Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2010-04-11

Charles M
TN, United States
2010-04-06
Was very satisfied with the products and plan to order more in the near future. Thanks for such fine items
Steven F
CA, United States
2010-04-06
I have already done so.
Carol W
-, United States
2010-04-06
As I was ordering from England and needed the item (Baker St vest) in time for a wedding I emailed asking about delivery times. The response was quick and informative, I was kept informed regarding despatch and the package was trackable. It arrived in plenty of time. I sent an email to say it had arrived and received a personal response. I'm impressed!
Pamela T
VA, United States
2010-04-06
I was pleased, but had to return one item. When received, my brother was not happy with the texture, which he could not tell from the photo.
Susan C. P
MD, United States
2010-04-06
Good selection. Everything went smoothly including my return of 1 item because I selected the wrong size.
Melanie L
-, Australia
2010-04-11
Carol M
UT, United States
2010-04-06
Gabrielle P
MI, United States
2010-04-11
The parasol was beautiful. It was for my sister's birthday, and she loved it. I plan on gettting myself one, I just don't know what color.
C B
OH, United States
2010-04-07
Great Service! Bought some purple sun spectacles... I was delighted! Unfortunately so was my teen-age son.... I haven't seen them since.
Linda F
UT, United States
2010-04-07
Michelle J
UT, United States
2010-04-07
Very quick shipping and the items were absolutely beautiful!! Well priced, too.
Craig M
TX, United States
2010-04-07
I was pleased with my purchase.
Ron S
MO, United States
2010-04-07
Luis K
TX, United States
2010-04-07
Terri C
TX, United States
2010-04-08
The pantalooms (spelling?) were perfect fitting, great price and I received them very promptly in the mail.
Robert D
CA, United States
2010-04-07
best selection of clothing. Very fast receipt of ordered items.
Mark R
CO, United States
2010-04-08
I love your products and recommend the site all the time. However, some things could be improved. My order consisted of a pair of spectacles and goggles. The spectacles (my 3rd pair; the lenses have an unfortunate tendency to break due to their plastic nature), didn't fair too as well they could have during shipping, as they were just thrown in the box with no packing material, and therefore during transit became slightly bent out of shape (but possible to be re-bent back). And the military surplus goggles, while awesome, had a tremendous problem. The band was so dried out that it literally started to crumble and tear at the touch, forcing me to purchase supplies to make a new band for them.
Pamela D
CA, United States
2010-04-08
The couple of times that I called, the person I talked to was very efficient and had access to my information very quickly. He was very helpful and handled my order very professionally. Mahalo, we are very happy with our blouses.
Jeremy V
TX, United States
2010-04-08
Thanks a bunch!
Stephen P
TX, United States
2010-04-08
David B
-, United States
2010-04-08
very pleased with comodity and service
Steven G
IN, United States
2010-04-08
Melinda C
NY, United States
2010-04-08
I have already to several people.
Debby H
CA, United States
2010-04-08
You were very helpful when I needed a special birthday present for our son who told us about your site. We didn't have much time prior to his birthday & you were very honest about your product & shipping info. We received the product in time & it was a perfect gift! thank you for your great service!
Kay C
GA, United States
2010-04-09
Service was very personal and exceeded my expectations. The clothing was worn in my daughter's wedding it was quite impressive.
Kyle K
GA, United States
2010-04-09
the product is well crafted and arrived extremely fast.
Liz B
MA, United States
2010-04-09
I ordered an XL hat that was too big the first time so I shipped it back for a Large. That too was a bit big so I called and the nice woman on your end suggested I put felt tape or roll a bandana inside the rim instead of getting a medium which might be too small. I got weatherstripping tape and placed it iinside the rim. It fits perfectly now! thank you.
Bj?rn E
-, Austria
2010-04-10
Holly M
MA, United States
2010-04-09
The dress was much higher quality than expected and it arrived very quickly.
James S
TX, United States
2010-04-11
Good selection. Very well displayed on website. Recommended combinations were very helpful.
Sonia R
NY, United States
2010-04-10
Site is user friendly, ordering was easy and item arrived quickly.
Gary T
AZ, United States
2010-04-10
Cathleen H
PA, United States
2010-04-08
Alan J
TX, United States
2010-04-07
I was very very pleased with the product and the help in adjusting my purchase to match your stock. (If I'm responding a 2nd time to this survey, sorry -- I was cleaning out old emails and found it so I thought I'd get it a shot)
A S
OR, United States
2010-04-05
I asked for a certain size to be sent according to my measurements, and it was completely ignored. My skirt will have to be taken in by a tailor. Looked lovely, but what's the point of asking questions/putting notes on orders if no one will read them. Kinda bummed cuz we all love steam punk.
Clive B
-, United States
2010-04-06
The only comment is that the sizes are a little misleading, the garments are bigger than described
Sarah K
WV, United States
2010-04-06
The only problem we encountered was the unavailability of the vest we wanted, but we were offered an acceptable substitute.
Sharron H
NV, United States
2010-04-06
Michael B
WA, United States
2010-04-06
The pants and vest I ordered are an excellent fit. Very steampunk. Service/delivery was very prompt.
Robb F
SD, United States
2010-04-06
Fast shipping, easy returns, interesting selection, and easy-to-use website. My husband found exactly what he was looking for.
Jack M
WA, United States
2010-04-06
Michael S
CA, United States
2010-04-06
William K
WA, United States
2010-04-06
great shipping response to expedite the shipment. nice quality shirts and very wearable
Mitchell H
NV, United States
2010-04-06
the products were as advertized, shipping was great, very happy
Gregory H
CA, United States
2010-04-06
Diana H
OR, United States
2010-04-06
Melody E
CA, United States
2010-04-06
I've been telling just about everyone I know about your store, so I can say without doubt, that I would recommend The Emporium.
Daniel M
WI, United States
2010-04-06
Price was right and inventory was unique
Samantha D
NY, United States
2010-04-06
I really like this site and would recommend it to anyone.Thanks for such quick friendly service.
Tracy S
IL, United States
2010-04-06
I was very happy with the customer service and quality of the products. The prices are excellent for these great costumes. I am thrilled to have such a great resource available to me.
Cindy H
OK, United States
2010-04-06
Steven N
-, United States
2010-04-06
Some comedy exchanges regarding your laudable security procedures.
Teresa M
NM, United States
2010-04-06
Thank you for the walking skirt that I ordered. It is a nice heavy material and perfect for the British tearoomJ St. James in Albuquerque, where I work. We will be ordering a few more in the next few months. The order came quickly and was just what we wanted.
Angel F
CA, United States
2010-04-07
nice website and prices
Karina S
-, Denmark
2010-04-07
Thomas R
-, Switzerland
2010-04-07
Mandy K
BC, Canada
2010-04-07
Wonderful product
Margaret M
-, United States
2010-04-07
I have done so already
Curtis A
CA, United States
2010-04-07
Excellent products, good service. More larger sizes please
Timothy D
IL, United States
2010-04-07
It was one of the more professional looking sites and I don't want to get scammed. Also it's been around for over a year I had it book marked. The clothing is nice, but a little on the high side for some of my friends. Though I would recommend it to most of my friend right away.
Brenda U
ON, Canada
2010-04-07
everything was fantastic
Karl B
-, United States
2010-04-07
Real M
TX, United States
2010-04-07
Very pleased with the quality, price and shipping speed. I bought one item I was looking for online but spent an hour browsing other great things to buy here in the future. Great fun!
Jeffrey O
-, Australia
2010-04-07
Dean C
AC, Australia
2010-04-07
Anne D
CA, United States
2010-04-07
I'm extremely happy with my order! I did get an email telling me that one item had been discontinued and that I would not be charged. However, the item arrived with my order. That was a pleasant surprise. Everything is even spiffier-looking than expected. I have already worn all three items out and received many compliments. Yay!
Nelson H
VA, United States
2010-04-07
Sandra L
-, Australia
2010-04-07
I think the items are very unique, and I intend to make another order. However, the quality of the gloves I ordered was not as good as I had expected: the fabric was cheap and the lace on the gloves tore the first time I put them on. I don't know about the other clothing items though. The parasols were of good quality. I was sent an additional parasol, by mistake. I notified you about this and was very impressed with the dipomatic attitude displayed when I did : I requested to be able to keep the extra parasol because to return it would have cost the same as the item. This action 'rescued' my opinion of the company, and, as I said, I will order again. I would recommend it to others with the proviso that I wondered a bit about the quality of the fabric used in some of the items, but have not ordered enough yet to daw any lasting negative impressions. As I have already mentioned, the Emporium offers unique items not readily accessed elsewhere.
Sheila C
FL, United States
2010-04-07
I really like your company. Thank you. Customer service is awesome.
Robert N
FL, United States
2010-04-07
Johnn S
IN, United States
2010-04-07
Leo O
KS, United States
2010-04-07
Excellent service. I needed to exchange an item for larger size and it was done very quickly. Everything satisfactory. The quality of the merchandise is excellent too. Thanks.
John V
OH, United States
2010-04-07
Great Quality!
Dean C
IA, United States
2010-04-07
Shane T
MA, United States
2010-04-07
I work in a Hot Topic with some other victorian loving goth types and I quickly told them about Gentlemens Emporium! And I just wore my slacks to a Rasputina show and got many complments.
Beverly J
AL, United States
2010-04-07
Very pleased with product, excellent quality
Christian R
WA, Australia
2010-04-07
Love everything you sell and I've already forwarded the URL to all my recreation, neo-victorian and steampunk friends who are all, as we speak drooling over your clothes. :)
Daniel S
NV, United States
2010-04-07
You delivered everything as promised and on very short notice. I love the merchandise, and have already referred at least a dozen friends.
Wallace M
TX, United States
2010-04-07
good communication, every step, timely receipt, backordered items right on promised date, high quality items exceeding expectations.
Alma J
CT, United States
2010-04-07
I am very happy with my dress. Will be wearing it to play Elizabeth Bennett, from Pride and Prejudice, As part of my final project, in my Literature class. I did not want rent my dress, since this is my favorite story of all time, I preferred to buy it, and have as a keepsake.Your prices were the best I found, and the style was exactly what I was looking for.
Alexis G
WA, United States
2010-04-06
I've ordered from Historical Emporium several times, and have been very satisfied with the service and products.
Herve B
-, France
2010-04-06
Barry C
FL, United States
2010-04-06
Quality was better than expected;equals or betters products at double the price.
William H
FL, United States
2010-04-06
Jennifer G
NV, United States
2010-04-06
Very happy with the garments I received.
Frederick N
QC, Canada
2010-04-06
Luis L
CA, United States
2010-04-06
Hillary H
UT, United States
2010-04-06
Robert H
MA, United States
2010-04-07
David S
NH, United States
2010-04-06
My order was filled promptly, correctly, and arrived on time. All of the items were of a good quality.
Victoria T
PA, United States
2010-04-06
Bob G
WI, United States
2010-04-06
Eric W
OK, United States
2010-04-06
Nels E
WA, United States
2010-04-06
Mason V
MO, United States
2010-04-06
Octavia H
-, United States
2010-04-06
Fantastic. Thank you!
Uriah M
MO, United States
2010-04-06
Lynn L
NJ, United States
2010-04-06
Thomas R
WI, United States
2010-04-06
Ken W
QL, Australia
2010-04-06
very happy with my item thanks agian
Jacob S
TX, United States
2010-04-06
GREAT looking product! Love it! Fits me like a glove!
Wendy M
WA, United States
2010-04-06
I received my order very quickly, and it was exactly what I expected.
Kelly C
DC, United States
2010-04-06
Peggy R
WA, United States
2010-04-06
the clothes are very nice , I should of ordered a smaller size but didn't want to worry about the blouses being too small and having to send them back ... the riding skirt was too big too but I can use a belt with it and it will be just fine . I will check back to your site and see if you have gotten any new colors in for spring and summer . thanks for the great service . Peggy from eastern Wash.
Lewis M
NS, Australia
2010-04-06
The quality of the merchandise is good -and where else are you going to get stuff like this?
Jon D
NY, United States
2010-04-06
I love my pants and will order again. I have told friends and shared the webpage.
Thomas B
RI, United States
2010-04-06
I found the Historical Emporium to have a wide selection of items in various styles and in almost every size. The items are quite unique and I think they are great additions to the everyday wardrobe.
Jessica O
GA, United States
2010-04-06
Paul Y
-, United States
2010-04-06
Although having no problems whatsoever with the quality of the clothes themselves, or indeed the order i itself I was abit taken back by the additional freight payment I had to make from customs & excise in order to receive my order which was in excess of another one third of the original price, meaning that the order was not in fact as good value as I originally anticipated. Whilst I appreciate this is not your companies fault it does mean that in future I shall be regretfully taking a harder look for companies closer to home to avoid this charge, regretfully as I really like the quality of the clothing I purchased.
Ann L
UT, United States
2010-04-06
Randy H
TX, United States
2010-04-06
The web site was classy and easy to follow. My order was promply sent and arrived accurately.
David H
WA, United States
2010-04-06
We were thrilled with the quality of the Historical clothing.. well-made, convincingly historical.. the back ordered delay in shipping was the only complaint we would have, BUT the customer service was excellent and the email updates on the status of the order were helpful. I'd definitely recommend it to a friend.
Audrey G
-, United States
2010-04-06
Because the article came from your company called Historical Emporium, Customs insisted it was a historical piece and charged me ?20 tax. It makes orders very dear and in future I will becareful about the names of the Companies I deal with. However, the garment was just what I wanted, but took along time coming, because customs held it up.
Paul S
LA, United States
2010-04-06
Extremely efficient and knowledgeable employees. Order came in on time and was exactly what I wanted.
Christopher K
CA, United States
2010-04-06
i need a 2x canvas gunners coat. can you please help me?
William C
PA, United States
2010-04-06
Cynthia S
OH, United States
2010-04-06
A good selection and good for itemswe can't find cheaper. A bit pricey for our University Theatre budget.
Melissa I
OH, United States
2010-04-06
Very satisfied with my purchase as well with the help that I received on my second order
Martha W
KY, United States
2010-04-06
William P
IL, United States
2010-04-06
Fast Delivery, great fit
Nicole B
IA, United States
2010-04-06
James P
GA, United States
2010-04-06
Quality of merchandise was very good. Shipping was quick.
William G
OR, United States
2010-04-06
I was very impressed.
Debbie K
AZ, United States
2010-04-06
Awesome service fast delivery very courteous staff A pleasure to do buisness with you highly recommended Thanks for your help
Victoria N
CA, United States
2010-04-06
Bettina E
-, Denmark
2010-04-06
Rex R
CA, United States
2010-04-06
I will be looking at your web site for more of our reenactment needs. Thank you for your prompt and friendly service
Michael W
FL, United States
2010-04-06
The service was on top of everything, products are great. Because I choose to wear these cloths every day I get alot of possitive comments. Many are requesting your email address, so maybe starting a trend. Thank you for supplying the great outfits. I will be ordering again very soon.
William B
CO, United States
2010-04-06
Teugels L
-, Belgium
2010-04-06
easy and correct way to deal with and the goods are just like the discription on the site. terrible sorry for my bad English, hope you understand it !
Raymond W
OH, United States
2010-04-06
You were very helpful with my questions pertaining to my order and you were efficient in your shipping.Your web site is easy to view and very accurate.I will do buisness with you in the near future.Thank you.
Marti L
GA, United States
2010-04-06
I already have!
Luke R
NY, United States
2010-04-06
Elaine D
-, United States
2010-04-06
Good honest communication. Fabulous suit.
Charles W
LA, United States
2010-04-06
Franziska W
-, Switzerland
2010-04-06
I was very pleased with the promptitude of the shipping - my order actually arrived earlier than I had ever dared to expect. Furthermore, the Gentleman's Emporum has a wide assortment with a lot of nice things - unfortunatley, not everything is available.
Leon G
WA, United States
2010-04-06
I really appreciated the prompt turn around time for the purchase and the return. The quality of the top hats were superb. They were a hit at my Mother's wedding and really brought the Southern Belle flair that she wanted. Thank you so very much!
Cal P
OK, United States
2010-04-06
Great customer service, ver y polite, very helpful.
Charles C
CA, United States
2010-04-06
Good quality and quick shipment
Victoria E
CT, United States
2010-04-06
Dan H
WA, United States
2010-04-06

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service