Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2013-05-26

KSA
NH, United States
2013-05-20
I'm not sure why other reviewers didn't mention how narrow these are, but if your feet are not VERY narrow, your foot will never go into these boots. I do not have wide feet, I have perfectly normal width feet and have never had to wear wide width shoes or anything. I usually wear an 8, so I ordered an 8 1/2 as it was recommended by others to order a half size up. I felt like the ugly stepsister in cinderella trying to squeeze my feet into this boot! There is NO way these would go on my feet no matter how large a size I ordered because of the teeny tiny narrowness of the shoe. It's almost as if you would have to have only 3 toes to get your foot in these. I don't see how anyone can wear them. They are very very cute, but don't appear to be made for a real person's foot. I'm disappointed--I REALLY feel that the narrowness should be emphasized in the description.
Harold Mathews
United States
2013-05-20
The trousers came promptly as ordered. I was a bit sceptical of the size, but ordered according to yor chart, and they fit like a glove. Very comfortable, and look great. I am involved in a musical production of Pinnochio (late 19th century Italy) and the entire outfit works great. I have gotten very enthusiastic complements from the other members. I am looking forward to our performance, knowing I will look my part (a taylor) in the production. Service was great, too.
Harold Mathews
United States
2013-05-20
The shirt I ordered came promptly, fit very well, and is REALLY cool and comfortable. Since this will be worn in a stage performance under hot lights, this is VERY important. I also got lots of complements from the other members. It was a real hit.
Harold Mathews
United States
2013-05-20
The vest I ordered came promptly, and fit very well! I ordered this for a Competitive Chorus outfit, and it will look great on stage.
Shawn
NY, United States
2013-05-20
The belt and pouch are very high quality, and it all feels very sturdy. However, the small is supposed to fit a 29-34. I'm a size 29 and it buckles at the first notch. I'm not sure how a size 34 is supposed to fit in this. I didn't have any problems; It's a great product, just be aware that it runs on the small side.
Pink
WA, United States
2013-05-21
This is perfect to hold my derringer while dressing for an evening out. One never knows when the need to protect oneself from zombies and other dastardly creatures will arise.
Pink
WA, United States
2013-05-21
Fits so well in my beaded bag and is such a ladylike way to dispose of nasty night creatures.
Pink
WA, United States
2013-05-21
So stylish and so practical. Go really well with my outfits and get a smile from folks as I go walkabout.
Pink
WA, United States
2013-05-21
I am looking for good quality steampunk/Victorian clothing and accessories and thought I would try the small items first. The bag is first quality, the yellow tint spectacles actually work really well in the sun up here on the North Olympic Peninsula (yeah, sometimes we do get some) and the other items I purchased were of equally good quality. Everything got here quickly and I am looking forward to making further purchases. Your website was recommended to me by several other steampunk/Victorian folks in nearby towns, with the comment that you provided quality goods and clothes that were not costumes but were very wearable.
Martin Beck
MI, United States
2013-05-21
Everything I order from you arrives very quickly, and I couldn't be happier.
Martin Beck
MI, United States
2013-05-21
This arrived quickly and looks great, love it!

FL, United States
2013-05-22
A little expensive for the quality of product received.

FL, United States
2013-05-22
Needed item and your company had only one we could find. 50/50 Excellent service Yes Yes Agent who helped with purchased was OUTSTANDING.

AL, Canada
2013-05-22
These are a cute accessory for reenacting going to a victorian Opera or live stage performance! Mine do not seem to actually focus adjust but love the authentic look and feel of these glasses! And the fact they work for the left or right hand!

AL, Canada
2013-05-22
I actually own 3 Bathing Suits from Historical Emporium! This sleeveless style fits more to measurements, you do not have to be concerned with sleeves being too tight as this style is sleeveless. I would suggest one size up should fit or go by your bust measurement as this is an empire high waisted style of swim suit. Oh so cute and very comfortable to wear! Love it!

AL, Canada
2013-05-22
These Pantaloons are good guality, love the ruffle finish on the legs. I normally wear a size twelve and ordered the large, they fit fine but I do not think anyone over a size 14 could wear these. They go fabulously with the vintage style bathing suits or as victorian under garments. Comfortable and easy to wear!

United States
2013-05-24
Great quality,,,very pleased!

United States
2013-05-24
Very pleased with the quality
Jen
United States
2013-05-24
The gloves arrived quickly, fit beautifully and looked great with the costume. Thanks so much!

United States
2013-05-24
What I felt like when I tried to get my foot in this boot. All my shoes and boots are size 6.5 or 7, but this size 7 boot was so small/narrow I couldn't even get my toes past the throat. I like the style very much but had to return it.

United States
2013-05-24
Charles
IO, United States
2013-05-24
I bought this vest for a wedding. It turned out to be much, much nicer than I expected it to be. It's lightweight and has a good fit. The pricing is a little bit daunting, but its good quality.

United States
2013-05-24

United States
2013-05-24
David De.
OR, United States
2013-05-24
It is always great when someone under promises and then over delivers, and this is what you did. Excellent customer service! I have been in business for over 40 years and your service rates right up there with the best. I will be back to purchase and I will recommend you as well. Thank you.
Cathie
CA, United States
2013-05-24
I needed something classy, rich and different for Friesian driving competition when this jacket ( in red)caught my eye online. I ordered one to fit my largest part(chest) . The jacket fit there perfectly and will be taken in elsewhere. It has generous length in the arms. It is quite well made, no skimping or sloppy workmanship. I would not hesitate to recommend this, in fact my friend who shows Peruvian Pasos is considering a brown one!
Cindy
VA, United States
2013-05-24
Great Quality, Just what we wanted!

United States
2013-05-24
I really love this shirt. It is comfortable and adaptable. It is casual and can be dressed up by adding a collar, I love the versatility.
MumZ
WI, United States
2013-05-24
I love this beautiful blouse. The fit is right on and very flattering. The Evangeline blouse is very well made down to the smallest detail and is comfortable to wear. Thank you for providing such a fine product!
MumZ
WI, United States
2013-05-24
This skirt is well made and looks sharp. It does run about a 1/2 to full size large. I will have a friend take it in rather than go through the trouble to send it back. I like the rich brown color. I'm 5'7" so the length is fine for me but if you are not as tall as me you may have to shorten it up a bit. Over all pleased with the Brushed Twill Convertable Riding Skirt.
Chris
UT, United States
2013-05-24
Extremely comfortable and fit perfect! Will order again from this site. Extra time was no problem with shipment. Love the outfit.
Chris
UT, United States
2013-05-24
Very comfortable and fit well. Loved the vest and blouse combination. I have already spotted other items I will purchase. Was given a broach of my grandmothers to wear at the neck to top off the outfit. Beautiful, loved it.
MumZ
WI, United States
2013-05-24
This is another quality blouse. As far as fit goes, it is a bit large. I feel the blouse was properly represented and I'm sure period accurate. I am having some darts sewn in because I personally prefer a little more of a form fit but I do not feel that this blouse was misrepresented in any way. I am glad I purchased it.
Lisa Ely
NV, United States
2013-05-24
I ordered this on a Saturday and received it Monday. This coat is phenomenal! A beautiful jacket for my daughter's wedding. Yes, best to order the next size higher, but it fits like a charm.

United States
2013-05-24
Just what I need for everyday wear as an interpreter. There must be some disparity in the sizes for different brands. I have ordered 2 pair of pants. One fits well with a little extra room and the other is a rather snug fit. Both were listed as the same size waist. It won't be a problem for me, but it might be for some.

United States
2013-05-24
Prompt service and was exactly what I wanted.
Suzanne B.
ME, United States
2013-05-24
This shirt is beautiful. Great quality and it fit him well. Glad we got the medium even though the size chart was suggesting a small. This would be my only suggestion, that the size chart did not seem accurate. Really can't say enough good about the quality of this shirt. I loved that it had a small loop on the backside of the collar to hold the bow tie in place.
Sandy
HA, United States
2013-05-24
This is a great hat at a resonable price! Very comfortable and perfect for keeping the sun off during our SASH matches.
Sandy
HA, United States
2013-05-24
Hey, it holds my guns. It is pretty stiff so you will need to work it with some oil to customize the fit and get rid of the excess dye. They run a little big, I ordered a 40" but the real measurement to the middle hole was 46". Called customer service and they sent a replacement which arrived in two days. Can't say enough about the customer service at Historical Emporium...really good!
Sandy
HA, United States
2013-05-24
Bought this for SASS events but this shirt could easily be used for a night on the town. Well made.
Sandy
HA, United States
2013-05-24
Enough can't be said for the quailty of the customer service here. Friendly, curtious, understanding and very helpful. I'll keep ordering from these folks because I know if something isn't quite right they will do everything to make it right. Thanks!
Julie
WI, United States
2013-05-24
Great color! Great sleeves! Plenty long enough too, even if you are tall. Looking forward to wearing it at my local historical village
TaosBill
AZ, United States
2013-05-24
Bough two pair and we love them. Good grade leather, military grade buckles and a deep black dye. What's not to love.
Cj Samples
WA, United States
2013-05-24
This immediately became my favorite skirt. It is comfortable, fits well, is built well, and suits my style perfectly. I get many compliments on it. I recommend everyone get one.
Cj Samples
WA, United States
2013-05-24
Good products, delivered quickly. They are true to size, comfortable, classy, and timeless. I have been nothing but happy with this site, and I WILL shop again. And again and again.
Cat
MI, United States
2013-05-24
I like this petticoat very much, and I think it will work very well under my skirt. However, the sizes run enormous! This is not true to the sizing chart at all. I ordered a medium, since that's what I usually buy, and I could have fit another me in there. Fortunately, my husband has some tailoring ability, and he was able to take it in eight inches and up eight inches (I am also short). If you don't want to make adjustments, I'd order a size or possibly two sizes smaller than usual, but it's fun and well made.
Cat
MI, United States
2013-05-24
I was pleasantly surprised with how quickly my items arrived. Usually clothes take awhile, but I got this within only a few days. I received frequent communications, confirming my order, shipping confirmation, etc. I would order from them again.
Circuit Rider
OR, United States
2013-05-24
I knew that I wasn't buying the high end watch, and it is light weight, but it is good enough for what I am doing. The first one that was sent to me did not work, but was very quickly replaced. Thank you for the speedy service.

United States
2013-05-24
I am so happy with my order. My daughter is having a "steampunk" themed wedding and The clothes I ordered are perfect. The sizing was spot on and the quality is better than I expected. And they arrived on the day they were expected. I have ordered items on-line in the past and have experienced every disappointment from wrong size to poor construction. Historical Emporium is the best. I will be ordering from you again. Thank you.
Michael
CA, United States
2013-05-24
The watch is exactly as advertised and often causes comments, all good of course. It's handsome, nostalgic and, so far, keeps good time. The window into the works is especially charming. Great for steampunk parties, Mardi Gras or shopping Trader Joe's!
University costume designer
United States
2013-05-24
Great craftsmanship and quality but was darker than "tan". I wish the fabric was a little heavier. You can tell it is a polyester. I will order again.
chet
CA, United States
2013-05-24
I found this belt to be of the highest quality, it is by far one of the best I own.
Sandy ryan
CA, United States
2013-05-24
Your shirts a great my husband and sons all like them they are wearing them in our oldest son wedding Plus our friends order shirts also I sent them your web site and all were really impressed. Sincerely Sandy And wii order again very soon
ckrushel
BR, Canada
2013-05-24
This is a well made dress. Fits well, lovely shape. Buttons at the back are perfect. However, the cherry red colour faded to a dull orange within one week from being exposed to the sun. Any place the dress was covered - under an apron, under the arms, even the shadow under the bust, remained bright red. All the rest is orange. It now looks aged and tired. Unfortunate indeed. Five stars for fit and construction. One star for colour fastness.
ckrushel
BR, Canada
2013-05-24
Your customer service agent was very pleasant and animated. She offered an apology on behalf of the company for our dresses that had badly faded in the sun within a week and suggested that the dresses not be used in the sun because they were cotton!!!! More for indoor use. Perhaps, if that is the nature of the fabric, a small note of caution could be added to the details of the dress prior to purchase. Our historic site enjoys summer sun . . . which is why we chose the light and airy Amelia dress. Despite this disappointment, we will definitely continue to order from you. Your inventory is fantastic and care for authenticty is appreciated.
Teresa
TE, United States
2013-05-24
I live in a small town outside of San Antonio, TX. Our high school Theater kids had moved from district, to area, to regional competition with their One Act Play. Two of the main characters were in desperate need of 1890's period pants. After searching many antique shops, thrift stores, and other online stores I came across Historical Emporium. We had two days to get the pants, and the website said it would take up to five days to get them. I decided to call instead of ordering online, and oh my goodness these amazing people were able to get the pants to me in two days. I was beyond thrilled and excited. One of the pair of pants unfortunately did not fit, and they were more than glad to have me return them for a refund. We decided to keep them for possible future use because of the great quality. I would highly recommend Historical Emporium. They were very professional, helpful, and great to work with.
Bryan
TE, United States
2013-05-24
I hardly write reviews but I had to do this because very rarely would you see a product that looks even better than its online picture, I was very much satisfied with the product.
Calico
MA, United States
2013-05-24
This watch is a great buy. The finish & pattern on the outside is a bit over the top, but the watch works well, looks good, and the price was unbeatable. I also got it just a couple of days after purchase; The speed was impressive. All in all, a solid purchase.
Calico
MA, United States
2013-05-24
By the description, I was hoping for something that looked a little more real. The piece that arrived is low quality plastic (I knew it was plastic, but was hoping for better appearance), and wasn't assembled very well. The simulated stone isn't mounted very well and the edges show, which makes it look really cheesy. However, it's a pretty low price, and I bought it only out of curiosity, so I don't really mind that much.
Calico
MA, United States
2013-05-24
I was very pleased with this ascot; At the price, I rather expected a kind of cheap, costume-quality piece, but when it arrived, it's better than many much more expensive items I've seen in stores. The color is beautiful. The fabric isn't the best synthetic I've seen, but I didn't expect it to be at this price. As always, shipping was super fast.
Roy
KE, United States
2013-05-24
Awesome. It is as nice as it appears. My Ruger Vaquero .45LC caliber single action revolvers fit perfectly. Very well built. The bullet holders were a bit tight and there were only 18 of them. My .357 Ruger Black Hawk and even my Smith and Wesson Model 10 .38 fit well, although obvious if you want to carry that caliber in the bullet holders you need a belt that will fit the .357/.38 shells. I really searched for the right holster and gun belt. These things are extremely expensive. Yet yours was very reasonably priced and wonderful work. I would definitely recommend this holster and belt combination and would buy it again in an instant.
Jerry
CA, United States
2013-05-24
Just what I was looking for. Excellent quality, fast shipping. Thank You
Calico
MA, United States
2013-05-24
These items arrived swiftly and in great shape. They were everything promised and more, and I like them so much I immediately put buttons in almost all my pants. The belt-buckle straps make adjustments super easy, and always even. They look just terrific, on either casual, work-chic, or formal wear. They're great!!
Wesley McIntyre
AL, United States
2013-05-24
Like the vest but there is a hole in the the pocket on the left side if i put any thing in the pocket it inside the lining I wish there wasn't..But i like the vest...

United States
2013-05-24
Nice quality, quick shipping. Will recommend this site to others!
MIKE
IL, United States
2013-05-24
TIE WAS VERY AUTHENTIC LOOKING FOR THE PERIOD....WAS VERY HAPPY WITH THE EASY USE!!!! WORE THIS FOR MY WEDDING!!!
Paul Douglas MacDonald
AB, United States
2013-05-24
This vest is sturdy material; however the stitching is loose and unfinished in places... The button holes are poorly done, unfinished... But, it has a VERY NICE lining. One would be better to spend a little extra for a fine quality American made item. I spent about an hour with my sewing machine and now have a quality product. So, with that, I am pleased with my purchase.
Jan
ME, United States
2013-05-24
Comfortable, classy, functional, a great choice! Love these boots!
Mark
CA, United States
2013-05-24
Love this shirt! I wore it to a recent cowboy themed fundraising party. I received numerous compliments on the look and style of the shirt as well as how authentic it looked. The only reason I give it four stars is one of the bib buttons fell off just after I put the shirt on. I will have to have my local dry cleaner reattach the button as well as strengthen the others to prevent future issues, otherwise it would be five stars.

CO, United States
2013-05-24
I purchased these for my sons 14 th birthday and he absolutely loves them!!! I really like the quality of the material and you can't beat the price! He is planning on doing some more shopping here very soon! Oh and what your delivery time stated was 8 days and I received them in three! WOW!!!
Rusty
CA, United States
2013-05-24
The Buckingham vest was really nice good quality, fits well I like it ! The service outstanding and shipped faster than I thought, I am very pleased, I will defenatly shop here again. Thanks
Richard
ON, Canada
2013-05-24
I am completely satisfied with my purchase. Had been looking for a holster for my long barrelled .45 Colt S/A revolver when I found your website. After much consideration, I ordered. I was amazed when I received it. The quality is exceptional. Fit my gun perfectly and I love the rich brown colour of the leather. Unfortunately the gun belt I ordered was too small so I had to return it for an exchange (which you handled promptly and professionally). My only concern with the belt is that it seems to be a darker brown (almost black) than the holster is. None the less the outfit looks great. I can live with the colour difference. Historical Emporium is a grest company to deal with. I'm sure I will be ordering more items. Thank you
Richard
ON, Canada
2013-05-24
I had been looking for a holster for my long barrelled .45 S/A revolver for along time and it wasn't until I found the Western Emporium website that I found the one I was looking for, and at a very REASONABLE price. I was very impressed with the look and quality of both the holster and matching gun belt. I am happy with the speed and quality of the service I was given and will not hesitate to order from Historical Emporium in the future or to recommend this company to any of my family, friends or acquaintances who may be interested in the merchandise they offer.
Jesus P.
CA, United States
2013-05-24
There was some problems at first with the delivery but once I got it I was impressed. Loved it, great quality, and surpassed my expectations. Worth the purchase~
Steve
IL, United States
2013-05-24
I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality. I was concerned that I was ordering a costume but it turned out to be very usable.
Twin Colts
AL, Canada
2013-05-24
This belt is beautiful and very well made, and my twin 1873 Peacemaker .45 Colts fit in perfectly. The sizing chart was very accurate and the belt I ordered fits as well as expected. I would definitely recommend this gun belt for anyone looking to carry & show off a pair of old west Colt .45's
Bryan Larsen
MI, United States
2013-05-24
Historical Emporium has the best products, which are of excellent quality. The have exceptional variety and wide range of sizes. I have never been disappointed with the company.
poffdaddy
IN, United States
2013-05-24
This shirt is absolutely great! I was needing a western villain costume to wear for our church's Vacation Bible School, but I was having a hard time finding something authentic since I'm a very large man. This shirt shipped fast, fits great, and really looks the part!!
Dr. William (Bill) Altman.
SC, United States
2013-05-25
I have had a 5 star experience. The clothing that I have purchased which include trousers, shirts, suits and vests, have exceeded my expectations. The quality is awesome. I wear your vests daily and get compliments from all of my patients. Kindest Regards Dr. William Altman
Dr. William (Bill) Altman.
SC, United States
2013-05-25
I wear a best everyday and get many many compliments. I have ten or so of your vests or waiste coats. The quality is absolutely awesome
Jen
NE, United States
2013-05-25
beautiful jacket, fit perfectly, my husband was delighted, excellent product
Jen
NE, United States
2013-05-25
A truly wonderful ascot. Could not believe the quality. What a great item!
Jen
United States
2013-05-25
While this vest was beautiful and well constructed, the 3x (52-54) is a little tight if you're a 54, but not so tight you pop buttons.
Jen
NE, United States
2013-05-25
My purchases exceeded my expectations, the items are so well-made, so beautiful and of high quality, the service was simply amazing, and I would recommend this company (and have) to my closest friends. I have a whole wish lists I look forward to filling over the coming months.
Susanne
TX, United States
2013-05-25
I love this gun belt and holster, very well made and I love the color. I will recommend it to any one needing one. I have had a lot of complements. Thanks
Jim
KY, United States
2013-05-25
Shopped the web extensively. Decided to go with Historical Emporium. It was a great decision! Very reasonable,accurate shipping charges along with a high quality tailcoat could not have been better. The coat size was a correct fit. You can deal with Historical Emporium confidence. They will certainly get more of my future business.
MarshallChillN
WA, United States
2013-05-25
Bought these pants to wear to a MountainMan Rendezvous and was thoroughly pleased with the style,construction and appearance of these pants. The pants are well made and fit the 1800's nicely. I will caution everyone to order 1-2 sizes larger than you normally wear ! Thanks Historical Emporium !!! I WILL be ordering more !!!
Dr. John Covington
KE, United States
2013-05-25
I received this product promptly on the day it was due to arrive, and when I finally opened it and put it on, I marveled at its size and gravitas. Truly, this is a coat that widens the gap between your scientific mind and those of mere mortals. Like a lightning bolt, it makes your wardrobe come alive! This product immensely pleased me and even though it won't stay clean forever, nothing can stop this lab coat from creating a commanding presence. I got the right size, and the coat reaches down almost to my feet, so be careful to get the right size when you order this so that it doesn't drag on the ground behind you in an unseemly fashion. You want to look mad, not sloppy. In short, this was an amazing purchase and it probably won't be around forever, so if you're thinking of getting one of these coats, get one now, before it's too late!
kingsley ronald
United States
2013-05-25
Absolutely brilliant!
kingsley ronald
United States
2013-05-25
... we flew into San Diego from London without an appointment ... the lady [name escapers me now, sorry] who served us 'squeezed' us in & we walked away with hat & a shirt. BRILLIANT!!! Why - niche productss Expectation - surpassed!! Service - top drawer!!! Return - you bet!!! Recommend - with doubt!! Thank you!!
Dana
OK, United States
2013-05-25
This is a beautiful, well made, close fitting coat! I really love how it looks! It does run small, so I got the medium...which fits me perfectly. Highly recommend this coat to anyone!
Bryan Larsen
MI, United States
2013-05-25
The classic canvan work vest is incredible. It is very comfortable, sturdy and fits beautifully. Cut fuller than some of the vests offered the 2x I ordered fit perfectly. I highly recommend this product.
robert
TE, United States
2013-05-25
This holster was a present for my father in law. We had bought him a .22cal pistol like he had as a teen. HE LOVED IT! The workmanship was fantastic and the color and detail was great. I can not say enough good things about this product.
Dave
OR, United States
2013-05-25
Very beautiful item it will be worn at my own wedding. I thought it may of been a little high on price though.

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service