Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2010-12-05

Dale
United States
2010-12-04
Fantastic look, very well made garment. Runs a tad bit on the small size, so you may want to consider one size up.
JoEllen
United States
2010-12-03
We purchase all of my husband's clothes from Emporium and he won't even look anywhere else. When our church dressed in the 1800 mode for Thanksgiving, he insisted I order from them, too. These are NOT costumes. It is quality clothing. My skirt was just perfect although I ordered it too large. Well made, quality material. LOVED IT. And will wear it as a dress skirt with a frilly white blouse next.
westbury
United States
2010-12-03
It's a very nice cap, though i would have probably been better with a small size rather than medium, but unfortunately, it didn't come in small.
Timbot
TX, United States
2010-12-03
Timbot
TX, United States
2010-12-03
Herr_Reese
MA, United States
2010-12-03
I love these goggles, they were a great value and very comfortable to wear. I wear them on an everyday basis as sunglasses, sunglasses that instantly identify me as the coolest person in the area. The only thing I would say to someone thinking about buying them is to remember that they restrict your peripheral vision, so remember not to wear them over your eyes while driving or crossing streets.
christy
United States
2010-12-02
workmanship is top quality, while the look is totally awesome!!!!!!
aikisword
United States
2010-12-02
These trousers are a wonderful addition to both my steampunk and Victorian attire. They passed costume inspection at the San Francisco Dickens Christmas fair. I find them well fitting and easy to fence in during historical fencing bouts. They are a vast improvement over fencing knickers!
Mike
RI, United States
2010-12-02
Mike
RI, United States
2010-12-02
dancer
UN, United States
2010-12-02
This is a really nice item. Very dressy and smart. Unfortunately mine arrived with a two spots on the sleeves which were probably defects in the cloth. As I live in the United Kingdom I could not be bothered with the hassle of returning it. Instead I tried to remove the spots and was only partially successful. Having said that it would not prevent me from buying another. It was required for fancy dress and fits the bill admirably.
Cody Hare
TX, United States
2010-12-02
I love this vest. It is perfect for any victorian outing or everyday use. I use it for both. Being a founder of San Antonio's Neo-Victorian Association, I have to look good and this vest does the trick. It is sturdy, comfortable and goes with a lot of my outfits. I highly recommend this product.
dancer
UN, United States
2010-12-02
Oh so stylish and really well made. Fits like a glove and is a very pleasing addition to the wardrobe. Whatever the occasion you will feel smart in one of these!
Major Sharpe
United States
2010-12-02
Purchased for my daughter to wear at Dickens onthe Strand in Galveston. She was delighted with dress. It fit well and delivered post haste.
dancer
UN, United States
2010-12-02
So glad the advice was to buy a size larger than my waist size, as they fit fine. Slightly inconvenient that the pants come in a universal length instead of individual leg sizes. You have to be handy with a needle of know a good seamstress. But apart from those niggling considerations, a good product.
army_of_52
United States
2010-12-02
Lenses weren't cut to a perfect circle. One of the nose pads arrived missing from the glasses. An alright product for the looks.
Grandpa Roy
United States
2010-12-02
The top hat I bought from you is just the item I was looking for, Sets off my 1855 outfit in a classy way, I portray a Banjo player at Old Missouri Town 1855, and get lots of comments on the top hats I have purchased from you
kwill
MS, United States
2010-12-02
I have been searching for a gun belt and holster for my colt 45 cattleman since i purchased it a year ago. I had looked on most of the web sites that brought up gun belt, or holsters, or gun belt with holster. I was shocked at how pricy these sites wanted for just a plan gun belt or holster. Prices ranged from $150.00 to $800.00. One day while browseing i came across Western Emporium and was supprised at the prices they advertised. Wanting a gunbelt really bad i decided to purchase one from Western emporium. The gunbelt and holster that i purchased i was delighted that it was a tooled belt and holster. I was really happy when it arrived and took it out of the box, it was almost like Christmas for me. The belt and holster was exactly as discribed and pictured in their advertisement, and was more than i expected it too be. The fit was perfect, and the quality of the leather matched or exceeded what i had been looking at at other sites. I would higly recommened this to anyone who is looking for quality at a reasonnalble price.
Bonnie
United States
2010-12-02
Lovely jacket. This is the third leather jacket I've bought from Historical Emporium. Each time they have been despatched promptly, arrived as quickly as possible and in good condition.
Friedrich K
-, Germany
2010-11-29
very good quality and fast shipment - great!
John M
WA, United States
2010-12-02
Inadequate info on size forced me to return the item.
Helen B
-, Australia
2010-12-02
Having a son who is a steampunk fan and finding wonderful items in your steampunk selection to give him for Christmas is wonderful.
Rick J
SD, United States
2010-12-02
Very happy with the products and service
Christian B
-, Germany
2010-12-02
However, you ought to warn that European customers will have to fetch their parcel at the customs office and pay (in Germany) 15% + 19% = 34% ON TOP of the price, which already includes the VERY expensive shipping fee.
Carole M
NY, United States
2010-12-02
Suzanne T
CA, United States
2010-12-02
Gregory L
TN, United States
2010-12-02
Good service, great stuff.
Darrell T
MB, Canada
2010-12-02
The products were of excellent quality and the on line purchase and delivery went smoothly.
James V
CT, United States
2010-12-02
Excellent products swiftly delivered
Erik B
MO, United States
2010-12-02
delivery showed days before I was supposed to get it! :)
Steve W
-, United States
2010-12-02
Mary C
PA, United States
2010-12-02
Order an XL vest - received 2XL - so we had to send it back for an exchange. Have not received the replace to give a comment on the product.
Armando A
FL, United States
2010-12-02
Great selection of period apparel.
Walter R
VA, United States
2010-12-02
Mary M
NE, United States
2010-12-05
I was told I probably couldn't find the long johns with the drop seat, but you had them! Thanks, your service was great. Interesting website.
Marilynn F
MT, United States
2010-12-05
Very fast shipping, and was easy to order something for my brother and send it to his address in Oklahoma, though I lived in Montana.
Jason K
FL, United States
2010-12-05
i was very happy to find what i needed, but when it got here there was a looked like a fix to the walking stick.... oh well didnt have time to be picky and wish there was an overnight option....
Peter U
ON, Canada
2010-12-05
You carry unique products that a are well made and priced right. Nice stuff.
Rhonda V
CA, United States
2010-12-05
I purchased clothing for the groom in my daughters wedding. You came through with exactly what we needed and your pries were very reasonable. thank you.
Beverly M
NH, United States
2010-12-04
Ilona R
-, Germany
2010-12-04
Order placement totally easy; payment no problem; order confirmation received by return; service simply perfect! - What else can I say.. I will definitely return to your website for more orders. The only negative aspect - which is not in your responsibility - is the high cost for customs and delivery. But this will surely be no reason for me not to remain your client. Thanks for everything! Great team, great job!
Todd S
FL, United States
2010-12-04
Pros: Good selection. Fast service. Not so much a pro: pretty much full retail price.
Sean G
FL, United States
2010-12-04
The quality and prices are exceptioanl values. I've already passed tthe name along to several other theater costumers.
Henrik V
-, Denmark
2010-12-04
items arived on time and in excellent condition.
Stephen P
-, United States
2010-12-04
Quality, range, efficiency.
Heather C
-, United States
2010-12-04
really pleased with my purchases, especially as it was an international order. Thank you very much, as Terminator said, I'll be back! Heather x
Tore B
TX, United States
2010-12-02
Lisa K
MO, United States
2010-12-02
wonderful, wonderful items.
Stephen D
NY, United States
2010-12-02
great service
Stephanie L
CA, United States
2010-12-02
Elizabeth S
VA, United States
2010-12-02
Donald S
-, Australia
2010-12-02
Murray B
VA, United States
2010-12-02
Great service--quality product
Donovan P
CA, United States
2010-12-02
historically accurate, great selection. quality products
Ben C
OR, United States
2010-12-02
Tracy J
VI, Australia
2010-12-02
The hat and goggles were a gift. They were posted to me overseas and arrived in time and in perfect condition. The recipient loves them. Thank you
Donald K
NS, Canada
2010-12-02
Great service. Thank you.
Kenny W
MS, United States
2010-12-02
Christopher G
NY, United States
2010-12-02
Ken T
VI, Australia
2010-12-02
thankyou for your prompt & professional service. double boxing for postage shows that extra care. luv the hat cheers
Robert G
NV, United States
2010-12-02
The quick delivery was critically important. The costumes order saved the production I directed. The customore service was excellent--each person took teh time to check and make sure the order was what I wanted and that it would arrive on time. Most, most grateful.
Elizabeth K
ON, Canada
2010-12-02
Charles G
CA, United States
2010-12-02
My purchase came to me quickly and was everything it was advertised to be. This is my 2nd purchase with your company and I am certain it will not be the last.
Paul M
CA, United States
2010-12-02
My shopping experience was overwhelmingly positive- and I love the clothes. I wish people still dressed in high-waisted pants and vests!
Irene W
NM, United States
2010-12-02
Excellent product, service and fast delivery!
Scott D
LA, United States
2010-12-02
Fantastic company.
Kevin B
GA, United States
2010-12-02
The item was shipped and received much quicker than I anticipated. The quality of the item is great and I love it.
Joseph R
OR, United States
2010-12-02
The coat i purchased is great, and very well made. I even get compliments from colleagues. I commend your organization's choice to promote historic styles.
David S
CT, United States
2010-12-02
Vickey R
TX, United States
2010-12-02
Robert K
CA, United States
2010-12-02
The Historical Emporium is absolutely fantastic. The order arrived *very* quickly, and their customer service is amazingly friendly and helpful!
H. L
NM, United States
2010-12-02
Lisa M
-, Australia
2010-12-04
Great service and product but was dispappointed that both the black velvet jackets had sold out and weren't likely to be available again til after Christmas. And why don't you have more lady's wear and some larger sizing?
William L
OK, United States
2010-12-04
Very fast service!
Christopher K
PA, United States
2010-12-04
Rick S
WI, United States
2010-12-03
excellent products, fast delivery
Mary N
NY, United States
2010-12-03
I was surprised and delighted how quickly I received my order. It arrived carefully packaged. I am delighted with the monocles and goggles. Their quality is excellent and the price very reasonable.
Maria R
CO, United States
2010-12-03
Over all I really like this site and I plan on making other purchases in the future.
Yvonne S
-, United States
2010-12-03
Best quality clothing found.
Thomas E
PA, United States
2010-12-03
Taryn S
NJ, United States
2010-12-03
The product shipped quickly and in very good condition.
Margo B
WA, United States
2010-12-03
Rhonda B
WA, United States
2010-12-03
I already have.
Michael M
WA, United States
2010-12-03
The only thing I can say is that the shoes I purchased were VERY squeaky with the patent leather on patent leather. I know how to fix that but other customers may not. You might want to include solutions to that problem on the site as the squeaking is so loud it's comical. A very good friend of mine had the exact same problem with his. Other than that everything we purchased was fantastic and delivered in a short time.
Byron C
MO, United States
2010-12-03
Gretchen K
CO, United States
2010-12-03
Melinda L
CA, United States
2010-12-03
Service was great, shipping was quick, and the product was amazing. Would strongly recommend.
Char D
IL, United States
2010-12-03
The Emporium had what I had been 2 years searching for.
Robert B
CO, United States
2010-12-03
William H
TX, United States
2010-12-03
Everything we ordered looks to be high quality and arrived as ordered. Thanks
Alison R
PA, United States
2010-12-03
Dana E
LA, United States
2010-12-03
Excellent reproduction clothing...sensitive to the proffesional costumer's needs. I felt completely confident when placing my order...knowledgeable staff.
Sandra C
TX, United States
2010-12-03
Received item very quickly; vest is of quality fabric and well made. Just what we needed to complete a Dickens era costume.
Lothar T
CA, United States
2010-12-03
Quick service and good products from a very easy to use and friendly internet store-front.
Marina G
NS, Australia
2010-12-03
My name is Adam, Marina is my bride to be in less than a week,as you don't take debit cards I had to use her credit card, and my mothers credit card on the second purchase, her name is Marian. But all of the purchases were made by me. I found your security and identity checking of the credit card owners very professional, secure , and relieving. Your immediate response to purchase requests with security checks gave me faith in your company and I straight away held you in high regard. The tracking system was fantastic as I ......being the typical layed back groom as I am, left all my outfit to the last minute, so I kept close watch on the tracking and found it allowed for a calm waiting experience as opposed to a stressful one. And when the products arrived I was not only satisfied!...I was overwhelmed with joy and awe at the product! I expected them to be good but not THAT GOOD!!! Every item is so unique and authentic. I admire a business that provides a service as you have. Where customers are treated with such professional tenderness (if that even makes sense..),and although the product is very affordable which is fantastic,it is still high quality which is tremendous!!! Our wedding, which is in less than a week, is a vintage circus/carnival theme and I will be dressed as a ring master, and thanks to you, I am going to look incredible and not just fancy dress up and silly, but actually incredible and cool! And my groomsman are going to look like they belong in a film noir Hollywood production! So I gladly rate you 10 out of 10 for excellent customer service, bedazzling and precious quality products, and at a price which encourages you to purchase more and more to experience all the fun that can be had. Thankyou for taking the time to read my satisfaction survey. Hope it wasn't to longwinded, just thought you deserve to know every detail of our satisfaction. Yours kindly, Adam Johnson
Maria E
CT, United States
2010-12-03
Angela C
GA, United States
2010-12-03
I think the price is a little high but your customer service is excellent.
Douglas F
NL, Canada
2010-12-03
Aaron F
VA, United States
2010-12-03
very easy to order, fast service
Mark M
OH, United States
2010-12-03
Great website, easy to use, good value.
Anthony F
CT, United States
2010-12-03
Ann S
MA, United States
2010-12-03
fast service, good quality clothing
Merinda B
CA, United States
2010-12-03
wonderful service could not believe how quickly I received my order and quality of products ordered was A+
Mikael S
Sweden
2010-12-03
Victor V
-, Netherlands
2010-12-03
The difficulty is to buy at such a distance. The shoes and shirt are fitting well. The trousers however, are far too large and the jacket a little bit too small. It is no option to send things back, so I cannot recommend your services, despitie the good quality you deliver
Philippe G
-, Switzerland
2010-12-03
all was perfect !
Marek M
NO, Netherlands
2010-12-03
Nice quality and lots of choice
Karl M
AB, Canada
2010-12-03
I love The Historical Emprium's merchandise. There is a wide selection of era appropriate wear.
Glenn H
VI, Australia
2010-12-03
took 1 week from the US to Australia... Impressive
Timothy T
CO, United States
2010-12-03
I was very happy how every thing was handled
Russell P
MA, United States
2010-12-03
I was very pleased with the speed of delivery, and quality of the merchandise.
Lee R
CA, United States
2010-12-03
Tony K
IA, United States
2010-12-03
Ian B
CA, United States
2010-12-03
My products came very quickly and where of High Quality.
Marianne S
WA, United States
2010-12-03
I've already recommended your store to my boyfriend and more than a few friends at SteamCon, a Washington State steampunk convention. I've told them how I enjoy the quality of the clothes, and also enjoy how I can use the clothes to cross over into historically accurate and Western pieces.
Linda H
CA, United States
2010-12-03
Your product is exceptionally high quality. The only reason I can't give you a ten is because women's Emporium doesn't offer me more options such as being able to order enter changeable sizes when purchasing a two piece outfit.
Robert D
IA, United States
2010-12-03
The only issue I have is that the pants I wanted were out of stock and the company couldn't say when a new shipment would come in.
Tanner D
NM, United States
2010-12-03
The service was great! We recieved our item in a very timely fashion.
Jessica C
VA, United States
2010-12-03
Great selection of fun products at reasonable prices. I am a big fan of sanctuary on scifi and would like to see theme items from that as well even though it isnt historcally acurate :)
Lori A
MO, United States
2010-12-03
William O
TX, United States
2010-12-03
Kevin R
MI, United States
2010-12-03
Fantastic items (can think of more to carry) and excellent service.
Anne A
New Zealand
2010-12-03
I was nervous re buying on internet in America from new zealand. Am involved with the restoration of a early pioneering homestead and needed aprons of the era for serving at functions. was delighted when they arrived so quickly with reassuring emails a long the way, thank you, Anne
Martin W
CA, United States
2010-12-03
I really liked the products sent. The guns look good and feel like the real thing. For a costume they are fine. I don't think they are overly detailed or that they are to be excessively played with but they work great for what they are intended for. The Gun leather is outstanding. I have seen much more expensive belts of much poorer quality. Thank you so much.
Shelley F
WA, United States
2010-12-03
William E
RI, United States
2010-12-03
Arnold R
TX, United States
2010-12-03
The customer service representative that I spoke to about my order was very helpful. The delivery was prompt and arrived in excellent condition.
Mark G
NY, United States
2010-12-03
beautiful product display, ease of use, quality products ,timely shipping, i wish the rest of daily life was like your website , thanks mark g
Nancy C
ON, Canada
2010-12-03
I was kept informed during the entire shipping process which gives one a high level of comfort. It was delivered very quickly considering the distance is vast between our home and your business. I purchased this as a Christmas gift so i have not opened it I just wrapped it up and placed it unfer our tree. I trust all will be well but should there be a problem I believe you will stand by your sevice and good name providing assistance with every aspect of business dealings.
Susan M
ND, United States
2010-12-03
Everything fit very well, and was easy to size.
Panos S
CA, United States
2010-12-03
Super Fast Shipping, good descriptions online helped me figure out my sizes really well
Scott M
WA, United States
2010-12-03
James D
TX, United States
2010-12-03
Good selection and well documented
Tara F
PA, United States
2010-12-03
Service was excellent. I have not opened the package yet to re-wrap it for Christmas so I can't speak about the quality, and I won't know about the fit until Christmas day.
Carl B
AZ, United States
2010-12-03
Very professional website and user friendly
David P
MI, United States
2010-12-03
great stuff
Joel D
CA, United States
2010-12-03
the item I bought was a good price/value and delevery was prompt
Hector M
GA, United States
2010-12-02
James H
NV, United States
2010-12-02
Surprised by the quality of the garment, thought when I ordered it was a little overpriced, but you get what you pay for and I got a very nice addition to my wardrobe.
Eric L
VI, Australia
2010-12-02
The sizing information was very accurate. Over 10 garments, each fitted really well. Also when I rang to add an item that I had forgotten, the girl was so very helpful and I still received eveything on time. Quality is very good.
Greg S
AZ, United States
2010-12-02
I didn't like the service that you provided i LOVED IT the fast responce and turn around delivery time was awesome.Not only that i LOVE the product thanx all. GOD BLESS you all, and have a VERY MERRY CHRISTmas and again THANK YOU!!!!!!
Alexander D
NJ, United States
2010-12-02
Ron L
KS, United States
2010-12-02
Michael L
IL, United States
2010-12-02
Wah Maker vest is cut small...I have an athletic build - 36 Wranglers - vest is listed as XL... I find it too tight to feel comfortable...I DONT have a big belly...
Clara K
CA, United States
2010-12-02
I found the customer service to be exceptionally helpful.
Duane E
QL, Australia
2010-12-02
I reccomend The Emprium to everybody I know, it's an amazing store.
Cindy V
WA, United States
2010-12-02
Already have. ;) Also placed another, larger order for my hubby and myself.
Deborah H
-, New Zealand
2010-12-02
It was a pleasure doing business. It had to come a long way to New Zealand. Very quick and easy.
Thomas E
PA, United States
2010-12-02
Hans R
-, Switzerland
2010-12-02
Your hats have arrived in very good condition, the packing was well done. I would recommend your clients that they can shape the slouch hats a little bit if they like to do so. I did it with collar starch and a dryer. They look great!!
Jan J
NV, United States
2010-12-02
William S
WA, United States
2010-12-02
great communication, I placed the order, knew you received it, knew when it shipped. I purchased form several web sites that day this was by far the best experience.
Hall K
MA, United States
2010-12-02
Much depends on whether the friend or colleague has an interest in this kind of product, but - if it's an interest of theirs - I think you guys were the top.
Elisabethe P
WA, United States
2010-12-02
selection, shipping and communication are impeccable
Robert S
CA, United States
2010-12-02
I was skeptical about ordering a victorian top hat online but, with the help of a friend who has bought hats from you, I was able to determine my hat size. I was worried about having to re-package and remail to hat if the size was wrong. But it was perfect! I'll be buying stuff from you in the future. Bob Siegmann
Debra T
IL, United States
2010-12-02
I am very unhappy with the sizing. I wear 2XL and I ordered velvet jacket in 2XL and can't even get both arms in it. I looks more like a size M-L than a 2XL.
Ronny K
-, Norway
2010-12-02
EXCELLENT AND FAST SERVICE
Richard L
MD, United States
2010-12-02
I recommended HE the first day I wore the outfit
Mike M
NJ, United States
2010-12-02
Your kidding right....... You have nothing to fear in this department. I spoke to a young Lady who was very helpful and the 2nd time I called the owner helped me......It dosn't get much better then that. I am sorry to say my wife was laid off and my timing was bad so I needed to return my order......Don't woory, when thing get better , I'll be back. !
Maria B
QL, Australia
2010-12-02
Gail J
CA, United States
2010-12-02
I gave your service a 10 because there wasn't a 20. You guys are awesome!
Brian F
FL, United States
2010-12-02
The layout of the website was very easy and how you had a picture and everything the model was wearing was listed.
Brian F
WA, United States
2010-12-02
Best quality, easy website, recommended by a friend
Louis F
CA, United States
2010-12-02
One item was arrived damaged and was promptly replaced. That is as good as customer service gets!
Heidi B
CT, United States
2010-12-02
Great source for unusual pieces for your wardrobe. Love it!
Coby K
WA, United States
2010-12-02
Kirsty S
-, United States
2010-12-02
Joseph L
IL, United States
2010-12-02
Everything was as promised.
Charles H
CO, United States
2010-12-02
The shirt I purchased is great! From the time of purchase to receiving it through USPS was what I expected. And I will be back as a future customer! I have already had comments on my shirt and told others of your prompt service and quality products and they should be exploring your web site for their own needs.
Sophia H
-, Australia
2010-12-02
i am very happy with everything,questions,ordering,delivery and items.
Diane B
AZ, United States
2010-12-02
the gloves are of high quality
Pamela B
CA, United States
2010-12-02
Nice looking site, easy order, fast shipping and great products.
John T
NC, United States
2010-12-02
Petter G
-, Sweden
2010-12-02
They had what I was looking for, and the quality seemed high. I was not dissapointed. Keep up the good work!
Eugene F
CA, United States
2010-12-02
Everyone was wonderful and very helpful.
Bryce S
PA, United States
2010-12-02
the hat was exactly as advertised and the girl on the 1-800 could not have been nicer or more helpful.
Cameron H
TX, United States
2010-12-02
As co-founder to San Antonio's Neo-Victorian Association, I would highly recommend Historical Emporium to all my friends. It is perfect for our organization and activities. Great products, fine quality and quick shipping.
John K
CA, United States
2010-12-02
Couldn't be a better experience - item shipped a few hours after I ordered it and I received it the next day! A friend in my current show saw my pants and mentioned she'd just spent well over $100 having a similar pair custom-made for her son, as he was in a show and needed costuming. I had to break her heart and tell her my pants were less than $60....
Nick B
KY, United States
2010-12-02
Gerard Q
NJ, United States
2010-12-02
Great photos of the products and usually helpful descriptions and customer reviews make this site much better than most. Prices seem to be on the higher end though. Also, it's not clear when a size or color is out of stock, which is frustrating.

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service