Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2013-09-22

Marley
AN, United States
2013-09-16
My only problem with the cravat is that it is not made for us larger necked men. It would be fine except that it is not long enough for me.
Daisy
FL, United States
2013-09-16
Got what I expected, I love them, received them promptly!

United States
2013-09-16
I'm so in love with this skirt! The quality of the material and the construction is well worth the price. The size does run small and true to the measurements listed.
Heidi McGahan
Australia
2013-09-18
I did a lot of searching on line for victorian Style Clothing and Historical Emporium seemed like the place to shop. After I received the merchandise I can only say, the dress is well made, not like some costumes made out of cheap materiel. Shipping also was handled in a fast and professional manner. I will order from Historical Emporium again. Too bad the company doesn't have any suits from the Boer War.
michele
Canada
2013-09-18
Material feels substantial but comfy; sleeves give lots of room to move; comfy neck and cuffs; nice detailing. The only point I would EMPHASIZE is that it MUST be washed in cold water. The pleat detailing beside the button band reduces the stretch across the chest. It is not forgiving - esp. if you shrink the shirt by washing it in warm water (like I did). I tried to order a larger one in navy, but it was not available.
michele
Canada
2013-09-18
With elastic only at the tail piece, these braces feel really comfy. They don't put as much pressure on the shoulders as the all-elastic braces tend to.
michele
Canada
2013-09-18
Perfect cut - roomy but not sloppy. full material back (same as front, not flimsy lightweight fabric) feels substantial and adds warmth to the garment - as does the higher button front. Got the vigilante pants in black to match - couldn't be happier!
Michele
Canada
2013-09-18
AWESOME pants! I did order one size up based on other previews stating that they ran a little small. Sturdy, well-made, perfect cut (not too sloppy or too tight). Look great with the matching vigilante vest and black elastic tail suspenders! Well worth the money.
Michele
Canada
2013-09-18
This store sells REAL HISTORICAL CLOTHING, not costumes. The detail and quality strongly influenced my decision to purchase from Historical Emporium. The wide range of sizes too was a strong drawing point. My purchase met my expectations admirably, as did the service which was professional. Shipping was quick. I would absolutely shop with this store again, and would highly recommend it to others.
Aggie
TE, United States
2013-09-18
Very comfortable, only have one wish that there was a pocket on this or a similar type shirt.

United States
2013-09-18
Quality, Quickly.

United States
2013-09-18
Quality, Quickly.

United States
2013-09-18
Quality, Quickly.

United States
2013-09-18
Quality, Quickly.

United States
2013-09-18
Quality, Quickly.

United States
2013-09-18
Quality, Quickly.
SAPink
United States
2013-09-18
What I wanted, when I wanted it and high quality at reasonable prices.
David
OR, United States
2013-09-18
This is a nice hat
David
OR, United States
2013-09-18
It would be nice to have slightly more time to respond when an item is out of stock
Smoke Box
CA, United States
2013-09-20
The classic canvas work vest is best I've seen ! very nicely put together and will last for years.
Smoke Box
CA, United States
2013-09-20
Before purchasing this vest, I talked with the people in customer service and had all my questions answered as to size, fit & finish. I have passed this store on to others in my line of work. I highly recommend it to any one looking for very good customer service and very nice clothes
Laurie
WA, United States
2013-09-20
This was higher quality than I thought it would be be. It is well sewn and exactly like the photo. The skirt sizes run a bit small, so for comfort, get the next size up. This is a great looking and fitting skirt. Good product!
Laurie
WA, United States
2013-09-20
I am assuming it is good. Since the product was as advertised and arrived promptly and in excellent shape, I am completely satisfied and would buy from the Historical Emporium again.

United States
2013-09-20
Service was great, tracking was easy, and the skirt fits perfectly! Thanks!!!!
MarDi
TX, United States
2013-09-20
Absolutely love this top....dress it up or down, daytime to night; simply gorgeous.

United States
2013-09-20
This blouse is adorable. The fabric has a tiny bit of stretch, which makes it have a good fit.

United States
2013-09-20
I needed an outfit in just a few days. The website is easy to navigate and gives good descriptions of the clothing. The gentleman I talked to on the phone was nice and helpful. I received my clothing quickly and everything fit perfectly! Clothing is of good quality. Thank you!
megan
United States
2013-09-20
I love it. It is exactly what I was looking for.
David
NY, United States
2013-09-20
These trousers are great! Very sophisticated and distinguished. I feel like a true Gentlemen when I wear them especially with pale rider boots and a Tombstone shirt! Customer service great as well!
David
NY, United States
2013-09-20
Beautiful vest, Great for weddings as well, a True southern Gentlemen!
Chuck
MS, United States
2013-09-20
when I got my holster in the mail, I was very much suprised to see such good workmanship. I viewed outher companies on the web, and picked your company do to such good reviews from your customers. I have already showed my friends and you can look for more orders to be coming.
Elisa
OH, United States
2013-09-20
This watch is beautiful. A bit larger than expected, as the glass on both sides is convex. It is a gift for my daughter-in-law (who has never owned a "windy watch") so I may need to buy another for myself!
Elisa
OH, United States
2013-09-20
Fast and perfect!
Steve
NY, United States
2013-09-20
I am very pleased with my purchase of this vest. The material is super durable and the stitching is impeccable. I have worn it several times and always get compliments. I will not hesitate to order again.
Linda Harrison
CA, United States
2013-09-20
My husband bought this for me for cowboy Shooting. I love it, it fits like a glove and I feel very sexy in it. Now I want the one in black. Excellent price, well sewn and fabric is great.
Saint
United States
2013-09-20
This is a very nice vest. Fits comfortably and looks quite good on me. I highly recommend it... and one of the things I like most about it is that the pockets weren't sewn shut like on so many other vests I've gotten over the years.
Saint
United States
2013-09-20
Lovely comfortable shirt. Well made too.
Michael
CO, United States
2013-09-20
Very fast delivery. The product was ordered on the weekend, and I had it in hand by Wednesday.
Dennis Edmondson
MA, United States
2013-09-20
I get more compliments about this shirt then anything else I own. The side-buttoning is an attraction to people, it's unique comfortable and stylish. Keep up the good work and the great selection.
lucylocket
VI, United States
2013-09-20
The watch looks wonderful, superbly boxed. I would recommend this site to anyone wanting quality at reasonable prices.
Don Wright
OR, United States
2013-09-20
I've ordered costume pieces from other vendors thst were, on arrival, just costume pieces. The Bancroft double brested vest from Historical Emporium, however, feels and looks authentic, but also is finely made. I'll be back!
Will
CA, United States
2013-09-20
Loved the vest, but medium was too large, and small was too small - - - by a large margin!
Will
CA, United States
2013-09-20
Customer service is without peer!
dhbrim
GE, United States
2013-09-20
I found one product on Ebay and then could not find it again. It was difficult to find the actual web site, but I really like the products you carry. Glad I found y'all.
Gary Brown
CA, United States
2013-09-20
The coat is great, better than I expected. The fast service was a plus. Truly 5 star!!!!!

United States
2013-09-20
The holster came on time and I am very happy with the quality. The price is quite low considering the good workmanship and quality of the material. I had trouble with the verbiage in the sizing chart though. I read it as "measure your hips and add four inches", when it really just wants you to measure your hips and realize that the number you get should be bigger than your pants size. So mine is a bit too large, but not through any fault of the company.
Lucifuge
United States
2013-09-20
I picked these up for a few events I planned on attending. I was less than impressed upon opening the package once it had arrived. The articulated spectacles were packed in such a manner that the folding articulated sections was jammed up on the lenses, ensuring that they would be scratched rather badly. As I mentioned in the review title, it must be hard work packing items to be shipped; oh wait, no its not, you just cram everything haphazardly in a box and assume it will be all right. These spectacles would have been a decent product, if someone hadn't made a complete bollocks of the shipping. I plan to get my products from a different company next time, let me assure you.
Ed Williams
KY, United States
2013-09-20
Coat is great quality fits great will buy again
Herb Davis
WA, United States
2013-09-20
This was the second order I made from western Emporium and it was delivered very fast no complainas from me. the Items met my expecttations. I will continiue to order products if and when I need them
John
FL, United States
2013-09-20
I purchased a pair of these black leather gaiters to wear over a pair of Men's Size 10 1/2 Riding Boots to steampunk them up a bit and the look is very cool.I have a pair of Paddock Boots that they will work well with also. Less expensive than another pair of footwear that I will not often wear, this product was a bargain that gave me the creative solution that I was looking for.
Happy in Seattle
WA, United States
2013-09-20
I've spent years trying to find a real pith helmet for my husband. All I've ever been able to find until now is cheap plastic imitations. This is the real deal and exactly what he's been looking for! He's going to be very surprised on his birthday. Quality and price of product was excellent. Shipping was fast and service wonderful. I will definitely be buying more from your company.
Very happy customer
WA, United States
2013-09-20
The product was great and shipping was extremely fast. I would definitely recommend to anyone I know.
Cori
NJ, United States
2013-09-20
This vest is gorgeous. It's not heavy at all- but lovely quality. My "steampunk" themed wedding will feature this on the groom. I initially thought there'd be a little bronze shine to it- as it seemed so in the picture. There definitely is shine, though the color is a rich brown and black. It looks phenomenal on him anyway. (Wish I could attach a picture). I have a very baby-faced fiance... this vest plus the ascot tie I purchased, top hat and tailcoat make for a fine, manly gentleman. ;)
Cori
NJ, United States
2013-09-20
This tie is fantastic! Easy to put on.. as some of the groomsmen in my wedding are not tie-savvy. There is an elegant shine to the tie, and the pattern is perfect. It came with the jewel too! Our steampunk theme comes together with this look. We've invited our guests to dress the part- so expect more sales from us in NJ. ;) Thank you!
Cori
NJ, United States
2013-09-20
This tie is fantastic! Easy to put on.. as some of the groomsmen in my wedding are not tie-savvy. There is an elegant shine to the tie, and the pattern is perfect. It came with the jewel too! Our steampunk theme comes together with this look. We've invited our guests to dress the part- so expect more sales from us in NJ. ;) The Emporium is wonderful- both my ties and the vest I ordered came extremely quickly. Thank you!
Donna
WI, United States
2013-09-20
My husband wore this to his mother's 90th birthday party. She had a victorian Tea Party theme. It fit well and looked good.
Donna
WI, United States
2013-09-20
My husband looked great in this vest. Good quality, good fit, handsome man.
Homer
IL, United States
2013-09-20
This is the nicest jacket I that I have ever bought. It is well worth the money. It looks wonderful and the velvet is has a great feel to it. The fit could not be better. It is very true to size. If you want to look very dapper in a smoking jacket, then this is the one for you. I would recommend this jacket and Historical Emporium to anyone.
Jill
WA, United States
2013-09-20
I was very happy with the service. My questions were answered which helped me make the decision to purchase the item. I will most certainly shop with you again should the need arise. I would definitely recommend you to others.
James Edward (BAT)Owens
TE, United States
2013-09-20
I am really enjoying my straw derby. I was very impressed with the salesman I spoke with over the phone. He answered my questions respectfully, and was very well mannered with me. I was really pleased with how well the derby is constructed, no loose straws or small holes. I would definitely buy from this company again. I've actually been looking recently, just haven't deceided on what I want yet. Thank You. James Edward Owens
mkb
OR, United States
2013-09-20
Let me just say that this hat wasn't my first choice. But when the first hat I ordered came in a size too small (when they say go up a size, round up to the nearest inch) they were out of the color I wanted in that hat and I couldn't afford the shipping so I figured this one was worth a try. I have been very impressed with the quality of both hats I ordered. I can't say for the top hat I ordered first but be aware wool is hot don't get one without a sweat band.

United States
2013-09-20
Completely Satisfied. Would like to have a herring bone grey instead, but will keep the tweed I ordered. Thank you for all your consideration and the prompt delivery service.

United States
2013-09-20
Top notch, very helpful.

United States
2013-09-20
Quality could be bvetter but you get what you pay for. Great for the price and still looks good.

United States
2013-09-20
Good quality and very beautiful

United States
2013-09-20
Pretty good quality but for that we lost about 6 inches of embroidery to I don't know what.

United States
2013-09-20
Very well-made and pretty. not a stiff hat at all.
allan coddington
FL, United States
2013-09-20
i'm really happy with this shirt. more than I expected. I will be buying the red and natural shirts as soon as you get them in again in size small. also I've had no trouble at all with the buttons.
Murf
Australia
2013-09-20
Really nice quality and fit. Highly recommended.
nohater
TX, United States
2013-09-20
This is exactly what I was expecting!
nohater
TX, United States
2013-09-20
This is exactly what I was expecting!
nohater
TX, United States
2013-09-20
These goggles are delicate. The elastic band becomes detached very easily. I was able to fix them satisfactorily with safety pins.
nohater
TX, United States
2013-09-20
This is exactly what I was expecting!
nohater
TX, United States
2013-09-20
This is exactly what I was expecting!
nohater
TX, United States
2013-09-20
This is exactly what I was expecting!
Bill C.
OH, United States
2013-09-20
Really nice. Everything I get from Historical Emporium is great and high quality.
Jim
CA, United States
2013-09-20
I was impressed when I opened the shipping box! The quality of the scabbard is very good and it fits my 30/30 like a glove. Was also very pleased by how quickly it arrived. Looking forward to visiting your store. Thank you,
Bob
IO, United States
2013-09-20
Very nice, exactly what was needed for my daughters wedding!
Beth
KY, United States
2013-09-20
This dress was very well made.
Beth
KY, United States
2013-09-20
This looks awesome. Perfect look for what I wanted.
John K
WI, United States
2013-09-20
really impressed by the quality including the traction soles. I bought these to work in and found them to be very comfortable to be one your feet all day. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars was because the right boot pinched in on my foot, right on the inside stich seam and enough to give me a blister. I solved this by taping a cotton ball to my foot to train the leather to push out and not in against my foot. I have only been wearing them a week or so and when I tried them today(9-20-13) with out the cotton the pinching was nearly gone. I will do the cotton for another week; I am not disappointed in the purchase however and even bought another pair for my wife.
John K
WI, United States
2013-09-20
Love the retro look. wore them to church last Sunday!
Blue-Sky
NE, United States
2013-09-20
This is the hat to buy if you want an authentic top hat. It is amazing, I love mine and it fits perfectly! I wear it everyday!
Michelle
New Zealand
2013-09-21
Fantastic looking...sits on my top hat really well. Good quality materials. Love them. :))
Dan
NE, United States
2013-09-21
Great hat!! Looks fantastic.
Corapeah
ON, Canada
2013-09-21
I love the outfit! It is absolutely gorgeous. Thank you.
Corapeah
ON, Canada
2013-09-21
Love this purse so much, I ordered it in the Olive and the Red also! The bead work is so intricate, it is just stunning. I ordered an entire outfit, Bristol Taffeta Suit-Garnet,Edwardian Hoop Underskirt, Camisole, Bloomers, Stockings, victorian boots, Spats, Lace Gloves, Battenburg Lace Fan, Parasol, Hat, Lace Jabot with cameo, and a Cameo ring! Everything is fantastic! Thank you!
wls
OK, United States
2013-09-21
it looks and feels good
Kenneth Dallman
WI, United States
2013-09-21
Great old west shirt. Awesome work and fit. Would recommend this company to anyone looking for good quality and price.
Laurette Neumann
CA, United States
2013-09-21
This hat was everything I expected and more. Lovely, will go nicely with my victorian party dress for docenting at the famous McHenry Mansion in Modesto, CA
Giovanni Valentino
NE, United States
2013-09-21
My steam punk group, TEOS (Temporal Entities of Syracuse), had a booth at a local horror convention. We were acting as staff and promoting our group. I wore this coat and the Screw Ring Goggles [002684]. I got tons of compliments and many people asked to have their photo with me. The coat was very durable as I wore it all weekend. It was easy to wear and thankfully, very breathable, keeping me cool in a very hot dealers room. I need to save up and buy two more. One in white and one in black.
Giovanni Valentino
NE, United States
2013-09-21
My steam punk group, TEOS (Temporal Entities of Syracuse), had a booth at a local horror convention. We were acting as staff and promoting our group. I wore the Screw Ring Goggles [002684] and Mad Scientist Howie Lab Coat - Red [004617]. I got tons of compliments and many people asked to have their photo with me.
Mark
NC, United States
2013-09-21
I love this vest. It fits great, has a wonderful pattern, and is stunning. The picture on the website (I viewed it using several different monitors) is a much lighter shade of green than the item received. I would have given this rating 5 stars if the color had been as pictured, which is really what I wanted. However, I am keeping the vest as I still like it.
Maria
SC, United States
2013-09-21
Great service, quick and efficient . Amazing quality merchandise. It shows that the company really cares about his clients.
John-Mark
AR, United States
2013-09-21
The Brigade vest I recently purchased is truly a well made good looking garment. I love and have many vests and this one is a great additional to my collection. I wish it came in a navy blue as well. I will definitely be purchasing another vest or other piece of western clothing from the Historical Emporium in the near future. What a fun website to just spend time looking through all of the authentic period clothing.

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service