Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2010-10-10

Lucky Bill
NE, United States
2010-10-07
Quality and pricing are as expected. My only problem is it is oversized for my eye, so it doesn't want to stay in. For somemone else it may be perfect.
Lucky Bill
NE, United States
2010-10-07
I have wanted one of these for a long time. I wasn't disappointed. I'd checked around for pricing.. This was the best price for the same item. Quality is as expected. Since I don't plan to wear the chinstrap, that isn't a factor. I am most pleased. If I ever get the proper British outfit, I would order a white one too.
Dennis
United States
2010-10-07
These are nice looking braces that work as they should. Since they are under the coat, they aren't normally seen.
Dennis
United States
2010-10-07
Very nice hat. Can be used for men, or add a ribbon and use for ladies. Looks nicer than a Derby.
Dennis
United States
2010-10-07
Perfect companion to go with the Edgewood Town coat. Really makes a nice looking suit. Perfect for civil war era civilians.
Dennis
United States
2010-10-07
Wonderful coat. 100% cotton makes it comfortable in summer. This coat is very good quality. It's like it was custom made for me. Perfect for civil war era civilians.
Dennis
United States
2010-10-07
Very nice shirt. Perfect for civil war era civilians.
junebug
United States
2010-10-06
The boots were of excellent quality and as described and presented in the picture. Unlike another company I had ordered from and was compelled to send boots back to. First rate service. I would definitely order from Historical Emporium again and without reservations. I highly recommend this company for anyone looking for vintage apparel. Mrs. Claus will be decked out in style this year!!!!!!!!!!!!
Uncle Ludwig
United States
2010-10-05
A good length ascot that allows a variety of tying methods. Elegantly subtle pattern on both sides is a plus, and fabric is of excellent quality.
Gentleman George
CO, United States
2010-10-05
This gets oohs and aahs every time I wear it. I wear the western string tie with it or a modern paisley tie of good quality, and it looks sharp. The lapels on a waistcoat like this are more formal - it's hard to go wrong looking good that way. Also, this waistcoat buttons up fairly high, which makes it a good match to wearing almost any sort of tie. The front has a soft, brushed feel to it, like a soft wool, and the back is a more hardy, thin material.
chuck
NJ, United States
2010-10-05
Came with a broken D ring in the back but I am too busy to bother with returning it.
wcummin3
United States
2010-10-05
I was amazed at the authenticity of the walking stick and the craftsmanship is simply wonderful. I was looking for something to add distinction to my attire and found it in this period masterpiece.
costumer
FL, United States
2010-10-05
I ordered these for use in a theatrical production and they were great! The director loved them and they looked fabulous on stage as well as being comfortable for the actor to wear.Thanks!
David
GE, United States
2010-10-05
A beautiful vest. An other excellent and well made product from G.E. As with all the products I've bought from them, it runs a little small. But overall - Fantastic.
Otto Von Hubris
United States
2010-10-05
These are just white gloves (hard to get excited over them). But if you want a set for your outfit just order them. (how uncivil no gloves)
Lord Griffin
United States
2010-10-05
What's not to love about a well-wrought, Articulated Folding Brass Monocular?Besides being an intriguing brassy bit, the mechanism is simplicity in itself: the small level simply rotates the larger lens, which in turn pops open the clam-shell.While perhaps not the most powerful eyepiece you could carry, it is compact enough to ride in a coat pocket. The monocular won't help you descry the habitations of the Lunarian, but it will help you find your nemesis across a crowded theater or verify the soundness of the aft rigging on your dirigible from the gondola.When collapsed, it does look a bit like a pocket flask, which may be of concern to some of your more proper companions until they see it's proper function.I, for one, shall consider the Articulated Folding Brass Monocular an essential piece of personal equipage during future adventures.
Otto Von Hubris
United States
2010-10-05
Like all the clothes I've received from the Emporium, first rate. Looks just like the photos. The pockets are nice and over all it is very well made. When I'm ready to get a second set of garb this will be fhe place I shop.
bootsie
United States
2010-10-05
The hat is wonderful - better than I expected. LOVE IT!swift delivery too!
viktorian
United States
2010-10-05
Uncle Ludwig
United States
2010-10-05
Well tailored, good looking, not heavyweight, fully lined, working pockets - what more could one ask? Shipped quickly within California, too. I will be using for victorian caroler costume throughout the Christmas season, but will consider it for Western costumes as well. It's just what I hoped it would be!
Thessair
FL, United States
2010-10-05
This hat is an incredible value for the money. The quality is exceptional and the fit is perfect. As stated, the feather is removable and the hat looks brilliant with or without it. If you're on the fence about this hat, I say go for it. You won't be disappointed.
Mark J
-, New Zealand
2010-10-04
The products were delivered in a timely manner. The products were of good quality, and I would happily recommend the Historical Emporium to anyone.
Jerry P
PA, United States
2010-10-07
Quality merchandise, extremely informative and helpful staff. No quibbles about refunding one item which was too small either.
Terry R
FL, United States
2010-10-07
Kathryn O
MO, United States
2010-10-07
Great product, I would order again. Thank you!
Rebekah H
VI, Australia
2010-10-07
Quick delivery, excellent service, great quality product, excellent.
Clifton S
OH, United States
2010-10-07
Interesting, one of a kind items.
Hilerey P
OK, United States
2010-10-07
Thank you, my husband liked everything that I bought him.
Nancy C
CA, United States
2010-10-07
The absolute best online store!! The products are exactly as represented, and I received my orders way faster than I expected. Great, great shopping experience.
Spiros L
BC, Canada
2010-10-07
Prices are in the higher end of internet stores, however it's still a invaluable resource for any neo-victorian! I've already recommended this store to several colleagues, who are currently purchasing items from the Historical Emporium.
John M
WI, United States
2010-10-07
Fast service and easy web site
David H
NV, United States
2010-10-07
service was wonderful and your return/exchange policy is excellent with promt attention
James R
MN, United States
2010-10-06
Price was reasonable, shipping was fast and product was high-quality!
Carla J
MB, Canada
2010-10-06
I really liked the product and speedy delivery there was just a problem with the order that took a bit to sort out, filled in box wrong but they said they e-mailed me but i did not receive any e-mail until i recieved one that said order cancelled. They di
Kevin F
NY, United States
2010-10-06
Already have to a few people to get goggles from you guys.
Janett S
AZ, United States
2010-10-06
Excellent service and timely delivery!!!
S J
-, United States
2010-10-10
Anny T
-, France
2010-10-10
Service rapide et efficace
Jon S
NE, United States
2010-10-10
Service was excellent, product as advertised.
Coral B
MS, United States
2010-10-10
Pamela H
MO, United States
2010-10-09
Chris W
CA, United States
2010-10-08
Clint H
CA, United States
2010-10-08
I will be buying more from your store and I have already sent links to your site to many friends
Kristine S
OK, United States
2010-10-08
They gave me a smiley!
Martin J
CA, United States
2010-10-08
Trevor S
TN, United States
2010-10-08
Everything that I have purchased has been of the utmost quality. I dress in such a manner almost every day, and they seem to handle the wear and tare splendidly!
Robert M
NS, Australia
2010-10-07
James B
OH, United States
2010-10-07
If one wants victorian clothing, one can't do better, that's all.
Brian R
QL, Australia
2010-10-07
Lyudmila B
FL, United States
2010-10-07
great product
Jane S
GA, United States
2010-10-07
Your service was great and I got my order very fast.
Joshua G
CA, United States
2010-10-07
The site is easy to navigate and the variety of clothing is excellent! The close-up images and exact descriptions make purchasing a 'snap.'
Janey S
TX, United States
2010-10-07
I needed clothes from the 1900's. Our church was celebrating its 100 Year anniversary. If I ever have the need to dress in the past again, I will certainly use your Service.
Sebastian H
-, Germany
2010-10-07
I was very pleased and the Clothes you have are very rare. I have never found any other shop, selling that kind of wardrobe.
Susan T
AR, United States
2010-10-07
Dennis S
CA, United States
2010-10-07
Very helpful and friendly staff. Fast shipping, and easy return policy. This is an excellent company who puts the customer first.
Lani P
NY, United States
2010-10-07
Wonderful shop--I loved it!
Alison W
MT, United States
2010-10-06
David S
NM, United States
2010-10-06
Very nice quality merchandise. I was pleased with what I received.
Troll S
-, Sweden
2010-10-06
I am very pleased with the quality of Your clothes. It feels like they going to last forever :-)
Margarete S
-, Germany
2010-10-06
Because I couldn't find waistcoats with a collar anywhere else.
James T
MD, United States
2010-10-06
Prices and options for my interest
Julie S
CA, United States
2010-10-06
love your product selection. sizes could be a little bigger but excellent products and appear to be good quality. We just got them and haven't been able to use them yet.
Donald M
NM, United States
2010-10-06
Though there are few situations in which products like yours come up, I have found no better supplier than you and would certainly suggest you if the situation arose.
Theodore R
NJ, United States
2010-10-06
Excellent selection of goods, friendly website, fast service - what's not to like?
Morgan S
VA, United States
2010-10-06
Anne M
TX, United States
2010-10-06
Timothy B
IL, United States
2010-10-06
well done site, quality of goods far exceeded what i expected.
Kirsten G
AR, United States
2010-10-06
I think you guys are great, and I know we'll be ordering from you again in the future. :)
Stuart H
United States
2010-10-06
A very good service, fast delivery, well packed and as described
Kevin L
VA, United States
2010-10-06
Sandra T
IN, United States
2010-10-06
I really appreciated the quick service. The items ordered were of excellent quality, something very important to me, and would definately shop with you again. Thank you for your great products and service.
Donal S
NV, United States
2010-10-06
Expansive range of VERY hard to find mens shirts and other items. A little pricey buy quality makes up for that.
Simon C
-, United States
2010-10-06
Fantastic products and service
Dan M
ND, United States
2010-10-06
I have, in the past, bought both a Bowler Hat and a waist coat from your store, and have always felt comfortable with the serivce. When ever a nyone asks me where I bought either my hat or my wiait coat, I've waisted no time in giving them your web addy.
David C
AE, United States
2010-10-06
Great product.
Araceli M
TX, United States
2010-10-06
The goggles were delightful to behold, and arrived much sooner than I expected. Now it's just a matter of finding a red biplane!
Brendan R
PA, United States
2010-10-06
Short of having them tailored specifically for myself (which I don't have the money for), it is one of the only places I've found where I can get the types of vests I like at a high quality for great prices.
Heidi H
MT, United States
2010-10-06
Jacob B
NY, United States
2010-10-06
I love my new vest and it adds the classy element to my 13th Doctor costume. If anyone was looking for good period clothes at a good price from a legit seller, I would recommend HE.
Rachel L
CA, United States
2010-10-06
Erik B
VA, United States
2010-10-06
The product is exactly as advertised and constructed of sturdy material that makes for a great old-timey look without the worry about damaging actual vintage goods. Superb!
Catherine H
OH, United States
2010-10-06
David F
DC, United States
2010-10-06
The quality of the clothing is very good.
Brenda M
CA, United States
2010-10-06
Fast services, ans quality product.
James K
VI, Australia
2010-10-06
Everything was great, however, a cheaper delivery option would be nice for international customers.
Skyler M
IL, United States
2010-10-06
Momz W
NY, United States
2010-10-06
Product rec'd in stellar condition & very quickly. Lovely fabric. Originally planned to return whichever one did not match the color we were looking for but on second thought they are both so nice we are keeping both!
Opal R
MN, United States
2010-10-06
Jaene G
NV, United States
2010-10-06
From ordering to receiving the order, the speed was amazing! Great job. Products look fantastic!
Carroll M
SC, United States
2010-10-06
Overall I am very satisfied with the quality, selection, and price. The only issue I had was that the vest or suspenders got some kind of black markings on the white shirt due to sweat or something.
Stephen D
PA, United States
2010-10-06
David Y
MA, United States
2010-10-06
Kenneth A
ND, United States
2010-10-06
Patrick M
PA, United States
2010-10-06
Kelvin S
MO, United States
2010-10-06
Dwight F
NV, United States
2010-10-06
just as expected!
Sharon M
TX, United States
2010-10-05
Ronald V
OH, United States
2010-10-05
Pete F
CA, United States
2010-10-05
When ordering over the phone the service representative was wonderful and the hat I ordered is just what I wanted. Could not ask for more!
John C
CO, United States
2010-10-05
Friendly, knowledgeable, had the merchandise in stock, mailed and received in a timely manner and in good order. No surprises.
Nathaniel D
ME, United States
2010-10-05
Dale Y
MI, United States
2010-10-05
good clothing.
Edward S
IL, United States
2010-10-05
I already have recommended you to someone and I think they have already placed an order.
Joseph K
VA, United States
2010-10-05
Keep up the good work.
Pehr V
-, Sweden
2010-10-05
Calvin P
WI, United States
2010-10-05
Joseph S
DC, United States
2010-10-05
Camille S
GA, United States
2010-10-05
Ken B
OH, United States
2010-10-05
merchandise was as expected-fast shipping-good quality
Janet B
MA, United States
2010-10-05
Quick.. easy.... great product!!!
Jennifer C
NE, United States
2010-10-05
Zach F
HI, United States
2010-10-05
They can be a little pricey, but you get what you pay for. Their merchandise was really of high quality and was very comfortable to wear. I was immensity satisfied with my order and will most likely but from them again to compliment my steampunk attire...
John P
VA, United States
2010-10-05
i am very pleased, you now have a new customer
Dan K
MO, United States
2010-10-05
The vest I purchased was missing a button upon arrival. I called the Emporium, talked to a very nice man and was sent a replacement vest. The service was better than the vest. I would buy from this company again.
Keith P
TX, United States
2010-10-05
Larry B
TX, United States
2010-10-05
Very disappointed the item is a very cvheap product. My friends have purchased better ones at five bucks.
Melinda B
IA, United States
2010-10-05
I was suprised my shipment went out so fast!!! Good quality product.
Edward N
ME, United States
2010-10-05
Thank You I love my new holster Have a Great Day
Candra C
OR, United States
2010-10-05
Linda B
VI, Australia
2010-10-05
Prompt service. happy with coat
Melvin W
CA, United States
2010-10-05
I must say that I am very much pleased with my purchase. It was precisely what I had been looking for, very excellent quality.
Janice C
VA, United States
2010-10-05
The representative was very helpful. The hat fits perfectly and is very nice looking.
Michael H
TN, United States
2010-10-05
My order was exactly as described and arrived in a very timely manner
Judith L
CA, United States
2010-10-05
Christopher P
FL, United States
2010-10-05
The prices are excellent and the order was processed and shipped amazingly fast. The hat is of very high quality, too. Historical Emporium is amazing.
James S
GA, United States
2010-10-05
I already have. However, the jacket I ordered was too small and so I have sent it back to exchange it for a larger one.
Theresa A
MN, United States
2010-10-05
Olivia W
-, United States
2010-10-05
Very helpful on the telephone. Swift delivery to the UK and great quality clothes. Excellent.
Martha B
NC, United States
2010-10-05
I loved everything!!!
Abraham D
CA, United States
2010-10-05
Julie R
FL, United States
2010-10-05
Christopher P
RI, United States
2010-10-05
Nice web site, easy to find items
Lonnie D
TX, United States
2010-10-05
The vest I ordered was of the highest quality. I have had many complements while wearing it.
Mark C
CA, United States
2010-10-05
Randall R
PA, United States
2010-10-05
Natalia E
FL, United States
2010-10-05
Great product! I love that hat.
Carl R
CA, United States
2010-10-05
Beautiful product at the best price I could find anywhere.
Daniel C
VA, United States
2010-10-05
Customer service was excellent, as were the products. However, it would be helpful if you indicated sizing for items that run small (like the vest I ordered).
Kaleen P
OH, United States
2010-10-05
Shipping was prompt and for that I was grateful.
Nicolas D
France
2010-10-05
Excellent quality products, surprisingly quickly delivered, you're the best online shop I ever ordered from.
John E
MA, United States
2010-10-05
Ilene F
CA, United States
2010-10-05
Keith E
TX, United States
2010-10-05
Great prices and speedy delivery!
Eric W
CA, United States
2010-10-05
Cyndi M
MO, United States
2010-10-05
Excellent service, received order really fast.
Deborah G
WA, United States
2010-10-05
Suzanne R
CA, United States
2010-10-05
We ordered the Men's Lace-up boots and are thrilled with them! They look great and the actors said they fit and feel great, too. They came as promised, time-wise. We will definitely keep you mind for future shows.
Aaron W
MI, United States
2010-10-05
The site is very easy to navigate and process transactions on. I will definitely be shopping more on the site.
David M
NY, United States
2010-10-05
It is a very easy place to shop. I'd be happy to give them more of my hard earned money. A very well done website, helpful folks to a click and ship order system. If you want the look they will make you look just dandy.
Barry N
NC, United States
2010-10-05
Lamar F
KY, United States
2010-10-05
Tracy D
WA, United States
2010-10-05
Dan D
FL, United States
2010-10-05
If I had lived in the days of the old west, this is what I would have worn a holster just like this one. It is top quality. When I was in Cody, wy at the cody museum, Our United States V.P. donated a Black holster with a knife on the left side, a matching
Bernard M
CA, United States
2010-10-05
Donald V
NM, United States
2010-10-05
Very easy transaction, good communication, fast shipping.
Deren H
UT, United States
2010-10-05
A great source for hard-to-find items.
Michael B
CA, United States
2010-10-05
Ian B
-, United States
2010-10-05
Very good service indeed. I got my shirt much quicker than I would have anticipated, being in the U.K.
Magnus L
-, Sweden
2010-10-05
Alicia B
IN, United States
2010-10-05
I know many people who do costuming, and I think Gentlemans's Emporium is a great place to get ideas as well as pieces for outfits. I have already recommended it to several people!
Matthew G
CA, United States
2010-10-05
Raymond H
GA, United States
2010-10-05
Whereas the shirt is a decent quality, I have cotton fitted shirts of a higher quality at less of a price. And the tie that was purchased doesn't even contain 30$ worth of fabric. I'll wear it of course but I'll have to be careful with it since it looks
Heather H
FL, United States
2010-10-05
Paul S
FL, United States
2010-10-05
Great stuff, professional service!
Terri H
AL, United States
2010-10-05
Price was good and shipping was super quick!
Molly W
MN, United States
2010-10-05
Francis R
CA, United States
2010-10-05
Item was too big, sales staff went out of their way to measure stock and get me a replacement that fit.
Lane B
IL, United States
2010-10-05
Was very easy to order on the site, and it arrived exactly when you said it would. Quality is very good on both items. I'll be back!!
Kerry P
NC, United States
2010-10-05
Neat selection, fine quality, gift recipient was very satisfied!
Matthew B
LA, United States
2010-10-05
I would recommend the shop to others.. However.. having arm lengths or leg lengths or a tailoring service or more long lengths would be nice...
Erik B
MA, United States
2010-10-05
The hat is of excellent quality, shipped very fast, arrived well packaged and in perfect condition.
John B
CA, United States
2010-10-05
Kristianna F
FL, United States
2010-10-05
Ivey C
NC, United States
2010-10-05
swift service, complete order and it was very authinic.
Charles S
NJ, United States
2010-10-05
Clark F
MS, United States
2010-10-05
John P
CA, United States
2010-10-05
It is just great. fast shipping...
Rebecca P
CA, United States
2010-10-05
I do have one complaint. One of the white snoods (hair net) fell apart the first weekend it was used. I was not happy, but also too busy with the show to do anything about it. I do have the damaged snood, if you would like it back.
Crawford S
FL, United States
2010-10-05
I was so pleased to speak to someone who had a good knowledge of the merchandise. The person I spoke to was very helpful, and guided me to the right choices.
Matthew H
CA, United States
2010-10-05
Debbie G
CA, United States
2010-10-05
David J
UT, United States
2010-10-05
Very pleased with my purchase. Very good quality. Prompt delivery. 100% satisfied!
Jim S
FL, United States
2010-10-05
Piece I purchased had a broken lens.
Paul R
VA, United States
2010-10-05
Thanks, the order was handled quickly and as prescribed.
Latte D
ON, Canada
2010-10-05
the shipping was expensive, otherwise great product and service.
Cheryl D
NC, United States
2010-10-05
Good quality merchandise that came on recommendation from a friend.
Richard H
GA, United States
2010-10-05
my wife and i were very thilled
Gary H
MO, United States
2010-10-05
Megan M
TX, United States
2010-10-05
Great quality merchandise. Loved seeing all those Made in the USA labels.
William W
KS, United States
2010-10-05
Quick service and top-notch products.
Teresa L
CA, United States
2010-10-05
It was soooo easy to order and very quick! I was quite impressed! THANK YOU!!!!!
Adrienne S
TX, United States
2010-10-05
Wonderful service!
Matthew K
MI, United States
2010-10-05
You guys are awesome!

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service