Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2012-06-03

Greg
CA, United States
2012-05-28
A perfect bit of flash to add to my costume! It's small enough to fit nicely into a coat pocket where it can casually be pulled out for a little look around. Granted, 2x is not a lot of magnification but, for under $20, it's a great little piece. Seems well made, too.
Greg
CA, United States
2012-05-28
I haven't worn suspenders since I was a kid, except for a very rare turn in a tux a couple of times, but the wonderful pants here practically demand it. OH, WAIT! They come in LEATHER!! So very cool. Substantial. And the back piece is very sturdy elastic which both keeps them snug and allows for enough give to make them comfortable. As noted by other reviewers, they do run long. Mine are on the very last hole, which works for me at 5'9". Shorter gents will need to trim them and add holes. But hey, they give you plenty of leather to do that with, so the one size actually will fit all. And they look fabulous at a very reasonable price. Makes me wish I had buttons on my everyday pants...
Greg
CA, United States
2012-05-28
These are amazing boots! I've always wanted knee high boots, and these are the real deal. They'll work well with both my victorian and Renaissance costumes. They're a little problematic for me though on several points: 1) I have really high arches, so getting into them was a bit of work and getting out of them required the assistance of my lovely wife. 2) I plan to wear my pants inside the boots and have really muscular calves so, again, there's some effort to getting everything in place. 3) The soles are smooth, hard leather which makes them very slick. Until I've used them enough to rough up the sole, I'll have to watch my step. These are really well made, they look fantastic and, yes, the "new leather" smell is great. They're sitting in the corner of my newly refurbished walk-in closet, making the whole place smell wonderful. I can hardly wait the couple of weeks 'til the first event where I can strut about in them. Be sure to ask about half sizes, if that is what you need. The 9.5 fits me perfectly, and they even accommodate my wide feet.

United States
2012-05-28
Gave a great extra touch to my 1920's outfit for prom. It looks great, feels good in the hand and has the push-to-open function that makes a pocket watch so damn fancy. But, alas, it is still just a prop. It quickly lost the time (within 30 minutes), and the window seems to be made of some thick plastic. Great for show. Not a real pocket watch. Perfect for what I needed it for, but know that it isn't functional.

United States
2012-05-28
I had no problems with the vest. I gave the site my proper measurements and then crossed my fingers. In the end, it gave me a great vest. I have only worn it once, but it survived both prom and the crazy after prom completely unscathed, so I imagine it has to be SOMEWHAT durable.
Greg
CA, United States
2012-05-28
These were not my first choice for pants. Unfortunately, the Emporium was out of my first choice. After some consultation with their excellent Customer Services staff, we figured that these would be the next best choice to go with the coat, hat, vest, etc. that I already have. And they are! The color is a good compliment to the other pieces, as we determined in our email exchanges. The material is lighter weight than I was expecting, although that is not obvious when simply looking at them. However, that actually goes in the plus column, as far as I am concerned, since I will be wearing them in summer with a hat and coat. Should help keep my temperature down a bit. They seem to be of sturdy construction and the claim is that they are machine washable. I may have them dry cleaned with my coat anyway, just to be sure they stay as nice as they are out of the box. I also suggest going two sizes larger in the waist. Add a nice pair of suspenders form Historical Emporium and, between those and the adjustable back strap, you'll be able to make them fit just right. I'm looking forward to many enjoyable uses of these trousers.
Mary King
NO, United States
2012-05-28
Beautiful victorian vest my fiance will use for his wedding attire! Fast and secure service, we will be ordering from you in the future! Thank you.
Professor Neverwas
MI, United States
2012-05-28
Outstanding quality! I have a large head (7 1/2)--no snide remarks, please!--and took a chance in ordering your largest available size. Eureka! It fits! I am now complete! And the workmanship was top-notch, right down to the jaunty feather. All for a reasonable price to boot. My airship awaits!
Professor Neverwas
MI, United States
2012-05-28
Gentlemen, I am impressed! The quality, fit and appearance of this outstanding vest make it a real bargain. It looks so good, I would not hesitate to wear it with contemporary suiting as well as my victorian era garb. However, be forewarned: If you're also wearing suspenders, the vest's eight buttons will slow you down considerably in the gent's room!
Raquel Perez
NC, United States
2012-05-29
I love this bracelet. It looks great and it was very affordable. I get compliments all the time on it and it was delivered quickly. I purchased the necklace too.
Bonnie L. Chaudoir
MO, United States
2012-05-29
I am verry happy with my blouse. Will order for you again.
Stephanie Miller
OH, United States
2012-05-29
We ordered the satin tonal pinstripe ascot for our wedding in July. It arrived even quicker than we expected and was absolutely perfect for our vintage themed ceremony! Thank you for making our special day even better.

United States
2012-05-29

United States
2012-05-29
Wayne S. Kinnison
KY, United States
2012-05-29
Your sizing seem to be way off on these trousers, the first pair I ordered were my regular blue jean size 33 and did not fit at all. The exchange were 38 and fit like they were made for me. The finish on all the clothing I have ordered from you is rough, lots of loose strings and frayed button holes. The Duncan vest Item #002507 faded bad under the arms, left red stains all over my white shirt. This item also seems to be cut small, I ordered a large and it is a snug fit. Most of the large clothing items I buy else where fit loose.
Laurie Benson
MI, United States
2012-05-29
Everyone thought they were so lovely, quaint and fit the tea to a tea! Thank you! Laurie Benson

United States
2012-05-29
This is a high-quality hat. We ordered this for our son to wear to prom. It looked great! I was especially happy that the hat came in larger sizes, since our family has large heads (-: Thank you!

United States
2012-05-29
Our son wanted to have a walking stick/cane as an accessory with the tux he was wearing to prom. This fit the bill perfectly! Very dapper -- and a legit cane as well! Thank you!

United States
2012-05-29
This is a reasonably priced pocket watch with a very cool design/look. Our son wore it as an accessory with his prom tux. It was an awesome added touch. We have some adorable photos of his date checking the time on the watch. Very nice!
Mitch McDaniel
MI, United States
2012-05-30
I wore this vest under my black coat to the prom and looked fine. Most people had rented the flat, bland polyester trappings the unimaginative use for such occasions. This vest with a black bowtie and the Sinclair shirt looked substantial and sincere, in a vast sea of superficial rentals.
Mitch McDaniel
MI, United States
2012-05-30
Comb your hair back, pop the collar and tie on a cravat: instant James K. Polk.
Mike McDaniel
MI, United States
2012-05-30
Life is too brutal and short for bland vests. This vest looks best with a band collar and rolled-up sleeves. The little notch in front leaves just enough space for the top button or a bit of material. Bring extra business cards because you'll be passing them out to your admirers all day.
Dawn P. Livingston
CA, United States
2012-05-31
The item description and photo were exactly what I got. Its perfect, it has a good magnification, and nice chain to hang around your neck when you need to use both hands. Just what I wanted, thanks!
Zanzell
United States
2012-06-01
I would recommend these gloves. The price isn't bad at all, and they're very comfortable. I previously bought white gloves from this site, and I decided to buy these for situations where white gloves may get dirty. I love the products from this website, and will very likely continue to buy from it!

United States
2012-06-01
I was very pleased with the quality of the vest, as well as the timeliness of the shipment. Thank you!

United States
2012-06-01
Was very pleased with the quality and appearance of this tie. Thanks again for a very nice product.

United States
2012-06-01
Love these!! I receive many compliments on them.
Admin Admi
CA, United States
2012-06-02
this is a test review
Paul Bertrand
LO, United States
2012-05-31
The gun belt is excellant. The holster lets the revolver swing out away from my side more than I prefer, bet I found an easy fix to sove that problem. All in all, good quality at a decent price. I'd buy another one if I needed one.
Rodeo Queen
AR, United States
2012-06-01
Blouse is gorgeous....but not cut for a short woman as sleeves are very long. Had to have alterations to sleeves in order to keep the awesome cuffs. Yep, I'd buy it again even knowing it would have to be altered.
Kate A
ME, United States
2012-06-03
I was thrilled with the service I received. I even had to exchange two vests and it was easy and fast. Thank you for the great selection and pricing.
Frank S
CT, United States
2012-06-03
Travis S
MO, United States
2012-06-03
Everything I ordered arrived safe and exactly as showing and described. I was very Very happy with it all and have told several of my friends about the site.
Sandra W
AZ, United States
2012-06-02
Met needs for true 1890's victorian
Robert C
TX, United States
2012-06-01
great service and good quailty. Fair price, this was the 2nd purchase in the lasr month. RJC
David C
ME, United States
2012-05-31
Greg B
IN, United States
2012-05-31
Lisa J
MT, United States
2012-05-31
Thank you for your quick and prompt service!
John A
IA, United States
2012-05-30
service was prompt and the pants I ordered were perfect for my re enacting.
James R
MI, United States
2012-05-30
Ron N
VA, United States
2012-05-30
Excellent products!
Paul B
LA, United States
2012-05-30
Very good customer service dept.
Lynn F
OH, United States
2012-05-30
I couldn't be more pleased with your merchandise, your pricing, and your order fulfillment. I am a very satisfied customer!
Scott C
VA, United States
2012-05-29
I sent an E-Mail prior to placing an order asking about a product. It was never answered. The item I ordered (a 1910's style bathing suit) was made of polyester which feels cheap and clings to the body when wet. The checkout process wasn't as streamlined as other online retailers.
Brian S
MI, United States
2012-05-29
Nathaniel G
ME, United States
2012-05-29
Awesome products, decent prices, stuff I couldn't find anywhere else :D
Andrew S
FL, United States
2012-05-29
ive discussed your site with friends, we are likely to do a lot of christmas shopping on it.
Stephanie M
OH, United States
2012-05-29
The quality and selection were amazing.
Kathy P
TX, United States
2012-05-29
You have not helped. I have a creative child who often looks at your website & begs for many of the items you sell. I hate being the bad guy.
Inez B
VA, United States
2012-05-29
Carrie P
TN, United States
2012-05-29
Robert K
IN, United States
2012-05-29
David K
NY, United States
2012-05-28
A very nice selection of items and reasonable pricing
Todd P
MD, United States
2012-05-28
I'm very satisfied with the Emporium's service. At the last minute I decided to throw together a steampunk costume for a festival and Historical Emporium came through to get me the clothes I needed quick as could be. Thanks to the fine folks at the Emporium I looked and felt great in my new garb.

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service