Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2013-09-15

Leon
CA, United States
2013-09-10
This vest looks even more fantastic in person.
Leon
CA, United States
2013-09-10
I have to say i am very happy with this coat.
Leon
CA, United States
2013-09-10
Historical Emporium is by far the only store that keeps delivering great and wonderful products and also has very quick shipping as well.I can honestly say that this is the only store i will shop when it comes to true Sartorial Splendor.Thank You Historical Emporium for all of your wonderful service!

NV, United States
2013-09-10
These suspenders are well made and very durable. They add just the right touch any ensemble. Go great with the vigilante pants!

United States
2013-09-11
Fits perfectly. Well made and adds that touch of class you need to dress up any outfit. Love it!

NV, United States
2013-09-11
Get these trousers! Fit is superb and love the feel. Easy to hem and extremely well made. Purchased this for our steampunk wedding, but can't wait to find more ways to accessorize these pants.
Ronald F.
KY, United States
2013-09-11
I sent back my first order as it was to small and would not fit my holster. I sent insructions on what I wanted & you totally messed that up. You had my email & phone number if you had any questions. Nothing. I took the gun belt to a shoe maker to have made to fit my holster. I even called after I sent the first belt back & you still got it wrong. the One star rating is not for the belt but your failure to read and understand what I wanted.
High Desert Dandy
CA, United States
2013-09-11
The pictures do not do this shirt justice; it is absolutely beautiful and very well made. The size chart, however, is completely wrong. This shirt is not trim in the slightest. In fact it is quite oversized. I ordered the size that matched my chest size and found it to be very roomy bordering on too large. If you want a slightly oversized "puffy" look (like the picture) then order according to your chest size. If you want a trimmer, tailored look then order a size down. The rayon material is actually very nice. It drapes beautifully and has a wonderful, velvety, silk-like feel to it. It is very soft and comfortable. While not 100% historically accurate, this shirt is perfect for a variety of looks including regency, goth, vampire and pirate. Pair it with some fall front trousers and knee high riding boots and even Fabio will be jealous.
DrJack
United States
2013-09-12
While the scope looks fantastic, it arrived completely useless to use as an actual spy glass. The optics were either made wrong in the manufacturing or were damaged during shipping. While I have no need to use this as an actual telescope, it would have been nice to be able to. The leather case it came with is also of a very poor quality. Cheap, thin leather that appeared to have started to mildew prior to shipment. I am thoroughly unimpressed.
DrJack
United States
2013-09-12
The glove are soft and supple, yet sturdy. The fit is fantastic and the workmanship is very fine. These glove are a quality piece of clothing, not a simple costume prop.
DrJack
United States
2013-09-12
Hands down the best collars I've found.
DrJack
United States
2013-09-12
Hands down the best collars I've found.
DrJack
United States
2013-09-12
These gaiters arrived is somewhat poor condidtion, but after some saddle soap and shoe grease, they are soft, supple, and look fantastic. Solid constructions and rugged durability.
DrJack
United States
2013-09-12
Well made, and quite dressy.

United States
2013-09-13
This coat was poorly constructed. I took it to the tailor and he could not fix the puffiness in the shoulders because it was not made in a way that could even be fixed without rebuilding the whole coat. He didn't have the fabric, so this was not even an option, not to mention the expense. I found a different coat online that was better.
Donna Clark
FL, United States
2013-09-13
This was a gift to my husband for his birthday and he loves it. Advised by historical emporium to order 4-6 inches larger than actual waist size gives him a perfect fit. Thank you Historical Emporium.
Duane
NC, United States
2013-09-13
The hat is AWESOME .... except for ..... When I opened it .... the top rim was a little discolored ... like the hat had been sitting upside down and had been moved around a lot in this position ... I bought the hat to play live in ... and It came just in time for a gig that night ... so I didn't send it back ... one ... very little spot had gone all the way thru and was showing white ... a black sharpie fixed that spot .... I took black shoe polish and very lightly went around the top and it looks fine now .... I still gave you 4 stars as I am really pleased with the hat ... and it was a big hit at the gig ... I wish there was a way I could send you a picture .. LOL I will be getting the brown and probably a standard top hat or 2 also I wish I could tell on the website if they are made by the same manufacturer.
Mike
OH, United States
2013-09-13
Very good quality and authentic. Purchased this for a historical event, but plan to wear it for regular wear also with or without the authentic Y-braces. Excellent workmanship and fabric quality!
Mike
OH, United States
2013-09-13
Good quality and workmanship.
Mike
OH, United States
2013-09-13
It was worth the wait for the special order of this shirt. Excellent workmanship and fabric quality. Purchased this for a historical event. But, will also wear it with the trousers for regular wear.
Elise
OH, United States
2013-09-13
Love the fabric! I was concerned that the gathered waist would make me feel pudgy, but it doesn't when blousing the blouse. Purchased this for a historical event, but will wear it with different accessories for regular wear. Excellent fabric and workmanship! Very elegant!
Ellie
OH, United States
2013-09-13
Very nice quality and workmanship. This is great for historical events or regular wear - just change the accessories.
Andrea
SO, United States
2013-09-13
I bought this for my husband who wears a large size hat. It fit him nicely and he is sooo cute in it. It is well made and looks better than many more expensive hats of a similar style. This particular style is also hard to find in regular stores, even ones who do hats only. I recommend this very highly. You won't be disappointed in the quality or fit!
Ellie
OH, United States
2013-09-13
We needed outfits for a historical event. So, we Googled several web site options. There were lesser expensive web sites with pre-made historical event clothes. But, the reviews provided by other users of your various clothes were very helpful in deciding to purchase from Emporium. The quality of fabric and workmanship of the outfits we have purchased from Emporium is worth the money spent. We received good service and the quality of the clothes exceeded our expectations. We will remember to shop with Emporium again and we have shared and recommended your web site with several friends already. We are very happy with our purchases.
Duane Hogan
NC, United States
2013-09-13
Please see my review of the hat. I gave a 3 stars because I do not believe the issue I had with the hat was from the manufacturer ... but from handling damage at your end ... possibly in the shipping box ... or on a shelve ... but I cannot stress enough that I plan on doing more business with you ... I am a process engineer making aircraft engine parts ... and I understand how handling damage occurs ... hope this helps in future shipments for you ...
Lotty67
KE, United States
2013-09-13
Nice & easy purchase, very speedy delivery to England. Excellent quailty & fit, would recommend this website.
Lotty67
KE, United States
2013-09-13
Awesome trousers or as you Americans call 'Pants', could not find anything like this in England. Super quailty, very speedy delivery to UK, would recommend this website & use again!
Lotty67
KE, United States
2013-09-13
Perfect fit & super quailty waistcoat. Ordered from UK, fast delivery. Would recommend & buy again from this website.
Lotty67
KE, United States
2013-09-13
Super quailty merchandise & great communications. Would recommend this website & use again.
johnhenry
United States
2013-09-13
The holster and belt were much more than I had expected. The belt fit perfect and the pistol fit in the holster as guaranteed. Color was perfect. I couldn't be happier.
Judge Roy Mean
CO, United States
2013-09-13
These fit as described. Nice details abound. I do wish Historical Emporium carried some 100% wool pants as more faithful reproductions of the fabrics used, rather than blends. Having said that, I am still pleased with these pants.

United States
2013-09-13
Judge Roy Mean
CO, United States
2013-09-13
Queries are answered quickly, purchases ship quickly, communication is prompt and well written. Returns (my fault) were handled rapidly and professionally with a minimum of fuss.
Will
CA, United States
2013-09-13
Johjn Philip
TE, United States
2013-09-13
Nice products. I will be ordering again
Shari
CA, United States
2013-09-13
A wonderful item. Fits perfectly. Love the cinnabar red color which is perfect to wear for the New Almaden Quicksilver Mining Museum.
Shari
CA, United States
2013-09-13
I like the style of the antique satin day dress in red. I am very happy with the excellent communication regarding this item. Thank you for keeping my name on the waiting list for this item. I hope to shop with you again. I have recommended you to other park interpreters at the New Almaden Quicksilver Mining Museum. I know they are very happy with their "Living History" outfits as well. Thank you. You run an excellent business. I wish you had a retail store. Shari
Will
CA, United States
2013-09-13
This pocket watch is beautiful and stylish, and the weight and size is just right. It also keeps perfect time - - - as long as you remember to wind it daily!
James Seaver
NO, United States
2013-09-13
second to none for customer service, all items exceeded all exspectations
Aingeal
CA, United States
2013-09-13
We received our royal blue puff tie very quickly, which we appreciated. It is beautiful and looked great on my husband at the wedding of our daughter. We did have a difficult time figuring out how to tie it, so maybe more clarity on that would be great! Thanks for great service and a great product!

WA, United States
2013-09-13
Ordered the sleeve garters after ordering a shirt, and seeing how the cuffs hung. They were confortable and easy to adjust during the day. I had modified the sleeve button holes to use cufflinks on the sleeves, so I wanted them to show off the cuff links but not hang too far. After being worn for about 8 hours, I took them off without looking to closely and hung them with the suit coat. When getting the suit ready for cleaning noticed a few silk threads were loose, but clipped them and the garters look fine.
Trudy
AZ, United States
2013-09-13
It was perfect!! Worn by my husband for our daughters recent wedding. He looked very handsome. The fit, ease and quality was excellent. We did feel it was rather expensive as far as the shipping & handling. It weighed nothing & simply required a small shipping envelope.
Tim
KA, United States
2013-09-13
The ascot arrived in a timely manner, and is of good quality. I will definitely be purchasing from Historical Emporium again.
Jim
VI, United States
2013-09-13
it looks fantastic, but i haven't wound it up to see how well it keeps time, and my friend for whom it will be a retirement gift, hasn't had a chance to use it yet
Honey
QU, Australia
2013-09-13
I am the props mistress for the above society, and we are currently in rehearsal for "Phantom of the Opera". I found your website and easily located the walking canes I needed. Delivery was prompt and I would certainly shop with you again and recommend your service.
Christopher
CA, United States
2013-09-13
I read the reviews and took a chance. Poor choice. I wear a 10. The 10-11 was equal to a size 14. Sizing is all wrong. Gaiters were returned without issue with comments attached. This product should be removed from the site. It does not due justice to the other quality products or EXCELLENT customer service. They are the best for service.
Christopher
CA, United States
2013-09-13
Customer service is fantastic. Recent large purchase and very happy with the assistance offered and given. A huge thumbs up to the store.
Andy Bell
WE, Australia
2013-09-14
Absolutely impressed with service - 10 out of 10.
Big Mc Mikel
RH, Germany
2013-09-14
I m a German customer and I had been very happy to find this shop. They have so many interesting things like this wonderfull shirt, also in my size in 3XL. The whole handling had been very easy and save, the shipping much faster than I expected. Because I m an acive CAS-shooter and member of the " Mannheimer western Shooter ", we want to take this shop at our lokal homepage. See you again, thank you!!

United States
2013-09-14
works great for concealing my revolver easy to adjust

United States
2013-09-14
the leather work is awesome and the gun belt works great for my 45 revolver, i love it

United States
2013-09-14
the website was easy to negotiate and i received my items in a timely manner
Tea-Talks
MI, United States
2013-09-14
This dress fit perfectly right. I am a size 10-12. I am a guest speaker for women's groups and it was just right for late 1800's topic.
Chone
CA, United States
2013-09-14
I live in San Ho so I was able to go pick the article up. Unfortunately I had to return it, but the customer service was really good throughout the purchase, pick up and return process. I'll definitely buy something else after the wedding. I didn't get to wear the article in but the construction appeared to be solid and it looked great, and fit really well off the rack.
Hellz
MI, United States
2013-09-14
I absolutely love this top. It's very soft and comfortable and goes great with my steampunk corset. I would buy 10 in different colors. c:
Mike
UT, United States
2013-09-14
Couldn't ask for a better holster, very good looking and well made.
Mike
UT, United States
2013-09-14
Superior Customer Service, very professional and courteous. Helped me select the right size.

United States
2013-09-14
This is a beautiful blouse. I ordered according to the measurements listed and it fits perfectly!!

United States
2013-09-14
This bonnet is even more impressive than the pictures!

United States
2013-09-14
All items were delivered in a timely fashion and were exactly what was expected!
chetsr
CA, United States
2013-09-14
I was delighted to receive the last order, it was just as I expected in size and quality. Items like this will give years of service. I would like to add some advise for those people who buy products of this type for the first time and don't know how to care for the item. Always rub it down with a leather restorer like mike oil and let it set a day or 2. I have read other reviews where people were not satisfied, that's because they didn't know how to take care of the product they were buying

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service