Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2009-10-25

Scott N
NY, United States
2009-10-21
Best selection of men's victorian stuff at decent prices.
Ben S
WA, United States
2009-10-21
Catherine B
DC, United States
2009-10-21
love your site, love the costumes. One of them (the striped men's bathing costume) had a weird stain on it that looks permanent but rather than exchange it we will just wear it for halloween. Especially love the straw boater's hat and the beautiful white
Matthew F
CO, United States
2009-10-21
I thought the communication was great, loved my order, and it shipped pretty fast! Thanks!!
Richard S
MD, United States
2009-10-21
Bruce E
OK, United States
2009-10-21
Hilary L
OR, United States
2009-10-21
Sammy C
TN, United States
2009-10-21
Linda S
GA, United States
2009-10-21
The service was great! I got my order quickly and I love what I ordered.
Billy O
CA, United States
2009-10-21
Id like to see more cowboy winter clothing like high coller coats and such.
Jennifer C
FL, United States
2009-10-21
I do costuming for theatre and whenever I've needed period costumes or accessories (especially for gentlemen) I've always been very pleased with Historical Emporium's service, selection and prices...good quality items!
Karey F
MD, United States
2009-10-21
The boots were top quality, and I received them in a VERY timely manner, and with WONDERFUL and very friendly customer service!
Daniel Q
ME, United States
2009-10-21
Great products, great packing/shipping, and great service. I will DEFINITELY be purchasing more costumes from the Historical Emporium!
Karen H
-, United Kingdom
2009-10-21
It had the exact type of item I wanted to by (a thick elasticated ladies belt, wider at the front than at the back) in my size) at a sensible price. Excellent service
Robert B
OR, United States
2009-10-21
I have to commend this service for the quality of the garment/vest I ordered. But I am disappointed in that the size options are limited. The vest I ordered fit but was not the exact fit I would have prefered.
Sandee R
CA, United States
2009-10-21
I loved the product and the promptness in which I received my order. I have one small complaint. I did not recieve a confimation e-mail and had to call the co. to confirm my order.
Tommy B
NC, United States
2009-10-21
You guys were very easy to work with, have great products, and fast shipping. Can't ask for any better than that. Thanks!
Rhonda H
CA, United States
2009-10-21
James R
NC, United States
2009-10-21
Scott G
CA, United States
2009-10-21
You've got some really neat items that I'd definitely come back to your website for.
Barrett S
CA, United States
2009-10-21
Clara K
-, United States
2009-10-21
Denise T
MD, United States
2009-10-21
Valerie M
NY, United States
2009-10-21
Very pleased with the timeliness of delivery and the quality was exceptional. The only problem was that the pants were about 12 too long - but I have a sewing machine so it's a very minor problem. Thanks for helping my boyfriend look like a successful
Cheryl O
MT, United States
2009-10-21
Kyler S
UT, United States
2009-10-21
Great selection, competitive prices, and fast shipping.
Charity M
SK, Canada
2009-10-21
They had what I needed and I did not have the time or labour money to accomplish what I needed built in the time frame I had.
James L
CA, United States
2009-10-21
The item I ordered was something I'd looked for over a long time before finding it at the company's web site. It arrived promptly and lived up to expectations.
Tim O
AL, United States
2009-10-21
nice product fast service
Gary R
PA, United States
2009-10-21
Excellent Service, Excellent Quality, Kind and Courteous
Gryphon M
WA, United States
2009-10-21
I heart you. Best $50 I've spent in a long time.
Thomas B
NY, United States
2009-10-21
The clothes I bought worked out really well, and the prices were good. Also, everything was shipped promptly.
Wolfgang K
AK, United States
2009-10-21
If I knew someone interested in western clothing.
Carmen Y
CA, United States
2009-10-21
All products made to satisfactory standards and affordable.
William H
OR, United States
2009-10-21
Outstanding quality, prompt shipping, great customer service...and just very cool regalia!
Richard E
AZ, United States
2009-10-21
Rob C
ON, Canada
2009-10-21
you folks are awsome...right from the time you pick up the phone or answer emails. remember we are caucks up in the far north and its great to find a spot that got it all thanks for helping live the dream
Dennis B
United States
2009-10-21
customs duties to heavy on top of purchase of item
Peter M
VA, United States
2009-10-21
Have already recommended to several, will be purchasing more from you in the future. Very satisfied with the service and items.
Kevin M
CA, United States
2009-10-21
Francisco C
CO, United States
2009-10-21
VERY UNIQUE PRODUCTS THAT ARE HARD TO FIND ANY WHERE ELSE. THIS IS THE PLACE TO LOOK!
Kris S
VA, United States
2009-10-21
I enjoyed the ease of use of the website and the products.
Carol K
WI, United States
2009-10-21
Service was great.
John M
AR, United States
2009-10-21
All of items were received promptly, and were exactly as described.
Simeon K
FL, United States
2009-10-21
I have sung your praises to Many people. I work in the cruise ship industry and everyone comments on how beautiful the clothes are. I plan on making a big purchase within the next 3 weeks as I'll be a main host on the new Oasis of the Seas cruise ship.
Eugene B
NC, United States
2009-10-21
Lisa C
AR, United States
2009-10-21
I loved the blouse that I ordered from you. It was high quality fashion and it arrived in time for an event I attended.
Amy H
CO, United States
2009-10-21
It was great service. Prompt delivery and easy return. We love the hat!
Robert S
KY, United States
2009-10-21
Lee M
MI, United States
2009-10-21
Very happy with both the quality of the items ordered, as well as the delivery. Got rave reviews at the recent Dawn Patrol Rendezvous at the National Museum of the United States Air Force in Dayton, Ohio
Marilyn L
OH, United States
2009-10-21
The quality of the material and sewing was very good, no weak seams, no sloppy workmanship. I was very pleased
Catrena H
NC, United States
2009-10-21
Love merchandise and excellent shipping.
Chris K
CA, United States
2009-10-21
The salesperson was very helpful.
Sharon G
NM, United States
2009-10-21
Meggan P
OH, United States
2009-10-21
was surprised that costumes were unlined, but the silhouette is acceptable.
Angela D
SC, United States
2009-10-21
Excellent service and product.. Thanks
Arthur W
FL, United States
2009-10-21
Deane M C
CA, United States
2009-10-21
I was pleased with the way you people handled my sizing needs. I enjoy doing business with people who want satisfied customers.
Dan D
TX, United States
2009-10-21
Bryan T
NJ, United States
2009-10-21
Robert K
NC, United States
2009-10-21
David N
IL, United States
2009-10-21
You guys are great!
Dominic C
-, United States
2009-10-21
they were uniqe and catered to my unique turns of fancy
Linda K
CA, United States
2009-10-21
Jennifer L
WA, United States
2009-10-21
Angela S
MD, United States
2009-10-21
I love the item i received and the description was exact.
R. G
NO, Netherlands
2009-10-21
Your service was very satisfaction thank You very much Rev. Rudolf Gouvernante Ph.D
Imogene B
FL, United States
2009-10-21
Ryan L
CA, United States
2009-10-21
Jon A
VI, Australia
2009-10-21
The product i received is not the quality i expected. a very thin suede type with a canvas back. I have since found a proper one that is all leather and a better quality at half the price. I will recommend that people do not purchase through this means
Shirley B
GA, United States
2009-10-21
I was quite pleasantly impressed with the quality of material and workmanship of the walking skirt and edwardian hoop skirt. I have already recommended this site to friends.
Matthew N
NS, Australia
2009-10-21
Excellent products, helpful support and fast delivery all of which make your store a unique place to shop.
Jane S
OH, United States
2009-10-21
Service was good, prompt, merchandise was what we ordered, good quality, held up through 2 weeks of a wild and crazy show!
Molly R
CA, United States
2009-10-21
Christopher H
NY, United States
2009-10-21
Fantastic customer service. Great shipping and great product. The only complaint I have is that after wearing my new shoes a single time (and only for about 2 hours) one of the eyelets has already separated and popped out from the leather.
Ernest F
OH, United States
2009-10-21
Great personal service over the phone. The shippment was quick, and the quality of the products was well worth the price. I am very pleased with the company, the people, and the products!
Philippe R
-, France
2009-10-21
Lauren M
AB, Canada
2009-10-21
I was really satisfied with the quality of the product (Jennie blouse), although I was a bit shocked at the shipping price to Canada (which was over two thirds of the price of the actual product). I was dissapointed at the high price of shipping for a single garment, but I suppose that it can't be helped, much. I'll just order more next time, to get a better value for my shipping. ;)
Warren E
-, United Kingdom
2009-10-21
very difficult to get this type of clothing (american victorian/edwardian) in the UK great quality clothing at great prices despite the foreign postage levy
Danielle K
PA, United States
2009-10-21
The order was correct and complete, the merchandise was of good quality, and it was delivered in a timely manner.
Nicholas I
WI, United States
2009-10-21
Great product! Fast delivery! Best price I'd seen anywhere!
Steven S
ND, United States
2009-10-21
I've had my eye on a few items for a while and finally made the purchase. It could not have been easier and I was quite surprised to have the items delivered so quickly. They were exactly as described and I am very happy with my first purchases. There wil
Cecilia B
AZ, United States
2009-10-21
Service was prompt. Very satisfied with quality.
Richard H
CT, United States
2009-10-21
John R
TX, United States
2009-10-21
Marianna F
CA, United States
2009-10-21
I called because I needed to order some items in a hurry, the personalized attention was fabulous, supper speedy shipping too.
Margaret S
WI, United States
2009-10-21
loved the outfit,fit great except for lenght of skirt(had to hem).the lady was very accomodating when I called in a panic the next morning when i found i need a black skirt instead of purple.she caught it! txs!
John H
VI, Australia
2009-10-21
Your speed of service is amazing . It is quicker to obtain items from you , thousands of miles away , than locally.
Clyde R
CA, United States
2009-10-21
Mark H
TX, United States
2009-10-21
Great communication and prompt complete shipping.
Thomas G
OH, United States
2009-10-21
unique items
Kari L
CO, United States
2009-10-21
Daniel L
ON, Canada
2009-10-21
Love you guys, both my orders have been timely and worked out perfectly. I will continue to shop here and continue sending customers your way :)
Richard F
VA, United States
2009-10-22
i found loose theads on the the shoulder stitching hope they don't come un stitched when i wash the shirt i will let you know and return the shirt.
Steven M
MA, United States
2009-10-22
Gregory B
OH, United States
2009-10-22
Shipment boxes were crushed upon delivery
David B
BC, Canada
2009-10-22
Shipping and handling to Canada was a bit expensive, but delivery was fast.
Christina J
CA, United States
2009-10-22
I've already recommended it to another theatrical designer and she is planning on ordering from you for an upcoming production.
Bernadette D
NS, Australia
2009-10-22
Kathy N
CA, United States
2009-10-22
Telephone operator was excellent. Noah, I think. Pleasant to talk with. Good knowledge of items for sale.
Cheryl B
FL, United States
2009-10-22
I was pleased with items ordered and have recommended your site to friends. The merchandise came in a timely fashion and appreciated the prompt service!
Jack E
WY, United States
2009-10-22
Perfect, good job. thank you Jack.
Dennis G
GA, United States
2009-10-22
I needed a vest for a special occassion and I searched the local stores high and low for days and i just didn't find anything that I liked. The quality and style of your vest surpassed my expectations and you have a new customer.
Mitch G
MT, United States
2009-10-22
absolutly amazing service. shipped fast and shipping itself was fast. oh and the top hat is amazing i love it!
Oscar A
MI, United States
2009-10-22
I very much liked the quality of the clothing you sold me.
James H
CA, United States
2009-10-22
I like doing business with your company so far what impressed me most was your return policy. I made a phone call and was informed how to do it and the speed you did it on your end was impressive. Jim Haze
Patti F
CA, United States
2009-10-21
I have already recommended you guys to several friends and co-workers!
Garry B
CA, United States
2009-10-22
Matthew C
NY, United States
2009-10-22
David H
NY, United States
2009-10-21
Dan L
VA, United States
2009-10-21
Questions were answered fast, and item was shipped promptly. The stitching was slightly undone on the aviator cap ear cover but other than that, it was a great product.
Guy B
TN, United States
2009-10-21
Great products -- was a great addition to my design.
Erin B
CA, United States
2009-10-21
Roxane W
CA, United States
2009-10-21
Very happy and pleased with the prompt service.
Dyke B
TX, United States
2009-10-21
I'm the Emcee for the San Antonio Rose Live Classic Country Music Show in San Antonio. I needed a Classic & Classy shirt different from the members of the band. I looked everywhere for something Different and authentic. Like a Nudie shirt! Found it.
Graham R
United States
2009-10-21
Kathleen O
-, Ireland
2009-10-21
returned unused. It Was for a specific event and although I ordered it well in advance of this date, it arrived the day after the aforementioned date. I was very disappointed with your service.
Jacob T
LA, United States
2009-10-21
I just wish it were a little less expensive to purchase from HS.
Kirk D
IL, United States
2009-10-22
Speedy, order was accurate
Ruth I
NE, United States
2009-10-22
Loved the style of the riding skirt, although no petite sizes are available and so I had to get them shortened.
Kevin H
MO, United States
2009-10-22
Very good heavy material used, Shipped fast.
Wayne F
CA, United States
2009-10-22
Was very pleased with clothing and will be buying more. Thank You
Hazel Y
NC, United States
2009-10-22
Patricia R
CA, United States
2009-10-22
I received my products in a very quickly. I was very please when I to return them and another set was sent out immediately. The items are beautiful and I very pleased.
Douglas T
ON, Canada
2009-10-22
Already have, to the reenactment staff at the Pioneer Village where I work as a printer of the 1850's
Lynda S
BC, Canada
2009-10-22
Wonderful quality merchandise. I am the entertainment and decorating manager for an exclusive, annual party for 500 people in British Columbia. Without a doubt, your costumes are far superior to all other companies I have used. The delivery did take quit
Douglas H
MN, United States
2009-10-22
I ordered a monocle that was so oversized and overly corrected it could not possibly be used for its original purpose. That took the fun away, entirely.
Jakub O
ZU, Netherlands
2009-10-22
Great customer service. A verification of my information was required before the order went out and it was handled perfectly.
Michael S
AB, Canada
2009-10-22
Faith R
WI, United States
2009-10-22
Thank you for the fast, friendly service!
Jorge O
-, United States
2009-10-22
Only trouble I had was with a missing reply message from the Emporium that caused the package to be delivered in about 20 days instead of the 8 expected (U.S.A. -> Portugal). Other than that the goods arrived in good order except for a little problem with
Ivo D
DE, United States
2009-10-22
Kevin B
MO, United States
2009-10-22
Very fast service and the clothes were perfect
William D
IL, United States
2009-10-22
Your products are wonderful. The person I spoke with was great! Shipping was reasonable and fast! All in al, it was a top notch experience.
Charles W
FL, United States
2009-10-22
Theresa T
TX, United States
2009-10-22
I like the selection you have, but would like to see more in women's clothing.
Dale S
FL, United States
2009-10-22
Jenny M
-, United States
2009-10-22
Superb service, good communication throughout the order and dispatched very quickly. The item was as described and well made
Kathy N
MD, United States
2009-10-22
Karen F
PA, United States
2009-10-22
Maximilian I
-, Germany
2009-10-22
One pair of the gloves doesn't fit and has a hole!
William W
ON, Canada
2009-10-22
Great service, quality of product was exactly what I had expected based on the prices.
Thomas L
GA, United States
2009-10-22
Irene B
SC, United States
2009-10-22
Tammy B
CA, United States
2009-10-22
Love my purchase well worth the money!!!!! You guys rock!
Elizabeth L
CA, United States
2009-10-22
I have already told many of my reenacting friends about you and how wonderful you guys are.
James W
GA, United States
2009-10-22
Joanne O
NM, United States
2009-10-22
Andreas K
-, Sweden
2009-10-22
Fast delivery, quick replies on mail questions, additional questions then asked by you resulting in a better fit!
Alexander T
WA, United States
2009-10-22
My daughter was ecstatic with the muslin items & we are pleased with your service, thank you!
Leon B
CA, United States
2009-10-22
Michelle R
WA, United States
2009-10-22
Anna J
IL, United States
2009-10-22
I already have recommended the store to all my facebook friends :-)
Sandra D
NJ, United States
2009-10-22
very happy with how they handled the exchange of the defective item (zipper was broken)
Stacey V
UT, United States
2009-10-22
I received my order within a week. We were very happy with the service.
Jason C
IL, United States
2009-10-22
One thing I should mention. I ordered the brass goggles and the paint was already starting to fall off. It was fine in this case because I was already planning to strip the paint off.
Hamilton L
MD, United States
2009-10-22
Excellent in every respect.
James N
PA, United States
2009-10-22
I love this site. Me and my friends love it. I am a fan of you guys on facebook and I told my friends to friend you and they did. And well, keep up the great work. And I will post me and my friends pics on facebook. Hopefully someone responds and you like
Joseph M
AZ, United States
2009-10-23
Great clothe and service, but the sizing charts are not accurate which caused me to purchase a shirt that was too small.
Anthony C
TN, United States
2009-10-22
We appreciated you constantly keeping us informed of sold out items and what was available. The speed in receiving the order also gave us time to get any necessary alterations done. We were especially pleased with the quality of the clothing.
Denis M
-, Norway
2009-10-23
Based on my recent order I would advise a would be shopper not to believe your sizs chart which now seems to be missing.Let me explain,nice boots I thought my woman would be sexy in them so I scrolled down the size chart and it said 38 Europ is size 6 USA
Terry G
OH, United States
2009-10-23
Roy T
GA, United States
2009-10-23
Service was great! Delivery was faster than implied; quality of merchandise is super!
Raymie C
NM, United States
2009-10-23
We received items very fast. The items were just as described. Will order again.
Linda D
CA, United States
2009-10-23
Kimberly M
IL, United States
2009-10-23
Maximilian R
-, Germany
2009-10-24
Good service. No complaints. I would definitely recommend it.
Patrick D
ID, United States
2009-10-24
Very fast shipping, items I ordered were exactly what I expected and good quality.
Carol N
CO, United States
2009-10-24
Product as advertised, and shipped fast.
Barney B
QL, Australia
2009-10-25
Christine M
MD, United States
2009-10-24
Katherine J
VA, United States
2009-10-25
I liked my buy and was surprised at the size though, that I had to order for myself. I am a small person and never realized that I would be ordering such a large size for me. That could result in returns for a poor fit.
Gina W
CA, United States
2009-10-21
I love their clothing, wear it on a daily basis, not for costumery, and find the prices very affordable.
Ross R
WA, United States
2009-10-21
Sean S
CA, United States
2009-10-21
Had a fantastic experience with your store. Ordering was simple, shipping was very fast. Couldn't be happier.
Edward J
VA, United States
2009-10-21
The merchandise was of high quality, and the shipment was timely.
K W
TN, United States
2009-10-21
Frank S
AK, United States
2009-10-21
John M
MD, United States
2009-10-21
Quality of clothing is cheap and not authentic to the period in which it reflects
Charles R
PA, United States
2009-10-21
Great quality. I bought the dragon vest and a shirt and a puff tie. Still haven't figured out the tie, though. Matched with my tophat and goggles, your clothing will complete my steampunk halloween costume. Of course, I will try to find an excuse to w
Dean Y
CA, United States
2009-10-21
Very helpful service. I wanted to pick up the item at their warehouse and they were able to help me.
Denise M
OH, United States
2009-10-21
Great prices, quality great, better than expected.
Rudyard B
OH, United States
2009-10-21
Amanda W
VA, United States
2009-10-21
Jo P
OK, United States
2009-10-22
QUALITY MERCHANDISE IN A STYLE THAT IS VERY HARD TO FIND; FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL WITH PHONE ORDERS; SHIPPING TIME IS GREAT. MY HUSBAND HAS ALWAYS LOVED THIS STYLE OF CLOTHES AND HE SHOULD HAVE BEEN BORN IN THE 1800'S. YOUR MERCHANDISE DOES NOT LOOK LIKE A COSTUME....IT IS NOT URBAN cowboy TRASH.....IT IS REAL AND WONDERFUL QUALITY. GREAT PLACE TO SHOP....WONDERFUL HELPFUL PEOPLE.
Brooke B
CA, United States
2009-10-21
I love your online store & the great service. A gentleman named Noel sent me an email when he noticed my pant size didn't seem to match my chest size--a typo of mine. I had typed waist 43, when I meant 33. But he caught it & saved me a hassle. Truly great service. Thanks, Noel!
Dmitry A
CA, United States
2009-10-20
Great store! Better yet that it's possible to come in and try stuff on. :)
Pamela H
CO, United States
2009-10-25

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service