require a regency attire of distinction.

United States
2013-09-06

United States
2013-09-06
Bob
WI, United States
2013-09-06
Really nice vest, but not the olive color I was thinking of. Still a nice piece worth keeping.
DyMaBy
CA, United States
2013-09-06
My husband and I couldn't have been more thrilled with these! They fit him great and look fantastic. Highly recommended for the portly gentleman! We love these so much we are planning on buying these in each color they come in!
DyMaBy
CA, United States
2013-09-06
Great pattern, beautiful colors, and the pocket square really sets this ascot off in an outfit. Very pleased!
Patty
NY, United States
2013-09-06
well made and very comfortable. As stated, it does run small to size.
Tina Elder
CA, United States
2013-09-06
This is very nice craftsmanship, other than running very small! It is great
Tina Elder
CA, United States
2013-09-06
Looks great! I feel like I am back in time
Alaska
AL, United States
2013-09-06
Wonderful quality. Very durable and beautiful shirt. We were have been extremely pleased with everything we've bought from Historical Emporium.
Alaska
AL, United States
2013-09-06
Beautiful blouse! The pictures just don't do it justice. The color is amazing and the quality is incredible!
Alaska
AL, United States
2013-09-06
This blouse is beautiful on! The pictures just don't do it justice.
Alaska
AL, United States
2013-09-06
I bought these as a woman to wear. They are amazing and the quality is wonderful but the buckle in the back has some kind of strange prong closure that makes it stick out and it will not stay flat. It is uncomfortable when sitting or leaning against a hard surface. Not much I can do except change out the buckle for another type since I've already washed the pants. Otherwise very nice.
Alaska
AK, United States
2013-09-06
I ordered these one size smaller than I normally wear after reading the reviews and they were still a tad loose but after washing, they fit perfectly! I love them! Sturdy but soft on the skin and delightful to wear. I have a feeling they will soon become part of my favorite shooting outfit!
Mark
NC, United States
2013-09-06
I recently purchased the Black Polka Dot Cotton Teck Tie and I want to let you know how extraordinarily pleased I am with it. Every re-enactor who is serious about historic authenticity should own this item. About a year ago, I purchased a similar item from a supplier outside the U.S. The Teck Tie from Historical Emporium cost a fraction of what I paid for the overseas item, and the Emporium's version is identical to what is depicted in period photography and portraits. Kudos to the folks at Historical Emporium!
Peter
NE, United States
2013-09-07
This is a great vest! It is a little heavier than the average vest, which makes it great for cooler temperatures. If you want to use the three pockets, you will have to cut open the stitching, but a simple pen knife makes it a snap. The vest is very stylish and I like the high collar. I received the vest a few days after placing my order: wonderful expediency!
Peter
NE, United States
2013-09-07
This vest looks great against white or light colored shirts. I also like wearing it with black shirts, too. The vest is a darker green than it appears in the catalog photo. I love the rich, dark green color and the embroidery is stylish.
Beth
OR, United States
2013-09-07
A great price and good quality
Beth
United States
2013-09-07
Jack
IN, United States
2013-09-07
This vest was very durable and looks great. The only complaint that I have is that the vest is not available in "tall" sizes, making it feel as though it is riding up any time I raise my hand over my head. Fortunately, when combined with the high waist of the Highland Pants it is less of an issue. I would recommend purchasing this vest with the other items in the Highland line for a nice retro suit.
Sheila
NO, United States
2013-09-07
I love it! It's well made and the design is and color is beautiful ! I'm very satisfied and would highly recommend this product.
Sheila
NO, United States
2013-09-07
I ordered this one as well as the blue one and they are both beautiful. I'm very pleased with my purchase!!
Glen
VI, United States
2013-09-07
These trousers fit well (follow the sizing guide). The cloth is durable but comfortable, and, with the right accessories, they are very fashionable. Great buy.
Glen
VI, United States
2013-09-07
I got my trousers in time for a wedding, but only just. I ordered them 4 weeks ahead of time and was stuck getting them hemmed the day of the wedding. It was too close for comfort. If the item is not stocked by HE and must be ordered from the manufacturer, then allot substantially more time for delivery.
Marlen
KE, United States
2013-09-07
I must say that I am VERY well pleased with the product. I'm a carpenter by trade and need the sun protection the product provides. Its very well constructed and comfortable. Thanks for rendering good products and good service.
1880s Guy
AL, Canada
2013-09-07
Expansive selection of quality products. Easy for us Canucks as all shipping, dues, tarriffs, taxes & other such import privileges were included. Delivered to my door. Highly & already recommended. Keep up the good work.
Jan
NE, United States
2013-09-07
Was looking for the steampunk look and saw this helmet. Got it and loved it.
Jan
NE, United States
2013-09-07
Ordered online and it wasn't long that I had my order in my hand. Quick, easy service.

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service