Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2013-10-13

Tim Sj÷berg
Sweden
2013-10-07
Well remember to take one or two sizes bigger. They are also long by standard. So have them made shorter at your local tailor is adviceable.
Tim Sj÷berg
Sweden
2013-10-07
For uss gentlemen with little or no beard growth is this an excellent alternative!
Tim Sj÷berg
Sweden
2013-10-07
I should have taken two or three sizes bigger. Bit still fits like a glove :)
Becky McGruder
MO, United States
2013-10-07
Size runs small. Bought a 2X, (usually wear large or x-large) and it was still too tight in the bust. Gave it to my daughter.
Dr Hugo
AR, United States
2013-10-07
So far this is the best made costume piece I have ever bought. The price was great too. Almost half of te competitors. Thanks.
Chuck P
CA, United States
2013-10-07
Everything arrived promptly and in good order. One item I wanted to order was out of stock. A helpful staff person showed me a suitable substitute which was in stock and even helped me with the sizing. Very helpful and easy to deal with.
Lari
WE, United States
2013-10-07
This vest is very well made and fits like it was tailored for me, I will definitely be doing more business with them in the future.
Dakrushel
AL, Canada
2013-10-07
I purchased this compass to go with the Gunner's Trench coat which will someday (hopefully) in turn go with a nice old fashioned airplane. I do not know that it will see any use while flying but it points north and it does look the part (the needle appears a bit different than what is pictured on the site; a black arrow rather than the red and white magnet) so for the price I am quite satisfied.
Tekfoster
OR, United States
2013-10-08
I was looking for a vest for the upcoming holiday season, and stumbled upon Historical Emporium. After perusing the website, i settled on the Emerald Isle vest. Of course to go with it, I also bought a Fairfield shirt, Wing Tip detachable collar, A Black Farnsworth Satin Puff Tie, and a pocket watch. I was uneasy about purchasing clothing online, as I am unsure of my exact size. The website instructions explained things perfectly, and when my clothes arrived (in only 4 days!!!!), everything fit as if it were tailor made just for me! I am beyond happy with purchase! The clothing is of high quality, and looks better than the web pictures showed. Looks like I found my new clothier. Next purchase will undoubtably be a tailcoat.
bigchiefbuttnug
United States
2013-10-10
beauitiful vest , not made for larger men with long torsos, does not fit right looks silly
P Jay
PA, United States
2013-10-10
This union suit was a great companion in the morning, while sitting in the Algonquin cabin by the wood stove, sipping coffee and reading. Very convenient for trips to the outhouse at dawn's early light.
Lucky7Camper
NY, United States
2013-10-11
Nice suspenders and nice leather. They look very authentic. They were exactly as listed and I was quite pleased with their quality. I am excited to find more products on this website that I can wear on a regular basis. I bought these suspenders for their style and intend to wear them to hold my pants up! Thank you.
Jason
NJ, United States
2013-10-11
This holster works well with my halloween costume. However, the number of bullet "loops" turned out to be less that what I saw in the pictures. I purchased too many inert rounds thinking there were more loops. But overall i'm happy with the purchase. I just wish I had emailed H.E. first before purchasing so many rounds!
Jason
NJ, United States
2013-10-11
This is what I was looking for! But, the clasp on the back (that allows you to tighten the vest) is not a kind of clasp I've ever seen before. So, I'm still trying to figure out how it works.
John
United States
2013-10-11
KAT
AZ, United States
2013-10-11
I chose this lovely skirt because it was the most different and stunning one of all that I looked up on the Internet. The material is beautiful and it is well made. It absolutely met all my expectations and more! Great service, and I have been showing your website to many friends!
Tom
MI, United States
2013-10-11
Highly recommended. Top quality stuff. Excellent customer service. Very fast delivery & was expertly packaged for shipping.
Tracy
FL, United States
2013-10-11
This shirt is really nice. The fabric is light weight but not flimsy, and the subtle pattern will pucker just the tiniest bit if you put the shirt in the dryer, giving it a really interesting dimension (that will iron out if you don't like it that way). The fit is perfect -- generous (and accurate to what how a shirt of that time period would fit) without being a total tent. A nice bonus is that it doesn't end up hopelessly, unwearably wrinkled out of the dryer if you take it out right away. Yes, it will probably need a touch-up with the iron, but it doesn't look like it's been slept in. Very happy with it!
Lucky7Camper
NY, United States
2013-10-11
Authentic and New. Men's pants are difficult to find with any type of style variation besides extra pockets everywhere or they're cut to be "hip-huggers". I bought these to wear around the city. They're cool and just different enough and will look great with my new leather suspsenders I purchased here or my old worn braided pair.
Lucky7Camper
NY, United States
2013-10-11
I googled authentic swimwear and came upon this site. I was quite impressed with their selections and authenticity and SIZES! The mustache page just cracks me up. The items I ordered were really nicer than I expected and not for any event but just to wear as the rest of my clothes, everyday. Very nice customer service and will definately come back for more. I highly recommend this company and products. I would love to see what a physical store would look like with all these very cool and authenticly styled products. I can hear the floor boards creaking and see dust the on top shelf from here.

United States
2013-10-11
What more can I say...these are nothing short of awesome. Buy them and you won't be disappointed.

United States
2013-10-11
Bought these to go with the mad scientist outfit. Spot on. No well respected Mad Scientist Wannabe would be caught dead with out these gauntlets. They fit like a glove.
Boom Chuckalucka
United States
2013-10-11
This is truly a work to behold. I am thrilled with this purchase! Not only will this be worn as a Halloween costume, but I plan on wearing this as part of my every day attire. Of course, this will conflict with Commando Thursday, but I am sure I can work around this small detail.
rsq
TE, United States
2013-10-11
would love for it to have options on the buttons. Perhaps pearls to give it a dressier look
rsq
TE, United States
2013-10-11
wish it were a heavier material - I will be returning this
Stayton N. Kent
WA, United States
2013-10-11
This product was here is an relatively short amount of time. Also, it is what they say it is. I have to say that their merchandise has great quality to it.
Stayton N. Kent
WA, United States
2013-10-11
This product is really great. I like all of what this Site has to offer.
Mickey
United States
2013-10-11
Beautiful bonnet. Beyond expectations. Great service and company.
Dana
MO, United States
2013-10-11
Thanks to the Historical Emporium for expediting our shipment!! We needed the clothing for an event and it got here in plenty of time! Great stuff!
Mike
WA, United States
2013-10-11
We are decorating a media room in the Laurel and Hardy theme and needed an authentic derby to replicate the tall version that Stan Laurel wore in their films. This derby fit the bill to a tee. Quality workmanship. Happy with purchase.
JKDahlstrom
CA, United States
2013-10-11
I decided to purchase from Historical Emporium because I wanted something more authentic than all the cookie-cutter items I've seen in the stores. From the item discriptions showing the measurements; the wide selections; and the unbeatable prices; I knew I found the right place. I received the items very fast and they were even better than the pictures!! Nice thick material and all the detail from the stitching to the accents just blew me away! I am deffenitly going to be back for more and I am going to recommend Historical Emporium to everyone I know. Thanks for the great items and service!!!!

Germany
2013-10-11
Howdy, a great vest that fits well, looks good, is fine tailored and in a great design!!! Once more a great deal with historical emporium. Special thanks for shipping to europe as well Best regards Ramblin H., Germany

Germany
2013-10-11
Charles Brown
TE, United States
2013-10-11
Fits great. Looks good with my Confederate officer's uniform.
Charles Brown
TE, United States
2013-10-11
Very fast shipping. Overall good experience. Will be repeat customer.
John D Woodland
MI, United States
2013-10-11
Absolutely loved it. I bought it for a theatrical production in our theatre. I like it so much I think I'll be purchasing one for myself.
Debby
CA, United States
2013-10-11
This apron was heavier than I expected! An amazing piece made of high quality material. Well worth the price. Oh the pockets are great to hold items. Extremely pleased with the purchase.
John D Woodland
MI, United States
2013-10-11
I love dealing with historical/Gentleman's emporium. I know their taste and quality of execution which is really important to me. I know it is going to be not only a quality garment but exactly as it appeared in your on-line e-mail.
Debby
CA, United States
2013-10-11
I love this bonnet! There were no washing instructions but it washed well and I hung it to dry. Great product at a fantastic price
Karl
NE, United States
2013-10-11
So, I ignored all warnings on the site and waited until the last minute to order the pieces i needed for my function. I Called up and explained the situation. I was taken care of by a fantastic gentleman that worked with me to tweak my order to make sure that everything was on hand and could be shipped that day. He then went above and beyond and personally made sure that my items got to shipping and were sent out a couple hours later the same day (Tuesday). I had my package in hand Thursday afternoon. Amazing service.
Jayne
ON, Canada
2013-10-11
This is a great unlined Fedora. The price is really good, the best I found, and the size was absolutely accurate. Thankyou, you never let me down
Jayne
ON, Canada
2013-10-11
I have ordered various items from the Emporium over the last few years. I'm always happy with the quality of the products and the excellent service. I'm always surprised at how quickly things arrive, especially since I'm in Canada. I would absolutely recommend to anyone looking for period clothing and accessories to shop at the Emporium. Thanks for being there!
Cindy
OR, United States
2013-10-11
Great quality and fit.
Dean
United States
2013-10-11
Great vest. Well made.
Dean
CA, United States
2013-10-11
Quick shipping. Well packaged. Great doing business.
Eric
CA, United States
2013-10-11
These pants are exceedingly comfortable, even with how high they are and how long the legs are, I'll have to get them tailored to length but other than that, these are very nice.
Cindy
OR, United States
2013-10-11
Elegant and nice quality.
Cindy
OR, United States
2013-10-11
There are very few places you can buy reproduction historical clothing for men and you are the best. The products exceeded expectations. Service was excellent with extremely fast shipping. I have shopped with you before and will, of course, shop with you again. I am in charge of the living history players for our historical society and I direct all of my players to your website to find their costumes and accessories.
japii
PA, United States
2013-10-11
Quality waist coat, but too small, had to return
Shelley
OR, United States
2013-10-11
I ordered a black, hand-tooled, leather, western looking gun belt and holster. It looked exactly as it did in the picture, and was exactly as described. I am very pleased with it and would order from Historical Emporium again. I also received it in a very timely manner. Even though they didn't have it in my exact size, the customer service rep. recommended one size smaller and it did fit. I could not find this holster and belt on any other website or local store, so I am glad I found it on the Historical Emporium site. Shelley in Oregon
japii
PA, United States
2013-10-11
Why did you choose to purchase from us? >Quality Merchandise, reasonable prices, FANTASTIC service! Did your purchase meet or exceed your expectations? >exceeded, just too small, return process TOO EASY! Did we provide good service? >Yes, As Usual! Would you shop with us again? >whenver the need arises! Would you recommend us to others? >Most definitely!
monte
WA, United States
2013-10-11
Very nice for the price. Very happy with the purchase.
Coop
IN, United States
2013-10-11
I'm impressed with the quality of this item. The leather is buttery soft and has that great leather smell. The cut, stitching and hardware are all hi quality. The size is perfect! The only thing I would like added is a foam ear cup to help block the wind noise at higher speeds on the bike. I would still highly recommend the item and give it 5 out of 5. Thanks for the great product and service.
Coop
IN, United States
2013-10-11
Very nice item and super fast shipping! Thanks, You're saved on my favorite stores. Coop
Emily
NE, United States
2013-10-11
This is a nice jacket overall. But....I was a little disappointed that the buttons were plastic and not metal and I felt that it looked more like a pirate jacket than a turn of the century edwardian piece. So it depends on the look your going for with this one. I ended up returning this jacket primarily because it was way too big, I read reviews that made me think it would run small, but I think it runs pretty true to size if you follow their sizing chart. I didn't bother ordering a replacement though because I simply didn't love the look once I put it on.
Emily
NV, United States
2013-10-11
This is a great skirt if you want to look a little sexy, but still be comfortable and have lots of mobility for dancing, etc. I feel this skirt runs pretty true to size if you follow their sizing chart. I wear a size 10/12 and ordered size XL, which fits perfectly. I wore this to a turn of the century edwardian/steam punk themed wedding and received tons of compliments. This skirt is really versatile, I plan to wear it for Halloween as part of a witch costume or would work well with a Western themed costume as well. Its well made and very comfortable.
Daniel
TE, United States
2013-10-11
This is the perfect prop for my Halloween costume and at the best price anywhere.
Daniel
TE, United States
2013-10-11
My purchase met expectations. Service was of good quality, and I will keep this site in mind for future shopping. I purchased here because they had the best price on the costume item I wanted.
ljcooke
UT, United States
2013-10-11
This isn't a cheap lab coat; it feels like the real deal! The unfortunate thing is that my husband (who is a scientist) has taken to wearing it around the house. Not sure how I feel about that. But a wonderful product, and highly recommended.
ljcooke
UT, United States
2013-10-11
These goggles look amazing and feel lighter than you might expect. I'm not sure that my husband should be using them as protective goggles while he does his real "mad science" but he does. Highly recommended.
ljcooke
UT, United States
2013-10-11
I didn't have to deal with anyone at the company because there were no problems with our order. But I was amazed by how quickly our products shipped. We will be ordering from Historical Emporium again.
GWelch
CA, United States
2013-10-11
Fabric and lace good quality. Fit was good, it fits, I did have to pin the middle front button to avoid the bust bulge, but shoulders fit very well. Well made. This is a very good quality item. The service was very timely it just took three days!
Novi Orbis
--, Australia
2013-10-11
Very beautiful pants, Rather taught in places however. If tightened to the extremities, one develops a severe case of "mum-bum". Proceed with fashionable caution. Otherwise glorious replica's, most enjoyable slacks.
All smiles!
IL, United States
2013-10-11
The bonnet looks exactly like the picture! It is stunning and very well made. I love it!
Jill
PA, United States
2013-10-11
This compass is exactly what I expected. It will make an excellent addition to my steampunk costume.
Jill
PA, United States
2013-10-11
I ordered this loupy to complete my Halloween costume. Imagine my surprise when I discovered it actually works. I have been using it to do some detail sewing. Excellent!
Jill
PA, United States
2013-10-11
I was very happy with my purchases from your store. My items arrived in good shape and in a very short period of time. I would absolutely shop with you again and have been recommending you to my friends. Thank you!
Derek
LA, United States
2013-10-11
This was exactly what I was looking for...a double breasted victorian-era lab coat. Quality is very good, if I was a scientist I would probably wear this lab coat rather than modern lab coats because it looks awesome and is actually a bit thicker than some lab coats I see people wearing. I have seen this style of lab coat for sale elsewhere for more money and a lesser quality (non-functioning buttons, velcro closure). Shipping was very fast too.
Sym
TX, United States
2013-10-11
I absolutely love this, it really dresses up a tank top, or I can wear it over a camisole top that is not quite 'enough' to wear to work, and together its perfect. Wish there were more colors.
Sym
TX, United States
2013-10-11
No special circumstances, just great customer service as always.

United States
2013-10-12
I just love this coat! It looks great and is very well made. and made in America too!

United States
2013-10-12
I has sent an email about the pockets on my new frock coat and received a very prompt and informed answer. This is a mark of very good customer service. I would also like to add that my item was delivered on the exact day that it was promised. I really like the selection of items that you have and already am considering another purchase in the future.
Tania Kane
New Zealand
2013-10-12
I'm rapt with my purchase. I will definitely shop again and recommend you to friends.
Noelle
MI, United States
2013-10-12
This blouse surpasses any expectations I had for it. It is comfortable, ultra-feminine and makes me feel beautiful when I put it on. I bought it for a Halloween costume, but will be wearing it on Christmas instead.
Dan
TE, United States
2013-10-12
Mine were very good, did their job well and comfortably, but they must've been in stock for some time as the leather end of the right front strap tore; I'll stay with the 5 Star Rating, up until the leather tore, it can happen. Historical Emporium made good on a new pair of suspenders and refunded the price difference to me.

United States
2013-10-12
The fundamental work shirt fits great and gives a great look and feel for the steampunk Victorian look I needed. I am very happy with the shirt I purchased.

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service